Brave (Awkward, #2)
In his daydreams, Jensen is the biggest hero that ever was, saving the world and his friends on a daily basis. But his middle school reality is VERY different - math is hard, getting along with friends is hard...Even finding a partner for the class project is a big problem when you always get picked last. And the pressure's on even more once the school newspaper's dynamic duo, Jenny and Akilah, draw Jensen into the whirlwind of school news, social experiment projects, and behind-the-scenes club drama. Jensen's always played the middle school game one level at a time, but suddenly, someone's cranked up the difficulty setting. Will those daring daydreams of his finally work in his favor, or will he have to find real solutions to his real life problems?The charming world of Berrybrook Middle School gets a little bigger in this highly anticipated follow up to Svetlana Chmakova's award winning Awkward with a story about a boy who learns his own way of being Brave!

Brave (Awkward, #2) Details

TitleBrave (Awkward, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 23rd, 2017
PublisherYen Press
ISBN0316363189
ISBN-139780316363181
Number of pages248 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Childrens, Middle Grade, Comics, Realistic Fiction, Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Brave (Awkward, #2) Review

  • Melody
    April 29, 2017
    This is crazy good and crazy important. It made me giggle. It made me tear up because Jensen's journey was so real, and so honest. Chmakova does an excellent job of portraying her characters and I want all of them to have their own books. These are GREAT stories for middle schoolers that never feel like they're talking down to them.
    more
  • Christina
    May 10, 2017
    A graphic novel aimed at middle school readers, I found this to be a great read. Technically the second book in the Berrybrook Middle School series, but it works really well as a stand alone. I read book 1 when it came out and I don't remember it well, but do remember enjoying it. I wasn't sure I'd like BRAVE because I didn't think I'd identify enough with the main character, a middle school boy. But I found him to be very likable and I was quickly invested in his story. The author has created a A graphic novel aimed at middle school readers, I found this to be a great read. Technically the second book in the Berrybrook Middle School series, but it works really well as a stand alone. I read book 1 when it came out and I don't remember it well, but do remember enjoying it. I wasn't sure I'd like BRAVE because I didn't think I'd identify enough with the main character, a middle school boy. But I found him to be very likable and I was quickly invested in his story. The author has created a rich and diverse world of characters, each visually distinct and with a nicely developed personality. She shows diversity in a natural way, breaks down stereotypes, and does a wonderful job of combining art and dialogue to tell an effective story. The book deals with themes of friendship and bullying in a way that is relatable, avoiding cliche. I'd be interested to see what a young reader thinks of this book, so I picked up a copy for my nephew. Seems this would be a great book for a middle school library, especially for reluctant readers--it might help them get into reading for fun.
    more
  • LaurenAlexandra
    May 17, 2017
    This was a really cute book! The art is great. The characters are so cute and easy to relate too. I love Jensen! The humor is good too. The issue of bullying is always a touchy topic, especially when it comes to the emotions involved in the person being bullied. Bullying is hard to accept when you want to fit in and you're willing to risk your self- worth for friends. The book does a good job of addressing all the issues and attempts to solve it without over-dramatizing it.
    more
  • Miranda
    May 18, 2017
    I loved this book just as much as Awkward. I loved Jensen's character. All of his daydreaming, and the ways he thinks are so realistic and relatable. This made me tear up near the end and has a lot of great lessons for kids and adults.
  • Elizabeth Harrison
    May 25, 2017
    So so good! Full of heart and important messages.
  • Tina Christopher
    May 15, 2017
    Perfect! Utterly perfect!Great characters, great story line, and great "lesson".
  • Thetillybird
    May 13, 2017
    Very cute! Very realistic characters the warm and break your heart. You want to take care of them and feed them soup!
Write a review