A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3)
Witness the fate of beloved heroes - and enemies.THE BALANCE OF POWER HAS FINALLY TIPPED...The precarious equilibrium among four Londons has reached its breaking point. Once brimming with the red vivacity of magic, darkness casts a shadow over the Maresh Empire, leaving a space for another London to rise.WHO WILL CRUMBLE?Kell - once assumed to be the last surviving Antari - begins to waver under the pressure of competing loyalties. And in the wake of tragedy, can Arnes survive?WHO WILL RISE?Lila Bard, once a commonplace - but never common - thief, has survived and flourished through a series of magical trials. But now she must learn to control the magic, before it bleeds her dry. Meanwhile, the disgraced Captain Alucard Emery of the Night Spire collects his crew, attempting a race against time to acquire the impossible.WHO WILL TAKE CONTROL?And an ancient enemy returns to claim a crown while a fallen hero tries to save a world in decay.

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) Details

TitleA Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 21st, 2017
PublisherTor Books
ISBN0765387468
ISBN-139780765387462
Number of pages624 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Magic, Fiction

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3) Review

  • Victoria Schwab
    April 20, 2016
    With ACOL hitting shelves this month, I guess it's time to finally mark it as read...I don't know what else to say, except I've never been prouder of a book, and I really hope my readers enjoy the end of this journey.
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    February 21, 2017
    (No major spoilers). I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW. Oh my goodness I adore these characters and that ending was everything I wanted. The final books in trilogies are usually my least favorite because they can't possibly live up to all of my expectations... but this was perfect. "I've got a bad feeling," he whispered..."A piece of magic is parading as a god, a poisoned fog is destroying London, and three Antari are sparring aboard our ship. I'd be worried if you didn't." The plot hit the ground runnin (No major spoilers). I AM SO HAPPY RIGHT NOW. Oh my goodness I adore these characters and that ending was everything I wanted. The final books in trilogies are usually my least favorite because they can't possibly live up to all of my expectations... but this was perfect. "I've got a bad feeling," he whispered..."A piece of magic is parading as a god, a poisoned fog is destroying London, and three Antari are sparring aboard our ship. I'd be worried if you didn't." The plot hit the ground running and the first 10% was SO intense. But then it kind of slowed down and I lost a bit of enthusiasm/interest until everyone got on a ship. I do love ships. They bring out everyone's cocky pirate side. So the story picked up a lot about halfway through and the entire last half was amazing! So many feels. I love ALL of these characters so much (but Lila will always be my favorite). "My name is Lila Bard," she answered, drawing her favorite knife, "and I don't give a damn." The best parts were probably just seeing Kell, Lila, Rhy, and Alucard interact more. I liked the little things like how Lila's the first person to treat Rhy like he doesn't need saving. Actually, seeing Rhy grow so much might have been my favorite part of the story. And of course Rhy & Alucard are still adorable.There's also a lot more backstory for Holland, which helped a ton! I was pretty much split between the following feels in the second half:Basically, this was an absolutely brilliant conclusion. Victoria Schwab is an incredible author. AND I REALLY HOPE THERE'S A SPINOFF. The end.
    more
  • Ben Alderson
    February 17, 2017
    NO FAULTS.AMAZING.I LOVED IT.IM CRYING.anoshe ANNNNOOOOOOOOSHHEEEEEEEEEEEEEEi hope she does a spin off!
  • Brittney ~ Her Bookish Things
    April 20, 2016
    I.... don't know what to do with myself. I am so completely overwhelmed with emotions and so far past blown away... and now I'm trying to write a review for one of the greatest stories ever told. "Love and loss," he said, "are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be." You guys... if you haven't picked up this series... start it now. As an aspiring author... I pra I.... don't know what to do with myself. I am so completely overwhelmed with emotions and so far past blown away... and now I'm trying to write a review for one of the greatest stories ever told. "Love and loss," he said, "are like a ship and the sea. They rise together. The more we love, the more we have to lose. But the only way to avoid loss is to avoid love. And what a sad world that would be." You guys... if you haven't picked up this series... start it now. As an aspiring author... I pray to get even a sliver of Schwab or Bardugo's brilliance. The writing was absolute perfection. But really quick.. can we just focus on how freaking awesome Schwab is as a person? I don't know if you've seen her twitter... but she's so open and honest about the struggles of being a writer (not to mention hilarious) but then she pumps out something like this book. Wow. Also, I got to meet her at Yallfest. I was in a wheelchair and I couldn't have gotten back to her signing - but she actually took time to come out to me. Victoria... *virtual hug*Anyway, since I'm barely able to even function (I'm still a blubbering mess after finishing this book...) I'm just going to summarize a mess of words/statements below and hope it makes sense.Be ready because the moment you open this book... you'll hit the ground running. It picks up literally seconds where the second left off... and it doesn't slow down. The first 20-30% was non stop craziness... and it was wonderful and painful and entirely too stressful and I found myself screaming and laughing and I don't even know.. you guys... I don't even know.The only slow moments in this ENTIRE book were the flashbacks - and there were lots of little ones all throughout. They were very core to character development and I actually really enjoyed them. I literally cannot even begin to talk about the plot. I'm going to refrain from giving away any details. But I'll say this- I really liked the first book though I felt it was slow at times. I LOVED the second as it took the series to a whole new level of emotional turmoil. This one just blew me away. The pacing was perfect (as I said, VERY fast paced, only slowing during flash backs) and full of surprises (and stress). I was so attached to everyone (even the side characters) that I was literally racing through the pages so now I'm going to have to go back and reread for details. I've highlighted about 30 quotes. I've cried and laughed and screamed and now I'm completely exhausted. "We don't choose what we are, but we choose what we do." To summarize, here's what you can expect.1. Blood. Repeatedly. (Like... half of this book is fight scenes I feel like.)2. New and interesting POVs.3. Kiss your heart goodbye.4. Tears. Lots.5. Stress and anxiety because you'll love EVERYONE6. Pirate ships. Magic. New magical abilities. 7. Brilliance. On every page.So all I have left is to sit here and proclaim my love for the cast.Lila is her usual BAMF self. She had so many witty one liners and she was endless entertainment. I love love loved her contribution to the story - she kinda has a character arc but kinda doesn't. She's learned to let people in, but at the same time, she's so true to herself. Some of the highlights for me were obviously moments with Kell- but also with Alucard. (Ok, brb, need to cry because of all the emotional beautifulness.) Kell. I literally cannot. Precious smol- must be protected at all costs. This guy. The second book made me feel for him SO much. He's so selfless that even Rhy gives him crap about being so perfect. Oh my gosh Kell and Rhy- strongest brother relationship I've ever read. I need to cry again. Also Kell and Alucard banter was EVERYTHING. And then the parental issues... you'll just have to see.Rhy - easily one of my all time favorite characters. He' so freaking hilarious and sassy and I feel like we would be best friends. He's easily as selfless as Kell, though he doesn't even see it. A little reckless, but he can't help it. HOLLAND. Holy freaking crap of the world. I did not expect to care about him so much. I can't even function right now. BYE. Alucard. I can't form words. BYE. Ugh. The whole entire cast. Even the side characters like Lenos and Hostra .. and oh my gosh the whole Maresh family... I'm just... I want to cry because every character was so beautifully done. The ending does not disappoint. Everything was wrapped up - and I'm just sitting here thinking... what now? What do I even do with myself? Do I pick it up and read it again? Do I sit here and grieve because its over? Ugh. Lastly, I HIGHLY recommend the audiobook version!! The second book and this book are narrated by Michael Kramer and Kate Reading and they are both wonderful - but especially Kate Reading for Delilah. Seriously I was LOLing so much at her sarcastic wit. You guys... read this series. OH OH is this a Leigh Bardugo / Six of Crows reference? Ahahah. "People spoke of love as if it were an arrow. A thing that flew quick, and always found its mark." LAST THING SORRY. I made a playlist - check it out ;) https://open.spotify.com/user/brilia/...My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
    more
  • Simona Bartolotta
    February 28, 2016
    “Myths do not happen all at once.”You would not be wrong in thinking of me as a girl of few certainties. “...They do not spring forth whole into the world.” The usual ones: the love of my family, my love for them, and one big dream -we all have one of those, even when we don't know we do- that keeps me going.“...They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth...”There are also one or two things peculiar to me alone, of course. Unfortunately, they have a tendency to be “Myths do not happen all at once.”You would not be wrong in thinking of me as a girl of few certainties. “...They do not spring forth whole into the world.” The usual ones: the love of my family, my love for them, and one big dream -we all have one of those, even when we don't know we do- that keeps me going.“...They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth...”There are also one or two things peculiar to me alone, of course. Unfortunately, they have a tendency to be dull things. But one of these, the brightest one, I think, is that I love stories. Always have, always will.“...until the saying of the story gives enough weight to the words—to the memories—to keep them rolling on their own.”And once, I used to think I knew how stories work. I thought I was able to pick them up, look them over, and tell who and what and where and when. (Though not the why; the why is always another story.) “...But all stories start somewhere...”I thought indeed that I could say, here it starts, and, there it ends. But as I grew, and read, I started to see that things are not quite this simple. It would take a certain story to finally make realize the truth. The truth being...“...and that night, as Rhy Maresh walked through the streets of London...”The truth being, stories don't like to have their boundaries set. Never have. “...a new myth was taking shape.”And never will.•One day I'll publish an essay on what makes for a good storytelling, and all I will write in it will be: Victoria Schwab nailed it all down. There is no other way to put it: in A Conjuring of Light, and in the Shades of Magic series more generally, she was perfect. Elegant, graceful, confident, composed while vibrant and stirring while unruffled, polished, dynamic, exquisite; in two words, absolutely regal. Schwab's prose is something you can't equal, because it's one of a kind, something you can't forget, because it won't let you go, and something you can't even believe, because it is, very simply, too beautiful and mesmerizing to be true.•Each one of these characters is so fleshed-out I'm honestly astonished that even their names can stay put and flat on the page. In the previous instalment, I'd had some issues with Lila, who in my eyes had gone through the whole book being more boastful and hot-headed than I -or anyone- could take, instead of showing the determination and strength that had captivated me in A Darker Shade of Magic. But the Lila we meet in this conclusion is definitely more mature, while losing none of her distinctive fierceness and boldness and tenacity. “There were a hundred shades between a truth and lie, and she knew them all.” •Kell, Rhy and Alucard are just as amazing as we all knew they would be, plus, prepare yourselves to be delighted -and wrecked, and shattered, and wrecked some more- by some secrets concerning Alucard's (and to a degree Rhy's) past and some crucial plot-twists determining our favourite crown prince's future. The events test them both, and they are made all the stronger by their obstacles, the ones they share as well as the ones they have to overcome alone. Rhy's dedication and resolve, in particular, are splendidly inspirational.•It seems my stupid, stupid mind realized this only with this book, but Holland is such an incredible and extraordinary character. I cannot explain how much my heart bled and sang for him. I feel the need to reread the whole series just to appreciate him as he deserves and as I should have done from the beginning. “Caring was a thing with claws. It sank them in, and didn’t let go. Caring hurt more than a knife to the leg, more than a few broken ribs, more than anything that bled or broke and healed again. Caring didn’t break you clean. It was a bone that didn’t set, a cut that wouldn’t close.” •Osaron is one of the best villain I've had the (dis)pleasure to meet in a long while, and I was completely caught off guard and captivated by how compelling he proved to be. Besides, I utterly adore the concept that he's pure magic. “It is an arrogant man that thinks himself a god. And an arrogant god, thought Tieren, looking to the window, that thinks himself a man.” •The plots of A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows were already exceptional, but A Conjuring of Light basically towers over them. Fast-paced and heart-stopping, yet it never comes off as overly packed or in any way excessive -since we've already established that Schwab's trademarks are elegance and balance, I shouldn't even need to specify it.•There is one single insignificant tiny thing that felt slightly random, or maybe out of place, and that's the favour that Lila traded with (view spoiler)[Maris (hide spoiler)]. I expected it to be brought up again before the end, and it wasn't, and it felt a bit like a loose end. I'm really trying not to hope that Schwab purposely made it so, so as to have a sort of foothold for a possible continuation/spin-off/something, I promise I'm trying, but it just seems so natural and obvious once you notice. I just don't want my heart broken (again). Speaking of loose ends, I also thought Nasi's POV had been introduced because she would have a role later in the story, but that was apparently a red herring or purely a necessity in order to develop Ojka's character.•I think that plot-wise this works perfectly, and I feel that this was exactly how things were supposed to go, but I was and still am dreadfully curious about (view spoiler)[Kell's past (hide spoiler)]. I guess that's just something I'll have to live with. (See how hard I'm trying not to hope?)➽ I could try to put into words what I feel for this series, I could put my thinking cap on and make countless attempts, and still I would get nowhere. There simply are no words. I can only redirect you to my review of A Darker Shade of Magic and my review of A Gathering of Shadows, and hope they'll make my point a little clearer. Because believe me, you want to pick this series up. Of course, afterwards you'll want to kill me for introducing you to the most addictive obsession (?) of your life. But I'm more than confident that you'll also want to thank me. And until then, anoshe.
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    February 22, 2017
    In case you had any doubts...THIS BOOK WAS SHEER FRIKKIN PERFECTION AND I'M A DAMAGED MESS. HI. I mean, how do I even review this. I don't think I really will?? I don't want to give spoilers. I just want to say (a) VE Schwab is a writing queen and wonder, (b) this is exactly what a series conclusion should be like, (c) i hurt man i hurt so bad in the best possible way, and (d) it was perfecccccccccccccctttttttt.SMALL LIST OF THINGS I LOVE• Kell's coat. I'm not saying this lightly, it is literall In case you had any doubts...THIS BOOK WAS SHEER FRIKKIN PERFECTION AND I'M A DAMAGED MESS. HI. I mean, how do I even review this. I don't think I really will?? I don't want to give spoilers. I just want to say (a) VE Schwab is a writing queen and wonder, (b) this is exactly what a series conclusion should be like, (c) i hurt man i hurt so bad in the best possible way, and (d) it was perfecccccccccccccctttttttt.SMALL LIST OF THINGS I LOVE• Kell's coat. I'm not saying this lightly, it is literally my favourite character• KELL'S COATTTTTT• the romance was like A++++ and didn't overpower but yet was excellent• my ships <3• I mean I ship myself with Kell's coat tbh but let's not talk about that• magical objects. magical objects everywhere• the light of my life is Kell and Alcurd bickering because they are old cranky women who don't like to share Rhy apparently• Lila showing love by stabbing people• sass in times of strife• black magic, black magic everywhere• the way the book can hurt so fiercely by damaging/taking away things the characters love so their pain is your pain and it's 10000 x worse than anything• Holland who is a precious cinnamon muffin and should not suffer so• literally me right now to Holland = <3 <3 <3 <3• everything• i loved everything let's just get it out thereSPOILERS ABOUT THE ENDING:(view spoiler)[Look I'm SO happy all my darlings survived but in a completely damaged way so THAT'S EXACTLY WHAT I'M HERE FOR. Like Rhy and Alcurd get to be together but Rhy is such a damaged rainbow sunshine of now darkness due to being 90% magic and only 10% Rhy. So it's PAIN but I'm HAPPY. And Kell can't use magic without hurting = I'm a cry wreck how are you. But he gets to see the world with Lila. Lila gets to be a pirate and...okay tbh I don't think Lila lost anything in this? She gets a ship, she gets to throw knives at Kell anytime she wants because they're in LURVE, and she gets to have adventure. True winner of ACOL = LilaSummary of the book = fucking magicThings that made me cry: HOLLAND THE PRECIOUS LAMB. <3 He was so so so so tired and I was so so so so crying. He got to just go home and die. I mean. I can't even. I love Holland. Best antihero of them all. He didn't deserve this. But he got to be at peace.Other Things That Made Me Cry: how Rhy's father went out to die and told the guards to hold Rhy back and they had to punch him to the floor to hold him back from his papa dear and I just. I JUST. I can't. I think my feels unravelled right there. See??? You don't have to kill Rhy to hurt. You just kill what he loves and you hurt. (hide spoiler)]BASICALLY THERE IS SO MUCH STABBING AND BLOOD AND MAGIC AND IT IS 100% EVERYTHING I LOVE IN A BOOK. This is my all time favourite series omg (apart from The Raven Cycle) and it's perfect and HURTS and I've never loved characters quite as much as I love Kell and Rhy. <3 <3 <3Also FYI: my hardcover preorder arrived damaged so if that's not a metaphor I don't know what is."You think this is a bad idea?""Without a doubt.""Then why are you smiling?""Because," she said, "bad ideas are my favourite kind.""So Osaron is just a piece of magic with an ego?" asked Rhy.Kell's gaze shifted to the bed, sheets rumpled where Alucurd had been lying moments before. "Taking your task seriously, I see.""Quite.""I told you to keep him safe, not cuddle."Alucard spread his hands behind him on the sheets. "I'm more than capable of multitasking." "What have you done?" demanded Kell."It was just a tonic, sir," he fumbled, "something for sleep.""You drugged her?""It was Tieren's order," said Hastra, chastised. "He said she was mad and stubborn and no use to us dead." Hastra lowered his voice when he said this, mimciking Tieren's tone with startling accuracy."And what do you plan to do when she wakes back up?"Hastra shranks back. "Apologise?"Kell made an exasperated sound as Lila nuzzled -- actually nuzzled -- his shoulder."I suggest," he snapped at the young man, "you think of something better. Like an escape route."(My favourite quote but it might be a bit spoilery so I'll tag it)(view spoiler)["And come back," added Rhy.Kell paused. "Don't worry," he said. "I will. Once I've seen it.""Seen what?" asked Rhy.Kell smiled. "Everything. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    February 25, 2017
    LORD HAVE MERCY! THIS BOOK!I was so afraid to go into it because I just knew everyone was going to die and that would be it, THEN END! Yes, people died. Yes, I let out some tears at parts. Yes, it was amaze balls. Yes, there was a lot of blood and violence. Yes, there was evil and magic and good. YES! YES! YES! I love Rhy, Kell, Lila and Alucard so much. I even started to love ole Holland. There are other side people too. ❤There is so much stuff going on. It starts right out of the gate and just LORD HAVE MERCY! THIS BOOK!I was so afraid to go into it because I just knew everyone was going to die and that would be it, THEN END! Yes, people died. Yes, I let out some tears at parts. Yes, it was amaze balls. Yes, there was a lot of blood and violence. Yes, there was evil and magic and good. YES! YES! YES! I love Rhy, Kell, Lila and Alucard so much. I even started to love ole Holland. There are other side people too. ❤There is so much stuff going on. It starts right out of the gate and just doesn't really stop. Maybe a break here and there but not too much. I think this was a perfect ending to this trilogy. And I love that Lila is a [email protected] woman in the book! I love when author's add a woman that can kick arse and take names. "Tell you what, " said the first attacker. "If you beg, we'll make it quick."Lila's blood sang the way it always did before a fight, clear and bright and hungry. "And why," she said, "would I want to rush your deaths?""Cocky bitch," growled the second. "I'm gonna fu--"Her knife hissed through the air and embedded itself in his throat. Blood spilled down his front as he clawed at his neck and toppled forward, and she made it under the next man's guard before the body hit the ground, driving her serrated blade up through his chin before the first blow caught her, a fist to the jaw. She went down hard, spitting blood into the street. Heat coursed through her limbs as a hand grabbed her by the hair and hauled her to her feed, a knife under her chin. "Any last words?" asked the man with the rotting teeth. Lila held up her hands, as if in surrender, before flashing a vicious smile. "Tyger, Tyger," she said, and the fire roared to life. If you haven't read this trilogy and have been wanting to, I suggest you get on it because it's freaking awesome! Anoshe. MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List
    more
  • Kai
    September 3, 2015
    “Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you.” Victoria Schwab is my favourite. I've read every one of her books, from The Archived to The Near Witch, This Savage Song and Vicious. Alright, not the middle grade/childrens books, but I feel like I'm a little too old for that.I love her. She is one amazing, badass author. She has such a beautiful mind, she writes the most fantastic, dark and thrilling stories. She is truly unique and I'm so excite “Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you.” Victoria Schwab is my favourite. I've read every one of her books, from The Archived to The Near Witch, This Savage Song and Vicious. Alright, not the middle grade/childrens books, but I feel like I'm a little too old for that.I love her. She is one amazing, badass author. She has such a beautiful mind, she writes the most fantastic, dark and thrilling stories. She is truly unique and I'm so excited what the future holds for her (and for her readers).It may not come as a surprise when I tell you that the Shades of Magic series is one of my favourites as well. The concept alone is stunning. ADSOM swept me off my feet. In AGOS I lost my heart to Rhy and Alucard (I lost it to Rhy in ADSOM already, but a heart can be lost more then once when it's Rhy).I had the highest of hopes for this finale. Maybe slightly too high. I think I scared myself a little. And while I loved the book it didn't take me by storm. I think it's one of those "It isn't you, it's me!" cases because I can't find anything wrong with this book. I'm just not in love with it the way I'm in love with book 1 and 2.Writing a conclusion to a series is hard. It happens so (so so so) often that I'm 100% thrilled by a series and then 100% disappointed with the last book. Only a few authors manage to make the finale as great or even better than the prequels. Two rare examples are J.K. Rowling and Nora Sakavic. Even Leigh Bardugo and Maggie Stiefvater can't always convince me and they are two incredible writers.So what happened here? Why was I hesitating to pick this book up, when I was desperately pining for it for a whole year? What was I scared of? Yup, you guessed it: Disappointment.In the end the pacing was great, but some plot twists felt superfluous, unnecessary. Red London is in a state of panic and destruction. Osaron is the most powerful evil black magician ever. There is no time for anything but battle preparation. And the three most powerful magicians, the three people who are truly capable of destroying Osaron leave the country for several days? I'm not sure that's very realistic. There were several situations like this, some where I thought that they could have been left out of the book entirely and nothing would have changed except for the page count. In the end, a smaller page count and a more crafted and comprimised plot would have improved the book and left me more satisfied.This fantasy world also lost some of it's magic. Book 1 was so special and creative, book 2 introduced us to new cultures and characters, but book 3 didn't have this original and simply magical feeling to it anymore. Something went missing along the way. Even my favourite ship (Rhylucard) was less exciting than before.Luckily Victoria's writing is on point. Here dialouges are simply really good and so is the world she created. I'm also glad that Lila finally got a grip and got off this ego trip that she was on in AGOS. She annoyed me to hell and back.I couldn't give this book 5 stars even if I wanted to and 3 stars would have been the understatement of the year, but 4 stars feel just right.Victoria Schwab deserves a break. She is writing books like a madwoman and her books are intense and nervewracking and probably a hard pierce of work for the author. And while I can't wait for Vengeful and Our Dark Duet I just want to say thank you so much for the wonderful stories you share with us. You are truly awesome.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Pragya
    September 19, 2016
    Patient Name: Pragya Maresh BardStatus: DEADCause of death: Unknown; possible sources: V.E. SchwabSymptoms: Screaming; thrashing; crying profusely; repeatedly muttering lila bard Diagnosis: WHAT THE FUCK I AM DEAD HOLY SHITSANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT S Patient Name: Pragya Maresh BardStatus: DEADCause of death: Unknown; possible sources: V.E. SchwabSymptoms: Screaming; thrashing; crying profusely; repeatedly muttering lila bard Diagnosis: WHAT THE FUCK I AM DEAD HOLY SHITSANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT SANCT WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD Delilah Bard:He said she was mad and stubborn and no use to us dead - an accurate summary of lila bard by tieren, head priest and knower of things “You think this is a bad idea,” he said. It wasn’t a question. But it sparked something in Lila, rekindled the fire in her eyes and ignited a grin. “Without a doubt.”“Then why are you smiling?”“Because,” she said, “bad ideas are my favorite kind.” It’s no secret (if you know me at all) that I identify as Lila Trash™, and @allthehaters, here's a list of reasons why LILA BARD IS AWESOME AND YOU'RE WRONG:1. SHE SINGLE HANDEDLY RESCUED KELL FROM A PARALLEL UNIVERSE FROM A CAGE PROTECTED BY THE SHARPEST KNIGHT IN WHITE LONDON2. She's fucking badass.3. She's Lila Bard and she doesn't give a damn.My friend (who hated Lila) said she wasn't as annoying in this book. And I suppose, in a sense it's true - she went through a hell lot of character development. She hated goodbyes, but she said them. She hated caring, but she cared anyway. She wanted to run, but she stayed anyway. These subtle changes were far more powerful than any words could be. If book #1 was Kell and book #2 was Lila, this was Holland. Holland, who V.E. Schwab ships with sadness. Holland, who lost everything but still fought for his world. Holland, who broke my heart because FUCK NOBODY DESERVES SO MUCH PAIN. The bodies piled. Athos watched. Astrid grinned. Holland’s hand moved on its puppet string. And his mind screamed until it finally lost its voice. - Kell x Lila: They kiss so much?? Honestly I should have kept count of how many times they kiss because they’re rushing off to danger every two seconds and just kiss before all the time just for luck you know - also LILA ALMOST DIED and kell breaks apart and jfc he carries her back and hugs her and MY HEART - Rhylucard: I SHIP THEM SO MUCH. SO DAMN MUCH. - I swear, 75% of my highlights from this book are rhylucard moments because they're so precious honestly “Luc?” rasped Rhy.“I’m here,” answered Alucard. “I’m here. Stay with me.”He tried to speak, but his heart slammed against his ribs as if trying to break through.It redoubled, then faltered. - He woke up and called him luc my heart is over he was dying and what he thought of what said was luc jfc Alucard clutched his lover’s hand. - HE CALLED HIM HIS LOVER I AM DEAD I AM DYING - THE WORLD WENT TO HELL AND YOU KNOW WHAT ALUCARD’S REACTION WAS: All that mattered - all that would ever matter - was this.Rhy was alive. - I mean, how can you not cry reading that?- OH MY GOD I FOUND RHYLUCARD FANART I'M SCREAMINGAlso can we talk about Kell on Rhylucard & Alucard walking in on Kell and Lila because it's the best thing ever: - I love Protective Kell™ so much “I told you to keep him safe, not cuddle” - also this: “Kell,” she said, the word something between a whisper and a gasp. And then the door burst open. Alucard stood in the doorway, soaking wet, as if he’d just been dumped in the sea, or the sea had been dumbed over him. “Stop fucking with the ship.” - I have never laughed so much in my lifeThis book is a monster. Actually - V.E. Schwab is a monster. A beautiful cold hearted monster who will stop at nothing less than my death. Well? There you have it. A GODAMM PERFECT ENDING. This is why I run. Because caring was a thing with claws. It sank them in, and didn’t let go. Caring hurt more than a knife to the leg, motor then anything that bled or broke and healed again. Caring didn’t break you clean. It was a bone that didn’t set, a cut that wouldn’t close. VERDICT: VICTORIA SCHWAB HAS SHATTERED ME AND I DON'T KNOW IF I'LL EVER BE FINE. WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT EVERYBODY ON THIS PLANET NEEDS THIS TRILOGY IN THERE LIFE. pre-review(s) because I'm trash lmao update: IT'S HERE OH MY GOD I'M SCARED TO ACTUALLY READ IT WTFanother update because I CAN'T CONTAIN MY EXCITEMENT WHAT IS THIS LIFE I NEED THIS BUT I CAN'T READ IT will probably skip school and read it the second it comes out because yes I'm Trash honestly I've never wanted anything in my life so much?? ALSO I HEARD THERE'S DEATH I WILL SUE IF THERE'S DEATH(messages from me to may and honestly i'm mad because nobody's as excited for this as I am HELLO IT'LL BE THE END OF AN ERA) (also i feel like it's been a lot of time since I said this but I LOVE LILA BARD just an update)Do you know what I just realised? (yes this is an update because I thought I was ready, guess what I'M NOT)This book releases in 18 days.Which is to say, 432 hours.259200 minutes.15552000 seconds till we get more Kell and Lila and Alucard and Rhy.I know it's not accurate. Fight me.
    more
  • Emily Fox
    March 6, 2017
    I was incredibly excited to read the last book in this series and wow was it action packed. Almost too much if that's possible. I definitely enjoyed it (and recommend it!) but it wasn't as good as the two other ones in my opinion. I overall liked how things were wrapped up at the end but I felt like Lila's character was a bit one-dimensional.More in my wrap up at the end of the month!
    more
  • Kainat Ijaz 《UNPOPULAR OPINION ALERT》
    April 13, 2016
    Fangirls, take a seat on the right side.Haters, take a seat on the left. Thank you so very much! Now please wait patiently for me to figure out who I'm going to join.
  • rin
    December 21, 2015
    Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe. Anoshe brought Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe. Anoshe brought solace. And hope. And the strength to let go. me: *slams fist on table* time to write acol reviewinner me: you can't write a serious one even if they paid youinner me: you're going to babble and yell incoherentlyinner me: it would be full of cringeinner me: and you will also cryme: *slams two fists on table* THATS THE PLANI HONESTLY DONT KNOW WHERE TO START. SO MANY FEELINGS.acol is a beautiful conclusion of one of my most favorite book series and i spent 10 minutes crying because it's over. i can't easily let my favorite characters and one of my favorite worlds go.i pulled an allnighter to read this book, i binge read it for 11 hours, had like 2 hours of sleep in two days, paced around my flat like a fucking zombie numb and empty after i finished it and I REGRET NOTHING. i loved this book so much!!! it's so intense, action-packed and glorious. i enjoyed the story and all characters interactions and i WISH it would've been longer (even tho its 600+ pages lmao)this book made me cry so fucking much though. like, i don't cry easily and GODDAMN IT VICTORIA why. acol made me feel so many things, it made me laugh, made me cry, made me so worried sometimes, i felt like dying. sometimes it was SO FUCKING CREEPY and sometimes it was so FLUFFY. also JEEZ there was no relaxing, something good happens and you're like 'oh phew' and then you turn the page AND SHIT HITS YOU IN THE FACE. pls give me a break????i'm very sad that the story has ended but at the same time im very happy. A Conjuring of Light may mark the end of one adventure, but remember: when it comes to this world, new doors are always being made.- Victoria Schwab!!!!!!!!!!everything further contains spoilers which i won't mark as spoilers so PLEASE don't read it further if you haven't read the book yet!!!!!!!!!!listen, i expected it to be cool, but it was way cooler??? but what's with this KILLING SPREE. remember when victoria was like oh this book is 35% death and i was like phew it doesnt sound so bad AND THEN THIS BOOK MURDERED LIKE EVERY SIDE CHARACTER I CARED ABOUT AND I WAS LIKE WHAT THE FUCK VICTORIA. i cried the hardest at calla's death, maxim's death, hastra's death (omg i cant even think abt it without tearing up??? he thought he was a bad guard and then he saved kell and,,,,send help why did my tiny son die he should've been a priest but then kell might've died WHY) AND HOLLAND'S DEATH (i knew holland would die and i knew he would die like he did (finally free and calm but JESUS. FUCKING. CHRIST. i didn't know i have so many tears in me). “Death comes for us all,” said Holland evenly. “I would simply have mine mean something.” about holland though. for me he was the highlight of this book. i didn't like him in the first book and then agos happened and i softened to him BUT IN THIS FUCKING BOOK HE JUST BROKE MY HEART SO MANY TIMES MY SOFT SPOT FOR HIM IS THE SIZE OF OUR UNIVERSE. he got a redemption arc and this redemption arc is 9138483/10, his backstory made me cry so many times (like, his brother tried to kill him when he was a little boy???? a girl he loved and was happy with tried to kill him?? his best friend was killed and he couldn't save him??? he was tortured and captured and he couldn't do anything about it but just count his kills (i will never stop crying that he did it) and suffer??? and then it happened again after he just got free??? my poor tortured soN, i wanted to tuck him in the bed and cover him with all the blankets i have). i loved his interaction with kell so much and i loved holland so much and i can't convey my emotions about him in the text because DAMMIT he's totally the best character of this book and one of the best antagonists-but-not-really i've ever read about and can i have more characters like holland pretty please. i fucking started bawling when he trapped osaron and then i kept sobbing when he woke up and i couldn't stop weeping when he died because i knew it would happen and in a way it was a perfect ending for him (he died and his world lived and that is what he always desired and awknfaliefn im dead) but DAMN IT HURTS. Lila met Holland’s gaze, expecting—maybe even hoping—to find that cold, implacable calm, perhaps tinged with disgust. Instead, she found shades of sadness, loss. And somehow, strength. The strength to go on. To try again. To trust. i loved INTERACTIONS in this book so much.kell and rhy are forever my most favorite brother duo. they love and care about each other so much i would die for them.rhy and alucard are two idiots in love and i hope they're forever happy. alucard's backstory is so horrible (i cant believe his brother survived but good people didnt wtf can he jump off a cliff thank u very much nobody needs him) and i'm so happy that rhy understood and forgave him and wjskfeafjsklfskl pls be happy.kell and lila (!!!!!!!!!!!!!). i shipped them from the very beginning AND THEY FINALLY GOT TOGETHER AND THEY'RE SOOO CUUUUTEEE. i love kell and lila and their relationship and the fact that kell would rather shoot himsef in the head than trust her (jk). i love how they're different but they complete each other in their own way. i love that the series wasn't really focused on their romance, but it's still enough and it's beautiful and i want to cri. also kell is very efficient teacher isnt he. Ned stared at her with open awe. “You’re like him.”“No,”said Kell dryly, striding past him. “She’s one of a kind.” kell and alucard gave me life with their bickering.kell and holland!!!!!!!!!!! good shit right here!!!!!!!!!! kell cared about holland and i cried at this and i wish it was different between them, like, holland is so older brother material for kell and AAAAAAAAAAAAA. and holland, too, was pretty fond of kell here i think. and i want to weep again because it could've been so much more.ALSO THE SQUAD aka kell, rhy, lila and alucard. omg how much i loved that scene when they drank together and their interactions overall AND I WISH THERE WERE MORE because damn this is the squad i can read hours about.THE THREE ANTARI. one of the best things that happened in this book. i wanted this from the very beginning and YESSSS kell, lila and holland finally worked together AND HOLLAND WAS THE ANCHOR, THE CENTER and this is perfect??? Lila looked to Kell. “You didn’t teach me this one.”His jaw was slack. “I …I didn’t know it.”Holland gave them both a bland look. “Amazing,”he said dryly. “There are still things you haven’t learned.” i loved all characters in this book, and thanks to victoria schwab for creating them and i cant believe i have to say good bye to them.*cries externally**cries internally**cries eternally*as i already said im pretty satisfied with the closure. but i'm not satisfied with complete lack of backstory for lila. like, kell's parents thing was at least acknowledged, holland got a decent backstory that i will never stop crying about, but lila got nothing. i wanted to know more about her from the very beginning of the series and we didn't even get glimpses into her past. (i also don't understand how she almost died when kell said 93289894 times in adsom that antari are almost invincible and it's really hard, almost impossible to kill them and then bam lila could've died if holland didn't heal her. i understand that her wound was fatal but idk). pretty much only issues i have with this book tho.overall, for me this book was perfect. fast, intense and exciting. i wish it weren't the end.pls hold me while im crying12108392810293/10 It wasn’t a good-bye, not really. What was the word for parting? Anoshe.That was it. Until another day. Anoshe.~~~~~~~did i finish this book or did this book finish me?fyi i spent last two parts fucking bawlingmy pillow is wet my nose is running my eyes are dry i feel empty and dead inside i need a hugrtc hopefully~~~~~~~pre-reading:*new updates are posted in the beginningfirst of all, is this holland vs danes twins flashbacksecond, WILL thERE BE A MOMENT WHERE HOLLAND DOENST GET HURT JESUS~~~WHY R U SO CRUEL STOP TORTURING ME @VESCHWAB~~~im dead dead dead dying dead dead deceased14 days until acol im yelling~~~#GiveHollandABreak#HollandProtectionSquadwhat has become of this review~~~(src Victoria's twitter)H E L L O :-)~~~HI GUYS I AM SCREAMING YOURE WELCOME TO JOIN ME*yells*~~~i love how alucard cant stop antagonizing kell50 days YAy~~~TELL ME ITS ABOUT HOLLAND IT MUST BE ABOUT HOLLAND RIGHT~~~this is also very beautiful i have feelings™ ~~~hnnnng~~~my precious girl i miss her so much~~~:D~~~9/10/16AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAK E L L L A U G H E D my baby~~~8/10/16;А;~~~15/09/16ACOL'S FIRST SNIPPET Y'ALL~~~10/06/16i am fine this is fine i aM NOT FINE HOW AM I SUPPOSED TO WAIT UNTIL FEBRUARY VICTORIA IS SO CRUEL(i am trying to prepare for my exam which is tomorrow AND SHE DROPS THAT)~~~23/05/16  How was she supposed to fight a woman whose knives didn’t even stay in her hands?The answer, of course, was simple: the same way she fought anyone else.Quick and dirty. THE COVER IS SO BEAUTIFUL OH MY GOD SO GORGEOUS I'M HYPERVENTILATING THE EXCERPT ALSO!!!! Lila being badass while saving Kell! SIGN ME UP!!!!!!How are we supposed to WAIT UNTIL FEBRUARY~~~28/04/16IT HAS A RELEASE DATE!! FEBRUARY 21, 2017!!~~~20/04/16IT HAS A TITLE~~~17/04/2016IS IT RHYLUCARD
    more
  • Destini Mia~ ♕ Sassy Lassie
    April 20, 2016
    .:: UPDATE 05/25/16 ::. THAT. FUCKING. COVER.THAT. FUCKING. EXCERPT.JUST GOINGTO CASUALLY LEAVE THISHERE
  • Piera Forde
    February 20, 2017
    A truly beautiful ending to an incredible series. Schwab never disappoints and this book, as well as the first two, were phenomenal.
  • Nastassja
    February 24, 2017
    In myths, the hero survives.The evil is vanquished.The world is set right.Sometimes there are celebrations, and sometimes there are funerals.The dead are buried. The living move on.Nothing changes.Everything changes.This is a myth.This is not a myth. It feels like the whole era just ended with this book. I am so sad... I can't deny that through out the years Shades of Magic became one of my favorite series as it is for many other people, I am sure. Moreover, knowing how many people actually lov In myths, the hero survives.The evil is vanquished.The world is set right.Sometimes there are celebrations, and sometimes there are funerals.The dead are buried. The living move on.Nothing changes.Everything changes.This is a myth.This is not a myth. It feels like the whole era just ended with this book. I am so sad... I can't deny that through out the years Shades of Magic became one of my favorite series as it is for many other people, I am sure. Moreover, knowing how many people actually love these books makes it even more endearing: we all read these books together, discussed them together, waited for the next book to come out together - we were one big family spreading our shared love for this trilogy. So it is indeed really hard to say good-bye to something that became a huge part of one's life. But as much as I want to gush over how much I love Shades of Magic (hence my 4 stars rating), I can't ignore the issues I had with ACOL. So I guess it's unpopular opinion time! *BEWARE THE SPOILERS AHEAD!*•The whole time I was reading the book, one thought never left my mind: Schwab could've done better. She can do better (see ADSOM, Vicious). Some plot gaps I cannot label as anything but lazy writing. At times it felt as if the author was trying to fill the space between the pages with anything only to prolong the story, to fulfill her plan of writing a 600+ pages book. As agile and intense was the beginning of the book, as boring and sagging was the middle part with characters playing a game of capture the enemy flag: one character would venture outside the walls to save a person or two, come back, pass the baton to the next character who ventures outside to do stuff, and round and round we go. Maybe I am harsh with my critic, but it is Schwab and she can do better.•I had no fear that any of the MCs could die before the finish line. The first indicator of that was Rhy's near-death in the beginning. Now, if Schwab dared to kill a main character on the first pages, that would've thoroughly frightened me and made me believe that no one is safe. But after she revived Rhy, the bells in my mind were ringing first signs of my no-one-dies-till-the-end suspicion. The second indicator was the alarming amount of secondary characters dying. Now, it's a universally known fact: make characters suffer and go through hell by killing everyone around them, and it'd be enough for not actually killing the main ones. Don't get me wrong, I don't have problems with no one dying in a book, I am more a happy ending kind of girl, but as we are all aware Schwab killed one character in the end, and the way she did it felt somehow wrong to me? Unfair. But Kell knew he couldn’t break Holland.Holland was already broken. It showed, not in the scars, but in the way he spoke, the way he held himself in the face of pain, too well acquainted with its shape and scale. He was a man hollowed out long before Osaron, a man with no fear and no hope and nothing to lose. •Holland was, without doubt, the most developed and multilayered character in this book. I was beyond happy to finally learn his story and what shaped him into a person we know today. But what I will never accept is how others treated him: as if everything's his fault. Come one, Holland is actually the victim here, he had no choice to do what he's done. “I keep wondering,” Kell said softly, “if all of it is my fault. Where does it start, Tieren?” He looked up. “With Holland’s choice, or with mine?”The priest looked at him, eyes bright within his tired face, and shook his head. For once, the old man didn’t seem to have the answer. Anyone would be the same or worse if they spent 7 years in sheer torture with no choice but to obey. Imagine Lila in such situation: she'd probably throw knives and anyone she'd see on the street. No one can shame Holland for wanting a better fate for his home. And it angered me a lot when Lila blamed him for killing people, as if she haven't killed enough herself. Hypocrite much? But my issues don't end here: after everything that Holland done to atone for his crimes and help save everyone, he just dies. Like really? He lost his power, for god's sake, wasn't it sad enough, now you had to go and finish him off, Schwab?! He was the most tortured character, his suffering never stopped, and, of course, he was the obvious candidate to die in the end. Again, I wish no one died or if Holland died than someone else should've died, so it wouldn't feel like he was the ultimate sacrificial lamb, always ready to die so everyone else could drive into sunset together.UPD: After discussing Holland's situation with my friends, I think I am kind of ready to see a point in his death, or, at least, I am not that angry as I was before: I am trying to accept his death. The thing that makes me breath lighter is that Holland was the only true King of his London, and when he was dying, his home finally begun to come to life. Plus I can't deny that his death was done, though, sadly but beautifully. •Osaron was one of the most caricature villains I've ever encountered in a book. When we first met him in Holland's body he was ten times more interesting than in his pure form. After all he's just a magic incarnate and all ne wanted is for people to kneel and obey. Moreover, he only reacted when characters were making a move; it's like: action-counteraction, otherwise Osaron was just sitting there, waiting for characters to do something. With his amount of power he could've conquered them all a long time ago, wasn't it too convenient that no matter how long it'd take characters to make a plan, Osaron would sit in his castle and wait for them to come to him? Or wasn't it convenient that he only decided to attack the castle after almost four days after characters' depurate when they were already on their way back to save the day? Come one, it was too predictable!• Other things that bothered me a little: like when Rhy ventured to Osaron's castle to do what exactly? He knew he couldn't stop him, he knew he had no magic and would only create for Kell more problems, because Kell would hurry to save his brother, let alone the fact that Kell feels Rhy's pain and that was not the best timing for any distractions, because Kell had a grand Antari battle to fight, which would be hard to fight added with Rhy's pain. Of course, there's always an option of grieve, after all Rhy just lost both parents and grieve makes people do reckless things, but he still should've understood Kell was counting on him to act reasonably, not recklessly. Or when king Maxim spent all his magic to create some kind of warriors to divert Osaron's attention for like five seconds? What was the purpose of that if not to create one big drama of the king dying and subsequently proving once more that killing secondary characters preserves the main ones from dying. I am not saying it wasn't sad and I didn't feel sorry for Rhy after loosing his parents, but the whole thing felt like unnecessary plot device, that's it. • Alucard/Rhy disappointment. They were everything in AGOS, and I hoped for more more of their shared scenes in ACOL. But what we've got instead? Drama. Miscommunication drama, because the author needed to stall time till the end of the story and then make a grand reunion scene. And where was the chemistry from book 2? These two felt like strangers in this book. • One more thing that is more my personal feelings than an actual flaw: Rhy's parents and Kell's relationship. I never liked the king and the queen. I never liked how they treated Kell, and, honestly, the queen's attempts to show that she cared for Kell did not impress me, because she never denied that she valued Kell because he protected Rhy, and even more so now when Rhy physically depends on Kels' well-being. Call me cold-bloodied but hers, Oh Kell, you will always be my son, felt false to me. Isn't it a little bit late for that, dear mother queen? You should've cared when Kell needed your love so he wouldn't feel like a thing whose only purpose is to protect the princeling. I understand that some of the above issues or all of them weren't a problem for other people to enjoy the story. I'd like to miss them too, but when you buddy-read a book and discuss everything, it's almost impossible not to notice every detail there is. Now, I don't feel like the things above utterly destroyed my perception of this story; I still feel pretty strong about the whole thing and would like to dedicate the next part of my review to discussing the things I actually loved about ACOL. So here's THE GOOD STUFF:• Holland and Kell's interactions made me want for these two to ride into sunset together. There were moments of utter cuteness between them, and I especially appreciated when Kell found it in himself to understand Holland and take his side when others attacked Holland. I can't also ignore the trio of Antari working together. They were super cool in the finale battle, don't you think? Lila looked to Kell. “You didn’t teach me this one.”His jaw was slack. “I … I didn’t know it.”Holland gave them both a bland look. “Amazing,” he said dryly. “There are still things you haven’t learned.” Ahaha, Holland is such a nerd! • Kell was more confident and sexy (?) in this part. He was always my favorite character and I was pretty upset how Rhy's parents or Rhy for than matter treated him in book 2. Kell was not himself, and it was so sad, and it felt like there was not enough Kell at all. My goodness, how happy I am that finally I got my Kell back and even an improved model of Kell *wiggles brows* And my happiness in infinite, because he finally got to go on adventure! It was everything I wanted for him from the start: to finally be free and live his life. I couldn't wish for a better outcome for my dear Kell.• Surprisingly Lila was less annoying in this part, and I can't believe I am saying that but I actually liked her. She showed us her more tender, feminine side and, yes, sometimes she still was an arrogant ass, and I still want to punch her in the face for treating Holland poorly, but the fact she understood her mistakes was a big step in her character-development. And I can't deny I liked her and Kell together. They were so cute, really. “And then his arms were folding around her, and in that small gesture, she understood, felt it down to her bones, that draw, not the electric pulse of power but the thing beneath it, the weight she'd never understood. In a world where everything rocked and swayed and fell away, this was solid ground.Safe.” • Finally we saw Rhy growing up and becoming a man and a ruler who learns to make hard decisions. When his mother died and he couldn't protect her was one of the saddest moments ever. My heart hurt for him, but I also loved that Rhy didn't seek vengeance, didn't turn into a hard person who locks his feelings inside. I guess we can thank Kell and Alucard for that, if he didn't have them, he'd probably remind us more of Holland: hurt and alone.• Though I still believe Holland's death was absolutely de trop, I am happy Kell, Rhy, Lila and Alucard got their happily after. When I was reading epilogue, I already missed the characters and felt nostalgic about everything that happened on the pages of the whole trilogy. It was a good ending for a great adventure. I've heard rumors there might be more books (spin-off maybe), and I am not sure how I feel about that, but if the book ever happens, I wouldn't be able to say no to it.✔ Shades of magic will always be special for me, and I will gladly come back, time and again, to the world of four Londons, black-eyed boys and brazen pirates; the world that gave me so many happy and sad moments, it's impossible to say good-bye to it, to let it go. Especially now that we still have unanswered questions like, what about Kell's past and Lila's debt to the creepy lady-pirate? In any way, it's good to have a backdoor that will lead us back into the world of magic if ever the magician V.E. Schwab opens it for us. Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe.Anoshe brought solace. And hope. And the strength to let go.”Buddy-read with my Antari team: Julia, my grumpy Antari and brain-sister, with whom we shared many amazing hours of rumblings about this book & Vira, who was late to the party, but she'll make it to the finish line soon! And Kat, we missed you, our precious Antari-buddy <3Special thanks to Nouf and Kristalia - my support team after I finished the book <3And go read Simona's BEAUTIFUL review. This Antari knows a way with words <3Also, go check Sarah's brilliant review. This Antari knows how to be serious and funny at the same time :D
    more
  • April
    March 20, 2017
    Okay, I'm a mess inside. Nope. This series is not over. Never the less this book was such a perfect wrap to this series. It was beautiful and heartbreaking. Definitely deserves all the stars. "Anoshe - until another day."
  • Brad
    March 7, 2017
    The third definitely has a very good and satisfying end. :)It's pretty much an epic ride and destruction of Kell's homeland, with the demon of chaos and magic running rampant and generally being smarter than the rest of the characters as well as being a lot more powerful. I was sitting on the edge of my seat to see just how our heroes would pull off a fix or even if there could be a fix.It is definitely hard to pull off a good end with a series like this, but I'm happy to say that the author doe The third definitely has a very good and satisfying end. :)It's pretty much an epic ride and destruction of Kell's homeland, with the demon of chaos and magic running rampant and generally being smarter than the rest of the characters as well as being a lot more powerful. I was sitting on the edge of my seat to see just how our heroes would pull off a fix or even if there could be a fix.It is definitely hard to pull off a good end with a series like this, but I'm happy to say that the author does it, wrapping up so many loose ends and even addressing the original first book's trick by forcing us down the path of a truly hard fix. And it was hard. And painful. There were deaths.I definitely don't have any complaints. :) I really enjoyed this book. It has quite the pathos, great action, and tons of magic and, of course, many destructions of all, or almost all, Londons. :)What more can we ask for? We all love to see London burn, don't we? :)I totally recommend for story and character and all the magical goodness. :)
    more
  • мαүғℓσωεя
    February 20, 2017
    ANOSHE How do you review a book that has reached every expectation and more?How do you review a book that has built a world that you want to live in?How do you review a book that has constructed characters so complex that they could live in real life?How do you review this book with its 600+ pages all filled with pain, heartbreak, friendship, love, action, and death, so MUCH DEATH?The answer. . . you don’t. I’m trying to imagine myself as best friends with Lila Bard and it’s making me really ANOSHE How do you review a book that has reached every expectation and more?How do you review a book that has built a world that you want to live in?How do you review a book that has constructed characters so complex that they could live in real life?How do you review this book with its 600+ pages all filled with pain, heartbreak, friendship, love, action, and death, so MUCH DEATH?The answer. . . you don’t. I’m trying to imagine myself as best friends with Lila Bard and it’s making me really happy. V. E. Schwab has really outdone herself with this book (no, I’m seriously, why did you do this to me?) it’s action packed and hilarious and captivating and so bloody amazing that I just want to lie down and scream into my pillow for days (or until Kell and Lila make a door straight into my room – I don’t live in London though, dammit). A myth without a voice is like a dandelion without a breath of wind.No way to spread the seeds. ^^look at my sweet babies (I want these cardboard cutouts so badly omg)The characters have grown so much from the first books. I’m so proud of how far they’ve come and how selfless and caring they are. *wipes tears* She took in the map. Frowned.Lenos looked down at the parchment. “Nas teras,” he said softly. I don’t see it.The prince cocked his head. “Neither do I.”Lila leaned in. “Maybe you should draw an X, for dramatic effect.”Alucard blew out an indignant breath. “You’re quite an ungrateful bunch, you know that?” And Lila had cocked her head. “I was just thinking,” she’d said, “I should have killed you when I had the chance.”He’d raised a brow. “And I should have tossed you in the sea.” If that ain’t friendship #goals, I don’t know what is. I demand that Schwab refund me on my feels because I didn’t ask for this or FOR ANY OF THE DEATH THAT TOOK PLACE AND CRUSHED MY HEART BETWEEN ITS FINGERS.#HollandDeservesTheWorld#HollandProtectionSquad2K17#EndThePainI cannot speak of this book anymore than to say that it has ruined me forever and I can’t get over how fantastic it is and I just want Victoria Schwab to stop destroying my life. Plzandthx. “In myths, the hero survives.The evil is vanquished.The world is set right.Sometimes there are celebrations, and sometimes there are funerals.The dead are buried. The living move on.Nothing changes.Everything changes.This is a myth.This is not a myth.” 5 stars!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Buddy reading this CRAZILY ANTICIPATED book with this mess, Lila trash, Em, Sil, and Annie ❤
    more
  • Clara
    February 27, 2017
    ** 5 "PERFECT ENDING TO A GREAT SERIES" ! **I couldn't have imagined any better ending to this amazing series that now holds such a special place in my heart ! It was a very satisfying and brilliant conclusion, action-packed from beginning to end, with a strong and smart plot full of magic and fights, pirates and princes, and an overall atmosphere that felt dark and mesmerizing ! I never once got even slightly bored while reading it, and the some 620 pages were just pure bliss !Now, though I lov ** 5 "PERFECT ENDING TO A GREAT SERIES" ! **I couldn't have imagined any better ending to this amazing series that now holds such a special place in my heart ! It was a very satisfying and brilliant conclusion, action-packed from beginning to end, with a strong and smart plot full of magic and fights, pirates and princes, and an overall atmosphere that felt dark and mesmerizing ! I never once got even slightly bored while reading it, and the some 620 pages were just pure bliss !Now, though I loved this final book and its characters just as much as in the previous books, I still didn’t feel as strongly passionate about them as in book 1 and 2. Maybe it’s due to the fact that the book was told from so many different POV and with sometimes short chapters making it hard to recreate a strong connection to the characters when the POV kept changing or because it had been several months since I had read AGOS, idk. Don’t get me wrong though, I was still very much attached to them but I thought this final instalment was not as character driven, except for Holland but we’ll come back to him later ;)- Throughout the entire series, I thought Kell was a constant character, always staying true to himself. Since book 1, I have loved him and he remained the entire time my baby. I love how kind and selfless he is, especially when it comes to his beautiful and strong relationship with his brother, Rhy : he would always think about Rhy first, before thinking about himself, always watching out for him and making sure he’s okay. In this book, I also loved Kell’s behavior towards Holland, how he was the only one really trying to understand Holland and where he comes from, protecting him at all costs when everyone else (Lila and Alucard) were always threatening his life. - Speaking of Lila, she was as badass as in the previous books, still liked her very much, but I found I got annoyed at some point with her always being so reckless and stubborn , especially when it came to (view spoiler)[using her powers when she’s been Antari for all of 2 days (hide spoiler)], and never listening to Kell or Alucard’s advice. Also, I was irritated with her always wanting to kill Holland without trying to understand him and all he’s been through, it got really old at some point. (view spoiler)[ Thankfully, she redeemed herself towards the end when she finally felt shame after attacking Holland when he had actually saved her life !! (hide spoiler)]- As for Alucard , I thought he was the character that went the most unnoticed in this final book. I missed his cockiness from book 2 and thought his story revolved too much around his relationship with Rhy and nothing else. Once again, don’t get me wrong, I love Alucard-Rhy, but I wish his past and the reason he left Rhy had been more developed and in-depth. However, I have to say I was thrilled with his constant bickering with Kell !!- In the entire trilogy, Rhy might be the character that grew the most , in my opinion. I obviously love him, how he loves his city and its people, how he’s willing to die for them, showing he’ll be a great king. I still missed his old arrogance and lightness from book 1 and 2 though, but it’s quite understandable that he had to be more serious and mature in this one considering the circumstances. However, at times, I had a hard time really understanding his reckless and useless behavior like when (view spoiler)[he went to face Osaron on his own without any power or anything to defend himself, I didn’t really understand what he meant to do by that except getting hurt and worrying Kell even more (hide spoiler)] .- And finally, last but not least, Holland , for me the star of this book ! I have liked Holland since book 1, I mean I always love me some tortured and dark character who hides a hard past. I loved finally discovering Holland’s past, his story really broke my heart, but it helped understanding him better, and in the end, he turned out to be the character that made me feel the most in this final book. The ending especially was sad and heartbreaking, but at the same time beautiful (view spoiler)[when Kell brought him back to White London and Holland died peacefully at the place he considers home despite all the suffering he went through there and despite the fact that in the end, Holland couldn’t save his beloved city that he fought so much for : this moment broke my heart and got a tear out of me (hide spoiler)]. All in all, the characters - very diverse, mature, funny, deep and complex - and the world building - billiant, magical, complex and fascinating - are what made this whole series to me from the start. The series had such a way to hook me in its universe and its different Londons and ways of magic, it was such a delight each time to dive back into the world and its characters that I came to care so much about. I'm so sad this is the end and I'll never get back to this wonderful world and I have to leave the characters, but at the same time it was such a satisfying ending and I can't regret it !! Now, I can't wait to discover VE Schwab's other books which I'm sure will be as great a her Shade of Magic series !!
    more
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    March 9, 2017
    I'm so not ready for this to be over. I feel a book hangover coming on...all I want to do is reread the entire series again.
  • Wren | WrensReads
    March 7, 2017
    WrensReads Review:I AM GOING TO NEED A MINUTE..... and three days later, I took my minute. There is nothing wrong with anything that happens in these series. Everything is planned. Everything is beautiful and painful and wonderful. This is one of the best stories told in all the books that I have ever read, listen to or heard of. “Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you." These whole series has a whole beautiful world(s) of magic, but they WrensReads Review:I AM GOING TO NEED A MINUTE..... and three days later, I took my minute. There is nothing wrong with anything that happens in these series. Everything is planned. Everything is beautiful and painful and wonderful. This is one of the best stories told in all the books that I have ever read, listen to or heard of. “Scars are not shameful, not unless you let them be. If you do not wear them, they will wear you." These whole series has a whole beautiful world(s) of magic, but they aren't overwhelming. The adventure never stops yet... no the adventure never stops and neither does your heart. There are equal roles of male and female characters. Speaking of the characters, they are so completely and utterly flawed. There's a pirate girl who takes everything to heart and will kill herself to prove she is the best. There is a broody guy who carries the world on his shoulders and does things without thinking it through. There's a prince who doesn't really have the magic that his previously mentioned brother has, but he will make everyone love him even if he has to become someone he isn't. A once-lord who drastically swung the other way and hurt those who he loves most in the making of the masquerade that doesn't fit well on his face. And then there is a man who is willing to do anything to save his white-world, including at the expense of any other worlds. And that's exactly what the beginning of this book tells you. This man brought over some magical wanna-be god because he didn't want him to ruin his world. The last two books were just the beginning. They were all building up to this book. A book that doesn't stop and a book that you won't want it to stop. I would tell you I have a favorite character, but I don't think I can choose. Kell got the adventure he asked for but didn't want. Rhy got the people's love but not in the way he planned. Holland broke out of his chains to be put in another. Alucard got what he loved the most and lost what he held most dear. Lila got the adventure she wanted at a high cost.I just have nothing bad to say about this book. But I can't find words to tell you how beautiful and wonderful and spectacular THIS book is. This series is. The ending of this book is one that will break your heart. But I was super satisfied (yet still completely broken). I'm not sure if it will be because of how it got there, what happens to certain characters, or if you will just break because this is the end of the story. But V.E. Schwab, or better known as Victoria Schwab, does write more books, and beautifully... so beautifully, and she does have a lot of brain-children to write to us. So know that your heart will probably break again. “What are we drinking to?""The living," said Rhy."The dead," said Alucard and Lila at the same time."We're being thorough," added Rhy.” And I, for one, welcome it.WrensReads | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Cece (ProblemsOfaBookNerd)
    March 15, 2017
    UMMMMM so I finished A Gathering of Shadows and placed an order for this book within 10 minutes. It only took so long because I had to find my credit card. GIMME.
  • Stacee
    February 24, 2017
    I don't even know what to put here. This book was filled with laughs and swoons and badassery and heartbreak. It was a roller coaster of feels and I'm not sure it could have been done any better. Perhaps I'll write a coherent review once I've binged the series.
    more
  • Chelsea ❤Peril Please❤ (of BADGER and Snake)
    April 20, 2016
    My husband said something last year that really resonates with me, and is truer than I'd ever want to admit. He knows I love The Hunger Games more than any other book in the universe, that it will forever and always be my favorite trilogy in the world...and what he said is so astute, I didn't realize it myself: I will always be chasing that exact same high. I will never be as deeply satisfied as I was/am with that series. And that has always been the case...Until now. This series is everything I My husband said something last year that really resonates with me, and is truer than I'd ever want to admit. He knows I love The Hunger Games more than any other book in the universe, that it will forever and always be my favorite trilogy in the world...and what he said is so astute, I didn't realize it myself: I will always be chasing that exact same high. I will never be as deeply satisfied as I was/am with that series. And that has always been the case...Until now. This series is everything I could ever want, need, or wish to be a part of. No amount of re-reads will ever suffice, and I will never have a negative thing to say about it. I have found THG equal, and all I want to do is rejoice. I just wish it hadn't taken me a week to read it, being pregnant and now sick and all. But the peril, general mayhem and destruction, and self-sacrifice and love more than carried me through my stunted reading, and that too says everything.Thank you, Victoria Schwab, for making this a top series of all time. RTC-I hope. Just very swollen, achy, and without energy! Poo.For more of my reviews, please visit: *****************Let's do this.**************Okay so I'm like the LAST person on Earth to see this but.....THIS COVER OMFG IT'S GORGEOUS!!! I can barely contain my inner fangirl... Oh who am I kidding??? I CAN'T CONTAIN A SHRED OF IT!!!! Bravo. I'm impressed.
    more
  • aaron rourke
    March 5, 2015
    “I'm sorry I left. I'm sorry. But I'm here now, so you can't die,” he said, his voice finally breaking. “Don't you see how rude that would be, when I've come so far?” it's a sad thing to admit: i suffered a small reading slump whilst reading this. i tried to play it off as me simply not wanting to say goodbye or feeling too many emotions so that i couldn't cope. but the very real, very raw truth is that i simply couldn't be bothered to pick it up. let it be known, nobody has ever encountered a “I'm sorry I left. I'm sorry. But I'm here now, so you can't die,” he said, his voice finally breaking. “Don't you see how rude that would be, when I've come so far?” it's a sad thing to admit: i suffered a small reading slump whilst reading this. i tried to play it off as me simply not wanting to say goodbye or feeling too many emotions so that i couldn't cope. but the very real, very raw truth is that i simply couldn't be bothered to pick it up. let it be known, nobody has ever encountered a v.e. schwab finale before. that seems like a total mindfuck considering how many books she's written, yet this is the first conclusion we've seen from her. and my mind automatically assumed it was going to be incredible. i mean it is...kinda. the plot is one of these nail-biting, fast-paced thrillers. it drops you into the action from the offset and there on, it doesn't show any signs of stopping. there's just so much blood and violence and shocks and questions and pain and suffering. sounds like a hoot, right?but the core of these books, the shades of magic series, is that glorious sense of wonder and magic. it's that feeling of worlds beyond our own and new discoveries and grand sweeping adventures. a darker shade of magic was brimming with it. a gathering of shadows offered delightful sprinklings throughout. but a conjuring of light has lost it. it just feels so different from the rest of the series. firstly, it took me over a week to finish this. usually, i read v.e. schwab books in a matter of days. i don't bother looking at the page number because i'm just so swept up in it all. here, though, my eyes are almost glued more to the numbers than they are to the words. secondly, the characters are a little different. something about them feels so different from the first two books and whilst book 1 focused on kell and book 2 on lila, this one oddly faces towards holland. a villain who seemingly died in the first novel and is now back for more pain and suffering. i didn't care about him in the first novel and i certainly don't care about him now. everyone goes on about poor holland and omg he had to suffer hell, but i don't give a shit. he bores me to no end and having the finale focus on him felt like a very sour goodbye.and thirdly, the writing. it wasn't nearly as spellbinding or enchanting as it was when previously encountered. something about the richness and poetic feel of the words had been dragged away. it all felt so drained and emotionless and dry dry dry. once last thing i've got to mention is the villain and the ending. okay, so the villain, osaron, sucked. he was all panto vibes and super duper repetitive which meant that he almost always got on my nerves. something about the kneel, bow down, i am your king and surrender on a constant loop just pissed me off. also, his whole death scene was super dull and meh. nothing too shocking or fantastical. also he wasn't much of a threat for a lot of the time. he was just so boring. nothing about him stood out or scared me. and the ending. basically: nobody died. i've said this a bunch of times in a bunch of finales i've read. if nobody i care about dies, then i never truly feel like it's the end. plus, the end of this was just super cheesy and forgettable and just eurgh.a conjuring of light is, overall, a bit of a mess. i wanted to love this. i did not. everything seemingly went in the wrong direction and made for a very strained and tiring read. everything came across as cheesy and shit and dull. the only reason i'm awarding this 2 stars is because the plot was so damn fast it gave me whiplash. anyways, i'm off to look for something better to read.
    more
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ (of badger and SNAKE)
    February 25, 2016
    ... and the first thing I thought looking at this cover was : BUT WHO THE FUCK IS IT?Tell me I'm not the only one.
  • Giovanna
    March 5, 2015
    ACoL probably put me in a semi-slump (I do not have real slumps. Uni helped too though) because nothing can compare.“Myths do not happen all at once.They do not spring forth whole into the world. They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth, until the saying of the story gives enough weight to the words—to the memories—to keep them rolling on their own."My, what a journey.I flew through this book, I literally devoured it in, like, 6-7 hours. I honestly hadn't felt ACoL probably put me in a semi-slump (I do not have real slumps. Uni helped too though) because nothing can compare.“Myths do not happen all at once.They do not spring forth whole into the world. They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth, until the saying of the story gives enough weight to the words—to the memories—to keep them rolling on their own."My, what a journey.I flew through this book, I literally devoured it in, like, 6-7 hours. I honestly hadn't felt like this for a book in...months. And I needed it. I needed this feeling of wanting to know what would happen, I needed to feel this kind of emotional attachment to the characters and to feel the weight of these words. I probably hadn't even realised how much I missed this until I started reading.More than anything, I feel like ACoL was Holland's book. I loved Lila (I'll never get the Lila haters tbh) Kell, Alucard and Rhy, but Holland's story arc truly shined. His character development was pretty much perfect. In general, every character had the chance to shine and grow, and the cast of characters as a whole was probably my favourite element of this book. I loved them in ADSoM and AGoS too, but in this one Schwab has outdone herself by developing all the characters to their full potential. Maxim's arc was perfect. I barely remembered him before ACoL, and yet his story got to me so much this time around. Plotwise I probably liked the previous installments more, but I did not find the plot lacking in this one. There are some loose ends, but it makes sense...to leave some doors open. The worldbuilding keeps expanding and with every installment there was something new to explore and discover. The idea of four different Londons and the way the author developed it make for what is one of my favourite fantasy worlds EVER. As I said, she left some doors open, and, considering the potential this world has, I hope there will be a spin-off. I want to see more. This review is pretty generic. I honestly don't have the right words to talk about this book and I don't want to talk too much about spoiler-ish stuff. The quote below describes pretty well what I feel right now. (view spoiler)["Anoshe was a word for strangers in the street, and lovers between meetings, for parents and children, friends and family. It softened the blow of leaving. Eased the strain of parting. A careful nod to the certainty of today, the mystery of tomorrow. When a friend left, with little chance of seeing home, they said anoshe. When a loved one was dying, they said anoshe. When corpses were burned, bodies given back to the earth and souls to the stream, those left grieving said anoshe.Anoshe brought solace. And hope. And the strength to let go.” (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    March 19, 2017
    4.5 Lila please don't stab me StarsPerspective is everything. You really can’t judge another person until you walk a mile in their shoes. I was upset with Holland in the last book but I sort of understood where he was coming from. In this book though when you get flashbacks to his life in White London and the tragedy of it along with how much he wanted to save it only too know it was doomed, well it gave me perspective. After that I really couldn’t help but like the guy most of the time and hope 4.5 Lila please don't stab me StarsPerspective is everything. You really can’t judge another person until you walk a mile in their shoes. I was upset with Holland in the last book but I sort of understood where he was coming from. In this book though when you get flashbacks to his life in White London and the tragedy of it along with how much he wanted to save it only too know it was doomed, well it gave me perspective. After that I really couldn’t help but like the guy most of the time and hope that he made it out alive and might save his beloved home. Did he???? Well to find that out and more you will have to read the book.We hit the ground running pretty hard in this book and it really only let up a few times for us to catch our breath. Overall for this series I really enjoy the writing and the way the story is conveyed. The present and flashback scenes work for me as a reader to give more depth to the characters and the motivations they have. The prose is something that I really enjoyed as well statements like In palace balls and tournament games they were mismatched, awkward, but they understood each other here and now, surrounded by danger and death.And Now that Alucard was alive and more or less upright, Rhy couldn’t bring himself to look at his lover, and couldn’t bear to look away, so he ended up doing both and neither. It had been so long since Rhy’d been able to study his face. Three summers. Three winters. Three years, and the prince’s heart still cracked along the lines Alucard had made. This was not a happy tale. There are happy parts but with that thing that came from Black London there is so much death everywhere. So many moments where someone I had come to like ended up dying. Some of those deaths were heroic and some shocking and devastating. This is not a book where in the middle you are sure that the hero will make it to the end. This is a story where you are pretty sure that at least one of the characters you have become extremely attached to will not come out of the other side alive. “Myths do not happen all at once. They do not spring forth whole into the world. They form slowly, rolled between the hands of time until their edges smooth, until the saying of the story gives enough weight to the words—to the memories—to keep them rolling on their own.” I would say that this is a very good wrap up to the initial story that was presented to the reader. BUT…I think that maybe we could see some more in this world as some various interesting things were opened up by the end. I for one really wanted to know more about the magic across the different Londons and if there could be a way to find a balance for it. Is White London really as doomed but in a different way than Black London? Is Gray London getting some seepage of magic into it since Ned is now able to do very limited magic where there should be none? Did Red London do something to siphon the magic into that world and that is why there isn’t a balance? Just so you know none of those questions were answered and I’m totally fine with it since that wasn’t what the story was about but if there are more books in this world I hope that is covered.I really like all the character connections in this story. Rhy & Kell’s brotherly love for one another, Holland & Kell with their begrudging respect of the other, Kell & Lila and their acceptable of exactly who the other is and Rhy & Alucard for the love affair they once shared and the hope that they can find that once again. And then of course there is the relationship of all of them against the big bad that is the sentient magic from Black London. Each relationship got at least one shining moment in this if not more and it was enough for me. Rhy & Kell’s bond is so special though Rhy shook his head, exasperated. “Kell isn't the only one you fail to understand. My bond with him didn't start with this curse. You wanted him to kill for me, die for me, protect me at all costs. Well, Mother, you got your wish. You simple failed to realize that that kind of love, that bond, it goes both ways. I would kill for him, and I would die for him, and I will protect him however I am able, from Faro and Vesk, from White London, and Black London, and from you.” Overall as a series I really enjoy how this all played out. There are some HEAs, there are some consequences to live with and there are some heroic deaths but all in all every main character had their moment in the spotlight to really shine with what they were capable of doing and I feel like this story completed itself very nicely. That said I’m hoping for some other stories set in this world.
    more
  • Kristalia
    December 12, 2015
    Final rating: 4.75/5 starsFinal rating - for the whole series: 5/5 starsSpoiler free for those who never read the series and for those who had. Also check out reviews by Nastassja' & Nouf *LostinFantasy. I had a lot of fun discussing this book with them after finishing it!This whole series is just... amazing. Great. I loved almost every part of it (even when it made me cry concerning that one character I have been loving for being perfectly characterized in the role he was thrown into and i Final rating: 4.75/5 starsFinal rating - for the whole series: 5/5 starsSpoiler free for those who never read the series and for those who had. Also check out reviews by Nastassja' & Nouf *LostinFantasy. I had a lot of fun discussing this book with them after finishing it!This whole series is just... amazing. Great. I loved almost every part of it (even when it made me cry concerning that one character I have been loving for being perfectly characterized in the role he was thrown into and i have not recovered from it yet).I hate reading ongoing series. I hate it. It's like waiting for the next movie of Star Trek. But I do understand writers - they need time to connect all lose ends, write a good plot and do a freaking good epilogue, because without it - if you write a book with abrupt end - you will gain nothing and all of your effort will be thrown in your face because it was not enough.Well, Schwab did it successfully. Perfectly long ending (not a mess of words where you can't follow what is happening anymore... as many authors tend to finish the series).Just... great. I must admit though, the beginning worried me, but soon after I realized that there is a lot that must happen and I just went with it. I have been waiting for this book for months and I was not disappointed. Also, have I told you all that I just like everyone? Such amazing characters. And I was so so glad to see more of Holland, who definitely didn't deserve to go through all of this, because just the amount of Holland's POVs in this book is AMAZING. I suffered reading them all the time, but I always knew there was more to that story. I was, in fact, bitter about something. MAJOR SPOILERS! (view spoiler)[Are you sure you want to read this? It is a big spoiler. (view spoiler)[ I hated that Holland died. It kind of gives a wrong message to people who were thrown into crazy situations and can't get out of them, and then to see someone who literally went through hell end up dead, well, it is disheartening. Especially since the author took such care and patience to explain more about his life before he was completely and utterly broken. Have I mentioned he is my fave? He was such a complex and unique character and I hate to see this happen to him. But one thing I did say to my friend when I discussed this with her: he wanted to die. He wanted to die free and away from suffering. And he died where he wanted and his death wasn't violent or cruel. It was peaceful and he was free. This is making me so emotional right now. Cries (hide spoiler)] (hide spoiler)]Another thing is the fact that Rhy/Alucard's relationship was thrown to side, pointed out by my friend Nastassja, but considering I liked how it ended and considering how many things happened in the book, I kind of just... stopped thinking of those two (I didn't even think of it while writing this review, because i was so happy with how emotional it made me, i just forgot about it (shame on me)). I appreciated them as individuals and their roles in the plot, but.. there were scenes with them, so don't worry. But they weren't the main point of this story. ► OVERALL: For those who are looking whether to start this series or not, i suggest you to do it.Read this series. It has everything I didn't know I needed. It was amazing.And it's worth reading.(have I mentioned it's VERY VERY LONG?) ► REVIEW(S) RELATED TO THIS BOOK: ◈ A Darker Shade of Magic (Shades of Magic, #1)◈ A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2)◈ A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) ► BEFORE THE BOOK RELEASE: THIS IS GETTING TV SERIES!!!!!!!!!(x)ALSOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!(x)(x)#Destruction noted and successful so far.(x)
    more
  • Shaun Hutchinson
    March 3, 2017
    The perfect ending to the perfect series. I just can't say enough good things about this book. If you were waiting for the series to be written before starting it, you're now out of excuses. This series ends the way it began: with a man in a peculiar coat and a thief named Delilah Bard.
    more
Write a review