Rosie Girl
Little Peach meets We Were Liars in this haunting YA debut about a troubled teen searching for her birth mom who uncovers disturbing family secrets along the way.After her father passes away, seventeen-year-old Rosie is forced to live with her abusive stepmom Lucy and her deadbeat boyfriend, Judd, who gives Rosie the sort of looks you shouldn’t give your girlfriend’s step-daughter. Desperate for a way out, Rosie would do just about anything to escape the life she’s been handed. Then she finds a letter her dad wrote years ago, a letter confessing that Rosie's birth mother isn't dead, as she believed, but alive somewhere—having left them when Rosie was a little girl for reasons he won't reveal. Rosie resolves to find her birth mom, and she'll put everything on the line to make that happen. She hires a PI paid for by her best friend, Mary, who turns tricks for money. Unlike Rosie, Mary's no delicate flower and when she sees the opportunity to make some cash and help out her closest friend, she takes it. Romance blooms when the PI Rosie hires hands the case off to his handsome nephew Mac, but Rosie struggles to keep her illicit activities with Mary a secret. Things begin to unravel when Rosie starts getting creepy anonymous texts from johns looking for Mary. And then there's Mary, the one person Rosie can count on, who's been acting strangely all of a sudden. As Rosie and Mary get closer to finally uncovering the truth about Rosie's mom, Rosie comes face to face with a secret she never saw coming. With the ultimate unreliable narrator and twists and turns around every corner, Rosie Girl is an unforgettable tale of identity, devotion and desperation.

Rosie Girl Details

TitleRosie Girl
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherG.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
ISBN0399548645
ISBN-139780399548642
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Mystery

Rosie Girl Review

  • Veronika's ReaderFeeder
    May 27, 2017
    4.5 starsFor a debut novel it was really good! Although I could figured out the big twist about halfway through the book, it was still interesting and it was a great concept. Congrats to the author!
  • Cathy/The Crazy Bookworm
    July 10, 2017
    That, fellow bookworms is how you write a book! Bravo, Julie Shepard, bravo!Rosie, Girl will capture you heart from page one. I finished this book in nearly one sitting; believe me, I tried to slow down and savour every moment, but I simple couldn't peel my eyes away. I devoured it, searching for the answers just as desperately as Rosie. Rosie, Girl stole my heart and has yet to give it back. In this character driven novel the author weaves a delicate tale about a young girl and her fervent ques That, fellow bookworms is how you write a book! Bravo, Julie Shepard, bravo!Rosie, Girl will capture you heart from page one. I finished this book in nearly one sitting; believe me, I tried to slow down and savour every moment, but I simple couldn't peel my eyes away. I devoured it, searching for the answers just as desperately as Rosie. Rosie, Girl stole my heart and has yet to give it back. In this character driven novel the author weaves a delicate tale about a young girl and her fervent quest for answers. Shepard also tells the story about fierce friendship and the lengths these girls will go for one another. It's equally heartwarming as it is heartbreaking. There are moments that will make you cringe, gasp and tie your stomach in knots. There are moments that will make your heart flutter, skip a beat and your lips turn up in a smile. If like me, you will immediately fall in love with Rosie. Given the hand that she was dealt she is, for the most part, a happy teenage girl. She has a great sense of humour that makes some harsh moments a little bit lighter. Mary is tough as nails. There is some darkness that follows her around, and when reading, you will find out why, but one thing is undeniable, Mary and Rosie are deeply connected, a bond that is unbreakable. I adored Mac. Another quick-witted character that lightened up the mood at times. He was also a kind and gentle character that put his soul into helping Rosie. It was a treat watching their friendship and relationship unfold.Now, I am not one for spoilers, but I will tell you, just when you think the book is going one way, Julie Shepard will blast you with the shock of a life time. A literally gasped and was left jaw-dropped by the last page. Rosie, Girl stole my heart!
    more
  • Amanda Searcy
    February 12, 2017
    I really, really, REALLY loved this book. The story is so intriguing from the very beginning that you will have to keep reading to see where it's going (and it definitely goes somewhere :) ). Don't let this book slip past you. The story is super unique and Rosie is a memorable character with a fantastic voice.
    more
  • Karen Moser
    July 3, 2017
    Rosie Girl is a brilliant debut novel by a talented and insightful author. From the stunning opening to the shocking twist at the end, Rosie Girl is layered with nuances and secrets that unfold provocatively in a dangerous teenage reality that’s anything but normal. Shepard’s language is deceptively simple; her plot and her protagonist are complex. My heart ached for the heroine, who feels abandoned and unwanted and yet never wallows in self-pity. She simply gets on with her agenda (finding her Rosie Girl is a brilliant debut novel by a talented and insightful author. From the stunning opening to the shocking twist at the end, Rosie Girl is layered with nuances and secrets that unfold provocatively in a dangerous teenage reality that’s anything but normal. Shepard’s language is deceptively simple; her plot and her protagonist are complex. My heart ached for the heroine, who feels abandoned and unwanted and yet never wallows in self-pity. She simply gets on with her agenda (finding her not-so-dead mother) with the much-needed help of her best friend. I won’t go into a plot summary, for fear of spoilers, but if you’re looking for a great YA summer read, this is it! I highly recommend Rosie Girl.
    more
  • Meg Eden
    March 23, 2017
    Wow--this book is so interesting in many ways, but I'm mainly blown away by the fact that I read the whole novel one way, and the very ending makes me question everything I thought I knew. This book demands to be read more than once. I'm haunted by it! I keep thinking suddenly during the day "Well if that's so, then what about X..." I need to go back and re-read with the ending in mind, and see what changes and how different the story is with the ending's information in mind. I LOVE unreliable n Wow--this book is so interesting in many ways, but I'm mainly blown away by the fact that I read the whole novel one way, and the very ending makes me question everything I thought I knew. This book demands to be read more than once. I'm haunted by it! I keep thinking suddenly during the day "Well if that's so, then what about X..." I need to go back and re-read with the ending in mind, and see what changes and how different the story is with the ending's information in mind. I LOVE unreliable narrators, but what I love so much about "Rosie Girl" is that the narrator seems so incredibly normal--there's no reason to suspect that she's unreliable. But then at the end we realize that the world we've seen is entirely in her perspective and may not completely reflect reality. Of course, every first person novel is more or less entirely in the perspective of the character, but we forget this. We enter a book wanting to trust our narrator. "Rosie Girl" makes us question everything we've known in such a believable, wonderful way. This book is a definite YA must-read!
    more
  • Donna Liberman
    April 12, 2017
    LUCKY ME! A few weeks ago, I was given the ARC for this YA debut novel. I just finished it (in only two days) and couldn't get to my computer fast enough to write a review. Let me first say that YA is not my typical genre, but if every YA novel was like this one, it would be. Without giving anything away, I cannot begin to tell you how completely thrown I am from reading this book. I literally said, "Holy S#&t!" when I finished. I have read other books written in the same vein but have never LUCKY ME! A few weeks ago, I was given the ARC for this YA debut novel. I just finished it (in only two days) and couldn't get to my computer fast enough to write a review. Let me first say that YA is not my typical genre, but if every YA novel was like this one, it would be. Without giving anything away, I cannot begin to tell you how completely thrown I am from reading this book. I literally said, "Holy S#&t!" when I finished. I have read other books written in the same vein but have never been surprised by the ending like I was this time. I can't say anymore without blowing it, except you have GOT to read this book! Holy s#*t!
    more
  • Amy's Book Reviews
    July 30, 2017
    Don't read too many ROSIE GIRL reviews, several spoil the plot, but do read ROSIE GIRL.Rosie's best friend Mary takes turns tricks to help the almost-eighteen-year-old earn money to hire a private investigator. After Rosie's father's death, she learned her birth mom isn't dead as she believed and Rosie needs to find her. She needs to get away from her unloving stepmother and her creepy boyfriend. Mary wants to get away from her dysfunctional family too, but only secondarily to helping Rosie. The Don't read too many ROSIE GIRL reviews, several spoil the plot, but do read ROSIE GIRL.Rosie's best friend Mary takes turns tricks to help the almost-eighteen-year-old earn money to hire a private investigator. After Rosie's father's death, she learned her birth mom isn't dead as she believed and Rosie needs to find her. She needs to get away from her unloving stepmother and her creepy boyfriend. Mary wants to get away from her dysfunctional family too, but only secondarily to helping Rosie. The more Rosie learns, the more dangerous her search becomes ending with answers she never saw coming.Debut writer Julie Shepard planted enough seeds for me to guess the ending early on, while I still enjoyed the journey toward the final culmination. Rosie wasn't a particularly likable character. She had a tenuous relationship with the truth, willingly allowed her best friend to sacrifice herself and didn't treat others kindly. While her home life was sad and unfortunate, I wish she told an adult. Joe and Mac, the PIs with hearts, were my favorite characters.I wish I could say more about Rosie, the plot or the devices Shepard used so well, but doing so might spoil the surprise.
    more
  • Megan
    July 21, 2017
    I am having a difficult time choosing a rating for this novel because the quality of form/content is so disparate from the level of writing. The story is brilliant but suffers from simply put too many details. The writing lacks subtly and I had to actively dismiss the copious and often times unnecessary details in order to focus on the story. For me, the story also suffered because Rosie as a narrator, while being deliciously unreliable, was less a psychological study and more a list of attribut I am having a difficult time choosing a rating for this novel because the quality of form/content is so disparate from the level of writing. The story is brilliant but suffers from simply put too many details. The writing lacks subtly and I had to actively dismiss the copious and often times unnecessary details in order to focus on the story. For me, the story also suffered because Rosie as a narrator, while being deliciously unreliable, was less a psychological study and more a list of attributes, tidbits, and fun facts. All told, I struggled to finish this novel and would put it down for days at a time, remember how enthralled I was with the story, pick it up again and summarily abandon it because the writing would stop me dead in my tracks. I skimmed the last third, stopping only to read closely the few passages where something happened and ignoring the copious description. Mind you, I am not a believer in strict show and don't tell, but if you're going to tell, do it well. By the last couple of pages, I was set to give the novel a 2 star rating but the last two pages made me reconsider. If my TBR list wasn't so extensive, the last two pages almost warrant a re-read of the entire novel, but sand and hourglasses and all that.My rating: 2.5
    more
  • Debbie Reed Fischer
    July 24, 2017
    I've been eager for this book to come out ever since I saw these words on the cover: "Her very best friend. The worst kind of secret." What could be the worst kind of secret? I couldn't wait to find out, and I wasn't disappointed. The secret turns out to be a whopper, and there's more than one. Reveals, twists and turns keep coming in this suspense-filled journey, but that's not what makes this book a stand-out. In addition to the thrill ride, Rosie Girl is a sensitive, fresh portrayal of a trou I've been eager for this book to come out ever since I saw these words on the cover: "Her very best friend. The worst kind of secret." What could be the worst kind of secret? I couldn't wait to find out, and I wasn't disappointed. The secret turns out to be a whopper, and there's more than one. Reveals, twists and turns keep coming in this suspense-filled journey, but that's not what makes this book a stand-out. In addition to the thrill ride, Rosie Girl is a sensitive, fresh portrayal of a troubled teen investigating the murky waters of her mother's disappearance, as well as navigating the gauntlet of a complicated friendship. Rosie can always depend on her best friend Mary to do her dirty work and be her source of comfort, but I couldn't help wondering why Mary feels so obligated to be Rosie's support system. The shocking answer comes in the last chapter, and it's well worth the wait. Disturbing, haunting, and masterfully written, Shepard has crafted a book you'll sink into, forgetting time as you keep turning pages, rooting for Rosie all the way to the earth-shattering ending.
    more
  • Kara
    July 18, 2017
    This author has potential for future releases. This book wasn't baaaaddddd, it was just disappointing. I saw the ending coming from a mile away because the foreshadowing was so obvious, and I didn't like the way it ended, since it just kind of stopped (after the twist that was not a twist). I was just expecting more, I guess. I'm not sure I liked how it handled mental health issues either, (view spoiler)[ and I'm not sure that I like them being a plot twist. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Linda Steighner
    July 10, 2017
    Julie Shepard's "Rosie Girl" was a quick read book for older YA or NA. There was a lot of language and inappropriate sex. But the book was very well written. Rosie is living with her step mother and her step mother's boyfriend after her father's death. Then she discovers that her birth mother had not died as she had always been told. SO she wants to hire a PI to find her mom. The ending of the book surprised me as it was not what I was expecting. I would love to see something else from this auth Julie Shepard's "Rosie Girl" was a quick read book for older YA or NA. There was a lot of language and inappropriate sex. But the book was very well written. Rosie is living with her step mother and her step mother's boyfriend after her father's death. Then she discovers that her birth mother had not died as she had always been told. SO she wants to hire a PI to find her mom. The ending of the book surprised me as it was not what I was expecting. I would love to see something else from this author without all the sex and language.
    more
  • Amy Hauptman
    July 14, 2017
    Rosie Girl is not only entertaining, it is an important book for teens and adults alike. I see this novel as the next "it" book club book. It would also translate well into a movie 🎥 Amy Hauptman Assistant Library Manager
  • Sonal Panse
    July 13, 2017
    I really enjoyed reading it. Very good writing and storytelling. I did realize how this was going to end, and now I have an ache inside. I want to envelope Rosie in an atmosphere of warm, fuzzy goodness.
  • Rachel De Paz
    July 15, 2017
    Find the full review on teenreads.This was absolutely amazing. I recommend this to all readers, seriously. You won't see that ending coming.
  • Brianna
    July 2, 2017
    I'm definitely going to have to re-read the book to make sense of the ending. It was quite the surprise and I'm curious how many clues I missed
  • A.M. Rose
    July 11, 2017
    Wow - what a ride of a story. Julie Shepard keeps you guessing all the way to the very end. Rosie and Mary have a special kind of friendship - one you will want to read about.
  • Rebecca
    July 21, 2017
    This book was such a fast read! A great story, followed by am spectacular ending. Fans of We Were Liars will love this book!
  • Channy
    July 26, 2017
    I'm a little scared after finishing this. Definitely a We Were Liars kind of story. I feel like the book ended with some loose ends. Good story- but has me questioning everything about it.
  • Sable22
    July 18, 2017
    Holy cow that ending! Picking up my jaw off the floor!
  • Samantha
    June 19, 2017
    Is it possible to do 3.5 stars? Ugh. Thoughts: Apparently, it is possible to still love a book while figuring out the plot twist from the book jacket synopsis. Fabulous concept, original - at least in YA. I've never read another book like this before. Yay Rosie has a fantastic voice. I didn't think I was going to like her as much as I did, but she grew on me. Her persistence, drive, and humor never failed to impress me. I will say this: I did not see the secondary plot twist at the end. I ne Is it possible to do 3.5 stars? Ugh. Thoughts: Apparently, it is possible to still love a book while figuring out the plot twist from the book jacket synopsis. Fabulous concept, original - at least in YA. I've never read another book like this before. Yay Rosie has a fantastic voice. I didn't think I was going to like her as much as I did, but she grew on me. Her persistence, drive, and humor never failed to impress me. I will say this: I did not see the secondary plot twist at the end. I never even suspected it. This book goes a long way to illustrate both how dependent we, as readers, are on our narrators and how the littlest red flags can easily slip past our focus. It was mind boggling and amazing and I find myself, even now, very impressed. Long story short, this is the kind of book you read once, want to reread, and then want to keep reading over and over again because more and more details appear beneath the surface.
    more
Write a review