The Design of Dissent
Chosen by the Editors at Amazon.com as one of the top 50 Best Books of 2005 - Now in paperback!With the world's economy in a slump, the Middle East's never ending conflict, and the on-going war on terrorism, there is a heightened awareness in the world community of the many sides of the numerous issues that both directly and indirectly affect our lives. Increasingly, people are feeling powerless and underrepresented because they have no voice.Designers, however, have a voice. They are among the most influential bystanders because their skills enable them to communicate a message easily through the Web or through posters and printed pieces. A picture is worth a thousand words and designers have used this adage to their advantage for years by creating simple yet powerful designs that immediately convey the message to the viewer. The Design of Dissent focuses on graphic work that designers have made as a result of social and political concerns. The time is certainly ripe as the U.S., and world, flares in opposition on so many important issues.

The Design of Dissent Details

TitleThe Design of Dissent
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 1st, 2006
PublisherRockport Publishers
ISBN1592533078
ISBN-139781592533077
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreDesign, Art, Nonfiction, Art Design, Politics, History

The Design of Dissent Review

  • R.Friend
    September 8, 2007
    Few design publications can match the sheer volume of high-concept work presented here. Strong messages, strong visual communication. The work literally speaks for itself, and is followed by a lengthy interview of Milton Glaser by Steve Heller.
  • Christian Hurst
    July 27, 2007
    holy cow! this book is incredible, but not for the weak of heart... definitely rated NC-17 for disturbing images, lots of war images, etc. but this is a must-have for the serious graphic designer.
  • Benjamin Wetmore
    February 3, 2014
    Poor selection, poorly executed. There are many better images and imagery to use, and yet the author's choice doesn't give you a glimpse into really great, compelling images, but rather tries to give a snapshot into a variety of select causes. The art should have come first, not the issues.So you're treated to a variety of causes, moments, issues which reads chronological whereas it would have been much better to receive just all the really great dissent images with more commentary and context.
    more
  • Sean
    May 16, 2011
    I loved this book. I found it when I was in college and going through a very minor "angst" period mixed with a dash a philosophy. This book was awesome. I have always liked graffiti art and protest. This book is a lot of fun to read and very powerful as well. A great coffee table book that you can keep looking at over and over.
    more
  • Adam
    January 19, 2009
    Great design book chocked full of political pieces.
  • Dave
    February 14, 2011
    I love this book. I used to use it as a text book in a design class I taught. Great art and some brilliant commentary by Tony Kushner."Art is not a mirror, it is a hammer!" —Fluxus
  • Athena Shardbearer
    January 3, 2014
    Very powerful book. Show's propaganda from around the world, poster design for causes and a lot of work that was banned from public places.
  • Katalin Eisenberg
    October 3, 2012
    This is a gem of a book.
  • che mahmoud
    January 4, 2012
    كتاب معادى للرأس مالية اوى... :D
  • Mike
    June 17, 2008
    Another collection of world graphic art worth checking out.Not for the timid or easily offended.
  • Iso Cambia
    November 14, 2013
    My aunt sent this to me several years ago, it's fantastic!
Write a review