Hard Stick (Breakaway, #1)
He carries a big stick. And he’s not afraid to use it.On the ice, I’m Kellan Carter, powerhouse enforcer for the Charlotte Strikers. Off the ice, I’m just a regular guy. The last thing I want is to get mobbed by a bunch of groupies who are only after me for my fame and money. My ideal woman knows how to enjoy a little good, clean fun—and maybe some not-so-clean fun too. That’s the kind of girl I’d never let go.When Kristen Robinson, the gorgeous, down-to-earth bartender I’ve been crushing on, agrees to let me take her out, I’m thrilled. We have an amazing night together, culminating in the most electrifying kiss of my life—and that’s it. Kristen tells me we can’t see each other again, but I know that kiss meant as much to her as it did to me. What I don’t know is that Kristen has a dangerous secret. . . .I’ve proved to Kristen that she can trust me with her body and her heart. But when her past comes back to haunt her, I need to prove that she can trust me with her life. And I might have to get my hands dirty after all.

Hard Stick (Breakaway, #1) Details

TitleHard Stick (Breakaway, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Rating
GenreSports and Games, Sports, Romance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Readers also enjoyed


Hard Stick (Breakaway, #1) Review

  • Lex ☾
    March 26, 2017
    ✱4 STARS!✱ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review☾That was insane I don't even know what to say right now...
  • Logan Hr
    March 7, 2017
    I really wish that this book came with the warning of very little hockey and a lot more drama than necessary.. in fact it should be a mafia/FBI book! Within 3 chapters your head will spin out of control from all the drama... the time jump was unnecessary and I couldn't feel any connection between the hero and heroine... I'm still trying to figure what I read.. this author sadly is a hit or miss for me yet again
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    June 5, 2017
    Ooohh good one with plenty of twists! Review to come
  • Jan
    April 15, 2017
    5 Buttercup stars.Wow! I couldn't put this down. Hard Stick is not what I expected at all. Yes the main character is a hockey player but the main focus is on Kristen. Kristen is on the run from her crazy, ruthless and powerful ex and with the help of the FBI changes her identity, fakes her own death and starts a new life. Kristen works in a bar where Charlotte strikers hockey team regularly meet up. Kellan has been relentlessly trying to get Kristen to go out with him for a year. With the Faking 5 Buttercup stars.Wow! I couldn't put this down. Hard Stick is not what I expected at all. Yes the main character is a hockey player but the main focus is on Kristen. Kristen is on the run from her crazy, ruthless and powerful ex and with the help of the FBI changes her identity, fakes her own death and starts a new life. Kristen works in a bar where Charlotte strikers hockey team regularly meet up. Kellan has been relentlessly trying to get Kristen to go out with him for a year. With the Faking of Kristen death she decides to stop looking over her shoulder and try and live again. Kellan isn't the stereotype sports star like most of his manwhore team mates, he's the captain of the team and what you would call a sensible and career focused guy.When Kellan finally gets to take Kristen out your pantys melt, he is so damn swoon-worthy and hot, a perfect match for Kristen who has had more than her fair share of heartache. With angst,danger, hotness,heartache,great characters and heartwarming moments, Hard Stick is a perfect rollercoaster contemporary romance read that I couldn't put down. A stand-alone told in dual pov's and leads to a hea. Arc gratefully received by netgalley for review purposes http://www.Bbbf-sizzlereads-bestbookb...
    more
  • Viollar Nasaba
    June 2, 2017
    3.5 Stars..I want to say i enjoyed it so i will just say i enjoyed it.. :-)If you are a fan of hockey this is not the book for your (don't let the stick on the coverpage fool you)..but if you are me and know nothing about hockey (hey, am East African- ask me about lions and their habitat i will talk your ear off) then this is the book for you.The book has a twist that revolves around the heroine and her crazy ex that i really enjoyed..i enjoy these types of stories.. the whole damsel in distress 3.5 Stars..I want to say i enjoyed it so i will just say i enjoyed it.. :-)If you are a fan of hockey this is not the book for your (don't let the stick on the coverpage fool you)..but if you are me and know nothing about hockey (hey, am East African- ask me about lions and their habitat i will talk your ear off) then this is the book for you.The book has a twist that revolves around the heroine and her crazy ex that i really enjoyed..i enjoy these types of stories.. the whole damsel in distress yada yada yada..The whole mafia thing was a bit of an over-kill..But overall..not bad, not bad at all.***ARC kindly provided via NetGalley for the exchange of an honest review***
    more
  • Cocktails and Books
    April 13, 2017
    This book and I didn't really get along. I think it was because there was a guy with a hockey stick on the cover, but this was more of a romantic suspense book where the guy happened to played hockey. The suspense was good, the romance was OK, but in the back of my mind, I kept waiting for the hockey romance element.
    more
  • ❤Sana❤
    May 26, 2017
    3 stars!ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.This was my first book to author L. P. Dover and I must admit that it wasn't what I expected at all. The moment I saw the hot cover and the blurb I was a goner.When I requested Hard Stick, I thought the story would be about Ice hockey and hot guys but it was more about Kristen's tragedy than Kellan and his hard stick.Full review to be posted close to release day
    more
  • Kim
    March 29, 2017
    ***ARC PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY!!!!***WOW!!!! Totally not at all what I expected. I went by title,author and cover. The saying goes don't judge a book by its cover is true to this. L.P. Dover totally has your mouth drop and edge of your seat. Lots of excitement. She did a wonderful job on thus story. The characters were wonderful. Fighting for what you want in life and doing all you have to do to survive!!! L.P. Dover really knows how to throw a few great twists in a story. The author did that with ***ARC PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY!!!!***WOW!!!! Totally not at all what I expected. I went by title,author and cover. The saying goes don't judge a book by its cover is true to this. L.P. Dover totally has your mouth drop and edge of your seat. Lots of excitement. She did a wonderful job on thus story. The characters were wonderful. Fighting for what you want in life and doing all you have to do to survive!!! L.P. Dover really knows how to throw a few great twists in a story. The author did that with a couple of the characters in ways I NEVER would have guessed until a certain point in the book. I was totally drawn into the story and did not want to put it down cause I had to know what was going to happen next. Look forward to reading more books by L.P. Dover.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    March 16, 2017
    Kellan really doesn't like being cut off from sex, "grabbing her ***, I held her to me so she could feel what she did to me. “I have plenty of testosterone, buttercup. You can’t do this to me.” I liked this book, Kellan was such a good guy.
  • Lisa Venn sims
    March 7, 2017
    Kristen's life was about to change she never would have thought her life would end up on the run getting mixed up with Mitchell was the biggest mistake of her life he was obsessive and he would always find her but was she strong enough to fight back to get her life back after he tried to destroy hers Kellan lived his life on the ice a professional ice hockey player he had everything he could want except a good woman until he meets Kirsten would he be able to break down her walls and give him a c Kristen's life was about to change she never would have thought her life would end up on the run getting mixed up with Mitchell was the biggest mistake of her life he was obsessive and he would always find her but was she strong enough to fight back to get her life back after he tried to destroy hers Kellan lived his life on the ice a professional ice hockey player he had everything he could want except a good woman until he meets Kirsten would he be able to break down her walls and give him a chance and would he be able to handle all her secrets when they were revealed This story had me gripped from the first pages another great book from L.P Dover she's become one of my favourite authors x
    more
  • Treena
    March 9, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley for giving me an ARC of this book!This is my first book by this author. I requested for an ARC bec sports romances are one of my favorite tropes. But the best thing I can say about the story is that it was bland. Not quite meh. Not bad. Just bland. I finished it but am I keeping it on my Kindle? Nope. Sorry. 1) I think the problem is that there was too much going on but the author didn't really delve deeper into the critical themes/issues that were outlined. Scenes were de Thank you to NetGalley for giving me an ARC of this book!This is my first book by this author. I requested for an ARC bec sports romances are one of my favorite tropes. But the best thing I can say about the story is that it was bland. Not quite meh. Not bad. Just bland. I finished it but am I keeping it on my Kindle? Nope. Sorry. 1) I think the problem is that there was too much going on but the author didn't really delve deeper into the critical themes/issues that were outlined. Scenes were described in an offhand manner, as if they were narrated in passing ... making them seem as if they weren't important when in fact, these scenes were turning points.2) I couldn't relate to either of the main characters. Both of them are written without depth. It almost feels as what's written on the blurb is all you'll get to know about them as you don't get insight into their thoughts and feelings. I found it strange. Furthermore, there were too many ICK triggers for me (mainly related to Kristen) that made me dislike her. Like from a personal standpoint, I don't know how Kellan can get past them without being disgusted. Don't want to spoil anything but for me.... UGH. Just no. 3) I'm also disappointed bec I thought this was going to be a hockey themed romance but it is SO not the case. More like a weird mash up of hockey/mafia in a new adult romance. So as a sports fan, there's not enough hockey written in the book to satisfy me.
    more
  • Addicted2Books
    April 2, 2017
    Hard Stick starts out with a bang and keeps on delivering. Unfortunately, the danger is anticlimactic and leaves you thinking, "Is that it?" The buildup doesn't particularly match the suspense factor. The "connection" Kellan and Kristen have could've been more substantial. I loved the story, however, it has flaws. There is a few characters from previous L.P. Dover books (although, this is the first book I've read by this author) and they were kind of random.My criticism of the anti climatic sto Hard Stick starts out with a bang and keeps on delivering. Unfortunately, the danger is anticlimactic and leaves you thinking, "Is that it?" The buildup doesn't particularly match the suspense factor. The "connection" Kellan and Kristen have could've been more substantial. I loved the story, however, it has flaws. There is a few characters from previous L.P. Dover books (although, this is the first book I've read by this author) and they were kind of random.My criticism of the anti climatic storyline doesn't take much away from the overall book. It's still a great read. I recommend it to those of you romance addicts who tire of the boring storyline's told over and over again. Read My Entire Review! Addicted*2*Books WebsiteFollow Addicted*2*books On TwitterLike Addicted*2*Books FB Page Pin Us! Follow Addicted*2*books Blog Art!
    more
  • K.
    April 6, 2017
    Well, that was an interesting read. Hard Stick is the first book in L.P. Dover’s new Breakaway series. This not at all like I expected it too be, I thought oh another great hockey book, I love them. Nope, this wasn’t about hockey, okay a little about hockey. Do Not Judge This Book By The Cover!!! This was just Oh WOW! I was hooked right from the first chapter and boy is there drama. This was a nice blend of a love story, suspense, dark tones and a little humor. Kristen life is about to be turned Well, that was an interesting read. Hard Stick is the first book in L.P. Dover’s new Breakaway series. This not at all like I expected it too be, I thought oh another great hockey book, I love them. Nope, this wasn’t about hockey, okay a little about hockey. Do Not Judge This Book By The Cover!!! This was just Oh WOW! I was hooked right from the first chapter and boy is there drama. This was a nice blend of a love story, suspense, dark tones and a little humor. Kristen life is about to be turned upside down. She made a mistake and ended up with the wrong man. Mitchell is obsessive and controlling with her. He is almost stalkerish with his ways of always knowing where Kristen is. After a life changing moment, Kristen knows the only way to get away is to run. Is she strong enough to not cave and run back to him? Finding herself working in a small town bar with really no friends or connections, she meets Kellen. She is attracted to him, but she can’t allow herself to get involved with him. He is the star hockey guy who is in the spotlight, not too mention his playboy ways. She has too many secrets and has to stay hidden, however, he is persistent. Will she give him a shot and allow herself to have some happiness again? Can she trust him? Kellan has had everything he could ever want, but something is missing. Growing up loving hockey, he’s full filled his dream of playing professional since he was sixteen. He wants something more, but what? He’s not a relationship type of guy, but when he meets Kristen he is immediately attracted to her. She on the other hand wants nothing to do with him, can he convince her to give him a shot? Can he convince her that he really is a good guy, not a playboy? I liked that Kristen was taking measures to insure that she was protected by herself. She wasn't relying on anyone to do that for her. She didn't shrink away like she could have, so that was a nice touch. I liked that Kellan was more than a hockey guy. He had a good head on his shoulders, he was sweet and family was important to him. He proved to be more than you think he is. These two connected and sparks flew right from that first kiss. I enjoyed the banter between them and they seem to have a lot in common. The story was intense at times and I really liked seeing Kellan break down Kristen’s walls. She lays everything out and he doesn’t run, he’s steaming. All Kellan wants to do is protect Kristen, but will he be able to keep her safe, when her past catches up with her? The secondary characters added some great dialogue to the story. I enjoyed the little glimpses we got of Kellan’s teammates. I am excited to see where this is going to go next. Why not a five star review? Well, its simple...Kristen tells Kellan her story way to fast. They don’t really know each other and she blurts it out. I don’t buy that. Another thing, some of memories or conversations seemed like they weren’t that important to Kristen, we don’t get an expansion on them. While I thought this was going to be another sports romance novel, the cover is deceiving a little, but that is okay because I enjoy it! I look forward to reading more in the series and I have a feeling I know who is next. L.P. Dover did a great job with this book and if you know going into that it has more of a suspenseful love story, you might not be so surprised. I recommend this book, I couldn’t put it down. 4 Stars!!
    more
  • Downward dog
    March 18, 2017
    http://www.cocktailsandbooks.comI received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review for Netgalley and Cocktails and Books.This is a sweet, fun story with suspense and intrigue thrown into the mix to make it a satisfying read. I enjoy everything L. P. Dover writes and I love stories about hockey players, so I was excited to read this and I wasn't disappointed.Kristen is forced to take on a new identity when she runs away from her psycho boyfriend. She is devastated when she leaves her http://www.cocktailsandbooks.comI received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review for Netgalley and Cocktails and Books.This is a sweet, fun story with suspense and intrigue thrown into the mix to make it a satisfying read. I enjoy everything L. P. Dover writes and I love stories about hockey players, so I was excited to read this and I wasn't disappointed.Kristen is forced to take on a new identity when she runs away from her psycho boyfriend. She is devastated when she leaves her home, job and everything else in her life behind. She is currently working as a bartender and she misses her former job as an interior designer. She is afraid if she goes back into the field she loves, her ex will be able to track her down.Kristen works at the local bar that Kellon, a professional hockey player and his teammates frequent. Many of the guys in the team have asked Kristen out but she refuses. She isn't interested in any of the sexy hockey players, she is too caught up in all her problems to even notice them. Kellon likes the challenge of trying to get Kristen to go out with him. Once Kristen finally agrees and she gets to know Kellon, she realizes he is not the womanizer she thought he was. I feel sorry for Kristen she has had some tough breaks and deserves some happiness. She is a nice person but afraid to get involved with Kellon because she has so many problems. I love how protective Kellon is with Kristen. He won't let anything happen to her and always puts her first. He is loyal and an all around good guy. I really enjoyed the storyline and the characters. Kallon and Kristen are good together and have a lot chemistry, they just need to work through all of Kristens problems.
    more
  • Michele A.
    May 26, 2017
    Kellan and Kristen see each other several times per week at the bar Kristen tends bar at. Kellan is a hockey player and goes to the bar with several of his teammates to kick back and relax. Kellan has noticed Kristen for a while but she blows off any type of advance from anyone, especially his teammates. Kristen has been burned in the past and is definitely looking to stay low and try to keep her life a secret. She is on the run from an abusive ex and he has shown he will stop at nothing to get Kellan and Kristen see each other several times per week at the bar Kristen tends bar at. Kellan is a hockey player and goes to the bar with several of his teammates to kick back and relax. Kellan has noticed Kristen for a while but she blows off any type of advance from anyone, especially his teammates. Kristen has been burned in the past and is definitely looking to stay low and try to keep her life a secret. She is on the run from an abusive ex and he has shown he will stop at nothing to get her to be his. Kellan finally wears Kristen down to date him and it goes much better than she thought it would. She knows she has a lot of baggage and weighs how much she can tell him about her past. With no family to be able to help her, she is left to struggle through with the help of a few good friends. Kellan knows she is leery of him, but doesn't realize the extent of it until she begins to let him in. There were definitely some surprises in this book. It keep me reading to see what was going to happen and how it was all going to play out. I did like how Kellan was persistent in showing Kristen he was going to be there for her. Her friends did pull out all of the stops to help her when it was needed. I was at a loss at times though when they didn't have answers that they should have. The plot flowed well and the story line kept moving forward. Overall a good read and I was honored to receive an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Carolyn's
    March 17, 2017
    Loved the in depth story line and the amazing strength of the main character Kristen. While most stories I have read simply refer back to the events that take up the first 3 chapters of the book, or do flashbacks, I enjoyed it all being detailed- I developed a connection to the characters, especially Cole. You don't get that benefit in a synopsis or events or flashbacks so I applaud L.P. Dover for giving me Cole.This story lays the foundation for the Breakaway Series and our anchor couple of Kir Loved the in depth story line and the amazing strength of the main character Kristen. While most stories I have read simply refer back to the events that take up the first 3 chapters of the book, or do flashbacks, I enjoyed it all being detailed- I developed a connection to the characters, especially Cole. You don't get that benefit in a synopsis or events or flashbacks so I applaud L.P. Dover for giving me Cole.This story lays the foundation for the Breakaway Series and our anchor couple of Kirsten and Kellan. Kirsten has a tumultuous story that has led her back home to North Carolina after fleeing Boston. Having a psycho ex ruining her life, Kirsten withdraws from day to day life to hide out working in a bar. Running into a sexy ice hockey star was not on her radar. Kellan isn't exactly what he seems- that being a playboy- and he likes Kirsten and has the stamina to wait for her to come around to his attention.Taking awhile to give in to his date requests, these two finally go out and find they have so much in common along with a sizzling attraction. Feeling able to come out of her shell, Kirsten allows Kellan to see the real her. But danger is never far away from Kirsten and could it be that Kellan has unknowingly brought it back to her?When their love brings back danger into Kirsten's life, Kellan is hell bent to be there for her and protect her, but is he too late. Kirsten is strong and feisty and thought she'd be ready the next time around, but when she can't stop threats to those she loves how far will she go to protect them.
    more
  • Ashley
    April 13, 2017
    ARC provided by publishers via NetGalleyWhat a great start to a new series! I was on the edge of my seat while reading this story, waiting to see what was going to happen. You will have to read this to see what I mean. On top of that the romance was off the charts and I loved this couple. Kristin has just moved back to where she grew up under not so good circumstances. She is very weary of everyone around her and constantly looking over her shoulder. Being a bar tender at a place the hockey team ARC provided by publishers via NetGalleyWhat a great start to a new series! I was on the edge of my seat while reading this story, waiting to see what was going to happen. You will have to read this to see what I mean. On top of that the romance was off the charts and I loved this couple. Kristin has just moved back to where she grew up under not so good circumstances. She is very weary of everyone around her and constantly looking over her shoulder. Being a bar tender at a place the hockey team frequents she easily turns the guys down. Finally giving into Kellan she says yes to a date.Kellan is a hockey player on the Charolette Strikers and has had eyes for Kristin since he saw her. He is down to earth and doesn't let his fame go to his head. When Kristin finally agrees to go out with him he knows he has to play it cool, he doesn't want to scare her away.Kellan and Krisin have a sweet relationship and are learning what it means to truly trust and love someone. This is a story you don't want to miss and will be pulled in from the first page. Get ready for a rollercoaster you don't want to get off of.
    more
  • Nancy Metsch
    March 28, 2017
    L.P. Dover takes mystery to a whole new level in this book. There's an old saying you cant help who you fall in love with, BUT you also cant help falling out of love either. Mitchell Blackwell is a cocky arrogant man who always gets what he wants. BY. ANY. MEANS. NECESSARY!!! If you get in his way say your prayers Kristen Robinson is just a woman who fell for the wrong man..NOW she wants to be free. Kristin and her best friend Cole live in Boston and works for a top firm in the city. Cole doesn' L.P. Dover takes mystery to a whole new level in this book. There's an old saying you cant help who you fall in love with, BUT you also cant help falling out of love either. Mitchell Blackwell is a cocky arrogant man who always gets what he wants. BY. ANY. MEANS. NECESSARY!!! If you get in his way say your prayers Kristen Robinson is just a woman who fell for the wrong man..NOW she wants to be free. Kristin and her best friend Cole live in Boston and works for a top firm in the city. Cole doesn't like ot trust Mitchell. He has known Kristin their whole lives and thinks of her as a sister. He only wants the best for her. Something happens to Cole and this cause Kristin to high tail it back to North Carolina where she and Cole grew up. Life will never be the same for Kristin...This is when we meet the sexy as sin Kellen Carter. Captain of an NFL team. Hard as she tries Kristin just cant keep saying no to Kellen and thank goodness cause they make a great couple. Together they faced a hell of a ride with Mitchell on their heels. BUT they made it through. Kellen is amazing
    more
  • Pamela Lilley
    March 25, 2017
    An interesting story wth some strong characters. Kristen is in a relationship with a rich, besotted and obsessed businessman (basically he's a bit of a whacko). When his craziness comes to the surface Kristen has no other option but to change her identity and start her life over again. With the help of the FBI she starts afresh and is getting into the swing of small town living when she finally succumbs to the charms of Kellan carter, the Captain of the hockey team. Kellan (and a few of his team An interesting story wth some strong characters. Kristen is in a relationship with a rich, besotted and obsessed businessman (basically he's a bit of a whacko). When his craziness comes to the surface Kristen has no other option but to change her identity and start her life over again. With the help of the FBI she starts afresh and is getting into the swing of small town living when she finally succumbs to the charms of Kellan carter, the Captain of the hockey team. Kellan (and a few of his team mates) have been pursuing Kristen for almost a year, she works in the local bar they frequent. She has however, been putting off there advances, mainly due to the fact that she was stereotyping them. Things are looking up for Kristen, but just when she started to let her guard down, her past comes back to haunt her in the worst way. With some cringeworthy twists and turns, some sexy scenes with a super hot, super perfect hockey player, I found this story highly enjoyable. I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Katie Montgomery
    March 17, 2017
    I got this copy of hardstick by l.p dover from netgalley. I had seen this cover around alot and have read several of her books before so when I got the chance to grab this book I jumped at it! wow I was not dissapointed this book will grab you right at the start ... no gentle ease into it.... it is all go!!Kristen and Kellen have alot in there way before they can reach their hea. Kristen has had to disappear from her previous life and start all over again. Kellen is the hot hockey star whos team I got this copy of hardstick by l.p dover from netgalley. I had seen this cover around alot and have read several of her books before so when I got the chance to grab this book I jumped at it! wow I was not dissapointed this book will grab you right at the start ... no gentle ease into it.... it is all go!!Kristen and Kellen have alot in there way before they can reach their hea. Kristen has had to disappear from her previous life and start all over again. Kellen is the hot hockey star whos team always uses the bar she works in to relax after a game. When she finally gives in and agrees to a date it turns out their attraction to each other is strong however it is tested to the limits when Kristens past comes back to haunt her. I loved being kept on my toes with this book. The twist and turns is brilliant and you will fall in love with the characters easily. Every emotion will be felt too. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I wasn't dissapointed in any way. Great job L.P. Dover.
    more
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    March 26, 2017
    When I got this book, I thought it was going to be a hockey romance book. It wan not and it was more of a mafia/crazy ex book more than anything. That is not my type of book. So, in all honesty, I did not finish this book because for me it dragged. Just not my cup of tea!
    more
  • Mary Aguilera
    March 14, 2017
    I love a good hockey romance and add in some suspense and it just gets better! My heart was broken for Kristen from the first chapter, I was so happy when she met and fell in love with Kallen but I was also sitting on the edge of my seat in fear of that black cloud that could come around the corner at any moment. I don't want to give away the synopsis or the twists and turns this story takes. As a whole, I loved it! It was refreshing that there weren't any big dark secrets they kept from each ot I love a good hockey romance and add in some suspense and it just gets better! My heart was broken for Kristen from the first chapter, I was so happy when she met and fell in love with Kallen but I was also sitting on the edge of my seat in fear of that black cloud that could come around the corner at any moment. I don't want to give away the synopsis or the twists and turns this story takes. As a whole, I loved it! It was refreshing that there weren't any big dark secrets they kept from each other for way too long, etc. Kallen and Kristen simply love each other but there are outside forces that would keep them from finding their HEA.Want to know what happens and how they reach their HEA? One click a copy, you won't be disappointed. I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review by NetGalley.
    more
  • Karen
    March 10, 2017
    ARC NetGalleyI really loved how serious it started...I wasn't expecting "serious". I thought fluff and flirting. Well, "serious" was suspenseful and horrible.I enjoyed how Kirsten took her survival seriously with training and exercise. She was a strong smart woman! Kellan was perfect. I liked how the story had a nice flow and when Kellan and "Ten" got engaged we were happy for them.Lots of surprises keeps us in suspense. Kellan is a great book boyfriend!!Thanks to author for ARC as it was a plea ARC NetGalleyI really loved how serious it started...I wasn't expecting "serious". I thought fluff and flirting. Well, "serious" was suspenseful and horrible.I enjoyed how Kirsten took her survival seriously with training and exercise. She was a strong smart woman! Kellan was perfect. I liked how the story had a nice flow and when Kellan and "Ten" got engaged we were happy for them.Lots of surprises keeps us in suspense. Kellan is a great book boyfriend!!Thanks to author for ARC as it was a pleasure.
    more
  • Carey
    March 18, 2017
    4.5-5 Stars!! I loved this book! It was like a mix of Romance, Mystery, Thriller, with a bit of Horror & Erotica!! I loved the surprises/unforeseen twists & turns in the book too!! I think it was well written & flowed together nicely! I'd love to read more about the other guys on the team & their love lives!! I definitely recommend this book! It has just the right amount of romance/erotica & background info on each character!I received a copy of this book in exchange for an h 4.5-5 Stars!! I loved this book! It was like a mix of Romance, Mystery, Thriller, with a bit of Horror & Erotica!! I loved the surprises/unforeseen twists & turns in the book too!! I think it was well written & flowed together nicely! I'd love to read more about the other guys on the team & their love lives!! I definitely recommend this book! It has just the right amount of romance/erotica & background info on each character!I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 12, 2017
    * A review copy was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review * ~ 5 Not What You Expect Stars ~ FULL REVIEW to come closer to Release Day......Follow Us at :: Book Bitches Blog | Facebook | Twitter
  • Nellie Rivera
    March 15, 2017
    Received and ARC for fair review for netgalley. I enjoyed book, totally fell in love with Kellan, and did like Kristen. I was so broken hearted over Cole, but loved how Kristen did not forget him, but constantly remembered that he was a loyal friend til the end. Mitch was a total nutcase, but it enjoyable to read the lengths he went thru with his crazy obsession. It is always heartwarming to read about a group of friends that are there for you, and Kristen had that. I can't wait for next book, I Received and ARC for fair review for netgalley. I enjoyed book, totally fell in love with Kellan, and did like Kristen. I was so broken hearted over Cole, but loved how Kristen did not forget him, but constantly remembered that he was a loyal friend til the end. Mitch was a total nutcase, but it enjoyable to read the lengths he went thru with his crazy obsession. It is always heartwarming to read about a group of friends that are there for you, and Kristen had that. I can't wait for next book, I am hoping it is Dallas and that reporter.
    more
  • Tracy Flick
    March 18, 2017
    Hard Stick was an enjoyable read by L P Dover. Kristen has some hardships in her life prior to meeting Kellan. Kellan has to broken down Kristens walls and shows her that she can trust him. Hard Stick is full of suspense that will keep you on the edge of your seat.
    more
  • Mandy Marant
    March 13, 2017
    Well L.P. Dover is one of my favorite authors, but this book had little hockey in it and I would say the book has a lot of drama and should be called a FBI book. Overall it was still a great read. Lots of suspense and surprises for sure. Kristen gets mixed up with a powerful man name Mitchell. Mitchell is obsessive and controlling with Kristen. Kristen has to flee from Mitchell. Kellan talks Kristen into giving him a chance. Kellan was an overall good guy wanting to find a great woman. Kellan br Well L.P. Dover is one of my favorite authors, but this book had little hockey in it and I would say the book has a lot of drama and should be called a FBI book. Overall it was still a great read. Lots of suspense and surprises for sure. Kristen gets mixed up with a powerful man name Mitchell. Mitchell is obsessive and controlling with Kristen. Kristen has to flee from Mitchell. Kellan talks Kristen into giving him a chance. Kellan was an overall good guy wanting to find a great woman. Kellan breaks down Kristen's walls and earns her trust. Hard Stick had a great twist to it.
    more
  • Emmbooks
    March 13, 2017
    **full review to follow**
  • Cathleen
    March 10, 2017
    Another sexy sports writer. How I love an athlete. ❤❤ Another sexy sports writer. How I love an athlete. ❤️❤️
Write a review