Double Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #11)

Double Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #11) Details

TitleDouble Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #11)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 1st, 2016
PublisherAmulet Books
Number of pages217 pages
Rating
GenreHumor, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Childrens, Middle Grade, Funny, Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Juvenile, Fiction, Comics

Double Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid, #11) Review

  • Archit Ojha
    October 13, 2016
    The house party continues.I bet no one of you would have put your money in for this series success, when the first book came out.Yes, no one.The story does not get stagnated. The puns are still amusing, if not novel. The book lets your inner child's troll treasure out and you get hooked. For some it is a guilty pleasure to go through the misdeeds of Greg.For me, they go straight to my CV. Novelty This is a case well handled by Jeff. Although the jokes are not as hilarious as they were, the soul The house party continues.I bet no one of you would have put your money in for this series success, when the first book came out.Yes, no one.The story does not get stagnated. The puns are still amusing, if not novel. The book lets your inner child's troll treasure out and you get hooked. For some it is a guilty pleasure to go through the misdeeds of Greg.For me, they go straight to my CV. Novelty This is a case well handled by Jeff. Although the jokes are not as hilarious as they were, the soul remains. The setting is the same. Greg still goes to the school and is struck in the onset of teenage where he's not yet into girls, crushes and stuff. The innocent side persists. It will be immensely interesting to see how many books these phase can continue. This eleventh book might just be the threshold. Plot wall Yes, the wall. Brick after brick - is chiseled in the trademark style of Jeff.The french horn is the new trouble in town and is self vouched for by Greg!Perhaps, we GR librarians should even make a Goodreads I.M. Spooky author page for the fictional horror author mentioned in the story. Events Right from the piano lessons to french horn to embarrassing situations with Rowley to the reference to Truman's show - the stage is held together with a fabric that is funny to the senses.Verdict : We are in for a major change in the life of Greg if there're further additions to this series.4-We-expect-more-stars.
    more
  • Felicia
    May 4, 2016
    Book 11 coming in November!I know I'm way too old for these but I don't really care. They're so much fun to read!
  • Cody
    November 4, 2016
    The first entry in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series came out in 2007, when I was almost twelve years old — meaning I was a part of the target audience. I'll never forget buying that one at my school's book fair, taking it home, and laughing aloud at the antics of Greg Heffley, his family, and his best friend Rowley. I'd never read anything like it! Skip to the present day. I am now almost twenty-one, and I still buy these books on release day. Sure, I've grown out of them . . . They are a guilty The first entry in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series came out in 2007, when I was almost twelve years old — meaning I was a part of the target audience. I'll never forget buying that one at my school's book fair, taking it home, and laughing aloud at the antics of Greg Heffley, his family, and his best friend Rowley. I'd never read anything like it! Skip to the present day. I am now almost twenty-one, and I still buy these books on release day. Sure, I've grown out of them . . . They are a guilty pleasure of mine, nothing more or less. And they still make me laugh (though not quite as frequently these days, I am sad to say). Like every other book in the Wimpy Kid series, the pace in this book is frenetic and the characters are engaging, amusing, and endlessly relatable. The humor felt a bit more stale here than in Kinney's other releases, and this story suffers a lot from lack of an overarching theme, but it's okay. They can't all be winners. The Wimpy Kid books are certainly written with elementary and middle schoolers in mind, but I still enjoy them. Is that my nostalgia talking? Possibly. Probably. Ah, well. I spent seven bucks and change on this, and I don't regret it. It was nice to be taken away to Greg Heffley's world once more. These books are perfect for young readers, or adults willing to embrace their childish side for a few hours. I didn't love this one, but I certainly liked it.
    more
  • Ash
    April 28, 2016
    This one was probably funnier than the previous one. This series is getting better with each volume. I love this series!-------Yayy! one more is coming!
  • Nusrat
    November 12, 2016
    What can be a better option to get out of adulthood miseries? Wimpy kid just woke my inner child up and kick the reality away hard and I am not regretting it at all!
  • Sean
    December 27, 2016
    Can always count on this series for some fun!
  • Nandakishore Varma
    March 12, 2017
    I purchased this book for my son in the airport and read it on the flight. More enjoyable escapades of Greg Heffley and his eccentric family. Jeff Kinney has achieved that rare feat of writing a children's series which is enjoyed equally by adults.
  • Jonathan
    November 1, 2016
    I keep reading these books like an idiot thinking that there is going to be something new, something unique, something funny. Instead, all I ever get is the same old same old. It feels routine at this point and I think it's time that Jeff Kinney steps out of his million dollar comfort zone and writes something original again. This series was cutting edge ten years ago, but now it has become so over- played I feel like Diary of a Wimpy Kid is ripping off Diary of a Wimpy Kid. The only highlight i I keep reading these books like an idiot thinking that there is going to be something new, something unique, something funny. Instead, all I ever get is the same old same old. It feels routine at this point and I think it's time that Jeff Kinney steps out of his million dollar comfort zone and writes something original again. This series was cutting edge ten years ago, but now it has become so over- played I feel like Diary of a Wimpy Kid is ripping off Diary of a Wimpy Kid. The only highlight is that it can be read in under an hour because I don't think I could tolerate spending more time with Greg. The worst part is that these books don't even really have a storyline anymore. This one especially just felt like a bunch of little episodes rolled into a book. Kinney can't even put enough effort into his writing to make a cohesive plot line. The only DWK I'll be looking forward to in the future would be one titled "Greg's Last Days". Please Jeff Kinney, put your talents to use and give us something new. This series is dead and has been for about seven books now.
    more
  • Jessica
    November 16, 2016
    Oh, Greg! When will you learn?Actually, that's just silly: I hope Greg never learns! Because if Greg learned (how to talk to girls, what his parents really meant, how to be a good friend), there would be an end to this series. The fun is watching a kid who is average at best, and honestly pretty clueless and selfish, muddle his way around. Last night I took my almost twelve-year-old son to see Jeff Kinney talk, and we both loved it. Kinney is funny, and talented, and comes off as a kind and genu Oh, Greg! When will you learn?Actually, that's just silly: I hope Greg never learns! Because if Greg learned (how to talk to girls, what his parents really meant, how to be a good friend), there would be an end to this series. The fun is watching a kid who is average at best, and honestly pretty clueless and selfish, muddle his way around. Last night I took my almost twelve-year-old son to see Jeff Kinney talk, and we both loved it. Kinney is funny, and talented, and comes off as a kind and genuine guy. He talked about his process, but also why he loved comics, and how he was never going to have Greg age, because like Bart Simpson, it's better if he's perpetually the same age. And I agree!
    more
  • Collette
    December 20, 2016
    I feel like Jeff Kinney should have stopped the series at 10. 11 is too much, and, to be honest, I didn't really enjoy the book that much. I feel like there wasn't even a plot-just a bunch of random scenes and a rushed ending. Also, the description on the back is not accurate. It says that the book is about Greg and Rowley making a movie together, but that doesn't happen until the very end. Although this book wasn't my favorite, I must admit it was a fun read. I did enjoy the pictures and the bo I feel like Jeff Kinney should have stopped the series at 10. 11 is too much, and, to be honest, I didn't really enjoy the book that much. I feel like there wasn't even a plot-just a bunch of random scenes and a rushed ending. Also, the description on the back is not accurate. It says that the book is about Greg and Rowley making a movie together, but that doesn't happen until the very end. Although this book wasn't my favorite, I must admit it was a fun read. I did enjoy the pictures and the book made me laugh out loud quite a few times. Hopefully Kinney keeps his humor in his next book, but creates a stronger and more interesting plot.
    more
  • Lovevir B
    December 13, 2016
    This book is not that great it's about Greg is recording a movie with his friend Rowley it is about gummy worms but there a geese that ruin the movie by making Rowley up a tree and Rowley gets famous.I did not like the book because the book is everywhere.The story made feel disappointed because the book was it was overhyped. If you like the Big Nate series or like graphic novels you will like this book.This book is like the Big Nate series.
    more
  • Gabriel D
    November 15, 2016
    I've got to say the worst book I've read in 2016. It has a poorly written plot, you could even say there was no plot and there really wasn't the kind of "Jeff Kinney" word choice you'd see from a "Jeff Kinney" book. Usually the humor is always great in this series but I could not see any funny humor in this book, I never thought anything was funny and I thought it was just poorly written. I do not recommend this book to anyone, this is very poorly written.
    more
  • Ian
    November 4, 2016
    I thought the book was amazing there is a balloon contest where Gregory balloon fell down the balloon when someone found expected a cash reward but Never got it.Then later they did a movie about worm attack but then it didn't work out.
  • میعاد
    February 25, 2017
    كتاب جذاب و سرحال كننده بود !!! مثل همه ى شماره هاى قبلش،هميشه حين خوندنش حس خيلى خوبى رو دارم و از دست كاراى گِرِگ هفلى خسته نميشم ((: شخصيت خنگ و در عين حال باهوش جذابيه
    more
  • Max P
    January 11, 2017
    Blah. I felt as if whatever creative talent Jeff Kinley may have had left him. First of all, when this came out it was all "revolutionary." Yeh right. At the turn of the century, France, Britain, and Germany had series that are almost alike to this. So Jeff just looked at the Europeans and said, "Lemme copy that great idea and sell it here!" Also, it's not funny. The only joke is how bad it is. And then there's Greg. He's not relatable at all. He doesn't care about his future, which every kid do Blah. I felt as if whatever creative talent Jeff Kinley may have had left him. First of all, when this came out it was all "revolutionary." Yeh right. At the turn of the century, France, Britain, and Germany had series that are almost alike to this. So Jeff just looked at the Europeans and said, "Lemme copy that great idea and sell it here!" Also, it's not funny. The only joke is how bad it is. And then there's Greg. He's not relatable at all. He doesn't care about his future, which every kid does, and rather play video games. This is the garbage that is corrupting out country. He also makes a mockery of the fact that in America, you can do anything you want if you really try. Greg thinks he'll magically become rich and famous, pushing the unfair American stereotype. The only thing I can relate to Greg about is that "Lil'Cutie" comic that he hates but has to read. I let you guess which is my parallel.
    more
  • Darren
    January 14, 2017
    It was AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Muneeze
    April 7, 2016
    Waiting.....
  • Fizzgig76
    November 1, 2016
    Halloween is coming, and Greg Heffley is up to his normal antics. While Greg’s mother decides to better herself with classes, she pushes Greg to think about his future. Greg has new “interests” whether he likes it or not. Be it the French horn he’s been forced to play or reading I.M. Spooky’s series of kids horror books, Greg’s getting ideas on how he can get rich quick and capitalize on the popularity of scaring kids.Written and illustrated by Jeffery Kinney, Diary of a Wimpy Kid 11: Double Dow Halloween is coming, and Greg Heffley is up to his normal antics. While Greg’s mother decides to better herself with classes, she pushes Greg to think about his future. Greg has new “interests” whether he likes it or not. Be it the French horn he’s been forced to play or reading I.M. Spooky’s series of kids horror books, Greg’s getting ideas on how he can get rich quick and capitalize on the popularity of scaring kids.Written and illustrated by Jeffery Kinney, Diary of a Wimpy Kid 11: Double Down was released on November 1, 2016. The book follows Diary of a Wimpy Kid 10: Old School and was met with high pre-sales like previous books in the series.Diary of a Wimpy Kid books are pretty formulaic at this point. The question is if the formula works or if the book fails. While some of the stories just don’t seem to build enough, others go overboard and take it too far. Diary of a Wimpy Kid 11: Double Down does find a decent balance that keeps the book entertaining.There is a lot of fun stuff in the books and how the books work is that Greg’s antics end up piling up and exploding. Here, Greg’s love of horror (something I had), Halloween, candy, and desire to make a buck explode…and in typical Diary of a Wimpy Kid fashion, Greg comes out on the losing end while his friend Rowley Jefferson wins.The book does really touch on things you think about as a kid, but Kinney occasionally wanders. There are events like the cryogenic freezing and The Truman Show references that are so tangential to the plot that you can tell Kinney just wants to put it in the story but doesn’t necessary know how to place it in there…while it is funny, it kind of makes the books more fragmented than they need to be.Diary of a Wimpy Kid 11: Double Down is a fun read for fans of the series and the series goes on. It isn’t really limping along, but it also isn’t inspiring to anything new. Childhood has an endless to it so Diary of a Wimpy Kid could go on and on for decades, but it runs into the problem in that it roots itself in Greg getting older…which never happens. I enjoy some of the holiday aspects of Wimpy Kid books and Kinney might want to do some focusing on that since childhood seems to revolve around the holidays. Of course if we get a Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Arbor Day, Kinney might have pushed it too far (ok, Charlie Brown had an Arbor Day episode).
    more
  • Madeline
    November 18, 2016
    I really enjoyed this book, as always Jeff Kinney has written another great book. I really like the part in this book when the school does a Balloon Brigade, the students all get a helium filled balloon and the kid with the furthest traveling balloon gets a prize. That year the prize was a jar of candy corn, which Greg wanted badly. So he wrote a long letter to attach to his balloon to tell the people that had gotten it to call the school to tell them that they had found that balloon. However th I really enjoyed this book, as always Jeff Kinney has written another great book. I really like the part in this book when the school does a Balloon Brigade, the students all get a helium filled balloon and the kid with the furthest traveling balloon gets a prize. That year the prize was a jar of candy corn, which Greg wanted badly. So he wrote a long letter to attach to his balloon to tell the people that had gotten it to call the school to tell them that they had found that balloon. However the people that found the balloon were people that didn't have tv or electronic games of any sort. So the moms (Greg's mom and the mother of the boy who found the balloon) set up a "play date" for the boys. Greg started playing video games and the kid went crazy. Later the boys have another "play date" and it doesn't go so well. At the end of the book Greg and his friend Rowley decided to make a movie. They were going to make a horror movie about gummy worms (man eating worms) killing this man and his wife, long story short Rowley and Greg go outside to shoot a scene with the worms in the yard, they put gummy worms on the ground. They go back inside to get a view of the shot and they see geese eating the worms. They try to shoo them away but their plain fails and Rowley ends up in a tree. The fire station rescues him and he gets on local news, not mentioning Greg at all.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 30, 2017
    These books are a total guilty pleasure for me. Some are better than others. I kind of rounded up for my rating on this one. Maybe it was the psycho cackling witch (I once had an Elmo doll ask me from a silent, darkened closet "Do you want to play with Elmo?!" AAAAaaaaghh!!!!) or the candy corn barfing pig (they kept that thing!?), but it was probably the French Horn "toot" that really made me laugh. Oh Greg, you really remind me of what it feels like to be in middle school. Don't ever change.
    more
  • Jackie
    November 11, 2016
    I don't even know where to begin...Greg talks incessantly about aliens, reality shows, dreams, his mother's classes at school, french horn lessons, Halloween parties, and oh yeah, making a movie to get rich quick. Somehow, though, it all seems to work. These books are hilarious and keep getting better and better. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Double Down is the latest and greatest from Jeff Kinney. Get it, read it, and laugh your head off. It's amazing!
    more
  • Landry Clark
    November 4, 2016
    This book is about a kid who just can't do anything right. He gets bad grades at school, plays video games all day, joins a band jut to get invited to a party, etc. After he gets grounded, he and his friend try to make a movie, but every thing goes wrong.I rated this book 4 stars because it was really good but really short, I mean, I read it all in one day!!! I can't wait until next year when a new one comes out.
    more
  • The Reading Countess
    January 4, 2017
    I'm not sure what it says that the eleventh (ELEVENTH?!) installment of the most self-centered kid is slightly better than the tenth, and still it garners a two...but there you have it. Does it get kids reading? Yes. Is it quality literature, or even FUNNY anymore? No. Did I buy it, albeit months after its initial release, knowing that it'll get a whole lotta love from my students? Yes. Sigh.
    more
  • Rebecca
    November 5, 2016
    really good book, it was a super quick read, and really good if you are in a book slump. I have always loved Jeff Kinneys books, and also loved this one. I would highly recommend this book, and the whole wimpy kid series to anybody, who wants an easy and quick, but still really good read.
    more
  • Erica Esther
    December 15, 2016
    i am not sure why i am still reading this series, but here i am. greg needs to get his shit sorted out.
  • Brendan Young
    December 2, 2016
    Toats amazing
  • Fruitloopz
    November 11, 2016
    Great book and one word cliffhanger
  • Nashali Torres
    December 28, 2016
    Sé que siempre le doy 4 o 5 estrellas a estos libros, pero es que me han acompañado durante TANTO tiempo y marcaron mi infancia de tal manera, que les guardo mucho cariño.
  • Davianna
    October 28, 2016
    loved it!!!!!
  • Devanshi
    June 20, 2016
    can't wait till november!!!!!
Write a review