Two Nights
#1 New York Times bestselling author Kathy Reichs steps beyond her classic Temperance Brennan series in a new standalone thriller featuring a smart, tough, talented heroine whose thirst for justice stems from her own dark past. Meet Sunday Night, a woman with physical and psychological scars, and a killer instinct. . . . Sunnie has spent years running from her past, burying secrets and building a life in which she needs no one and feels nothing. But a girl has gone missing, lost in the chaos of a bomb explosion, and the family needs Sunnie's help. Is the girl dead? Did someone take her? If she is out there, why doesn't she want to be found? It's time for Sunnie to face her own demons because they just might lead her to the truth about what really happened all those years ago.

Two Nights Details

TitleTwo Nights
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

Two Nights Review

  • Kaceey
    April 8, 2017
    I’ve been reading books by Kathy Reichs’ for years. I love her Temperance Brennan series. When I saw she had a stand-alone novel coming out I was very excited to get it. Unfortunately it just didn't work for me. (I may be in the minority on this one).Sunday Night (the main Character's name-not the day of the week) was once a highly decorated police officer now a self-imposed recluse. She retired from the police department following an altercation that left a man dead and Sunday with a permanent I’ve been reading books by Kathy Reichs’ for years. I love her Temperance Brennan series. When I saw she had a stand-alone novel coming out I was very excited to get it. Unfortunately it just didn't work for me. (I may be in the minority on this one).Sunday Night (the main Character's name-not the day of the week) was once a highly decorated police officer now a self-imposed recluse. She retired from the police department following an altercation that left a man dead and Sunday with a permanent disability. Not wanting to spend her career sitting behind a desk, she opted out. Sharp witted sarcasm is her defense against the world around her.Opaline Drucker's daughter and grandson are killed following a brutal attack. Her granddaughter Stella is missing. Sunday is hired to find the missing girl and those responsible for the murders. Quick chapters with fast quipped verbiage. Flew through it very quickly which I normally like, but I found myself rushing through without absorbing the story-line. I had a hard time connecting to the main character. I didn't find Sunday very likable. But then maybe that was the point? By the time we were given insight into Sunday's true soul, well, it was just too late for me. I was disappointed as Kathy Reichs is one of my favorite authors and I had such high hopes for this book. 2.5*Thank you to NetGalley, Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine and Kathy Reichs for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Paromjit
    April 21, 2017
    This is a standalone novel from Kathy Reichs and it could not be more different from her usual fare. Sunday 'Sunnie' Night PI has a chequered career and a traumatic past she is haunted by and low self esteem. She is ex-military serving in Afghanistan and an ex-cop who quit because she couldn't bear the idea of a desk job after an incident that left her with a disability - one eye and scarring. She is living the life of a reclusive hermit on Goat Island, just off the coast of South Carolina. In t This is a standalone novel from Kathy Reichs and it could not be more different from her usual fare. Sunday 'Sunnie' Night PI has a chequered career and a traumatic past she is haunted by and low self esteem. She is ex-military serving in Afghanistan and an ex-cop who quit because she couldn't bear the idea of a desk job after an incident that left her with a disability - one eye and scarring. She is living the life of a reclusive hermit on Goat Island, just off the coast of South Carolina. In the expectation that it will do her good, her foster father, Beau, encourages her to take up a year old cold case. This is to take Sunnie to Chicago and numerous other cities.Rich Charleston resident, Opaline Drucker, lost her daughter and grandson in the bombing of a Jewish school. Her teenage granddaughter, Stella, is missing assumed to be dead or kidnapped. She seeks justice and Stella found. With deep misgivings, Sunnie agrees to take on the case and heads to Chicago where the bombing occurred. This is an investigation with further deaths, the involvement of cults, and the slowly dawning realisation that further horrors are in the pipeline. Sunnie is aided by her brother, Gus, who is a significantly friendlier personality than Sunnie. In a fast paced read with twists, a determined Sunnie is not afraid to shoot first, ask questions later, in an action, fuelled race to prevent further tragedies taking place.The character and personality of Sunnie is all jagged edges with a cutting wit. She has mental health issues and trauma that has to be relived as the case opens emotional wounds. I enjoyed the story well enough but felt it lacked the emotional heart to fully engage me. Deeper characterisation is sacrificed for greater emphasis on plot and action. This might appeal to other readers more in search for this more descriptive type of action novel. Thanks to Random House Cornerstone for an ARC.
    more
  • Matt
    June 14, 2017
    First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Kathy Reichs, and Simon & Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy of this publication, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.Kathy Reichs is back with another thriller, though it is not of the forensic variety. Sunday "Sunnie" Night lives an isolated life after leaving the Charleston PD under a cloud of scrutiny. She is happy being off the grid and living alongside nature. When she is approached with a chance to get ba First and foremost, a large thank you to NetGalley, Kathy Reichs, and Simon & Schuster Canada for providing me with a copy of this publication, which allows me to provide you with an unbiased review.Kathy Reichs is back with another thriller, though it is not of the forensic variety. Sunday "Sunnie" Night lives an isolated life after leaving the Charleston PD under a cloud of scrutiny. She is happy being off the grid and living alongside nature. When she is approached with a chance to get back in the game, Night remains somewhat skeptical, but takes a gamble and heads to the mainland. There, she meets with Opaline Drucker, a rich socialite who wants answers related to the murder of her daughter and grandson, as well as the disappearance of her granddaughter. The payout and the chance to call the shots are too alluring for Night and she agrees to explore this case, which takes her to Chicago. There, Night learns that the murders took place at a Jewish Girls' School when a bomb detonated. Setting out some feelers, Night must try to ascertain who is behind this and how she can trap them, where the local cops failed. After discovering a few digital breadcrumbs, Night becomes enmeshed in a game of cat and mouse, almost losing her life. However, she is able to trace some of the bombing events to a larger group, a collective who sport a double-J tattoo. Travelling from Chicago to Los Angeles and eventually into the Old South, Night will stop at nothing to get answers. Layered with in the narrative is a side story about how Night got her name and the personal struggles she faced at a formative time in her life. An interesting story that will have some readers on the edge of their seats while others might be praying that Tempe Brennan will soon reappear.I am of two minds about this book. I applaud Reichs for venturing out of her comfort zone (Tempe Brennan and anything VIRALS), which has given her the chance to create a new and highly curious protagonist. However, I also have such a deep appreciation for Temperance Brennan that I find it hard to step away from that character or at least not to draw large comparisons. The premise of this story is strong and the development of Sunday Night is also done with considerable delicacy. As I mentioned before, it could be that she contrasts so much with Temperance that has left me leery to latch onto her. The story moves along effectively and flows with ease, though I did not find myself as ensconced as I would have liked. I sought something stronger and deeper, rather than bouncing from one side of the country to the other before landing in Kentucky for a terror-based standoff. The banter between characters was decent enough and the backstory that Reichs provides could bear some fruit, but it did not capture me as wholeheartedly as I would have liked. Overall, this is a decent book, but I regret to say, it pales in comparison to the forensic gems I am used to finding when Kathy Reichs is at the helm.Kudos, Madam Reichs for stepping away and allowing your readers to see another of your layers. I know some authors like to be known not only for a single character, but you have done so well that perhaps Reichs and Brennan will forever be intertwined.Like/hate the review? An ever-growing collection of others appears at: http://pecheyponderings.wordpress.com/
    more
  • Zoe
    July 10, 2017
    3.5 Stars!Fast-paced, mysterious, and entertaining!This is a suspenseful thriller that reminds us that terrorism can often be homegrown and emphasizes just how dangerous anger, hatred, and religious fanaticism can truly be.The writing is clear and precise. The main character, Sunday Night, is tough, intelligent, and determined, and the supporting characters are an intriguing mix of ruthless, persistent zealots, and a charming, dependable brother.I have to say that die-hard fans of the Temperance 3.5 Stars!Fast-paced, mysterious, and entertaining!This is a suspenseful thriller that reminds us that terrorism can often be homegrown and emphasizes just how dangerous anger, hatred, and religious fanaticism can truly be.The writing is clear and precise. The main character, Sunday Night, is tough, intelligent, and determined, and the supporting characters are an intriguing mix of ruthless, persistent zealots, and a charming, dependable brother.I have to say that die-hard fans of the Temperance Brennan series may be a little disappointed in this latest outing by Reichs which doesn't have the scientific jargon and forensic analysis we typically associate with her novels, but there's no question that Reichs is a great writer and if you read this new novel with an open mind you will recognize her trademark strong, flawed, female protagonist and straightforward style of writing that could definitely lead to another bestselling series for her.Thank you to Simon & Schuster Canada and Goodreads Giveaways for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.All my reviews can be found on my blog at http://whatsbetterthanbooks.com
    more
  • Jean
    April 14, 2017
    “Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers.” – Alfred Lord TennysonSunday Night, known as Sunnie to her few friends, has garnered knowledge aplenty from her years of experience in the military and police force. Wisdom? Perhaps. All we really learn of Ms. Night early on in Kathy Reichs’ standalone PI thriller, Two Nights, is that she has a checkered past. She’s ex-military and an ex-cop with Charleston PD, having given up the latter job after shooting a suspect and suffering an injury herself. Rather “Knowledge comes, but wisdom lingers.” – Alfred Lord TennysonSunday Night, known as Sunnie to her few friends, has garnered knowledge aplenty from her years of experience in the military and police force. Wisdom? Perhaps. All we really learn of Ms. Night early on in Kathy Reichs’ standalone PI thriller, Two Nights, is that she has a checkered past. She’s ex-military and an ex-cop with Charleston PD, having given up the latter job after shooting a suspect and suffering an injury herself. Rather than settling for a desk job, she’s taken disability and has settled in as something of a recluse on Goat Island, South Carolina. There she seems content to feed the visiting squirrel she calls Bob and avoid the mosquitoes as well as her neighbors.Suddenly, she finds herself summoned by a wealthy woman, Opaline Drucker, whose daughter and grandson were killed in a bombing and whose teenage granddaughter went missing. Ms. Night’s task is to find those responsible, and if possible, locate Drucker’s granddaughter Stella. Why should she take on this challenge? The pay will be amazing, but she is tempted to refuse. Still, Sunday is drawn to the plight of the missing girl. What happened to her? Is she dead? Is she alive somewhere, being tortured and abused?For readers who are used to Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan series, this protagonist might come as a shock. She’s not Tempe, a forensic anthropologist. She’s Sunday Night, an ex-cop-turned PI. Sunnie does not have a warm, shiny personality. She uses sarcasm to keep others at a safe distance, and her wry wit is not for everyone. But she’s smart and resourceful. She’s diligent and persistent. She’s definitely not someone you’d want to cross. Like a lot of detective novels, the Night chapters are narrated in first person. We also get to meet her twin brother Gus. That’s one of the vague aspects of this book; there are others. Gus is a kinder, gentler soul than Sunnie.Along with the appearance of Gus, most of the secondary chapters that impart snippets of a young female in an undisclosed location are much more cryptic. For most of the book, I was speculating about the timeframe and her identity and the setting, and I found it frustrating. I wanted more details – even when those questions were answered, I still didn’t feel satisfied that I really understood enough about what had happened, and that was my chief complaint about this story. I wish that the author had taken a different tact in showing us who the characters are while still maintaining the element of surprise. While I now understand the idea, I am not altogether sure that it was entirely successful in its execution.There were also aspects of the plot that, while perhaps plausible, seemed rather a stretch. The bad guys came across as amateurs, yet the Chicago police hadn’t been able to solve the case in over a year (which was Sunnie’s point all along). I did like the twist on some present-day issues, however, and I am pleased that Ms. Reichs has taken a risk with a whole new direction and different types of characters. Sunday Night and Gus would be characters I would like to see more of in the future.I thank NetGalley, Random House Publishing, and the author for an ARC of Two Nights. My unbiased opinions are my own.3.5 stars
    more
  • Brenda
    June 14, 2017
    Sunday Night lived a quiet life with her demons on the isolated island which connected to the mainland only by boat. She had no TV; read no newspapers. When her foster father and long-time friend Beau told her of someone needing her help, Sunnie’s first instinct was to refuse. But part of the story stirred long buried feelings; her dark past made a connection when she heard of the young girl who had been missing for a year – she felt the pull to find her…With her discovery that the missing girl’ Sunday Night lived a quiet life with her demons on the isolated island which connected to the mainland only by boat. She had no TV; read no newspapers. When her foster father and long-time friend Beau told her of someone needing her help, Sunnie’s first instinct was to refuse. But part of the story stirred long buried feelings; her dark past made a connection when she heard of the young girl who had been missing for a year – she felt the pull to find her…With her discovery that the missing girl’s mother and brother had both been killed in a terrorist blast, and she had vanished from that time on, Sunnie’s adrenalin had her following the trail. She enlisted help when she needed it, but mostly she was a loner – cautious to a fault, nevertheless she knew one person who would have her back. Together the two of them searched, their discovery of the truth as imperative as breathing.But the plot they uncovered was far worse than Sunnie had dreamed – would they find the missing girl? Or was she already dead? And could Sunnie face her terrible, dark past?Two Nights by Kathy Reichs is a long way removed from her Temperance Brennan novels – it’s filled with fast-paced, full-on action from start to finish. I thoroughly enjoyed the kick-ass character of Sunnie, even with her multitude of hang-ups and demons that threatened to take her down on many occasions. I hope Reichs writes more of Sunnie’s story as I think it’d make a great series. Highly recommended.With thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for my copy to read and review.
    more
  • Carrie
    June 27, 2017
    Sunday Night has cut herself off from everyone hiding off by herself with her physical and psychological scars haunting her. But when she is contacted to help and offered quite a bit of money to find a girl that has gone missing after the chaos of a bomb she decides to take the case. Sunnie finds herself traveling and following the clues to help her solve the questions still being asked of whether the girl was dead or was she taken? During her time Sunnie will need to face her own demons that ha Sunday Night has cut herself off from everyone hiding off by herself with her physical and psychological scars haunting her. But when she is contacted to help and offered quite a bit of money to find a girl that has gone missing after the chaos of a bomb she decides to take the case. Sunnie finds herself traveling and following the clues to help her solve the questions still being asked of whether the girl was dead or was she taken? During her time Sunnie will need to face her own demons that have been haunting her for the past several years. Two Nights is my first read by Kathy Reichs who I have been wanting to try reading for quite a while and thought with this being a standalone it would be the perfect time to try her work out. When seeing this book up for review I was quite thrilled to receive a copy and had looked forward to reading it. Unfortunately the book really ended up somewhat a disappointment for me as I really thought I would love it. My main issue with this book was simply I never really liked the main character at all. I don't know why but as a flawed character is usually one to become quite attached to but instead I never could connect with Sunnie which just made connecting to everything else going on quite a chore. To be honest by halfway I knew this wasn't a book for me and began skimming here and there just to finish. The good news for me though now that I'm done is I'm reading how this is so different from the normal Kathy Reichs works that I'll still give her another shot sometime and chalk it up to just not connecting with this particular story. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Maureen Carden
    April 22, 2017
    Two Nights is a standalone from Kathy Reichs who is known for her Temperance Brennan forensic mysteries. Two Nights is much faster paced than Reichs' series. Hopefully now I will quit with the comparisons. Especially since I got bored with Brennan and it might take me awhile to get bored with Sunday Night. Oops, I did it again.Sunday is a recluse living on a thinly inhabited island off the coast of Charleston, South Carolina. She is making a life for herself dealing with her physical and psychol Two Nights is a standalone from Kathy Reichs who is known for her Temperance Brennan forensic mysteries. Two Nights is much faster paced than Reichs' series. Hopefully now I will quit with the comparisons. Especially since I got bored with Brennan and it might take me awhile to get bored with Sunday Night. Oops, I did it again.Sunday is a recluse living on a thinly inhabited island off the coast of Charleston, South Carolina. She is making a life for herself dealing with her physical and psychological scars. Her only friends are her foster father and a squirrel.Sunday is enticed from her island by her foster father and is tasked by a South of Broad Charleston dowager to hunt down the people who killed the dowager's daughter and grandson in a terrorist bombing in Chicago. Her grand-daughter, Stella, who was also there disappeared in the midst of the bombing. Sunday is drawn to the missing granddaughter feeling strongly that she is alive. Sunday only hopes she is fast enough to find her before Stella is killed.During Sunday's pursuit of the terrorists there are alternate chilling chapters detailing the torture and mistreatment of a prisoner, giving the reader hope that Sunday is correct in her certainty about Stella's fate. Two Nights is a thrilling ride in the hunt for these terrorists with many surprises along the way. The story barrels across the country providing tense action in each city it stops. Maybe I read this too fast in keeping with the pace set by the author, but there is still so much unexplained about Sunday and the origins of many of her deepest scars. Sunday is fascinating, I very much want to read about her again. Reich always writes such interesting characters.I do hope this is a beginning of a series rather than a standalone. There is so much more I want to learn about the Two Nights.Thank you to NetGalley for an ARC in return for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Debra
    May 23, 2017
    Sunday Night a.k.a. Sunnie has spent years building up the "walls" that surround her. She had a traumatic and troubled past -with psychical and mental scars to show for it. She is ex-Military and an ex-cop living a solitary life on an island off the coast of South Carolina until one day her foster father encourages her to take a cold case. She is hired a woman to who lost her daughter and grandson in an explosion. Her grand-daughter is missing and she believes she has been kidnapped from the sce Sunday Night a.k.a. Sunnie has spent years building up the "walls" that surround her. She had a traumatic and troubled past -with psychical and mental scars to show for it. She is ex-Military and an ex-cop living a solitary life on an island off the coast of South Carolina until one day her foster father encourages her to take a cold case. She is hired a woman to who lost her daughter and grandson in an explosion. Her grand-daughter is missing and she believes she has been kidnapped from the scene of the explosion. What seems like a simple kidnapping turns into much much more. Her investigation takes her from South Caroline to Chicago, Los Angeles and a few other places. She comes into contact with various individuals who want to stop her investigation and she learns that there is more going on than a simple bombing and kidnapping.Through the narrative, the reader learns more about Sunnie and her past. This was my favorite part of the book. I loved learning about Sunday's past and her cult like upbringing. This was the most interesting part of the book for me. I found myself wanting the other parts to go faster so I could get back to Sunday's backstory.This is a stand alone book by Reichs. It is also my least favorite of her books. As I mentioned earlier, my favorite parts of the book were the italicized section detailing Sunday's past. The bombing/kidnapping/investigation section was okay at best for me. The backstory is what earned this book 3 stars from me. I didn't fell as if I knew enough about the other characters to really care about them or what happened to them. I received a copy of this book from the publishers and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • Emma
    June 11, 2017
    Sunday 'Sunnie' Night is a new and immediate favourite. She's tough, damaged, angry, and has a serious attitude that makes her very dangerous to anyone who dares go against her. While i've enjoyed Reichs' characters before, this creation is much more my kind of thing. Clever and capable, she works the evidence and gets shit done. We only learn part of her past and it's far from good, but I'm hoping this is deepened in more books to follow (this can't be just a standalone, it just can't). In orde Sunday 'Sunnie' Night is a new and immediate favourite. She's tough, damaged, angry, and has a serious attitude that makes her very dangerous to anyone who dares go against her. While i've enjoyed Reichs' characters before, this creation is much more my kind of thing. Clever and capable, she works the evidence and gets shit done. We only learn part of her past and it's far from good, but I'm hoping this is deepened in more books to follow (this can't be just a standalone, it just can't). In order to fit the main character, the story is more thriller than crime or forensic procedural, faster paced and a lot darker. Overall it came to a satisfying conclusion but it was Sunnie that kept me hooked over and above the plot. Tell me more Kathy Reichs.....ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Kristy
    July 10, 2017
    Sunday (Sunnie) Night has a pretty big chip on her shoulder and a dark past. Ex-military and a former cop, Sunnie is hired by Opaline Drucker, a wealthy older woman, to look into the bombing that killed her daughter and grandson and left her granddaughter, Stella, missing. The case has some strong parallels to Sunnie's past and despite her better judgement, she agrees help Opaline. Sunnie quickly finds herself in a web of danger and deceit--with little chance of escaping unharmed. I must admit t Sunday (Sunnie) Night has a pretty big chip on her shoulder and a dark past. Ex-military and a former cop, Sunnie is hired by Opaline Drucker, a wealthy older woman, to look into the bombing that killed her daughter and grandson and left her granddaughter, Stella, missing. The case has some strong parallels to Sunnie's past and despite her better judgement, she agrees help Opaline. Sunnie quickly finds herself in a web of danger and deceit--with little chance of escaping unharmed. I must admit that I'm probably one of the few people who haven't read any of Reichs' Temperance Brennan novels. I actually love the show Bones, but have never picked up the books--one of the few times where I've tended to prefer a show to date. So, you won't get a comparison of the Brennan series to this novel in this review (there are plenty of reviews out there with those observations, if you're interested). I am, however, a huge mystery and thriller fan. Reichs presents us with a pretty stereotypical cynical, truculent cop-turned-PI in the character of Sunnie (though Sunnie doesn't have a formal PI license). She's quirky, of course (see such exhibits as her pet squirrel, Bob) and has a distaste of rules of all forms. The story is told primarily from Sunnie's point of view, and we learn about her past only through her own recollections and memories as her present-day case causes her to occasionally think back on or mention old times. I imagine the author aiming for a Harry Bosch or Kinsey Millhone-type: I don't think Sunnie is to that level, but she's definitely a complicated and engaging heroine. The story was certainly a compelling one, if not a bit bizarre at times. Sunnie shoots a man at the Ritz in Chicago, but is allowed to continue staying at the hotel: okay then. The Chicago P.D. allows her to continue investigating (the Drucker family bombing is technically still an open case for them) with surprising magnanimity, even with Opaline's family fortune in play. There are also portions of the novel where Sunnie has various characters under surveillance that drag on a bit (there's only so much tracking of someone back and forth that I can take).Still, for the most part, the plot is pretty tight and exciting. Sunnie may be a bit cliche, but she's a strong character and an interesting one. She has a great wit and sarcasm to her that I loved. She's smart and savvy, even if damaged by her past. The novel also presents a couple of great twists that were excellent surprises--definitely made it worth reading for the mystery alone. Overall, this was a captivating read, and I'd be curious to read more about Sunnie in the future. 3.5 stars.I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Netgalley (thank you!) in return for an unbiased review. It is available everywhere as of 07/11/2017.Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+ ~ Instagram
    more
  • Elaine Tomasso
    April 16, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for an advance copy of Two Nights which introduces ex army and police officer, Sunday "Sunniest " Night.Sunnie is a bit of a mess with a troubled childhood, service in Afghanistan and a debilitating eye injury that ended her police career. She has locked herself away on Goat Island, off the coast of South Carolina, where she leads a solitary, almost hermit-like existence. Worried about her, her foster father arranges for her to mee I would like to thank Netgalley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for an advance copy of Two Nights which introduces ex army and police officer, Sunday "Sunniest " Night.Sunnie is a bit of a mess with a troubled childhood, service in Afghanistan and a debilitating eye injury that ended her police career. She has locked herself away on Goat Island, off the coast of South Carolina, where she leads a solitary, almost hermit-like existence. Worried about her, her foster father arranges for her to meet Opaline Drucker, a rich, eccentric Charleston lady who wants her to find the people who blew up her daughter and grandson and possibly kidnapped her daughter. It turns out to be a wild adventure.I found Two Nights so enjoyable I couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. It is very much in the style of David Baldacci with its improbable plot and high octane action but leavened by Sunnie's caustic humour. As I said the plot is improbable but it's addictive and I found myself so immersed and desperate to find out what happens next that it didn't register until I'd finished. The novel starts in Charleston but quickly moves to Chicago where the bombing happened and on to various other locations where Sunnie always manages to kick ass and gain more information. Sunnie is a real heroine as she overcomes various job related injuries to win through - she might get knocked down but she's soon up and running again. There are hints about her troubled childhood but nothing really concrete until the end of the novel so the reader is left wondering. She is ably assisted in her endeavours by her brother, Gus, but he, again, is a bit of a mystery. They have a good chemistry and work well together but are not particularly well developed as characters. I do not think that this matters as much as it might in another novel as this is a plot driven novel.Two Nights is a good thriller so I have no hesitation in recommending it as a good read.
    more
  • Kathi Defranc
    May 9, 2017
    I really enjoyed this new character by Kathy Reichs, Sunday Night. She is not a goody two-shoes at all, she is sarcastic and scarred, physically and mentally. She lived through a childhood at a Jones-town type camp, her mother among the ones who killed themselves after she and her brother escaped to go for help. She served in the army,was dis-honorably discharged, after which she was a cop, left that under bad circumstances and now lives on a small island by herself . I enjoy her quick wit,feel I really enjoyed this new character by Kathy Reichs, Sunday Night. She is not a goody two-shoes at all, she is sarcastic and scarred, physically and mentally. She lived through a childhood at a Jones-town type camp, her mother among the ones who killed themselves after she and her brother escaped to go for help. She served in the army,was dis-honorably discharged, after which she was a cop, left that under bad circumstances and now lives on a small island by herself . I enjoy her quick wit,feel for her flash backs to early childhood, and like that she decides to help a rich woman locate those who killed her daughter,grandson and took her granddaughter. She is smart and has good sense when investigating, choosing the right people to talk to and to assist. A good plot with fast scenes, smart thinking by Sunday,and a frantic chase for people and bombs until the end. I hope we will see this character again!!I received an ARC of this book from Netgalley,the author Kathy Reichs and publisher Bantam Books, and I sincerely thank them.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    April 25, 2017
    DNF after 40%!As much as I love Reichs temperance Brannan books was this book just not my cup of tea. I do like reading books about a tough, but scarred (mentally and/or physically) woman, but this one didn't appeal to me. It was dull, the story never interested me. So, on to the next book instead...
    more
  • JanB
    July 17, 2017
    2.5 stars, rounded up Sunday Night is a strange name for a protagonist but I liked her. She has a mysterious, traumatic past in her childhood and later took up a career in the military and law enforcement. When an incident that left one dead and Sunday physically scarred, she took disability instead of being forced to work behind a desk the rest of her career. She now lives off the grid as a recluse on an island off the coast of SC. Sunday's foster father convinces her to take on a cold case. We 2.5 stars, rounded up Sunday Night is a strange name for a protagonist but I liked her. She has a mysterious, traumatic past in her childhood and later took up a career in the military and law enforcement. When an incident that left one dead and Sunday physically scarred, she took disability instead of being forced to work behind a desk the rest of her career. She now lives off the grid as a recluse on an island off the coast of SC. Sunday's foster father convinces her to take on a cold case. Wealthy socialite Opaline Drecker lost her daughter and grandson in a bombing and her teenage granddaughter is missing. Sunday is hired to find her. As Sunday works the case, parts of her personality and issues are revealed and the case churns up long-buried trauma. But the reader is kept in the dark about her childhood until near the end of the book. The case takes Sunday to multiple cities across the country in a cat and mouse chase, which threatens Sunday’s life more than once. Sunday is a kick-ass heroine and she uses her wit, sarcasm, and instincts to great effect. There’s a lot of action, but once the perps are identified and the purpose behind their actions were revealed, I lost interest. I can’t say more without posting spoilers, but it’s just not my cup of tea.I applaud Ms. Reichs stepping away from her Temperance Brennan series and trying something new. I didn’t care for the subject matter, but other readers may enjoy this more than I did. If you like your books full of action, and enjoy a strong kick-ass female lead, then this is the book for you.**thanks to Netgalley and Random House Publishing for providing me with a review copy
    more
  • Elvan
    July 8, 2017
    Refreshing read. I am thrilled to see Kathy Reichs step away from Temperance Brennan and give us a character who is rough around the edges, one with loads of baggage living the life of a recluse on Goat Island. Sunnie Night is pulled out of her self-imposed isolation when her friend and foster dad Beau asks her to hunt down the people responsible for the death of a local dowager’s daughter and grandson and investigate the abduction of the old woman’s granddaughter. It has been over a year since Refreshing read. I am thrilled to see Kathy Reichs step away from Temperance Brennan and give us a character who is rough around the edges, one with loads of baggage living the life of a recluse on Goat Island. Sunnie Night is pulled out of her self-imposed isolation when her friend and foster dad Beau asks her to hunt down the people responsible for the death of a local dowager’s daughter and grandson and investigate the abduction of the old woman’s granddaughter. It has been over a year since the girl went missing. Beau convinces Sunnie that her military training along with events in her past give her an edge that other law enforcement agencies lack. Sunnie begrudgingly accepts the challenge. Sunnie is no Tempe Brennan. She is angry and bitter at all that life has thrown her way. She is also a trained ex-SERE (survival, evasion, resistance, and escape). She will need all her training as she follows leads all over the country knowing in her gut the girl is still alive. I loved the fast pace of this novel. The bad guys are larger than life, taking on an almost cartoon-like persona but Sunnie, with some timely help (view spoiler)[ from Gus (hide spoiler)] is not frightened off by their actions. Bonus points go to Sunnie who unlike Temperance knew when to call in the authorities and keep them informed when the case became so much more than a simple child abduction. If you enjoy solving mysteries with the biggest mystery being the protagonist herself this is a fun read. When the case is dusted and done we still don’t know all we’d like to know about her. What I do know is that I would love the opportunity to spend more days with Sunnie Night. She’s got an edge that Dr. Brennan has been missing for a while. Kudos to the author for adding some grit and damaged psyche to her heroine.4 starsARC received with thanks from publisher via NetGalley for review.
    more
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    May 21, 2017
    Being a crime fiction fan, it is not easy to peruse any sort of crime shelf without seeing a book by Kathy Reichs. When I read the synopsis for Reichs’ newest standalone thriller, Two Nights, I knew that I would have to give this one a read. As soon as I started reading Two Nights, it became very clear why all of her books do well. Reichs can weave a serious story! Two Nights opens with the introduction of Sunday Night. Sunday is a woman with a tumultuous past, a grudge on her shoulder and some Being a crime fiction fan, it is not easy to peruse any sort of crime shelf without seeing a book by Kathy Reichs. When I read the synopsis for Reichs’ newest standalone thriller, Two Nights, I knew that I would have to give this one a read. As soon as I started reading Two Nights, it became very clear why all of her books do well. Reichs can weave a serious story! Two Nights opens with the introduction of Sunday Night. Sunday is a woman with a tumultuous past, a grudge on her shoulder and some serious killer instinct. After leaving the police force after some misconduct, she is drawn back to the scene privately after a wealthy woman approaches her to look into the disappearance of her teenaged granddaughter. As Sunnie begins her investigation, she comes into more danger than she ever believed and not only fights to save the missing girl, but also her own life as well. From what I know about Kathy Reichs, her other novels have a lot of strong female characters. Similarly in this novel, we have Sunnie. She is one tough cookie and gives all males in her field a run for their money. But she also has a soft side, which I found to realistic. I find a lot of times in literature, the female protagonist sometimes comes off as cold in order to “hang with the big boys” but not Sunnie. I found her relationship with her twin brother August (Gus) to be quite endearing. Although I liked her in theory, I didn’t really find myself connecting to her as a character. As for the plot of this one, so many things missed the mark for me. I found this one to be considerably slower paced and, although it was a easy read to get through (probably due to Reichs’ ability to write), I didn’t find like I absorbed a whole lot of what was going on. Nothing really affected me; I didn’t find myself too invested. The one thing I really did like, and what stood out for me, was the cult subplot to this storyline.Like I mentioned, I did find that although this was a quick read but I did not find myself completely invested in the story or connected to the characters. I feel like this would be a good entry point to those new to the crime thriller genre, but to those who are seasoned, this one may miss the mark. I gave this one a 3/5 stars.
    more
  • Erin Clemence
    June 21, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. I am a long-time fan of Bones (the TV series), and have found my own kindred spirit in Temperance Brennan (the character, anyway) yet I have never read anything by the show’s creator, Kathy Reichs. This is shocking to me but it has just been one of those things where I have every intention to investigate and explore one of her books, and then I get distracted by something else. (“O Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a free, electronic ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. I am a long-time fan of Bones (the TV series), and have found my own kindred spirit in Temperance Brennan (the character, anyway) yet I have never read anything by the show’s creator, Kathy Reichs. This is shocking to me but it has just been one of those things where I have every intention to investigate and explore one of her books, and then I get distracted by something else. (“Oh look! A book with a shiny new cover!”) For this reason I thought “Two Nights” would be the novel to start with, since it’s a standalone from Reich’s Temperance Brennan series. In “Two Nights”, the main character is Sunday Night, a young woman from a broken background that has left her with physical and emotional scars, as well as a “very particular set of skills” (in Liam Neeson voice). For this reason, she is hired by a Southern socialite to investigate the disappearance of her granddaughter, assumed dead in an explosion that killed her entire family years ago. While Sunnie investigates, uncomfortable memories resurface and Sunnie develops a strong and unyielding desire to help the young girl that time has forgotten. This novel barely made 3 stars, as I am heartbroken to report. The plot was all over the place, starting with an investigation into a young girls’ disappearance but turning into something entirely different. The disappearance quickly was placed on the back burner as Sunnie and her partner began to investigate an associated anti-Islamic terrorist group. The only reminders we had that in fact, a young girl was missing, was snippets in the novel told from a young girls’ perspective (which turned out not to be from the young girl at all) and the occasional visits Sunnie made to the grandmother who was footing her bill. Beyond Sunnie, the grandmother and Sunnie’s partner, all of the other characters became a huge blur. There was such a huge cast of police and detectives that made it nearly impossible to follow, and the group of “kidnappers” kept increasing so much so that I could no longer keep track of who was good and who was not. I really expected this book to play out differently. The ending provided the appropriate amount of satisfaction to the characters (although there are so many that I didn’t really have an attachment to any of them) and there were no unanswered questions. Also, there was no hint of a sequel and although I could see this character holding her own stand-alone series, it would likely get lost in the shuffle of current female-led police novels and would simply not keep the interest needed to generate its own series. For fans of Reichs’, perhaps they will enjoy this novel. I will get familiar with her writing and re-read this one, perhaps I am missing something. Or better yet, I will go back and re-watch eleven seasons of Bones.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    July 16, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.Well, this was disappointing. When I saw that Kathy Reichs had written a stand alone novel, I knew that I wanted to read it. I have really enjoyed her books in the past and was looking forward to this book. This book never clicked for me and I found myself constantly setting the book aside. There were some parts of the book that I did enjoy and I never really considered not finishing it but it wasn't a story that did much for me. I t This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.Well, this was disappointing. When I saw that Kathy Reichs had written a stand alone novel, I knew that I wanted to read it. I have really enjoyed her books in the past and was looking forward to this book. This book never clicked for me and I found myself constantly setting the book aside. There were some parts of the book that I did enjoy and I never really considered not finishing it but it wasn't a story that did much for me. I think one of my main problems with this book is that I didn't care for the characters. The focus of this book is Sunday Night, or Sunnie. Sunnie is an ex-cop that carries a lot of scars both physical and emotional. She was paranoid but had a lot of skills that were put to the test as she tried to find out what happened to the girl she has been hired to find. There are sections of the book spread throughout the story that talk of Sunnie's past. I thought that learning her backstory was way too drawn out and by the time any real information was given I had lost interest.The mystery never grabbed me. I just had a really hard time getting into the overall story. Of course, I wanted to know what had happened to the girl but the story seemed to move really slow. Everything was a waiting game wrapped up in Sunnie's paranoia. It just felt like it took really long time for things to get moving. So much so that this turned into a book that I kept checking how much more was left just because I wanted to be done with it.The writing felt really choppy with lots of short sentences that never really flowed. There was a lot of really traumatic things happening in the story but I never felt like any of the characters had a single emotion. I did think that the book had a good start. I like the idea of Sunnie. I like that she was quirky and a little different but that feeling faded quickly. I am not going to be recommending this one. I think that anyone interested in reading Kathy Reichs should start with the Temperance Brennan series which I loved. I haven't read the whole series but have read the first 13 books or so in that series and really enjoyed them and actually plan to re-read the series at some point. This book was a miss for me but I do look forward to reading more of her work in the future.I received an advance reader edition of this book from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine via NetGalley.Initial ThoughtsI had a lot of hopes for this book. I have enjoyed all of the previous books that I have read by Kathy Reichs so I was excited to read her new stand alone novel. This was disappointing. I didn't care of any of the characters and found the story to be boring.
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    June 9, 2017
    In this suspense novel, former cop Sunday Night is enlisted by a wealthy woman to see if her granddaughter is still alive. Sunnie is a likeable, tough woman who had an abusive childhood. Being adopted by a cop through her high school years couldn’t erase the damage that had been done, but Beau was the reason she enlisted in the Marines. After an unsuccessful stint in the military and then as a cop, she lives off the grid on a tiny island. Though she’s got a hard shell, she is funny in her way.Su In this suspense novel, former cop Sunday Night is enlisted by a wealthy woman to see if her granddaughter is still alive. Sunnie is a likeable, tough woman who had an abusive childhood. Being adopted by a cop through her high school years couldn’t erase the damage that had been done, but Beau was the reason she enlisted in the Marines. After an unsuccessful stint in the military and then as a cop, she lives off the grid on a tiny island. Though she’s got a hard shell, she is funny in her way.Sunnie’s adventures take her around the country as she attempts to find out who bombed the Jewish girl’s school where Opaline Drucker’s daughter and grandson were killed and where her granddaughter Stella disappeared a year ago. The pacing is mostly fast. Reichs has a distinctive writing style—she uses a lot of sentence fragments and her analogies are unique. The subject matter was timely—I can’t say more without giving up some of the clues that Sunnie discovers as she tries to hunt down the bad guys and save Stella if she’s still alive. This is a fun book. Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to review this novel.For more of my reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Gary
    June 17, 2017
    I enjoy Kathy Reich's novels and especially the Temperance Brennan series so was really looking forward to this stand alone novel but for some reason I just failed to connect with it. I couldn't get to grips with the fast dialogue and for me this change in writing style didn't work. I have since other reviews and there appears to be a fair few people like me with the same opinion, I suppose we are all entitled to off days but hats off for trying.Fortunately I have enjoyed enough Kathy Reich's no I enjoy Kathy Reich's novels and especially the Temperance Brennan series so was really looking forward to this stand alone novel but for some reason I just failed to connect with it. I couldn't get to grips with the fast dialogue and for me this change in writing style didn't work. I have since other reviews and there appears to be a fair few people like me with the same opinion, I suppose we are all entitled to off days but hats off for trying.Fortunately I have enjoyed enough Kathy Reich's novels to know that she is worth another read.I would like to thank Net Galley and Random House UK, Cornerstone for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sherry Fundin
    July 13, 2017
    I love Kathy Reichs and she has never let me down when it comes to a great read. She continues to keep me enthralled in Two Nights. I am eager to meet a new character, Sunday Night.We begin on Goat Island, which is like Mackinac Island, but more rustic, consisting of shacks with no power or septic…the mosquitoes run rampant. It made me think of a visit to Chappaquiddick, where I thought they would carry me away.I couldn’t help but chuckle when Gus is hiding things before letting Bean, the cop in I love Kathy Reichs and she has never let me down when it comes to a great read. She continues to keep me enthralled in Two Nights. I am eager to meet a new character, Sunday Night.We begin on Goat Island, which is like Mackinac Island, but more rustic, consisting of shacks with no power or septic…the mosquitoes run rampant. It made me think of a visit to Chappaquiddick, where I thought they would carry me away.I couldn’t help but chuckle when Gus is hiding things before letting Bean, the cop into his home. Gus had been a cop too, but quit after a justified shooting could have cost him his life. Now, the only way to reach him is by boat or carrier pigeon.Sunnie is now on the search for a missing teen that may have been taken by a cult. Sunday Night, what a name. I like her, her solitude and enjoyment of the thrill of the hunt. She has a sarcastic attitude, some would consider rude and I can relate to that.I love a damaged heroine and we have one here. Headstrong, determined, dangerous, she can hold her own, but she knows when to call in help. She needs someone covering her back.Stella was calling to her and she would find her.Cults, some seriously creepy people and things happen. When I think of cults, the first thing that pops into my mind is Jim Jones and the horrifying deaths in Guyana. I can never understand giving up everything, putting your life entirely in someone else’s hands.The clock is ticking…Time is running out. If she’s alive, what kind of shape will she be in? What have they done to her, both mentally and physically?State by state, clue by clue, step by step, her and Gus search for Stella and the one that holds her.I don’t want to spoil Stella’s story but how she endures, I do not know. STRONG is a weak word in describing how very determined she is to survive. The terror and torture would be the end of some of the strongest men and women.Stella tells some of her story in short chapters that had my emotions and respect for her….one eyed, kickass, take no prisoners, been through hell and back but never quits fight to survive.Cults, terrorism, damaged heroes, and characters that will tug at your heartstrings and scare the hell out of you. You think you know what’s going on and how the story will end, but think again.Kathy Reichs had me shaking my head, picking my jaw up off the floor and congratulating her on one hell of a ride in the life and soul of Sunny Nights. This ain’t no BONES you’re reading about.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of Two Nights by Kathy Reichs.To see more visit fundinmental
    more
  • Jane Shambler
    June 1, 2017
    Wow and OMG and Whoa. How else could I describe this book. It is engaging from the first to the last page. You seriously do not want to put it down because you are scared you will miss something. It is so well written you just want more. I know the book had to end but I did not want it too.Reich's famous for her Temperance Brennan novels is now branching out into stand-alone novels. In style I might add. Reich introduces a character Sunday Night a former marine and cop. Yes she has issues but ta Wow and OMG and Whoa. How else could I describe this book. It is engaging from the first to the last page. You seriously do not want to put it down because you are scared you will miss something. It is so well written you just want more. I know the book had to end but I did not want it too.Reich's famous for her Temperance Brennan novels is now branching out into stand-alone novels. In style I might add. Reich introduces a character Sunday Night a former marine and cop. Yes she has issues but takes on the job because it is similar to her own story. Reich's even explains the unusual name. Sunday is a strong female character with a strong sense of humor, and her sarcasm is at a level of true dedication. It all adds to the story and who Sunday is.Reich's develops the story at a nice steady pace and there are many twists and turns along the way, I have to admit I did not see the whole ending coming. Parts became obvious over the course of the book but I did not expect the leader to be who it turned put to be. Reich's deserves praise for that alone. I love a good mystery and she fooled me.This book is very well written and I can see many having reservations about it because there is no Bones. My advice is read it ignoring all you know about the author and I think maybe your perception will change.Would I recommend this book? Definitely YES.*ARC provided by publisher via NetGalley*
    more
  • Darcia Helle
    July 18, 2017
    With Two Nights, Kathy Reichs takes a huge leap away from her beloved Temperance Brennan Series. Sunday Night's character is nothing like Temperance, and we are not immersed in forensics to solve a case. So if you're looking for 'new but the same', you'll probably be disappointed. Put expectations aside and you can't help but get swept up in this raw and edgy story.Sunday Night is a total badass. She has the kind of emotional strength most of us can barely fathom. She's driven, independent, sarc With Two Nights, Kathy Reichs takes a huge leap away from her beloved Temperance Brennan Series. Sunday Night's character is nothing like Temperance, and we are not immersed in forensics to solve a case. So if you're looking for 'new but the same', you'll probably be disappointed. Put expectations aside and you can't help but get swept up in this raw and edgy story.Sunday Night is a total badass. She has the kind of emotional strength most of us can barely fathom. She's driven, independent, sarcastic, funny, fiercely protective, and makes no apologies for who she is. I loved her character right from the start. As the story unfolds, we learn more about the past that shaped her. The memories haunting her are also what push her forward, sometimes recklessly, but always with the best intentions. The pacing steadily builds to a breathless conclusion. We have unexpected twists, compelling content, and unforgettable characters.Kathy Reichs is a gifted writer, and I'm glad she veered away from the usual to give us something totally unexpected. *I was provided with an ebook copy by the publisher, via NetGalley, in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Nadine
    June 24, 2017
    Two Nights is the story about Sunny Night, a reclusive ex-cop who is pulled into a missing persons case and is forced to face a past that forever changed her. This was my first time reading Kathy Reichs. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. I liked a lot of things in Two Nights, mainly the actual mystery and main character, but the writing style left me unsatisfied. The mystery is full of twist and turns that kept me guessing from the first page to the last. It was engaging and intriguing Two Nights is the story about Sunny Night, a reclusive ex-cop who is pulled into a missing persons case and is forced to face a past that forever changed her. This was my first time reading Kathy Reichs. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't great either. I liked a lot of things in Two Nights, mainly the actual mystery and main character, but the writing style left me unsatisfied. The mystery is full of twist and turns that kept me guessing from the first page to the last. It was engaging and intriguing and kept me reading while I was reading. I make that distinction because when I took a break from reading, I had to convince myself to pick it back up again. This is due to my dislike of the writing style. I couldn't connect with it. It felt like there was a barrier between the story because of the writing and I. Reichs' style is abrupt yet descriptive throughout the entire novel. This may be a reflection of the main character's mental state or the author's style (as I have previously mentioned I haven't read anything else by the author). Either way, I didn't enjoy it. On the other hand, Sunny Night as a character intrigued me. Sunny has suffered some sort of trauma as a child that isn't fully explained until the end of the novel. Sunny is resourceful, patient, intelligent, and badass. There were a few moments that I was stunned by Sunny’s badassery and resourcefulness. I thoroughly enjoyed her perspective on the mystery despite my dislike for the writing. Overall, Two Nights is an okay read that kept me somewhat entertained. The mystery is satisfying and interesting, but is ultimately done a disservice by the writing. Despite my more negative review, I will be picking up more Reichs in the future!**I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Stacee
    July 6, 2017
    I have read and enjoyed all of the Temperance books and I was excited at the idea of a stand alone with a new character. Sunnie was a tough character to like. She's had quite a rough life and it's made her hardened and bitter. Of course that's understandable, but it also made her hard to root for. Gus was delightful and the banter between them added a bit of much needed levity. Plot wise, it was an interesting set up and wanting to know how it played out is the only thing that kept me going. The I have read and enjoyed all of the Temperance books and I was excited at the idea of a stand alone with a new character. Sunnie was a tough character to like. She's had quite a rough life and it's made her hardened and bitter. Of course that's understandable, but it also made her hard to root for. Gus was delightful and the banter between them added a bit of much needed levity. Plot wise, it was an interesting set up and wanting to know how it played out is the only thing that kept me going. The story was monotonous and boring: a lot of tailing people and moving hotels. Seriously, that's pretty much all that happens until the last 50 pages. Overall, it was a clever idea with some things I didn't see coming, but the piecemeal reveals and long passages without dialogue had me skimming. If Sunnie becomes a series, I will not be reading. **Huge thanks to Bantam Books for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    July 22, 2017
    Review soon.
  • Judy
    June 15, 2017
    Awesome book! This is the first time I've read one of Kathy Reichs' books that didn't have Dr. Temperance Brennan as the starring character. This one has a reluctant investigator, Sunday Night (love the name!), who gets pulled into a case where a family was destroyed by a bomb attack. Everyone dies except for a teenaged girl who has vanished. Sunday is determined to find the girl, dead or alive. Suspenseful thriller that kept me glued to the pages.Many thanks to Kathy Reichs and Random House Pub Awesome book! This is the first time I've read one of Kathy Reichs' books that didn't have Dr. Temperance Brennan as the starring character. This one has a reluctant investigator, Sunday Night (love the name!), who gets pulled into a case where a family was destroyed by a bomb attack. Everyone dies except for a teenaged girl who has vanished. Sunday is determined to find the girl, dead or alive. Suspenseful thriller that kept me glued to the pages.Many thanks to Kathy Reichs and Random House Publishing Group through Netgalley for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 15, 2017
    This is the second book by Kathy Reichs that I've read. The first was Déjà Dead (Temperance Brennan #1). I really enjoyed both books, however Two Nights has a much different feel to it than Deja Dead. The sentences were short and punchy and gave the pacing a sense of urgency. Sunnie (Sunday Night- the MC) has a harrowing past and was a tough as nails type of character. She started out in a special forces military unit and eventually went on to become a detective. I really loved her dry sense of This is the second book by Kathy Reichs that I've read. The first was Déjà Dead (Temperance Brennan #1). I really enjoyed both books, however Two Nights has a much different feel to it than Deja Dead. The sentences were short and punchy and gave the pacing a sense of urgency. Sunnie (Sunday Night- the MC) has a harrowing past and was a tough as nails type of character. She started out in a special forces military unit and eventually went on to become a detective. I really loved her dry sense of humor and her passion for the crime she was investigating. I don't want to give anything away, but there's a secondary character in the book named Gus, and I thought he was wonderfully laid back and gave balance to Sunnie's aggressive style.One of my criticisms of Deja Dead was that we were often given a little too much detail, as to which streets Dr. Brennan was driving on, what she was eating for lunch, etc. We still see some of that peeking through here but it wasn't as prevalent and didn't slow down the story at all. I can see how Reichs writing has matured over time and I appreciated that.The mystery itself is twisting and turning and the action jumps off almost immediately and doesn't slow down. We see Sunnie use a variety of investigative techniques and travel to several different settings. (The settings were all very different and Reichs nailed the feel of those places.) Sunnie does have a tendency to jump head first into a fight, but we see her safely and smartly navigating obvious danger points which lent credence to her detective background and made her feel real.My only real criticism is that I think this is not a mystery the reader can solve on their own. The conclusion is reached by knowledge of things the reader isn't otherwise provided with. It doesn't give you the sense that you're actively engaging with the mystery, but taking a more passive role in watching Sunnie solve it. It's a small criticism though, as watching Sunnie and Gus solve it was very entertaining.I really enjoyed this book and even though it is supposed to be a standalone, I wouldn't mind seeing a few more Sunnie Night books in the future!Thank you to NetGalley and Random House Publishing Ballantine Books for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Monnie
    May 8, 2017
    No Bones about it: This is a really, really good book.It is not, however, one of the author's popular books featuring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan (she of the equally popular and long-running TV series, "Bones"). Rather, this is a thriller that stands entirely on its own. Just to be clear, there's no anthropology here, nor forensics. And in place of a self-assured (some might say know-it-all) heroine like Temperance, the main character is more than a little flawed (some might say s No Bones about it: This is a really, really good book.It is not, however, one of the author's popular books featuring forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan (she of the equally popular and long-running TV series, "Bones"). Rather, this is a thriller that stands entirely on its own. Just to be clear, there's no anthropology here, nor forensics. And in place of a self-assured (some might say know-it-all) heroine like Temperance, the main character is more than a little flawed (some might say starting with her oddball name of Sunday Night). She's got psychological scars - and a very noticeable physical one - from a disturbed past she can't forget. She lives on a secluded island; one of her next-door neighbors hanged himself, and the neighbor on the other side avoids her in the belief that she's a crazy woman. Reminiscent of the late, great Robert B. Parker's Jesse Stone, she's a bit verbally challenged - tending to speak in short, clipped responses (when she feels like speaking at all).But she's hardly deprived of skills; in years past, she was a cop who ran into some trouble that brought her promising career to a screeching halt. Now, though, one of the few people she trusts asks her to take on the case of a missing young woman whose ultra-wealthy grandmother is convinced has been kidnapped by some kind of cult.Sunnie, as she's called, is at first reluctant to get involved despite the promise of a lucrative payday. But when the grandmother explains that the girl's mother and brother were killed in a terrorist bombing in Chicago at the time the girl went missing, something in Sunnie's past compels her to investigate. The goal, the grandmother explains, is to find the granddaughter (hopefully alive) as well as the people behind the kidnapping (dead or alive doesn't matter). The trail leads from Charleston, South Carolina, to Chicago to California to Kentucky. It's also a rocky one for Sunnie physically (let's just say bad guys and gals are prone to carry weapons) and mentally, as events in the current situation uncomfortably mirror those of her past.Based on my love of the Brennan series, I requested an advance review copy from the publisher - and was absolutely thrilled when that request was approved. Now that I've finished, I'm even happier. I have no doubt this one is destined for the best-seller list!
    more
Write a review