The Names They Gave Us
Lucy Hansson was ready for a perfect summer with her boyfriend, working at her childhood Bible camp on the lake. But when her mom’s cancer reappears, Lucy falters—in faith, in love, and in her ability to cope. When her boyfriend “pauses” their relationship and her summer job switches to a different camp—one for troubled kids—Lucy isn’t sure how much more she can handle. Attempting to accept a new normal, Lucy slowly regains footing among her vibrant, diverse coworkers, Sundays with her mom, and a crush on a fellow counselor. But when long-hidden family secrets emerge, can Lucy set aside her problems and discover what grace really means?

The Names They Gave Us Details

TitleThe Names They Gave Us
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherBloomsbury USA Childrens
ISBN1619639580
ISBN-139781619639584
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult

The Names They Gave Us Review

  • Lala BooksandLala
    September 27, 2016
    Wow.
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    October 24, 2016
    Wow...that was fantastic! I really didn't think I would connect with this story because I usually shy away from stories focused on religion, but I was so wrong. This story was beautiful, heartbreaking and powerful. Definitely my favourite Emery Lord novel I've read. Highly recommend it!
    more
  • Stacee
    January 20, 2017
    Absolutely stunning, but I expected that because it's Emery. It's sweet and heartbreaking and just so so so lovely. Full review to come.
  • Andi (Andi's ABCs)
    February 3, 2017
    I'm really going to need Emery Lord to write a bad book so I know she is human. I mean, seriously, she is that freaking amazing. Every time I read one of her books I think this is my favorite and then I read the next. Unbelievable. Review to come.
  • Elise
    June 15, 2016
    This sounds like it's going to be amazing.
  • Brittany (The Book Addict's Guide)
    June 15, 2016
    Worried about the cancer thing but it's Emery Lord so I trust herUpdate: The publisher has told me that me this is not a "cancer book" <3
  • Caroline
    April 28, 2016
    Thank God for this book, honestly. And thank Emery Lord for writing it. I... am in awe. Every word of this was like a balm to the soul. I really don't have the words to talk about it right now, but I felt the full spectrum of emotions reading this, in their purest forms. Glee, giddiness, love, sorrow, pity. I felt surrounded by the love of friends and family, found and born with. I just... I'll post a review closer to pub date, but you guys NEED to put this on your lists ASAP. Y'all will love it Thank God for this book, honestly. And thank Emery Lord for writing it. I... am in awe. Every word of this was like a balm to the soul. I really don't have the words to talk about it right now, but I felt the full spectrum of emotions reading this, in their purest forms. Glee, giddiness, love, sorrow, pity. I felt surrounded by the love of friends and family, found and born with. I just... I'll post a review closer to pub date, but you guys NEED to put this on your lists ASAP. Y'all will love it. I swear.
    more
  • Lisa
    February 2, 2017
    Beautiful, emotional and raw. I appreciate the care with which the author depicted faith - it's struggle and resolution. Somehow the story manages to be somber yet funny without feeling heavy. Ah, how I felt for Lucy! Read this one
  • Alexia
    February 15, 2017
    Current mood: Sobbing
  • Lauren R.
    January 19, 2017
    I feel like I have a million fucking things to say about this book and absolutely no idea where to begin. Unreal. Easily her best, most well-written story. I have almost never been moved so much by a character/family/friend group/place in my life. I've had basically a 0% success rate with books involving religion or religious main characters but this book struck a chord somehow for me. I don't know. I'm not sure what to say. More to come I guess.
    more
  • Jessie (Ageless Pages Reviews)
    March 24, 2017
    My heart is full after finishing this. It was just... honest and heartfelt. A great balance of sad and hopeful, humor and pain. This is just full of Lucy's voice and personality. The surrounding cast is made of up great, inclusive characters; there's several strong plots, and two veeeery excellent ships.Review to come.
    more
  • Morgan Wilson
    March 22, 2017
    It took me a while to get through this one, but it was worth it in the end. I'm always hesitant when I begin a book with a Christian protagonist because so often they are represented in a cheesy unappealing way, but I was pleased with Lucy's character. This book was realistic and honest about how sometimes we doubt our faith when things get hard. Lucy's voice is relatable and genuine and I'm so glad I gave this book a chance!
    more
  • Paige
    February 27, 2017
    It's stupid in hindsight, but I really wasn't sure I would like this one. The synopsis was sort of a double-whammy-no-thank-you for me: 1. A devout Christian protagonist, which was just offputting (I'm not proud, okay. It's one thing I have trouble not just relating to, but understanding). But that issue was nothing compared to 2. A parent with cancer. I used to be able to read those books, but then they became too close to home, and then they became off-limits entirely. Keep your books about dy It's stupid in hindsight, but I really wasn't sure I would like this one. The synopsis was sort of a double-whammy-no-thank-you for me: 1. A devout Christian protagonist, which was just offputting (I'm not proud, okay. It's one thing I have trouble not just relating to, but understanding). But that issue was nothing compared to 2. A parent with cancer. I used to be able to read those books, but then they became too close to home, and then they became off-limits entirely. Keep your books about dying parents away from me, please and thank you.But: Emery Lord. If you have either of the same concerns as mine, I would tell you to forget you had ever read the synopsis. Rules like that don't apply to Emery Lord. I'm convinced she can handle any topic with its due respect and grace, and you'll come out feeling better for having given the book a chance.Religion does not take over this book, but it hardly takes a back seat either. It's no gimmick; Lucy's father is a pastor and she grew up helping out at their Christian summer camp. She doesn't impose her religion on anyone, though she is both a little closed-minded and strict in her own beliefs and practices at the novel's start. Her parents are obviously Christian too, but when she starts to veer toward judgmental and self-righteous, they steer her back toward open and loving. My favorite thing about Lucy's practice of her faith is that she comes to question it, to wonder what the point of everything is, without ever being cynical. She doesn't feel like a caricature of a teenage Christian [think Amanda Bynes in Easy A]. She feels like a teenage girl who happens to be a Christian.And, yes, her mom has cancer. But this is not a cancer book, nor is cancer really a main focus of the book. Lucy's mom encourages her to enjoy her summer at another camp, so we don't get to see much of her—and when we do, she's vibrant and alive and you understand the particulars of Lucy's devotion to her, not just as her mom but as a person. That's not to diminish the emotional stress of having a parent with cancer; quite often, it's all Lucy can think about. But her life goes on in the meantime.So what is this book, if it's not about religion and it's not about cancer? Well, it's about life going on. Lucy learns how to actually live without sacrificing her values. She learns how to question her faith without abandoning it. And, in true Emery Lord fashion, she learns what it means to have friends.I really don't want to say more than that because this book was delightfully unexpected to me—as someone who had expectations both positive and negative—and I truly don't think you need to know more. Here is the blurb I sent to the publisher: Emery Lord has earned a loyal following in YA readers because her novels are reliably good: thoughtful and funny, equally balanced between friendship, family and romance. It's worth noting that by "reliably," I don't mean "predictably"—each book is a departure from the last, facing a different direction and approaching teenhood from a new, equally real place. It's for this reason that I would suggest reading Lord's latest without first learning what it's about, because no plot summary can adequately reflect how this book will make you feel. I went in with expectations and was still blown away; Lucy's non-cynical narration and the friendships she makes healed me just a little bit, at a time when I thought I had already healed all I could. They will do the same for you, no matter what you're healing from.
    more
  • Sara (A Gingerly Review)
    March 15, 2017
    Not going to lie, I was hesitant to start an Emery Lord book but I wanted to give her another chance. This story was overall good but I did have problems with parts. I'll go into them in my review but not everything in this story sat right with me. HUGE thank you to the publisher for sending me an arc copy to review.
    more
  • Reading Teen
    February 1, 2017
    Wow. Beautiful.
  • Shadowhunter's Library
    May 4, 2016
    Pre-reading August 2016: Oh, May 2017? Okay, okay. Don't mind me waiting here. Just waiting for Emery Lord's next book.
  • Emma
    January 27, 2017
    All the stars because this book made me feel all the feels. Official rating and review to come.
  • Christina
    February 2, 2017
    *Disclaimer: My KP, Stacee from the wonderfully fabulous Adventures of a Book Junkie , lovingly lent out an ARC copy to me. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition (which you should totally go and buy as soon as it's available).Actual review of 4.5 stars! Lord tackled some seriously heavy subjects in this novel, which if you've read any of her other titles, you've already grown accustomed to that. In this particular book, you'll find a girl *Disclaimer: My KP, Stacee from the wonderfully fabulous Adventures of a Book Junkie , lovingly lent out an ARC copy to me. All thoughts, quotes, and opinions will be of this version and not of the published edition (which you should totally go and buy as soon as it's available).Actual review of 4.5 stars! Lord tackled some seriously heavy subjects in this novel, which if you've read any of her other titles, you've already grown accustomed to that. In this particular book, you'll find a girl facing her inner battle with faith, a camp for troubled youth whose counselors are just as burdened with their own baggage as their young campers are, diversity of race and sexual identities, and an outpouring of love between family, friends, and strangers. She could have easily inserted all these diversities because readers are calling for it or because it seems "trendy"right now, but it never read like that at all. Yes, it was a part of their genetic makeup as a person, but it wasn't the sole definition of who their character was in the book, and I really appreciated that.Lord always excels at portraying the development of flawed, complicated but realistic characters and the deeply intertwined relationships that exists between them all, and this novel was no different. I connected with so much in this book.Rec it? Absolutely. It's probably a close second in my favorites list of her titles, marginally beat out by ORS, but I can see where others would love this one best. ♥ A very special thanks to Stacee for being a doll, sharing the wealth, and letting me borrow her ARC copy. Make sure you go check out her blog because she’s my most favorite person ever to see what awesome authorly adventure she’s been on recently.
    more
  • Alexandra
    March 17, 2017
    The perfect summer read for fans of Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson, the Summer series by Jenny Han & The Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen. A beautiful story about love, friendship, faith, bravery & acceptance. Review to come soon.
  • Ashley
    February 18, 2017
    This book is so important. I saw a bit of myself in every character and the foundation of this book is about found family which is so so so important to me. While the book ended and I had unanswered questions that didn't matter to me. It ended and I couldn't stop crying happy tears. I also now want to re-read it so that I can find clues that I missed the first time.
    more
  • Trisha
    February 18, 2017
    Another winner from this author.
  • Stephanie
    March 28, 2017
    2.5 Stars. I have heard from people who are hesitant about this book because there is some religious content. If you are one of those people, I would say you might be slightly annoyed at times, but I don't think it's written in a way that will "ruin" the book for you. I have also heard from people who were very happy to see a "realistic" Christian character not be a complete psycho. To those people I would caution to not get too excited. Yes, the main character comes from a religious background 2.5 Stars. I have heard from people who are hesitant about this book because there is some religious content. If you are one of those people, I would say you might be slightly annoyed at times, but I don't think it's written in a way that will "ruin" the book for you. I have also heard from people who were very happy to see a "realistic" Christian character not be a complete psycho. To those people I would caution to not get too excited. Yes, the main character comes from a religious background and is not awful. However, this is NOT a Christian book and the overall message is not of Christian faith. There are definitely a few themes throughout that is congruent with the Christian faith, but at the end of the day the message is more one of universalism and the goodness of people. I mean, it's still a hopeful message and is more than is in most YA, but I just want to caution my Christian friends. Full review to come.
    more
  • Rachel WritesThings
    January 13, 2017
    What a beautiful, beautiful book full of faith and healing and summer camp and learning to move past what you've always known to realize you are always learning. Also, I cried. For fans of Courtney C. Stevens.
  • Jen Petro-Roy
    March 14, 2017
    This book was phenomenal. I didn't think Emery Lord could top WHEN WE COLLIDED, but THE NAMES THEY GAVE US tackles grief, relationships, faith, love, and true friendship in such honest, layered, and nuanced ways. Simply spectacular.
  • Mandy
    March 23, 2017
    Well, that was an ending. Review to come!
  • Abby Johnson
    February 25, 2017
    Coming in May... This story of a girl questioning her faith after her mother's cancer diagnosis had me messy crying and compulsively turning the pages. TL;DR: It's amazing and you should look out for it this spring if you are a fan of contemporary YA fiction. Lord introduces us to a compelling cast of characters as Lucy spends the summer before her senior year not at her family's church camp like always but as a counselor at the neighboring camp, a camp for kids dealing with tough stuff in their Coming in May... This story of a girl questioning her faith after her mother's cancer diagnosis had me messy crying and compulsively turning the pages. TL;DR: It's amazing and you should look out for it this spring if you are a fan of contemporary YA fiction. Lord introduces us to a compelling cast of characters as Lucy spends the summer before her senior year not at her family's church camp like always but as a counselor at the neighboring camp, a camp for kids dealing with tough stuff in their lives. From anxiety disorders to drug addicted parents to teen pregnancy, the campers and many of the counselors have issues they are dealing with and Lucy's not sure how she will know how to help these kids. This is a huge change from the careful, religious life she's always known, but it turns out that a summer filled with messiness and swimming and music and new friends can be more life-changing than she ever thought. Although the main storyline, Lucy dealing with her mom's diagnosis and questioning her faith (ultimately questioning who she IS since her faith has always been such a huge part of her), is certainly compelling, there are so many storylines running through this book. Even though she's self-identified faith as the central tenet to her being, Lucy is also a talented musician, a passionate swimmer, and a girl who longs to fit in and has had few real friends outside her family. When she's separated from her family for the summer for the first time ever, Lucy has space to work out other areas of her being. It crushes her to be away from her mom during this terrible time in their lives, but it's ultimately so good for both of them.
    more
  • Lynne
    March 4, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Liz
    February 20, 2017
    I absolutely adored this book. The ending was absolutely perfect. I love how Lord tackled faith, how the cover ties into the story, and oh, Henry. Oh my gosh. Another amazing book from Emery Lord. Preorder this one now.
  • Lindsay
    January 20, 2017
    Wow.It's been a while since I've read a book as quickly as I read this. I could not put it down. So so well done.
  • Mary H
    June 15, 2016
    Here for a book with a character who explores faith and religion. We definitely need more books that do this.
Write a review