Dept. H, Volume One
From New York Times bestselling MIND MGMT creator Matt Kindt comes an exciting and new undersea sci-fi mystery.Mia is a special investigator hired to uncover possible sabotage taking place at a deep-sea research station. What she uncovers is a mind-blowing crime scene filled with suspects with terrible secrets, strange deep-sea creatures, and an impending flood!Collecting: Dept. H 1-6

Dept. H, Volume One Details

TitleDept. H, Volume One
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 31st, 2017
PublisherDark Horse Originals
ISBN1616559896
ISBN-139781616559892
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics, Mystery, Science Fiction

Dept. H, Volume One Review

  • David Schaafsma
    January 4, 2017
    Finished the first six issues that comprise this volume, and a great set up for Volume 2. Mia is a special investigator hired to uncover possible sabotage taking place at a deep-sea research station, and the death of her father there. Disaster after disaster takes place, sea monsters abound, everyone's a suspect. . . The drawing by Kindt and coloring by Sharlene Kindt, his wife, are great and fitting the mood/tone. Has an Abyss feel to it, in places. Great storytelling. I think the first volume Finished the first six issues that comprise this volume, and a great set up for Volume 2. Mia is a special investigator hired to uncover possible sabotage taking place at a deep-sea research station, and the death of her father there. Disaster after disaster takes place, sea monsters abound, everyone's a suspect. . . The drawing by Kindt and coloring by Sharlene Kindt, his wife, are great and fitting the mood/tone. Has an Abyss feel to it, in places. Great storytelling. I think the first volume is available as a trade in late January 2017.
    more
  • Travis Duke
    April 5, 2017
    A decent start to a sci-fi murder mystery. I have to admit that if the art was better i would have given this 4 stars. The story is fine, it centers around Mia who travels to an underground sea lab to solve a murder. There is some nice layering in the story with flashbacks and personal ties however it isn't incredibly inventive or captivating, it feels middle of the road. back to the art, I don't mind when art is different or abstract but this just feels like not a lot of effort was put into it. A decent start to a sci-fi murder mystery. I have to admit that if the art was better i would have given this 4 stars. The story is fine, it centers around Mia who travels to an underground sea lab to solve a murder. There is some nice layering in the story with flashbacks and personal ties however it isn't incredibly inventive or captivating, it feels middle of the road. back to the art, I don't mind when art is different or abstract but this just feels like not a lot of effort was put into it. I do want to see where the story goes so i will pick up vol.2
    more
  • Andy
    April 5, 2017
    I thought it would be impossible for Kindt to top his Mind MGMT series, but Dept. H is on target to do just that.
  • Johan Haneveld
    March 18, 2017
    I read a lot of comicbooks and graphic novels but i don't often review them on Goodreads. One has to make choices, there's only so much time to write reviews in. But I like to make an exception once in a while, and so here I want to recommend to your attention the first volume of this series. It's part deep sea exploration, with cool bases, diving suits and alien looking creatures (including a giant squid!), there's survival adventure echoing The Abyss as the ocean makes itself felt, and there's I read a lot of comicbooks and graphic novels but i don't often review them on Goodreads. One has to make choices, there's only so much time to write reviews in. But I like to make an exception once in a while, and so here I want to recommend to your attention the first volume of this series. It's part deep sea exploration, with cool bases, diving suits and alien looking creatures (including a giant squid!), there's survival adventure echoing The Abyss as the ocean makes itself felt, and there's a murder plot to solve - the daughter of the expedition leader trying to find the killer of her father, and a growing sense of paranoia as claustrophobia, insomnia and infection make tensions grow among the besieged crew. There are hints of Custeau here, but also of European comics (the diving suits reminded me of Yoko Tsuno, and there's a character called Blake Mortimer - after comic book heroes Blake and Mortimer). The drawing style takes some getting used to, I must confess. It feels a bit experimental because of it, but it has its own beauty. I certainly appreciated how it added to the tone of the story. I am a fan of these kinds of stories, and there are a lot of delicious mysteries here (like what's in the cave at the bottom? A kind of giant turtle?) to make me look forward to the second collection!
    more
  • Vickie Ramage
    January 26, 2017
    I mean this in the nicest way possible but this story was a load of cack. I have read enough Young Adult books like this to easily spot everything they're trying to cover up and it's just not working. Love interest? Check. An old friend turned rival? Check. A constant whiny monologue about how great she is? Check. Repeated sentences to hide the lack of story? Check, check, waiter where's my check? I'm out.The story is basically super genius chick goes to solve her father's murder because when so I mean this in the nicest way possible but this story was a load of cack. I have read enough Young Adult books like this to easily spot everything they're trying to cover up and it's just not working. Love interest? Check. An old friend turned rival? Check. A constant whiny monologue about how great she is? Check. Repeated sentences to hide the lack of story? Check, check, waiter where's my check? I'm out.The story is basically super genius chick goes to solve her father's murder because when someone is murdered you obviously send their closest relative. She constantly tells us that space is her thing and she doesn't dive, just to add to the irritation. Her constant monologue repeating over and over in different ways just made me want to chuck the book, had I not read the digital edition.I'd like to at least say that the art in this none existent story was lovely. Unfortunately I can't do that because it was a bit of a mess. I tried to go with the rough sketch combined with watercolour style but it kept changing through panels which just made the whole thing look amateurish. The bar along the side showing the depth was cute for two pages.I know other readers are raving about this but it's honestly just blah. I couldn't help but feel like they ripped the idea from that Doctor Who (10th) story featuring the Devil for most of the way through. There's no real interaction between her and Raj, despite them being siblings. He was so, so cardboard.
    more
  • Diana Post
    February 28, 2017
    the sketchy at style is unexpectedly good at conjuring a sense of creeping dread, and I really enjoyed the way the story jumps around in time. the narrator's voice is spare and clipped, but coupled with the art, the story is very lush.
  • Kevin
    February 14, 2017
    Brilliant!
  • Christoffer
    March 17, 2017
    The first volume of Dept.H is not as mind blowing as Matt Kindt's Mind MGMT, but I really think that this could lead to something amazing! The story is intriguing and the ending kept me wanting more, can't wait for the second volume.
  • Wallyeast
    March 11, 2017
    A really good start to another series from one of my favorite comic book writers. Kindt does a really good job of making you feel the smallness of the space in the deep sea base. The main character is well developed and you have a sense of who she is pretty quickly. The progress made on the larger mystery is a bit slow but there are plenty of other plot developments keeping things interesting.
    more
  • Elizabeth
    March 1, 2017
    DNF. I honestly didn't finish reading due to the artwork and how lousy it was. The people weren't drawn proportional which was really irritating. I gave up reading. Interesting premise for a story but that's it.
  • Dylan
    February 27, 2017
    I've terrified by the depths of the ocean so this, along with Snyder's The Wake are perfect for me.Great storytelling with wonderful art; love the watercolours.
  • Leif
    February 8, 2017
    I like Matt Kindt's writing enough to say it does not distract from the singular art style, which I am sure is an acquired taste, that I absolutely love. The water colors of Ms. Kindt is awesome and the technology designs are pretty novel. Worth checking out for the art alone. The art which got me to look at this "sea-lab murder mystery".
    more
  • Todd S
    January 9, 2017
    I've seen Matt Kindt's MIND MGMT on the shelf but never picked it up, despite being intrigued. I'm glad I took a chance on this one, as the whole package is pretty cool. The color design by Kindt's wife Sharlene is gorgeous, and really half of the book's appeal, to me. The story is interesting, but tends to bolt for the Hollywood tropes a little too quickly for my tastes. Still, I really like the setup here, and the attention to world and character building in the book kind of reminds me of the I've seen Matt Kindt's MIND MGMT on the shelf but never picked it up, despite being intrigued. I'm glad I took a chance on this one, as the whole package is pretty cool. The color design by Kindt's wife Sharlene is gorgeous, and really half of the book's appeal, to me. The story is interesting, but tends to bolt for the Hollywood tropes a little too quickly for my tastes. Still, I really like the setup here, and the attention to world and character building in the book kind of reminds me of the first reading of Paul Pope's THB issues back in the day.
    more
  • Chandra
    January 19, 2017
    This is a beautiful book. The watercolor illustrations make the underwater base look inviting and close without being claustrophobic. This opening is engaging and tense and makes me want to know more about the characters as well as the answer to this locked room murder mystery. I am looking forward to more of the story!
    more
  • John Shaw
    December 3, 2016
    I'm not truly certainwhat I make of this seriesit's partsSF AdventureLovecraftian Horrorand Agatha Christie mysterywhere only one of the ball guests could have done it.But somehow it all fits together into a book unlike any I have ever read before
  • Christy
    October 1, 2016
    Hauntingly beautiful, words and art - wise.
Write a review