How to Be a Muslim
A young Muslim leader's memoir of his struggles to forge an American Muslim identity.Haroon Moghul was first thrust into the spotlight after 9/11, as an undergraduate leader at New York University's Islamic Center. Suddenly, he was making appearances everywhere: on TV, talking to interfaith audiences, combating Islamophobia in print. He was becoming a prominent voice for American Muslims. Privately, Moghul had a complicated relationship with Islam. In high school he was barely a believer and entirely convinced he was going to hell. He sometimes drank. He didn't pray regularly. All he wanted was a girlfriend.But as Haroon discovered, it wasn't so easy to leave religion behind. To be true to himself, he needed to forge a unique American Muslim identity that reflected his own beliefs and personality. How to Be a Muslim is the story of a young man coping with the crushing pressure of a world that shuns and fears Muslims, struggling with his faith and searching for intellectual forebears, and suffering the onset of bipolar disorder. This is the story of the second-generation immigrant, of what it s like to lose yourself between cultures, and how to pick up the pieces.

How to Be a Muslim Details

TitleHow to Be a Muslim
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBeacon Press
ISBN0807020745
ISBN-139780807020746
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, Religion, Islam, Biography

How to Be a Muslim Review

  • Jenny (Reading Envy)
    March 7, 2017
    Haroon Moghul is best known because he was an undergraduate leader at New York University s Islamic Center before, during, and after 9/11. He became a spokesman for a religion that internally, he was not actually all that sure of. I learned so much in this book, and I think it is important reading. The central conflict between Muslim teachings and American culture and how Haroon struggles through them, relationships that he fails, his struggles with depression and identity. This would have been Haroon Moghul is best known because he was an undergraduate leader at New York University s Islamic Center before, during, and after 9/11. He became a spokesman for a religion that internally, he was not actually all that sure of. I learned so much in this book, and I think it is important reading. The central conflict between Muslim teachings and American culture and how Haroon struggles through them, relationships that he fails, his struggles with depression and identity. This would have been a five star book if the writing had been better. There are some major grammatical issues throughout, not like mistakes in typing words but in general sentence construction. This is a review copy for a book that doesn't come out until June, so I'm hopeful that they will really tackle some of those. Without that work, it's still worth the read because of the journey and what you will learn about one person's experience being Muslim in America. In the current environment where Muslims are vilified and repressed, a reminder that each life is an individual story with its own struggle is in itself a very important thing.Thanks to the publisher for providing an early copy via Edelweiss.
    more
  • Natasha
    May 23, 2017
    The trials and tribulations of Haroon Moghul are certainly an interesting tale to be read not only by Muslims but by anyone wanting to understand about Muslims in general. Certainly, being a minority is hard enough and add to the current Islamophobia surrounding the world it is indeed challenging for the writer to convince non-Muslims and even himself of the sanctity of the religion.
    more
  • Murtaza
    May 30, 2017
    A great memoir by an author I know well. It is in a sense of coming-of-age story for someone caught in the position of being stuck between two identities, and very sincerely struggling to believe in something that they feel they cannot deny. The writing was often very funny, but above all it is a heartfelt and sincere account of one persons own struggles in the modern world. Light, easy and thoughtful reading that is highly recommended to people of all backgrounds.
    more
  • June
    May 23, 2017
    This book turned up in my mailbox a few weeks ago, a surprise gift from the publisher. It was a nice surprise: an intensely personal spiritual memoir, authentic, ironic and redemptive, written in a conversational style that occasionally turns into poetry.I have heard the violent story of 9/11 so many times, but never have I paid attention to the quieter story of how a group of students at NYU, led by the author, built up their Islamic student ministry from a tiny student club to a full-fledged c This book turned up in my mailbox a few weeks ago, a surprise gift from the publisher. It was a nice surprise: an intensely personal spiritual memoir, authentic, ironic and redemptive, written in a conversational style that occasionally turns into poetry.I have heard the violent story of 9/11 so many times, but never have I paid attention to the quieter story of how a group of students at NYU, led by the author, built up their Islamic student ministry from a tiny student club to a full-fledged chaplaincy. That alone is a great achievement, and a story that deserves to be told. But it’s the lesser story here.The heart of this book is the author’s search for his own faith, how he learned to talk to God, and how a suicide attempt was prevented by a simple act of kindness. He succeeds, I think, in connecting to the dreams and the doubts experienced by every believer (unless they are lying). Thank you for this beautiful book.
    more
  • Zippergirl
    February 2, 2017
    Forest Park. Brightwood Hardware. Amostown Road. The author and I grew up, oblivious to one another, sharing stomping grounds. We also shared a lack of social graces, and inner rebellion against our religious upbringings; his Muslim, mine Roman Catholic. The whole, "God, why did you makes me a skeptic if you wanted me to believe?" If you might like a peek into the somewhat anguished life of a wannabeliever, as he seeks his path in locales East to West, join Haroon for this look back at his New E Forest Park. Brightwood Hardware. Amostown Road. The author and I grew up, oblivious to one another, sharing stomping grounds. We also shared a lack of social graces, and inner rebellion against our religious upbringings; his Muslim, mine Roman Catholic. The whole, "God, why did you makes me a skeptic if you wanted me to believe?" If you might like a peek into the somewhat anguished life of a wannabeliever, as he seeks his path in locales East to West, join Haroon for this look back at his New England childhood and his struggles to define himself. In places, his honesty is cringe-worthy which allows his story to resonate with any reader who has struggled with cultural or familial bonds in their search for themselves.
    more
  • Sam
    March 7, 2017
    Review forthcoming.
  • Vivian
    June 23, 2017
    A fascinating glimpse at one man's life as a Muslim dealing with mental health issues. An amazing read, and I generally don't read or like memoirs.
Write a review