Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
Harry Potter's life is miserable. His parents are dead and he's stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he's a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.After a lifetime of bottling up his magical powers, Harry finally feels like a normal kid. But even within the Wizarding community, he is special. He is the boy who lived: the only person to have ever survived a killing curse inflicted by the evil Lord Voldemort, who launched a brutal takeover of the Wizarding world, only to vanish after failing to kill Harry.Though Harry's first year at Hogwarts is the best of his life, not everything is perfect. There is a dangerous secret object hidden within the castle walls, and Harry believes it's his responsibility to prevent it from falling into evil hands. But doing so will bring him into contact with forces more terrifying than he ever could have imagined.Full of sympathetic characters, wildly imaginative situations, and countless exciting details, the first installment in the series assembles an unforgettable magical world and sets the stage for many high-stakes adventures to come.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) Details

TitleHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 26th, 1997
PublisherArthur A. Levine Books
ISBN0439554934
ISBN-139780439554930
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Fiction

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (Harry Potter, #1) Review

  • Lora
    June 3, 2011
    I'm going to keep this brief since there isn't much to say that hasn't already been said. *clears throat*I think the reason I waited so long to read this series is because I just couldn't imagine myself enjoying reading about an eleven-year-old boy and his adventures at a school of wizardry. I thought it would be too juvenile for my taste. I was wrong, of course.I can honestly say that I loved every minute of this. It's a spectacular little romp with funny, courageous, and endearing characters t I'm going to keep this brief since there isn't much to say that hasn't already been said. *clears throat*I think the reason I waited so long to read this series is because I just couldn't imagine myself enjoying reading about an eleven-year-old boy and his adventures at a school of wizardry. I thought it would be too juvenile for my taste. I was wrong, of course.I can honestly say that I loved every minute of this. It's a spectacular little romp with funny, courageous, and endearing characters that you can't help but love.It has talking chess pieces, singing hats, a giant three-headed dog named Fluffy, a hilarious giant with a dragon fetish, a master wizard that's just a little bit crazy, mail carrier owls, goblins running a bank, unicorns, centaurs(!), trolls . . . and probably much more that I'm forgetting. And then there's the lead characters: Hermione, the young scholar who starts out prim and up-tight but soon becomes a true friend; Ron, the boy who has little money but who has an abundance of family and loyalty to his friends to make up for it; and then there's Harry, the boy who starts out sleeping in a closet and ends up being a hero. Harry is kind to those that deserve it, fearless when it counts the most, and wonderfully intelligent. What's not to love? In regards to the ending: (view spoiler)[I feel silly saying this about a middle grade novel, but I didn't suspect Quirrell a bit! If there were hints that he was the true culprit and not Snape, I obviously missed them. (hide spoiler)]FAVORITE QUOTE: "But from that moment on, Hermione Granger became their friend. There are some things you can't share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them."Now, if you'll excuse me, I'm off to start Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets.*******************************************************My reviews of other titles in this series:Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
    more
  • Khanh (the Grinch)
    June 10, 2012
    Rereading for the 3rd time for the group read.Once upon a time, there was a 10th grader named Khanh who didn't get along with people very well. She wasn't an outcast in school, and all the bullying and teasing stopped with the commencement of high school, but she had always been a bookworm and has generally preferred the company of her own thoughts.Lunchtime had always been dedicated not to eating, but to sitting in the library, browsing through books.(Not to worry, she got her nutrition in 5th Rereading for the 3rd time for the group read.Once upon a time, there was a 10th grader named Khanh who didn't get along with people very well. She wasn't an outcast in school, and all the bullying and teasing stopped with the commencement of high school, but she had always been a bookworm and has generally preferred the company of her own thoughts.Lunchtime had always been dedicated not to eating, but to sitting in the library, browsing through books.(Not to worry, she got her nutrition in 5th period in the form of a giant 6-inch M&M studded cookie and a package of Sour Patch Kids and/or a package of Reese's Pieces. Ah, the effortless metabolism of youth.)One day, there were shiny new books on her school library's "New Releases" shelf. Harry Potter, books 1 through 3. She had heard of the books before, of course, since they were a constant presence on the NYT bestsellers list, but she had always avoided them, thinking of them as children's novels.At the grand age of 14, surely she was too old for a little kid's fantasy novel. She had read the Outlander series earlier that year, after all. And it had sex in it. SEX! She didn't really quite understand everything in the book, but the point is, she had read them. Surely, at 14, Khanh was ready for more mature novels.And that did not include Harry Potter. Harry Potter is 11. Khanh is 14. There is a vast difference in their ages. Khanh was a teenager, dammit.But the Harry Potter books were new. Brand new. They were shiny, they had never been touched by another reader. And Khanh was tempted.She picked up the first book in the series: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.The end.Or rather, the beginning.
    more
  • Shep
    October 17, 2010
  • Sasha Alsberg
    August 3, 2015
    Why the heck did I not read Harry Potter before now...its flipping magical (literally)!
  • Voldemort
    August 14, 2013
    This is a disgrace to all pure bloods. My head looked quite dashing on that strange professor's head.. If only I could have extended my stay. Harry Potter.. This is not over yet.
  • ★
    December 10, 2009
    My original review was a comparison of sorts between Harry Potter and Twilight. However, this is stupid as the two are incomparable. Honestly, its not even worth discussing. Its not just that Twilight doesn't come close, it is the fact that Harry Potter transcends other similar works. Its peerless. To quote Samuel L. Jackson in Pulp Fiction: It "ain't the same fuckin' ballpark, it ain't the same league, it ain't even the same fuckin' sport." There was a day when I thought I needed to defend Harr My original review was a comparison of sorts between Harry Potter and Twilight. However, this is stupid as the two are incomparable. Honestly, its not even worth discussing. Its not just that Twilight doesn't come close, it is the fact that Harry Potter transcends other similar works. Its peerless. To quote Samuel L. Jackson in Pulp Fiction: It "ain't the same fuckin' ballpark, it ain't the same league, it ain't even the same fuckin' sport." There was a day when I thought I needed to defend Harry Potter, in the midst of the now dead Twilight craze, and you can see that below in what was my original review. It is a testament to the power of this series, that while various other franchises (Twilight, Hunger Games) have surged into popularity and then faded, Harry Potter remains unwaveringly strong after nineteen years. It is clear readers hold just as much admiration for these books as they always have. Time has not dimmed that.I will, one day, write an essay about what these books mean to me. Eternal, this is the one that started it all. Original review (circa 2010) A note in regard to the on-going Potter vs Twilight debate: Go ahed, tell me Twilight is better. Tell me that James is scarier than Voldemort, That the Cullens are a better family than the Weasly's That Edward is cooler than Harry, and Bella is smarter than Hermione. Tell me that Stephenie Meyer is more talented than J.K. Rowling. Go ahead, I dare you. Those who think the topic of Harry Potter or Twilight is worth debating and arguing over, are utterly stupid. Quite frankly-this book is amazing.
    more
  • Zoë
    June 6, 2012
    Update September 2016: Currently rereading this series again! (I need to sort out my priorities.)I will never ever rate this lower than 5 stars. BEAUTIFUL.
  • Navessa
    March 6, 2013
    There are no words to do this book justice.
  • Raeleen Lemay
    June 26, 2010
    Review for Illustrated EditionPerfect. Duh. Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To YouOH LORDY. Every time I read this book it brings back so many memories, and also gets me excited to read the rest of the series again as well because there is so much foreshadowing!! For example:-Sirius Black is casually mentioned in the first chapter-Mrs. Figg is talked about a bit, as she looks after Harry from time to time (or all the time, ayyyy?)-it always cracks me up when Hagrid says you'd have Review for Illustrated EditionPerfect. Duh. Re-Read in December 2014 for Harry Christmas To YouOH LORDY. Every time I read this book it brings back so many memories, and also gets me excited to read the rest of the series again as well because there is so much foreshadowing!! For example:-Sirius Black is casually mentioned in the first chapter-Mrs. Figg is talked about a bit, as she looks after Harry from time to time (or all the time, ayyyy?)-it always cracks me up when Hagrid says you'd have to be mad to try and rob Gringotts... Damn crazy kids.Also here was a line in Dumbledore's chocolate frog card bio that said AND I QUOTE, "Professor Dumbledore enjoys chamber music and tenpin bowling." HAHAHAHA WHAT EVEN. NOW I'M IMAGINING HIM BOWLING DRAMATICALLY TO CHAMBER MUSIC.Rowling is the queen forever and always.Re-Read in July 2012GINNY'S FANGIRLING IN THIS BOOK IS JUST TOO GOOD.Also, the Dursleys aren't as bad as people think they are, because after all, they DID pick Harry up at the end of the year rather than just abandoning him. So THAT'S worth something.mmmm, this book smells so good. It's good to be back.
    more
  • Etnik
    September 15, 2014
  • K.D. Absolutely
    January 27, 2010
    How can more than half of my Goodreads friends be wrong with this?I have to get this right. As of this writing, I have 98 Goodreads friends. 61 (62%) of them have read J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Out of those who read this, 39 (64%) rated this with 5 stars. 11 of them with 4 stars. All the others gave 3 or 2. Only 2 rated this with 1 star. One of them admitted not being able to finish it. She should not have rated it really since she did not read its entirety. (But she How can more than half of my Goodreads friends be wrong with this?I have to get this right. As of this writing, I have 98 Goodreads friends. 61 (62%) of them have read J. K. Rowling's Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. Out of those who read this, 39 (64%) rated this with 5 stars. 11 of them with 4 stars. All the others gave 3 or 2. Only 2 rated this with 1 star. One of them admitted not being able to finish it. She should not have rated it really since she did not read its entirety. (But she is my friend and it is her right, so why question?)When the book came out in 1998, I was not yet a bookworm so I brushed this aside. I read only those books that my brother told me to read. He was the bookworm but he would not be caught reading any book being pushed by media hype. However, when Warner Bros. released the film adaptation in 2001, my daughter was 6 years old and I thought that, since there was too much hype, the movie must be good and we would have a memorable time with our first ever father-daughter movie date. I was wrong. She not only got scared because of the darkness inside the movie house but she trembled with fear during the life-size human chess game, in that scene when Ron was sacrificed. We left the movie in that scene with my daughter crying and me cursing it: I will never read Harry Potter .My daughter is now 15 going 16. She is not fond of movies and she still does not show interest on reading Harry Potter. However, I am now a bookworm and the other week, I was with my 4 Goodreads friends and 3 of them raved (two of them, again) about Harry Potter books. Oh well, first-time fathers can make mistakes about first movie date with their daughters, Book 1 is included in 500 Must Read Books and the book must be a quick read. So the following day, I bought my copy.After 13 years of the book's existence and me ignoring it, did I finally make a good decision of reading it? Are all of those 39 friends of mine in Goodreads wrong in giving this 5 stars? Most of them did not bother writing a review. Maybe those would be too long or maybe they read this when they were not in Goodreads yet. But I am in Goodreads already so I can make this review long.These are what some of them say: it was a great book i enjoyed reading it For an eloquent reviewer, she must have been too happy to express herself. Such a great story and creative way of writing. I love Harry Potter. Yes, I agree about the story being great and J. K. Rowling being creative. I was secretly wishing I was studying in Hogwarts too! It was silly, but I was simply enraptured by Harry Potter. Honestly, I still am :) It was a great book. I enjoyed reading it Coming from one of my favorite reviewers in Goodreads. I do not share her wanting to be a sorcerer though. Honestly, I don't know anybody who'd refuse to even entertain the thought of attending a school for wizards. Another one of my favorite reviewers. That seems to have nailed this. Young people wanting to be in Hogwarts and study sorcery. That should be it! The world seems to be a dreadful place that we would all like to have powers to turn our enemies into frogs, pigs, ride on a broomstick and get the Snitch and earn points (money) for our family!Oh well, the Bible says that sorcery is Satan's work. The book even used the word Transfiguration as a subject in the sorcery school. Blasphemy.Just kidding. This is a work of fiction and I am not too old to appreciate it. I was just kidding. To be frank, I tried hard not to like this. I thought that giving this a 1 or 2 will freak out my friends and somehow get votes from those who are, up to now, ignoring this book. I told you so! Why waste your time? . However, unless you are a grumpy old man/woman, there is nothing not to like about this book. I maybe too old for it but hey, talent is talent and J. K. Rowling has it!My 39 friends are indeed right!
    more
  • Stephen
    February 16, 2009
    On my list of reasons why my daughters are the bestest thing to ever happen to me, Number 14,577 is that they gave me, at 41 years old, the perfect excuse to revisit the Harry Potter series. When my oldest angel told me she wanted to start reading the Harry Potter books, I couldn’t have been happier. As I was collecting all seven volumes off the shelf to bring up to her room, I started feeling nostalgic for the whole Hogwarts gang, and I realized that I’d never done more than a perfunctory revie On my list of reasons why my daughters are the bestest thing to ever happen to me, Number 14,577 is that they gave me, at 41 years old, the perfect excuse to revisit the Harry Potter series. When my oldest angel told me she wanted to start reading the Harry Potter books, I couldn’t have been happier. As I was collecting all seven volumes off the shelf to bring up to her room, I started feeling nostalgic for the whole Hogwarts gang, and I realized that I’d never done more than a perfunctory review of this first volume. I figured it was high time to rectify that oversight.Harry deserves it. However, with over a million ratings, and almost two reviews for every day I’ve been alive, I think I can dispense with any plot distillation or character profiles. It has all been eloquently said before. Therefore, I just want to briefly express what I see as the essential magic at the heart of the series, and why I think it has resonated so strongly with so many people. Here goes...Only rarely does a story come along that can so completely wrap you up in a warm blanket of contentment and good feelings. One that can hold at bay, even if only for precious moments, the nasty brutishness of what often passes for daily life. These stories do that. It’s an escape into a world of optimism, honor, and hope, where things always look hopeful and anything is possible. Who wouldn't want to hang around in a place like that, especially when it is decorated with sorting hats, kindly giants, magic wands and Quidditch.Granted...no aspect of the story is revolutionary, or even particularly noteworthy, from the standpoint of blazing new trails within the fantasy genre. It isn’t great literature, and nothing about its technical merits makes it befitting of even a fraction of its unprecedented success. Fine...acknowledged. And? So what!The virtue of this story is the postive feelings it conjures in its readers. Harry’s story is something that radiates acceptance, inclusion, and friendship. It invokes a sense of belonging. Inside these pages, you can find the impetus to see the better angels of humanity’s nature, and feel just a little better about the world around you.How is that not worthy of praise?As for Harry himself, he’s just a good kid. The quintessential everyman who makes good. A loving boy with a clear head on his shoulders and a caring heart that pumps affection for the world around him. He’s someone you can’t help but like. He’s not perfect. He makes mistakes, he’s occasionally short sighted, and I know many of us wish he would stick up for himself a little more. Maybe reduce his aunt and uncle to a pair of fatty stains on the carpet, or give Dudley an atomic wedgie until his skivvies scrape against his pancreas. But that’s not Harry. He’s a better person than that. That’s why we love him. Maybe all of the above is a bit much. Like I said, I was feeling nostalgic and maybe the gush got a tad away from me. Let’s just say that these stories are perfect comfort food and reading them will make you happy. I’ll certainly settle for that. As for the rating, I Initially only gave this first volume 3 stars, and I’m not going to change that now. As much as I love the series as a whole, I don’t think it reaches stratospheric heights until Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Still, this is where it all began. As such, it should be read and savored knowing that it only gets better.3.0 stars. Highly Recommended.
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    September 12, 2014
    It's Always Great, Coming back Home..There's a reason us, the Fans, feel that we're connected, no matter where we from, different culture, ethics, ages..we're all like graduated from there....Hogwarts.. even like we were in same class,classmates, no matter which edition we read....Cause Harry Potter is not just a story..it's a Life..The Boy Who Saved Flourished the Book IndustryIt's One of the most important novels in modern history, Sorry, it's The Most Important ONE.This Review also for those It's Always Great, Coming back Home..There's a reason us, the Fans, feel that we're connected, no matter where we from, different culture, ethics, ages..we're all like graduated from there....Hogwarts.. even like we were in same class,classmates, no matter which edition we read....Cause Harry Potter is not just a story..it's a Life..The Boy Who Saved Flourished the Book IndustryIt's One of the most important novels in modern history, Sorry, it's The Most Important ONE.This Review also for those who hate the series !Please bear with me..Without it, most Book stores & publishers may have the same fate of Video Stores like Blockbuster LLC, which, despite being super popular in the 90s, closed all the stores by 2013, shutting down forever.Yes, without this Novel, and with the rapid change in technology, the ease of making e-books and reading it in PCs, Smartphones, Tablets..etc, the publishing and trade of new paper books may decrease rapidly.It'd be limited for religious or educating books, classics, small novels. Even those could be just electronic too, and the Books be just like Good Ol' Video Tapes.A Dystopia, right? very gloomy idea to the world without This novel, The One.Well, in the case you think I'm exaggerate..Let's have, A Brief !! History of Literature in the 90s--------------------------------- Well, let’s back to early 90s , where TV is in every house, even in every room, Video sets are there too, rental video stores everywhere, satellite receivers and cable channels growing fast packed with channels for kids & teenagers, making them attached more & more into screens, not to mention Video Games, Game boy and Nintendo… Those of this new generation who read are “weirdos" or "nerds” to the rest of their peers.And for those “few who read”, book stores mostly got for them comics and graphic novels, which most of them created early this century.Classic Novels, they read just for Schools and Classes mostly.And New Novels that make Best Seller are the ones made, or will be made, into movies for Julia Roberts, Tom Cruse or any of the 90s Hollywood celebrity, or the ones by Stephen King because ,of course, will be made into movies too.Even these new novels didn't live up the selling numbers of Tolkien, Charles Dickens, Agatha Christie -what’s with the British authors and selling numbers :)?- , also in Russia no more Dostoevsky and Tolstoy, no more Hugo in France, in Egypt no more like Naguib Mahfouz & the great authors of the 50s to 70s..No new Big Hit for novels, most of the selling books are those of Speculation about strange & mysterious things in the world or in religion, Dream interpretation , cocking books or celebrities rumors.While in US & UK, Top Selling books mostly the Self Help ones, or those teaching Computers Programming and Web Sites -this brand new huge technology leap back then-No new novels to attract the new generation of kids and teenagers, There's few Successful Highlights though, like R.L.Stine’s Goosepumbs in 1992 which made a very good success, and translated in many countries including Egypt.And in Egypt there’s also a very successful project by respectful Publishing house that made “Pocket Novels” for youth, by brilliant Egyptian writers presenting huge variety of novels of many genres, Sci-Fi, Action Thriller, comics, Romance .etc.There’s also “Reading for All”, project by the first lady “Susan Mubarak”, reprinting a huge verity of important books and novels from all over the world in very cheap prices.But all these effort didn't attract “more and more” of new youth readers as intended, it just made more and more books for those few who already reads.The vast numbers of those who don’t just read will increase if there isn't a BIG new attractive Reading Experience to get them into reading, specially with the more channels, more movies.But the BIGGEST Obstacle for them to read came out in 1994, and became a real phenomenon by 1995....it’s Playstation, The giant Japanese Gaming leap..Football, Crash, Pepsi man, even the comics heroes also have their games, so why reading Superman, Batman’s comics when you can play them.. ~~~~~~ A beat. ~~~~~~ So by 1996, with this growing leap in Gaming, also the Computer 3D games getting much improved, Books get replaced bit by bit by a gaming controls.So do you think it’s wise for publishers to publish a book for new writer?Of course not, it may not even cover it’s publishing cost.So it was very normal when in this year, 1996, when Joanne, a 31 years old lady from England , handed the manuscript of her first novel to 12 publishing houses, all of them rejected it...A manuscript of over 200 pages of a novel, that she had hard times in her personal and professional life while writing it, and for children??? Seriously is there still any Child left who still read? it’s 1996, the Era of Playstation and Video Games.But then, the Modest “Bloomsbury“ agreed to publish it , with 2 advises for her, first that she’d get a day job, since it’s a little chance of making money in children's books. - later she received a grant from the Scottish Arts Council to help her continuing writing.-But the significant advice was to change her pen name cause young boys might not want to read a book written by a woman..So with her name & her grandmother’s "Kathleen" come the 2 initial of her pen name.. J . k . Rowling And in 26 June 1997 , with 1,000 copies, 500 of which were distributed to libraries, come out in UK, to our World The Greatest.. Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone And Bam!! , everything happened so fast..Before the end of this year the novel was awarded many important literary awards in the UK.An American important publisher, Scholastic, won the rights to publish the novel in US, with a huge check Rowling would never dreams of.Just with small change, 'Philosopher's Stone' to be 'Sorcerer's Stone', as the American publisher feared 'Philosopher's' may not be that attractive to young readers..And Thanks to Harry Potter, now Every young readers worldwide know much more about Philosopher's Stone's legend.In 1998 Book Two released in UK , 1999 in US, winning more literary prizes. And becoming NO.1 Top Selling Book in UK , US and many other countries which start to publish the translated first book. And on 8 July 1999, The First Breaking Record made when Book Three sold 68.000 copies in just three days after its release in the United Kingdom.. and more copies when it released late 1999 in US..With the fast growing popularity of Harry Potter among readers, more records had been broken..The 3 books takeover the Top Spot in all charts of Best Selling Books for weeks & months, and it's even still in hardcover editions.This conquer of the Top Spots made some literary magazines & newspapers separate the 'Harry Potter books' selling records from the rest of the top selling books, splitting the lists into 'Children Books' and 'Adult Books' sections, under pressure from other publishers who were eager to see their books given higher ranking.And then it was year 2000 , where everything is about to change ... forever..The Playstation 2 is out there, and even higher leap in Computer Games..But even with this much of temptations, thousands of children, teens and parents gathered in the Midnight of 8 July 2000 in UK and US at the same day in front of stores, not in front of Cinemas as usual, not electronic stores as Apple stores as happening theses days, But it was in front of Bookstores, for The First time in the Book Stores History, to buy a copy of... Harry Potter and the Goblet of FireAnd They didn't mind to find out that the book is over 700 page, it was even for their pleasure, more than double the size of any of the first 3 novels.. double the thriller, double the fun..Over 3 million copies sold at that day only in the US , a New World Record, totally unexpected one.Huge story, bigger plot , mysterious and very well written.And more literate prizes for Rowling... more translated editions to more than 40 language. And a huge budget for the upcoming first movie of the series, which beautifully visualize the magic of the novel by the faithful producers and the director...and it also made some Cinematic Records back then, but that's not our subject now. ~~~~~~ ~~~~~~ With the announcement of pushing the publishing date of Book Five to mid. 2003 , and with 2 movies out so far, The Hunger for reading Harry Potter kept on..So, As more readers from this generation start to increase , Publishers and Book Stores start to promote for more books for those readers who are hungry for more..Older Fantasy books , like Lord of the Rings -which was a super successful movie by then too- Narnia , Golden Compass and many other novels start getting more reprinted editions. And so Book Stores prosperity increased as it get more and more readers.More countries welcomed the Harry Potter phenomenon.. The English edition AND the local translated ones , both been sold everywhere worldwide.Even in Egypt English edition sold at many books stores. And, hopefully, some New Book Stores specialized in English novels and books start to open in Cairo & Alexandria by 2002-2003..And in summer 2002, after the Movie wild success, Nahdet Masr publishing house got the rights and published the Arabic edition.Although it cut some of the lines for length issues, the edition still hold the magic of it ..making a very good sales. ~~~~~~ ~~~~~~ The good news is, the literary movement didn't stop there, Harry Potter and Reprinted Classics. No , there's more new books come out for the increasing demand from the readers..By 2002 ,Life of Pi, Man Booker winner make very good sales numbers.And in April 2003 Dan Brown (previously published 3 novels, making good sales) released a novel that made Huge Fuss around and making a new sales records, The Da Vinci Code..The funny thing that there's a reference in this novel that Harry Potter is 'the Second Most Selling Book in History after the Bible', a speculation that happens to be true in less than 5 years after that.A month later, May 2003, Khaled Hosseini released his first novel, The Kate Runner which also made a very good records too. -Don't you agree if there's no Harry Potter before, this Afghan-born author would have a chance? He'd be rejected by 12 publishers like you know who :)- And all that didn't affect the main reason for this new 'Literal Renaissance'.All that didn't affect the Records Breaker to break records one month later..On 20 June 2003 book Five 'Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix' comes out..Ten thousands of all ages conquer the Book Stores in UK, US and other countries too at the same day to get The One Book they've been waiting for at least 2 years. Shipping agents like FedEx made the delivery to many countries to get the book at the same time.A New world Record ,5 millions copy at the first day only..For the first time in France a non french language book placed in no.1 of the bestselling book....Some kids got a headache called 'Harry Potter Headache' as they read the whole 850 pages of the book five, the biggest so far, at the same day without resting.And in Egypt, September the same year, the Arabic edition of book three comes out with unexpected sales records, first edition run out of the stores by the first week only, though it's nearly the beginning of the School year, and the movie of this 3rd book still filming. ِAnd the price of it get higher 20% in 2 days and still with increasing demand..More English books and novels sold in Egypt too, along with the Arabic ones, publishing more books for new Egyptian authors and writers along with more of the famous ones, Alaa El Aswany's debut Novel 'Yaqubean's Building' making a very good selling numbers.. And in July 2004 the Arabic edition of Book Four makes a price war between book stores and magazines stands.January 2005 , an abridged translated edition of Book Five make many readers angry in Egypt , specially that many already read the English edition before, so the publisher release an unabridged one by May. ~~~~~~ ~~~~~~ And on 21 July 2005, A Higher Record that breaks all the previously ones 6.9 million copy of Book Six sold in US in its first day only...A huge book, it may not be as the fans' expectations of being full of action , but it get a twist that blow minds about one of the most interesting characters, Professor Snape. That made many fans and even big authors like Stephen King and Salman Rushdie talk about for months..With Pre-Final Book of Harry Potter is out, it followed by a massive variety of New Novels, New Series, New Authors..Twilight series, Percy Jackson series, and much more, more Books Sales not only in US, UK but worldwide..More Novels hit the top sales..A Real Prosperity.But still Harry Potter is the Records Big Breaker...At the midnight before 21 June 2007, Everywhere around the Globe, the scene of thousands of people lining in front of Book Stores was repeated...even Bigger than any time before..A Huge Record for Pre-Orders online reach to One Million copies by Amazon only, and total sales of 11 millions copies in UK and US in the first day only.The book sold at the Same Day almost in Every Single Country..even in Israel which made a big religious fuss because the Book Stores opened to receive and sell the book at the releasing day which was their holy Saturday, But it's Harry Potter after all, the world's most unusual, unexpected phenomenon and sales records breaker.And that's not bad, it was the Miracle of bringing back readers to Book Stores...And it's not just Harry Potter...Now, that 'All was well.' , thousands of topics went online asking 'what to read next'....Indeed, although there's the e-books, e-readers..etc, still there's thousands of new books and novels published and sold every year , in every where in the world.The gaming devices is increasing? yes, But not as expected though by the 90s and early 2000s 'remember Nokia N-Gage?'.. but so does the reading devices which first come out by Sony in 2004,make big step by Amazon's Kindle in 2007...the ebook applications on every device.New books and series come after that, and still on, making super sales, attracting more readers... more writers come with more books and novels, some are just a rip off others and some are really original and brilliant. in UK, US , Egypt ..everywhere all over the globe..No matter a Playstation 4 is out, or new Xbox, the Books still there...with its most beloved magic..The magic of books is back and , I believe, to stay..Don't you see with me that the magic of Harry Potter is one of the main factors of this magic? “This boy will be famous. There won’t be a child in our world who doesn’t know his name” That's what Rowling wrote at the very early pages of her first book.. The one that rejected by 12 Publishing Houses in 1996..Well, what about now?God, Talked too much in the "Brief" introduction , didn't I?Well, that's it for this review... I guess some still think it's just the Propaganda that made that all....Well I'll try to prove them wrong by the upcoming next 6 reviews at the other 6 Books of the series..Links will be here as soon as it'd done ..But for The First one... sorry to add one more , but 20000 characters aren't enough.The Ultimate Review of Book OneNow I'll be back to go around Hogwarts...For the Zillionth time I guess..Hope to see you there too, come on and try first year :)From HogwartsMohammed ArabeyThe Craziest Potterhead of EgyptRe-reading the new edition -Guess I'm addicted to new editions BUT this one really rocks.."Bloomsbury-2014"from 12 Sep. 2014till 23 Sep. 2014المقال بالعربية من هنا
    more
  • Maggie
    August 30, 2016
    ❝This boy will be famous. There won't be a child in our world who doesn't know his name.❞ Everyone grew up with Harry Potter. They read all the books when they were young and watched all the films. They would re-watch and re-read them. They would fall in love with the Wizarding World and would completely adore Harry, Ron, and Hermione. They would talk about them non stop, about Hogwarts, about its teachings, about them wanting to become students there and pretending they are, about joining the ❝This boy will be famous. There won't be a child in our world who doesn't know his name.❞ Everyone grew up with Harry Potter. They read all the books when they were young and watched all the films. They would re-watch and re-read them. They would fall in love with the Wizarding World and would completely adore Harry, Ron, and Hermione. They would talk about them non stop, about Hogwarts, about its teachings, about them wanting to become students there and pretending they are, about joining the HP fandom, about loving every character and instantly missing the world. Everyone would adore Harry Potter and knew about it since they were young ones.Except me. I didn't grow up with Harry Potter. Not because I didn't get to, but because I chose not to. I know, it's like living a life where everything has been a lie. Worse even. It's just, the movies would appear on my tv. From the first one, to the next and the next, and every time I saw the trailer for the upcoming one, I wouldn't be interested and would skip it when I came to it. I wouldn't bother and wouldn't care, and that made a big problem in my life now. Here I am now, being left out because of such poor choices and decisions I made when I was 7, 8, 9, and older until now. But now, as 2016 and having over 500 friends that are caught up and have read the recently published novel, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I have finally read the first book and am able to continue the series and watch the films. Now, here I am, wishing to go back to my past and change this nightmare and actually watch the films or read the books because I have literally missed on so much, missed too much, and have been missing too much. I have been out of this world and never realized how good it is, and how special it already has become. There is no good and evil, there is only power, and those too weak to seek it. I find it stupid of me to write a review for Harry Potter, especially being the first one. I also find it stupid of me how I just recently decided to check this out and finally read it. But still, I guess I can still write a review. Of course, my thoughts would be quite similar to everyone else. Thoughts and opinions, nothing negative, maybe, maybe not. But, here goes nothing.Harry Potter is one of the most famous, loved, and top series out there. It is loved, adored, cherished, and amazing for HP fans every time they read it. No matter how many times it is read, it fills the person's heart with warmth and happiness, as they are going back to the wizarding world. As for me, I have finally entered it and feel young and new and early to this, because I am new to this all.Other than that, Harry Potter is considered a Children's book but in my opinion, it's in between middle grade and young adult because it can be hard to read for some. Although it was very very easy for me to read and understand, I see myself reading this all these years before and having a lot of trouble pronouncing some names. Harry Potter, a story about a young wizard that didn't even know he was a wizard. Harry Potter, a 10 year-old boy, who turned 11, is living with his horrible, rude and awful "family", The Dursleys. Mrs. Dursley is known as Harry Potter's mother's sister. The problem is, they didn't like each other, nor blend in with each other. They were different. Her sister was a witch, while she was just a Muggle, a person who cannot seek the magic and find it, nothing and no one special because they aren't able to turn things into other things, aren't able to fly on a broom, cast a robe on fire, defeat a villain, confuse a troll, aren't able to do anything, really. Well, she wasn't, besides treat Harry with such disrespect and treat her ugly and fat son with such caress and would spoil him because he was such a little brat that would get what he wants. Really though. There would be 36 presents under a Christmas tree and as he counts them, he pouts and is upset because it's less than what he had the year before. DUDE I BARELY GET A BARNES AND NOBLE GIFT CARD CHILL!The reason for Harry living with this family and having to go trough all this trouble and mess, is because he was actually given to them by Professor Albus Dumbledore, known as one of the greatest wizards and the headmaster of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. When Harry was a baby, his parents were killed by Everyone-Knows-Who but as he tried killing Harry, he really wasn't able to. His mother was killed because she was trying to stop him, but as he tried killing Harry, he couldn't bare to do it and left him a scar, the scar that has made Harry known and popular for surviving this evil person. Once saved and taken, the only people they can rely on are The Dursleys, and as Harry grows, they expect them to tell him he is a wizard and tell him everything and fix all the lies. Except they don't.As days pass, Harry has been getting letters from someone he doesn't know. He doesn't know who it is and what they want, but he knows there is something going on, due to the amount of letters being sent. After getting the chance to open the first one, his Uncle Vernon decides to snatch it away from him, read it, and burn it. He knows, he knows who it is and what they want, but he doesn't want Harry to know. But even with him burning letter by letter and collecting them all, letters keep arriving and arriving, until the person finally shows up face-to-face with The Dursleys and Harry on his 11th birthday.He's huge, introduced as a half-giant and half-human, known as Rubeus Hagrid. Hagrid is the one who tells Harry the truth, telling him he is a wizard, and a well-known one as well. He's got talent, and has some of the same abilities as his parents. One being a witch and the other being a wizard, Harry is known as a wizard as well. And as Hagrid tells him the truth, Harry does too. He doesn't know what he is talking about and doesn't know what is going on. He doesn't believe he is a wizard, and doesn't believe the reason for his parent's deaths. But of course, Hagrid decides to tell him the truth and tell him his parents did not die on a car crash, for that seemed impossible, but they were killed by Everyone-Knows-Who and is the reason for his scar.His aunt, finally admitting herself into being a witness of knowing the truth, got everything out of her chest and was able to tell him the truth. She wouldn't even mention her sister, because she pretended to not have one. She was considered perfect and brave, while she was nothing and unnoticed. Nothing has changed, but she didn't even bother trying to care care of her niece as her sister is dead, protecting Harry from wherever she is. And as Hagrid tells Harry the rest, he actually takes Harry with him even when Mr. Dursley "forbids him." He can't do anything, since he is a Muggle and Harry has already been accepted to Hogwarts School and nothing can change. When Harry leaves with Hagrid, they go and buy him what he needs, including clothes and supplies for the school. As they go to the shop, he is introduced as Harry himself but is instantly known by everyone else. Everyone is pleased to meet him and feel proud because they have shaken his hand. He's famous, his name is everywhere, and he can be considered a legend for what happened. But even with all this going on, Harry is still a little confused and figuring things out. As Harry and Hagrid get what they need, it's time for Harry to go to school, where he meets Ron Weasley, as to what I know, one of his best friends. Ron is small, red-haired, has freckles, pale, and has two twin brothers going to Hogwarts with him. He's not accepted into the other groups, and that is why he blends in with Harry and becomes his friend. Harry also meets Hermione Granger, known as someone annoying and as a nightmare to them both because of how bossy and unrealistic she can be. Of course, they are all so small and Hermione is a little nerd that enjoys every teaching at this school, so I was just like "we get it." Days pass, and Harry is being trained. He's a neutral to broom-stick flying, is able to play Quidditch, the most popular game in Hogwarts, is given special supplies, and is of course, known by everyone. Other than that, Harry suspects his own secrets and wants to find out truths, but in order to do that, he must find a way to find them and figure them out. With the help of his two friends, he might just be able to figure out the real reason behind him being a wizard, more about his parents, history about himself, who this "You-Know-Who" person is, remember his past, and see how his life really will be changed, forever. Humans do have a knack of choosing precisely those things that are worst for them. Harry Potter was easy to read, understand, and there was no hesitation when it came to rating it 5 stars. Now, I hate myself once again and ask myself, again, "Why the fuck did I not read this earlier?" The answer is obvious, because I already know it and it's because I was never a fan of it. I hate speaking about my past, but this is one ugly past and I hate it. I hate the choice I made and I hate myself for allowing it. But soon I'll get over it and will be able to re-read this as many times as I will be able to during my last 3 years of being a teen. Yes, a 15 year-old that has not read Harry Potter simply because she chose not to when she was able to and when she was young. PATHETIC.The fantasy is cute, I will say. It's easy to understand and the book is easy to fly through. It's not long, it's not hard, and it's not boring. It's gripping, fun, and everything is filled with some kind of magical element that has me turning page by page. Having no regrets anywhere, I am finally able to talk about HP and the world of wizards, where students learn how to make potions, talk to ghosts, learn about other creatures, transform things into other things, read minds, become invisible, fly in the air with a broomstick, play soccer in the air, have a feast and enjoy it all, learn magic, have a wand, and just be filled with happiness because of the friends and families considered in the houses. Well, I guess in most.Everything was fun to read. I laughed at some parts and found the story to be more affective to me as Harry was figuring out his new and changed life. He was confused, but he found out a lot more. There's still more, but I know that as he grows, I will be able to follow along the late ass journey and see where he grows to and how. I'll see how strong he gets and find out some strengths and weakness'. I'll be able to join an invisible magic carpet and fly through the series because I just want to know what happens next and how everything goes. I want to see Harry become a better person and be able to prove Draco and his stupid friends wrong about what they think. I want his friendship with Ron to grow and become stronger. I want Hermione to stop being so talkative and take a little break of being so bossy. But more importantly, I want to have a fun journey reading this and feeling like I'm on an adventure. Reading it for the first time feels like one. I've never watched the films. I've watched parts, but skipped them. Now, I won't skip anything. It's like an adventure where I'm dived in and can't seem to leave because I'm so alive and intrigued.What can I say about Harry Potter that others have not said? Nothing. Reviews are always similar, and this one might be too. Everyone loves it, and so did I. So will I, I should say. , Yes, I had trouble pronouncing some names at first but got used to it after. Yes, I rolled my eyes at times because there were moments where I was annoyed. But nothing was boring, and even when I rolled my eyes, there was a reason for that eye rolling scene. Maybe it was Hermione being annoying, or Draco being a rude boy, mocking an adorable red-haired. Or both. But I was also laughing. I would always laugh when it came to Hagrid. Since the beginning, I instantly loved him and considered him hilarious. I love how he turned Dunley into a pig but failed because he was already too much of a pig. I remember laughing and noticing my parents looked at me weirdly, but that's okay because I needed a novel where I was happy and ended up laughing at times. Oh and also, Hagrid is honestly so nice and adorable guys, I love him. He's so funny and protective and is such a good friend to Harry. I loved everything he did for him and was glad he was the first one to introduce himself to Harry. He cared for him since he was a baby and saw him as 11, bring him a present and giving him another one at the end. Ron is honestly the cutest. I don't understand how anyone could be mean to him. He may be weak, but he has his own strengths. He's so adorable and small and I hated how Draco treated him. There were some times unnecessary and I hated Draco for it, but I'll probably end up loving Draco some time throughout the series and probably regret it because I know he's still gonna be really mean throughout the series. I'm sure. I haven't spoiled myself, so I have no idea how his or anyone else's life goes, but I do know that he changes in some way. Hermione is a small and cute nerd as well, but sometimes I hated how sassy she was and bossy. She hated losing points for her house and because she, Ron, and Harry were in the same house, they had to work together and find a way to become friends to find out other truths and earn points for Gryffindor. She took everything very serious and showed off at times because of her perfect test grades and assignments, but I was glad she was able to put up with Ron and Harry while they put up with her.Malfoy Draco was someone I did not like, at all. Like I said, he mocked and made fun of Ron and I hated him for it. He showed off as well but in the bad way, thinking he was really cool just because he's in Slytherin and how used to the wizarding world he is. He didn't show much care about Harry and his past, and would try to get in a fight with Harry while Harry tried fixing the problem. He payed no attention and took it too far with Harry. He was a newbie as well, so I don't see what the point was. But the other point is that I don't have expectations for Draco but I hope I don't end up hating him in all books and hope there is some change, at least slightly good.The friendship between Harry, Ron and Hermione was probably one of my favorites. I know it didn't work out at first and they honestly hated her, but I was so happy it literally had to work toward the middle. Thanks to the troll, she became their friend and actually was able to cooperate with them. She didn't yell at them for fighting the troll, but instead told them to be careful and send word if anything goes wrong when Harry went for the mirror again. As it was ending, she was saying goodbye to Harry and Ron and was even awkward because she couldn't really figure out what to say. But also, my heart was really happy when she hugged Harry because it felt real and it felt like something I had been waiting since the beginning. It was friendship goals as they were becoming friends, and it just made me happy seeing them all together, same house, same team, same classes. The writing of course is, like I said, easy to understand. There were no words that were confusing in any way or words that got me mixed up because of how similar they sounded, and there were no problems. I didn't know what was gonna happen next and I know books are always better than movies, but I will watch the films after or after finishing one book just to see the differences. I hear they are kind of the same, just that the book provides some more information and detail. Like always, it's no surprise. There are some things you can't share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them. Overall, I am so proud of myself for getting the first book over with, now wanting the 2nd and the 3rd and the rest. Really excited to see where this all goes to, and how Harry becomes a better wizard.
    more
  • Jennifer
    October 23, 2007
    Yes, I've been living under a rock.
  • Bookdragon Sean
    March 15, 2014
    Here are three reasons why Harry Potter rocks my socks:1.A Better WorldOne of the main reasons Harry Potter is so wonderful is because Rowling shows you a boring world; it is the world of reality, dry, boring and ordinary. Then under it she reveals fantasy; she reveals everything a reader longs for: she reveals pure escapism. I still want to go to Hogwarts. I always will. 2. We’re all a bit like HarryOkay so not many of us are orphans, and not many of us are practically abused in their own homes Here are three reasons why Harry Potter rocks my socks:1.A Better WorldOne of the main reasons Harry Potter is so wonderful is because Rowling shows you a boring world; it is the world of reality, dry, boring and ordinary. Then under it she reveals fantasy; she reveals everything a reader longs for: she reveals pure escapism. I still want to go to Hogwarts. I always will. 2. We’re all a bit like HarryOkay so not many of us are orphans, and not many of us are practically abused in their own homes, but a lot of us feel isolated in the world, a lot of us wish for a fantastic group of friends as a child. I know I did, and this again leads back to my first point. Not everyone finds a Ron and Hermione.3. The magicSeems a bit of an obvious point doesn’t it? But, seriously, not many books have such a well-developed system. We have different categories, spell names, potions and books, lots of books on magic. And who doesn’t like books on magic?
    more
  • Inge
    September 12, 2011
    This doesn't really need a review, does it?This series is brilliant and it will live on forever in our hearts and minds.
  • Kai
    April 2, 2015
    “There are some things you can't share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.”Harry Potter is the most amazing series that I have ever read in my whole life, and it probably forever will be. I will never love any books as much as I love these. I don't think I have to tell you guys about how good this book is because most of you have already read it anyway.I haven't written a review so far because I just did not feel the need to put this “There are some things you can't share without ending up liking each other, and knocking out a twelve-foot mountain troll is one of them.”Harry Potter is the most amazing series that I have ever read in my whole life, and it probably forever will be. I will never love any books as much as I love these. I don't think I have to tell you guys about how good this book is because most of you have already read it anyway.I haven't written a review so far because I just did not feel the need to put this obvious opinion into words. I don't think anything I write here hasn't been said already. But I've just read the illustrated edition by Jim Kay and if it is possible, it makes this book even more outstanding than it already is. Jim Kay is awesome. Maybe you have read A Monster Calls and already know him. If not, you should definitley reconsider your life choices.I am certainly going to buy an edition of this, it's so pretty I could die. Looking forward to the illustrated sequels!1000/5 stars.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Wil Wheaton
    April 14, 2014
    As wonderful and magical as promised. Because I didn't remember the movie, the third act of the book was a delightful surprise to me.I wish I'd had this book when I was a kid, because the idea that someone could be special without knowing it, and then get to visit a special world where the things that made him different were the same things that made him awesome would have been really inspiring to me.Anne's finishing this, too, and I have to wait for her before I start in on the second book ... As wonderful and magical as promised. Because I didn't remember the movie, the third act of the book was a delightful surprise to me.I wish I'd had this book when I was a kid, because the idea that someone could be special without knowing it, and then get to visit a special world where the things that made him different were the same things that made him awesome would have been really inspiring to me.Anne's finishing this, too, and I have to wait for her before I start in on the second book ... HURRY UP ANNE!
    more
  • Wendy Darling
    September 16, 2009
    Current project: re-reading HP. My history: I was a young adult when this first book came out, and the print book never really grabbed me when I gave it a try. I found that I very much enjoyed the American audiobooks with Jim Dale narrating, however, so I read the first few books this way. But this came to an end when I misplaced the fourth book and no longer had a long commute--I never did reach the end of that wretchedly long quidditch game, so I gave up. But here it is, 2015 and I'm trying ag Current project: re-reading HP. My history: I was a young adult when this first book came out, and the print book never really grabbed me when I gave it a try. I found that I very much enjoyed the American audiobooks with Jim Dale narrating, however, so I read the first few books this way. But this came to an end when I misplaced the fourth book and no longer had a long commute--I never did reach the end of that wretchedly long quidditch game, so I gave up. But here it is, 2015 and I'm trying again! This time I'm doing the wonderful Stephen Fry narration on audio. It's interesting to come into these books after all this history, both in the sense of the cultural impact of these stories as well as the knowledge of how much children's lit, as art and as industry, has changed for the better because of them. Re-read reaction: 3.5 starsWith this first book (and I suspect with the next few), I still feel the way I did before. I admire the incredibly imaginative ideas so much, but the writing isn't quite as rich or the character development isn't quite as deep/emotional as I'd like just yet. It's a pretty straightforward story, albeit one embellished with fantastic details. But I LOVE HERMIONE GRANGER, always have, and I've heard the later books are much darker. And it's still a lovely experience to have the books read to me like a bedtime story. My favorite parts of this book: The mirror of Erised, owl post (pleeease may I have an owl), and the thing hidden under the turban. And: It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends. Well done, Neville. You deserved the same number of house points as the other children, in my book.
    more
  • Harold Bloom
    May 29, 2007
    Can 35 Million Book Buyers Be Wrong? Yes.Taking arms against Harry Potter, at this moment, is to emulate Hamlet taking arms against a sea of troubles. By opposing the sea, you won't end it. The Harry Potter epiphenomenon will go on, doubtless for some time, as J. R. R. Tolkien did, and then wane.The official newspaper of our dominant counter-culture, The New York Times, has been startled by the Potter books into establishing a new policy for its not very literate book review. Rather than crowd o Can 35 Million Book Buyers Be Wrong? Yes.Taking arms against Harry Potter, at this moment, is to emulate Hamlet taking arms against a sea of troubles. By opposing the sea, you won't end it. The Harry Potter epiphenomenon will go on, doubtless for some time, as J. R. R. Tolkien did, and then wane.The official newspaper of our dominant counter-culture, The New York Times, has been startled by the Potter books into establishing a new policy for its not very literate book review. Rather than crowd out the Grishams, Clancys, Crichtons, Kings, and other vastly popular prose fictions on its fiction bestseller list, the Potter volumes will now lead a separate children's list. J. K. Rowling, the chronicler of Harry Potter, thus has an unusual distinction: She has changed the policy of the policy-maker.Imaginative VisionI read new children's literature, when I can find some of any value, but had not tried Rowling until now. I have just concluded the 300 pages of the first book in the series, "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone," purportedly the best of the lot. Though the book is not well written, that is not in itself a crucial liability. It is much better to see the movie, "The Wizard of Oz," than to read the book upon which it was based, but even the book possessed an authentic imaginative vision. "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" does not, so that one needs to look elsewhere for the book's (and its sequels') remarkable success. Such speculation should follow an account of how and why Harry Potter asks to be read.The ultimate model for Harry Potter is "Tom Brown's School Days" by Thomas Hughes, published in 1857. The book depicts the Rugby School presided over by the formidable Thomas Arnold, remembered now primarily as the father of Matthew Arnold, the Victorian critic-poet. But Hughes' book, still quite readable, was realism, not fantasy. Rowling has taken "Tom Brown's School Days" and re-seen it in the magical mirror of Tolkein. The resultant blend of a schoolboy ethos with a liberation from the constraints of reality-testing may read oddly to me, but is exactly what millions of children and their parents desire and welcome at this time.In what follows, I may at times indicate some of the inadequacies of "Harry Potter." But I will keep in mind that a host are reading it who simply will not read superior fare, such as Kenneth Grahame's "The Wind in the Willows" or the "Alice" books of Lewis Carroll. Is it better that they read Rowling than not read at all? Will they advance from Rowling to more difficult pleasures?Rowling presents two Englands, mundane and magical, divided not by social classes, but by the distinction between the "perfectly normal" (mean and selfish) and the adherents of sorcery. The sorcerers indeed seem as middle-class as the Muggles, the name the witches and wizards give to the common sort, since those addicted to magic send their sons and daughters off to Hogwarts, a Rugby school where only witchcraft and wizardry are taught. Hogwarts is presided over by Albus Dumbeldore as Headmaster, he being Rowling's version of Tolkein's Gandalf. The young future sorcerers are just like any other budding Britons, only more so, sports and food being primary preoccupations. (Sex barely enters into Rowling's cosmos, at least in the first volume.)----------------------------The first half of a little piece I wrote from the Journal in July 2000. Rest is available at [http://wrt-brooke.syr.edu/courses/205...].
    more
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    January 3, 2013
    Why oh why haven't I re-read this before? That was the best nostalgia train ride of my life.________________________ This? This is everything.I wouldn't even be on here if I hadn't decided to randomly buy "that book with the cool-looking cover" all those long, long years ago— and for that, I thank you deeply and eternally, Miss Rowling.
    more
  • Jessica ❁ ➳ Silverbow ➳ ❁ Rabid Reads
    June 19, 2012
    Reviewed by: Rabid ReadsI wasn't going to review this for Rabid Reads, but then I was reminded of the multitudes of unfortunates who haven't read HARRY POTTER yet . . . I ask myself:Me: How can this be?Self: *shrugs awkwardly*Me: The HARRY POTTER books breathed new life into readers of all ages. They're amazing, wonderful, fantastic, addicting, SUPERLATIVE--Self: *nods emphatic agreement*So what's the deal people?Boiled down to its most basic elements, HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE is u Reviewed by: Rabid ReadsI wasn't going to review this for Rabid Reads, but then I was reminded of the multitudes of unfortunates who haven't read HARRY POTTER yet . . . I ask myself:Me: How can this be?Self: *shrugs awkwardly*Me: The HARRY POTTER books breathed new life into readers of all ages. They're amazing, wonderful, fantastic, addicting, SUPERLATIVE--Self: *nods emphatic agreement*So what's the deal people?Boiled down to its most basic elements, HARRY POTTER AND THE SORCERER'S STONE is urban fantasy. For kids? Absolutely.For adults? ALSO absolutely.Rowling creates a wondrous world of magic that exists alongside the normal, the "muggle" world.In this magic world, the objects and PEOPLE in pictures move, chess pieces are both sentient and opinionated about your game-playing strategy. Jelly beans come in EVERY flavor, so part of the fun is never knowing whether the funny yellow one is going to be toffee . . . or earwax. Creatures of legend--centaurs, hippogriffs, dragons, goblins, etc.--are part of everyday life. If you're a wizard.But all of the world-building is secondary to Harry himself. The boy who lived.Harry was only a year old when he was given over to his only living relatives. The Dursleys of 4 Privot Drive are happy in their normalcy, their mediocrity. They think things properly account for the worth of a person, they indulge their already horrible son, and they more than neglect Harry . . . They're dismissive of him. They humiliate him. They stifle him. And they do all of these things thoughtlessly. As if he's not a real person . . . B/c he's other..Their abuse is so offhand, you have to be an adult, or least a mature reader to recognize it for what it is. Younger readers just see a hateful villain. A hateful villain who does such ostentatiously self-centered things to poor Harry that they can alternately "Yayyyyyy," and "Booooooo," with enthusiasm. I've heard similar comparisons made about Robin Williams' Genie in Disney's Aladdin --the character was complex enough for adults to enjoy while being thoroughly entertaining to children.So that's my sale. Harry Potter isn't just for children, it's for EVERYONE. In my humble opinion, what Rowling has done with these books makes Disney's Genie look like amateur hour (and I quite like Aladdin. FYI).And as the recent popularity of coloring books for adults has proven, people of all ages like pretty things, and that is why this new illustrated version is spectacular:SO. We have an engaging premise: a child mysteriously defeats the most powerful dark wizard in memory, becoming instantly famous in one world, a world full of wonder and magic, is raised ignorant of his past by negligent relatives, only to be reintroduced to the magical world when he comes of age to attend the equivalent of middle school.We have the earlier referenced fantastical world-building. We have well-developed, often hilarious or reprehensible characters (depending on whether they're meant to be Good or Bad). And we have addictive individual story plots that build into the best Good vs. Evil story arc since LOTR. And children LOVE it. So will you. More than highly recommended. 1/2/16: Getting starting one day late on the HARRY POTTER BR over at BB&B . *shrugs* Harry Potter is good today, yesterday, and tomorrow. My other reviews for this series: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)
    more
  • Michael Finocchiaro
    September 28, 2016
    The first HP novel is already a classic. I have read it in the original English and the (slightly disappointing IMHO) French translation because my kid, just a few months after starting reading, plunged head first into this book and only resurfaced after the last one. I never made it past the 3td book but admittedly really enjoyed this book. It is the most light-hearted and funny of the series despite the darkness of the One Who Cannot Be Named. The universe created by Rowling is one of the most The first HP novel is already a classic. I have read it in the original English and the (slightly disappointing IMHO) French translation because my kid, just a few months after starting reading, plunged head first into this book and only resurfaced after the last one. I never made it past the 3td book but admittedly really enjoyed this book. It is the most light-hearted and funny of the series despite the darkness of the One Who Cannot Be Named. The universe created by Rowling is one of the most complete and compelling ones ever for kids - that I will freely admit. I obviously would love to witness a quiddich match and go to a class dealing with mandrakes and eat in that fabulous dining hall. That being said, it seems to be quite a lonely life - the idealisation in a sense of pensions for kids of rich (or in this case) magical families is perhaps a tad disturbing when you want to be a more hands-on parent and these parents apparently have no issue with only seeing their kids on holidays and during the summer. I am not sure I could do that, but that is just me perhaps.An extremely entertaining and memorable tale that my kids both adored in both book and movie form!Just finished reading HP1 aloud to my son in English and found it to be very enjoyable. The plot does stick together, the characters are endearing (I love Ron's little side remarks about Hermione in the beginning), and the imagination Rowling deployed to create this magical universe is astounding. I cannot believe that this first book is already 20 years old! It has really aged well. I cannot really point to any weaknesses at all. It was entertaining and a pure joy to share with my son - his first time through in English! I believe I will set a 2017-2018 goal to finish all 7 books this time around!
    more
  • Alyssa Helvar ♡
    December 16, 2016
    1,000,000 Million Stars!I'm going to hit myself on the head. Why? Well, because I'm stupid. I've always told myself that Harry Potter might be something that I won't like, something I won't enjoy. In my head, I kept telling myself that wizards just aren't my thing and all that stupid shit. I honestly don't know why I did that though. But I finally got over my doubt and picked this up and I'm speechless. In a good way of course! It was super good! Next time, for any book series I want to read, I 1,000,000 Million Stars!I'm going to hit myself on the head. Why? Well, because I'm stupid. I've always told myself that Harry Potter might be something that I won't like, something I won't enjoy. In my head, I kept telling myself that wizards just aren't my thing and all that stupid shit. I honestly don't know why I did that though. But I finally got over my doubt and picked this up and I'm speechless. In a good way of course! It was super good! Next time, for any book series I want to read, I shall never listen to that stupid little voice in my head. I will read anything I want to anytime, anywhere! Especially Harry Potter :) First off, let me talk about Harry Potter. This guy, is fucking amazing. He is one of the few characters I've ever read about that no matter what, stays strong and doesn't let anyone influence him or change his view on things. And that's what I admire most about Harry. If he thinks something isn't right, he sets his mind to it and tries to fix it, regardless of what others say around him. Now me on the other hand, is the complete opposite. I'm the person that cowers behind people and stays quiet. I don't like drawing attention to myself. But Harry really made me see that in certain circumstances, I need to raise my voice and stand up for what I believe is right. Really, I could go on and on, but Harry Potter is just uhhh, I can't even put into words what I'm feeling right now! Next, Ronald Weasley is super adorable! He's funny and well, just Ron. I love his personality and his quirkiness. I wish I had a friend like him. Ron is just that kind of person that can make you laugh or turn a really serious situation into something funny and silly. It's always good to know a person like Ron. Sometimes they come in handy. Also, I fucking suck at chess. I have tried multiple times to play, but I will never understand the rules and strategies of chess. Ron seriously needs to give me a few lessons on how to play chess. Hermione Granger: she knows her facts, studies hard, and is that know-it-all-type-of-girl. At first, I thought she was so bratty. I have to admit, I wasn't really fond of her at first, but as the story progressed, I grew to like her. She's super nice and has Harry and Ron's backs no matter what. Hermione is loyal and just uhhh, again I can't put into words how much I love this girl! Plus, I have her wand. One of my aunts went to "The Wizarding World of Harry Potter" in Universal Studios located in Orlando, Florida like, years ago. At the time, I've of of HP but was never really interested in it. And she came back with Hermione's wand, which looks super badass, if you ask me ;) So I'm proud to say that I have some HP merchandise. To add, she also got me a HP bookmark that's a hook and you just hook it to the inside of your book. Hogwarts is so cool! It's scary yet beautiful at the same time! I would go on about each individual character, but that would be too many words and by the time you get there, you'd probably already be asleep xD So I'll just leave it here. About the rest of all the characters in this book, each and everyone of them were wonderful! As well as the plot! And that surprise twist at the end, I never saw coming! Magnificent book and can't wait to start book 2! :) ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ I feel so left out on the world Harry Potter and don't have a clue what people are talking about, so I think it's about time I read this baby. And please no spoilers! This is my first time reading the series xoxo :)Super excited!
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    November 10, 2015
    MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading ListI'M GOING TO ADD MY BIG OLE SPOILER THING FOR THOSE THAT HAVEN'T READ THESE BOOKS YET. I'M ALSO GOING TO ADD A FEW PICTURES THAT ARE IN THE BOOK SO YOU CAN SEE HOW BEAUTIFUL IT IS AND RUN OUT AND BUY IT, IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY!LET US BEGIN!Poor Harry's parents were killed by VOLDEMORT! Yep, I said it :-) So Dumbledore (the head honcho) and the gang decide to leave Harry with his mother's sister, Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon and their brat of a son, Dudley. MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading ListI'M GOING TO ADD MY BIG OLE SPOILER THING FOR THOSE THAT HAVEN'T READ THESE BOOKS YET. I'M ALSO GOING TO ADD A FEW PICTURES THAT ARE IN THE BOOK SO YOU CAN SEE HOW BEAUTIFUL IT IS AND RUN OUT AND BUY IT, IF YOU HAVEN'T ALREADY!LET US BEGIN!Poor Harry's parents were killed by VOLDEMORT! Yep, I said it :-) So Dumbledore (the head honcho) and the gang decide to leave Harry with his mother's sister, Aunt Petunia and Uncle Vernon and their brat of a son, Dudley. This was a huge mistake because they were so mean to him growing up. He had to live in a cupboard under the stairs and wear Dudley's hand-me-downs. They didn't get him gifts or do anything nice for him. :-( They didn't even tell him what really happened to his parents, what they were and what he was... until one day.. on his eleventh birthday he started getting all of these letters in the mail inviting him to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. But his stupid family tried to keep the letters from Harry, this didn't go over well and we get to meet sweet, wonderful Hagrid. :-)Hagrid is stunned that Harry doesn't know anything about anything and begins to fill him in, he also brings him a cake for his bday :-)Moving on.. so Harry finds out about all the things he needs to find out about and Hagrid carts him off to the bank to get all of this money his parents left for him so he can buy supplies for school! I just loved in the movies and the books when they went shopping at Diagon Alley. I want to go there! After Harry gets to school he gets into Gryffindor with his new friends, Ron, Hermione (my heroine), all of the Weasley's, and Neville. There are a lot of sweet people in their house. He has an arch nemesis named Malfoy that get into Slytherin, the house Voldemort was in at one time. Soooooo.... I'm not going to tell every little thing about the book as most have read it and some that haven't just might take a little peek :-) Let's sum this up to say that Harry gets on the Quidditch team (read to find out what that is), there are trolls with nasty snot, a secret the group are trying to figure out, great times spent with Hagrid, many magical moments and an appearance of sorts by someone that will not be named......I'm going to leave you with some pictures from the book, I had no idea that Jim Kay who is the illustrator is the same man who illustrated, "A Monster Calls," by Patrick Ness and he also has a rescued greyhound like me :-) Yay! ...OH and there will be no captions to the pictures, you can figure out most yourself or just look at the pretty pictures, just know that there are many more pictures in the book and all of the pages have something cool on them! I highly recommend this edition of the book!I will say again to go out and buy this illustrated edition, it's so wonderful and I can't wait to get the rest of them in the illustrated editions!!!!!!!! Like yesterday!!!!!! Kudos to J.K. Rowling for writing the series and to Jim Kay for his wonderful illustrations! Professor McGonagall approves :-)I LOVED TAKING THIS TRIP BACK DOWN MEMORY LANE WITH THE GROUP AND THE MAGIC!
    more
  • Christy
    August 27, 2016
    I'm 30 years old and I've finally started the Harry Potter series. I know what you're thinking- it took me long enough! I say better late than never! I remember when the first movie was released in 2001. My sister was reading the books and so was my best friend. In 2001 I was in high school, and though I loved the movie, I was reading Sylvia Plath and Wally Lamb and had no interest in the young adult genre. Now, totally different story! I'm all about reading some YA. Since I've seen the movies, I'm 30 years old and I've finally started the Harry Potter series. I know what you're thinking- it took me long enough! I say better late than never! I remember when the first movie was released in 2001. My sister was reading the books and so was my best friend. In 2001 I was in high school, and though I loved the movie, I was reading Sylvia Plath and Wally Lamb and had no interest in the young adult genre. Now, totally different story! I'm all about reading some YA. Since I've seen the movies, there wasn't a ton of new material in this book for me (though my I've heard that the further I get into the series, the more new material I'll come across). I enjoyed reading this one lots and I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the magical Harry Potter books this year!
    more
  • Pearl Angeli
    December 31, 2015
    Beyond amazing! Way to start the new year! :)I've read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone way back in High School but I wasn't able to finish it because sad to say, my book was lost. :( And now, thanks to my lovely friend Allie who gave me a copy of this book, I became interested to read it once again and bring back the old times' feels. And WOW! Just WOW! Thank goodness I decided to read it again because it felt so magical and magnificent and totally breathtaking! -- exactly what I've felt t Beyond amazing! Way to start the new year! :)I've read Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone way back in High School but I wasn't able to finish it because sad to say, my book was lost. :( And now, thanks to my lovely friend Allie who gave me a copy of this book, I became interested to read it once again and bring back the old times' feels. And WOW! Just WOW! Thank goodness I decided to read it again because it felt so magical and magnificent and totally breathtaking! -- exactly what I've felt the first time I've read this.Harry Potter is such a great, well-fleshed out character. Despite being parentless and being bullied both in the Muggle world and Hogwarts by some kids, he still stood up and even became a great friend to Ron, Hermione, Neville, and the others. This story had lots of exciting adventures and I really enjoyed everything that happened in this book. It was just so awesome! The secondary characters are also perfect. I especially love Hermione and her genius mind! Ron's loyalty towards Harry is also awe-inspiring, as well as Neville's adorable clumsiness. When it comes to its plotline, it's amazingly done. The twist was unpredictable and there was humor in every page that made me laugh. What's even great are the lessons and the message that are instilled to every reader, fantasy and magic aside. "It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends." I loved all the chapters and my favorites are:The Boy Who Lived, The Vanishing Glass, Diagon Alley, The Journey from Platform Nine and Three-Quarters, The Sorting Hat, and Quidditch.No wonder why this book and the whole series continues to be a real sensation. J.K. Rowling is so brilliant she bewitched me with her world! So excited to find out more about this series and to see what's in store for Harry in the next books. :)Rating:
    more
  • Val ⚓️ ShamelessBitchySkanky ⚓️ Steamy Reads
    August 2, 2016
    I have a confession to make. ***I have never read Harry Potter. Yes, yes, I know...this is akin to reader sacrilege.But I just had no interest in these books when they came out. I was too busy reading about men in kilts fucking the milkmaid. Therefore, my only experience with "Hermione" is the SNL skit where Lindsey Lohan shows Harry and that other scarfed dude her ginormous tatas. Well, what with everyone going ape shit over the newest installment, I figure I should probably find out what all t I have a confession to make. ***I have never read Harry Potter. Yes, yes, I know...this is akin to reader sacrilege.But I just had no interest in these books when they came out. I was too busy reading about men in kilts fucking the milkmaid. Therefore, my only experience with "Hermione" is the SNL skit where Lindsey Lohan shows Harry and that other scarfed dude her ginormous tatas. Well, what with everyone going ape shit over the newest installment, I figure I should probably find out what all this Hogwart's business is about. And since my friend's 9 year old demanded that I read his copy, I now have the paperback in my possession. Hoping to get starting this week...
    more
  • Mohammed Arabey
    October 27, 2015
    “He’ll be famous, a legend, there will be books written about Harry, every child in our world will know his name!”This line was written 1997, in the very 1st chapter of the very 1st book of a series that been rejected by many publishing houses. But I've talked about that before.So let's see here, with this beautiful Illustrated Edition,chapter by chapter, Reviewing & Analyzing -from my simple reader perspective- of the first Harry Potter book, why this line isn't exaggerating. Why this line “He’ll be famous, a legend, there will be books written about Harry, every child in our world will know his name!”This line was written 1997, in the very 1st chapter of the very 1st book of a series that been rejected by many publishing houses. But I've talked about that before.So let's see here, with this beautiful Illustrated Edition,chapter by chapter, Reviewing & Analyzing -from my simple reader perspective- of the first Harry Potter book, why this line isn't exaggerating. Why this line came true..Chapter One : THE BOY WHO LIVEDA two sides chapter..First, It starts “Perfectly Normal,Thank You Very Much”. What's supposed to be a normal day for a very normal man, Mr. Dursley..Mind his encounter with a peculiar Cat that won't be “shoo”-ed.( -Fun Trivia ; that's the only encounter between the 2 stern characters, Mr. Dursley & Professor McGonagall.-)Mind the Owls’ hyperactivity during the day, Mind those weird men in weirdest costumes.(-okay, in case you didn't read it before, it's October 31, 1981, he may didn't mind much because of, you know, it's Halloween day.)Stranger things started as we move to The Other Side, with the arrival of an old Wizard to this Normal street at night.And the Cat is a professor, a huge man in flying motorcycle, and a little boy became an orphan by an evil man's last curse.How and why, we don't know.. But this Boy who lived that Strange thing, must now lives with his last family, at this very Normal man's.Good luck Harry, Doorbells Dumbledore!!A very interesting Epic beginning. A fine example of how to grab attention without confusing readers with too much strangeness and complicated peculiar, invented names as most YA novels does.-for example the “Put-Outer” that put out the light off street lamps, has a more complicated name but it used way later in the books-Also it's very well paced, perfectly split between Normal life and Magical one, which is the essence of the series....in this Breaking Dawn of URBAN FANTASY as we know it.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 2 : THE VANISHING GLASSChapter 3 : LETTERS FROM NO ONEChapter 4 : THE KEEPER OF THE KEYS These chapters (First Episode) are like normal, miserable drama.The boring -with minor strange events- life of the "seems normal / yet Special" orphan boy who lives in the cupboard under the stairs at his mean relatives'. Teased by his greedy, selfish, spoiled by parents, cousin “Duddly”.( -Fun Trivia ; these chapters full with HUGE Easter Eggs of later books, Mrs Figg of book five/ Snakes talk of book Two “no Snakes winking though”, & did you notice the motorcycle's owner name in the 1st chapter?-)But this drama still very funny written in a way, Aunt Petunia stern acts and expressions for Harry, Harry’s wet responses, Uncle Vernon’s spoilings for Dudley.. It's really full of wet, funny unforgettable lines.And these letters that came to Harry when he turns 11, well, changed everything.(-Fun Trivia; Urban Myth that Uncle Vernon believed in; Witches & Wizards can't cross the water.. well, how wrong that can be!-)And this episode ends with the big Revelation;And the pretty Normal life is going to change forever for Harry, Thank you..very much.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 5 : DIAGON ALLEYChapter 6 : THE JOURNEY FROM PLATFORM NINE AND THREE-QUARTERSNow you know pretty enough of the Harry Potter back story, the dark vanquished wizard. and why everyone in this community were celebrating 10 years ago ‘the 1st chapter’, and why Harry Potter is famous.So Here, bit by bit you step into this Magical, Unique world.Cleverly, interestingly, this world is revealed to you, slowly as if told to 11 years old boy who has no clue of it.This WIZARDING WORLD , is no Normal at all, thank you very much. It's huge realm and community, yet cleverly hidden in our own Normal world.It'll give you Wonder and Fascination from how to reach it, till being part of it.And as Harry learns about it, he will also meet these diversity of characters, specifically this amazing family, The Weasley’s.Yeah,this last line makes you feel that the author joining you the fun herself. It's hard to miss the fun sarcastic tone.And, Now you see, Harry first lesson before getting to this Strange School is this ;Wizards and Witches are pretty Normal.. the same as you and me, everyone has the good and bad.. just what you choose to be is what define who you are.(-Fun Trivia; there's many Easter Eggs in the small details “like Dumbledore’s Chocolate Frog information, which is vital this book, last book and even the next series” also for later books “like the silly Rat spell that won't work on The Rat”-)~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 7 : THE SORTING HATChapter 8 : THE POTIONS MASTERChapter 9 : THE MIDNIGHT DUEL Now, amidst the Strangeness of the Wizarding World.. the humans there are so true and real. Hence all the situations are true and realistic..These first 3 chapters at Hogwarts gave me a strong Nostalgia to my first days of almost every school, the college even workplaces.Harry is 11 and his past Normal life didn’t prepare him to Hogwarts, this magnificent Fantastic Magical School. So the author's lingering on how Harry feels, even how every first year students acts in totally perfect way, and funny too.No matter how was your experience, you will re-live it but in this Magical atmosphere..Even you might feel you have acquaintances, colleagues or friends like one of those Harry Potter's characters in one point or another,There's always this simple true friendly type “Ron”,eager ambitious knows-it-all “Hermione”,smug bully Peacock “Draco”,always lost and confused “Neville”,funny troublemakers “George and Fred”,authority lover “Percy”,this older "pet lover" who knew one of your relatives and being so kind to you as an uncle “Hagrid”,this older guy you feel he hates you for no reason at all “Snape”,this stern, all powerful yet super kind older woman “McGonagall”,and you don't meet the Headmaster ‘or the Boss’ pretty often when it's your first year..but he may be like a Godfather to you later “Dumbledore”.These chapters of the first weeks, first encounters with different so real, so human characters, first lessons, all are pretty remarkable and nostalgic.Unforgettable lines; The Potion Master greeting Harry.And very funny; Harry confusion about Midnight Duel with Malfoy.And Hermione classic that the Movie Trailer made it even cinematic classic that many has been copying since.(-Fun Trivia; Argus Filch.. his first name in Greek myth is to a guard with hundreds of eyes all over his body to see everywhere. Well, Argus alone-with a cat- watches the whole vast buildings and hallways of Hogwarts..and you really can't escape him.There's also this theory about Snape’s first 3 questions to Harry is all related to the love of his life!!.-)~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 10 : HALLOWEENChapter 11 : QUIDDITCHChapter 12 : THE MIRROR OF ERISED Now, first half of the book is over -that fast?!!-, the second half has been brewing slowly since early first half..Remember there's some small package in Ch.5, you read something about a failed stealing attempt in Ch.8, then suspecting it might be the school's heavily guarded item in ch.9.With pure chances our Harry Potter witnessed it all so far.Now, also by chances, Harry start to suspect someone trying to steal it, from the school.It all start with a sequence of events that may some of it give you Nostalgia, like having annoying knows-it-all colleague.Well, then, one thing after another,And we have a Trio ;I want to be back in school already.Told you, it's perfect blending Between Normal, and Magic.And with this Troll accident, this Trio start suspecting the safety of whatever in the package at the third floor.In a Agatha Christie Mystery style, Investigations starts in Magic School,While playing Magical Sport that once you read its rules -twice-, you'll wish to play it,even if against the worst team ever, Slytherin.And While staying at school during Christmas, this intimate atmosphere, The Blessing of having wonderful friends who like a new family to you..even having family however they might be, but they're still your blood.. (as we’ll discuss that in later parts.)And above all, if we miss someone, the importance of Not “Dwelling” in the past,as Dumbledore said…(-Fun Trivia;; The Mirror of Erised stra ehru oyt ube cafru oyt on wohsi.-)And back to the plot.. Harry is not only investigate the safety of the parcel, or why Snape -Harry’s main and only suspect- wants to steal it ; the Trio also investigate the second owner of the parcel; He-who-next-Chapter-is-named-after.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 13 : NICOLAS FLAMELChapter 14 : NORBERT THE NORWEGIAN RIDGEBACKChapter 15 : THE FORBIDDEN FOREST With this Magical Urban Fantasy Novel, comes a minor element of Real Historical figure and real life myth. Nicolas Flamel, and His Philosopher’s Stone.(-Fun Trivia; And this is “The One when every child in our world knows about the Philosopher's Stone” -expect in America. They insisted that it's just Sorcerer’s Stone.)That's may be one great aspect of mixing this Fantastical Fictional World with our Real Not-Normal Life, Flamel is a real life Alchemist, that mix of Chemistry and Magic.That's what makes Harry Potter a fine example of Urban Fantasy.And in these 3 Chapters the investigations get more tense, with some events that put it in halt like, bad Quidditch referee.Or Hagrid’s Dangerous, forbidden Hobbies.-well, that's rich-Which get them- as Flich would say -“in trouble”, A detention in the forbidden forest, meeting the Centaurs and their mystic creepy speakings of how “Mars was Bright that night”.And finally there -which happens again by mere chance-, they will learn the real reason of the whole fuss around the parcel, The Philosopher’s Stone and who is behind the attempts to steal it.~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Chapter 16 : THROUGH THE TRAPDOORChapter 17 : THE MAN WITH TWO FACES So now the perfect well structured Mystery and investigations, and the cleverly paced School year comes to an end.Right after the fast “nostalgic too” summing up of the Exams days, which was so realistic,So Classic, And then, the plan is On after the exam. For the big Action of this Magical enchanting plot of the first book ; and with all the tension there, the spontaneous, natural, fun lines between the friends never ceased.Even in the hardest parts can makes you smile.This amazing ultimate real meaning of friends completing one another.That’s what can really help in facing Evil.. and not fearing death.. And choose well,As Professor Dumbledore’s wise talk;And Love, and being Loved is the strongest power of all to face anything.So it was story of Love, Friendship, Family and Bravery.A perfect conclusion for a Perfect First Book in Unforgettable Breaking Point in modern Fantasy, Young Adult Novels. And in novels History generally.A story that touched me personally, and may touched so many.. felt so connected to those amazing realistic characters..And as the investigations part ends finally, it was moment for Truth.-that may remind you with Agatha’s Poirot Quote ; “The truth, however ugly in itself, is always curious and beautiful to seekers after it.”So, we still won't have the full answers we seek and have in our mind such as;If this is a great story, Why would a Man even so evil as Voldemort would be that keen to kill baby Harry that much in the first place?Will he return? Will it be convenience one?Well, in later books you'll see that everything is connected, mostly -NOT TOTALLY-planned from the beginning.Well… if you still think this is an overrated Book Series..and doubt the accuracy of this first line, then you're seriously have some Uncle Vernon Dursley blood in you.But cheers, you are Perfectly Normal,Thank You Very Much.Mohammed ArabeyFirst Read, Sep. 2002Illustrated Ed. Read from 11 Nov 2015To 27 Nov 2015Full review of book one written in Nov. 2016
    more
Write a review