Amid Stars and Darkness (The Xenith Trilogy #1)
Delaney’s entire world is thrown into chaos after she is mistaken for Lissa Olena, an alien princess hiding out on Earth in order to escape an arranged marriage.Kidnapped by the princess’s head bodyguard, Ruckus, and imprisoned in an alien palace, Delaney is forced to impersonate the princess until Olena can be found. If she fails, it will lead to an alien war and the eventual enslavement of the entire human race.No pressure or anything.Factor in Trystan, the princess’s terrifying betrothed who is intent on unraveling all her secrets, and her own growing feelings for Ruckus, and Delaney is in way over her head.Get lost Amid Stars and Darkness, in this YA sci-fi romance from debut author Chani Lynn Feener.

Amid Stars and Darkness (The Xenith Trilogy #1) Details

TitleAmid Stars and Darkness (The Xenith Trilogy #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherSwoon Reads
ISBN1250123763
ISBN-139781250123763
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Aliens, Fantasy, Young Adult Science Fiction, Young Adult Romance, Dystopia

Amid Stars and Darkness (The Xenith Trilogy #1) Review

  • Karina
    June 19, 2017
    Even though it was a huge downer for me for more than the first half, things turned out pretty well - especially the characters. I'll still definitely read the next installment. Full RTC.
  • Dani
    March 24, 2017
    Publication date: July 18, 2017I actually liked this book a lot! I kept putting it aside until I finally decided to pick it up and it was everything! The story was amazing! And that cliffhanger... Man, I need that second book pronto. Delaney is funny, sarcastic, tough and clever. My favorite kind of heroine! She was so entertaining to read! Despite being kidnapped by aliens, and forced to pretend to be the clearly spoiled Princess; Delaney refused to be cowered and added a humorous and brave sp Publication date: July 18, 2017I actually liked this book a lot! I kept putting it aside until I finally decided to pick it up and it was everything! The story was amazing! And that cliffhanger... Man, I need that second book pronto. Delaney is funny, sarcastic, tough and clever. My favorite kind of heroine! She was so entertaining to read! Despite being kidnapped by aliens, and forced to pretend to be the clearly spoiled Princess; Delaney refused to be cowered and added a humorous and brave spin to an otherwise dangerous situation. Mariana sounds amazing as well! I hope we get to see more of her in books to come, Delaney clearly needed a female friend. Too much testosterone going on. There's definitely room for improvement. Not everything was perfect. However, this book is definitely addictive. I would appreciate if we could see some more world-building in the future. I mean she was on an alien planet after all. I felt like I needed a little more just to fully submerge myself in this world. More female characters are needed as well. Too many brooding and protective males. Thank you, NetGalley and Swoon Reads for sending me and ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Bekah AwesomeBookNut
    June 30, 2017
    Full review to come...
  • Alyssa Janine Busia
    June 9, 2017
    *FULL REVIEW TO BE POSTED ON JULY 19th*OMG! I can't wait for the second book! That ending just killed me on the spot! Trystan or Ruckus? I'll definitely choose Trystan but Ruckus is also damned hot and lovable! Both of them have great chemistry with Delaney but for me, Trystan is my bet. I'm more of shipping Trystan and Delaney. No. I'll ship Ruckus and Delaney then Trystan would be free to be taken by me hahaha! (Did anyone get what I'm saying? XD)I'm not into alien stories but this one definit *FULL REVIEW TO BE POSTED ON JULY 19th*OMG! I can't wait for the second book! That ending just killed me on the spot! Trystan or Ruckus? I'll definitely choose Trystan but Ruckus is also damned hot and lovable! Both of them have great chemistry with Delaney but for me, Trystan is my bet. I'm more of shipping Trystan and Delaney. No. I'll ship Ruckus and Delaney then Trystan would be free to be taken by me hahaha! (Did anyone get what I'm saying? XD)I'm not into alien stories but this one definitely hooked and made me want this to happen in reality. I'm so looking forward on the next installment of this series. Disclaimer: I received an advance readers copy from Xpresso Book Tours.
    more
  • Crazy4Books
    May 19, 2017
    Ive been counting down the days until this comes out.
  • Ashley Martinez
    January 26, 2016
    Wow! A thrilling high-stakes read. From the very beginning I was sucked in and pulled along this intense journey filled with danger at every turn. The story was paced well and really pulled me along.The characters were fantastic. I love the main character, Delaney. She was a strong, take no crap woman who wasn't afraid to speak her mind. I loved how she wasn't some whiny damsel in distress. Ruckus was an alpha protector who saw through her and sought to protect and help her. Not to mention he wa Wow! A thrilling high-stakes read. From the very beginning I was sucked in and pulled along this intense journey filled with danger at every turn. The story was paced well and really pulled me along.The characters were fantastic. I love the main character, Delaney. She was a strong, take no crap woman who wasn't afraid to speak her mind. I loved how she wasn't some whiny damsel in distress. Ruckus was an alpha protector who saw through her and sought to protect and help her. Not to mention he was devilishly handsome.The story played out flawlessly. There was suspense and mystery keeping you guessing till the very end. I definitely hope with the ending that there's a sequel coming out and soon!
    more
  • Katy Upperman
    June 28, 2017
    I don't read a lot of sci-fi, but I was immediately drawn to this novel's beautiful cover, as well as its summary: Earth girl Delaney is mistaken for alien princess Olena, then dragged to a faraway planet, where she's imprisoned in a castle and forced to impersonate Olena in order to maintain galactic peace. Amid Stars and Darkness is a fast-paced space opera with cool world-building and a swoony romance (I adored Ruckus!), plus some well executed humor, thanks to Delaney's spectacular voice. If I don't read a lot of sci-fi, but I was immediately drawn to this novel's beautiful cover, as well as its summary: Earth girl Delaney is mistaken for alien princess Olena, then dragged to a faraway planet, where she's imprisoned in a castle and forced to impersonate Olena in order to maintain galactic peace. Amid Stars and Darkness is a fast-paced space opera with cool world-building and a swoony romance (I adored Ruckus!), plus some well executed humor, thanks to Delaney's spectacular voice. If you're not sure whether you're into sci-fi/space fiction, this book is a great way to dip your toe in the water. It reads as vast and futuristic, while still feeling accessible. While Amid Stars and Darkness wraps up neatly, it leaves off with a big hook for the second book in this planned trilogy -- a book I'm already itching to get my hands on!
    more
  • Jeraca
    January 29, 2017
    I received this free eARC novel from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review. The synopsis of this book intrigued me right away, so I was very excited to get a chance to read this book and see if it was as good as the description - which is definitely was!Delaney is just a normal human who wants to go home and relax. Instead, her best friend Miranna wants to go to a club to see the hot alien bartender who she has been talking to. Yep, alien. Earth is now habitated by two different alien speci I received this free eARC novel from Edelweiss in exchange for my honest review. The synopsis of this book intrigued me right away, so I was very excited to get a chance to read this book and see if it was as good as the description - which is definitely was!Delaney is just a normal human who wants to go home and relax. Instead, her best friend Miranna wants to go to a club to see the hot alien bartender who she has been talking to. Yep, alien. Earth is now habitated by two different alien species in order to keep the peace between everyone. So Delaney is dragged out to the club with her friend, and when she is walking to her car, she gets kidnapped. But an alien she's never met. Who keeps calling her Lissa Olena, but obviously that is not Delaney. The more she keeps telling him, the more he is sure she is just lying. Only when Delaney gets taken to their planet and has an actual conversation with her kidnapper, who is Ander Rukus, does Rukus realize that he made a mistake and kidnapped a human girl and took her to his alien planet. Oh, and the best part? Delaney now looks like Olena, who is the PRINCESS of the alien planet she is now on. And who is BETROTHED to Zane Trystan, an alien prince of another alien planet. Life just got very complicated for Delaney, who was excited to start college...Now Delaney has to convince Trystan that she is Olena until they can get the real Olena back home. But Trystan and Olena hate each other - they hate the binding contract they are forced into and they can't stand one another. But to keep the peace for all planets - theirs and Earth - they have to marry. Delaney can understand why Olena wants to stay away - Trystan is not nice and is very conniving. And to make matters even more complicated, Delaney is starting to see a different perspective of Rukus, who feels extremely guilty that he kidnapped the wrong person. Delaney can't act like Olena. Olena is very cold, very childish, very spoiled, and Delaney always sticks up for what she wants. She doesn't back down and she's very confrontational. So it's very hard for her to act like Olena. No matter how much she looks like the princess, people around her are starting to look at her weird because her mannerisms are not like Olenas. The goal is to fool everyone until the real Olena gets brought back, but with assassination attempts happening every day, Delaney is not sure how the end result will be...This was actually a GREAT novel! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. I loved Delaney - she is a tough chick and even though she has been thrown into a terrible, terrible situation, she still takes one for the team and does what needs to be done to keep the peace. Unlike the real Olena... She is so spoiled and such a child that she doesn't care if her actions causes a war to end all species. And the way everyone acted, expected Olena to throw a fit or start crying... yeah she is a brat who only cares about herself. So I really dislike her. Rukus is a sexy alien, so of course I'm all about Delaney being with him. He does have weird mood swings that would confuse the hell out of me, but I think I could handle it overall :)And then there is Trystan. At first, I was with Delaney and though he was creepy and scary and I would stay away from him at all costs. But he started to change. He started to appreciate Delaney and her "new" attitude. I think he was really starting to like her and start to like the idea of being with "Olena", so he was definitely becoming more appealing. He was flirting and making Delaney all flustered, but still scared shitless. I dunno... I'd have to say, seeing those two together would be very interesting to see, I think. I'm not sure if I'm Team Trystan or Team Rukus, but either one would definitely be steaming off of the pages!I am so, so, so glad that I got to read this book. I was a bit annoyed that there is a cliffhanger at the end of this novel. I thought it was a standalone, so now I realize that I have to wait FOREVER to find out what happens next! But I will wait patiently and find out what will happen next for Delaney. I think a lot of readers will really fall in love with this book and I will definitely recommend it to other readers who love mystery, suspense, romance and science fiction!
    more
  • Lilly Charysma
    February 2, 2016
    [I was given a digital edition for free, in exchange for an honest review] I cannot rate this book less than 5 stars. I could not find any reason to give it less. I enjoyed very much Delaney’s story, the Zenith, Ruckus, even Trystan and the king and queen. I’m one of the lucky reviewers chosen for this book and I’d like to thank very much the author for the opportunity.So, I assume you’ve read the blurb (and probably some other reviews as well) and you know already that a human girl was taken t [I was given a digital edition for free, in exchange for an honest review] I cannot rate this book less than 5 stars. I could not find any reason to give it less. I enjoyed very much Delaney’s story, the Zenith, Ruckus, even Trystan and the king and queen. I’m one of the lucky reviewers chosen for this book and I’d like to thank very much the author for the opportunity.So, I assume you’ve read the blurb (and probably some other reviews as well) and you know already that a human girl was taken to an alien planet, being mistaken by their princess Lissa Olena. Delaney is just your normal teenage girl, celebrating her last exams, out having fun with her best friend, when she is kidnaped by Rukus – a gorgeous alien, Ander at the court of the Vakar king and designated as the personal guard for their princess. Once he understands he’s been tricked by Olena, he convinces Delaney to pose as the other woman until she is found. Delaney finds out that the real Lissa (princess) is to be married to the Kint prince Trystan. A great story starts from here, one that I’m sure you’ll enjoy as well.With an easy and captivating writing, the book is full of action and turns. Since we are sent to another planet, we get a lot of descriptive paragraphs, but they help create a neat picture about how Zenith looks like, about their customs, food and dress code. I have to admit, Tempest C. Avery has a terrific imagination and an equally terrific way to put it in pages.The characters are very well constructed as well. Neither Delaney, nor Ruckus has any overestimated qualities or exaggerated reactions. As for Trystan, he is one guy I cannot figure out. Is he good or is he bad? The king and Queen of Zenith are also very fine shaped, with that royal allure. Well, I loved the book! Before the last page I did not know if it would end or not. I do hope I get to review the next one, just because I can’t wait to read more of the story.
    more
  • Carly Vaught
    January 30, 2016
    Originally posted on: acrossthebookiverse.blogspot.comWOAH MAN WOAHAND WOAHI WAS NOT PREPARED FOR THATThis book is officially on my favourites list. It was epic, it was romantic, it was overall fantastic and everyone needs to read it.For starters, ALIENS. Everyone loves a good alien story, but when it's a story where aliens are widely known, it's not one you hear a lot. When you add to it that the main character is captured by a hunky alien soldier, it doubles my interest. When you add on the fa Originally posted on: acrossthebookiverse.blogspot.comWOAH MAN WOAHAND WOAHI WAS NOT PREPARED FOR THATThis book is officially on my favourites list. It was epic, it was romantic, it was overall fantastic and everyone needs to read it.For starters, ALIENS. Everyone loves a good alien story, but when it's a story where aliens are widely known, it's not one you hear a lot. When you add to it that the main character is captured by a hunky alien soldier, it doubles my interest. When you add on the fact that people are constantly trying to murder her because she looks exactly like the princess that could fix a war, it triples my interest. But when you include the hunky alien soldier being heroic, the female protagonist not being a complete push over, and a heartbreaking cliffhanger, I'm sold for life.I got through this entire book in one sitting, because I could not bring myself to put it down knowing that there was more to read. And to think, I was originally going to put this to the side for a while and read something else before even reading the first page. Sure, the first chapter had a slight rocky start and a few errors, but once I got into it, it was good. Almost too good. Witchcraft! But, let's not leave out the best part and that is that you can read this book right now over on SwoonReads.com, read it, review it, and maybe help it get published, because it certainly deserves it! Have fun with the cliff hanger *prays for a book 2* https://www.swoonreads.com/m/prisoner...
    more
  • Nemo (The Moonlight Library)
    February 15, 2017
    Lissa Olena sounds an awful lot like Larisa Oleynik.
  • The Blonde Bookworm
    March 1, 2016
    Aliens, sexy soldiers, romance, cliffhangers... guys this book has everything! I was given the opportunity to read the Ebook version and I just could not stop reading. I was amazed by Avery's alluring writing. Not once was I able to guess what would happen next and I loved it. This book has easily been added to my favorites list. The characters pull you in right from the beginning and the pages are full of action packed events. Kidnapping, murder attempts, and steamy make-out scenes leave the re Aliens, sexy soldiers, romance, cliffhangers... guys this book has everything! I was given the opportunity to read the Ebook version and I just could not stop reading. I was amazed by Avery's alluring writing. Not once was I able to guess what would happen next and I loved it. This book has easily been added to my favorites list. The characters pull you in right from the beginning and the pages are full of action packed events. Kidnapping, murder attempts, and steamy make-out scenes leave the reader constantly wanting more. I even had to pause and take a breath every now and then, dramatic, I know. Delaney is a lovable character who has a witty tongue and a tough attitude. She is the strong and clever protagonist that all other protagonists try to be. Her relationship with Ruckus is steamy and just the right amount of "mushy". You'll have to imagine for yourself what Ruckus looks like, but all I could see was a blonde version of Liam Hemsworth... Oops, sorry just dreaming about hot aliens over here. Anyways, I think you can tell that I loved the book. And guess what? You can read it and love it too! Head on over to swoonreads.com and check out this amazing book! Go vote for Prisoner of Glass so Tempest C. Avery can get published and then delight us with book 2! *Rating 5/5
    more
  • K.A.
    March 5, 2016
    I had the privilege of getting to read this book for free via paperbackreviewer.com.The beginning of “The Prisoner of Glass” felt like it lagged a bit. The introduction of the MC and her best friend seemed to be drag on for a bit before the inciting incident of the story occurred.At the inciting incident, the kidnapping, I had moments where all I could think about was why the MC was not screaming and fighting harder to get away instead of staring at the abashed beauty of her kidnapper. Once on t I had the privilege of getting to read this book for free via paperbackreviewer.com.The beginning of “The Prisoner of Glass” felt like it lagged a bit. The introduction of the MC and her best friend seemed to be drag on for a bit before the inciting incident of the story occurred.At the inciting incident, the kidnapping, I had moments where all I could think about was why the MC was not screaming and fighting harder to get away instead of staring at the abashed beauty of her kidnapper. Once on the ship the MC’s character seemed to awaken and along with her so did I as the reader.Soon I was hooked and I finished the book in less than two days.Thinking back on the overall book, I think what struck me most was the author’s ability to hint at a well-known cliche, but then turn it completely around.At first, the fact that pretty much all the characters were gorgeous really bugged me; but Tempest did a great job of creating good characters behind those distracting facades.They all had depth, which any reader can greatly appreciate.Despite a couple of grammatical errors here and there the book was a really good read. I can’t wait for the sequel.(For my full review, check out my blog: https://kawerts.wordpress.com/2016/03...)
    more
  • Aila
    January 24, 2017
    3.5 starsWith superficial world-building, a predictable plot with kickass action, and a sweet romance that I never really got invested in, Amid Stars and Darkness was a fun, light adventure in space. However, "light" is all it really was, and I found myself taking quick breaks while reading just because it never really offered anything other than cute antics with the very likable and down-to-earth heroine and the situation she gets caught up in.Nonetheless, I would recommend this to readers read 3.5 starsWith superficial world-building, a predictable plot with kickass action, and a sweet romance that I never really got invested in, Amid Stars and Darkness was a fun, light adventure in space. However, "light" is all it really was, and I found myself taking quick breaks while reading just because it never really offered anything other than cute antics with the very likable and down-to-earth heroine and the situation she gets caught up in.Nonetheless, I would recommend this to readers ready for a quick adventure without too much thinking. Other interspacial (hah see what I did there) romance fans with aliens like the Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout and Alienated by Melissa Landers will also enjoy this one. Full review to come!
    more
  • Em and Rosi (Bibliobibuli YA)
    March 26, 2017
    Amid Stars and Darkness is your typical “fun read.” There wasn’t much world building, beyond the fact that the human race knows that aliens exist, and the romance was fluffy and predictable. There was some kickass action, and I loved that Delaney participated in some of it, and there was also the attempt at building up the alien world. We are introduced to some of its flora, not much though, and fauna, we see pictures and maybe one live animal, customs, this was interesting but the lore behind t Amid Stars and Darkness is your typical “fun read.” There wasn’t much world building, beyond the fact that the human race knows that aliens exist, and the romance was fluffy and predictable. There was some kickass action, and I loved that Delaney participated in some of it, and there was also the attempt at building up the alien world. We are introduced to some of its flora, not much though, and fauna, we see pictures and maybe one live animal, customs, this was interesting but the lore behind them fell flat, and food, some of which you would have expected to taste good. Despite my complaints, though, I could definitely be talked into reading the sequel. Delaney is sarcastic and funny, and handles her situation quite well, though I guess it is easier to pretend to be someone who has about two aspects to their personality and no one wants to talk to. What I mean is, I like Delaney. She is a character I have no qualms in rooting for even if I was reading the rest of the book for simply a good time. And Ruckus? He was an okay love interest. No one to get really excited about, but enough that I didn’t question that he and Delaney developed feelings. The villains were also well portrayed and dimensional, you can develop sympathy for Trystan and his predicament, I mean he does face a future of being married to Olena, and the rebel group kind of has the right idea, Olena would make a terrible leader. For the sequel, I would really like to have more female relationships, this book was very much dominated by interactions with male characters, and some more exploration of the alien world. However, this next book is guaranteed to throw you right into the action with familiar characters and I can’t imagine that Delaney’s roomie and BFF would sit out this next round, so I can’t complain much.
    more
  • Ashley
    June 16, 2017
    Stopped reading after 104 pages.The book wasn't bad by any means, it just wasn't grabbing me. I didn't have much desire to keep going. Had I forced myself, I could imagine it being maybe a 3 star read and I just didn't feel like continuing for that.
  • Jennifer H.
    April 13, 2017
    Amid Stars and Darkness instantly had my attention with the first chapter and , while it did drag a bit for me around 80%, it did finally pick up for a really good ending that sets up a sequel. Action, drama, mistaken identity, and swoons..this book has it all!Thank you to Netgalley for providing an opportunity to read and review.
    more
  • Amanda (Good Choice Reading)
    March 24, 2017
    Review to come closer to release date.
  • Camille Myskovsky
    March 5, 2016
    I can't wait to start reading this book for one simple reason: Trystan. GOD WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?!?!? I mean, it can't be normal to fall deeply in love with a character you don't even know yet just 'cause people can't figure out what his deal is. That's like the least logical reason ever to start reading something. Okay, I admit, Tempest may or may not have something to do with my interest in this book *cough*my best friend is a die hard fan and as such has managed to convince me of Tempest's b I can't wait to start reading this book for one simple reason: Trystan. GOD WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME?!?!? I mean, it can't be normal to fall deeply in love with a character you don't even know yet just 'cause people can't figure out what his deal is. That's like the least logical reason ever to start reading something. Okay, I admit, Tempest may or may not have something to do with my interest in this book *cough*my best friend is a die hard fan and as such has managed to convince me of Tempest's brilliancy*cough*. I'm already writing Delaney/Trystan fanfics in my mind in which he finds out who she is and falls deeply in love with her and then the real princess returns and he still wants Delaney and all is good in the world(btw just so no one is sad and all that Ruckus falls in love with the princess). Dreaming is still allowed.............right?!?!
    more
  • Lex
    March 20, 2017
    *I received this book from a publisher in exchange for a review.*I didn't expect to like it this much. It has many many problems, but I enjoyed reading it. I felt excited, I wanted to know how things would turn out and I just want the next book immediately. :D The author’s style is good, that’s for sure, because she could captivate me somehow despite all the annoying things that I noticed.Obviously, the first similar story that comes to mind is ’Obsidian’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout, but I thought *I received this book from a publisher in exchange for a review.*I didn't expect to like it this much. It has many many problems, but I enjoyed reading it. I felt excited, I wanted to know how things would turn out and I just want the next book immediately. :D The author’s style is good, that’s for sure, because she could captivate me somehow despite all the annoying things that I noticed.Obviously, the first similar story that comes to mind is ’Obsidian’ by Jennifer L. Armentrout, but I thought a lot about ’Red Queen’ by Victoria Aveyard, ’The Host’ by Stephanie Meyer, and it reminded me of ’Lorien Legacies’ by Pittacus Lore too. So now you pretty much know what to expect.The story is broadly about Delaney who've been mistaken for an alien princess, taken to their planet and now she has to pretend that she’s the Princess or else… You know, it’s a really long story and I don't want to spoil the fun. :D The point is that there are assassination attempts, and there’s a dreadful Prince, Trystan, who is the Princess’s betrothed, and there’s this gorgeous bodyguard, Ruckus, whom Delaney’s very attracted to.The world-building is okay for a YA book. There’s a lot of weird stuff on this planet and a lot of weird technology without any profound explanation. The specialties of these aliens are their eyes, their heights and their speed, but all in all, they look like gorgeous humans. And they wear clothes (the men) like people in Star Trek. :D Women wear beautiful dresses, except the Princess who dresses as a… ahem… How do I phrase it nicely? She wears really short skirts, and shirts that expose an inch of her stomach, and very high heeled shoes too and you know, there’s a word that comes to mind. And she’s the Princess. Anyway, the author spent a lot of time describing the clothes which was really annoying.As for the characters, I really liked Delaney. She’s a very strong female character, she doesn’t back down when she should, she’s a real fighter, she talks back all the time, and sometimes she’s smart too. The only problem is that she’s not always like this; sometimes she’s really stupid and indecisive, she acts illogically (like acting brave, then suddenly wanting to flee) and gets distracted by gorgeous alien specimen. I’m really sad about this because she could have been an amazing character. Ruckus is the hot, protective, charming guy, and Tristan is the frightening asshole, but he's also undeniably gorgeous. (There isn’t a love triangle in the story, though. At least yet… Who knows what will happen?)I’m not a big fan of the cover, mainly because she doesn’t spend a lot of time in space, and that’s why I don’t like the title either. There was another cover design which captivated me very much and I’m sad that it didn’t win. I’m talking about this.So before I start listing the things that I noticed (bloopers, oddities), I’d like to emphasize again that I liked this book and I liked the author’s style. There’s room for improvement of course, but it’s not a bad YA novel in my opinion. I give it 4 stars and I want to know badly what’s going to happen after this cliffhanger. I’m so excited!Song recommendation:Epic North Music - This Is The Futurehttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JWD77...Bloopers, oddities:(view spoiler)[- P. 35: “You’ve done a good job of hiding your fear so far.” – Yeah, except for that panic attack some minutes before.- P. 51: She doesn’t want to sit down because she’s not a child, but when Ruckus states the obvious, suddenly she wants to sit down because she couldn’t add 2 and 2 together.- P. 55: She asks Ruckus how long it will take to find Olena, but she already asked him about it on p. 51.- P. 65: It’s really weird that there are no guards in the hallways in a palace and that those hallways aren’t floodlit. - P. 115: I had to laugh when they wanted to implant the telepathy device into Delaney’s neck and she nodded to the question ‘Ready?’. What an idiot?- P. 140: Problems with baby making. So... when did this happen? Why did it happen? How did they figure out that people have to be synchronized and how they do that? Lots of questions remained. - P. 170: “He’d brought her back from the pool and had left her in Olena’s rooms without a word. She’d spent the rest of the night pacing.” – The problem is that they went swimming in the morning and weren’t at the pool until night.- P. 179: She took off all of her clothes before going to bed except her bra because she was too tired. Whaaaaaaaat? I don’t know, maybe it’s just me, but I can’t imagine sleeping in them.- P. 187: This scene was poorly designed because the king should have enough brain not to leave her behind.- P. 189: The attackers don’t understand what she means by saying “subversion”, but there’s that translator device inside her head, so it shouldn’t be a problem or am I missing something?- Pp. 222-3: “How is the bruise? (…) Ruckus took me back to the pool this morning (…) and it was gone within an hour.” Why did they wait days to get it healed? It was 4 days, actually, if I remember well.- Pp. 261-2: It’s weird that Ruckus presses his cheek against hers and hugs her to comfort her in front of everyone. Way to keep it on the down low.- P. 333: Delaney stated that Olena’s hair became longer. Didn’t she look into a mirror? Because presumably her hair is longer too since she looks like Olena. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Manisha Naidoo
    January 25, 2016
    It's no secret to people who know me that I'm a fan of Tempest C. Avery and how can I not be when she constantly creates such awesome and amazing books. Yes, I loved it from beginning to end and boy the was no way I could have topped the ending of this book. There were very few grammar errors, but other than that the story is perfect. I can't help to admire the strength and wit of Delany, fall hard for Ruckus and Trystan.... well that man has me confused in a good way. Can't wait to see what the It's no secret to people who know me that I'm a fan of Tempest C. Avery and how can I not be when she constantly creates such awesome and amazing books. Yes, I loved it from beginning to end and boy the was no way I could have topped the ending of this book. There were very few grammar errors, but other than that the story is perfect. I can't help to admire the strength and wit of Delany, fall hard for Ruckus and Trystan.... well that man has me confused in a good way. Can't wait to see what the next book in this series has in store for Delany. I hope I don't have to wait too long....
    more
  • Josie
    January 20, 2016
    I couldn't put this one down. The amazing flow of this book made it a quick and incredibly enjoyable read. Ruckus is awesome, Trystan is terrifying but somehow INCREDIBLY attractive, and Delaney has a unique, empowered wit that is rarely seen in central female characters I'm aching for a sequel even though this was just put up....I'm devastated. Definitely recommend this!!!
    more
  • Kat
    January 20, 2016
    The book's cover looks kinda creepy but so awesome and intriguing! I CAN'T WAIT TO READ THIS!!!
  • Kathy Martin
    July 1, 2017
    This book was an old-fashioned science fiction romance. Here's the scenario: a teen is kidnapped by aliens because she looks like their missing princess. She's brought back to the alien planet where she needs to keep impersonating the missing princess to keep two countries from going to war and incidentally conquering Earth.Delaney isn't a big fan of the aliens who visit Earth unlike her roommate who is something of an alien groupie. One night she accompanies her roommate to a dance club where s This book was an old-fashioned science fiction romance. Here's the scenario: a teen is kidnapped by aliens because she looks like their missing princess. She's brought back to the alien planet where she needs to keep impersonating the missing princess to keep two countries from going to war and incidentally conquering Earth.Delaney isn't a big fan of the aliens who visit Earth unlike her roommate who is something of an alien groupie. One night she accompanies her roommate to a dance club where she can meet an alien she'd been talking to online. Just before Delaney decides to leave she runs into a girl who zaps her with an alien invention that turns her into a duplicate of the missing princess.When the princess's bodyguard spots her, he captures her and takes her to his alien spaceship determined to bring her back home so that she can do her duty, pledge herself to her betrothed, and keep the countries from going to war. Delaney can't convince Ruckus that she is not the girl they are looking for.So Delaney finds herself dropped into an alien world with a fiance she doesn't like and who really doesn't like her and the target of assassination attempts because neither of their countries want the two to marry either. Her only source of strength and information is Ruckus who she falls in love with. But once the real princess is found, Delaney will be returned to Earth and will have to leave Ruckus behind.I liked Delaney who was a smart-mouthed, independent character who has a real problem with authority. She hid her very real fears behind a mask of bravado. I liked Ruckus too. He had guarded his princess out of duty because she wasn't really a likeable person but he falls in love with Delaney too. I even liked the princess's fiance Trystan despite the fact the he wanted her dead and was a really scary guy.I can't wait to read the next book to find out what happens next.
    more
  • Miranda
    March 15, 2017
    Thanks to the publisher for early access to this title.Delaney Grace is just a normal girl, living in a world where aliens have recently revealed their presence. They are very similar to humans in nature, but far more advanced in technology. Delaney's best friend Mariana is obsessed with these alien races and spends a lot of time learning about them. Now she's on her way to her first blind date, with Delaney as her wingman. Unfortunately, while Mariana is busy with her new conquest, Delaney runs Thanks to the publisher for early access to this title.Delaney Grace is just a normal girl, living in a world where aliens have recently revealed their presence. They are very similar to humans in nature, but far more advanced in technology. Delaney's best friend Mariana is obsessed with these alien races and spends a lot of time learning about them. Now she's on her way to her first blind date, with Delaney as her wingman. Unfortunately, while Mariana is busy with her new conquest, Delaney runs into trouble and ends up kidnapped by the Vakar and taken to their world. Now she must play the part of the missing alien princess to avoid intergalactic war. Which would be so much easier if everyone wasn't trying to kill her. Everyone except her own royal guard, Ruckus, that is. Soon they are feeling their own sparks, but as Delaney wants nothing more than to return to her own planet, will it be for naught? While some of the characters were little more than stereotypes, for the most part they were believable and engaging. The world Feener has created here is one that lends itself to many adventures to come. Can't wait to see the rest of this series, and whatever else she comes up with as well.This is a great new sci-fi romance, perfect for fans of These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner. Fair warning though - this leaves readers with an awful cliffhanger ending, so be prepared to wait anxiously for book 2.
    more
  • kerrycat
    April 15, 2017
    (I gave this three stars in the July edition of Romantic Times Book Reviews, https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)While the drama and romance are entertaining, there is little that is “alien” about the aliens in book one of The Xenith Trilogy, as their similarities to humans will leave readers forgetting that there is any extraterrestrial element involved here at all. The focus on the growing relationship between Delaney and Ruckus will please romance readers, but science-fiction fans may be (I gave this three stars in the July edition of Romantic Times Book Reviews, https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)While the drama and romance are entertaining, there is little that is “alien” about the aliens in book one of The Xenith Trilogy, as their similarities to humans will leave readers forgetting that there is any extraterrestrial element involved here at all. The focus on the growing relationship between Delaney and Ruckus will please romance readers, but science-fiction fans may be left wanting more to satisfy their expectations.Mistaken for an alien princess hiding from her responsibilities, Delaney is kidnapped and taken back to the true princess’ home among the Vakar. Her protests result in the discovery of her true identity, and her kidnapper, Ruckus, promises to return her home safely. There is one catch, however: the real princess is bound to marry Trystan, a Kint, and the politics of their marriage is all that is keeping the Kint from warring with the Vakar and enslaving humanity on Earth. As Delaney strives to impersonate the princess believably until the true one is found, a romance blossoms that complicates her desire to return to Earth.
    more
  • Lauren
    March 29, 2016
    4.5 starsDelaney was just trying to live her life, even with all the newly discovered aliens around. She just did not expect to get kidnapped by rukus who mistakes her for the alien princess, the lissa. The real one changed Delaney's appearance to the alien race to get out of having to marry the son of a warring alien race. Now she has to pretend to be the princess or risk getting herself and potentially the entire human race killed. I thought this book had a great plot. I liked the sexual tensi 4.5 starsDelaney was just trying to live her life, even with all the newly discovered aliens around. She just did not expect to get kidnapped by rukus who mistakes her for the alien princess, the lissa. The real one changed Delaney's appearance to the alien race to get out of having to marry the son of a warring alien race. Now she has to pretend to be the princess or risk getting herself and potentially the entire human race killed. I thought this book had a great plot. I liked the sexual tension building up between Delaney and rukus and the story was suspenseful and kept me at the edge of my seat waiting to see what was going to happen and who would be responsible. The only think I would say would be the alien terms are quite confusing and rushed in the beginning. Warning though: this book does have a cliffhanger at the end which I have to say I was a little disappointed in.
    more
Write a review