Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court, #2)
In MIDNIGHT JEWEL, Richelle Mead goes beyond the glitz and glamour of the Glittering Court, delving into the dark, political underbelly of Cape Triumph through the eyes of one girl who dares to fight for her freedom.A refugee of war, Mira was cast out of her home country and thrust into another, where the conditions were inhospitable at best. In a life-altering twist of fate, she is given the chance to escape once more, and she takes it, joining the Glittering Court.Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. There, Mira finds herself subjected to persecution, not only from her fellow Glittering Court jewels, but from her suitors, as well—men she would potentially be expected to give her life to.By day, she goes through the motions, learning the etiquette and customs that will help to earn her anonymity, even making a couple true friends in the process, the forthright ladies’ maid Adelaide and the ambitious laundress Tamsin. But by night, Mira hatches a different plan entirely—one that, if exposed, could get her hanged in the highest court of Adoria.MIDNIGHT JEWEL is the extraordinary story of a girl with few options who courageously forges a new path, finding love, passion, lifelong friendships, and maybe even a way to freedom.

Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court, #2) Details

TitleMidnight Jewel (The Glittering Court, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherRazorbill
ISBN1595148434
ISBN-139781595148438
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy

Midnight Jewel (The Glittering Court, #2) Review

  • Jennifer
    June 17, 2016
    From the author: For those who don't know the series set-up, each book is self-contained and covers the same story and timeline from a different character's point of view. I'd say about 15% of the scenes overlap in the two books, so I've got to make sure when that happens, every piece of dialogue matches. The rest of the material is all new, but it still has to keep pace with the first book and not contradict anything. #2's narrator (Mira) has a darker view of the story and also gives us a new p From the author: For those who don't know the series set-up, each book is self-contained and covers the same story and timeline from a different character's point of view. I'd say about 15% of the scenes overlap in the two books, so I've got to make sure when that happens, every piece of dialogue matches. The rest of the material is all new, but it still has to keep pace with the first book and not contradict anything. #2's narrator (Mira) has a darker view of the story and also gives us a new perspective on #1's narrator (Adelaide). #1 had some mysteries about what the other characters were up to, and I'm excited for everyone to see what Mira's actually been doing. And who she's been doing it with.
    more
  • Rian Koch
    April 19, 2016
    So the last two in the series are supposed to cover the same amount of time, just from Mira and Tamsin's perspectives. Personally, I'm really hoping for Tamsin's as it seems like me the most exciting of them. Plus no gold stupid panning. Ugh. But I have a sneaky suspicion it could be Mira's that gets told. The problem is, I don't see how her story could contain as much substance as Adelaide's or Tamsin's. Unless she's secretly a princess with plenty of war zone flashbacks, I'm not interested. To So the last two in the series are supposed to cover the same amount of time, just from Mira and Tamsin's perspectives. Personally, I'm really hoping for Tamsin's as it seems like me the most exciting of them. Plus no gold stupid panning. Ugh. But I have a sneaky suspicion it could be Mira's that gets told. The problem is, I don't see how her story could contain as much substance as Adelaide's or Tamsin's. Unless she's secretly a princess with plenty of war zone flashbacks, I'm not interested. To me Mira's character wasn't properly fleshed out. She was always on the fringe, the quiet one nobody wanted. Of course, she is a badass with a crossbow - and of course how she gets her training will make for some cool scenes - but what really is there to Mira? Maybe that's the point, that she's a mystery. But it's not really one I want to solve. I'm wondering if why I so disliked the Glittering Court was because I can see how much better it would have been if the characters were fairies (you know that cover screamed fantasy!) or there was fantasy involved. It didn't get billed as an alternate 1800's filled with the nouveau riche, gold panning, Wild West shenanigans of a story and I wish it had. I would have come in with a different mindset. Instead, I'm disappointed and praying for Tamsin to be the heroine this story desperately needs.
    more
  • Empress of Books
    August 3, 2016
    Despite my review of the first book, I liked Mira and I think I'll give this one a go.
  • Bri
    December 1, 2016
    Really? The Glittering Court sequel? Ummm, NO.I love Richelle Mead, but I will not be reading this. The first book was boring, terribly predictable, and the ending had one of the biggest cop-outs I've ever come across in a book. (view spoiler)[Everything is going against the two lovers getting a happy ending, but then a last minute loophole is presented and all is okay? NOT OKAY. I didn't buy it for a second. (hide spoiler)] Throw in the fact that the romance was lacking in chemistry when that i Really? The Glittering Court sequel? Ummm, NO.I love Richelle Mead, but I will not be reading this. The first book was boring, terribly predictable, and the ending had one of the biggest cop-outs I've ever come across in a book. (view spoiler)[Everything is going against the two lovers getting a happy ending, but then a last minute loophole is presented and all is okay? NOT OKAY. I didn't buy it for a second. (hide spoiler)] Throw in the fact that the romance was lacking in chemistry when that is the focal point of the story, and I'm surprised I finished it. If Richelle Mead writes another series, I will definitely try to read it, but I gave up on The Glittering Court long ago.
    more
  • Barbi Faye (The Book Fae)
    August 3, 2016
    I can't wait for this very squeeeable sequel: I loved the Glittering Court incredibly, so here's a few facts, it's out next April 2017...! In the sequel but yet a readable stand alone, "Richelle Mead goes beyond the glitz and glamour of the Glittering Court, delving into the dark, political underbelly of Cape Triumph through the eyes of one girl who dares to fight for her freedom.A refugee of war, Mira was cast out of her home country and thrust into another, where the conditions were inhospitab I can't wait for this very squeeeable sequel: I loved the Glittering Court incredibly, so here's a few facts, it's out next April 2017...! In the sequel but yet a readable stand alone, "Richelle Mead goes beyond the glitz and glamour of the Glittering Court, delving into the dark, political underbelly of Cape Triumph through the eyes of one girl who dares to fight for her freedom.A refugee of war, Mira was cast out of her home country and thrust into another, where the conditions were inhospitable at best. In a life-altering twist of fate, she is given the chance to escape once more, and she takes it, joining the Glittering Court.Both a school and a business venture, the Glittering Court is designed to transform impoverished girls into upper-class ladies who appear destined for powerful and wealthy marriages in the New World. There, Mira finds herself subjected to persecution, not only from her fellow Glittering Court jewels, but from her suitors, as well, men she would potentially be expected to give her life to.By day, she goes through the motions, learning the etiquette and customs that will help to earn her anonymity, even making a couple true friends in the process, the forthright ladies’ maid Adelaide and the ambitious laundress Tamsin. But by night, Mira hatches a different plan entirely—one that, if exposed, could get her hanged in the highest court of Adoria. "MIDNIGHT JEWEL" is the extraordinary story of a girl with few options who courageously forges a new path, finding love, passion, lifelong friendships, and maybe even a way to freedom."
    more
  • Rose
    February 8, 2017
    Just a note to say that I love the cover of this book, but after the horrible experience of reading the first in this series, I think I'll give it a pretty hard pass.
  • Sherry Hunter
    March 5, 2017
    good read
  • CallMeSensei (Jordan)
    January 2, 2017
    Just found out that I won this through Goodreads giveaway program... Yay!I think of the 3 girls, Mira's is the story I want the most. Can't wait to read this.
Write a review