Where the Sidewalk Ends
Where the Sidewalk Ends turns forty! Celebrate with this anniversary edition that features an eye-catching commemorative red sticker. This classic poetry collection, which is both outrageously funny and profound, has been the most beloved of Shel Silverstein's poetry books for generations.Where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein's world begins. There you'll meet a boy who turns into a TV set and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.Shel Silverstein's masterful collection of poems and drawings is one of Parent & Child magazine's 100 Greatest Books for Kids. School Library Journal said, "Silverstein has an excellent sense of rhythm and rhyme and a good ear for alliteration and assonance that make these poems a pleasure to read aloud."Shel Silverstein's incomparable career as a children's book author and illustrator began with Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back. In 1964, Shel's creativity continued to flourish as four more books were published in the same year—Don't Bump the Glump!, A Giraffe and a Half, Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros?, and the beloved classic The Giving Tree. Later he continued to build his remarkable body of work with Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, Every Thing On It, The Missing Piece, The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, and Runny Babbit.

Where the Sidewalk Ends Details

TitleWhere the Sidewalk Ends
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 1st, 2002
PublisherHarpercollins Childrens Books
ISBN0060513039
ISBN-139780060513030
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenrePoetry, Childrens, Classics, Fiction, Humor, Young Adult, Picture Books, Juvenile, Fantasy, Funny

Where the Sidewalk Ends Review

  • Steve
    July 31, 2007
    His parents did well naming him Shel.He never did care to conform.What would compel a guy to rebelIf everyone knew him as Norm?
  • Raeleen Lemay
    March 6, 2015
    I found a beautiful 40th anniversary edition of this at Costco and just had to pick it up! SUCH A GREAT BOOK THROWBACK TO CHILDHOOD WADDUP
  • Jennifer
    December 5, 2008
    There's a polar bear - in the fridgedare - he likes it cuz its cold in there!I wrote a report on this in the 6th grade and I still remember that by heart. That was the year I got braces and Chris N. butted in line when we were coming in from recess and I grabbed his arm and said "No Butting!" and he turned around and punched me in the face. The braces smashed into my lip and it bled so bad! I went to the bathroom with a girlfriend (I can't remember her anymore - isn't that strange?) and she trie There's a polar bear - in the fridgedare - he likes it cuz its cold in there!I wrote a report on this in the 6th grade and I still remember that by heart. That was the year I got braces and Chris N. butted in line when we were coming in from recess and I grabbed his arm and said "No Butting!" and he turned around and punched me in the face. The braces smashed into my lip and it bled so bad! I went to the bathroom with a girlfriend (I can't remember her anymore - isn't that strange?) and she tried to help me clean up and then the bell rang and she went back to class and I had to walk in to class with my bloody face. My teacher looked at me - and I was trying to skulk so quietly in - and he said "Who did that to you?!?!?" and I said Chris N. and he grabbed him by the shirt and lifted him off the ground and slammed him into the wall. He said something like "You don't hit girls!" and took him to the principles office. The funny thing?!?! That weekend I got chicken pox (the second time!) and when I got back they gave me two weeks detention for getting in a fight. (I am so not shitting you.) And when I went to detention - they made me sit in the hall by myself rather than sitting in detention with all the assholes who got busted for real shit. Man I have had the most fucked up life. Huh? Oh. this book rocks. Read it. Read it to your kids. Read it to people you love. And always remember that there IS a polar bear in the frigidare. (I live in Minnesota so that really means something.)
    more
  • Michael Finocchiaro
    October 2, 2016
    This collection of children's poems from Shel Silverstein is a real treat. Each of the creatures and characters is fascinating and never overly moralistically drawn. There are lots of laughs here - both my kids adored these poems and were sad when I turned the last page. "More!!" they cried.
    more
  • Austin
    February 10, 2008
    Every child eventually discovers the perverted old man who wrote songs for Johnny Cash, did illustrations for Playboy, appeared on the Dr. Demento show numerous times, and managed to get a few books published along the way. For some reason, parents never seem to think this creepy old guy who was so fond of children was in any way "disturbing," something I'm continually impressed with in the "ban now, ask questions later" climate of modern culture. If there are people who don't like Shel Silverst Every child eventually discovers the perverted old man who wrote songs for Johnny Cash, did illustrations for Playboy, appeared on the Dr. Demento show numerous times, and managed to get a few books published along the way. For some reason, parents never seem to think this creepy old guy who was so fond of children was in any way "disturbing," something I'm continually impressed with in the "ban now, ask questions later" climate of modern culture. If there are people who don't like Shel Silverstein, I don't want to meet them. Or, more to the point, you shouldn't meet them if that is an option. Children need to experience this kind of creepy / weird / funny / sad stuff, not just for their own sake, but for the sake of having a conduit through which they can make sense of most of the rest of the world. Knowing that Shel sees things this way, too, makes it all easier to take, and makes your own oddness that much more tolerable. We, as humans, need to come to terms with inexplicable and unfathomable in the world, and it wasn't until Shel that we began to realize that the only way to gently help our children do just that, is to let a perverted old weirdo with a large stack of Playboys in his basement lead the way.
    more
  • Emily May
    October 7, 2012
    “I will not play at tug o' war.I'd rather play at hug o' war,Where everyone hugsInstead of tugs,Where everyone gigglesAnd rolls on the rug,Where everyone kisses,And everyone grins,And everyone cuddles,And everyone wins.”
  • j
    October 21, 2009
    I am crap at reciting from books. Sure, I know your super-famous opening lines and popular misquotations, but I don't really, like, pause in my reading to note a particularly nice turn of phrase so I can commit it to memory.Which is odd, because I have always had a pretty good memory for the spoken word and, especially, lyrics. When I was little, my parents found this most amusing. They would hear me playing in my bedroom, singing random snatches of commercial jingles and songs from A Prairie Ho I am crap at reciting from books. Sure, I know your super-famous opening lines and popular misquotations, but I don't really, like, pause in my reading to note a particularly nice turn of phrase so I can commit it to memory.Which is odd, because I have always had a pretty good memory for the spoken word and, especially, lyrics. When I was little, my parents found this most amusing. They would hear me playing in my bedroom, singing random snatches of commercial jingles and songs from A Prairie Home Companion to myself. Then they would try to make me perform them for guests."Sing the song from the Garrison Keillor tape!" they would say."No," I would respond, suddenly shy."Come on, sing it!" they'd smile. ("He's being shy, he usually sings this all day!")"No, I don't want to," I'd insist."Come on, Joel, sing the song from the tape.""NOOOOO!" I would shout, now in tears."SING IT OR YOU'RE IN TROUBLE!"One of the things they would force me to perform like a trained monkey I liked to recite best was Shel Silverstein poetry. I had a cassette tape of Where the Sidewalk Ends (read by the author) that I listened to over and over, to the point where I had all the timing and inflections down and everything. I still have them memorized.The Crocodile's ToothacheOh, the crocodile went to the dentistand he sat down into the chair.And the dentist said, [jovially] "Now tell me sir, why does it hurt and where?"And the crocodile said,"I'll tell you the truth, I've a terribleterribleache in my tooth!"And he opened his jaws so wide,so wide,the dentist he climbed right inside!And the dentist laughed,[gleefully] "Oh, isn't this fun?"as he pulled the teeth out onebyone.And the crocodile cried, [frantic] "You're hurting me so! Please put down your pliers and let me go!"But the dentist just laughed with a [deep voice] "Ho ho ho!" and said, "I still have 12 to go!Oops, that's the wrong one, I confessbut what's one crocodile toothmore or less?"And then suddenlythe jaws went snap![pause]And the dentist was gone,right off the map.From north, [pause]to south, [pause]to east, [pause]to west, [pause]he leftnofor-ward-ing address.But [long pause]what's one dentist, more or less?FROM MEMORY! It is better if you can hear it. Come by sometime and maybe my parents will force me to perform for you like some kind of sideshow robot freak.Facebook 30 Day Book Challenge Day 7: Book that you can quote/recite.
    more
  • Sita
    August 23, 2011
    All I can say is that this book is amazing. This was the first book that my dad ever read to me and I loved it. I was re-reading it today and I normally don’t love books I loved when I was little, but this book is different. I still love it, there’s not much else I can say that people haven’t already said, so I am just going to end this super short review now.P.S. If you haven’t read this before I recommend giving it a go, it is a nice fun, simple read that I’m sure you’ll enjoy reading.
    more
  • Dunninghousehold
    August 18, 2007
    Such an amazing book! This new addition has 12 new poems, and they fit in perfectly with our beloved favorites. The first poem, Invitation, sums the book up perfectly, and remains one of my favorite poems of all time:InvitationIf you are a dreamer, come in,If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer...If you're a pretender, come sit by my fireFor we have some flax-golden tales to spin.Come in!Come in!And once you do, you'll never be the same. Awaken your silly Such an amazing book! This new addition has 12 new poems, and they fit in perfectly with our beloved favorites. The first poem, Invitation, sums the book up perfectly, and remains one of my favorite poems of all time:InvitationIf you are a dreamer, come in,If you are a dreamer, a wisher, a liar,A hope-er, a pray-er, a magic bean buyer...If you're a pretender, come sit by my fireFor we have some flax-golden tales to spin.Come in!Come in!And once you do, you'll never be the same. Awaken your silly wiggly bold beastie of a child within, and read this book, again and again...
    more
  • Marvin
    July 7, 2014
    Look O Look!I see a book! A book that gleamsA book that screams Delightful thingsBy Shel SilversteinPoems and drawingsThat are not boringThey speak to me Like a tapestryOf childhood joysFor girls and boys Not just for kidsAdults will digThe funny rhymesof forgotten timesWhen they were youngAnd life was funSo turn the page Forget your age When the book ends You can start againAnd follow the bendWhere the sidewalk ends
    more
  • Arman
    March 22, 2015
    من به یک سری از دلایل، انگیزه های زیادی ندارم برای اینکه بچه ای از خون و ریشه های خودم داشته باشم. بچه ها رو دوست دارم، حتی تربیت کردن بچه هم مشکلی نیست، مشکل از همون پله اول سرچشمه می گیره، اینکه 50 درصد از مسئولیت اومدن یه انسان جدید به این جهان رو بر عهده بگیری و به این نتیجه برسی که قادر به این خواهی بود که این جهان رو اونقدر خوب برای بچه ـت رقم بزنی که اومدنش بهتر از نیومدنش باشهاما از وقتی با کتاب های شل سیلوراستاین آشنا شدم، به جرأت می تونم بگم که علاقه خیلی بیشتری به ایده بچه داشتن پیدا من به یک سری از دلایل، انگیزه های زیادی ندارم برای اینکه بچه ای از خون و ریشه های خودم داشته باشم. بچه ها رو دوست دارم، حتی تربیت کردن بچه هم مشکلی نیست، مشکل از همون پله اول سرچشمه می گیره، اینکه 50 درصد از مسئولیت اومدن یه انسان جدید به این جهان رو بر عهده بگیری و به این نتیجه برسی که قادر به این خواهی بود که این جهان رو اونقدر خوب برای بچه ـت رقم بزنی که اومدنش بهتر از نیومدنش باشهاما از وقتی با کتاب های شل سیلوراستاین آشنا شدم، به جرأت می تونم بگم که علاقه خیلی بیشتری به ایده بچه داشتن پیدا کردم. حین خوندن کتاب هاش، این ایده که که ساعت 11 شب، یه بچه 5 ساله رو ببری توی اتاق خوابش، روشنایی اتاقش رو خاموش کنی، شبخواب ـش رو روشن کنی و براش از شعرهای عمو شلبی بخونی تا خوابش ببره رهام نمی کنه. شعرهای سیلوراستاین به بزرگترین انگیزه ـم از بچه داشتن تبدیل شده و این مبالغه نیستبه این فکر می کنم که بچه ای که این شعرها رو از همون دوران خردسالی براش خونده باشن و این مضامین توی ضمیرش نقش بسته باشه، چقدر می تونه سطح فکری بالاتری از هم سن و سال هاش داشته باشه و چقدر می تونه در آینده برای "زمین" مفید باشه. مضامینی که سیلوراستاین بهشون پرداخته انقدر متنوع و زیادن که حتی از تمام چیزهایی که شما به عنوان والدین قراره به بچه یاد بدید هم بیشتره و کامل تره! و جالب این جاست که بعضی هاشون انقدر عمیق هستن که حتی واسه منِ 21 ساله هم آموزنده هستن. یکی از شعرهایی که حس کردم خودم هم می تونم ازش یاد بگیرم این بود:Just ME, Just MeSweet Marie, she loves just me(she also loves Maurice McGhee)No she don't, she loves just me(She also loves Louise Dupree)No she don't, she loves just me(She also loves the willow tree)No she don't, she loves just me(Poor, poor fool, why can't you seeShe can love others and still love thee)من حداقل تا یکی دو سال پیش توی درک و هضم مضمومنی که توی شعر بالا بهش پرداخته شده عاجز بودم و آدمایی رو هم می شناسم که این مشکل رو دارن، بنابراین این نشون میده که شعرهای سیلوراستاین با اینکه در وهله اول برای بچه ها نوشته شدن، ولی مخاطبشون می تونه خیلی خیلی گسترده تر از "فقط بچه ها" باشهواقعاً باور دارم که اگه مردم دنیا شعرهای سیلوراستاین رو مثل یه قرارداد نا نوشته از همون بچگی برای بچه هاشون بخونن، مفهوم دنیایی ازصلح و یه حسی مثه نفرت از جنگ و خون ریزی توی ذهن ها بچه ها نقش می بنده و شاید یه دنیای بهتر رو داشته باشیم. این شعر رو بخونید مثلاً:Hug O' WarI will not play at tug o' war,I'd rather play at hug o' war,Where everyone hugsInstead of tugs,Where everyone gigglesand rolls on the rug,Where everyone kisses,And everyone grins,And everyone cuddles,And everyone wins.و هر شعر هم نقاشی خاص خودش رو داره که برای بچه هایی که سواد خوندن کتاب رو ندارن، جذابیت مضاعف ایجاد می کنه و بن مایه شعر رو می تونن از نقاشی مربوط به شعر درک کننمن خودم جزء اون بچه های خوش شانسی بودم که پدر مادرم و عمه عزیزم توی بچگی برام کتاب داستان می گرفتن و می خوندن و با کتاب بزرگ شدم. با این وجود، کتاب داستان هایی که من خوندم این درجه از غنا رو نداشتن. کتاب داستان های اوایل دهه هفتاد بودن که معمولاً حول محور "حسن کچل" می چرخیدن و الان تنها چیزی که ازشون یادم مونده اینه:کچل کچل کلاچهروغن کله پاچهکه اینجا شاید نویسنده می خواست این پیام رو بده که نباید کچل ها رو مسخره کرد به خاطر مو نداشتنشون، ولی بر عکس این شعره توی ضمیر ناخودآگاه نقش می بست و هر وقت یه آدم کچل یا بچه ای که موهاش رو زده بودن رو می دیدم، این شعره رو می خوندم!این کتاب رو از یه حراجی پیدا کردم و دلیل اینکه خریدمش هم دو زبانه بودنش (یه طرف متن اصلی، یه طرف متن ترجمه شده) بود. پیشنهادم اینه که هر نوع شعر خارجی رو اگه به زبان اصلی نمی خونید، حتی الامکان به صورت دو زبانه بخونید و فقط به متن فارسی اکتفا نکنید. همه ـمون می دونیم که ترجمه شعر چقدر کار سختیه و چقدر از زیبایی ها و احساسات اصیل شعر در ترجمه از بین میره یا تغییر می کنه. به شخصه قسمت انگلیسی کتاب رو خوندم، ولی ترجمه ها هم خیلی خیلی عالی صورت گرفته بود و حتی یک اشکال ترجمه هم توش پیدا نکردم. نسخه من از نشر "هوای تازه" و با ترجمه "رضی خدادادی" بود.در پایان، یکی از شعرهای کوتاه و زیبای کتاب رو به عنوان حسن ختام می نویسم:LISTEN TO THE MUSTN'TSListen to the MUST'NTS, child,Listen to the DON'TSListen to the SHOULDN'TSThe IMPOSSIBLES, the WON'TSListen to the NEVER HAVESThen listen close to me_Anything can happen, child,ANYTHING can be
    more
  • Ronyell
    August 7, 2010
    “Where the Sidewalk Ends” is another book of poems from the creative mind of Shel Silverstein, who is the popular author of “A Light in the Attic.” This book details poems about silly people and animals doing crazy activities. Even though this book has some suggestive content, children will easily be delighted in this book for many years. Shel Silverstein has done an awesome job with both illustrating and writing this book of poems. Shel Silverstein’s writing is witty and creative as uses bizarr “Where the Sidewalk Ends” is another book of poems from the creative mind of Shel Silverstein, who is the popular author of “A Light in the Attic.” This book details poems about silly people and animals doing crazy activities. Even though this book has some suggestive content, children will easily be delighted in this book for many years. Shel Silverstein has done an awesome job with both illustrating and writing this book of poems. Shel Silverstein’s writing is witty and creative as uses bizarre creatures and humans to summarize each poem in a humorous way. The poem that I thought stood out the most was the poem about Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who refused to take the garbage out and meets a grisly end (even though he never mentions what happened to her) and that poem expresses the moral that it is important to take the garbage out when it is needed and how one must listen to their parents when doing chores. Shel Silverstein’s illustrations are hilarious and crude as he illustrates each character with long limbs and exaggerated expressions and I also love the way that Shel Silverstein puts the illustrations in black and white format which is mostly found in chapters books for both children and adults. Parents should know that there is a great deal of suggestive content in this book mainly revolving around the topic of morbid humor and the topic of God. The two poems that might be the most controversial would be “Ma and God” and “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the Garbage Out.” In “Ma and God,” the poem talks about how Ma always tells her child to not do bad things, even though God has created the bad things for the child to do. For instance, one passage mentions that mother tells their children to eat their vegetables, but God creates sweets for children to eat. This poem might give children the wrong message about God and parents might want to teach their children about religion before they read them this poem. In “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the Garbage out,” the garbage overflows the house and eventually the city when Sarah refused to take the garbage out. This poem might worry small children who think that if the garbage overflows their house, then they will meet a tragic fate too. However, the poem merely tries to teach children to obey their parents and parents should try to comfort their children about this poem and the importance of taking the trash out. “Where the Sidewalk Ends” is another great classic book of poems from Shel Silverstein and it will surely help engage children into the world of poetry. I would recommend this book for children ages six and up due to the suggestive themes of God and some morbid humor that younger children might not understand.Review is also on: Rabbit Ears Book Blog
    more
  • Duchess Nicole
    April 9, 2009
    This is officially one of my favorite children's books. I read this with my 10, 9, and 7 year old daughters. We all loved the book so very much, but I was really surprised at just how into it I was...I think the girls got just as big a kick out of watching me laughing maniacally as they got out of the actual book. I realize that I'm way behind on discovering this author, and so I'm just giving a general 'enjoyment' review. Silverstein not only made me laugh so hard I almost cried, but he also wr This is officially one of my favorite children's books. I read this with my 10, 9, and 7 year old daughters. We all loved the book so very much, but I was really surprised at just how into it I was...I think the girls got just as big a kick out of watching me laughing maniacally as they got out of the actual book. I realize that I'm way behind on discovering this author, and so I'm just giving a general 'enjoyment' review. Silverstein not only made me laugh so hard I almost cried, but he also write with such heart that he could make me cry with a one page poem. Admittedly, I have a soft heart when it comes to children's books. Some of his clever rhymes reveal the magic of the young and how some kids are able to live in a world all their own...that wonderful place called childhood. And yet it all has an adult spin on it, a sense of longing that only adults can have for the childhood that is long gone for them. Deeper meanings, folks... “MagicSandra’s seen a leprechaun,Eddie touched a troll,Laurie danced with witches once,Charlie found some goblins gold.Donald heard a mermaid sing,Susy spied an elf,But all the magic I have knownI've had to make myself.” There are some that have big morals that spouted long conversations between my kids and I: “My skin is kind of sort of brownish pinkish yellowish white. My eyes are greyish blueish green, but I'm told they look orange in the night. My hair is reddish blondish brown, but its silver when its wet, and all the colors I am inside have not been invented yet.” And some that were just for fun and had us all giggling like crazy loons. We've already gone back and reread some favorites...And I love how the pictures come right from the authors head, as well as the words. His imagination does it much better than ours could have! Highly recommended for any parents and kids who need a dose of imagination, humor, and insight. I'd even recommend this to just an adult who likes to laugh.
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    August 5, 2010
    Where the Sidewalk Ends: The Poems and Drawings of Shel Silverstein, Shel Silverstein عنوان: جایی که پیاده رو تموم میشه؛ سرایش و اثر: شل سیلورستاین؛ مترجم: حمید خادمی؛ تهران، کتاب پنجره، 1378، در 184 ص؛ شابک: 9649225730؛ چاپ دوم 1379؛ چاپ سوم و چهارم 1380؛ چاپ ششم 1382؛ چاپ هشتم 1387؛ شابک: 9789649225739؛ نهم 1388؛ یازدهم 1392؛ چاپ دیگر دوزبانه (انگلیسی - فارسی): تهران، پنجره، 1384، شابک: 9647822219؛ موضوع: شعر طنز از نویسندگان امریکایی - قرن 20 مشل سیلور استاین، متولد 1932 در شیکاگو ست، شهرتش د Where the Sidewalk Ends: The Poems and Drawings of Shel Silverstein, Shel Silverstein عنوان: جایی که پیاده رو تموم میشه؛ سرایش و اثر: شل سیلورستاین؛ مترجم: حمید خادمی؛ تهران، کتاب پنجره، 1378، در 184 ص؛ شابک: 9649225730؛ چاپ دوم 1379؛ چاپ سوم و چهارم 1380؛ چاپ ششم 1382؛ چاپ هشتم 1387؛ شابک: 9789649225739؛ نهم 1388؛ یازدهم 1392؛ چاپ دیگر دوزبانه (انگلیسی - فارسی): تهران، پنجره، 1384، شابک: 9647822219؛ موضوع: شعر طنز از نویسندگان امریکایی - قرن 20 مشل سیلور استاین، متولد 1932 در شیکاگو ست، شهرتش در سروده هایش یا نهفته یا پیداست (هرچه شما بخواهید). سروده هایی که برای کودکان و نوجوانان است. البته ایشان خود میگویند: «امیدوارم مردم در هر سنی چیزی را در کتابهایم بیابند، تا با آن احساس نزدیکی کنند. حسی شخصی از کشف و شهود را تجربه کنند. این عالی ست البته برای خودشان نه من»؛ دو سرود از «جایی که پیاده رو تموم میشه» ترجمه حمید خادمیآلیسآلیس یه بطری که روش نوشته شده بود «مرا بنوشید» نوشید. بعدش کلی قد کشید، یا از یه ظرفی که روش نوشته شده بود «مرا بچشید» خورد. بعدش آب رفت و کوچیک شد. اون به هر حال تغییری کرد. در حالی که باقی مردم دور و بر من، اصولا هیچ وقت نشده چیزی رو امتحان کنن...ماهیماهی کوچیکه ماهی ریزه رو میخوره، ماهی گنده هم ماهی کوچیکه رو میخوره. پس فقط ماهی ای که از همه بزرگتره چاق میشه. لابد بین مردم هم، همچین کسایی هستند دیگرا. شربیانی
    more
  • midnightfaerie
    October 10, 2011
    One of my most favorite authors of my youth, Silverstein does a most excellent job of tapping into the heart of a child. Whether it be a child's heart in an adult or an actual child, the result is the same: pure and simple joy. Silverstein excels not only in rhyming, but his use of adjectives in the English language when describing things such as "icky, stick, peanut butter sandwiches" makes this a joy not only to listen to, but to read out loud as well. I remember having it read to me for the f One of my most favorite authors of my youth, Silverstein does a most excellent job of tapping into the heart of a child. Whether it be a child's heart in an adult or an actual child, the result is the same: pure and simple joy. Silverstein excels not only in rhyming, but his use of adjectives in the English language when describing things such as "icky, stick, peanut butter sandwiches" makes this a joy not only to listen to, but to read out loud as well. I remember having it read to me for the first time when I was five years old, and I loved it so much I stole my friend's copy from her house. (Her family had more money and didn't even appreciate them, but I know that's no excuse. When I told my Mom this story, she was like "Why didn't you tell me? We could have tried to get the books for you!" I had no answer. A five year olds reasoning, even mine, is sometimes beyond me.) In any case, I absolutely love this book and the other books by Silverstein as well. If you never read anything to your children other than these books, you will at least have instilled a love of poetry in your child. My five year old is now making up poems and reciting them to anyone who will listen. A great addition and absolute must-have for any children's (or adult children's - like me!) library. Highly recommended! ClassicsDefined.com
    more
  • Gretchen
    April 18, 2008
    Mommy and I are going through one poem at a time. So far I like it, but am rather confused by a few!!6/27/08--My favorite poem so far is Ickle Me, Pickle Me, Tickle Me Too! I love how is sounds when Mommy says it.
  • Alexxy
    November 8, 2015
    TRUE STORY This morning I jumped on my horseAnd went out for a ride.And some wild outlaws chased meAnd they shot me in the side.So I crawled into a wildcat’s caveTo find a place to hide,But some pirates found me sleeping there,And soon they had me tiedTo a pole and built a fireUnder me-I almost criedTill a mermaid came and cut me looseAnd begged to be my bride.So I said I’d come back WednesdayBut I must admit I lied.Then I ran into a jungle swampBut I forgot my guideAnd I stepped into some quic TRUE STORY This morning I jumped on my horseAnd went out for a ride.And some wild outlaws chased meAnd they shot me in the side.So I crawled into a wildcat’s caveTo find a place to hide,But some pirates found me sleeping there,And soon they had me tiedTo a pole and built a fireUnder me-I almost criedTill a mermaid came and cut me looseAnd begged to be my bride.So I said I’d come back WednesdayBut I must admit I lied.Then I ran into a jungle swampBut I forgot my guideAnd I stepped into some quicksand,And no matter how I triedI couldn’t get out, until I metA water snake named Clyde,Who pulled me to some cannibalsWho planned to have me fried.But an eagle came and swooped me upAnd through the air we flied,But he dropped me in a boiling lakeA thousand miles wide.And you’ll never guess what I did then-I DIED.
    more
  • Maryam Hosseini
    March 22, 2015
    لِسـتِرجادوگری که روی درخت انجیر هندی زندگی می کنه.به لستر گفت یه آرزو بکنه تا اون براش با جادو برآورده کنهاون هم آرزو کرد که حقِ دو تا آرزوی دیگه هم داشته باشه دوباره؛.یعنی حالا به جای یه آرزو، با زرنگی سه تا آرزو دارهبعد با هر کدوم از این سه آرزو،مشخصا آرزو کرد برای سه تا دیگه آرزوکه شد نُه تا آرزوی تازه، به اضافه همون سه آرزوبعد با هر کدوم از این دوازده تا آرزوبا زرنگی آرزوی سه تا آرزوی دیگه کردکه رسید به چهل و شش تا - یا پنجاه و دو تا شاید؟خلاصه ، به هر حال از هر آرزوش،در جهت آرزو برای آرزوه لِسـتِرجادوگری که روی درخت انجیر هندی زندگی می کنه.به لستر گفت یه آرزو بکنه تا اون براش با جادو برآورده کنهاون هم آرزو کرد که حقِ دو تا آرزوی دیگه هم داشته باشه دوباره؛.یعنی حالا به جای یه آرزو، با زرنگی سه تا آرزو دارهبعد با هر کدوم از این سه آرزو،مشخصا آرزو کرد برای سه تا دیگه آرزوکه شد نُه تا آرزوی تازه، به اضافه همون سه آرزوبعد با هر کدوم از این دوازده تا آرزوبا زرنگی آرزوی سه تا آرزوی دیگه کردکه رسید به چهل و شش تا - یا پنجاه و دو تا شاید؟خلاصه ، به هر حال از هر آرزوش،در جهت آرزو برای آرزوهای دیگه استفاده کرد، هی اومد روش.تا رسید به پنج میلیارد و هفت میلیون و هجده هزار و سی و چهار آرزوبعد اینهارو روی زمین پهن کرد،شروع به کف زدن و دور اونها رقصیدن کرد،و بنا کرد جست و خیز کردن و آواز خوندن.بعد نشست به آرزوی آروزهای بیشتر کردن.باز هم بیشتر ... باز هم بیشتر... تا اینکه چند برابر شدنددر حالیکه باقی مردم این میون می خندیدند، داد و هوار می کردند،همدیگرو دوست می داشتند ، به دیدن هم می رفتند و عاطفه نثارِ هم می کردندلستر وسط این ثروتش نشست و اونهارو.عین کپه طلا گذاشت روی هم تا اینکه شد قدّ یه کوه.باری ، هی نشست و شمردشون - تا اینکه پیر شدیه پنجشنبه شبی هم ، دیدند که مُرده.آرزوهاش هم کنارش تلنبار شدههمه رو شمردند و دیدند کهحتی یه دونه هم گم نشدههمه شون از نویی برق می زدند- بفرمایین، چند تا بردارین،در این میون به یاد لستر هم باشین،که در این دنیای سیب و بوسه و کفش!!!اون آرزوهاش رو با آرزو کردن حروم کرد همه ش
    more
  • TL
    January 30, 2015
    One of my favorites from when I was a kid. I remember this book along with 'light in the attic' always being checked out of the school library and not wanting to give it back when my turn was up.Re-visiting it as an adult, I found some of the poems I didn't care for but plenty of my old favorites still had me smiling and sometimes reading them again before turning the page.Just a fun book, highly recommend :)
    more
  • Paul
    January 2, 2017
    A truly delightful collection of hilarious nonsense poetry accompanied by some rather lovely illustrations. I really enjoyed this and am glad I decided to buy it for my wife for Christmas. :-D
  • Meredith
    September 20, 2007
    Incredibly entertaining poems. I do a poem a week with my 2nd graders, and our current one is Melinda Mae. Let's see if I can remember it from the top of my head:"Have you heard of tiny Melinda Maewho ate a monstrous whale?She thought she could, she said she wouldSo she started in right at the tail.And everyone said, 'You're much too small!'But that didn't bother Melinda at all.She took little bites and chewed very slow, just like a little girl should...And in 89 years she ate that whaleBecause Incredibly entertaining poems. I do a poem a week with my 2nd graders, and our current one is Melinda Mae. Let's see if I can remember it from the top of my head:"Have you heard of tiny Melinda Maewho ate a monstrous whale?She thought she could, she said she wouldSo she started in right at the tail.And everyone said, 'You're much too small!'But that didn't bother Melinda at all.She took little bites and chewed very slow, just like a little girl should...And in 89 years she ate that whaleBecause she said she would."Yay! I love Shel Silverstein.
    more
  •  Linda (Miss Greedybooks)
    July 4, 2012
    I forgot I had this book, - so long ago my art teacher gave me a copy - I memorized so many of these poems - just re-reading it now I am surprised at how many stayed with me. To hear Shel read them is an experience... he has a pretty creepy voice on some of them.Leaves me singing "On the cover of Rolling Stone".
    more
  • Scarlet Cameo
    August 18, 2015
    Debo decir que soy una gran fan de leer libros para niños que no sean infantiles sino que tengan un plus, es gracias a ello que Shel Silverstein se convirtió en uno de mis escritores favoritos. Sus libros de cuentos son simplemente encantadores así que decidí comenzar a leer una compilación de sus poemas iniciando con Falling Up (que disfrute bastante) y siguiendo con este libro...La formula es la clásica de Silverstein, poemas graciosos, a veces muy bizarros, con elementos que poco tienen que v Debo decir que soy una gran fan de leer libros para niños que no sean infantiles sino que tengan un plus, es gracias a ello que Shel Silverstein se convirtió en uno de mis escritores favoritos. Sus libros de cuentos son simplemente encantadores así que decidí comenzar a leer una compilación de sus poemas iniciando con Falling Up (que disfrute bastante) y siguiendo con este libro...La formula es la clásica de Silverstein, poemas graciosos, a veces muy bizarros, con elementos que poco tienen que ver o resoluciones inesperadas. Constante repetición de la misma idea para recalcar el sentido y la busqueda de la carcajada...es una pena que no me haya gustado, a pesar de que hay poemas que son divertidos (como el del niño hipocondríaco, la del cocodrilo y el dentista, el poeta dentro del león y algunos otros) fueron muy pocos los disfruté, algunos incluso los sentí excesivamente largos (como el del unicornio, iugg!! ese me fastidio mucho) haciendo que por ratos sintiera muy pesada esta lectura.¿A que se debe que en esta ocasión no disfrutará el poemario? Considero que tiene más que ver con la selección que con los textos en sí. Puede que en un futuro le de otra oportunidad.
    more
  • Vfields Don't touch my happy!
    February 4, 2017
    With the political climate of the world today I feel completely stressed out before I go to bed so I've tried to read about 30 minutes of this book each night. I found it to be whimsical, wonderful, and the perfect way to put my mind in a peaceful mood with something warm funny, fuzzy, silly and Silverstein...ish. Sweet dreams.
    more
  • Erin Dixon
    February 4, 2012
    SUMMARY: Where the Sidewalk Ends is a collection of poems by Shel Silverstein. All of the poems have a humorous tone to them, but a little bit of a moral at the end as well. All of the poems are about different scenarios and have no specific order that they need to be read in.CRITIQUE: The majority of the poems in Where the Sidewalk Ends have some kind of rhyming pattern to them. However, the rhyme is not predictable; it is very fresh. A child reading this book would be able to determine the pat SUMMARY: Where the Sidewalk Ends is a collection of poems by Shel Silverstein. All of the poems have a humorous tone to them, but a little bit of a moral at the end as well. All of the poems are about different scenarios and have no specific order that they need to be read in.CRITIQUE: The majority of the poems in Where the Sidewalk Ends have some kind of rhyming pattern to them. However, the rhyme is not predictable; it is very fresh. A child reading this book would be able to determine the pattern of the rhymes and would not have to search for the words that are meant to go together. All of the poems allow the reader to picture what the author is describing. For example, in the poem, "The Acrobats", Shel Silverstein does a fantastic job at describing how the acrobats are attached to each other; you can really see the image as you read along. I have some mixed feelings about the insight of this poetry book. Not all of the poems are spirit-lifting and actually brought my spirit down on occasion. However, the book did bring into account different ways of looking at and observing situations. There are a few poems in the book that appeal to children's mischievous side. "Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout Would Not Take the Garbage Out" definitely shows how stubborn and mischievous children can be, portraying a young girl who refuses to take out the garbage when her parents ask her to.There are poems in this book that refer to holidays and being around friends and family. You could read them around any holiday or when the school year begins to help the children bond.RESPONSE: All in all, I did enjoy this book. Although I find some of his poems more on the dark side than the spirit-lifting side, I would use this book in a classroom when introducing my students to a poetry unit. I found myself laughing out-loud when reading some of the poems, and I figured that if I was able to appreciate them, young children in my classroom would appreciate them that much more. I grew up with Shel Silverstein poem books and have always found myself a member of a huge fan base that surrounds him.
    more
  • Simona
    November 20, 2015
    Rating: 5/5Nu am mai citit de multă vreme o carte cu poezii așa că am fost extrem de bucuroasă când am auzit că una dintre cărțile lui Shel Silverstein avea să fie tradusă la Editura Arthur. Eu știam o poezie de-a lui de mai multă vreme și îmi plăcea la nebunie (din păcate nu se regăsește în cartea de față) dar nu cunoșteam numele autorului.În momentul când am descoperit că Where the sidewalk ends - Acolo unde nu mai e trotuar este o carte de poezii însoțită de ilustrații, am făcut imediat legăt Rating: 5/5Nu am mai citit de multă vreme o carte cu poezii așa că am fost extrem de bucuroasă când am auzit că una dintre cărțile lui Shel Silverstein avea să fie tradusă la Editura Arthur. Eu știam o poezie de-a lui de mai multă vreme și îmi plăcea la nebunie (din păcate nu se regăsește în cartea de față) dar nu cunoșteam numele autorului.În momentul când am descoperit că Where the sidewalk ends - Acolo unde nu mai e trotuar este o carte de poezii însoțită de ilustrații, am făcut imediat legătura cu poezia care îmi plăcea mie (și care avea alături o ilustrație) și așa am aflat numele autorului! :-DRevenind la Acolo unde nu mai e trotuar, o carte absolut minunată care m-a amuzat extrem de mult! Această carte a apărut la noi într-o ediție specială aș putea spune, întrucât este o ediție bilingvă. Cartea poate fi citită fie în engleză, fie în română, în funcție de cum doriți. Traducerea în limba română a fost făcută de Florin Bican într-o manieră minunată, romanizările și rimele fiind făcute cu cap și talent!În funcție de cum începeți cartea, din față sau din spate (de fapt, cartea nu are practic o copertă de început sau de sfârșit) veți putea lectura poeziile lui Silverstein în română sau în engleză. Eu am preferat să citesc în paralel poeziile pentru a simți mai bine ingeniozitatea traducerii lui Florin Bican care s-a descurcat de minune!A fost un pic obositor pentru că tot suceam cartea (și ochii) pentru a reveni de la o limbă la alta însă m-am obișnuit pe parcurs iar după o vreme am ales să citesc în jur de 5 poezii într-o limbă și mai apoi să le citesc în cealaltă. :-DCu suceală sau fără, am fost extrem de încântată de această carte, mi s-a părut frumoasă, hazlie, încântătoare vizual (atât aspectul ediției acesteia cât și ilustrațiile autorului au fost minunate) și plină de sfaturi înțelepte numai bune pentru copiii puși pe pozne.Mi s-a părut extrem de fain cum autorul a inclus în diverse poezii mesaje importante (și de multe ori hazlii) pentru copiii care doresc să ia aminte că este bine să ducă gunoiul (dacă nu vor să rămână fără prieteni), să nu-și piardă capul la cât de visători sunt, să nu se încurce cu lenea, etc.Multe dintre poezii sunt numai bune pentru a-ți face ziua mai frumoasă, amuzându-te la culme. Printre poeziile mele preferate se numără Două cutii (Two Boxes) și Smărăndița Smărăndoiu, care nu ducea gunoiu' (Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout would not take the garbage out). Ilustrațiile realizate de autor mi s-au părut haioase și foarte simpatice, potrivindu-se de minune cu fiecare poezie în parte. Au fost de asemenea și câteva ilustrații în care erau incluse mici poezii, făcând astfel lectura o și mai mare plăcere.Nu toate poeziile au rimele cu care sunt mulți obișnuiți însă fiecare își are propria poveste și imagine care te va încânta!Cartea include și câteva poezii care au fost scris pentru ediția aniversară cu numărul 30, așa că vă puteți bucura de și mai multe nebunii scrise, care numai prin capul copiiilor ar putea să treacă.Vă recomand această carte, fie că sunteți copil sau adult întrucât este potrivită pentru orice vârstă. Cei mici pot învăța chiar și niște engleză cu această ocazie, iar cei mari pot simți mai bine hazul creat de aceste poezii care surprind de multe ori ideile năstrușnice ale copiilor.Citate: "DOUĂ CUTIIDouă cutii s-au întâlnit pe stradă.Și-au spus, deci, bucuroase să se vadă:- Dacă eu sunt cutieȘi tu ești cutieAsta-nseamnă că tu îmi ești soră mie.Suntem supte, subțiri-Dar de ce să te miri?Doar niciuna din noi nu e plină.Și-așa, două cutii, mână-n mână,Au pornit împreunăȘi acasă s-au dus, să mănânce cină." (p.41)"ENTER THISDESERTED HOUSEBut please walk softly as you do.Frogs dwell here and crickets too.Ain't no ceiling, only blueJays dwell here and subbeams too.Floors are flowers - take a few.Ferns grow here and daisies too.Whoosh, swoosh - too-whit, too-woo,Bats dwell here and hoot owls too.Ha-ha-ha, hee-hee, ho-hoooo,Gnomes dwell here and goblins too.And my child, I thought you knewI dwell here... and so do you." (p.56)"TUCANCu ce poți de pe crean-gă să prinzi un tucan?Capcan'.Ce fel de sud-americanPoți găti dintr-un tucan?Tocan'.Ce ziar suburbann-ar citi un tucan?Cancan.Cine-ncearcă de-un anSă traducă "Tucan"?Bican." (p.92)
    more
  • Mike (the Paladin)
    October 30, 2009
    Fun fantastic...enjoy.I read this with and to both my kids. my wife enjoyed it and so did (do) I. Silverstein seems endlessly imaginative. We had so much fun together with this volume, I recommend it. Even if you don't like everything you more than likely will like something. (Sound like something Silverstein might say :-))Another review I hadn't read recently. My attention was called back to it. When my children were small this is one we read together several times... It may not all be what you Fun fantastic...enjoy.I read this with and to both my kids. my wife enjoyed it and so did (do) I. Silverstein seems endlessly imaginative. We had so much fun together with this volume, I recommend it. Even if you don't like everything you more than likely will like something. (Sound like something Silverstein might say :-))Another review I hadn't read recently. My attention was called back to it. When my children were small this is one we read together several times... It may not all be what you want to share with your kids, but some of it probably will be.:“There is a place where the sidewalk endsAnd before the street begins,And there the grass grows soft and white,And there the sun burns crimson bright,And there the moon-bird rests from his flightTo cool in the peppermint wind.Let us leave this place where the smoke blows blackAnd the dark street winds and bends.Past the pits where the asphalt flowers growWe shall walk with a walk that is measured and slow,And watch where the chalk-white arrows goTo the place where the sidewalk ends.Yes we'll walk with a walk that is measured and slow,And we'll go where the chalk-white arrows go,For the children, they mark, and the children, they knowThe place where the sidewalk ends.” “MagicSandra’s seen a leprechaun,Eddie touched a troll,Laurie danced with witches once,Charlie found some goblins gold.Donald heard a mermaid sing,Susy spied an elf,But all the magic I have knownI've had to make myself.” “Early birdOh, if you’re a bird, be an early birdAnd catch the worm for your breakfast plate.If you’re a bird, be an early bird—But if you’re a worm, sleep late.”
    more
  • Tim The Enchanter
    June 18, 2011
    This is my second time through this book of classic poems by Shel Siverstein. This time around I read it to my girls (ages 4 and 6). While the 4 year old didn't understand many of the poems, she was entertained nonetheless. The silly pictures helped in that regard. It was fun to read them to my 6 year old and watch her try and work out what the poem was really saying. Occasionally, there were poems that I didn't like for my children, i.e. "who ate the baby". For the most part they were age appro This is my second time through this book of classic poems by Shel Siverstein. This time around I read it to my girls (ages 4 and 6). While the 4 year old didn't understand many of the poems, she was entertained nonetheless. The silly pictures helped in that regard. It was fun to read them to my 6 year old and watch her try and work out what the poem was really saying. Occasionally, there were poems that I didn't like for my children, i.e. "who ate the baby". For the most part they were age appropriate for my six year old. This is a book we will keep for years to come as my kids are sure to take enjoyment from it over and over.
    more
  • Marissa
    October 29, 2014
    This book brings back so many childhood memories for me. It is full of humorous and lighthearted poems that make me smile. But it also teaches us many important life lessons. It is kid-friendly, but can also be enjoyed by adults. I highly recommend this book to anyone who loves to laugh and has a creative imagination. Shel Silverstein is a genius.
    more
  • Stephanie Anze
    November 25, 2016
    A fun and quirky read-out-loud book. Geat for children and those indiviaduals that are children at heart. This is the first time I have read Shel Silvertein and it was a such a delight. Put a much needed smile on my face.
Write a review