I'd Rather Be in the Studio!
I'd Rather Be in the Studio! The Artist's No-Excuse Guide to Self-Promotion offers practical approaches that help you sell more art and build an art career that lasts. Alyson B. Stanfield, the art-marketing guru behind ArtBizCoach.com, shares self-promotion tools that have enhanced the careers of thousands of artists. You'll learn how to: (1) Introduce yourself as an artist so people want to know more; (2) Nail your artist statement to discover the right words for all of your marketing messages; (3) Expand your mailing list and use it to cultivate collectors; (4) Create marketing materials that outshine the competition; (5) Become a media magnet so buyers come to you; (6) Take advantage of your Web site and blog to build a bigger audience; and much more. It would be great if there were a precise formula for getting your art into galleries, museums and private collections. But every artist's path is different. That's why I'd Rather Be in the Studio! provides easy-to-follow self-promotion practices that help you find your way at any point in your career. Match Internet marketing strategies with sincere personal skills to take charge of your career.

I'd Rather Be in the Studio! Details

TitleI'd Rather Be in the Studio!
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 11th, 2008
PublisherPentas Press
ISBN0974272582
ISBN-139780974272580
Number of pages264 pages
Rating
GenreArt, Business, Nonfiction

I'd Rather Be in the Studio! Review

  • Robert Bean
    January 9, 2011
    If you're an artist trying to develop your business, this book is a must have. Alyson breaks down segments of being an artist into easy to digest "Actions" (not chapters) and has a ton of great ideas in the pages of this book. I had already read many different art business books by the time I came across this one, but Alyson Stanfield's book quickly moved to the top of the list.I highly recommend this book to any aspiring or established artist out there.
    more
  • Cindy
    March 7, 2013
    This book has been recommended by many in the art world whom I admire. The author, Alyson B. Stanfield is an art-marketing consultant. In this book she writes about the “excuses” artists can make that keeps them from becoming a more outgoing, assertive, and social media giant, referring to their art “business”.The chapters in the book fully explore areas where artists might be weak in self-promotion, and gives many suggestions on things to do. Topics from, how to write a better artist’s statemen This book has been recommended by many in the art world whom I admire. The author, Alyson B. Stanfield is an art-marketing consultant. In this book she writes about the “excuses” artists can make that keeps them from becoming a more outgoing, assertive, and social media giant, referring to their art “business”.The chapters in the book fully explore areas where artists might be weak in self-promotion, and gives many suggestions on things to do. Topics from, how to write a better artist’s statement; to all the ins and outs of social media and beyond touch just a small fraction of what can be found in the pages of this book. The author includes links to download worksheets that are mentioned in the book. These can be found on the website: http://www.idratherbeinthestudio.com/...For me personally, I found some of this knowledge not new to me, but other chapters were helpful. I found a couple of things to be outdated. I think that’s just because of the ever changing I.T. world we live in. And I must say that some of the suggestions would work better for someone who is a visual artist, such as a painter or photographer. It just seemed to have language geared more towards that type of artist. Overall, I do recommend it.
    more
  • Jillian
    May 28, 2010
    This book is an invaluable reference resource for artists. I ended up highlighting half of it, and I found advice that I hadn't read in The Artist's Way or any other marketing book.
  • Whitaker
    December 10, 2010
    A really great book shows us how everything is great and worth to die for
  • Lisa King
    February 4, 2013
    I borrowed this book from the library and was pleasantly surprised with the amount of information contained within these pages. The author really wants artists to succeed regardless of what type of art they create. Again, as with Caroll Michels' How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist, Alyson B. Stanfield concentrates her advice for the artist who seeks gallery representation. Included is how to write an effective artist's statement, bio, and newsletter etc. She promotes the need for an effectiv I borrowed this book from the library and was pleasantly surprised with the amount of information contained within these pages. The author really wants artists to succeed regardless of what type of art they create. Again, as with Caroll Michels' How to Survive and Prosper as an Artist, Alyson B. Stanfield concentrates her advice for the artist who seeks gallery representation. Included is how to write an effective artist's statement, bio, and newsletter etc. She promotes the need for an effective website and social media presence.Even though the information presented is geared for the gallery artist, there are nuggets for the commercial artists who do not seek gallery representation. You just have to read and pick them out.Highly recommended.
    more
  • Tom Libertiny
    September 8, 2013
    While there's no new information in Alyson Stanfield's book, that's her point: "No-Excuses." She outlines a step-by-step program that anyone can use to further their promotional goals as an artist, business person or volunteer in a not-for-profit. What she does do extremely well is motivate through her book. And if you E-mail her with a question through her website, she responds in person quickly with very helpful followup information.This book is written for visual artists (painters, sculpture, While there's no new information in Alyson Stanfield's book, that's her point: "No-Excuses." She outlines a step-by-step program that anyone can use to further their promotional goals as an artist, business person or volunteer in a not-for-profit. What she does do extremely well is motivate through her book. And if you E-mail her with a question through her website, she responds in person quickly with very helpful followup information.This book is written for visual artists (painters, sculpture, erc.) but 95% of it can be used by anyone.
    more
  • Teresa Sharp
    July 11, 2011
    This is a very helpful book for Artists who are wanting to move from hobby to business with their visual art. At some level the tips can be applied to other self-employed creative types as well. Some of the content can be skimmed through for the tech savvy reader. On the other end I skimmed some of it because my husband understands and will be helping me with aspects that are beyond my comprehension at this time.
    more
  • Kim
    August 7, 2009
    This is a really practical book for any artist looking to run a business. There is no earth shattering advice here, but the book is instrumental because of how it is organized and sets forth goals and tasks. I would make it mandatory reading for all artists aspiring to make money from their efforts.
    more
  • Tony Bradshaw
    May 17, 2014
    If you're not ready to take marketing actions, don't read this book! The book is basically a long todo list organized to help the reader overcome their excuses. Marketing is an area of weakness, so it helped to get some items to do, yet it was overwhelming to see all that wasn't being done.
    more
  • Brad Blackman
    March 28, 2011
    Fantastic book, and I only wish I finished it when I got it. I feel a re-read is in order, though, so I can come up with a good plan for getting my art out in the world. It's a good playbook for self-promoting your art.
  • Nancy
    March 27, 2008
    This book gives practical, good advice to artists of all kinds, but mostly visual artists, on marketing.I learned a lot from this book, and am working now to implement many of the ideas. Each idea takes time, but if you work on it bit by bit, a lot can be accomplished.
    more
  • Pamela
    October 22, 2008
    I believe Alyson Stanfield is the best author I have encountered who writes about the particulars of marketing for artists. For those artists out there - check out www.artbizcoach.com to view more of her gifts and talents.
  • Rebecca
    March 14, 2015
    Perfect for those of us who cringe at tooting our own horn. There are some good ideas and pointers in this, and some that might not apply at the moment but to be aware of. It gives a good starting place for promoting yourself and your work without being too starry eyed "make it and they will come."
    more
  • Christine Goldbeck
    December 14, 2010
    If you are an artist and want to succeed in terms of finances, read this book and practice what she suggests. It works!
  • Danielle
    July 4, 2011
    Tons of great information and advice and truly a fitting title! Have gone back to use this as a reference multiple times.
  • Drea
    September 14, 2013
    I highly recommend this book to any and every artist starting to sell or thinking of selling their creations.
  • drozda
    August 2, 2008
    I continue to learn more andmore about staying the course. very upbeat info and guidance for any artist working in the world.
  • Laura
    December 31, 2008
    Perfect for the individual looking to promote their art business or really any business. So helpful in several ways. Very easy read.
  • Kim
    December 27, 2008
    I'm marking this to-read, but I already know Alyson Stanfield gives amazing advice. This book will be more confirmation of that. I'll get it on my next book order for sure!
  • Laura
    September 11, 2009
    One of the best "Business of Art" books out there. She also has a good blog and wonderful podcasts. I would highly recommend this book to any serious artist.
Write a review