Gray Wolf Island
Right before Sadie died, she begged her sister, Ruby, to do the one thing she could never do herself: Find the treasure on Gray Wolf Island.With just a mysterious treasure map as a guide, Ruby reluctantly allows some friends to join her on the hunt, each of whom is touched by magic: a boy allegedly born to a virgin, a girl who never sleeps, a boy who can foresee his own death, and a boy with deep ties to the island. Each of them is also keeping a secret—something they’ll have to reveal in order to reach the treasure.As the secrets come to light, Ruby will have to decide: Can she make peace with her friends’ troubled pasts and continue to trust them? Can she forgive herself for doing the unspeakable? Deep in the wilderness of Gray Wolf Island, Ruby’s choices will determine if they make it out with the treasure—or merely with their lives.From debut author Tracey Neithercott comes a darkly compelling tale of profound friendship, adventure, and finding the strength to tell the truth.

Gray Wolf Island Details

TitleGray Wolf Island
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 10th, 2017
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
ISBN1524715301
ISBN-139781524715304
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery

Gray Wolf Island Review

  • Lola Sharp
    April 19, 2016
    Y'all, I am very blessed to have read an early manuscript of this GORGEOUS book. And, yes, I am friends with Tracey, BUT, I think most of you know how blunt and brutally honest I am and that I do NOT hand out 5 stars often. (usually I don't even put stars up) I don't rave willy-nilly. I'm also rather fussy about prose quality. THIS BOOK IS GORGEOUS, atmospheric, with hauntingly beautiful prose, interesting layered characters and a unique premise. If you like Maggie Steifvater or Laini Taylor, et Y'all, I am very blessed to have read an early manuscript of this GORGEOUS book. And, yes, I am friends with Tracey, BUT, I think most of you know how blunt and brutally honest I am and that I do NOT hand out 5 stars often. (usually I don't even put stars up) I don't rave willy-nilly. I'm also rather fussy about prose quality. THIS BOOK IS GORGEOUS, atmospheric, with hauntingly beautiful prose, interesting layered characters and a unique premise. If you like Maggie Steifvater or Laini Taylor, etc. books, you will love Tracey's.
    more
  • Tracey Neithercott
    April 15, 2016
    GRAY WOLF ISLAND used to be in my head, and in about a year it’ll be in yours, which is kind of magical if you think about it. In the meantime, here’s a little bit about the book:There’s an island with an endless pit and dozens of legends about what’s down there.There’s a treasure (of course there’s a treasure), but it’s not what you think it is.There are secrets and lies, murder and magic. And there are friendships—the kind that sneak up on you when you don’t really want them but need them the GRAY WOLF ISLAND used to be in my head, and in about a year it’ll be in yours, which is kind of magical if you think about it. In the meantime, here’s a little bit about the book:There’s an island with an endless pit and dozens of legends about what’s down there.There’s a treasure (of course there’s a treasure), but it’s not what you think it is.There are secrets and lies, murder and magic. And there are friendships—the kind that sneak up on you when you don’t really want them but need them the most.That’s about all I can say at the moment, but if you want some visual inspiration, head over to my Pinterest board.
    more
  • Katy Upperman
    April 19, 2016
    This book is so mind-blowingly good it gave me chills, even on my second read. Author Tracey Neithercott's prose is gorgeously lyrical, her plot (a treasure hunt involving an atmospheric island and a host of tragic secrets) is full of surprises, and her cast will burrow into your heart -- particularly sad-but-strong main character, Ruby, and enigmatic, sensitive Elliot. Gray Wolf Island is like a darker, swoonier version of The Goonies, and is absolutely one of my newest favorites. You'll love i This book is so mind-blowingly good it gave me chills, even on my second read. Author Tracey Neithercott's prose is gorgeously lyrical, her plot (a treasure hunt involving an atmospheric island and a host of tragic secrets) is full of surprises, and her cast will burrow into your heart -- particularly sad-but-strong main character, Ruby, and enigmatic, sensitive Elliot. Gray Wolf Island is like a darker, swoonier version of The Goonies, and is absolutely one of my newest favorites. You'll love it, too, if you enjoy books with unique settings, evocative writing, and authentic friendships, as seen in books by Maggie Stiefvater and Nova Ren Sum and Laura Ruby.
    more
  • Riley Edgewood
    May 5, 2016
    I'll write a full review once GWI releases, but y'all. ADD THIS TO YOUR WISH LISTS. This book is magical with gorgeous prose and engaging characters and just...so swoony. If you liked The Raven Cycle series, this book IS FOR YOU.
  • Allison
    February 1, 2017
    Absolutely beautiful debut! Just...the prose...WOW. Anyways, longer review soon.
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 30, 2017
    SO excited for this!
  • Rachel Strolle
    January 18, 2017
    Mystical, magical, and wonderful. I can't think of anything else I've read that was similar to this. It's special.
  • Kayla
    October 23, 2016
    I could go on and on and on about this book, but I'm going to err on the side of being vague so I don't spoil a single thing. One non-spoilery thing I will say, though, is that the writing is absolutely gorgeous. I highlighted so many lines—lines I loved, lines that made me laugh, lines that will haunt me for days (in the very best way). The end of the opening chapter left me with chills upon chills—a feeling I felt numerous times throughout—and it also left me undeniably invested in the story.G I could go on and on and on about this book, but I'm going to err on the side of being vague so I don't spoil a single thing. One non-spoilery thing I will say, though, is that the writing is absolutely gorgeous. I highlighted so many lines—lines I loved, lines that made me laugh, lines that will haunt me for days (in the very best way). The end of the opening chapter left me with chills upon chills—a feeling I felt numerous times throughout—and it also left me undeniably invested in the story.Gray Wolf Island was satisfying not only for its plot/mystery aspects, but also for the emotional journeys its characters took. Full of mystery, magic, and secrets—along with a good number of things that broke my heart—I could not read this book fast enough.
    more
  • Claire
    December 27, 2016
    Give it to me nowwwwwwwww
  • Karen McManus
    February 15, 2017
    This book had so many storytelling elements that I adore--unlikely friendships, slowly unraveling secrets, and a TREASURE HUNT--but I've also never read anything like it. It's utterly original and beautifully written, with wonderfully real, flawed, complicated characters (Charlie in particular has my heart). The mystery is compelling and keeps you guessing until the end, but the emotional arcs of the characters are just as satisfying. Highly recommend!
    more
  • Melanie Thompson
    February 25, 2017
    When Ruby makes a promise to her dying twin sister, she never thought she'd really go on a search for the lost treasure of Gray Wolf Island. But a year later she finds a map in a copy of Treasure Island that sends her on a life-changing journey with a group of teens she'd never imagined herself with. Gabe, the boy from an immaculate conception, Elliott, the brainiac tough guy, Charlie, the boy who has seen his death on Gray Wolf Island, and Anne, the girl who never sleeps. Ruby barely knows any When Ruby makes a promise to her dying twin sister, she never thought she'd really go on a search for the lost treasure of Gray Wolf Island. But a year later she finds a map in a copy of Treasure Island that sends her on a life-changing journey with a group of teens she'd never imagined herself with. Gabe, the boy from an immaculate conception, Elliott, the brainiac tough guy, Charlie, the boy who has seen his death on Gray Wolf Island, and Anne, the girl who never sleeps. Ruby barely knows any of them, but by the journey's end, she won't be able to imagine life without them. As they search for the treasure, Ruby discovers that the real treasure might just be found in the search itself.This book takes the reader on an epic quest with memorable characters that feel like friends. There are plot twists and turns. There are secrets, kept so well that even the characters themselves don't know them. Ethical questions are pondered, friendships formed, and loss endured. This book will leave the reader thinking long after the last page is read. I highly recommend this YA adventure.
    more
  • Gwen Cole
    February 2, 2017
    I got everything I wanted from this book and then even more. The writing is so beautiful and the setting is amazing, and followed up these complex characters who you have no choice but to fall in love with, this book does not disappoint. I loved it SO much. I also think I found a new book boyfriend. Can't wait for this to be released so it can have a place on my shelf.
    more
  • Alexandra Ott
    March 28, 2017
    This book blew me away. The writing is absolutely gorgeous--so much so that I kept jotting down all of my favorite quotes. The setting is atmospheric and mysterious and magical, and the plot is full of surprises. I loved the characters, too; each of them is complex and nuanced and real. Fans of mysteries and magical realism will love this. Highly recommend!
    more
  • Liz Parker
    June 4, 2016
    I beta read this book and it's phenomenal. Sort of The Goonies meets The Raven Boys.
Write a review