Roar (Stormheart, #1)
In a land ruled and shaped by violent magical storms, power lies with those who control them.Aurora Pavan comes from one of the oldest Stormling families in existence. Long ago, the ungifted pledged fealty and service to her family in exchange for safe haven, and a kingdom was carved out from the wildlands and sustained by magic capable of repelling the world’s deadliest foes. As the sole heir of Pavan, Aurora’s been groomed to be the perfect queen. She’s intelligent and brave and honorable. But she’s yet to show any trace of the magic she’ll need to protect her people.To keep her secret and save her crown, Aurora’s mother arranges for her to marry a dark and brooding Stormling prince from another kingdom. At first, the prince seems like the perfect solution to all her problems. He’ll guarantee her spot as the next queen and be the champion her people need to remain safe. But the more secrets Aurora uncovers about him, the more a future with him frightens her. When she dons a disguise and sneaks out of the palace one night to spy on him, she stumbles upon a black market dealing in the very thing she lacks—storm magic. And the people selling it? They’re not Stormlings. They’re storm hunters.Legend says that her ancestors first gained their magic by facing a storm and stealing part of its essence. And when a handsome young storm hunter reveals he was born without magic, but possesses it now, Aurora realizes there’s a third option for her future besides ruin or marriage. She might not have magic now, but she can steal it if she’s brave enough. Challenge a tempest. Survive it. And you become its master.

Roar (Stormheart, #1) Details

TitleRoar (Stormheart, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherTor Teen
ISBN0765386313
ISBN-139780765386311
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Roar (Stormheart, #1) Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    February 14, 2017
    Full Review: I guess I've put writing this review off long enough. I keep feeling like, if I don't write this, I don't have to let go of this story yet. When I first read the above description of said book, I immediately thought "Great, another cliche YA fantasy filled with tropes of white, timid girls saving the day, love triangles where all the boys are unrealistically pining after one extra spoiled lady, and a let down of a plot because my expectations of how awesome controlling storms would Full Review: I guess I've put writing this review off long enough. I keep feeling like, if I don't write this, I don't have to let go of this story yet. When I first read the above description of said book, I immediately thought "Great, another cliche YA fantasy filled with tropes of white, timid girls saving the day, love triangles where all the boys are unrealistically pining after one extra spoiled lady, and a let down of a plot because my expectations of how awesome controlling storms would be simply can't measure up." Sound about right? However, I kept seeing this little book popping up all over my Goodreads feed, so when I was offered an early copy from the publisher, peer pressure got to me and I caved because I like having things earlier than I'm supposed to. Let me just tell you folks, if you are a fan of YA fantasy with a bit of romance, immediately click that pre-order button because you need some Stormlings in your life, I promise. As a fair warning, there may be some extremely mild spoilers below, so if you'd like to go in completely blind, I'd recommend stopping reading this and pre-ordering the book. If you want to get a little more feel of the book then follow along."You are lightning made flesh. Colder than falling snow. Unstoppable as the desert sands riding the wind. You are Stormling. Aurora Pavan. Believe it.Believe it, and others will too." Let's start with our main character. This is where I was most concerned before entering into the book; I can't tell you how many books I've read (and probably you as well) where the protagonist is a pale, white 18 year old female who is unsure of herself, even though the book tells us for PAGES how perfectly above average she is in looks and talent. This girl also falls at the feet of any guy to show her attention, and usually has saved her virginity for a mainstream view of an abnormally long time, only to give it up in one quick moment. This particular trope has gotten old, so you can see the concern when our main character is described as a pale, white 18 year old female. Thankfully, this story is different. I won't go into too much detail, but the first chapter leads us to believe the story is going in one direction and brings us a significant twist right away, showing that this book will indeed be different. I love how there is no love triangle in this book; the romance that is there is very engaging, but also very tame and somewhat ties into the reasoning behind portions of the action. The remaining characters are fairly diverse, at least racially, and the band of friends that we follow throughout the story remind me a bit of our gang in the Six of Crows duology, although I hate to make that comparison and raise expectations unintentionally. I feel this crew had their own strengths and weaknesses compared to Kaz's crew, but gave me that same close feeling that I had while reading those books."Soul of fire, soul of rageNo longer bound by flesh or cage,Soul exalted, soul made newReserved for those devout and true."-"The Way of Souls" (A Sacred Soul Hymn) The plot was actually very complex, layered as an onion to where, once we had a portion figured out, it opened up others that were still a mystery. I did have to devote my full attention in the beginning for the world building, as this fantasy realm is very different than the others I've previously read. There is intricate detail of multiple lands that I found completely mesmerizing; I adored how realistic it was and didn't account for how caught up I'd become until I had to check back in to reality. There is so much action in the plot that makes it paced really well; I could hardly put this down and do all the other things I needed to during my days. The entire premise of certain lineages being able to control storms, and said storms having a "heart" really intrigued me and I found the story to be much better than my wildest expectations. This has a "half mythological/half modern fantasy" feel which caused a nice balance without either aspect feeling forced. I grew close to the characters and felt really sad to have turned the last page and have nowhere else to follow them (for the time being). And that cover? Absolutely stunning.I'd highly recommend this to fans of any sect of YA fantasy; the romance was mild and age appropriate for all teens. This is the type of book that would even make a great cross-over into YA Sci-Fi as it toes the edge of some pieces that would fit nicely there. Such a well-written and exciting YA debut; I now have a complete book hangover that is almost as severe as when I finished ACOMAF last year. This one was so good I'm going to have to buy a finished copy for my special shelf at home in hopes of a re-read before the next book in the series is published.Many thanks to the publisher for providing my copy via NetGalley; it was an absolute delight and privilege to provide an honest review. Initial Thoughts:Now that, my friends, is how you end the first book in a series. Not a giant, open-ended cliffhanger, something that leaves you angry for not having enough story to tide you over until the next book. This left me ready for the next book but with enough closure to let me sleep at night. This was EXCELLENT. Highly recommended for a different type of YA romantic fantasy. I loved the use of the elements and wielding storms as a form of power. Full review to come.
    more
  • Simona Bartolotta
    January 20, 2017
    *I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*3.5 (the extra half a point is for the unputdownable-ness level)This was honestly better than I expected, generally speaking. Plot and world building, though with certain reservation, are so compelling, the book practically begs you to read further, and putting it down almost causes you physical pain. What ruined it for me? The romance. It felt so childish -and there are two instances of insta-love. Too. Much *I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*3.5 (the extra half a point is for the unputdownable-ness level)This was honestly better than I expected, generally speaking. Plot and world building, though with certain reservation, are so compelling, the book practically begs you to read further, and putting it down almost causes you physical pain. What ruined it for me? The romance. It felt so childish -and there are two instances of insta-love. Too. Much. And both love interests are equally obnoxiously controlling and just no.But as I said, the rest is all so engaging that even though the characters were not nearly as good as I expected, I was hooked all the same (which in my case is unusual because the characters are the most important thing, for me, so I think that the fact that I enjoyed it nonetheless speaks volumes.) I already can't wait for book two. Detailed review to be posted closer to the release date!
    more
  • Wendy Higgins
    February 4, 2016
    Blown away. Captivating and unique. The romance...the magic...I am in love with all of it. SO GOOD.
  • Jay Crownover
    January 2, 2017
    IT WAS AMAZING!!READ IT :)
  • Crazy4Books
    October 19, 2016
    Full Review will be posted closer to publication day.Quick Review:Amazing concept and fascinating world. I loved the magic and the storm chasing. Nova, Jynx and Bait were some of my favorite side characters and I wish we would have spent more time getting to know them. I really didnt like the controlling male characters and the jump in perspective was a little jarring.
    more
  • Riley
    March 15, 2017
    *heavy breathing* I want to frame this cover. It's so beautiful!!!!! I seriously cannot wait for this book. Is it June yet??????
  • Cora Carmack
    March 20, 2017
    I've been dreaming of writing YA fantasy for nearly a decade. My hope was to write an exciting, unique fantasy world with an equally compelling romance. This book really took hold of me, and demanded to be written. It began with the idea of magic storms, storm hunters, and a black market. It took shape through the lens of a princess with a dire secret. I fell in love with so many characters as I wrote this first book, and I can't wait for you to meet them all and see how all their journeys unfol I've been dreaming of writing YA fantasy for nearly a decade. My hope was to write an exciting, unique fantasy world with an equally compelling romance. This book really took hold of me, and demanded to be written. It began with the idea of magic storms, storm hunters, and a black market. It took shape through the lens of a princess with a dire secret. I fell in love with so many characters as I wrote this first book, and I can't wait for you to meet them all and see how all their journeys unfold as the story moves forward! <3
    more
  • Sarah
    October 3, 2016
    That cover!! It's soooo beautiful <3 Let's just take a closer look at that artwork: I don't even have the words for how stunning that is! I need this book in hardback, in fact I need a giant poster just of this artwork to put up on my wall somewhere so I can spend all day staring at it.
    more
  • Nastassja
    March 14, 2017
    Actual rating: 2.5 starsI didn't have high expectations about this book, just wanted something light and entertaining to read, and for the most part the book delivered. It has a very intriguing concept I haven't met in other YA fantasy yet: controlling storms and capturing the magic in their hearts aka the eye of the storm. The amazing tempest catching quest was vivid, breath-taking, with enough detail to satisfy even the most demanding readers. The concept was definitely not my problem with thi Actual rating: 2.5 starsI didn't have high expectations about this book, just wanted something light and entertaining to read, and for the most part the book delivered. It has a very intriguing concept I haven't met in other YA fantasy yet: controlling storms and capturing the magic in their hearts aka the eye of the storm. The amazing tempest catching quest was vivid, breath-taking, with enough detail to satisfy even the most demanding readers. The concept was definitely not my problem with this book.Characters and romantic line is what killed the joy. I am a very fastidious reader when it comes to connection with characters in a book. If I don't 'feel' a character there's almost 100% possibility I wouldn't enjoy the book. Alas, that is what happened here. I am inclined to tribute such case to the fact that this book is heavily relays on romance and the heroine Aurora interacts with her romantic interests a lot. Now, I didn't care for romance, it was quite disturbing, to be honest, and consequently I didn't find it in myself to care for Rora too. But it's more 'it's not you, it's me' case, because objectively I saw character-development in Rora, she was a nice, quite reasonable (not when it comes to love, though) character, but I just didn't care enough to be bothered with her person. First of all, I didn't like that everyone was perfect: beautiful, clever, masculine - love interests were especially a picture of male perfection I call 'abs alert' don't come closer or you might accidentally kill yourself stumbling over all that perfection. Secondary, we have two cases of insta-love. Rora instantly falls in love with interest #1, then in a short while she meets love interest #2 and falls instantly for him too. Granted, the only good thing about it is that the love-triangle in a way dissipated and Rora spent most of the book with love interest #2. But no one guarantees love-triangle wouldn't come back in book 2. Thirdly, both male charters don't have personalities; all they mostly do the whole book is showing off their muscularity and manhandling Rora a-la 'Me Tarzan, You Jane' style. The worst part, the girl likes it. He leaned down to nip at her swollen bottom lip. “I’m the first to touch this mouth? To taste it?” Her nails dug into his shoulders, and her blue eyes flashed with heat. She nodded, her tongue darting out to sooth the skin he had tugged between his teeth. “That means it’s mine. My territory. And I’m prepared to protect it, every hour of the day if I must.”It feels that author's previous works were in new adult genre: ownership of women' lips and other body parts is an everyday occurrence in there. I don't find it romantic, not in the least.Intriguing concept + cringe-worthy romance = 50/50 killjoy.I am almost sure I'll read book 2, because I am highly interested about the plot and where it'd go in the next installment, besides there were interesting hints about some events in the end of the book, and, at least, for that I want to pick up the book. As for the romance, I thing it actually might get worse, but definitely not better, so I don't have any misconceptions about it. I'd say go and try the book, this is one of those cases when it was not my cup of tea but other people might find this story to their liking.
    more
  • Chesca
    October 6, 2016
    OMG SOMEONE TELL ME WHO THE COVER ARTIST IS!! SHOW YOURSELF, HUMAN, AND TEACH ME YOUR WAYS, I BEG YOU. I WANT TO BE AS GOOD AS YOU. :((( CAN I WATCH A VIDEO OF YOUR ART PROCESS FOR THIS?? DID YOU USE PHOTOSHOP? WHERE DID YOU GET YOUR BRUSHES, OR DID YOU CUSTOMIZE THEM?? WHAT BRAND IS YOUR GRAPHIC TABLET????Oh, wait. I forgot I'm on goodreads.
    more
  • Kate Campbell
    March 6, 2017
    When I was nearing the end of this book, I was wondering how I was going to put my thoughts into words. This book is THAT good! I loved every single bit of this story! It was everything I could hope for in a fantasy novel. The world building is absolutely wonderful. I was very intrigued by the storm magic that some folk possess. Essentially, they can manipulate the power of a storm - thunderstorm, hurricane, dust storm, etc. These "stormlings" can dispell storms and if strong enough, they can ta When I was nearing the end of this book, I was wondering how I was going to put my thoughts into words. This book is THAT good! I loved every single bit of this story! It was everything I could hope for in a fantasy novel. The world building is absolutely wonderful. I was very intrigued by the storm magic that some folk possess. Essentially, they can manipulate the power of a storm - thunderstorm, hurricane, dust storm, etc. These "stormlings" can dispell storms and if strong enough, they can take the storm's, heart. These hearts are manifested in the form of gemstones. The nobility ornate themselves with crowns and jewels filled with storm hearts are a show of power or authority. The storms and their role in the world is very unique. Weather surrounds us every day, but to be able to have magic that can change the weather is truly something. What ultimately pulled me to this story is the romance. I say it time and time again that I am a sucker for a good romance. The relationship Cora Carmack wrote was so beautiful and wild. Even several days after finishing this book, I am still thinking about how passionate and real it felt. Roar, our main character, is a princess. However, she has some secrets of her own that keep her in a revolving door of maids and friends. It is only when she meets a handsome and clever prince, does Roar have her heart tested. It is not the prince she falls for but a storm hunter, names Locke. He chases after dangerous storms in hopes to contain magic but also get the storms heart. Here I am fumbling for words because when I think of Roar and Locke together I am filled with so much happiness and feels! I am also over the moon with how this first book ended. It wasn't a cliff-hanger. It wasn't an earth shattering revelation. It was a continuation of plot that stopped at just the perfect moment. I think it is hard to end a book at the right moment and I commend Cora Carmack for ending the story they way she did. Was I left with an incredible book hang over? You better believe it! I can't wait to pick this book up again because I LOVED it so much! Okay, I am gushing now, but really! The writing was fantastic and the characters had depth and growth throughout the story! If you are looking for a soul filling romantic fantasy put Roar at the top of your TBR! I can't recommend it enough!
    more
  • Jaime (Two Chicks on Books)
    March 19, 2017
    I've known Cora for a long time. Back before she was Cora but, I've never read any of her books. I remember when she told me she got her first book deal I was super excited for her but I knew I wouldn't read it because it was contemporary. So when I heard she was writing a YA fantasy I was super stoked and oh my gods she wrote an amazing story! I fell hard for Roar and Locke and even Cassius he may seem bad but I think there's something more to him. I can't wait to read the next one! It's going I've known Cora for a long time. Back before she was Cora but, I've never read any of her books. I remember when she told me she got her first book deal I was super excited for her but I knew I wouldn't read it because it was contemporary. So when I heard she was writing a YA fantasy I was super stoked and oh my gods she wrote an amazing story! I fell hard for Roar and Locke and even Cassius he may seem bad but I think there's something more to him. I can't wait to read the next one! It's going to be a long wait!!!
    more
  • Miranda (MrsLeif's Two Fangs About It)
    December 3, 2016
    Is anyone else obsessed with this cover?
  • Jaime Arkin
    March 13, 2017
    this is so good you guys!! Get it on your TBR NOW
  • Austine (NovelKnight)
    March 16, 2017
    I can't share my full review (yet) BUT I can tell you that this book is AMAZING and filled with storm-magic-swoony goodness perfect for all fantasy fans! Get this on your TBR!
  • Bekah AwesomeBookNut
    March 3, 2017
    Full review to come, closer to publication date....
  • Kierstan
    March 10, 2017
    I will be posting a full review closer to publication date. I have read this book now three times. I just can't get over the descriptions of the storms themselves. We all have been in storms so when we say lightning or thunderstorm we already have a picture in our head. Yet the way Cora describes them, it makes you see them in a different way. How beautiful and devastating they can be!
    more
  • Anissa (FairyLoot)
    February 26, 2017
    Absolutely magic. When I read the synopsis and saw the cover I knew I was going to love ROAR, and boy was I right! The story has so many layers and the world is enchanting. I loved all of the storm magic, and the characters and romance were really wonderful. I'm dying for the next book already - this has definitely got me in a book hangover!
    more
  • Aila
    February 23, 2017
    4.5 starsReview to come on Happy Indulgence. I'm soooo pleasantly surprised at how much I love this one!
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    February 15, 2017
    I can't believe this, but I had a wish granted on Netgalley by the publisher! That has never happened to be before in all my days of blogging. Whoop! So excited to have a copy of this book!!
  • Crystal
    October 3, 2016
    An epic story that pulls you in like the storms themselves, and keeps your heart racing with every new revelation! Strong characters, great plot, and perfect pacing...what more could you ask for?
  • Mary H
    March 21, 2017
    In her electric YA debut Roar, Cora Carmack creates a stormy fantasy full of adventure featuring a charismatic ensemble cast. Roar introduces YA readers to Cora's signature talent for balancing authentic characters and a captivating romance, this time set in a striking new world that will sweep readers away!
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    October 25, 2016
    Just read a short preview for this in BuzzBooks 2017 and all I can say is: Also, Rora and Cassius? Then I remember that I've only read like probably less than a chapter and this is the first book... Hopefully, the rest of the book lives up to, my now elevated, expectations. I also just noticed this book comes out a day before my birthday, so yeah Happy Early Birthday to me lol---As my friends know, I am not one for cover models. But I must say, I am not too mad at this one. Though the girl does Just read a short preview for this in BuzzBooks 2017 and all I can say is: Also, Rora and Cassius? Then I remember that I've only read like probably less than a chapter and this is the first book... Hopefully, the rest of the book lives up to, my now elevated, expectations. I also just noticed this book comes out a day before my birthday, so yeah Happy Early Birthday to me lol---As my friends know, I am not one for cover models. But I must say, I am not too mad at this one. Though the girl does kind of remind me of Daenerys from Game of Thrones lol ---Why do books I am looking forward to keep getting their release dates pushed back? Dang it...
    more
  • Allison
    February 1, 2017
    Really excellently balanced blend of fantasy and romance. Read it in 2 sittings. Very enjoyable and super steamy. A nice surprise for me! Longer review to come!
  •  Lori (Ficwishes)
    March 8, 2017
    So original and incredible. Full review closer to release date.(updated 3/21/17) Still not the full review, but I wanted to get some thoughts down.I absolutely loved this story. I've been a reader of Cora's for years, and I wondered how she would handle moving to the Fantasy genre, but she did it beautifully.Aurora is such a strong character and a great example for women. She is searching for who she is deep down, despite always feeling like she is lacking. I love that she doesn't let these feel So original and incredible. Full review closer to release date.(updated 3/21/17) Still not the full review, but I wanted to get some thoughts down.I absolutely loved this story. I've been a reader of Cora's for years, and I wondered how she would handle moving to the Fantasy genre, but she did it beautifully.Aurora is such a strong character and a great example for women. She is searching for who she is deep down, despite always feeling like she is lacking. I love that she doesn't let these feelings overwhelm her or stand in the way of her doing what she feels is right.The world building that was done for this book is quite extensive and unique. I was completely enraptured by the storm-chasers and their quest to 'challenge their tempests'.(view spoiler)[The romance in the story takes a backseat to the intrigue and the action, but it is still quite swoon-worthy. Locke is such a great love interest, but I haven't completely counted Cassius out yet. I think he has some redeemable qualities that have yet to be explored. I really hope we get a chance to see more of him in future books. (hide spoiler)]The entire supporting cast definitely has me re-thinking my #squadgoals. I loved it. I loved every bit of it and need more right now.
    more
  • Beth (YA Books Central)
    March 11, 2017
    Oh my gosh!!!! I just finished Roar!!! OH MY GOSH!!! I need the sequel NOW! I have to know what happens next! This amazing book gave me so many chills! Everything about this book was amazing...the characters, the magic, the world! I AM IN LOVE!!!!! I need more Roar, Locke, and the beautiful world of Pavan.....NOW!!! Cora Carmack YOU AMAZE ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Full review to come closer to pub date.....BUT....ADD THIS TO YOUR TBR LIST NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    more
  • Lisa
    March 6, 2017
    This one's hard to rate. I felt the pull to continue reading, which is always a joy to experience.However, I think my biggest challenge was feeling like the story was really a romance wrapped around a fantasy novel. When the magic elements are brought to the forefront, they do hold up as interesting and well thought-out. But their time in the spotlight is limited compared to the feelings of attraction being described and the back and forth nature of the romance being played out.I will probably t This one's hard to rate. I felt the pull to continue reading, which is always a joy to experience.However, I think my biggest challenge was feeling like the story was really a romance wrapped around a fantasy novel. When the magic elements are brought to the forefront, they do hold up as interesting and well thought-out. But their time in the spotlight is limited compared to the feelings of attraction being described and the back and forth nature of the romance being played out.I will probably tune in for book 2, so make of that what you will.
    more
  • Megan Lyons
    March 22, 2017
    So I both enjoyed and was bothered by this book. The beginning was terrible, with the protagonist falling instantly for the Prince during the course of a single ball. He was creepy and controlling, and she instantly fell for him, and was completely heartbroken and was scarred for the rest of the book when she found out he manipulated her. If the author wanted us to sympathize with Aurora here, she needed to spend more time building this relationship. Instead, it made the protagonist out to be a So I both enjoyed and was bothered by this book. The beginning was terrible, with the protagonist falling instantly for the Prince during the course of a single ball. He was creepy and controlling, and she instantly fell for him, and was completely heartbroken and was scarred for the rest of the book when she found out he manipulated her. If the author wanted us to sympathize with Aurora here, she needed to spend more time building this relationship. Instead, it made the protagonist out to be a silly pushover. My co-worker started it and then put it down in disgust because of the beginning, I told her it got better, so maybe she will go back to it, but she wasn’t going to finish it because of the opening, and I don’t blame her. Once Aurora decides to join the stormhunters and take her destiny into her own hands, it is a much more enjoyable read. It is entertaining and I loved the world-building. The concept of storms and their storm hearts was very cool. It reminded me of the movie “Twister” but in a fantasy world. However, the romance in the latter part of the book bothered me a bit as well. I don’t mind alpha male love interests. If I am being honest, I am drawn to them. I really like Curran from the “Kate Daniels” series, for example, but Kate is just as strong as him, and she knows his flaws and even acknowledges that dating him will never work b/c he is so controlling. That is also an adult book. In this one, Aurora stands up to the alpha male love interest only in little bursts, but in reality, she lets him control her. She relies on him to make her feel better about herself and uses him as a distraction. I just don’t think it is a healthy relationship to have in a Young Adult novel, which is being read by impressionable teens. There is chemistry between the characters, and I enjoyed it for the most part, but I do have some concerns about the relationship. I also wish Aurora was a stronger more memorable character, but I think she will show growth throughout the series and hope she ends up being a great character. That being said, it was well done overall. I think it will appeal to the “Throne of Glass” fan and could be very very popular.*I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books and Music in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Jess
    October 8, 2016
    8/10/2016http://happyeverafter.usatoday.com/20...Read the excerpt. You can see the romance coming a mile away and no thanks.BUT DEAR LORD THAT COVER IS PRETTY
  • Kei ▪ lovelypagesreviews
    March 8, 2017
    Well this is hard to review... I loved the cover and the blurb and to be honest the first couple of chapters were entertaining.This book had a few issues and it took a while for me to finish it:• special not so special heroine who is isolated from her people for her own good• insta love #1 named Locke• insta love #2 nicknamed Locke #AreYouSerious - and he nicknamed her princess *major eye rolling*• lots of weird names like Bait and Sly and stuff• paranormal buried in teen cheesy loveI loved the Well this is hard to review... I loved the cover and the blurb and to be honest the first couple of chapters were entertaining.This book had a few issues and it took a while for me to finish it:• special not so special heroine who is isolated from her people for her own good• insta love #1 named Locke• insta love #2 nicknamed Locke #AreYouSerious - and he nicknamed her princess *major eye rolling*• lots of weird names like Bait and Sly and stuff• paranormal buried in teen cheesy loveI loved the storms and the premise of the hearts but the balance between paranormal and romance was way off. Aurora was all over the place, she starts off as the innocent heroine who needs the hero to hide her inabilities - which she's been faking at the expense of her own well being most of the time - to running away from him - all due to a misunderstanding of course - and following another stranger with the same name she met two days ago. I loved the cover and it reminded me a bit of Game of Thrones and Daenerys but ultimately I read two books while trying to finish this. Will probably read the next but only because I kinda like Locke #1?
    more
Write a review