Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles, #2)
SHE'S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD... "Cat" Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat's tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what's a girl to do when she knows it's her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP ITGriffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom...or not at all.

Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles, #2) Details

TitleBreath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles, #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 3rd, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN-139781492626046
Rating
GenreFantasy, Romance, Magic, Fantasy Romance, Mythology, Paranormal, New Adult

Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles, #2) Review

  • Katerina
    January 1, 1970
    “You're the shield, and I'm the sword. Together, we'll forge a new world.” A spellbinding, utterly delicious fantasy romance novel!I can hardly put into words how much I loved Breath of Fire, or why I loved it so intensely and reverently. It wasn't just the accurate depiction of greek mythology (which was obviously the result of thorough research), combined with a unique and whimsical world full of magical creatures and heart-pounding battles. Nor just the wonderful characters whose banters, “You're the shield, and I'm the sword. Together, we'll forge a new world.” A spellbinding, utterly delicious fantasy romance novel!I can hardly put into words how much I loved Breath of Fire, or why I loved it so intensely and reverently. It wasn't just the accurate depiction of greek mythology (which was obviously the result of thorough research), combined with a unique and whimsical world full of magical creatures and heart-pounding battles. Nor just the wonderful characters whose banters, devotion and friendship plastered a huge grin on my face, or the sizzling romance that made my chest burst with a tornado of feelings and my body tingle and sing and burn. It was all of them, bound together by Amanda Bouchet's talent and soul, and the result was riveting! “Today, I will live, because I am Catalia Fisa, and I do not break.” The Power Bid is on. Cat and Griffin and the rest of the Beta Team must make preparations in order to secure Sinta, conquer Thalyria and get rid of its selfish, brutal and bloodthirty leaders. While trying to gather support, they come across mythical monsters, Olympians and oracles, they participate in death tournaments and cheat Charos, they bleed and love and fight for a better future. And Cat must embrace her heritage and destiny, if she wants to be the weapon to alter, destroy and reshape the world. “Harbinger of the end. Destroyer of realms. ” I'm still trying to gather my wits after this mind-blowing sequel of Kingmaker Chronicles. Amanda Bouchet's captivating writing sucked me into adventures and made me travel, forget who I am, my responsibilities, my frustration, the prison of my reality and instead I felt at home, among friends, snarky and caring and tormented friends who warmed my heart and embraced me, who gave me a sword and taught me how to fight gigantic snakes, ensnare goddesses and challenge the Fates. Alternating between vivid battles, action and plots, and a steamy yet tender love story, Breath of Fire is the perfect fantasy novel for the hopeless romantics of the world who crave fireworks and scorching chemistry. The only drawback is that Griffin has probably ruined me for other men (which is totally fine by me). “The minute you cease being afraid of yourself, there's nothing in this world that can stop you.” Cat's character development was incredible. She still was reckless, stubborn and occasionally crazy and mean, but she started comprehending the effects of her actions, and while she was convinced that she was a horrible person who didn't deserve anything good or pure, she proved the opposite time after time. Accepting herself and her burdens was not easy, but she made the first steps when she opened her heart to Griffin, Kato, Flynn and Carver, and she continued on her path to power without losing her conscience. And Griffin, well, he was so much more than a hot alpha-male. The brave warlord actually cared for the world, and the people suffering, and he wanted to do something about it. The fierceness of his love for Cat, his trust and faith in her, his sweet declarations and heated gazes and wicked touches, they made him a character I wanted to hug. And kiss. And devour. “I will never leave you. Only death can tear us apart, and even then, I will wait for you at the edges of the Underworld until you come to me again.” After Breath of Fire, I am certain of one thing: dearest Amanda, i kardia mou einai diki sou. My heart is yours.Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | BookNest
    more
  • Val ⚓️ Shameless, Skanky, and B*tchy ⚓️ Steamy Reads
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsI enjoyed this, but it took me over a week to get through it - which is always indicative of what?That I enjoyed it...but had no problem putting it down. Why, you ask?Because TRIALS. Trials, trials, trials...No, not a jury trial, but a trial of performance AKA constant battles and fighting scenes. CONSTANT. Now, I love me some action scenes...but this book felt like one crusade after another. One test of ability after another.One more opportunity for Cat to suddenly "find" new abilities 3.5 StarsI enjoyed this, but it took me over a week to get through it - which is always indicative of what?That I enjoyed it...but had no problem putting it down. Why, you ask?Because TRIALS. Trials, trials, trials...No, not a jury trial, but a trial of performance AKA constant battles and fighting scenes. CONSTANT. Now, I love me some action scenes...but this book felt like one crusade after another. One test of ability after another.One more opportunity for Cat to suddenly "find" new abilities.One more opportunity to ask the Gods for help.Over and over again. Now, don't get me wrong, I DID like it. I love the connection between Cat and Griffin, PERIOD. And I am always a sucker for anything with magic, mythological references, fated mates, and a "band of brothers" type team scenario. I just thought it was a little heavy and detailed on the constant fighting scenes...some of that detail could have been used for furthering character details, etc. But whatevs!Looking forward to jumping into my ARC of book three.
    more
  •  ⚔ Sh3lly - Cranky Crone of Rabid Hedgehogs and Fire Breathing Kittens ⚔
    January 1, 1970
    $0.62 on US Amazon today! July 30, 2017.Original review:I have some issues, but I also really liked it. What can I say. The fantasy aspects are REALLY good, but the relationship angst finally started to get on my nerves. I saw some typical romance drama-llama that I wish hadn't been included. The Agon Games section made up for most of it. That part was truly a page-turner (about 70% in). Kato was a highlight. I am becoming a Kato fangirl. Yes. So was Lycheron, the well-endowed centaur/Ipotane cr $0.62 on US Amazon today! July 30, 2017.Original review:I have some issues, but I also really liked it. What can I say. The fantasy aspects are REALLY good, but the relationship angst finally started to get on my nerves. I saw some typical romance drama-llama that I wish hadn't been included. The Agon Games section made up for most of it. That part was truly a page-turner (about 70% in). Kato was a highlight. I am becoming a Kato fangirl. Yes. So was Lycheron, the well-endowed centaur/Ipotane creature. All I'm sayin' is, I can maybe see myself writing some fanfic in the future. Possibly maybe.The journey Cat and Team Beta had to take to get the stuff to help them do stuff (spoilers right) was great. But then there was romance stuff (spoilers eh) that bugged me. Cat still wants to keep secrets and Griffin still wants to protect Cat like she's:And then all the sex inserted that felt too forced. I mean, YES, I am saying there was too much sex in this or thinking about sex or almost sex. And then now Flynn and Jocasta are all getting angsty and pining...Also, I hate to say it, but the fun with Cat and Griffin is all gone. The fun banter and friskiness - I didn't see any.Too much arguing and stereotypical gender shenanigans. But, on the other hand, some parts I couldn't read fast enough. What sorcery is this?!Buddy read with the Machalo group.
    more
  • Choko
    January 1, 1970
    *** 3.25 ***A buddy read with the MacHalos!It was OK. There is a reason I started it several months ago and put it on hold for later, hoping that maybe it was my mood making me not properly appreciate it. The second book in the Kingmaker Chronicles started where the first one left off. I thought, having had the two paramor hook up and pledging eternal love, the author would get to the business of Fantasy, prevail against the evil nobility and Queen, while having Cat and Griffin's romance in the *** 3.25 ***A buddy read with the MacHalos!It was OK. There is a reason I started it several months ago and put it on hold for later, hoping that maybe it was my mood making me not properly appreciate it. The second book in the Kingmaker Chronicles started where the first one left off. I thought, having had the two paramor hook up and pledging eternal love, the author would get to the business of Fantasy, prevail against the evil nobility and Queen, while having Cat and Griffin's romance in the background. However, Ms. Bouchet decided to give us absolutely unnecessary and even distracting angst of lover's misunderstandings and tantrums. The first time I started it I couldn't continue past the second chapter, this is how much I didn't want to deal with forced drama. I have said this many times before, but I am physically and mentally incapable of starting a book and not finishing it... This is how I end up with several books on my currently reading shelf, some of them I have not gotten back to over two years... So, as a part of my plan to trim that shelf down to something more seemly, I tackled this book once again. Cat was a very promising character in book one, but it seems love and acceptance makes her regress to a petulant pre-teen. She is so deeply insecure and immature, that I had a hard time reconciling her with the more heroic, warrior woman she was supposed to be. She obsessed over the most irrelevant things and overreacted in most situations when faced with difficult decisions or their consequences. I know this makes her more realistic, but I tend not to respect those personality traits in real life either. At the end we are supposed to accept her as this force of nature and a part of a power-couple, when I struggled to perceive her as an adult at all... The rest of the characters were also just OK, but most of them could have been interchangeable, with the possible exception of the snake tattooed boy and Griffin's oldest sister. They had some character, but that was mostly because they had stories of their own. The very well endowed Centaur type of creature was the most lively one of the rest of the cast. All of the above is why I had a hard time with the book, but there were many good parts as well. The best part is still the use of mythology and the magic system. If the author had concentrated more on those parts instead the heavy relationship/sex, I think this could have been a solid 4 stars. However, as much as I love sexy times and love driven story, it felt very much like it was impeding the tale overall. I felt like the author couldn't choose what was more important to her and the Romantasy that came out of it kind of dragged and meandered... If it was a straight PNR, or a more directed Fantasy, I think the impact would have been stronger. The author obviously is well versed in her craft, it just misses a deliberate direction. I am still glad I ended up reading it, because I am interested in the overall story arc and would like to know where it goes. It is an imaginative world and has some great creatures and interesting use of the Greek Pantheon. I will read the rest of the series, I am just not "jonesing" about it 🙂...Now I wish you all Happy Reading and may you always find what you need in the pages of a Good Book!
    more
  • Brittney ~ Reverie and Ink
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars. Blasted. Gah. I wanted to love this so much.I'm willing to bet most who pick up this series will love it. It's either lusty romance (way too much for me) or pure bat shit crazy action on every page. SO much happens and there's rarely a dull moment. Okay but that's the problem... WAY too much weird action and icky smut. I'm so over this. I read the first book and didn't hate it though I personally felt it was full of relationship issues (oh lordy don't get me started.) I guess with thi 2.5 stars. Blasted. Gah. I wanted to love this so much.I'm willing to bet most who pick up this series will love it. It's either lusty romance (way too much for me) or pure bat shit crazy action on every page. SO much happens and there's rarely a dull moment. Okay but that's the problem... WAY too much weird action and icky smut. I'm so over this. I read the first book and didn't hate it though I personally felt it was full of relationship issues (oh lordy don't get me started.) I guess with this type of genre though- these possessive and purely physical relationships are very common. I'll admit that there is *finally* more to Cat and Griffin's relationship in this one.. but yikes.. not everything was solved. The beginning made me cringe MAJOR TIME. Aside from that, I had high hopes for the world and what might transpire because of Cat's past and big secret. That didn't play out or cause the conflict I was hoping it would (don't get me wrong- it does come up big time but just not in the way I wanted it to.) Unfortunately this one fell flat for me. Again- it wasn't that it was boring. I just think the world was entirely too strange for me (it's greek mythology on a whole new level) and I wasn't into the romance or smut. I'm just not into controlling, obsessive, brooding dudes. Griffin does have some redeeming qualities but meh. The action scenes were just... weird. If you're into movies like Clash of the Titans on crack and such and don't mind some very.....strange creatures and occurrences... you might be fine with it. Amanda's writing was actually pretty good and she gave Cat a big personality but I felt like it was a bit overdone. What I did like though were the side characters... Griffin's family and friends were a great addition. They were my favorite part of the novel. Anyway, a huge thanks to the publishers for sending me an advanced copy! My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
    more
  • Helen 2.0
    January 1, 1970
    Goodreads just swallowed up my review. I'm too lazy and irritated to rewrite, but you can all trust that it was a great review, right? Right. So anyway, summed up, 3.5 stars because the world and supporting characters are still awesome, but Cat is really starting to get on my nerves. She's ridiculously overpowered in every respect, but still messes everything up with her self-pity and -hate. Unnecessary drama and inner dialogue make the book drag in a lot of places.
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars.GIVEAWAYWin a paperback copy of A Promise of Fire and a signed bookplate! Ends 01/25.***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***Breath of Fire by Amanda BouchetBook Two of the Kingmaker ChroniclesPublisher: Sourcebooks CasablancaPublication Date: January 3, 2017Rating: 4 starsSource: eARC from NetGalley***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***Summary (from Goodreads):SHE'S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD... "Cat" Catalia Fisa has been running from her d 4.5 stars.GIVEAWAYWin a paperback copy of A Promise of Fire and a signed bookplate! Ends 01/25.***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***Breath of Fire by Amanda BouchetBook Two of the Kingmaker ChroniclesPublisher: Sourcebooks CasablancaPublication Date: January 3, 2017Rating: 4 starsSource: eARC from NetGalley***Warning: this is an adult book, and for the eyes of mature readers***Summary (from Goodreads):SHE'S DESTINED TO DESTROY THE WORLD... "Cat" Catalia Fisa has been running from her destiny since she could crawl. But now, her newfound loved ones are caught between the shadow of Cat's tortured past and the threat of her world-shattering future. So what's a girl to do when she knows it's her fate to be the harbinger of doom? Everything in her power.BUT NOT IF SHE CAN HELP ITGriffin knows Cat is destined to change the world-for the better. As the realms are descending into all-out war, Cat and Griffin must embrace their fate together. Gods willing, they will emerge side-by-side in the heart of their future kingdom...or not at all.What I Liked:Only two books into the series and I'm already declaring this trilogy a new favorite. I don't think I've ever read anything quite as unique as this fantasy romance series. I also can't remember the last time I was in love with a sequel novel as much as I was the first book - or almost as much. While A Promise of Fire is still the better of the two (in my opinion), I loved Breath of Fire. This book is nonstop action from start to finish. Cat and Griffin and the rest of Beta Team are back in the Sinta castle, but there is much to be done, with the Power Bid in full effect. With the Sintan borders unprotected, Cat and Beta team leave home to journey to the Ice Plains, in order to find Centaurs who might be persuaded to defend the Sintan borders. But reaching the Ice Plains is obstacle enough, let alone finding the fabled Chaos Wizard who can help them find the Centaurs. And even if they get the Centaurs to help - Cat and Griffin must find a way to take down the Tarvan royalty. Cat may be the key to Sintan success - or their destruction.I think the most unique aspect of this series is Cat's voice. She is hilarious and sarcastic and so prickly. This series is written entirely in her first-person perspective - there is no dual perspective - and I actually love this because it's fun to follow the story from her perspective. She's so entertaining! I love how Bouchet writes Cat's voice, and the story.In general, this book is so well-written. Bouchet has a strong writing style, and it shows. She also does an amazing job with the world-building. I thought this series was influenced by Greek mythology - but really, it's full of Greek mythology! This sequel throws us headfirst into a ton of Greek mythology, which is spun to Bouchet's liking, for the world-building. We get up close to hydras, centaurs, nymphs, even goddesses. And a cameo appearance from Cerberus! I adore Cat. I couldn't love her more, to be honest. She's so funny, but she's also tough as nails and very selfless. She doesn't want to be Beta Fisa, or any kind of royal in charge, but she's a natural. She's intelligent and experienced in so many different things, but she isn't a hardened, jaded person. She's got a mean streak and she is fierce, and she has a low opinion of herself at times, but she's a warrior and a fighter, and I love how she keeps going. I especially love how she allows herself to be surrounded by people who care about her. Her relationship with Griffin goes from solid to airtight and cemented in this book, because she really really lets him past her defenses. I am glad to see Cat let the walls down, with Griffin and with his family.Griffin! My favorite. He's the big bad Beta, an overprotective and loyal warrior, but he's more than that. He is clever and considerate, a gentleman and at the same time, an alpha to the core. His temper is a live wire, so it's fun to see him and Cat bump heads constantly. They are perfect for each other! I love how he looks out for her all the time, but he also backs down a little in terms of dictating orders (when it comes to Cat). He lets her be, and trusts her judgement, which is wonderful to see.I mentioned this already, but Griffin and Cat's relationship gets even stronger and more unbreakable, in this book. Cat lets Griffin in, and it's amazing how different and how strong their bond becomes, because of that. Emotionally, their relationship strengthens, but also physically. Let me tell you - Bouchet turns the heat up, in this book. Like, woah. The first few chapters? Be prepared to fan yourself. I loved seeing Griffin and Cat lose control! And throughout the book, not just in the beginning.One thing that I was worried about was Griffin and Cat getting separated, or one of them getting captured and hence the separation. This is a common and annoying trope in sequel novels in trilogies. But I am happy to say that there was no "sequel separation" in this book! Griffin and Cat are almost always together in this book, which was a relief. I was so worried that I'd spend the whole book anxious and worried sick about one of the characters.I love the secondary characters! I don't consider Griffin a secondary character (he is definitely a protagonist, even if he doesn't get his own perspective), but Kato, Carver, Flynn, and several others definitely are. I love Griffin's family, and Beta Team. We get to see more of Kato in this book, and I adored him and his (brotherly) relationship with Cat. There was a part of this book that broke my heart for him - like I was almost physically sick for him. Hopefully there is some silver lining to that part of the story, because I'm still sad about it. In any case, the secondary characters were almost as entertaining as Griffin and Cat!The story gets more and more complex, as a good sequel novel will do! We see a lot more Olympian/mythological stuff (creatures, abilities, etc.), and more is revealed, in terms of Cat's past, what she expects from the future, and her family. Griffin (and everyone else) finds out about Cat very early in this book, which was also a relief (that was a huge secret!). Cat and Griffin and the team travel to find the Centaurs in the Ice Plains, but the story isn't finished there. Finding a way inside Tarva isn't easy, but Griffin and Cat are determined to do so.Overall, I am quite pleased with this book! I especially love the sweet news at the end (though, like Griffin, I suspected certain things early on - there was a lot of foreshadowing). I also like that this book does not end on a cliffhanger - phew! There is a lot that needs to be taken care of and resolved, in Heart on Fire, but I like that Bouchet ends this book without needing a cliffhanger. Artfully done!What I Did Not Like:But Alyssa, why didn't you give this book five stars? You clearly loved it! I did, but some part of me didn't love it quite as much as I loved A Promise of Fire. There were parts of this book (Breath of Fire) that broke my heart, from Kato, for Carver, even for Cat and Griffin. In adult romance novels, you expect your main couple to be "fine" at the end of the book (or series), so I'm not too worried about Cat and Griffin. It's the secondary characters that I worry for - and in this book, not everyone comes out "fine".Also, keep in mind that I really really loved A Promise of Fire. Sometimes it's hard to come close to things that I really loved. Additionally, maybe I miss how much simpler things were in that book! Everything is do-or-die in this book (and rightfully so). Would I Recommend It:I highly highly highly recommend this book, and series! If you love adult romance novels, give the books a chance. And especially so, if you like adult fantasy romance novels. If you liked The Winter King by C.L. Wilson (my favorite adult romance novels of all time), then you will like this series. This is adult romance, by the way. Not Young Adult - Cat is twenty-three!Rating:4.5 stars -> regrettably rounded down to 4 stars. I can't quite give this 5 stars because for me, it wasn't as good as A Promise of Fire (not by much though). This book lost none of the wow factor that A Promise of Fire held, and it definitely didn't fall under the sequel slump spell. I eagerly await Heart on Fire!Pre-read squees:GUYSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    more
  • Rachel Reads Ravenously
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars! ““You’re the shield, and I’m the sword.” What an action packed and thrilling series!Breath of Fire begins where A Promise of Fire left off, and with one of Cat’s big secrets revealed. It becomes clear that Griffin and the team need more to protect their city from outside. From there they go on a quest to a wizard to tell them what they need to achieve this, and the adventure begins from there… “It’s time to be the person you were meant to be, Cat. You don’t just have to make decisi 4 stars! ““You’re the shield, and I’m the sword.” What an action packed and thrilling series!Breath of Fire begins where A Promise of Fire left off, and with one of Cat’s big secrets revealed. It becomes clear that Griffin and the team need more to protect their city from outside. From there they go on a quest to a wizard to tell them what they need to achieve this, and the adventure begins from there… “It’s time to be the person you were meant to be, Cat. You don’t just have to make decisions and stand by them now. You have to live with them.” From the first page of this book I was enthralled with the story. We get a major overdose of angst right at the beginning (much to my delight) and then things smooth out from there. I love fantasy novels so mixing fantasy and romance together is like a dream come true. My favorite parts of this book included Cat and Kato in the labyrinth, a truly thrilling part of the book.Cat definitely matured in this book, her annoying aspects have disappeared somewhat because lots of her internal fears were resolved. She’s still strong and sassy as ever, and she has the best man alongside her. I love Griffin, he’s an excellent mix of alpha male and partner, being dominant and yet letting Cat be herself and fight. He just fights alongside her.A thrilling follow up novel filled with action, romance and mythology. I am so ready for the third book and I wish it was out right now. “I will always come back to you.”…I lean forward and kiss him because he’s my hunger and my food, my thirst and my water, my air and my every breath.” Follow me on ♥ Facebook ♥ Blog ♥ Instagram ♥ Twitter ♥
    more
  • Jilly
    January 1, 1970
    At the end of this book the author thanks a few other authors for their encouragement and help, but she forgot a VERY important writing team: Ilona Andrews. Because the big exciting event in this book was a giant rip-off of the Midnight Games in the Kate Daniels series.She may think we didn't notice, but we did.Now, since I loved the Midnight Games, and anything Kate Daniels, and I'm not a lawyer, I enjoyed this recycled idea. I mean, really, when are death-sports NOT fun? You know, other than f At the end of this book the author thanks a few other authors for their encouragement and help, but she forgot a VERY important writing team: Ilona Andrews. Because the big exciting event in this book was a giant rip-off of the Midnight Games in the Kate Daniels series.She may think we didn't notice, but we did.Now, since I loved the Midnight Games, and anything Kate Daniels, and I'm not a lawyer, I enjoyed this recycled idea. I mean, really, when are death-sports NOT fun? You know, other than for the participants?Hey, you were promised the best possible view of the games...But, even with the amazing death-games, and a whole bit where Cat whores out her friend to a goddess for some of the sexy, the book needed some work. And, yes, I'm going to say this. You will be surprised, but there was just waaaaay too many sex scenes in this story. Pages and pages of the same couple, who we have already had plenty of sex scenes with in the first book, getting it on. Or thinking about getting it on. Or, talking about getting it on. It was like, come on, already!! You are half-dead, exhausted, very injured, filthy dirty, freezing your asses off, and in a cave with three other guys. Is it really sexy time?Basically, one, or two at most, sex scenes in a book with an established couple is more than enough. Beyond that it gets super boring. It's not like they are doing things we haven't heard of, or teaching us new tricks. They aren't reinventing the wheel. They are just a settled couple having normal sex. Definitely NOT worth half the book. If you dedicate that much time to sex scenes, you need to at least show us something we haven't seen before.Okay. That's new. Not exactly what I mean, but more interesting than most of the sex in this book.I did like the Greek mythology aspect of the book, and I find the world and characters interesting. I just wish it was written by someone else. Or maybe edited by someone who can clean it up better.I'll still probably read the next one.I just liked this one.
    more
  • Douglas Meeks
    January 1, 1970
    Let us start this review with a quiz! You wake up and say loving things to your mate, he goes into a rage over something you meant to tell him but never did but really should not affect your relationship. He destroys every bit of furniture in the room, including some things you really loved, then physically abuses you a bit and leaves saying he can’t be with you anymore. You do what?Times up! If your answer is apologize for making him mad and admit that everything is your fault because now he is Let us start this review with a quiz! You wake up and say loving things to your mate, he goes into a rage over something you meant to tell him but never did but really should not affect your relationship. He destroys every bit of furniture in the room, including some things you really loved, then physically abuses you a bit and leaves saying he can’t be with you anymore. You do what?Times up! If your answer is apologize for making him mad and admit that everything is your fault because now he is sorry (think about the wife beater showing up at the hospital with roses) then you are our heroine Cat, the poster child for domestic abuse, who just can’t get enough abuse (let us not forget he kidnapped her, kept her a prisoner and treated her like a piece of meat for most of book 1).While the above might be very (I DO mean VERY) slightly summarized to keep the length of this review down, it just starts this book off with a bad taste in my mouth that takes several chapters to overcome and since our hero and heroine seem to have Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde personalities the author just wants us to forget about it and indulge ourselves in a plot that while is immensely entertaining, I can’t ignore the fact that even though this book has an exceptional ending, most of the story between the domestic abuse of the beginning and that exceptional ending can be summarized like this: (I am NOT kidding folks)Go adventuring/searching/etcalmost dieget healed have sexrinse and repeat several times.Nobody ever said reviewing books was easy but this one just drives me nuts.Bottom Line: I love this story, I loved the ending, I can’t wait for the final book but these two lovers need some serious professional help but it will have to wait until I read the last book because no way am I going to miss it. 4 Stars that could have been 5 with a bit of work.UPDATE 20 DECEMBER: NOTE TO ALL: The teaser for Breath of Fire (Kingmaker Chronicles #2) is now up on Amazon and you can read the whole "abuse" scene and decide for yourself since as always it ends with sex in these books after she takes all blame. Just click on the "Look Inside" logo above the cover graphic on the below linked page. I would love it if you came back here and tell me what you think.www.amazon.com/Breath-Kingmaker-Chron...
    more
  • Corina☞BookTwinsReviews
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsOMG what an exhilarating ride!!!!! “You are my heartbeat and my every breath.”. Amanda Bouchet didn't hold back and started immediately were A Promise of Fire ended. And pretty much almost gutted me with anxiety when Griffin found out who Cat really was. And he was PISSED. OMG!!! I only thought no, no, no, please, not Griffin and Cat.But, I should never have doubted the mastermind of Amanda Bouchet.This book was one thrilling rollercoaster ride. Monsters, a vindictive mother, an icy lak 4.5 starsOMG what an exhilarating ride!!!!! “You are my heartbeat and my every breath.”. Amanda Bouchet didn't hold back and started immediately were A Promise of Fire ended. And pretty much almost gutted me with anxiety when Griffin found out who Cat really was. And he was PISSED. OMG!!! I only thought no, no, no, please, not Griffin and Cat.But, I should never have doubted the mastermind of Amanda Bouchet.This book was one thrilling rollercoaster ride. Monsters, a vindictive mother, an icy lake, quests, and more monsters. I could barely breath a sigh of relief that Cat and Griffin survived when they were at it again.Aside from all the heroic adventures that Cat, Griffin and their team endured and conquered, there was a good amount of relationship building in this book as well. Cat learned to trust herself. But also to trust in family, specifically in Griffin's family, as well as in the Gods - because they had a plan and she was the key to it.Cat was very reluctant to acknowledge any ties to a future that had her anywhere close to ruling a kingdom. All she wanted was to be at Griffin's side. Whereas he had very specific ideas of where exactly Cat would be. Next to him on the throne - ruling by his side. I was swooning non-stop. Griffin was my kind of guy. ♡♡♡ “It’ll matter if someone steals you, and I can’t tell my army we’re going to war for my wife!” “No one’s going to steal me.” “I stole you!” “Stop roaring at me! I’m not deaf!”. In Breath of Fire the dynamic between Griffin and Cat gradually changed. They were more willing to compromise, they subdued each others fears and being together calmed their souls. Cat understood that some vows were done for her well-being and to sooth Griffin's mind. And that every vow was a promise, a promise towards their future together. I adored how Cat grew as a person and as a part of a unit. It was fascinating and heart-warming at the same time.I don't think the author could have written these characters any better. For Cat, Griffin was the missing piece, he made her whole again. He filled her heart and life, and gave her a family as well. The broken pieces of my soul that are still retrievable start fitting back together again as a breeze blows, silence falls, and the trees rain ashes.. In Breath of Fire, Griffin's vision of one unified kingdom slowly took shape. It was a steep, upward fight. Bloody and vicious. But to get there they had to fight battles, go on quests, and survive everything that was thrown at them.Amanda Bouchet has a knack for writing superb characters. Every single one of Cat and Griffin's family and team, was deeply layered. They had their own story to tell. Some stories were funny others tragic, but none was boring. And at the end so many questions were still unanswered that will lead ultimately to more adventures.Even so the book was thrilling and electrifying it also had many funny and sweet moments. Especially Griffin and Cat made me laugh. They had so much chemistry, and sexual spark. I loved them dearly. “She’s fifteen, Griffin. Some girls are married by then. I’m surprised she’s not sneaking around and kissing the pages.” His eyes darken dangerously. “Did you kiss the pages?” “At fifteen?” I nod. “And fourteen. And thirteen…” “If you say twelve,” he growls, “I won’t be accountable for my actions.” I tilt my chin up and look at him through narrowed eyes. I’m learning to appreciate this man’s irrational jealousy. “Twelve…”. “Ow!” I glare at him over my shoulder. “Did you just spank me?” “Yes.” He glares back. Smack! “Twice.” I gasp. “Griffin!” “The second time was for kissing pages when you were twelve,” he growls. “The first time was for driving me insane.”. “There’s a handprint on your arse.” I turn my face so I can breathe. “Are you sorry?” He grunts. “Not one bit.” I grin beneath a curtain of hair. I’m not either. Not one bit.. Those two were a dream team!! I couldn't have wished for anything different or better.On top of Cat and Griffin being so adorable sweet together, Cat's relationships with her team and Griffin's sisters were highlights to be cherished especially during such volatile times as depicted in Breath of Fire. They found time to chat, laugh and work on their friendships. They built on an already strong base until those friendships were so deeply bound and that nothing could have broken them.One of the things I loved most about this series is the connection to greek mythology. As a teenager I devoured books about greek mythology. Stories about heroic characters, going on unbelievable taunting quests. Fighting monsters and fickle gods. How unpredictable the outcome was because of the interference of those gods. Their animosity toward each other. One god killing the son of another god just to irritate them. Humans were playthings. Replaceable. One flick and they were gone. I was fascinated by it.:-)The only thing that I could lament about is the length of the fighting scenes. Some went on and on and on, and I lost track a little. (:Having to wait an ENTIRE year for book 3 is killing me.:-)For more of my reviews:My Blog: Happily Ever AfterFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Christie«SHBBblogger»
    January 1, 1970
    Title: Breath of FireSeries: Kingmaker ChroniclesAuthor: Amanda BouchetRelease date: January 3, 2017Cliffhanger: YesHEA(view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)]You’re the shield, and I’m the sword. Together, we’ll forge a new world.”Phew!! What a ride these two books have been-almost nine hundred pages of pure adrenaline, angst, and adventure. This high fantasy world filled with ancient Greek Gods, awe-inspiring magic, and battles against impossible odds will have you completely spellbound. I'm not ev Title: Breath of FireSeries: Kingmaker ChroniclesAuthor: Amanda BouchetRelease date: January 3, 2017Cliffhanger: YesHEA(view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)]You’re the shield, and I’m the sword. Together, we’ll forge a new world.”Phew!! What a ride these two books have been-almost nine hundred pages of pure adrenaline, angst, and adventure. This high fantasy world filled with ancient Greek Gods, awe-inspiring magic, and battles against impossible odds will have you completely spellbound. I'm not even sure where to start with this review, I'm still kind of reeling and trying to absorb everything that Bouchet has brewing for Heart on Fire. While Promise of Fire remains my favorite so far, Breath of Fire was incredibly addictive. It's a book about change, and discovering your path and purpose. These characters, Cat especially, will evolve quite a bit and grow into a strong conviction of what the fates decree she will become:Harbinger of the end. Destroyer of realms. Messenger of unity and peace.What I loved about book one was the angst, mystery, and uncertainty between Cat and Griffin. And then there's Cat! Cat was one of the most reckless fearless heroines I've ever come across with a will of steel, and a biting tongue of a cynic. She's defiantly sarcastic, and sometimes so stubborn you just want to grab her and shake her until her teeth rattle. But she's also a woman who has survived hell and back, and lives every minute of her life in defense mode. She's prickly and untrusting for a reason, but the end of book one sees her finally discovering a new family to fight beside her, to fight for. And to finally give her fragile heart and trust to one deserving man. Griffin, Beta Fisa.Conquerer.Lover.Fierce protector.He's a powerful warrior who's deeply, madly dead-set on making this woman his in every sense there is. Which brings me to my first issue with the story. Chapter one starts us out with his abrupt discovery of the colossal secret Cat has been hiding. And to be blunt: though I understood his reaction, I didn't care for his actions or understand them. At all. Griffin is pure alpha, and he has a massive temper which he displayed in the previous book. BUT...he never turned that on Cat. As much as she provoked him (it was A LOT) he never snapped and crossed the line, not once. I didn't feel as if it fit his character to have taken out his anger on her and lose his control to that degree. (view spoiler)[ Demolishing everything in their bedroom in a fit of rage, pushing her against the wall, and grabbing her arms in a punishing grip to the point of hurting her...just why? Yes, he left and pulled himself together before apologizing, but it started things off on a discordant note for me. (hide spoiler)]I moved past it, because it was brief and Griffin was quickly adapting to the new situation that Cat's identity brings. As the Kingmaker, he always knew she would be sought after for her ability to detect lies, steal other's magic, and use invisibility. Powers like hers are rare and invaluable, but her enemies are also the most feared in the land. Once he accepted her dishonesty, he never wavered for a moment in his resolve to stand beside her, even if his life depended on it. I would defy creatures, and Gods, and terrible, brutal queens to keep you safe and by my side. I would move Mount Olympus itself to hold you in my arms and feel your heart beat against mine. You are my soul, and yes, I will fight for you and protect you until my dying breath.”Whereas book one was peppered with more romantic angst, this book was more action packed once it picked up its momentum. They braved the Ice Plains, battled towering creatures, fought enemies with powerful magic, and survived things that lesser mortals never would have dreamed of attempting. But they soon realize that the Gods are in their favor and with Olympus on their side, anything is possible. Cat has lived with dread and a lack of hope for years thinking she would be the harbinger of doom to Thalyria. But she soon comes to learn that her future has a completely different path than she had ever imagined. Once she believes, truly believes, there is no stopping her and this group of men who would lay down their lives for her. But it's not an easy transition for her to step into her new role of leadership.It’s like someone cracked the world over my head. It’s falling all around me, and everyone’s looking at me to clean up the mess.There were a couple of moments in the last half of the book towards the end that forced me to lower my rating, as much as I had been enjoying the book. A revelation about Cat that I'm sorry, no way, no how could that ever be possible. My jaw dropped and I could NOT believe my eyes. I realize that this is a fantasy book, but that is just crazy to me. (view spoiler)[Cat had several life or death moments in the book. Moments where she was so perilously close to death that she even going to the Plain of Asphodel at one point!! This is the gateway to the underworld-she was as good as dead for several minutes by the riverbank. She got viciously mauled by the Hydra, fell down FAR into deep water and almost drowned, fought massively bloody battles in the Agon Games. Yet at the end of the book, we're supposed to believe that this entire time she was...pregnant?? And the baby is perfectly fine?? I just...couldn't wrap my mind around that. (hide spoiler)]As well, as much as I fell in love with Amanda Bouchet's incredible talent for writing action sequences that play out like the finest choreographed battle, the Agon Games stretched on much too long for my patience. That could have been much briefer in my opinion and still have had a hell of an impact. There are so many unresolved threads that promise to tie into a shocking conclusion. The beta team had some very surprising developments and revelations that I can't wait to see be resolved. Or even better...they won't be resolved and these men will get a chance for their own full stories to be told. Though this book wasn't a full, enthusiastic five stars, I still highly recommend this series to anyone looking for fantasy that will have you on the edge of your seat desperate for more. How deep do these books draw you in? It's fathomless, and once you start, you won't escape. FOLLOW SMOKIN HOT BOOK BLOG ON:
    more
  • Kara-karina
    January 1, 1970
    Alright, peeps. Let's analyze the train wreck.I enjoyed Promise of Fire immensely. It had huge potential, snappy comebacks and great action scenes with almost Kate Daniels' flair, so I was understandably looking forward to the second installment in the series.What the heck happened? It seems that we hit the dreaded second book syndrome.First of all, Breath of Fire has a lot of sex. A LOT. Usually, I am all up for it, but I've already lamented that the sex in book #1 was badly written and really Alright, peeps. Let's analyze the train wreck.I enjoyed Promise of Fire immensely. It had huge potential, snappy comebacks and great action scenes with almost Kate Daniels' flair, so I was understandably looking forward to the second installment in the series.What the heck happened? It seems that we hit the dreaded second book syndrome.First of all, Breath of Fire has a lot of sex. A LOT. Usually, I am all up for it, but I've already lamented that the sex in book #1 was badly written and really wished we weren't given any details. So, putting a quickie after every major scene despite the surroundings and circumstances did nothing for the plot or for my already irritated mood. Of course, there are books in the genre with explosive, fabulous sex scenes which are also vital for the plot (Fever series by Karen Marie Moning, anyone? or C.S. Pacat books?) but this wasn't one of them.Secondly, what happened to Cat herself? In her inner ramblings and in her dialogues she comes off as a spoiled, whiny teenager whose mood swings like a yo-yo. I would have sworn it was a YA if not for sex. She is reckless and practically every decision she makes turns out to be a disaster from which she needs to be saved.Which brings me to the third point. Plot holes. Every time Cat's harebrained scheme fails there is a "deus ex machina". Some magical trick, intervention or gift from Gods which resolves the problem.Definition of deus ex machina 1 : a god introduced by means of a crane in ancient Greek and Roman drama to decide the final outcome 2 : a person or thing (as in fiction or drama) that appears or is introduced suddenly and unexpectedly and provides a contrived solution to an apparently insoluble difficulty Ugh, it was driving me mad! All that effort they put into going after Ipotane, and they disappear from the further plot completely. And don't start me on the Games? What was the purpose? Why is this the only way to get into the castle? Why not sneak in instead? It was just so ridiculous... And yet, everyone just went with Cat's another absurd plan. Griffin, who is supposed to be this great warrior, didn't even try to do anything else first. They used brute force and kept their fingers crossed, basically.Which brings me to the only redeeming point of this book. Action sequences. Amanda Bouchet has a great talent for them. They were vivid and captivating and were the only reason I didn't DNF this book. They reminded me of Ilona Andrews's style of writing in their raw potential.Breath of Fire left me at odds. On one hand, I don't want to continue this series. On the other, cut the sex and tighten the plot, and this will be seriously good. As usual, read at your own peril. This is only my opinion and I've seen plenty of five-star reviews to contradict it.* * *Ладно, ребята. Давайте разбирать эту катастрофу!Мне понравилась первая книга серии. В ней я увидела большой потенциал, острые диалоги и замечательные сцены экшн. Единственное, с чем автор напортачила был секс. Ну вот очень неприятно он был написан.И что я вижу во второй книге?Правильно, секс. Автор им затыкает каждую дыру *смеясь* ака паузу в повествовании, несмотря на обстоятельства и окружающих Гриффина и Кат людей. Не поймите меня неправильно, хорошему сексу в повествовании, продвигающему сюжет я всегда очень радуюсь. Вспомните сцены Бэрронса и Мак в серии Лихорадка у Карен Мари Монинг? или взрывные, напряжённые сцены у Си Эс Пакат, последняя книга которой была номинирована одной из лучших в Гудридс этого года? Здесь таким восторгами и не пахнет. Ну нет у автора к этому таланта, хоть убей.Вторая жалоба - это незрелость Кат. Что с нашей героиней случилось? Если убрать секс, я бы сказала, что по её жалобам и брюзжанию, а также постоянно меняющимся эмоциям, она - испорченный подросток. У Гриффина и его команды терпение было как у святых, но меня Каталия жутко раздражала.Третий пункт - дыры в сюжете. Кат портачила практически в каждой сцене, а спасали её рояли в кустах. Схема была таковой: Кат по-идиотски и по-совершенно нелепому поводу рискует жизнью, её оппонент надирает ей задницу и бац! очередной из богов подбрасывает ей подарок или помощь, и невозможная ситуация волшебным образом разрешается. Тут вам никакой подготовки или стратегии. Она надеется на богов и несётся в опасность, сломя голову. Кроме этого, логика в повествовании была совершенно идиотская. Пол книги потрачено на доставку кентавров в Синтру, во второй половине книге они совершенно забыты. Смысла никакого! А уж про Игры я вообще не говорю? Ну на кой хер надо было в них учавствовать, если можно было в замок врага проникнть незаметно и без титанических усилий... И Игры мне казалось содраны с Кейт Дэниэлз просто потому, что автору тоже хотелось про них написать.Единственный плюс книги - это талант автора в описании экшн. Чертовски красиво, живописно и брутально. Только из-за этого книгу эту я дочитала. Ну есть хороший потенциал, и если отбросить секс и тщательно отточить сюжет, будет здорово... А так, читайте на свой страх и риск, может понравится, тем более, что пятизвёздочных рецензий на эту книгу уже полно.
    more
  • Cece ❀Rants, Raves &Reviews❀
    January 1, 1970
    From Kingmaker to Harbinger aka Destroyer of realms...how the mighty have fallen. But don't worry Cat always land on her feet. (hehe)The adventure continues with Cat's real identity revealed and Griffen is pissed! (Anyone else slightly annoyed main characters have literal 'pet names'? )So we got the whole evil mother queen, kingdoms tearing apart, bloodthirsty beasts, brutal leaders BUT GUYS CAT AND GRIFFEN ARE HAVING TROUBLES SO WE NEED TO TOTALLY FOCUS ON THAT INSTEAD OF THE WHOLE FREAKING WOR From Kingmaker to Harbinger aka Destroyer of realms...how the mighty have fallen. But don't worry Cat always land on her feet. (hehe)The adventure continues with Cat's real identity revealed and Griffen is pissed! (Anyone else slightly annoyed main characters have literal 'pet names'? )So we got the whole evil mother queen, kingdoms tearing apart, bloodthirsty beasts, brutal leaders BUT GUYS CAT AND GRIFFEN ARE HAVING TROUBLES SO WE NEED TO TOTALLY FOCUS ON THAT INSTEAD OF THE WHOLE FREAKING WORLD! mhmm suuure... Because Cat just has to keep another freaking secret from Griffen so we can just continue the same shit with personal struggles and self-torture from the first book. Pshhh it'll go much better this time *eye roll*Don't worry, Cat is just as reckless, stubborn, and homicidal(kick-ass) as ever! Long Live the Sass! “Instinct takes over—the instinct to antagonize and defy anyone on a throne.” And the Squad is back! Bigger and Better than Ever! Griffen, Kato, Flynn, Carver, And Cat~With the classic loyalty and snark that we all love. For a 900 pages I had caring yet tormenting friends that taught me to fight gigantic snakes, I ensnared goddess and dared to challenge the Fates (I'm so cool). The world building and descriptions kept their quality (thankfully) and you really feel part of the adventure. I'm kinda geeky about greek mythology but this book obviously had some well-done research so it was accurate! Praise da Gods! “My eyes widen. Fantastic! No explanation necessary and two Gods on our side. I could dance a Fisan jig. “You must make a worthy offering to the herd Alpha, Lycheron, to keep him from killing you on sight.” Huh. Cancel the jig.” Book continued the development of the chaotic world full of magical creatures, Olympians, oracles, world-altering decisions and heart pounding battles. “I did think. I thought ‘Hades isn’t an idiot. This is probably reversible.’ And guess what? It was.” Round one to Cat! Ha!” And its time to bleed and love and fight for a new world to secure Sinta, and conquer Thalyria. However, Cat needs to truly embrace her heritage&destiny to become a weapon to either destroy or reshape the world. uh oh “The minute you cease being afraid of yourself, there's nothing in this world that can stop you.” This book was NOT a let down. Cat manages to find even more life-threatening situations with classic sarcasm so it didn't feel like any repeats from previous scenes. Vivid battles, personal agendas, and steamy romance! “I blink. Mercy is off the table. Clearly.Gingerly, I touch my aching side. “He called me stupid.”Griffin’s eyes blaze anew. “Then it’s a bloody shame I can’t kill him twice.” So not only did the guy try to kill her but he ALSO INSULTED HER?! Nuh-uh honey, she takes that PERSONAL! “Foothold. Handhold. Repeat. I can do this. I am Titan. I am Olympian. I do not break. I do, however, run out of knives.” Cat continues an amazing balance between damsel in distress and being overpowered. Her character was complex, with the sass and violence as protective layers for herself and others but she allows us to see her vulnerability a bit more in this book. Griffen also becomes more than just some hot alpha-male. His love for Cat, the trust and faith in her, his sweet declarations and heated gazes. Oh and the whole wanting to help change world or whatever Exceptional ending, this book was full of adventure, angst, and adrenaline from the very beginning. I'm honestly still spell-bound, and can't wait for the next one. Please please be nice to my Squad! Or give them their own books because these guys have stories to be told and happiness to find damn it!
    more
  • Dana
    January 1, 1970
    Rather disappointing sequel to the much loved A Promise of Fire. I was shocked by how much of a slog I found this to get through. It felt as though the novel simply flitted from one boring and repetitive sex scene to the next. There was no tension or passion. It was as if the sex was a filler for the lack of plot. I believe it was around 65% before I felt that anything truly worthwhile happened in the story, and then only in the last 15-20% where I was actually enjoying myself. The ending was ve Rather disappointing sequel to the much loved A Promise of Fire. I was shocked by how much of a slog I found this to get through. It felt as though the novel simply flitted from one boring and repetitive sex scene to the next. There was no tension or passion. It was as if the sex was a filler for the lack of plot. I believe it was around 65% before I felt that anything truly worthwhile happened in the story, and then only in the last 15-20% where I was actually enjoying myself. The ending was very action packed and interesting, and the only thing about this sequel that reminded me of what I loved about the first book. Unfortunately by the time the action started it was just too little too late for me.Unsure if I will continue with this series. What a colossal letdown. 1.5/5Buy, Borrow or Bin Verdict: BinCheck out more of my reviews hereNote: I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Caitlin
    January 1, 1970
    This was just as good the second time around as it was the first time and I cannot wait for the third one to come out next year! Original review: ”You’re the shield, and I’m the sword. Together, we’ll forge a new world.” :) I :) AM :) IN :) PAIN :) THINKING :) ABOUT :) WAITING :) 11 :) MONTHS :) FOR :) THE :) NEXT :) BOOK :) I feel this is the type of series that you either LOVE or absolutely despise. It’s definitely one that I predict a lot of mixed reviews on. The romance is either going to dr This was just as good the second time around as it was the first time and I cannot wait for the third one to come out next year! Original review: ”You’re the shield, and I’m the sword. Together, we’ll forge a new world.” :) I :) AM :) IN :) PAIN :) THINKING :) ABOUT :) WAITING :) 11 :) MONTHS :) FOR :) THE :) NEXT :) BOOK :) I feel this is the type of series that you either LOVE or absolutely despise. It’s definitely one that I predict a lot of mixed reviews on. The romance is either going to drive you insane or make you squeal and clap at 10pm because you’re so god damn happy. The action is either going to be so intense that you’re left on the edge of your seat or it’s going to be way over the top. Basically, this series is either your shit or it’s just plain shitI’m not entirely sure if it’s something I’d recommend to everyone because it’s definitely something particular that needs to be your type of book. If you enjoy lusty romance with a hell of a lot of steamy scenes, Greek Gods, magic and a whole bunch of fighting then perhaps this book is for you. For me, this is New Adult Fantasy at it’s best. I’m going to try and divide this review into non-spoiler and spoiler because I HAVE SO MANY THOUGHTS but I don’t want to run the risk of accidentally spoiling anyone since it is the second book in the trilogy. Let’s just start of by saying that I adored A Promise of Fire and I was ridiculously excited to read this second book. I literally spent the entire time squealing with excitement and I was not disappointed. I loved every second of this book and I was just so excited to be reading such a good book. I’ll be honest, some plot points are certainly not the most original thing I’ve ever seen, but when a book makes you as happy as this book made me, it secures an easy 5/5 star rating. ”He is me, and I am him. We are forged of the same passion and violence, and we have hearts of iron.” I honestly adore these characters. Funnily enough, my name often gets shortened to Cait but I have a friend that shortens it again just to Cat and from the second Catalia (Cat for short) was introduced into the book, I’ve related to her so much. Her personality is so me that it’s honestly crazy. I was honestly just sitting in my bed reading this book last night cracking up over how much she’s like me and her witty little one liners. Also, her relationship with these characters just make me feel so many feels Griffin is just so swoon worthy. He lowkey reminds me of Rowan from the Throne of Glass series. He’s overprotective and broody but honestly it’s just so hot in this book. I love their relationship and where they’ve grown to and yes, I did get teary eyed at their wedding. I just want so much happiness for these characters. ”I will never let you go, and I will never leave you. I would defy creatures, and Gods, and terrible, brutal queens to keep you safe and by my side. I would move Mount Olympus itself to hold you in my arms and feel your heart beat against mine. You are my soul, and yes, I will fight for you and protect you until my dying breath.” Kato was definitely my favourite of the Beat team and I loved seeing so much more of him. His friendship with Cat basically turned into a brother and sister type bond and it honestly made me so happy for Cat. After all of these years of being haunted by her past and feeling pretty much alone in the world, I was so happy that she got this happiness. Carver was another character I loved but damn he broke my heart in this one. His past made me feel so many feels and I was sitting there reading thinking about poor precious baby Carver, he deserves the world. ”Carver. The constant flirt. The easy smile. It’s all a lie, an elaborate act, because he’s been dying inside and it doesn’t take a genius to see he wishes he’d died on the outside too.” I spent so much of this book highly concerned. I was so worried that someone was going to die – THERE WAS SO MUCH FORESHADOWING FOR DEATH. I was thinking maybe Kato or Griffin would die but I don’t think my heart could have coped with it. Luckily, I was wrong and all my precious babies are safe, for now. Also, thank god there was no terrible cliffhanger that I have to wait a year to find out how it’s resolved. I’m still going to spend the next 11 months hating my life for reading these book so soon and I have to wait for ages for the next book.Okay, let’s get into the spoilers(view spoiler)[I’m still trying to process what the hell happened in this book. Basically, the Power Bid has come/is coming very soon so Sinta requires some extra manpower (or creature power) or else they’ll all be destroyed. The Beata Team, now the Alpha Team, head off to go find these creatures and be in charge of them so they have power. However, they need to go to a Chaos wizard and go through challenges and hunts in order to get in control of these creatures. Honestly, my favourite scene is in the cave that the Chaos Wizard sends Kato and Cat into. The fact that Kato had to have sex with the Goddess while Cat fights a monster was honestly so hilarious. ”Griffin will kill me for leaving you alone in here.”“Griffin will kill you for being naked in the same room as me.”I laughed for way too long over Kato being naked in the cave (oops). I basically threw up in my mouth when the snake came and BURIED ITSELF IN KATO’S BODY. IT LEGIT WENT DOWN HIS THROAT AND HID IN HIS BODY. I have a note on my phone saying “KATO HAS A SNAKE DOWN HIS THROAT. HOW ABOUT NO”. However, the snake does have a purpose and pretty much saves Cat’s life. Also, all the spiders in one of the end scenes had be going “NOPE NOPE NOPE BYE”. Cat’s reaction to snakes and spiders was pretty much what mine would be: a whole bunch of NOPE. So, the gang pass all these trials and they get in control of these random creatures with the help of the Gods when they decide they want to enter these games that are hosted by the other place (I’m really bad at remembering the names of these places) in order to get into the palace and kill the alpha family basically. Prior to this, THERE’S SO MUCH TALK OF MARRIAGE. I was honestly praying that there would be a happy wedding for Griffin and Cat and I was so so happy that we got this. Thank God that we have all happy moments for Griffin and Cat – no real stupid break ups (besides the tiny weird one at the beginning but it only lasted like 5 pages so it’s all good). Also, there’s so much foreshadowing about Cat being pregnant. SO MUCH. When she started throwing up I was like ok are you really pregnant? But I thought surely that they would wait until after all the battles are done and war has raged because how does a pregnant woman still fight to the quality that Cat has been fighting? But nope, SHE REALLY IS PREGNANT andddddd Griffin had worked it out. I was lowkey predicting it but I thought maybe I was just jumping to conclusions. Okay, so the book ends with Cat and Griffin basically being King and Queen with Cat being pregnant with a baby who they are planning on calling Eleni (after Cat’s dead sister). (hide spoiler)]This book was crazy intense and I cannot wait to see what the next book has in store!
    more
  • Maria V. Snyder
    January 1, 1970
    Cat and Griffin and the Beta team are sent on a quest - lots of action and more insight into the political wranglings of the world. Also lots more sex as well. I already have the final book of the series on my shelf!
  • Hailee (haibooklovers)
    January 1, 1970
    Oh my gosh you guys. You guys. Read these books. Breath of Fire started right where A Promise of Fire left off, with some fairly significant…revelations about Cat’s past coming to light. To be honest with this one, I had already guessed it about halfway through A Promise of Fire. But, it was sure interesting to see how those Cat has come to love react to the news. Hint: Griffin does not take it well at first.But seeing Cat attempt to come to terms with her past and her role in the future of the Oh my gosh you guys. You guys. Read these books. Breath of Fire started right where A Promise of Fire left off, with some fairly significant…revelations about Cat’s past coming to light. To be honest with this one, I had already guessed it about halfway through A Promise of Fire. But, it was sure interesting to see how those Cat has come to love react to the news. Hint: Griffin does not take it well at first.But seeing Cat attempt to come to terms with her past and her role in the future of the realm is a joy to watch. It’s the whole fiercly-independany-person-now-has-loved-ones-and-is-therefore-more-vulnerable-but-also-more-grown-up thing. Yes, that’s a thing. You know what I’m talking about.I had feared that with all the shenanigans and adventuring and romantic tension that A Promise of Fire held, we would see a departure in Breath of Fire to more subdued settings – some political maneuvering, some family squabbling, and general posturing. HURRAH FOR BEING WRONG. Note: I received a copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ☆★Tinja★✮ A Court of Pizza and Laziness
    January 1, 1970
    Mmmhhhmm this would be so much better if there wasn't sooo much "romance" ugh and relationship drama and smexy times. It was beyond annoying. Too much is too much. I just completely lost interest. It got old already in the first book. Such a shame since I love the mythology and all. SO. Much. Potential.Annnndd why on earth hasn't the author given the sidecharacter POV'S!!!???!?!?This would be so much more interesting. SO, SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING. And hellooo there's all this side character roma Mmmhhhmm this would be so much better if there wasn't sooo much "romance" ugh and relationship drama and smexy times. It was beyond annoying. Too much is too much. I just completely lost interest. It got old already in the first book. Such a shame since I love the mythology and all. SO. Much. Potential.Annnndd why on earth hasn't the author given the sidecharacter POV'S!!!???!?!?This would be so much more interesting. SO, SO MUCH MORE INTERESTING. And hellooo there's all this side character romance going on and it would be so delicious ??? Ugh I don't get it at all!!!! All we get is endless yammering between Griff and Cat. And all the action and fighting.. it was all very meh.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars!I didn't know what to expect when I started this story. The first book had everything in it I've honestly come to dislike in fantasies. All the old and tired cliches and tropes and predictability and yet the book, the story, the characters they all worked and not only worked but completely drew you in, caught you up in everything that was happening, and there was always a lot happening. It was fabulous and shocking and completely took me by surprise.The blend of fantasy with mystery an 4.5 Stars!I didn't know what to expect when I started this story. The first book had everything in it I've honestly come to dislike in fantasies. All the old and tired cliches and tropes and predictability and yet the book, the story, the characters they all worked and not only worked but completely drew you in, caught you up in everything that was happening, and there was always a lot happening. It was fabulous and shocking and completely took me by surprise.The blend of fantasy with mystery and mythology is what really did me in, not to mention the over the top steamy romance that was every bit as hard to resist. And while some things still remained predictable, the writing and storyline still managed to hook and lure you in until the very last page was turned. It was completely irresistible and hard to put down and I can't wait for more!*ARC copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    In a world where magic and power rule, Cat has been hiding in plain site. But now that Cat’s cover has been blown she must dig deep into herself to find the strength to survive. As the heir to the most wicked and power hungry queen alive, Cat knows she is in her mother's sights. The only thing left for Cat to do is to prepare to fight.Griffin is willing to stand by Cat’s side, but what will be the cost of Cat trying to take her place? Unexpected allies, strength from friends and a love that won' In a world where magic and power rule, Cat has been hiding in plain site. But now that Cat’s cover has been blown she must dig deep into herself to find the strength to survive. As the heir to the most wicked and power hungry queen alive, Cat knows she is in her mother's sights. The only thing left for Cat to do is to prepare to fight.Griffin is willing to stand by Cat’s side, but what will be the cost of Cat trying to take her place? Unexpected allies, strength from friends and a love that won't cease, Cat finds herself wanting to make this world a better place.A profound premise with flawed and humanized characters, Breath of Fire ignites the imagination while the action keeps the reader enthralled. With an intense, suspense-filled plot and a romance that pulls at your heart string, I couldn’t help but love the second installment in the Kingmaker.I received this ARC copy of Breath of Fire from Sourcebooks Casablanca in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication Jan. 3, 2017.My Rating: 4.5 starsWritten by: Amanda BouchetSeries: The Kingmaker Chronicles Sequence in Series: Book 2Mass Market Paperback: 448 pagesPublisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca Publication Date: January 3, 2017ISBN-10: 149262604XISBN-13: 978-1492626046Genre: FantasyItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/brea...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Breath-Kingmak...Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/breat...Reviewed for:
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    January 1, 1970
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life.This is just my kind of book! This one really has it everything from excellent characters to an exciting plot that rarely slows down. I am loving this new fantasy romance series and already know that this is a book that I will most likely read again. This book picks up right where the first book, A Promise of Fire, leaves off so you really do want to read this series in order. From the moment I finished the first book, I couldn't wait to star This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life.This is just my kind of book! This one really has it everything from excellent characters to an exciting plot that rarely slows down. I am loving this new fantasy romance series and already know that this is a book that I will most likely read again. This book picks up right where the first book, A Promise of Fire, leaves off so you really do want to read this series in order. From the moment I finished the first book, I couldn't wait to start reading the second one and it lived up to my expectations.All of Cat's secrets are revealed at the start of the story and it seems that everything she has feared is now coming true. Cat does have power and abilities unlike anyone else. To save and protect the people she cares about and the kingdom, Cat goes on a quest with Griffin, Carver, Flynn, and Kato where all of their lives will be in danger.This book started out with a really strong romance feel and I was a bit worried that the awesome fantasy of the first book was going to be overshadowed by romance. I had no need to worry because the fantasy in this book is quite strong. There really is a little bit of everything and the excitement never slowed down. I don't want to give any of the story away but as I sit here thinking about what happens in this book, I can't believe that it all fit in this single volume.The characters in this book are just wonderful. Cat is fierce and caring. She is brave and will sacrifice herself to keep others safe. Griffin is smart and tough. He will not let anything happen to Cat no matter what. We get the chance to know Kato, Carver, Flynn, and Jocasta better in this book and I grew to like them even more. Kato had a really important role in this book and my heart ached for him at times. The book was very well balance. It was filled with excitement and fantasy elements. The romance between Griffin and Cat is strong and their chemistry is still off the charts. There are a couple of secondary romances that are just starting to show promise in this book as well. There are moments in the story that I found rather funny as well and thoroughly enjoyed the banter between the characters. I would highly recommend this series to others. I think it is well crafted and highly entertaining. I can't wait to read more of the Kingmaker Chronicles.I received an advance reader copy of this book from Sourcebooks Casablanca via NetGalley. Initial ThoughtsEnjoyed this one a lot. It started out more like a romance than anything else but once things started happening the pace didn't let up.
    more
  • Roobie
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐3.5 stars⭐ A heart of iron means I do not break. You cannot break me. I may not be the strongest, or the fastest, or the best, but I will fight. I will fight for everyone I love. I will fight for myself. ⭐️3.5 stars⭐️ A heart of iron means I do not break. You cannot break me. I may not be the strongest, or the fastest, or the best, but I will fight. I will fight for everyone I love. I will fight for myself.
    more
  • Norah
    January 1, 1970
    The success of the first book in this series, for me, was the romantic tension. Amanda Bouchet wrote a brilliantly gripping romance that, combined with an interesting world and some fun fantasy elements, made for the sort of page-turner I can't get enough of. The sort that is so hard to come by.If Bouchet had managed to do the same with the second book, she would have joined the ranks of Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs and Karen Marie Moning. Her writing is still snappy, but unfortunately the rom The success of the first book in this series, for me, was the romantic tension. Amanda Bouchet wrote a brilliantly gripping romance that, combined with an interesting world and some fun fantasy elements, made for the sort of page-turner I can't get enough of. The sort that is so hard to come by.If Bouchet had managed to do the same with the second book, she would have joined the ranks of Ilona Andrews, Patricia Briggs and Karen Marie Moning. Her writing is still snappy, but unfortunately the romantic tension in Breath of Fire is null. Sex does not equal tension. I do not want to read about a resolved romantic relationship, not if I am picking up a romance novel. Andrews, Briggs and Moning manage to keep their couples apart (not in proximity but in relational status) for books at a time, drawing us along in twisted knots of frustration until the eventual resolution – until the couple becomes a couple. The opening scene was promising. I had hoped that our leading duo would split in some way, that tensions and misunderstandings would abound – one step forward, two steps back – for the duration of another book. Yet, surprisingly, Bouchet draws this initial complication to a premature close. It left me wondering what the point of the scene was. Where was the story going?And on and on it went. Random action. Random sex. No underlying romantic tension to lead the story in the manner of the first. In A Promise of Fire the fantasy elements were an aside, a setting, a world to interact with. They weren't what made the book successful. Here, in Breath of Fire, with no romantic tension to speak of, the fantastical elements are left wafting of their own accord and I read on, hoping, growing increasingly disappointed and bored. What a waste, for an author that I maintain is so very talented at romantic writing. One would have to be, to create the sort of debut that sets a brand new readership buzzing. I am done with this series, but when Bouchet begins a new one I will be all over it, hoping she will once more do what she did so well in A Promise of Fire.
    more
  • Angela
    January 1, 1970
    I was enthralled for the entirety of the last book; I dove into this one as soon as I could download it from NetGalley to my Kindle.Unfortunately, within the first few pages it bit me hard. Cat's been keeping HUGE secrets for her whole life, it's not something that's changed despite her love for Griffin. I knew that he had to find out - it's one of the things that I was hoping for instead of more sex at the end of the last book - but the way that it all went down didn't work so well for me. Grif I was enthralled for the entirety of the last book; I dove into this one as soon as I could download it from NetGalley to my Kindle.Unfortunately, within the first few pages it bit me hard. Cat's been keeping HUGE secrets for her whole life, it's not something that's changed despite her love for Griffin. I knew that he had to find out - it's one of the things that I was hoping for instead of more sex at the end of the last book - but the way that it all went down didn't work so well for me. Griffin finds out from someone else, and is FURIOUS. And all I could think while he was questioning Cat, and not really wanting to hear her answers, is that he was throwing a temper-tantrum. It seemed completely out of character for not only he-himself, but for his feelings for Cat. And it made me wonder, as it made Cat wonder, how powerful and all-encompassing those feelings were. Was their love really so fragile? He knew she was keeping secrets, and had to have guessed (as his men did, I might add) that it was big, but he flies apart when he learns it.I needed this to be resolved soon. I'm not a fan on tension in a relationship - not of this sort. It reeked a little too much of a Big Misunderstanding. Thankfully, it was resolved soon, but I still feel that Griffin's response is way beyond the bounds of what I've come to expect from his character. As this all happens in the first couple of chapters, I don't really feel that I'm spoiling anything.Then, my other big complaint for this book, the next 15% seems to be nothing but sex, thinking about sex, or more sex. I already said in my last review how much I'm really over the sex-for-sex-sake and I began to worry that the story was going to get lost in their bed. After that we spent up until around the 30% mark for the story to really get moving again.But then IT DID. Thank the Gods. I was so worried that this was going to be one of those series that has an awesome, fun, interesting first book only to fall flat in the next. While the first 1/3 of the book does feel like a transitory-filler, the rest of the book picks up the pace, the stakes, and pushes these characters into new and terrifying directions. There's a lot of new things learned, some eye-popping moments, and plenty of mythology to wrap my head around. The action and adventure part of the story doesn't let up for the majority of the rest of the book, and I was turning pages just as fast as I could read them. I finished this book in a matter of hours - after starting it immediately upon awakening this morning.I did spend some time comparing this book to one of my favorite series - it wasn't intentional, and it wasn't always in a positive light, but it was hard for it to not happen. When the Games came up, in an arena of sand, to fight to the death....well, I couldn't help but bring to mind Magic Strikes and Kate Daniels. And from there it's hard not to compare the main couple to my favorite Alpha couple: Kate and Curran. I will say that there isn't a couple I'd rank higher than Kate and Curran, so it's no real disparaging remark to say that Cat and Griffin don't either. They have a ways to go, but they're still young in their powers, still young in their relationship. I look forward to seeing how they grow going forward.I'm fully invested in this story, these characters, and this world. I like how the mythology is so effortlessly woven in, and how the stakes continue to ratchet up. I'm not entirely sure how I feel about the Gods involvement at this point - which is getting to be more and more direct - but I do like that it doesn't make everything a done-deal. Cat and Griffin and Company still have to face their destiny, face the future, and go into it. They have to make the choices, decisions, and take the risks. And even if the Gods, some or all, are occasionally there to help them along, it doesn't mean they can even begin to count on it.With the biggest battle yet to come, I'm not sure how I'm going to handle the wait until the third, and final, book comes out. Heart on Fire is easily going to be one of my currently most anticipated books.Review also available at The Book Eaters
    more
  • Yodamom
    January 1, 1970
    I am so confused, this had so little resemblance to the first book's characters. I'm going to rant. I am so disappointed I pushed this series onto all my friends.What Didn't work for me- The first half of the book.The first chapter set the story was a bitter pill for me. It was a horrible misrepresentation of these characters that I grew to love in book 1. It was hard to feel the love they had developed over a great time. How can I witness such nastiness/abuse and just accept it was okay ? What I am so confused, this had so little resemblance to the first book's characters. I'm going to rant. I am so disappointed I pushed this series onto all my friends.What Didn't work for me- The first half of the book.The first chapter set the story was a bitter pill for me. It was a horrible misrepresentation of these characters that I grew to love in book 1. It was hard to feel the love they had developed over a great time. How can I witness such nastiness/abuse and just accept it was okay ? What happened to her backbone, his respect ? I had thought there had to be a curse on them, changing them so completely. No. The scene made no sense, it did not develop the story in any way it was just thrown there.Sex, I like sex, I like my characters to have fun sex. These strong characters were demoted to emotionally immature rabid rutting rabbits. They couldn't just hold hands, hug or make eye contact without rut rut rutting. Was the rutting sexy ? Maybe a couple of times but most was just "BADDA BADDA BING, oh me so horny, need you right now" no matter where or what was happening. It wasn't connecting, it distanced them from my care center. I started dreading hearing how her core was hot, wet, clenching....OH my gods aren't you sore yet ?What happened ? I picked the first book as my #1 new author read of the year. There was a perfect balance it flowed. The book felt like it was written but somebody felt the need to throw sex in here there everywhere to make it sell ? Again- They didn't or feel natural to the story. I could have not read the first half and not missed much.What worked- The last 1/4 of the book was action filled with the characters I grew to love. They had a job to do and they worked at it, bleed for it. The second half had some adventure, discoveries and godly gods of old. The side characters started to come back as the snarky fellows I grew to love. The ending was expected but it worked.I'm giving it 3 stars for the second half of the story. Will I go on to book 3 ? I think so, it's not a sure thing right now.
    more
  • Ann (annreads)
    January 1, 1970
    “I will never let you go, and I will never leave you. I would defy creatures, and Gods, and terrible, brutal queens to keep you safe and by my side. I would move Mount Olympus itself to hold you in my arms and feel your heartbeat against mine. You are my soul, and yes, I will fight for you and protect you until my dying breath.”OMG this series guys!! Everything about this world and this characters it's just bloody incredible and I'm freaking obsessed with it!!❤I know I said it before but the Gre “I will never let you go, and I will never leave you. I would defy creatures, and Gods, and terrible, brutal queens to keep you safe and by my side. I would move Mount Olympus itself to hold you in my arms and feel your heartbeat against mine. You are my soul, and yes, I will fight for you and protect you until my dying breath.”OMG this series guys!! Everything about this world and this characters it's just bloody incredible and I'm freaking obsessed with it!!❤️I know I said it before but the Greek mythology aspect of the story it's what really made this books great to me. I honestly found so refreshing and original how Amanda Bouchet managed to incorporate all this different mythology elements in a way that works amazingly with the fantasy setting, especially since we don't usually get to read about that very often. That alone, combined with an amazing cast of characters and the swoon worthy romance it's the reason why I absolutely adored this books! *SO MUCH LOVE*❤️Now I seriously don't know how I'm going to manage to wait a whole year for the next book! Slowly but surely, this series has become one of my favorites and I'm so excited to read more!5/5★★★★★
    more
  • Kay*FindMeInThePages*
    January 1, 1970
    This is the second book in Amanda Bouchet's Kingmaker Chronicles. This book is not a stand alone book and begins exactly where book one ended. So if you haven't read book one, A Promise of Fire, you should read it first. (It's great, you won't regret it.)This series continues to amaze me. I usually don't like books written in the first person, but it hasn't bothered me in these books. I tend to quickly lose interest in books with heavy doses of mythology, but I never once even considered putting This is the second book in Amanda Bouchet's Kingmaker Chronicles. This book is not a stand alone book and begins exactly where book one ended. So if you haven't read book one, A Promise of Fire, you should read it first. (It's great, you won't regret it.)This series continues to amaze me. I usually don't like books written in the first person, but it hasn't bothered me in these books. I tend to quickly lose interest in books with heavy doses of mythology, but I never once even considered putting these books down. It is an indication of the quality of the story that these elements were hardly noticed. In this book we see Cat's growing acceptance of both her fate and Griffin's feelings for her. We see Griffin's view of their roles shift when he come to realize and accept Cat's destiny. And we see their goal of ruling a reunited realm advanced (with a lot of direct help from the Gods) by completing challenging quests, battling mythical beast, and winning fierce competitions. This book, like the first, grabbed my interest from the first page and still hasn't lost it. I'm anxious to read the next book in this series.Expected publication: January 3rd 2017 by Sourcebooks Casablanca*ARC provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Bj
    January 1, 1970
    5 "The Queen & Origin" Stars!I thought book 1, A Promise of Fire, blew me away--well let me tell you, Amanda Bouchet was just warming up! Breath of Fire, book 2 in the Kingmaker Chronicles, a fantasy and mythology based romance, is top-notch in both the action world building and in the romance! By far this is one of the best debut Fantasy/PNR series I have ever read! Intriguing, witty and addicting, this series has me wishing that Book 3, Heart on Fire, the final book in the trilogy, were av 5 "The Queen & Origin" Stars!I thought book 1, A Promise of Fire, blew me away--well let me tell you, Amanda Bouchet was just warming up! Breath of Fire, book 2 in the Kingmaker Chronicles, a fantasy and mythology based romance, is top-notch in both the action world building and in the romance! By far this is one of the best debut Fantasy/PNR series I have ever read! Intriguing, witty and addicting, this series has me wishing that Book 3, Heart on Fire, the final book in the trilogy, were available now! Fortunately, Ms. Bouchet is not going to make us wait a whole year for the final installment, as the last book is scheduled to be released in the Fall of next year.Please note that this series, as is often the case in fantasy/PNR reads, must be read in chronological order as both the fantasy world building and the romance arcs require an understanding of the story commenced in book 1, A Promise of Fire. As a consequence the below review contains spoilers for book 1. The world in Breath of Fire is made up of two basic kinds of people, those who have magic (the "Magoi") and those who do not ("Hoi Polloi"). For many years the three realms (Fisa, Tarva, and Sinta) have been ruled by people with magic, with the lands in North (Fisan lands) having the most power. However, in a revolution the realm of Sinta (which sits in the South) has been taken over by a non-magical family. Griffin, the hero of this story is part of the Sintan ruling family, and Cat, the heroine, is a Hoi Polloi with remarkable magic. Griffin captures Cat in Book 1 to help aid his family rule. However, as we learn in A Promise of Fire, the tables get quite turned around when it turns out that Cat is actually the one who captures Griffin's heart and soon they become bound by much more than just a political alliance.Being the goddaughter of Poseidon, and having an alliance with at least two other gods (Zeus and Hades), helps partly explain why Cat's magic (which includes the ability to be invisible, know if others are lying, and even steal magic) is so powerful; but in A Breath of Fire we finally learn the secret that Cat has been hiding and which helps explain the origin of her magic and her fear of being discovered. Moreover, while this revelation is likely to not be too much of a surprise to those who were paying close attention to clues in Book 1--the journey that Cat, Griffin, and Beta Team embark on to try to secure the Sintan borders in order to put their world ending and realm unifying plan into action is a splendid surprise. Blending detailed magical action, including mythology inspired characters who are sure to keep you at the edge of your seat, with strong interpersonal relationships among Cat and the various Sintan family and team members, Breath of Fire is expertly penned in every aspect.As if this were not enough, the fun and games continue as Beta team puts their plans further to action when they devise their first power play to capture Tarva. But is Cat strong enough to keep them all safe and conquer a new realm or is the harbinger correct and will her actions just lead to devastation? Moreover, as the threats from Alpha Fisa become more pointed and targeted, will Cat be able to continue evading Alpha Fisa long enough to accomplish her immediate plans or will her loved ones also become the victims of this most brutal and powerful of all of the realms' alphas? What a fantastic weaving of personable characters, awe inspiring magic and fantasy, as well as a touching romance! The Kingmaker Chronicles delivers on all fronts and should definitely not be missed by any fantasy/PNR enthusiasts!Source: Review copy provided for review purposes.
    more
  • Alexandra G.
    January 1, 1970
    5 (million) stars This. Book. Was. Amazing. I'm not kidding, I loved every single word in this book. The plot, the action, the romance, the unexpected twists, the characters. Gods, the characters! The action is more complex in this book, a lot of things are happening and even though it jumps from one thing to another it works perfectly.Cat and her friends go through some brutal trials that will test them in every way. One of the things that I was very grateful for was the fact that the auth 5 (million) stars This. Book. Was. Amazing. I'm not kidding, I loved every single word in this book. The plot, the action, the romance, the unexpected twists, the characters. Gods, the characters! The action is more complex in this book, a lot of things are happening and even though it jumps from one thing to another it works perfectly.Cat and her friends go through some brutal trials that will test them in every way. One of the things that I was very grateful for was the fact that the author didn't make us go through every single day of their journey. She skipped over the boring and uneventful travel days and just got to the point.Most books detail every single freaking day of traveling. I get it when something important happens, but to explain just how they walked or rode, ate and slept and occasionally complained about something without any purpose , for me it seems stupid. And boring. Cat is an exceptionally strong female character, with a strong and funny personality. I liked that she wasn't a martyr. She would die for her friends and family, or for something she believes in, but she wouldn't sacrifice herself just to make a point or to make sure the other side doesn't win. Yes, she takes risks and she is sometimes reckless, but she would do anything to get back to her friends.(view spoiler)[ I suspected the pregnancy from the beginning! Ha! Even though it was kind of obvious, I still fell good. Go, me. (hide spoiler)] Griffin . God, how I love this guy. He was perfectly supportive and protective of Cat, and he keeps surprising me.Their love is such a beautiful and wonderful thing. It's the kind of love that gives you hope and unfortunately it's kind of rare in real life. Oh, well.I freaking loved the way the author used Greek Mythology in this series. She didn't complicate the books by creating new and confusing Gods or powers. She used all the powers and creatures from the vast Greek Mythology and did a remarkable job.The secondary characters are also written exceptionally well and the banter between them was funny as hell.Okay, there is a lot more I want to say about this book but I'm gonna restrain myself because I don't like long reviews. I'm supposed to tell my opinion not recount the story.So I'm going to end by recommending this book to freaking everyone because it's worth it. Every. Single. Page.
    more
Write a review