The Epic Crush of Genie Lo
The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie Lo's every waking thought. But when her sleepy Bay Area town comes under siege from hell-spawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are suddenly and forcefully rearranged.Her only guide to the demonic chaos breaking out around her is Quentin Sun, a beguiling, maddening new transfer student from overseas. Quentin assures Genie she is strong enough to fight these monsters, for she unknowingly harbors an inner power that can level the very gates of Heaven.Genie will have to dig deep within herself to summon the otherworldly strength that Quentin keeps talking about. But as she does, she finds the secret of her true nature is entwined with his, in a way she could never have imagined…

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo Details

TitleThe Epic Crush of Genie Lo
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 8th, 2017
PublisherAmulet Books
ISBN1419725483
ISBN-139781419725487
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Mythology

The Epic Crush of Genie Lo Review

  • CW (Read Think Ponder)
    June 7, 2017
    After finishing this book, I thought to myself, certain as hell: No book has never EVER made me this happy. Do you know those books where you felt like it was written for you? The Epic Crush of Genie Lo felt like that book for me. Yes, The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is my new favourite book! But not as in, five star tier favourite. I'm talking about, forever in my heart tier of favourite (I even made a Goodreads shelf for this).When I first heard about this book in January this year, I was beyond ec After finishing this book, I thought to myself, certain as hell: No book has never EVER made me this happy. Do you know those books where you felt like it was written for you? The Epic Crush of Genie Lo felt like that book for me. Yes, The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is my new favourite book! But not as in, five star tier favourite. I'm talking about, forever in my heart tier of favourite (I even made a Goodreads shelf for this).When I first heard about this book in January this year, I was beyond ecstatic. It was pitched to be about a girl, 'who wonders if she's qualified enough to gain admission to an Ivy League school, then becomes powerful enough to break through the gates of Heaven with her fists'. How cool is that? I read this book with the highest of expectations; I felt like my hopes and dreams were riding on this book. And oh boy, this book and Yee delivered and surpassed all expectations that I had.The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is a seamless combination of action, folklore, romance (yes, romance!), and comedy. It follows sixteen year old Genie, who, like some sixteen year olds, are thinking and aspiring to get into a top-tiered college to secure her future and success. From this fact alone, I related to her instantly: here was a character who, like me, was working hard to get into a good school. It's such a mundane, everyday aspiration, but it matters so much, and how much it matters shines through in Genie's narrative. However, things get very interesting following the arrival of a new transfer student, followed shortly by demons straight out of Chinese folklore. Suddenly, Genie has to balance maintaining her high-achieving streak at school and fighting demons. Why does she have to fight demons though? You'll have to read to find it - and I promise the reason why is bloody awesome.I grew up with Chinese folktale stories. I remember going to my grandparents' house and watching Doraemon (I know Doraemon is Japanese, but still!) and the Journey to the West cartoons (even though I had no idea what was going on because I couldn't understand Mandarin, but the images were good enough) and learning about Nüwa, Chang'e, or Kwan Im Ma. The Epic Crush of Genie Lo incorporates a certain folktale into its story, and for those who are familiar with it, you'll begin to pick up on the small clues throughout the beginning. However, if you're not familiar with the folktale, don't worry - everything will be explained (and, might I add, it's explained brilliantly)! Reading The Epic Crush of Genie Lo was such a pleasure and a wonderful experience, particularly so for me and other readers familiar with the original folktale, because it gave this small memory of my childhood a renewed sense of meaning. Not a lot of books can do this, but The Epic Crush of Genie Lo sure as heck did that for me.Genie was such a fantastic character, and I related to her so much. Not only was her narrative voice hilarious and so charming, she was angry. I was an angry teen, and when that anger is confounded by other things like confusion and uncertainty for the future and the heavy cultural expectation of being restrained in emotional expression, I was as ripe as volcano ready to explode. In this sense, Genie's perspective was so refreshing. And, of course, Quentin: the strange but charismatic transfer student who becomes so much more in unexpected ways. I adored the relationship between Genie and Quentin; it was developed, funny, and they made such a dynamic duo. The other characters in the story were warm and funny in their own ways and I loved getting to know them. Furthermore, the family dynamics were a rare gem - complex, thoughtful, and a little tongue-in cheek. But my goodness, Yee's storytelling was what made this story so stellar. As mentioned earlier, The Epic Crush of Genie Lo has elements of comedy, and that shines through in the storytelling. Where there was exposition, it was done in a way that was absolutely hilarious and fun to read; no one moment of this book was boring. I cackled so much while reading it, and even shared some snippets with my family who - despite how stoic some of them are! - laughed as well. Perhaps it's strange to say, but the comedy felt like a small part of home - whatever that is - familiar, warm, and a little nostalgic. Moreover, if you have geeky or nerdy humour (like I do!), then you'll appreciate the small references throughout. Truly, the writing in this book was fabulous. I enjoyed reading this book so much.The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is as its name suggests: Epic. Easily one of my favourite books this year - and is definitely in my top two books, ever - The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is a unique and fantastic book that I never knew I needed. I am so grateful for this book's existence, and I am so excited for everyone to read this awesome book. Don't sleep on this book, everyone! Read it now, thank me later.Rating: 5 / 5- Is this book for you? Premise in a sentence: A girl's life gets turned upside down following the appearances of a new transfer student and demons from Chinese folklore in her town, and she becomes more powerful than she could have ever imagined.Perfect for: Readers who grew up with Chinese folktales and mythology or would love to learn more about it, who love comedy, action, and a purely fun book.Genre: Young adult, fantasy/mythology, comedy, actionRecommended? 'If I could ask you to read one book, ever, it'd be this one'-level yes.-This review can also be found on my book blog, Read, Think, Ponder!
    more
  • Aentee
    July 9, 2017
    How is this a debut novel? It's so good in every way: hilarious, imaginative, filled with memorable characters, and a plot that never stops moving. If you're a fan of Journey to the West, you need this. If you're a fan of fierce and flawed heroines, you need this. If you're a fan of books that will make you laugh, you need this.FULL REVIEW TO COME.
    more
  • Sue (Hollywood News Source)
    June 25, 2017
    I didn’t expect to love The Epic Crush of Genie Lo this much, but I did. I haven’t read YA in two months that’s how rough this has been for me; and this book just came in and it swept me off my feet. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL. I repeat: A MUST READ FOR ALL.It is deliriously comical. It would make you laugh, it’s one of the most heartwarming and the funniest YA to this date. The characters are wild, and outrageous. Readers will fall in love with Genie’s resiliency, and Quentin’s charming person I didn’t expect to love The Epic Crush of Genie Lo this much, but I did. I haven’t read YA in two months that’s how rough this has been for me; and this book just came in and it swept me off my feet. THIS IS A MUST READ FOR ALL. I repeat: A MUST READ FOR ALL.It is deliriously comical. It would make you laugh, it’s one of the most heartwarming and the funniest YA to this date. The characters are wild, and outrageous. Readers will fall in love with Genie’s resiliency, and Quentin’s charming personality. They’re both spectacular as individual characters, but even more so as a team. I DIDN’T EXPECT THIS BOOK WOULD BE ALL SHIPPY. It was full-on romance and sweet buildup. The pair easily becomes one of my favorite OTP. I love the quirky humor, and the fast pacing of the plot. I am unfamiliar with the Chinese mythology the author has incorporated, even though that’s the case, it was threaded in a way that outsiders can follow easily. I like how refreshing that is. The pop culture references are too much. I love it. A+ for an all Asian cast. I also adore the family dynamics between Genie and her parents. It honestly reminded me of my childhood filled with Asian dramas, this book just makes me happy and nostalgic.I hope Genie’s best friend was involved more into the plot. We need more female friendship in the page, and I wish there wasn’t a snippy portrayal of other girls. It wasn’t bad, but it could’ve been better. Verdict: I love this book so much if you’re not planning to read it: WHY. This is perfect for fans of Sarah Kuhn’s Heroine Complex for the Asian heroine part and comical flair, as well as for Percy Jackson’s fans. If you love Riordan’s mythology series about demigods saving the day with a little bit of romance, then you’re going to devour The Epic Crush of Genie Lo. Full review to come.
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    June 30, 2017
    THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO was fun, action-packed, and something not to miss. I'm going to be honest here, I have never read a book that I related to as much as this one. I'm Chinese-American, and seeing the stories of Sun Wukong that I heard as a child come to life in this book was surreal and just absolutely amazing. I felt so light and unbelievably happy, and I can't express how much I loved this book. Genie was a fantastic MC—she was spunky, sarcastic, overachieving; she felt real and it was THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO was fun, action-packed, and something not to miss. I'm going to be honest here, I have never read a book that I related to as much as this one. I'm Chinese-American, and seeing the stories of Sun Wukong that I heard as a child come to life in this book was surreal and just absolutely amazing. I felt so light and unbelievably happy, and I can't express how much I loved this book. Genie was a fantastic MC—she was spunky, sarcastic, overachieving; she felt real and it was so much fun to see aspects of myself in her characterization. She and Quentin made a fantastic team (what did I expect?), and I loved the romance that bloomed. These two characters made this book fly by so quickly and made all the action scenes feel so exciting.Overall, this fantastic book is not to miss. This #ownvoices book was so powerful and made me so, so, so, so happy. I'm going to be shoving this book to my little sister and all the Chinese-American teens I know. I'm definitely looking forward to whatever Yee puts out next. Thank you to Amulet Books for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • The Bookavid
    July 1, 2017
    More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO, Genie has to fight when her town is overrun by demons. What intrigued me: I don't have a single blogger friend who didn't rate this five stars. Stalking and Chosen Ones I started this expecting a super fast-paced action read, but really just got your average Chosen One high school story with a side of mythology. I didn't even care remotely about the characters, mainly due to the strange set up, Genie being randomly chosen b More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO, Genie has to fight when her town is overrun by demons. What intrigued me: I don't have a single blogger friend who didn't rate this five stars. Stalking and Chosen Ones I started this expecting a super fast-paced action read, but really just got your average Chosen One high school story with a side of mythology. I didn't even care remotely about the characters, mainly due to the strange set up, Genie being randomly chosen by love interest Quentin who relentlessly stalks her before he reveals his motives to her. I can't stand these types story lines, especially when the stalker dude ends up being the love interest. Yee engages with the stalking aspect to some degree and makes sure it's portrayed as something unacceptable, but I still don't really think there's a reason for any of that and it leaves a bitter taste in my mouth. It's one of those tropes that feels very fan fiction and overdone to me, and I can't help but wonder how much more awesome this would've been if the set up was different and dove right into the action.I wasn't a fan of the amount of time it takes for the paranormal elements to appear, and generally was tempted to skim a lot. The only thing I genuinely liked craft-wise is the voice. Yee perfectly nails the teen girl voice and it never feels awkward. Other reviews have noted that they really enjoyed the humor, but that totally fell flat for me - humor is really subjective, so that's not necessarily valid criticism.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO really would've won me over had it dug right into the mythology aspects, because when they do appear - they are absolutely awesome. If you're completely unfamiliar with Chinese mythology, you're in for a treat. Brilliant Account of the Diasporic Experience THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO absolutely hits those random completely irrelevant notes that make me not enjoy books, but this is so subjective that I'd seriously advise you to ignore that. The thing that makes my rating skyrocket ultimately is that Yee does something extraordinary and very needed with this arguably very average premise - it's an #ownvoices Chinese-American narrative that doesn't only feature Chinese mythological creatures but digs deep into what it means to be Chinese-American. Yee puts little things into things into words that you'll undoubtedly relate to if you're diaspora, even if you're not Chinese.I have never come across a single book that does that combined with Chinese mythology. Books like this are essential, Chinese readers need these books, and I seriously urge any non-Chinese, non-diaspora reader who has random subjective issues with this book to not give it a crappy rating because the book wasn't fun for them. It's crucial for us to support #ownvoices narratives that represent minorities well, so that there won't be any kids who don't know what it's like to see themselves represented in fiction in the future anymore. THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is unashamedly, unapologetically #ownvoices and I am so in awe that Yee had the courage to put this on the page. That alone warrants an added star.Rating:★★★★☆ Overall: Do I Recommend? THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO wasn't my thing personally, but that's hardly relevant. This is an unapologetic #ownvoices story featuring Chinese mythology and characters that dissects the diaspora experience with care and nuance.live on the blog 8/1/17//i received an arc from netgalley in exchange for an honest review//
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    June 25, 2017
    The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is one of my favorite books this year. It's right there on top of the list and you all should definitely have it on your radar, because if not, you're so doing it wrong.If you're into mythology, demons and action but also a slice of college applications and schoolwork, Genie Lo is so right for you! It has humor and a f* good storyline. The characters had all these layers that you think you had them all figured out but there was always something beneath that. Can't wait The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is one of my favorite books this year. It's right there on top of the list and you all should definitely have it on your radar, because if not, you're so doing it wrong.If you're into mythology, demons and action but also a slice of college applications and schoolwork, Genie Lo is so right for you! It has humor and a f* good storyline. The characters had all these layers that you think you had them all figured out but there was always something beneath that. Can't wait for this to become NYT Bestseller because it deserves it times a million. This is the kind of stories I wish I could see more in book community.
    more
  • Aila
    June 27, 2017
    HAHA DID I *LIKE* THIS BOOK? I *LOVED* THIS BOOK. MY CHINESE STUDENT HEART BARFED RAINBOWS AND LOVE LETTERS TO THIS BOOK.It's been so long since I smiled so much while reading a book. I've NEVER stopped a book just to tell my dad, "hey, dad. you know what legend/folklore this book incorporates? the one I used to watch, listen to, and read growing up!" I've ALWAYS imagined for the Monkey King to have his story incorporated in a YA book, and The Epic Crush of Genie Lo delivers, fantastically. Bril HAHA DID I *LIKE* THIS BOOK? I *LOVED* THIS BOOK. MY CHINESE STUDENT HEART BARFED RAINBOWS AND LOVE LETTERS TO THIS BOOK.It's been so long since I smiled so much while reading a book. I've NEVER stopped a book just to tell my dad, "hey, dad. you know what legend/folklore this book incorporates? the one I used to watch, listen to, and read growing up!" I've ALWAYS imagined for the Monkey King to have his story incorporated in a YA book, and The Epic Crush of Genie Lo delivers, fantastically. Brilliantly. Epicly.I'm honestly cry because of how much I related to Genie and her Asian-American Student (TM) troubles about standing out in an application pool of nearly identical stats. THAT ROMANCE???????? okay, I was hesitant at first bc like there's this LEGEND you're taught as a child, ok? And you've never read any fan fiction or whatever about this legend. So WHAM BAM suddenly there's a romance in it and you're like "whoa my childhood heart would never think this would be possible" but it ends. Up. Working. It really does. And I was really onboard by the end.HAHA this is super incoherent but whatever, I'mma go draw some fan art for this masterpiece and then write a review.Also, DAMN RIGHT for my Chinese friends' birthdays I'm buying them this book. They're gonna love the references like I did.
    more
  • Shelly
    July 18, 2017
    Everyone who told me to read The Epic Crush of Genie Lo wasn't wrong. It was so fast-paced and hilarious, it was just exactly what I needed. If you're looking for more concrete reasons to read it (other than my !!! excitement), check out Aila's lovely review.
    more
  • Shauna (b00kstorebabe)
    June 30, 2017
    Funny, refreshing, and action-packed. Genie Lo is a heroine I've been waiting to read. I loved this one!
  • Trin
    April 16, 2017
    If The CW doesn't snap up the rights to this immediately, they're insane. Next Buffy, right here.
  • Ava
    July 11, 2017
    Oh, this was so fantastic. I cannot wait for this book to release, because THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is going to change lives. Do you like:- badass Chinese protagonists- ancient Chinese legends- wonderful friendships! and families! - demons and demon-fighting- the BEST story- fab characters- ON-POINT HUMOR- characters who act their age If so, you'll love GENIE LO! It's an all-around wonderful story, and such a great addition to YA, and I HIGHLY recommend it.
    more
  • Shenwei
    April 26, 2017
    I LOVE THIS BOOK AND EVERYONE SHOULD BUY/READ IT!!!
  • alex
    July 12, 2017
    All my friends have been raving about this book for weeks, so I just *had* to see what all the buzz was about. This book is making some waves in the book community, and rightly so--it sounds AMAZING. As soon as I got through all my books I needed to read for July, I jumped into this one, expecting the best.Was it amazing? Yes, YES IT WAS! If you loved Percy Jackson, then you'll love this book, too.The best thing about this book, by far, was the voice. Oh my god, THE VOICE. Genie Lo, our lovely a All my friends have been raving about this book for weeks, so I just *had* to see what all the buzz was about. This book is making some waves in the book community, and rightly so--it sounds AMAZING. As soon as I got through all my books I needed to read for July, I jumped into this one, expecting the best.Was it amazing? Yes, YES IT WAS! If you loved Percy Jackson, then you'll love this book, too.The best thing about this book, by far, was the voice. Oh my god, THE VOICE. Genie Lo, our lovely and badass heroine, had a snarky and hilarious voice that constantly made me crack up while I was reading. Imagine the voice of Percy Jackson, but with some dick jokes thrown in there for good measure, and that's what this book was like. Genie's voice perfectly captured a modern teenager; I found myself relating to her so much, especially her comments about homework and college. Genie Lo is the heroine teenage girls deserve (especially Chinese girls--this book wasn't written with me in mind, but I'm still so grateful for it).As for the story itself, I've never seen anything like it. A demon slaying teenage girl who also worries about grades and maintaining a good relationship with her best friend? Um, SIGN ME THE HELL UP!!! I've never read anything with Chinese folklore, and I have to say, I was absolutely enraptured by the stories of the Monkey King and his companions. It's definitely unlike anything out there in YA right now.Another great thing? The way the author completely turned tropes on their heads. Genie Lo isn't some petite, quiet girl; she's a badass, tall volleyball player who also manages to have amazing grades. Quentin, her sidekick/nemesis for part of the book, was a super short but hilarious guy. Their chemistry was hilarious and their banter was so amusing to read.Pacing wise, it seemed to maintain a pretty stable pace until it was time to kick some demon ass. All of the fight scenes were thrilling and kept me on the edge of my seat, and I was just as enraptured during the connecting scenes. Basically, I was never bored. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is because I wanted more from the plot. I wanted more demon slaying, more of Genie kicking ass. However, what is in the story is still amazing and entertaining.There is romance, but it's not the focal point of the story. I guess you could say there's a friends-to-lovers trope in this book. Genie and Quentin started off on the wrong foot (their first time speaking was the funniest thing I've ever read) but they slowly become friends--friends who constantly bicker, that is. It was more of a slow burn situation, but I think the pay off was totally worth it.Thank god there is a sequel planned because I need MORE! The ending was completely unexpected (to Genie, too, lol) and I can't wait to see where the story goes next. Overall, The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is a stunning addition to YA fantasy. The main character was hilarious and relatable, the story itself was full of badass demon slaying, and the slow burn romance was *SO* cute. You won't regret picking up this book, I promise. I urge you to buy/borrow from the library if you can, because the world deserves to know more about the epic Genie Lo!
    more
  • Kari Rhiannon (Moon Magister Reviews)
    July 15, 2017
    5 stars Genie is a very tall, slightly awkward, sixteen year old girl. Every hour of her day is spent in homework, volleyball, volunteering and trying to get into the college of her dreams. She’d like to think she has enough things on her plate, thank you very much, without the appearance of a very beautiful and very obnoxious boy half her size. But Quentin Sun, ‘transfer’ student from somewhere (definitely not China), seems to think that he knows her, worse, that she belongs to him somehow, an 5 stars Genie is a very tall, slightly awkward, sixteen year old girl. Every hour of her day is spent in homework, volleyball, volunteering and trying to get into the college of her dreams. She’d like to think she has enough things on her plate, thank you very much, without the appearance of a very beautiful and very obnoxious boy half her size. But Quentin Sun, ‘transfer’ student from somewhere (definitely not China), seems to think that he knows her, worse, that she belongs to him somehow, and she just can’t let that stand.But Quentin has a strange habit of getting everything to go his way and Genie’s mother may have fallen in love with the very idea of him. Genie’s attempts to get him to leave her alone certainly aren’t helped by the sudden appearance of demons from traditional Chinese mythology, or the revelation that she might not be quite human.Well, that’s all fine and dandy, but even creatures from Chinese Mythology have to work to try and get into Princeton, and Genie isn’t giving that up for anything.To say that I simply enjoyed this book would be doing it a disservice. I loved it.One of the strongest parts of this story was definitely the narrative voice. It’s smooth, sharp and effortlessly witty, without you ever getting the feeling that Genie is anything other than a sixteen year old girl. If I had to compare Yee’s voice to another author it would definitely be Rick Riordan. A bit out there, a bit slapstick, and very very good. At certain points in the story , to help us clueless readers, Yee explains some of the more salient points of Chinese Mythology and, honestly, if Yee were to write a book of myths from Genie’s point of view I would preorder it in approximately two seconds.Rest of review available on my book blog!
    more
  • Attack Salmon
    July 13, 2017
    Oh wow this one is actually based on Chinese legends#OwnVoices. LOL I hope I am Chinese enough
  • michelle (magicalreads)
    July 1, 2017
    **I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.The Epic Crush of Genie Lo was, simply put, one of the best books in 2017. I had heard a lot about this book, so I decided to see if the hype was worth it. And it was! 100% definitely worth the hype.Genie Lo is a Chinese-American girl who's only focused on one thing: getting into a good college. Then Quentin Sun walks into her class and changes her life. He tells her that all the people and demons from Chinese folklore are real. **I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.The Epic Crush of Genie Lo was, simply put, one of the best books in 2017. I had heard a lot about this book, so I decided to see if the hype was worth it. And it was! 100% definitely worth the hype.Genie Lo is a Chinese-American girl who's only focused on one thing: getting into a good college. Then Quentin Sun walks into her class and changes her life. He tells her that all the people and demons from Chinese folklore are real. And they have to fight the demons together because she has a secret power that she never knew about. So, you know, Genie reacts like any rational person would.She punches him.I'm paraphrasing, of course, but that's pretty much the gist of the book. Genie is a tall, angry girl, and I love her so much. She just wants to live her life, and Quentin has to come ruin it. It's understandable why she reacts the way she does throughout the book. I totally related to Genie (although I'm not a tol :/), especially with her focus on school.And the mythology! I'm not Chinese, so I didn't know a lot of it, but it's all explained so well. I'm assuming you all know Percy Jackson and the Olympians? Yeah, this book is just as good, and I don't make that comparison lightly. Genie hears and summarizes all the mythology in her own biting tone. Her humor and her witty comebacks made me actually laugh out loud at times. I was smiling throughout the entire book, and I think I highlighted nearly a third of it, which is a lot considering I usually don't highlight anything.I don't want to spoil anything, so just trust me when I say you need this book, especially if you're a fan of PJO. We need more books like this, with Asian mythology and humor and Asian protagonists. I'm a little sad that I read this as an ARC actually because I cannot wait a full year for the sequel :(. So seriously, pick this book up on August 18th. You won't regret it.read on my blog
    more
  • Angharad (Two Book Thieves)
    June 29, 2017
    I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I went from loving to hating it to loving it about three times. I've settled on being quite the fan. Despite everything, this book is diverse. It features a fantasy novel incorporating Chinese folklore and everybody's favourite - a relationship with a height difference and Genie is the one that is tall! These were some of my favourite things about this novel -It was funny! The humour in a lot of YA novels does kind of go over my head but there were I had a love/hate relationship with this book. I went from loving to hating it to loving it about three times. I've settled on being quite the fan. Despite everything, this book is diverse. It features a fantasy novel incorporating Chinese folklore and everybody's favourite - a relationship with a height difference and Genie is the one that is tall! These were some of my favourite things about this novel -It was funny! The humour in a lot of YA novels does kind of go over my head but there were moments in this book that made me laugh out loud. Genie has a such a dry and wicked sense of humour and her one-liners are excellent. Obviously, humour is subjective but this was one thing that really stood out to me during this novel.Genie! She has now become one of my favourite characters. Yes, she finds out that she lives in a world of demons and that she must fight them alongside Quentin but her biggest priority is getting good grades and getting into a good college. And this isn't forgotten! It remains her worry, as it is the worry of a lot of teenagers, throughout the book which is so rare during YA fiction when the characters just stop going to school because whatever. Guess what else? Genie has extreme anger issues and this, for me, is so damn relatable. I was one big ball of rage as a teenager and this is something we don't see with a lot of YA protagonists, especially with the anger being uncontrollable. The friendship between Genie and Quentin! Despite this friendship eventually becoming romantic, I could have lived with it remaining strictly platonic. They were constantly bickering but worked incredibly well together and obviously have quite the long history. If I'm honest, I really didn't want the romance to happen but it's not something that would affect my rating. The friendship between Genie and Yunie! They are childhood friends and despite Genie entering into this world of Chinese mythology, she's still aware of their friendship and doesn't want to abandon Yunie. If anything, I wish there had been more of them and if there's a sequel, I definitely want this. It's so nice to have a female friendship that isn't based around jealousy.Overall, I did end up loving this book, especially after some time had passed and I looked back at my rating. If you want Chinese folklore, humour, a slow-burning romance and family issues with a bit of action thrown in then this book is definitely for you. A wonderful read, especially considering it's a debut!
    more
  • nick
    July 17, 2017
    SUPER FUN, GUYS!There's lots of cool Ancient Chinese mythology, an awesome cast, laugh-out-loud humor, and non-stop action! I NEED MORE, ASAP.RTC
  • dessie
    July 14, 2017
    Review also posted on Samodiva Reads I received a free copy from the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Y’all. This book. Y’all. It’s been a few days and I’m still shaken. Listen, if you thought this looked cool – you’re wrong. It’s cooler. The coolest. It gives Antarctica a run for its money (aside from the, you know, global warming crisis… Moving on.) I’m giving you a fair warning that this review will be nothing but yelling with a lot of repetitive amazing’s and holy s Review also posted on Samodiva Reads I received a free copy from the publishers via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.Y’all. This book. Y’all. It’s been a few days and I’m still shaken. Listen, if you thought this looked cool – you’re wrong. It’s cooler. The coolest. It gives Antarctica a run for its money (aside from the, you know, global warming crisis… Moving on.) I’m giving you a fair warning that this review will be nothing but yelling with a lot of repetitive amazing’s and holy sh*t’s.Genie Lo’s priorities are to get good grades, excel at everything, and get into the best college that’s the farthest from home. But she soon finds them shifting with the arrival of one transfer student, Quentin Sun. Demons begin attacking her home town and Quentin assures her she’s the only one powerful enough to stop them. Relying on his guidance, Genie will have to struggle with more than just school work.Quite a lot of people on my timeline began talking and reading this book recently that it piqued my interest. I do love mythology, but don’t know a lot about Chinese mythology in particular, so this book seemed perfect for easing into that. I was really hoping to like it, since it’s such a new concept for me and also because everyone who’s been reading it has sung nothing but praises, yet I didn’t expect this. I utterly LOVED Genie Lo so much I ended up reading it in one sitting. It completely blew me away.There’s so much quality humour in this book. I don’t remember the last time a book made me laugh out loud so heartily. Genie is an absolute delight of a narrator, her voice is profoundly hilarious. Aside from the humour, the writing style is insanely engaging – it draws you in instantly. I loved the setting and the lore and mythology and how we, along with Genie, are eased into this uncharted territory rather than just sprung into it. Combine that with the giggles and you have the most enjoyable read ever.Let’s talk about Genie for a second. First off, what a character, what a girl. She straight up takes no sh*t from anyone or anything. I would not want to be on this girl’s bad side (not only because she’s such a badass, but also she’s just that person I would kill to be friends with.) This girl can really do it all, I swear. Genie’s a tall girl with a lot of pent up anger, but she’s also a girl with so much love for her closest people. I aspire to her when I grow up (even though I’m older than her, but that’s just a technicality.)Quentin is bizarre in the best possible way. His introduction scene? The most iconic. I love this guy so much. From the novel’s synopsis you’d expect him to be the typical paranormal YA mysterious male character, but hooo boy, that couldn’t be farther than the truth. He’s not even TRYING to be mysterious. This boy’s about as subtle as a bulldozer. Quentin is also an incredibly three-dimensional character, whose layers peel off as the novel progresses and you get to see practically all sides of him. He and Genie are so incredibly well matched.Speaking of well matched, the romance is, granted less than I would’ve liked but so, so good! Call me old fashioned, but I love dorks in love. But it takes time to develop a good love story, and this is more than a fantastic start to one. It’s built on trust and good partnership and it’s not just about two teens in a YA book making out just for the sake of a romantic plot. There’s substance there. It’s amazing.Overall, I very highly recommend this book (if you couldn’t tell). Genie Lo is easily one of the best new releases this year. I advise you to get yourself to reading as soon as you can – you don’t want to miss out on this one!
    more
  • Danya
    June 20, 2017
    THIS WAS SO GOOD I AM SCREAMING!!!
  • Julianna
    July 6, 2017
    OKAY OKAY OKAY. OKAY.I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH. *delirious laughter*Let's start from the beginning.I had NO IDEA this book existed BUT some humans on Twitter were screaming about it and so I read some reviews and they were ALL. SO. GOOD.And then I read that it had a Chinese main character and that it was relatable and that Genie was an "angry teen" and I was SOLD. Okay, I don't really reading contemporary fantasy (excluding magical-realism because that's different in my book) but THIS BOOK WAS S OKAY OKAY OKAY. OKAY.I LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH. *delirious laughter*Let's start from the beginning.I had NO IDEA this book existed BUT some humans on Twitter were screaming about it and so I read some reviews and they were ALL. SO. GOOD.And then I read that it had a Chinese main character and that it was relatable and that Genie was an "angry teen" and I was SOLD. Okay, I don't really reading contemporary fantasy (excluding magical-realism because that's different in my book) but THIS BOOK WAS SO GOOD.[now I've noticed that I've been using the adjective "good" far too many times.]I was SO EXCITED when I got this. But this blew away all of my expectations.So, I read the book. And it was funny. Genie is SUCH a relatable main character, especially as an asian, and YES our asian mothers do screech a lot. And yes they care about grades and everything. This is something that I haven't really seen much in contemporary where they actually CARE about school and it was refreshing to see a book that had that. So yes, I loved Genie. Here are some quotes. (I HIGHLIGHTED SO MANY QUOTES)"That's it!" he said, hopping in excitement. "That proves it! You really are mine!"Okay. That kind of talk had to stop right here and right now. I inhaled deeply to unleash both a torrent of verbal abuse and a refresher in women's history over the last century.YESS, GENIE. Genie is a remarkably fierce character who is strong and cares about woman's morals. When there's a "stalkerish" guy around school, she doesn't sigh and think that it's terribly romantic, she PUNCHES HIM. She ALSO is incredibly awesome in terms of friendship, and I love how there are strong and healthy relationships with other female characters in this book. Futhermore, her voice is extremely relatable and modern, which makes the book so easy to read that I completely blew through it in one go. ...I was actually considering giving him the benefit of the doubt. Maybe he was just a really, really awkward transplant with no sense of personal space.Now I want to talk about the magical aspect of this world. It was SO AWESOME, oh my gosh. The asian mythology that I recognized!! So, this book incorporates the myth of Sun Wukong, the Monkey King, whose TV Show I watched when I was young. When others were watching Sesame Street or whatever, I was watching the freaking Monkey King tv show and also Hu Lu Xiong Di (which is not related to this book, but DID ANYONE ELSE WATCH THAT???)Here's the link to the first episode of the live show tv show!Here's the link to the first episode of the cartoon tv show!!!!!YES I WATCHED BOTH ARE YOU JUDGING ME. (And that music is just.... *nods*)(And also Here's the link to Hu Lu Xiong Di which I also watched :')My childhood was pretty epic.Basically, I had no idea that it was called "Monkey King" and that the character was called "Sun Wukong" so I desperately searched up "Monkey King" and I FOUND IT AND I AM SO HAPPY!!!This brought up SO many memories and I started asking my mother about Su Wukong and she was like "Ha, OF COURSE I KNOW WHO THAT IS." I had NEVER thought about Su Wukong being in a YA book, but this book just. Pulled it off. So brilliantly. *claps*And anyways, the incorporation is kind of interesting and weird in a way that you would never expect, but yes THIS BOOK PULLED IT OFF AS WELL.Now for the romance. It's.. a little weird in the concept, but I AM SO FOR IT! This romance was kind of a slow burn, but there was definite chemistry and SHIP SHIP SHIP.READ THIS BOOK RIGHT NOW.Thanks to the publisher for giving me a copy of this book in exchange for a review! This did not impact my review in any way.All quotes are from the uncorrected version and must be checked against a final copy.
    more
  • Maha Haggouch
    June 30, 2017
    a digital review copy was provided to me by the publisher. this does not affect my thoughts in any way.4.5 stars.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is, so far, one of the best books i've ever read this year. it has been recommended to me on twitter, and it certainly did not disappoint. seriously, if this book isn't on your radar, it should be.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is about, well, Genie Lo, an angry teenager who tries her best to get into the college of her dreams. but when a demon invasion threaten a digital review copy was provided to me by the publisher. this does not affect my thoughts in any way.4.5 stars.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is, so far, one of the best books i've ever read this year. it has been recommended to me on twitter, and it certainly did not disappoint. seriously, if this book isn't on your radar, it should be.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO is about, well, Genie Lo, an angry teenager who tries her best to get into the college of her dreams. but when a demon invasion threatens her sleepy town, she'd have to do things she'd never thought she could do, like fighting demons, interacting with gods, alongside with Quentin Sun, the "weird" new transfer in her school, in order to save herself, her family, and her town. inspired by chinese folklore and legend, this book is EPIC (pun intented).other than the fact that it was a TINY LITTLE BIT slow sometimes, TECOGL was everything i could ask for in a book. it has action, the plot was SO great, and it was incredibly funny. it also breaks stereotypes by including the tall girl/short boy trope. though it didn't play a huge role in the plot, that romance was EVERYTHING. i just found myself rooting for them and shipping them so hard.SO. read THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO if you like:+ chinese folklore+ stories that are inspired by ancient legends, mythology, etc.+ informative stuff+ sarcasm+ super kick-ass characters+ basically if you like Riordan's books, you'll love this one too.THE EPIC CRUSH OF GENIE LO comes out august 8th, 2017.
    more
  • Rachel Strolle
    July 5, 2017
    What an absolute treat this book is
  • Mariam
    July 11, 2017
    Click here to find out how The Epic Crush of Genie Lo is MY FAVORITE fantasy book so far this year!
  • Sinead (Huntress of Diverse Books)
    July 25, 2017
    Check out my book blog for more book reviews and other bookish posts!I received an ARC of Epic Crush of Genie Lo through NetGalley. I requested this ARC because of the cover. It looks absolutely awesome! Also, someone on Twitter (I forgot who, sorry!) said that it would fit the requirements for some of the boxes for Asian Lit Bingo.This book is #ownvoices for Chinese American representation.__I am so in love with this book. I've been reading so many superhero books at the moment, so I kind of th Check out my book blog for more book reviews and other bookish posts!I received an ARC of Epic Crush of Genie Lo through NetGalley. I requested this ARC because of the cover. It looks absolutely awesome! Also, someone on Twitter (I forgot who, sorry!) said that it would fit the requirements for some of the boxes for Asian Lit Bingo.This book is #ownvoices for Chinese American representation.__I am so in love with this book. I've been reading so many superhero books at the moment, so I kind of thought that Genie was going to a superhero school - thus I was confused for a few pages.I was really interested in how Genie was dealing with the revelation of who she is and who she was in her past life and how this influenced her thoughts and actions.The worldbuilding is epic in this book. It's solidly written and once you read the revelations and get past all the twists and turns, you'll see how much sense it makes. It fits in smoothly with the workings of the real world and doesn't feel out of place in any way. Like seriously, I could imagine this happening in our world.Genie's allergic to pollen and I totally feel her, especially due to the high-pollen-count days I've been experiencing at the moment. This was so cool to read about, because, let's be honest, how often is someone allergic to pollen in a book? Not very often. Also, I could totally relate to Genie's reaction to the tattoo. I'm a huge Genie fan!The humour in this book is wonderful. Quentin is hilarious. I laughed at the reference to white vampires. It was so funny, not only what Quentin said to Genie, but also his other reaction to her action.It's an unusual story, and I don't think I've ever read something quite like this. It provided a non-dry analysis about choice and whether objects can think for themselves. I also learnt quite a bit about Chinese mythology through this book.The romance aspect was great and seriously, I know I've never read of a romance quite like this one and I doubt that most of you will have. I liked that it wasn't the main focus of the story. It was so adorable!There are a few ableist terms in this book. For example: "crazy", "putting deposits into the First National Bank of Sanity", "psycho" and "craziness".__I am so happy that I was able to read Epic Crush of Genie Lo as an ARC and I really hope that you people are interested in this book after my review. It's a light and fun read. I highly recommend it!
    more
  • Xan West
    July 27, 2017
    I loved this! It was hilarious, riveting, and just so much fun. The pacing was impeccable, hit every beat exactly where it should. The characterization was complex and nuanced. I cared so much about Genie, felt for her and with her, was cheering her on. It was incredible to read a book that centered a girl who was so intensely angry, and really made her complicated and resonant and a heroine and caring and so so funny. This is such a wonderful read. I could not put it down, and I was grinning th I loved this! It was hilarious, riveting, and just so much fun. The pacing was impeccable, hit every beat exactly where it should. The characterization was complex and nuanced. I cared so much about Genie, felt for her and with her, was cheering her on. It was incredible to read a book that centered a girl who was so intensely angry, and really made her complicated and resonant and a heroine and caring and so so funny. This is such a wonderful read. I could not put it down, and I was grinning through so much of it. The battle scenes were so much fun!I liked watching Genie's relationship with Quentin grow, liked their arc together. I really loved the moments with her mom, and her BFF, so much, the depth and complexity of those relationships really lived on the page. I also really liked seeing her with guanyin, their conversations always twisted in new directions I didn't expect. This is in my top 3 favorite 2017 YA books. It was wonderful all the way through, and I highly recommend it. I know I am definitely going to reread, and I really hope it gets made into a movie because that would be amazing. Trigger Warnings: (view spoiler)[ physical fighting, magical battles (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Julie
    July 17, 2017
    SO GOOD SO GOOD SO GOOD
  • Ceillie
    July 22, 2017
    This was just a delightful read. I loved Genie's voice, and I can't wait to see what comes next in this series!
  • Laura (midorireads)
    May 4, 2017
    A super funny action-adventure that involves Chinese Folklore, centering around the very modern, teenaged Genie Lo.---------------------Summary provided by publisher:The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie Lo's every waking thought. But when her sleepy Bay Area town comes under siege from hell-spawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are suddenly and forcefully rearranged.Her only guide to the demonic chaos breaking out around her is Quentin Sun, A super funny action-adventure that involves Chinese Folklore, centering around the very modern, teenaged Genie Lo.---------------------Summary provided by publisher:The struggle to get into a top-tier college consumes sixteen-year-old Genie Lo's every waking thought. But when her sleepy Bay Area town comes under siege from hell-spawn straight out of Chinese folklore, her priorities are suddenly and forcefully rearranged.Her only guide to the demonic chaos breaking out around her is Quentin Sun, a beguiling, maddening new transfer student from overseas. Quentin assures Genie she is strong enough to fight these monsters, for she unknowingly harbors an inner power that can level the very gates of Heaven.Genie will have to dig deep within herself to summon the otherworldly strength that Quentin keeps talking about. But as she does, she finds the secret of her true nature is entwined with his, in a way she could never have imagined… --------------------Usually, I like to start off my reviews with the things I didn't like, but when it comes to The Epic Crush of Genie Lo...I have nothing bad to say, because I absolutely loved this book!–The Characters–First, let's talk about our MC, Genie Lo. I think that Genie will go down as one of my favorite heroines ever! She initially played the role of the stereotypical Asian teen, being the model student, and model daughter. But then, with the arrival of Quentin Sun, she's suddenly thrust into a world in which Chinese Folklore is real, and something she just happens to play a major part of. But she's still a teenage girl. So, cynicism and snark abound in her interactions with Quentin, which really had me cracking up at times. I really loved how she does grow more comfortable in her own way as the book goes on, and though there's no mention of a book 2 on Goodreads (as of the last time I'd checked, that is), I really look forward to more Genie!Now, for Quentin Sun, I won't say much when it comes to exactly who he is, because you'll just have to read to find out. But he's so endearing, interesting, as well as super-funny, though his funniness stems more from his having to combat Genie's snakiness. Again, I just loved their interactions together!!–The Plot–What an exciting, fantastical story! I know zilch when it comes to Chinese folklore, but the things that were introduced to me in this book were definitely super interesting! Genie's strength, and the things she has to fight against really make for an even more exciting read!–The setting–It seems fitting that this book would take place in San Francisco, considering it is home to the oldest Chinatown in North America, and the largest Chinese enclave outside of Asia (I took this bit of info from Wikipedia, so hopefully it's right, ha ha!). So, being that a lot of Chinese live in these parts, it's the perfect place for Chinese monsters, and the like, to blend in, thus, the perfect setting for this fabulous book!I think I've established by now, how much I absolutely loved this book, so obviously I will gladly recommend this book!!!Thank you to Amulet Books via Netgalley for giving me this copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Martha
    June 7, 2017
    From the first page, this book is completely bananas in a wonderfully joyous, unhinged way. I can't tell you how gratifying it is to read a book in which supernatural stuff happens and the main female character, rather than responding with some version of "OMG, he's so hot, I'm going to just stick around despite all the oddness because hot!" heads for the hills because "HOLY SHIT EVERYTHING IS SO WEIRD AND WRONG WRONG WRONG." Add to that Genie's wonky confidence and wholly individual personality From the first page, this book is completely bananas in a wonderfully joyous, unhinged way. I can't tell you how gratifying it is to read a book in which supernatural stuff happens and the main female character, rather than responding with some version of "OMG, he's so hot, I'm going to just stick around despite all the oddness because hot!" heads for the hills because "HOLY SHIT EVERYTHING IS SO WEIRD AND WRONG WRONG WRONG." Add to that Genie's wonky confidence and wholly individual personality, and the book is a hell of a lot of fun. In addition to an engaging (did I mention bananas?) central plot, the story is shot through with myth and legend, anchored firmly in Chinese history and folklore. It's great to read a book that is so effortlessly #ownvoices, particularly when it feels like nods to marginalized identities and stories are increasingly token rather than sincere and well-rounded.TL; DR: Recommended. Like, a lot.Thanks to NetGalley and Abrams Kids for the ARC!
    more
Write a review