What to Say Next
From the New York Times bestselling author of Tell Me Three Things comes a charming and poignant story about two struggling teenagers who find an unexpected connection just when they need it most. For fans of Sophie Kinsella, Jennifer Niven, and Rainbow Rowell.Sometimes a new perspective is all that is needed to make sense of the world.KIT: I don’t know why I decide not to sit with Annie and Violet at lunch. It feels like no one here gets what I’m going through. How could they? I don’t even understand.DAVID: In the 622 days I’ve attended Mapleview High, Kit Lowell is the first person to sit at my lunch table. I mean, I’ve never once sat with someone until now. “So your dad is dead,” I say to Kit, because this is a fact I’ve recently learned about her. When an unlikely friendship is sparked between relatively popular Kit Lowell and socially isolated David Drucker, everyone is surprised, most of all Kit and David. Kit appreciates David’s blunt honesty—in fact, she finds it bizarrely refreshing. David welcomes Kit’s attention and her inquisitive nature. When she asks for his help figuring out the how and why of her dad’s tragic car accident, David is all in. But neither of them can predict what they’ll find. Can their friendship survive the truth?

What to Say Next Details

TitleWhat to Say Next
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDelacorte Press
ISBN0553535684
ISBN-139780553535686
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Fiction, Young Adult Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, High School, Teen, Death, Contemporary Romance

What to Say Next Review

  • Jaime Arkin
    March 22, 2017
    Julie Buxbaum was added to my favorite authors list after reading Tell Me Three Things last year and she solidified her spot on my auto-buy list with What To Say Next. I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that I could not put this book down. I started and completed it on a trip earlier this year simply because I was so invested in these characters and their stories! I found myself in that awkward spot where you want to hug and guide and protect a literary character and I’m not even sorry about i Julie Buxbaum was added to my favorite authors list after reading Tell Me Three Things last year and she solidified her spot on my auto-buy list with What To Say Next. I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that I could not put this book down. I started and completed it on a trip earlier this year simply because I was so invested in these characters and their stories! I found myself in that awkward spot where you want to hug and guide and protect a literary character and I’m not even sorry about it. David is on the spectrum… and he has a hard time determining who means well and who doesn’t when interacting with others. His older sister watched out for him quite a bit, and helped him create his notebook of facts that he can rely on to help keep things straight, but he still finds himself in predicaments that are so frustrating to see. But he’s so incredibly smart and amazing and I just absolutely love him.Kit has always been part of the popular crowd, but with the death of her father, she finds that no one can understand what she’s dealing with. Everyone is telling her that it’s time for her to move on but she just can’t. She can’t figure out what is supposed to be next for her.When Kit decides to sit with David at lunch one day, everything changes. She asks for his help to figure out what really happened with the car accident her father was in, and he can’t resist the lure of the puzzle… no matter what the story might tell once he figures it all out. I can’t even explain to you guys in words how I felt about David while reading this book. Like I mentioned above, I wanted to protect him from the inevitable bullying that occurs when you’re different… but it was wonderful to see that he had people who were there for him. His relationship with his sister Lauren, was pretty amazing.This has some heartbreak for sure and the ending will hit you so unexpectedly, but it is such an amazingly told story filled with beautiful, complicated characters that are so raw and real. Thank you for sharing this story and these characters Julie… I can’t wait to revisit them again soon!Thank you to the publisher for an early copy in exchange for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Mary Kubica
    January 23, 2017
    I would give this 10 stars if I could. I adore everything Julie Buxbaum writes, but especially this tale of what happens when an autistic boy falls in love with a popular teenage girl whose father has just been killed in a car crash. Both heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.
    more
  • Alyssa
    April 17, 2017
    4.5 stars.***Review to come***
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    February 2, 2017
    4-4.5 stars
  • Jen (The Starry-Eyed Revue)
    June 5, 2017
    I loved Tell Me Three Things and knew that I'd read anything else by Julie Buxbaum because of it. This book felt decidedly more tragic than her debut YA novel, but it was no less captivating. And there was still an air of mystery to it that kept me glued to the pages. I also appreciated the handling of autism and bullying; both aspects felt genuine and were interwoven delicately with the other character's grief. And while there was also a sweet romance, this is the type of book I'll pass on and I loved Tell Me Three Things and knew that I'd read anything else by Julie Buxbaum because of it. This book felt decidedly more tragic than her debut YA novel, but it was no less captivating. And there was still an air of mystery to it that kept me glued to the pages. I also appreciated the handling of autism and bullying; both aspects felt genuine and were interwoven delicately with the other character's grief. And while there was also a sweet romance, this is the type of book I'll pass on and tell others about because it was such a comfort to read.
    more
  • Prabh⚔
    May 10, 2017
    Y'all. I just realised something and this is highly personal and emotional to me.2017 is looking like such a good year for releases in terms of diversity (and everything sounds so interesting lol)Anyway, I always feel horrible because I as an Indian, am never in YA books. Really, I read for enjoyment and all, but I always feel sad that I cannot connect with a character on that much of a personal level since they don't know the issues which I am facing.When Dimple Met Rishi is one of my top antic Y'all. I just realised something and this is highly personal and emotional to me.2017 is looking like such a good year for releases in terms of diversity (and everything sounds so interesting lol)Anyway, I always feel horrible because I as an Indian, am never in YA books. Really, I read for enjoyment and all, but I always feel sad that I cannot connect with a character on that much of a personal level since they don't know the issues which I am facing.When Dimple Met Rishi is one of my top anticipated reads this year since the two main characters are Indian-American and there is a brown!! girl!! on the cover. My heart weeps in joy.I recently came to know about this book, and I read Alyssa's review in which she said that the main character is half-Indian and there is Sikh religion in the story.Now folks. My religion is Sikhism. (google it if you don't know about it lol) TO have a half-Indian MC as well as my religion in a story is all I could ever want from a YA book and I am SO SO GRATEFUL AND HAPPY RN.eeeeep!!! I AM SO EXCITED THAT I WILL FINALLY BE ABLE TO RELATE TO SOME STUFF ON THE BASIS OF RELIGION AHHHHHH YESS BLESS THE YA GODS AND JULIE BUXBAUM.
    more
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    June 2, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Andi's ABCsAdmittedly it took me a long time to read What to Say Next, a book that is under 300 pages. I started it at the wrong time (right before a book I was dying for was released) and after I put it down and got sucked into other books it sat waiting. Because of this when I picked it up I struggled to get into the book. I was really sad about this because I had heard such great things. But the more I read the more I just fell in love with Julie Buxbaum’s This review was originally posted on Andi's ABCsAdmittedly it took me a long time to read What to Say Next, a book that is under 300 pages. I started it at the wrong time (right before a book I was dying for was released) and after I put it down and got sucked into other books it sat waiting. Because of this when I picked it up I struggled to get into the book. I was really sad about this because I had heard such great things. But the more I read the more I just fell in love with Julie Buxbaum’s story of Kit and David. And by the time I was done I was so sad there were no more words for me to read. To keep it simple…the book was fantastic.What to Say Next is told from the perspectives of both David and Kit in alternating chapters. What I love about this format is that you get to see what is inside each of their heads. Sometimes this can take away from a book, but in this case I think it actually added to it. Knowing what Kit was thinking and feeling was really important. She is popular and has friends but after the feather of her father things changed and now she wants quiet and understanding. David, who is on the spectrum, is a loner. He sits alone and uses a notebook to help him determine who is well meaning and who to stay away from. When Kit sits down with David though everything changes for both of them and soon feelings have forming and friendships are made and everything is changing.It is hard to say at what point this story turned around for me. According to my Goodreads updates it was around page 80. But honestly I think it was before that. There was something so endearing and magical about Kit and David’s friendship forming and blossoming. On paper Kit and David couldn’t have been more different, but from the start of the book something about their differences really just clicked. You could almost feel how they made each other whole and I loved that. I loved that this seemingly random twist of fate, the death of Kit’s dad, lead them to find their person. And I 100% believe they are each other’s person. The honesty they show one another is like nothing I have seen in a book. And to see their trust and relationship grow I was done for. Also David is 100% crush worthy.What to Say Next is a great follow up to Buxbaum’s YA debut, Tell Me Three Things. It has heart and amazing story telling and characters you will love from the depths of your soul. I was honestly blown away by how much I ended up loving Kit and David’s story and I think you will too. I highly recommend this one for your TBR.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    March 1, 2017
    I really enjoy a great contemporary read during the summer and this book seems to have all the elements required. A little bit of drama, a little bit of mystery and an interesting friendship sound right up my alley. Also, that cover is super cute and is what drew me into this one immediately. Looking forward to adding this one to my summer TBR, for sure!
    more
  • Lisa
    June 15, 2017
    I adored this book! The dialogue is clever, authentic and laugh-out-loud funny. David's sense of humor is dry and sometimes unintentional because of how he sees the world, and I LOVED it.This isn't the fault of this story, BUT I have to mention that I'm becoming exhausted of the " parent post-death secret revelation." I've seen it at least two other times in contemporary YA, and I hope some more original ideas take its place. I highly recommend this book for fans of this author and of contempora I adored this book! The dialogue is clever, authentic and laugh-out-loud funny. David's sense of humor is dry and sometimes unintentional because of how he sees the world, and I LOVED it.This isn't the fault of this story, BUT I have to mention that I'm becoming exhausted of the " parent post-death secret revelation." I've seen it at least two other times in contemporary YA, and I hope some more original ideas take its place. I highly recommend this book for fans of this author and of contemporary in general. Fun, sweet and touching.
    more
  • Lauren
    January 25, 2017
    4 - 4. 5 stars! This story manages to be both a quick read and sweet romance, while also tackling some heavy themes. Kit is trying to figure out how to piece her life back together after her dad died in a car accident a month ago. Nothing feels the same anymore, and she doesn't know how to fit back into her world of friends and school and parties. That's when she decides to sit with David Drucker at lunch. A boy who sits alone and wears big headphones all the time, and tries to go unnoticed from 4 - 4. 5 stars! This story manages to be both a quick read and sweet romance, while also tackling some heavy themes. Kit is trying to figure out how to piece her life back together after her dad died in a car accident a month ago. Nothing feels the same anymore, and she doesn't know how to fit back into her world of friends and school and parties. That's when she decides to sit with David Drucker at lunch. A boy who sits alone and wears big headphones all the time, and tries to go unnoticed from his classmates. Kit thinks sitting with David will give her a moment of peace and quiet. But then he surprises Kit by talking to her - and in a way that is direct and honest and refreshing to Kit. They begin a friendship that seems unlikely at first, but works in an amazing way. I liked Kit in this story, and I can't imagine everything she's facing or some of the further revelations that come in this story. But I love David even more. He is brilliant and straightforward, and by high school standards, really weird. Although he knows the label doesn't exist in the DSM5, David would tell you that he falls on the Asperger's spectrum (now I think it's high functioning autism). This boy, I loved everything about him. He struggles to understand social cues and doesn't like loud noise or disorder, but he does the best that he can in a place that is hostile to anything different. He has the most tremendous support from his family, who made me cry at how amazing they are. And maybe surprisingly, or not, he is a really great match for Kit. I love, love the way he sees her, and the fact that she recognizes his beauty too (inside and out) even when no one else does. They work in a way that doesn't make sense to everyone else. But with mean classmates and new revelations and trying to survive life, their road isn't the easiest. GAH! I love these two so much.
    more
  • Gaby
    January 10, 2017
    Genuinely not sure how to rate this one... I mean, on the one hand, I loved this book so, so much. The characters were amazing and the dual POV was perfect and everything was just so everything. That said, while this book is super short, it's a tough, tough book that took me much longer than expected to get through. Every page past the halfway point was just so painful. My heart basically died 1000000 times. I know some people feed off that but I wanted to put the book in the freezer. It was rou Genuinely not sure how to rate this one... I mean, on the one hand, I loved this book so, so much. The characters were amazing and the dual POV was perfect and everything was just so everything. That said, while this book is super short, it's a tough, tough book that took me much longer than expected to get through. Every page past the halfway point was just so painful. My heart basically died 1000000 times. I know some people feed off that but I wanted to put the book in the freezer. It was rough. But worth it. Love Kit and David forever and ever. (But seriously, I'm in dire need of fluff right now, my poor feels.) (Ughhhhh Kit and David. David and Kit. Ship 4eva. Want more always.)
    more
  • Sara (sarabara081)
    June 5, 2017
    4.5 stars! LOVED! Very well done and David was my absolute favorite! Review to come!
  • Charlotte Huang
    October 17, 2016
    Loved this brilliant, heartfelt story. Can't wait for everyone to read it!!
  • Alexandra
    April 20, 2017
    I received an e-ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Review can also be found on *Milky Way of Books*"Tell me three things" was one of the sweetest, funniest contemporaries I read on 2016. I was so, so happy to get the chance read yet another amazing book by Julie Buxbaum! Kit has just lost her father. Wanting to escape her friends, who insist on making her choose between a too tight jeans and a new boyfriend, she goes and sit right next to David. From there a sweet story begins, I received an e-ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Review can also be found on *Milky Way of Books*"Tell me three things" was one of the sweetest, funniest contemporaries I read on 2016. I was so, so happy to get the chance read yet another amazing book by Julie Buxbaum! Kit has just lost her father. Wanting to escape her friends, who insist on making her choose between a too tight jeans and a new boyfriend, she goes and sit right next to David. From there a sweet story begins, moving between Kit's and David's POV.On the outside, you may see this book as a known cliche where in an american high school you have the popular ones, the jocks, the mean girls and the outcasts. There is bullying and also the teenaged-hormone-filled mind doesn't quite have a grip on things.Yet David is smart, has an amazing knowldge in math, physics and music and falls for Kit, even when she doesn't know it or when misunderstandings begin to gather. I liked how Kit's relationship with her mother moved. Also Kit is half Indian so you have a good part of diversity representation gathered here.I can't say much, because it'll spoil you but you really need to give this sweet gem a chance. I truly would love to read more of Kit and David one day, if it'll ever happen!
    more
  • Arie ☂
    May 18, 2016
    Ooh, this sounds super adorable!
  • Laura
    June 19, 2017
    4.5 starsThank you, Edelweiss, for providing this book from Delacorte for review.Kit's father recently died in a car accident and she's not ready to handle everyday life just yet. She knows David will be quiet and give her space and peace, so she sits down at his lunch table. David knows Kit's dad just died, but he doesn't quite understand why she of all people sat down at his lunch table of all places. The two form an unlikely friendship, with his very literal and honest view of the world and h 4.5 starsThank you, Edelweiss, for providing this book from Delacorte for review.Kit's father recently died in a car accident and she's not ready to handle everyday life just yet. She knows David will be quiet and give her space and peace, so she sits down at his lunch table. David knows Kit's dad just died, but he doesn't quite understand why she of all people sat down at his lunch table of all places. The two form an unlikely friendship, with his very literal and honest view of the world and her need for straightforward conversation and understanding. When Kit asks David to help her solve the unsolvable (the hows of the accident), in a semi-rhetorical question for assistance, David will stop at nothing to find the answer. But will their friendship survive the truth?I laughed, I cried, I hugged my ereader. There are no words to describe the emotional rollercoaster this put me through. Kit's situation could've easily dived into woe-is-me territory, but her grief was handled so well. Meanwhile David, the one who put me through the rollercoaster, is just trying to understand life and not let his autism get in the way.This has so much in it that's so good and crucial for people to read. The switched perspectives -- the "normal" one in grief and finding solace in another, the autistic one learning how to be a friend and finding joy in social interactions -- really lent itself to the story. You see the social hierarchy in schools and how easily one can rise and fall. You see teenagers from different families putting loved ones on pedestals and watching parents or siblings not live up to that image, realizing we're all human. You see the extent of bullying someone for being different, and on the flip-side you see the love and devotion to someone for their unique abilities and brilliant mind.I'm in awe. I could go on for ages about how much I wanted to work with autistic children back when I studied psychology (I believe autistic people are brilliant and wonderful and see the world in such beautiful, unique ways), but I'll not do that. I'll instead insist that you read this book when it comes out. It's important that you do. You, too, will be speechless.
    more
  • Hallie
    January 5, 2017
    As a huge fan of Tell Me Three Things (it was easily one of my top 3 books of 2016), I was so excited to get to read an Advance Reader’s Copy of What to Say Next. I even saved the book for over a month so it could be my first read of the new year and it did not disappoint. Just like in Tell Me Three Things, Buxbaum perfectly captures a realistic teenager’s voice and feelings. Kit, a 16 year old who used to only worry about getting the Editor in Chief position at the school newspaper, is dealing As a huge fan of Tell Me Three Things (it was easily one of my top 3 books of 2016), I was so excited to get to read an Advance Reader’s Copy of What to Say Next. I even saved the book for over a month so it could be my first read of the new year and it did not disappoint. Just like in Tell Me Three Things, Buxbaum perfectly captures a realistic teenager’s voice and feelings. Kit, a 16 year old who used to only worry about getting the Editor in Chief position at the school newspaper, is dealing with the sudden death of her father in a car accident while David is just trying to get through bullying and being misunderstood by his peers. I loved that this story didn’t solely focus on a budding romance between the 2 characters. Kit has 2 best friends that love her and stick up for her and she has a strong relationship with her mom. David has a supportive family and a really cool big sister who looks out for him. Though romantic feelings develop later on, this is the story about another magical thing that happens in high school--insta-friendship when you need it the most. Throughout the book, I kept thinking about something that the author wrote in a letter to the reader at the beginning. Julie wrote “labels can be liberating, but they can also be limiting.” Throughout this book, Kit and David struggle with the labels that they’ve put on themselves and ones others have given to them. Kit tries to forget that she’s the girl who’s father has died, while David wants to push away the limitations that people assume his Asperger’s diagnosis have placed on him. As with all of my favorite teen books, What To Say Next gives Kit and David the room to test their labels and find their own identities. I know I’ll reread this book in the future and I can’t wait to share it with the teens at my library. Fans of Tell Me Three Things will find a similar story here and readers of Simon Vs. The Homosapiens Agenda and Sarah Dessen’s Just Listen will enjoy this book. (Also totally gasped and even put my hand over my mouth when we find out *the truth* about what happened. It totally surprised me.)
    more
  • Cookie
    January 26, 2017
    the new cover is so boring compared to the old one, lmao
  • Stacy Fetters
    April 21, 2017
    "I realize we all walk around pretending like we have some control over our fate because to recognize - that no matter what we do, the bottom will fall out when we least expect it- is just too unbearable to live with." We have all had that one crush. The one person we looked at nonstop, who we dreamed about and who we changed who we were to make ourselves more appealing to that person. And then we all grow up. You are successful and taking over the world one karate chop at a time. Then you spot "I realize we all walk around pretending like we have some control over our fate because to recognize - that no matter what we do, the bottom will fall out when we least expect it- is just too unbearable to live with." We have all had that one crush. The one person we looked at nonstop, who we dreamed about and who we changed who we were to make ourselves more appealing to that person. And then we all grow up. You are successful and taking over the world one karate chop at a time. Then you spot that High School crush! He still has that million dollar swoon smile, he's balder than an eagle, is sporting two kids by his side and can pound brews like he's in college. All you can really think to yourself is.... Phew! Dodged a bullet with that one!Not everything is as good as it seems. With one blink of an eye, your entire life can change and not for the better. Kit finds out the hard way that her life isn't so perfect. Kit is one of those girls that becomes popular due to an association. Even though she is pretty and smart, she wouldn't be where she is today without her friends. Lately, she has been getting away with murder because of the tragic accident that took her dad's life. He was in a car accident and dies shortly after he was rushed to the hospital. Not liking the way she has been treated lately, she decides to shit with the kid people refer to as S**thead. David is what we like to call different. He's quiet and takes everything extremely literally. He has been diagnosed with Aspergers, but he doesn't believe that he fits the description. Everything in his life has to be just so and he is at the top of his class. Talk about genius!! He's picked on incessantly, which makes him a loner in his school. His sister is none other than Lauren, who was the most popular girl in the school and she is helping him get through school life with a list of rules on how to act in school. As Kit walks into the lunchroom, she decides to head into another direction and she sits with David. Which shocks not only her but him as well. Not knowing what to do, he talks to her and tells her like it is without a filter and she loves it. She needs that honesty in her life right now with people acting like they are walking on eggshells around her. This is a breath of fresh air for her. Not she makes it a daily habit of spending her lunch with him and maybe some time in between. They decide that they are going to figure out what exactly happened with her dad's car crash and see if they can come up with an answer to the accident. But someone isn't being honest when it comes to being out in the open. Then the secret notebook comes to light and it spreads throughout the land. Destroying the hopes and ambitions of young David. David falls hard for Kit and with the help of his sister, he'll do what it takes to win her heart. But will this feeling be mutual or a failure from the start?I had the highest of hopes for this book. My friend just raves and rants about this authors books and I was excited to dive right in after receiving it from First in Line. From page one I was instantly disappointed. The two main characters seemed so fake. That their friendship was built on the good ship lollipop floating through hell. Guess what!? It doesn't exist... it's all a lie. I'm not sure what I was more upset with, the fact that their friendship was fake to the max or that the words they use to talk to each other weren't anything normal. It was truly rough to get through most of this book. The scenario just seemed so unreal and blown out of proportion. It makes me want to take off the other book of her from my TBR. Who wants a free arc?
    more
  • Alexa
    April 28, 2017
    WHAT TO SAY NEXT was a genuinely compelling read for me. I felt for both main characters Kit and David, who are experiencing different sets of difficulties in their day to day lives. And I thought it was so interesting to see their worlds intertwine and their relationship develop. The resolution felt a little rushed, but I still thought it was good. (Also, I cannot speak to the portrayal of a character on the autism spectrum, as that's not something I'm personally familiar with. But it fit in wi WHAT TO SAY NEXT was a genuinely compelling read for me. I felt for both main characters Kit and David, who are experiencing different sets of difficulties in their day to day lives. And I thought it was so interesting to see their worlds intertwine and their relationship develop. The resolution felt a little rushed, but I still thought it was good. (Also, I cannot speak to the portrayal of a character on the autism spectrum, as that's not something I'm personally familiar with. But it fit in with what I know of the spectrum, which is mostly peripheral knowledge.)
    more
  • Lauren R.
    March 2, 2017
    LOVED. Both characters were so charming, interesting, complex. I appreciate how real the story feels and honest I guess? I loved how quick but not easy this book was to read; it's more than meets the eye in less than 300 pages. Can't recommend enough <3
    more
  • Wendy
    June 29, 2017
    So, this review has two parts. First, I will give this book a 4/5 rating in regards to teen appeal. The characters are well-written, and the turn the story takes is just the sort of drama that will keep them invested. Sure to be a hit with young adults.Now, for me, this was a 3/5 story. Stop reading now if you don't want to be spoiled. The 3 stars are for the reasons mentioned above. Here is why I'm keeping the two other stars to myself. 1. More than once, the cover's summary speaks about the fr So, this review has two parts. First, I will give this book a 4/5 rating in regards to teen appeal. The characters are well-written, and the turn the story takes is just the sort of drama that will keep them invested. Sure to be a hit with young adults.Now, for me, this was a 3/5 story. Stop reading now if you don't want to be spoiled. The 3 stars are for the reasons mentioned above. Here is why I'm keeping the two other stars to myself. 1. More than once, the cover's summary speaks about the friendship of these two characters. I thought I was going to get a story about a friendship. But, of course, because we can't have a teen book with female and male MCs without romance. Can't have a story about friendship without throwing in the drama of a will-they or won't-they. "Oh, no, will the cutesy couple find their way back to each other, even if it means they start over as friends?" The added dramatic tension of autism does not make this a new story. What would have been new is avoiding the trap of teen romance. Alas...2. I would have much more respect for the romance if it hadn't been compromised by the unreliable narrator plot device. Boo. There wasn't some other way that David could have exhibited his autistic tendencies and thrown a wrench into happily-ever-after? Yes, absolutely. I relate to David in so many ways, and I can come up with about five more realistic scenarios in which the budding romance is stifled due to a "Aspie" vs. non-Aspie perspective. 3. If this story feels familiar, it's because there seems to be a trend right now of woe-is-me-my-(insert dead relative or friend)-is-gone-forever-200 pages later-omg-i-did-it-but-not-really. Even better if it's a twin. I think I read three of those last year. I'm over it. Yet, even though all of these reasons caused me great disappointment in the endgame, I will still put this book in than hands of teen readers, because they will eat it up. And that's what matters. It's a well-written story for teens, just not for me.
    more
  • Lisa (Lost in Lit)
    June 5, 2017
    I wasn’t sure what to expect going into What to Say Next. I don’t have very much personal knowledge concerning autism, but I felt it was handled quite delicately and realistically, again, based on the little bit I know. I’d honestly love to hear from someone who has first-hand knowledge. I have a feeling they would be quite satisfied with how it was dealt with as well.Kit has just lost her father and is struggling with her current group of friends, who want her to focus on clothes and boys. Davi I wasn’t sure what to expect going into What to Say Next. I don’t have very much personal knowledge concerning autism, but I felt it was handled quite delicately and realistically, again, based on the little bit I know. I’d honestly love to hear from someone who has first-hand knowledge. I have a feeling they would be quite satisfied with how it was dealt with as well.Kit has just lost her father and is struggling with her current group of friends, who want her to focus on clothes and boys. David has autism and is often by himself and without friends. In Kat’s desire to escape her friends and their mundane issues, she sits with David at lunch. From there begins their adorable relationship, sure to have you grinning, cringing, and sobbing. Yes, the feels are strong, guys. This book will tear you apart, at least it did me.I basically adored both Kit and David right from the start. These two teens both struggled from different issues, yet seeing how they affected their daily lives impacted me quite a bit. I adored the way their “labels” didn’t define them in this story. Kit didn’t want to be known as “the girl whose father died”, and David struggled to prove he was better than what his autism spectrum diagnosis portrayed to others about him. Julie Buxbaum is wonderful at addressing such sensitive topics so gracefully. This was a quick, easy read in the sense that I was able to fly right through it… but at the same time, it was a powerful one, and I basically sobbed through the second half of the book. This is definitely one I would suggest adding to your TBRs! Yay for a new fantastic diverse read!(Thanks to Delacorte Press for the review copy!)Find this review and others like it at Lost in Literature!
    more
  • Olivia
    April 12, 2017
    Endless thanks to the publisher for the early copy!!So, to give you an idea of how much I liked this, I would've read it in a single morning if I had the time to. I went into this without many expectations, and it was a lovely surprise.L I K E S» The characters were so raw and real. Kit is a popular girl isolating herself in an attempt to cope with her father's death in a car accident. David is a solitary boy on the autism spectrum, and he's honestly so sweet. I liked them both, but I just can't Endless thanks to the publisher for the early copy!!So, to give you an idea of how much I liked this, I would've read it in a single morning if I had the time to. I went into this without many expectations, and it was a lovely surprise.L I K E S» The characters were so raw and real. Kit is a popular girl isolating herself in an attempt to cope with her father's death in a car accident. David is a solitary boy on the autism spectrum, and he's honestly so sweet. I liked them both, but I just can't even with David.» The family dynamics. Kit and her mom have issues throughout the book as they deal with loss and grief in their own way, but they come together and I loved it. And David's family, especially his sister Lauren, are so supportive and protective of him. It was great.» Kit and David first met because Kit didn't want to sit with her friends. From there they developed a friendship and they helped one another out in different ways. The step up to something more was also amazing, and can I just say that David sounds like an adorable boyfriend..? Because he DOES.» The story was always interesting. To be honest, it was much better than I thought it would be. The second half was especially gripping, and if I could've read the last 80 pages last night to find out what happened I would've. Regardless, I was absolutely riveted up the very last page, even in the orthodontist's office. And that twist? I never, ever expected it!!» The ending was perfect. I can't say how, because spoilers, but just trust me. SQUEE.» Oh, and this also happens to be a diverse story. Kit is Indian-American, and David, as I said, is on the autism spectrum.D I S L I K E S» I've got nothing.O V E R A L LI loved this book so much, it's one of my new favorite contemporaries. This is definitely one to watch out for when it comes out.
    more
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    June 13, 2017
    I'm here to be the black sheep when it comes to this upcoming story. Why? I could not get into this for anything. I couldn't connect to the characters or care enough about the horribly paced plot. The real reason I DNFd this was because just when the story would get going, there would be yet another flashback that threw the momentum off. I know this is about a daughter that lost her father in a car accident, but with the way this story is poorly paced without a clear overall story I couldn't sta I'm here to be the black sheep when it comes to this upcoming story. Why? I could not get into this for anything. I couldn't connect to the characters or care enough about the horribly paced plot. The real reason I DNFd this was because just when the story would get going, there would be yet another flashback that threw the momentum off. I know this is about a daughter that lost her father in a car accident, but with the way this story is poorly paced without a clear overall story I couldn't stay focused. Example: One scene starts where Kit and her mother are having takeout dinner again and her mom uses one word, "Gross". Kit mentions how they started having one word conversations and then goes into a freefall flashback about how Kit can only replay her dad's car accident scene in her mind. Granted, she wasn't anywhere near the accident when it happened but apparently that isn't the point. Then her "Uncle" shows up out of nowhere and another long flashback takes place of his recent divorce. Now does that have anything to do with the overall story? Nope. Could it be considered setting up the character? Possibly, but no defining characteristics about the actual "Uncle" was given, only a somewhat random story about pancakes and bacon.I couldn't make it past page 60. I wanted to read about Kit and David's friendship but the bad pacing and flashbacks made me lose interest.
    more
  • Taylor
    April 10, 2017
    {4.5/5}awwwwwh guyyyyys !! this was such a lovely, heartfelt book 🤗i adored the storyline (i thought it was super original and refreshing) and the mini plot twists and turns made the whole thing even more interesting !!i also loved how it was a dual pov and i actually enjoyed reading from both david and kit's sides equally. they were such a cute duo and the chemistry between them was adorable as hell.overall an amazing read and you should DEFINITELY pick this one up once it releases !!
    more
  • Claudia
    April 1, 2017
    I loved so much; this is going to my favorites list. The story about how difficult is to “fit in” when you are young. David is a boy who has Asperger's and Kit, just lost her dad in a car accident. The realism of David’s struggles was heartbreaking. How important is to have a family that love you no matter what. I highly recommend this book to everybody .
    more
  • Elena ( The Queen Reads )
    June 30, 2017
    Recieved a Netgalley copy in exchange of an honest review as part of a blog tour so will be updating this when my stop is up. But all I can say is I love David so much!
  • Emma
    March 10, 2017
    from AAP Book Buzz
  • Nicole
    June 12, 2017
    4.5/5 It didn't grab me like Tell Me Three Things, but I fell in love with these characters and became very invested in their fates. This author is definitely on my auto-buy list!
Write a review