Spellbook of the Lost and Found
One stormy summer night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. It starts with simple items like hair clips and jewellery, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something bigger; something she won’t talk about.Then Olive meets three wild, mysterious strangers: Ivy, Hazel and Rowan. Like Rose, they’re mourning losses - and holding tight to secrets.When they discover the ancient spellbook, full of hand-inked charms to conjure back lost things, they realise it might be their chance to set everything right. Unless it’s leading them towards secrets that were never meant to be found . . .

Spellbook of the Lost and Found Details

TitleSpellbook of the Lost and Found
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherRHCP Digital
ISBN1448193974
ISBN-139781448193974
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Magical Realism

Spellbook of the Lost and Found Review

  • Bee (Heart Full of Books)
    June 21, 2017
    Review originally on Heart Full of BooksI had seen a lot of hype surrounding this book on twitter – lots of authors and publishers getting ARCS, which were beautiful, by the way. So, it’s one that’s been on my radar for a while, even though I had no idea when it was coming out. Then I went book shopping with Maddie and happened to see Spellbook For The Lost and Found on the table and I NEEDED IT. I picked it up practically as soon as I got home (which hardly ever happens) and I feel like I genui Review originally on Heart Full of BooksI had seen a lot of hype surrounding this book on twitter – lots of authors and publishers getting ARCS, which were beautiful, by the way. So, it’s one that’s been on my radar for a while, even though I had no idea when it was coming out. Then I went book shopping with Maddie and happened to see Spellbook For The Lost and Found on the table and I NEEDED IT. I picked it up practically as soon as I got home (which hardly ever happens) and I feel like I genuinely have some stuff to say about it, so let’s get to it.There are three perspectives: Olive, who wakes up after a crazy party and starts to lose things. Hazel, a girl who’s living with her brother and best friend in an abandoned house because staying with her parents wasn’t a safe option. And Laurel, whose diary pages go missing and to get them back she casts a spell with her two best friends.It’s a very self-contained story with lots of characters: Olive, Rose, Hazel, Ivy, Rowan, Laurel, Ash, Holly, Mags. And while I’m all for a majority female cast this was a lot of girls who love to speak in riddles and metaphors to keep track of. When it came to the voices sometimes couldn’t distinguish between them. With context I could always work it out, but all the girls had very similar ways of looking at the world. Olive and Hazel both idolise and comment in detail about their best friend’s traits, meaning I felt like I knew more about Rose because of Olive’s lens, and Rowan because of Hazel’s. I didn’t get to know about Hazel and Olive themselves until they showed up in each other’s POVs. There just wasn’t as much of a change in tone as I would have liked, but it was beautiful writing regardless, so *shrugs*I also thought the pacing was bit off at time. We’d get to a bit where it felt like things were going somewhere. Like we’d just bitten off a huge chunk of intrigue, but then things would settle down and it would be back to the same pattern of ‘lost-thing and a hang-out session’. THAT BEING SAID. the ending. Similarly to I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson you have to read to the end before you realise how well constructed the story is. I might have had complaints about it being self-contained, but I certainly didn’t see any of the twists coming. I felt like I was always five steps behind the characters, but I was hooked and when ends were being tied I was living for those reveals. There was genuinely a moment, like fifty pages from the end, when my chin was on my chest.Spellbook For The Lost and Found is a book that will keep you on your toes if you can get through purple prose, and stick with the plot until things all start coming together. It’s full of romance, and pretty great diversity of character too, with Olive being deaf in one ear, Rose being a WOC, the pair of them being bisexual and Hazel being gay. (Though I do have reservations about the pacing of exposition (we were still learning about Olive and Rose’s friendship over 100 pages through…)).Overall, this book was a bit of self-indulgence. Moria Fowley-Doyle has a knack of creepy-cool atmosphere building, so if you liked her debut The Accident Season then you’ll find all the same things to love in Spellbook. Overall, I gave it 4 stars. I was frustrated at times, but I had a fun time reading it. I might just have found my new favourite addiction: queer witches.
    more
  • Karina
    May 8, 2017
    Magical and enchanting, this is a book with dirt beneath its nails...a bit scruffy and unkempt, with whiskey-breath and birds-nest hair, and a charming sideways grin as it sidles in your back door at two in the morning...open your heart to it, and welcome the weirdness and the wonder inside.
    more
  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    February 18, 2017
    I'm SO excited for this one. Moira Fowley-Doyle can really write!
  • Kaja
    June 18, 2017
    Well. I'm definitely putting MFD on my auto-buy list. This was really good. The 4 stars are for the ending, which was a tad rushed, but the rest was great.
  • Kate Ormand
    June 13, 2017
    After a party at a bonfire, belongings start to go missing. It starts off small but becomes more serious. Olive and her friends find an old spellbook, which might hold the answers or hold something more dangerous between its pages. The group must unravel the mystery around the spellbook and how it has been used in the past if they have any hope of finding the lost things.The Accident Season quickly became one of my all-time favourite books so I was really looking forward to reading Spellbook of After a party at a bonfire, belongings start to go missing. It starts off small but becomes more serious. Olive and her friends find an old spellbook, which might hold the answers or hold something more dangerous between its pages. The group must unravel the mystery around the spellbook and how it has been used in the past if they have any hope of finding the lost things.The Accident Season quickly became one of my all-time favourite books so I was really looking forward to reading Spellbook of the Lost and Found. I love the atmosphere of Moïra Fowley-Doyle’s stories. There’s a Practical Magic feel to her work that I can’t get enough of. I love this author’s haunting tales of whispered spells, cursed families and strange happenings. Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and April Genevieve Tucholke.
    more
  • Lauren James
    May 15, 2017
    Moira's magic, immersive writing never fails to make me feel a little giddy, a little rebellious, a little witchy. Her characters spring from the page and the setting is just as much a character in itself. I love the bisexual repesentation - one girl falling in love with a boy, one with a girl - which felt true and real. No one experience is representative of a whole minority, and it's important to show that.Also, what's going on with Mags?!
    more
  • Kalie
    June 20, 2017
    I love it when books surprise me. I didn't quite know what to expect with this one. I went into it having already enjoyed the author's previous work (a book I even referenced while composing my dissertation last year), so when I had the opportunity to snag an ARC at a book festival a couple of months ago, I didn't hesitate. What I received in return was a story much darker - and smarter - than I anticipated. This book is the worthy successor to Laura Ruby's BONE GAP that I've been wanting these I love it when books surprise me. I didn't quite know what to expect with this one. I went into it having already enjoyed the author's previous work (a book I even referenced while composing my dissertation last year), so when I had the opportunity to snag an ARC at a book festival a couple of months ago, I didn't hesitate. What I received in return was a story much darker - and smarter - than I anticipated. This book is the worthy successor to Laura Ruby's BONE GAP that I've been wanting these past few years. It took a while for me to really get drawn in. This is mostly due to the story being told through three perspectives that all use the same type of first person POV. I wish Fowley-Doyle had changed that up a bit to make each narrator stylistically more distinctive, but it grew on me eventually. There's Olive, who wakes up in the aftermath of a party and notes the absence of a few material things but takes in the absence of her best friend, Rose, more because that's a loss she would fear the most. There's Hazel, who lives with her twin brother, Rowan, and their childhood friend, Ivy, in a house that they're squatting in because that's a better alternative than facing the monstrous thing she may or may not have done. And there's Laurel, who, along with her two best friends, encounter a spellbook and a lost boy. Each of these stories become intertwined in a way that I would love to explain, but, well, that would just spoil the story, wouldn't it? I'm always here for good character-driven stories and this hit the mark for me. Yes, you've got the backdrop of magic and mystery, but they are just that - a backdrop while everything else (the characters, the relationships, the introspection) takes center stage. That's what kept me glued and why I pushed through a slow beginning. There's a bit of a tonal shift, though, near the end that I had issues with, but despite that, this is still a book I would recommend for those wanting a little more magical realism in their lives. Bottom line: Pick up for the promise of magic and stay for the array of diverse, if often complicated, interpersonal relationships.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 6, 2017
    Teenagers messing around with magic, LGBTQ characters (bisexual&lesbian*), tattooed runaways, switching POV's & magical realism. Yes please!Very much enjoyed Spellbook of the Lost and Found.Two of the characters are bisexual, another one I assume is lesbian, but she isn't specifically labelled in the book as being lesbian.
    more
  • Adriana
    June 29, 2017
    "What?" says Ivy. "Don't be silly. It's not just the spellbook. We're all magic. Magic's all around us, all the time.""Oh, come on," I say. "You don't come across an ancient spellbook every day.""You don't need to," Ivy replies. "There are spells everywhere. You cast a hundred a week without realizing."
    more
  • Lukas Christensen
    March 28, 2017
    I. Need. This. So. Much.After The Accident Season I'm sure Moïra Fowley-Doyle can deliver another deliciously written book with a weird and haunting premise. I'm so excited!
  • Sarah
    May 4, 2017
    I fall in love with every word Moïra Fowley-Doyle writes. Magic and moonshine, secrets and spells, things lost, found, taken, stolen... This finely woven tale will enchant and enthrall, and you'll start to see the world through a web of silver string...
    more
  • Rachel
    June 17, 2017
    Full review available on my blog: https://rachiereads.wordpress.com/201...My thoughtsI went to the launch of this book on June 1st with Gabbie, where we stood awkwardly and sipped white wine and got our books signed by Moïra, who was one of the loveliest people I’ve ever met. She did a reading from the book, which had the audience laughing and wanting more, and then I headed home to start reading, clutching my book cover cookie and bubble blower, inspired by one of the characters.I knew I would Full review available on my blog: https://rachiereads.wordpress.com/201...My thoughtsI went to the launch of this book on June 1st with Gabbie, where we stood awkwardly and sipped white wine and got our books signed by Moïra, who was one of the loveliest people I’ve ever met. She did a reading from the book, which had the audience laughing and wanting more, and then I headed home to start reading, clutching my book cover cookie and bubble blower, inspired by one of the characters.I knew I would love this book, since I love anything witchy, mystical, spooky, or involving dad jokes, but I didn’t anticipate the way in which I would love this. It was different from what I was expecting but it was still full of spookiness and surprises. It took me a few chapters to get my bearings and to get used to each point of view, as there are a lot of characters, but I got into it quite quickly and each voice is very distinct. I loved every character and every new event and revelation had me gasping and hurriedly turning the page to find out more.ProsThe storyline is so original and interesting and it kept me turning the page, because I could never guess what was going to happen next. It’s definitely driven by plot, but it’s also character-driven, so it’s the best of both worlds.This book features several LGBTQ+ characters and a WoC (I believe she is Native American, but I’m not sure if it’s explicitly stated in the text). There is a trigger warning here for a racial slur: (view spoiler)[“Pocahontas.” (hide spoiler)] This racism is addressed in the text. I was impressed with the level of diversity and self-awareness; the main character has a younger sister who frequently calls out sexism and talks about feminism. The gay and bisexual characters never feel forced or token; they have realistic relationships and I loved them. There’s also an instance of sexual assault (there is no detailed depiction but there are text messages with derogatory terms and insults) and it’s dealt with well.I loved the setting of this book – the middle of nowhere, Ireland. It’s definitely a setting I can relate to, so it felt more real to me than books set in the US. It feels like it’s written from experience, the way rural teenagers act and what small community life is like.ConsThe only thing I didn’t 100% like about this book (though it didn’t bother me much) was that there’s only one spell. It’s early on in the book, and after reading it (and getting chills; it’s a very creepy spell) I went flicking through the book to see if there were more. Because the title is “spellbook” I thought there would be more than one spell and I was excited to read them, but the story doesn’t really need them once it gets going anyway.Final thoughtsRating: 4.5 starsRecommended for: Fans of anything witchy or spooky! It’s a fast, fun read, and it’s perfect for any time of year, particularly summer and Halloween.
    more
  • Lisa
    May 30, 2017
    I got this book sent for free by Penguin Random House for an honest reviewI tried reading this today. Made it about 100 pages in and I still wasn't enthralled by it. I decided to read the last chapter to find out if the ending was something I was dying to know more about: I wasn't. I didn't care for the ending and I felt a disconnect throughout the first 100 pages as well.The thing that ruined it for me was the first person perspective. Usually FPP is fine, but not when the perspective changes e I got this book sent for free by Penguin Random House for an honest reviewI tried reading this today. Made it about 100 pages in and I still wasn't enthralled by it. I decided to read the last chapter to find out if the ending was something I was dying to know more about: I wasn't. I didn't care for the ending and I felt a disconnect throughout the first 100 pages as well.The thing that ruined it for me was the first person perspective. Usually FPP is fine, but not when the perspective changes every chapter. One book, one protagonist and one perspective: great combination. One book, three protagonists and three perspectives: why?If you don't mind this then by all means read it. It has mystery, magic, "witches" and LGTBQ relationships. I think it has the potential to be liked and loved by others, we just didn't click.
    more
  • Farhina The Wanderer Of Inked Adventures
    June 8, 2017
    I got this book sent for free by Penguin Random House for an honest review.I tired reading this till the end but it wasn't working out for me. This was a sort of whacky, peculiar magically realism that i am not really into. Their are multiple point of views that really take a while for you to sink into and not get confused.Halfway through i couldn't take it anymore and decided to skill ahead to the last chapter. Err i didnt care much for it, nor it was mind blowing. .So yeah if you like peculiar I got this book sent for free by Penguin Random House for an honest review.I tired reading this till the end but it wasn't working out for me. This was a sort of whacky, peculiar magically realism that i am not really into. Their are multiple point of views that really take a while for you to sink into and not get confused.Halfway through i couldn't take it anymore and decided to skill ahead to the last chapter. Err i didnt care much for it, nor it was mind blowing. .So yeah if you like peculiar book with magical realism and multiple pov's this book is for you. It also have LGTBQ characters.
    more
  • J. Taylor
    June 29, 2017
    This book was so magically kooky, I adored it. If I had any qualms, I would say there wasn't much of a mystery to it as I guessed quite a far bit but I did like how things were slowly revealed. (view spoiler)[ the second it's mentioned there is a missing boy by Laurel but Olive and Hazel don't mention one, matched with Olive's mom's comments, and I got it in an instant. I didn't see Jude being the father of three of the five though but it's like not shocking either. (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler This book was so magically kooky, I adored it. If I had any qualms, I would say there wasn't much of a mystery to it as I guessed quite a far bit but I did like how things were slowly revealed. (view spoiler)[ the second it's mentioned there is a missing boy by Laurel but Olive and Hazel don't mention one, matched with Olive's mom's comments, and I got it in an instant. I didn't see Jude being the father of three of the five though but it's like not shocking either. (view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)] (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Peacette
    July 1, 2017
    Reasons to read this book :- set in the irish countryside- spellbook and magic- the eerie and creepy atmosphere that goes with it- diverse cast of characters- deals with societal issues- angsty teenagers - beautiful writing- Family as one of the main topic- Those last pages <3
    more
  • Sophie
    June 19, 2017
    I loved this book! Another fantastically, beautifully strange magical realism novel set in Ireland from Moïra Fowley-Doyle. A must-read for fans of witchy, magical, LGBTQ YA fiction. Moïra is going on to my auto-buy author list.
  • ΛᄂΣXIƧ IVΛЯ
    April 18, 2017
    I received an ARC copy (they give me two actually; giving the second to my epic friend) from a giveaway...this book was an adventure! The major spoiler near the end(ish) of the book blew me off my feet. I lifted up my eyes from the page, and blinked for almost a minute as I comprehended what just happened.
    more
  • Vera
    May 21, 2017
    Thank you to Penguin Random House for sending me an ARC of this book! It was AMAZING! Deliciously creepy YA fantasy, told from multiple perspectives, with a great twist towards the end. Sucks you in immediately - the kind of book you'll want to read in one sitting! I truly loved getting to know all the different characters, and the fantasy elements were unique and compelling. Highly highly recommend!
    more
  • Karyn Silverman
    April 5, 2017
    Sublime.
  • ShiraDaTimelord
    April 24, 2017
    I just CANT go into all I loved about this it was SO GOOD. Character developement, realistic people, realistic family relationship, realistic friendships. Everything connecting. I LOVE it when everything connects. And the book. The blending of real and magic. Lesson without being lessony. And if I could describe it, it's like one of those stupid simple kids books where friends find a magic book, everything connects in ways I won't say, an old woman has been there forever helping them out, but so I just CANT go into all I loved about this it was SO GOOD. Character developement, realistic people, realistic family relationship, realistic friendships. Everything connecting. I LOVE it when everything connects. And the book. The blending of real and magic. Lesson without being lessony. And if I could describe it, it's like one of those stupid simple kids books where friends find a magic book, everything connects in ways I won't say, an old woman has been there forever helping them out, but so much more than that. The darker version. The real life version. I TOTALLY RECOMMEND.(Also I totes guessed the plot twist) (possibly tho cause I was alert on there being a plot twist cause ales told me :p)ALLONSY
    more
  • Bex
    June 11, 2017
    Goes into my top three books of the year!I opened this book, having bought it based on a cover and title combo ( in the book it sums it up nicely " The first page said only Spellbook of the lost and found, like a title. You can't not read on with a title like that. ") and was lost for a day. Marking went undone, washing up was abandoned and eating was forgotten for too long. This is an amazing magical realismread. The characters are well rounded and there is a brilliant twist I didn't see coming Goes into my top three books of the year!I opened this book, having bought it based on a cover and title combo ( in the book it sums it up nicely " The first page said only Spellbook of the lost and found, like a title. You can't not read on with a title like that. ") and was lost for a day. Marking went undone, washing up was abandoned and eating was forgotten for too long. This is an amazing magical realismread. The characters are well rounded and there is a brilliant twist I didn't see coming. It's told from the point of view of 3 characters whose voices are different enough that you can easily tell the difference without checking the chapter headlines. It follows a week in the lives of several teenagers, some who have a home and some who are running from the worst. They find a Spellbook ("then we found the Spellbook. It was like it'd been waiting for us. Like it knew we'd need it.") and use it at the party things then start to show up lost by some found by others connecting all the main characters. " look at this. Look at us! We are the finders, we are the keepers, we are the guardians of the lost and found! " celebrate the joy of Jude to find some willing girls.Two of the girls who lose and find their friendship during this write mottos on their arms. My favourite describes the book "if you don't get lost, you'll never be found" I also like DO NO HARM BUT TAKE NO SHIT" Olive has parents who have a poem off like it's normal to quote poetry. At one point they use Lost:Faith in the world as a heading which was very relevant last weekend, however I found my faith in the people of the world watching the helpers this week."Maybe every first is a loss" comments Rose at one point an di know that feeling.I wish I could read this book for the first time again. My loss was never being able to do that now I'll always know the twist. At the same time I look forward to coming back to it with that knowledge and fresh eyes.
    more
  • Sasha
    June 5, 2017
    First things first: Moïra Fowley-Doyle's books are definitely not for everyone! Her style of writing is very eerie and filled with magical realism. You'll need a certain leap of faith when you read her books where you don't question the story too much. Don't get me wrong though, her writing is very unique and it manages to bewitch you withing three pages. I love it!The story revolves around three groups of in total eight people where one person narrates the story for every group. That's three di First things first: Moïra Fowley-Doyle's books are definitely not for everyone! Her style of writing is very eerie and filled with magical realism. You'll need a certain leap of faith when you read her books where you don't question the story too much. Don't get me wrong though, her writing is very unique and it manages to bewitch you withing three pages. I love it!The story revolves around three groups of in total eight people where one person narrates the story for every group. That's three different POVs and eight "main" characters to keep track off and I have to admit that it was pretty complicated in the beginning. I kept losing track of who was in which group and who was narrating the chapter. I got the hang of it after a while, but it took some of the enjoyment out of the book.Although there are some magic elements to the story, most of the book is as realistic as you can get. The characters deal with real-life problems and thoughts, and develop throughout the story. Definitely recommend!
    more
  • Christina
    May 23, 2017
    This is an interesting book. I really was wrapped up in the atmosphere and the mystery of the magic. It took a little while to sink into because there were 3 POVs, but several more characters involved. I'm between a 3.5 and a 4 on this one, mostly because I sort of wavered in interest a little in the middle. That being said, the LGBTQ+ perspectives in this one are great in that they are normalized. There are also honest and non-shy portrayals of relationships and sex (both male/female and female This is an interesting book. I really was wrapped up in the atmosphere and the mystery of the magic. It took a little while to sink into because there were 3 POVs, but several more characters involved. I'm between a 3.5 and a 4 on this one, mostly because I sort of wavered in interest a little in the middle. That being said, the LGBTQ+ perspectives in this one are great in that they are normalized. There are also honest and non-shy portrayals of relationships and sex (both male/female and female/female) that I think older teens will appreciate. The way things were written definitely lured me in and kept me there. Though it left me with a feeling of unease, however, because I wonder if there is a mental issue with one of the characters that was unresolved or I may have missed. At it's heart, it's a story of magic and spells, family and love, and what we would lose to keep what we don't want lost.
    more
  • Arianne
    June 23, 2017
    Intriguing, mysterious and just a little peculiar, Spellbook of the Lost and Found is full of interesting and bewitching things: a town bonfire, missing shoes, a wishing tree, charm bracelets, sprawling tattoos, illicit alcohol, flawed friendships, and, of course, several dogs named after types of cereal. Dark and littered with magic, it's a stylishly written and pleasingly clever second novel from one of the best – if not the best – Irish writers of current YA. As beguiling as it is befuddling, Intriguing, mysterious and just a little peculiar, Spellbook of the Lost and Found is full of interesting and bewitching things: a town bonfire, missing shoes, a wishing tree, charm bracelets, sprawling tattoos, illicit alcohol, flawed friendships, and, of course, several dogs named after types of cereal. Dark and littered with magic, it's a stylishly written and pleasingly clever second novel from one of the best – if not the best – Irish writers of current YA. As beguiling as it is befuddling, it’s a sometimes imperfect but frankly unputdownable addition to recent YA magical realism. Penned in what is fast becoming Moira Fowley-Doyle’s trademark style, it’s messy magical realism which walks an audacious line between the real and surreal.Read the full version of this review here: https://thepaperalchemist.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 26, 2017
    Fowley-Doyle's sophomore effort lives up to her debut, The Accident Season. Ireland is a place of magic and even in modern day, spells can be cast, things can be lost and found, and secrets can come to light. There are a lot of characters, and it doesn't help that there are so many tree names, but everything in the book is there for a reason, you just have to make it to the end to see how it all comes together. Review from galley.
    more
  • Cambear
    July 1, 2017
    Slow burn of a book which weaves together around 8 main characters in an atmospheric mysteryIt takes about half the book before the plot kicks off so readers will either love the slow start or will tune out. Because the POV tosses back and forth quite a few times, it takes some work to stay plugged in, but there is an interesting and creepy sort of mystery.Thanks to Penguin Teen for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Erin
    May 26, 2017
    It was a little hard to get into at first, but after about 100 pages of getting use to the narrators switching, the story really took off. Once the characters (possible spoiler...) met up with each other the book became much more of a flowing story. There were some lose ends that I felt weren't tied off which was really disappointing. It didn't seem to be heading that way but maybe there will be another book? Over all not a bad read for those who enjoy Irish tales with witchcraft.
    more
  • Teen Oppl
    May 26, 2017
    A decent read. Slow at first but got much better after about 100 pages or so. Involves drinking, sex, smoking, and other not so clean topics, so I won't be able to recommend it to Jr. High readers. Older high schoolers who are into witchy reads will probably enjoy this read though.
    more
  • Medb
    June 5, 2017
    Spooky, magical, nail biting and full of plot twists. A truly wonderful book by a wonderful woman! ❤ Spooky, magical, nail biting and full of plot twists. A truly wonderful book by a wonderful woman! ❤️
Write a review