Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1)
In her first graphic novel, #1 New York Times and USA Today bestseller Marissa Meyer follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure -- with a little help from Cinder and the Lunar team.In her first graphic novel, bestselling author Marissa Meyer extends the world of the Lunar Chronicles with a brand-new, action-packed story about Iko, the android with a heart of (mechanized) gold. When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers' leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity. With appearances by Cinder and the rest of the Rampion crew, this is a must-have for fans of the bestselling series.

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1) Details

TitleWires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 31st, 2017
PublisherFeiwel & Friends
ISBN1250078261
ISBN-139781250078261
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Young Adult, Science Fiction

Wires and Nerve, Volume 1 (Wires and Nerves, #1) Review

  • Emily May
    February 1, 2017
    I loved it! It's just a shame that graphic novels are over so quickly and now we must wait a whole year for the sequel.Wires and Nerve picks up shortly after the end of Winter. It is basically the fifth book in the Lunar Chronicles and does contain spoilers for all previous books - so if you haven't finished the others don't make the mistake of thinking this is a completely separate story. The protagonist here is Iko, the charming and - as you will soon see - badass android that's been with Cind I loved it! It's just a shame that graphic novels are over so quickly and now we must wait a whole year for the sequel.Wires and Nerve picks up shortly after the end of Winter. It is basically the fifth book in the Lunar Chronicles and does contain spoilers for all previous books - so if you haven't finished the others don't make the mistake of thinking this is a completely separate story. The protagonist here is Iko, the charming and - as you will soon see - badass android that's been with Cinder from the very beginning. And it was really enjoyable. The characters we know and love all make an appearance, and Meyer's trademark humour keeps the story light between the royal politics and drama. Iko is now a hunter, searching for rogue wolf-hybrids all over the world. She also has to deal with being the "forgotten hero", her name kept out of the history books because she is an android, and therefore not considered a real person. Her behaviour and feelings are constantly being questioned - her fiery temper considered a "malfunction" and her emotions considered "artificial".This series is a whole lot of light silliness, easy to digest science-fiction, and romance, but underneath there's a constant subtle nod to the outsiders; those who have had to fight to be heard or taken seriously because of who they are. I like that.Plus, getting a visual of this diverse cast of characters was wonderful: the Chinese Cinder and Kai, the black Iko and Winter, and the white Scarlet, Cress and Thorne. Perhaps the only thing missing from this series is some good LGBT representation. I was secretly hoping that for Iko, but I guess I'll deal with Kinney for now. The love/hate between the two of them is perfect!Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    May 20, 2016
    That was... kind of odd. I tried to go into it with low expectations and not compare it with The Lunar Chronicles books since it's a different format! But most of the characters didn't seem like themselves (especially Thorne) and the tone was drastically different. I did love how well Iko's personality came through in her narration! And it was fun to see familiar characters together again (except I really wasn't huge on Thorne here. He turned into a wimpy tween boy and went from being my favorit That was... kind of odd. I tried to go into it with low expectations and not compare it with The Lunar Chronicles books since it's a different format! But most of the characters didn't seem like themselves (especially Thorne) and the tone was drastically different. I did love how well Iko's personality came through in her narration! And it was fun to see familiar characters together again (except I really wasn't huge on Thorne here. He turned into a wimpy tween boy and went from being my favorite character to my least favorite). There's not much with Scarlet, Kai, or Wolf, but they do come in at the end. Most of the plot focuses on Cinder getting ready to abdicate her throne to form a republic while Iko hunts down rogue Lunar special operatives and meets up with Cress & Thorne. I ADORE Iko and wanted to see more of her with Kinney, so that was a fun part! And I really did love the parts with Cinder. I've told a lot of adults and grandparents to read The Lunar Chronicles because they're fun for all ages, but this book definitely felt like I was too old for the target audience at times. A lot of scenes were either cringeworthy or just... not the same characters?? And I really wasn't that big on the illustrations, either. So I think this will be really fun for the right audience, but it's not something I'd recommend for everyone who loved The Lunar Chronicles. The story and characters aren't a very strong continuation of the book series -- this graphic novel is kind of doing its own thing now. And that's not bad! I'm just pretty neutral on it overall.
    more
  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    April 26, 2016
    What a cute little graphic novel! I love The Lunar Chronicles! ❤In this first book we touch base with all of the main characters from the books, some more so than others. I'm sure they will all have major parts in the other books in the series. In this one Iko is running around taking down some of the wolf pack hybrids that Levana had made during her reign. They were all supposed to come in and get rehabilitated But that didn't really happen. Also, Kai is off doing stuff and Cinder has some plan What a cute little graphic novel! I love The Lunar Chronicles! ❤In this first book we touch base with all of the main characters from the books, some more so than others. I'm sure they will all have major parts in the other books in the series. In this one Iko is running around taking down some of the wolf pack hybrids that Levana had made during her reign. They were all supposed to come in and get rehabilitated But that didn't really happen. Also, Kai is off doing stuff and Cinder has some plans of her own that the council doesn't like. Scarlet and Wolf are on their farm which is sweet. Carswell and Cress are running around with Iko after one point. It will all come together when you read the novel. I sooooooooooooooo look forward to however many Marissa Meyers is going to do in this series. I will leave you with a few pics. =)Enjoy =)MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List
    more
  • Natalie
    February 5, 2017
    I've been waiting for over a year for this graphic novel to come out, so to say that I had high expectations would barely begin to cover it. But I'm glad to say that this volume did not disappoint.Wires & Nerve follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure – with a little help from Cinder and the Rampion crew (which had me over the moon excited).When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth a I've been waiting for over a year for this graphic novel to come out, so to say that I had high expectations would barely begin to cover it. But I'm glad to say that this volume did not disappoint.Wires & Nerve follows Iko, the beloved android from the Lunar Chronicles, on a dangerous and romantic new adventure – with a little help from Cinder and the Rampion crew (which had me over the moon excited).When rogue packs of wolf-hybrid soldiers threaten the tenuous peace alliance between Earth and Luna, Iko takes it upon herself to hunt down the soldiers' leader. She is soon working with a handsome royal guard who forces her to question everything she knows about love, loyalty, and her own humanity.Iko was one of my favorite members of the group, so I loved that her wit and humor was translated so well into this graphic novel format. She's as brave and loyal as ever fighting for her true friend and queen. And my love for this crew is exhilarating.Speaking of love, here are some of favorite moments: Love her side commentary more than ever!! Iko's not kidding around!! To quote the blurb, she's a badass with a heart of (mechanized) gold. I was glad to see that good 'ol humor of hers along with her love for Kai hadn't changed. I loved Thorne with every bit of my heart in TLC. But I found that his trademark snark and direct remarks seemed kind of forced in here.But thankfully his love for Cress is still alive and well!! And so is her love for the net dramas! As well as Iko's: Though said love didn't always bring them into the best situations. My queen, Selene Blackburn of Luna, educating the world!Side note: the art style took a bit to get used to because it wasn't even close to how I'd imagined the characters, especially the way Wolf was depicted. But over time it became less noticeable once I got into the swing of the story. AH!! Wolf's still the sweetest!! Speaking of... I loved this moment so much!!! All in all: I would say that even though it took me a bit to get through this volume, my love for the Rampion crew slowly but surely resurfaced. Iko & Cinder & Winter & Cress & Thorne & Kai & Wolf & Jacin all have a special place in my heart. And I simply cannot wait for volume two to come out!! Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Wires and Nerve, Volume 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission! This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Trina (Between Chapters)
    February 5, 2017
    Loved this! Iko was one of my favorite characters from this series so I'm thrilled she's getting her own story. I also loved seeing the whole gang again! If you're wondering exactly where this fits in the story line, it happens after Winter (will completely spoil the ending!) but before the extra epilogue that was included in Stars Above.
    more
  • Carla *Jen7waters*
    February 1, 2016
    I'M SO EMOTIONAL RIGHT NOW DONT TOUCH ME i MEAN GRAPHIC NOVELS BY MARISSA MEYER WITH IKO AS THE MC AND ALL THE OTHER LUNAR CHRONICLES CHARACTERS TOO
  • P
    March 15, 2017
    “I misread the romantic tension, Didn't I?” Wires and Nerve is a story before Stars Above where Cinder plans to abdicate the throne and Iko hunts the rogue wolves on the earth. I got see many characters I missed from the main series in this book, such as Scarlet and Wolf, Captain Thorne and Cress, and Winter and Jacin. I think the story isn't bad at all, of course, it was written by Meyer herself and I could feel the flow of it so well. But the artwork was a major problem foe me since the begi “I misread the romantic tension, Didn't I?” Wires and Nerve is a story before Stars Above where Cinder plans to abdicate the throne and Iko hunts the rogue wolves on the earth. I got see many characters I missed from the main series in this book, such as Scarlet and Wolf, Captain Thorne and Cress, and Winter and Jacin. I think the story isn't bad at all, of course, it was written by Meyer herself and I could feel the flow of it so well. But the artwork was a major problem foe me since the beginning as I couldn't get myself to enjoy it at all, it should have been better despite the fact that this series is very well-known, it could have been more good-looking.In fact, what I liked is seeing the same old characters from TLR, and you have no idea how much I miss them. However, the junctions between the scenes are not smooth as I hoped it'd be. I felt as though sometimes the story was just left out like that instead of having gimmicks like other comics. Well, I did enjoy this book. I was fond of Iko since Cinder, her character still has many stories waiting to be told and I can see those potentials the author would pick up and use for the next book or series. Can't wait for book two.All in all, if you're a fan of TLC, don't miss this book. This is a filler of what happens before the epilogue in Star Above and it makes the main story more perfect. Plus, I can remember when I read Winter, I thought that the way Cinder struggled to change Lunar's government wasn't mentined that much. So Wires and Nerve will answer these questions how much Cinder has tried to manage everything since she has overthrown Levana.
    more
  • Christina
    February 6, 2016
    ...and maybe a certain Lunar guard as wellMY SHIP IS GETTING READY TO SAIL
  • мαүғℓσωεя
    October 29, 2016
    buddy read #4 with the Praggs I’m writing a read review bc Pragya forced me to do this omg #SoDoneWithHer There’s just something so GREAT about being able to reenter into the world of your favs. I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book for 74 years and I now I can FINALLY say that it’s literally the best thing ever. I MEAN, WE’RE BACK IN THE WORLD OF THE LUNAR CHRONICLES, WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR????Just look how fricken adorable and perfect my babies are!!!Okay, so this is the very buddy read #4 with the Praggs I’m writing a read review bc Pragya forced me to do this omg #SoDoneWithHer There’s just something so GREAT about being able to reenter into the world of your favs. I’ve been dying to get my hands on this book for 74 years and I now I can FINALLY say that it’s literally the best thing ever. I MEAN, WE’RE BACK IN THE WORLD OF THE LUNAR CHRONICLES, WHAT MORE COULD I ASK FOR????Just look how fricken adorable and perfect my babies are!!!Okay, so this is the very first graphic novel I have ever read (cover to cover) and I was NOT disappointed. The illustrations are perfect, the setting is perfect, the plot is perfect, the cliffhanger is NOT but what can you do and the characters are perfect.I mean, our main character gets introduced like: “…and finally, there was the android. She was passionate being who had once been trapped in the body of a lowly servant-droid, but had since discarded that humble form, like a butterfly emerging from her cocoon. Newly outfitted with a glass escort-droid body, one that completed her wit, charisma, and excellent taste in fashion, she boldly embraced her destiny. It didn’t hurt that she also had the grade of a net drama starlet, the courage of a lioness and the – IKO, that’s enough. Oh, right. Sorry Cinder.” Yes, that’s right, Iko, my queen is the main character of this story, but don’t you worry, we get scene of all of our favourite superheroes - ESPECIALLY MY BABIES WOFLET *screams*!!! Hurry up and pick it up, because I loved every moment of it!!!4.5 stars!!~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~WHAT IS THIS BEAUTIFUL PIECE OF ART?? MARISSA MEYER? IKO? GRAPHIC NOVEL? I'M SOLD!!!
    more
  • April (Aprilius Maximus)
    February 1, 2017
    I missed this gang so much <3
  • Stacee
    January 23, 2017
    This was so much fun. I loved the storyline and the illustrations are perfection. Iko is exactly the sort of narrator you would expect. I am so happy to get back to these characters {especially Wolf and his tomatoes} and I can't wait to see the next part. **Huge thanks to Fierce Reads for sending me an early copy**
    more
  • Heartbrekker
    July 30, 2016
    MY HUSBAND THORNE BETTER BE IN HERE AND HE BETTER BE LOOKIN PRETTYAND CINDER AND WINTER TOO. THE ONLY PRINCESSES I CARE ABOUT.
  • Drew (Drew’s Cup of Tea)
    September 21, 2016
    I didn't realize how much I loved Iko until now!Okay, I'll admit it. The art style weirded me out at first. Coming from someone who's been binge-reading manga series for the past two weeks, I found the cartoon drawings a little odd. But once I read past a few pages, I got used to it and it didn't bother me at all!Wires and Nerve starts off shortly after the ending of Winter. It reads just like a fifth book to the Lunar Chronicles with pictures. This graphic novel follows Iko, the sassy, fashion- I didn't realize how much I loved Iko until now!Okay, I'll admit it. The art style weirded me out at first. Coming from someone who's been binge-reading manga series for the past two weeks, I found the cartoon drawings a little odd. But once I read past a few pages, I got used to it and it didn't bother me at all!Wires and Nerve starts off shortly after the ending of Winter. It reads just like a fifth book to the Lunar Chronicles with pictures. This graphic novel follows Iko, the sassy, fashion-crazy android and Cinder's best sidekick. In this book Iko is hunting down rogue packs of wolf-hybrids. Iko as a secret agent is everything I could ever want. She's a brilliant, awesome narrator whom I couldn't get enough of.As an android, Iko is tired of people underestimating her and saying her feelings aren't "real" because she's made of metal instead of flesh and blood. She cares so passionately about her friends and would do anything for them.The characters couldn't be more perfect, and now, in art form, we get to see new details of them. Like, I never imagined Wolf looking so monstrous - I always kind of imagined him as a hugely muscular, hot guy with fangs, to be honest. So when I saw the drawings portraying him as a slightly scary, more beastly person, Scarlet's love for him seemed so much more sincere. They seriously melted my heart.All the other characters were just as heartwarming, from the lovable, awkward mechanic, Cinder, to the cutest computer hacker ever, Cress, the wise Princess Winter (now an ambassador), and Thorne, who was just as swoony and self-absorbed as ever.Really, this book had Marissa Meyer written all over it, from the action sequences, strong female characters, humor, and perfect touches of romance. So stinkin' cute, and I can't wait for volume two!
    more
  • Zoha
    February 4, 2017
    Geeee! It was too short. I WANT MORE!!!__________________________It is my first graphic novel ever!!! I AM SO EXCITED!!!
  • emma
    March 25, 2017
    There was, like...never even a question of whether or not I was going to read this book.I read The Lunar Chronicles way before I became the harsh, bitter, cynical acid raindrop of a reviewer you see before you now, so you may want to take the following statement with a grain or so of salt, but: I really loved that series. I’m too scared to reread the books, because I’m 97% certain they won’t hold up, but I recall them with some degree of fondness. I cited it as my favorite series for a while bef There was, like...never even a question of whether or not I was going to read this book.I read The Lunar Chronicles way before I became the harsh, bitter, cynical acid raindrop of a reviewer you see before you now, so you may want to take the following statement with a grain or so of salt, but: I really loved that series. I’m too scared to reread the books, because I’m 97% certain they won’t hold up, but I recall them with some degree of fondness. I cited it as my favorite series for a while before realizing that was, no question, not even a little bit true.Still, I loved them. So of course I’m cursed to forever pick up any addition to that series forever. Marissa Meyer has me on the hook, and unless I begin that formidable reread and it turns out to be as massive a disappointment as I suspect, upon that hook I will remain.I didn’t, like, love this book. I didn’t even like it strongly. I found it pretty eh. Will I pick up the sequel? Indubitably. (How long is this series? I’m scared. So is my wallet.)That being said, I read it in a sitting and didn’t hate it. And it’s the little things like that you’re grateful for when your reading year is progressing like mine. (By which I mean, very behind on my reading challenge + giving out one star ratings like it’s my job.)Let’s get into it.For starters...I don’t like the art very much. It’s VERY cartoonish, which is cute, but all the characters look exactly the same. They just have slightly different hairstyles. And it’s weird for the caption to be all “this is the most beautiful girl in the galaxy” while the picture is of a head with a glorified smiley face on it. Too mean? It’s not bad. It’s just not my cup of tea...and I’d argue not the right choice for a story like this. But that’s just my opinion. (I say, as if everything I ever write on this site is anything more than my dumb opinions.)The characters just felt dull. If I’m remembering the original books in The Lunar Chronicles correctly, the characters are vibrant! They’re funny and amusing and it’s cool to get to follow them around. Well, not Scarlet. Or Wolf. Or Cinder and Kai, most of the time. (My god, why did I love those books so much?) But Cress and Thorne usually guarantee a good time. And Iko is a funny little thing.I’d argue Iko is the most true to my memory of her of the bunch, but even she is toned down. Thorne is VERY different. I swear I can feel the author trying to recapture Thorne’s voice, and just...not getting there. It’s upsetting. All the characters become so flat. And that definitely wasn’t a problem in the original series.Plot-wise, this wasn’t terrible. I was a bit bored, but that’s fair - this is the setting-up of what is supposed to be a series, maybe? We follow Iko as she’s trying to capture the wolf soldiers leftover from a past storyline in hiding on Earth. Every once in awhile we meet up with another member of the gang. It’s fine. But then some tough wolf guy is like, oh, I don’t think so! I’m going to kill all of you and get all the other remaining wolf people on my side. Oooooh, not that simple, bitches!Here’s the thing, though - and hear me out on this - I’m kind of on Professor Wolfdude’s side.He’s all, “Hey, you guys...this is kind of f*cked. Like, we were made into wolf people against our will, which was straight torturous, and then enslaved and forced to kill people. And guys, it’s not even our faults that we now thirst for human flesh. And now the new queen, who’s supposed to be all nice, is just capturing us? And like, killing us if we maybe don’t want to go back to the place where a ton of bad shit happened to us? Nah. I’m not into it.”And Iko’s response is pretty much “You’re wrong ahhhh! I’ll kill you harder now!” So I’m not even rooting for the intended people here. But I digress.Other than that...oh yeah! The romance this series prides itself upon. Every single character is matched up with another character - HETEROSEXUALLY, GUYS. If you were worried about LGBTQ people getting representation here, DON’T. It’s like 1794 but in space.What was I saying? Right. So the relationships are boring here. The narrator just tells us we should think they’re cute, in the hopes that we do. But I’m rebellious and quirky and cool, so it’s not that easy, Meyer! Also, I am against the new love interest introduced here, Liam x Iko, with everything that I am. Liam inherently believes that Iko is incapable of emotion and that robots shouldn’t have rights, and we’re supposed to be like, aw! Cute! That’s not the same thing as hate to love. I would make a comparison here, but it would be toeing the line at best and clearly something is off with me today so I’m just going to wrap this up.Even though this book had problems, I didn’t hate it. I kind of disliked it and found it to be a disappointment, but disappointed is my go to emotion now, baby!Wow, this review is truly a ride. Sorry about that. And I’m not even going to include GIFs. I’m a mess.Bottom line: I read this in a sitting and didn’t despise it with every cell in my body, so it’s getting two stars. But man, this book was somethin’.
    more
  • Pragya
    February 3, 2017
    Prag, a crying mess over this book: Hello and welcome to yet another edition of me gushing about Marissa Meyer's incredible books! This time, with special graphics.Iko, the best protagonist in this galaxy: Can we talk about my shotgun firing and hair braiding skills already? “I know I’m not flesh and blood. No nerve endings. No heartbeat. Just a robot with artificial emotions and a disposable body.I know I’m not really human. But aces and stars, I wish that I was.” Iko is the best character from Prag, a crying mess over this book: Hello and welcome to yet another edition of me gushing about Marissa Meyer's incredible books! This time, with special graphics.Iko, the best protagonist in this galaxy: Can we talk about my shotgun firing and hair braiding skills already? “I know I’m not flesh and blood. No nerve endings. No heartbeat. Just a robot with artificial emotions and a disposable body.I know I’m not really human. But aces and stars, I wish that I was.” Iko is the best character from the entire series, let's be real. I will fight you on this. Is there any other android who can fight like this and be the most adorable person? “I’m resilient. I’m trustworthy. And I would do anything for Cinder.So why shouldn’t it be me?” I absolutely love how her character is tackled here, the dilemma she faces - being accepted as who she is versus being human is something I can relate to on some level.Although as the title suggests, this novel focuses on Iko and her journey, the glimpses of all the other characters it showed melted my ice cold heart (let's be real, that melted when Kai laid eyes on Cinder for the first time, but whatever).I've spent a lot of time arguing with May about wolflet, but I dare you to see this and tell me IT'S NOT THE CUTEST THING IN THE WORLD (it is).Also, Thorne and Cress are everything. This is Captain Carswell Thorne. He loves three things more than all others in the galaxy.1. Himself.2. His spaceship, The Rampion.And 3. Cress, his genius computer-hacker girlfriend. I'd feared I wouldn't enjoy the characters anymore because they might feel immature - but let me tell you, Marissa Meyer is as hilarious as ever. “Is it such a crime to want my queen to look presentable?”“I’m pretty sure it’s a crime to stab your queen in the eye, yes.” Things I need in Volume Two: (view spoiler)[ - WOLF PROPOSING TO SCARLET JFC 'you're hopeless' was the death of me - IKO AND KINNEY. No romantic tension, my ass. - THORNE AND CRESS ACTUALLY SEEING THE WORLD - THORNE'S DAD AND THORNE TO SIT DOWN AND HAVE A REAL FATHER TO SON TALK - LUNARS ACCEPTING CINDER'S DECISION AND HAVING ACTUAL ELECTIONS - CINDER AND KAI - CINDER AND KAI TOGETHER - CINDER AND KAI DANCING(hide spoiler)] I’ll see you again soon...I miss you already...Every one of you. GUESS WHAT MAY GOT ME THIS IS THE BEST BIRTHDAY GIFT EVER ❤️️ (and this makes it BR#4 with her)So I hear there's Iko and Kinney here...? I CAN'T WAIT.
    more
  • Errin
    February 1, 2016
    That was so fun! The Lunar Chronicles is such a satisfying series, we have all these amazing characters, a full story arc AND an "after" to the "happily ever after". Cinder is dealing with the pressures that come with taking up the lunar crown including the task of rounding up lunar wolf operatives causing trouble on Earth. She sends Iko to hunt them down. Iko has always been Cinder's fun, spunky sidekick. She has this bubbly personality and loves her friends so much but as much as she tries to That was so fun! The Lunar Chronicles is such a satisfying series, we have all these amazing characters, a full story arc AND an "after" to the "happily ever after". Cinder is dealing with the pressures that come with taking up the lunar crown including the task of rounding up lunar wolf operatives causing trouble on Earth. She sends Iko to hunt them down. Iko has always been Cinder's fun, spunky sidekick. She has this bubbly personality and loves her friends so much but as much as she tries to keep the longing down, she still knows she'll never be a real human. (But she's real enough okay!) Her scenes with Kinney were so funny because he's such a jerk but that's only because he doesn't get it... yet... The Cress/Thorne moments and Cinder/Winter interactions that I desperately hoped for in Winter, I got them here! <3 <3 <3 My only complaint is a tiny personal one because I imagined the art style to be like Saga or Monstress and this was more cartoonish. All in all, I am beyond pleased and excited for Volume 2!Before reading:The Lunar Chronicles is The Gift That Keeps Giving
    more
  • Vicky (the Blowtorch-Wielding OotCDCB™)
    February 23, 2016
    The first of 2 graphic novels with IKO as MC...Omg omg. Ok, super high expectations are never a good thing...It will feature a certain Lunar guard as well...It's definitely time to freak out now.
  • Elizabeth
    February 1, 2016
    i just... graphic novel + the lunar chronicles.EDIT: okay the cover says volume one, i was thinking we'd get a standalone but this...EDIT: THAT COVER I MEAN, IKO HAS A GUN KIDS THIS IS NOT A DRILL
  • Sharon
    March 4, 2017
    *melts into a puddle from the cuteness overload*3 things I love best about Wires and Nerves: Volume 1 (in order):1) Cress and Thorne! It’s nice to see everyone again, but to me, these 2 are my favorite aspect about this book. My personal favorite couple has always been Scarlet and Wolf, but ughhhh Cress and Thorne are too cute for words in this book. All the scenes with a tiny heart drawn are the best. This book is not even about them, but they stole the show for me~2) Scarlet and Wolf. I am bia *melts into a puddle from the cuteness overload*3 things I love best about Wires and Nerves: Volume 1 (in order):1) Cress and Thorne! It’s nice to see everyone again, but to me, these 2 are my favorite aspect about this book. My personal favorite couple has always been Scarlet and Wolf, but ughhhh Cress and Thorne are too cute for words in this book. All the scenes with a tiny heart drawn are the best. This book is not even about them, but they stole the show for me~2) Scarlet and Wolf. I am biased because they are my fav. They are still cute as ever, and even a tiny amount of scene is good enough for me. I think we will see more of them in the next book though. 3) Iko! I always liked Iko, but I wasn’t too invested in her before. This book, however, does give a deeper look into her. She is still fun-loving and hilarious and loyal – but we also get some good introspection scenes. There is a huge emphasis on what it means to be an android who has actual feelings. I like that we get to see her struggle with being different from her "fragile" human friends and dealing with the prejudice of being “just a robot.”Overall, 4 stars. I adoooore it. It’s super fun and quick (literally 238 pages, and they’re pictures, so it doesn’t take too long to read it). I truly have missed all of The Lunar Chronicles characters – they have won my heart already, and I am glad to see all of them again in Iko’s book. --- I WASSS skeptical about this being a graphic novel because I will always prefer a fully written book, but this format does suit the fast paceness. None of the characters really look like what I was imagining to be honest, but the art is quite adorable. They all look cute and rather goofy (Wolf, Winter, and Iko are my favorite designs). Furthermore, I can appreciate that we get to see the facial expressions of the characters. NOTE: I have the physical hardcover, and damnnnn it’s beautiful. It’s so well-made – they seriously went all out for this book. I love that the cover of the dust jacket is also on the actual book itself without the jacket. Things that you might want to know (WARNING: Spoilers)Is there a happy/satisfying ending? (view spoiler)[Cliffhanger. Not the last book. (hide spoiler)]Love triangle? Cheating? Angst level? (view spoiler)[ No, no, low angst. (hide spoiler)]Do we get to see all of the main characters from The Lunar Chronicles? Is there a lot of romance? Does Iko get a love interest? (view spoiler)[Yes, we get to see everyone! We see some Cinder in the beginning. Some Winter and Jacin, but no actual romance scenes between them. We see Kai a little bit. Cinder and Kai don’t reunite in this particular book. We see Cress and Thorne the most with several cute scenes between them. We see a bit of Scarlet and Wolf, and they get one cute romance scene. Iko does have a love interest, as hinted by Winter’s book: Kinney. Iko definitely has a crush on him – but he’s still barely warming up to her in this book. There is a cute scene between them though. At this point in time, they have a love-hate relationship. (hide spoiler)]When does the story take place? (view spoiler)[This is set after Winter’s book, but BEFORE the epilogue chapter from Stars Above (you know… that really cute one where everyone reunited and did *something*) (hide spoiler)]Tears-worthy? (view spoiler)[Tears from the cuteness overload. (hide spoiler)]Humor? (view spoiler)[Yes. (hide spoiler)]What age level would be appropriate? (view spoiler)[Any age really. Only kissing scenes. No crude language. Nothing too graphic or gory. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Tricia
    February 1, 2016
    I NEED THIS NOW!!!! C'MON, JANUARY OF 2017??? So...far....away.
  • Joshua Gabriel (Forever Bookish Josh)
    February 13, 2017
    These monsters are after my friends, and I will do anything—absolutely anything—to keep them safe. —IkoAfter finishing Winter last year, I was so excited when Marissa Meyer said she would be writing this graphic novel as a continuation to The Lunar Chronicles. I am still deeply invested in this series, so I will gladly read anything that would delay the inevitable goodbye.Even so, I did not give Wires and Nerve five stars simply because there was a part of me that recognized the capitalist inten These monsters are after my friends, and I will do anything—absolutely anything—to keep them safe. —IkoAfter finishing Winter last year, I was so excited when Marissa Meyer said she would be writing this graphic novel as a continuation to The Lunar Chronicles. I am still deeply invested in this series, so I will gladly read anything that would delay the inevitable goodbye.Even so, I did not give Wires and Nerve five stars simply because there was a part of me that recognized the capitalist intention behind its publication. Winter is 824 pages long because I presume the author wants to give us a complete sense of closure; she even released a bonus epilogue in Stars Above to further solidify the happy ending we'd been yearning for. Hence, I felt bummed to read about Cinder and Co. solving another conflict. One would think they've had more than their fair share of political, interplanetary problems. When I come to think of it, Stars Above should have been published after Wires and Nerve. This might sound confusing, but the events in Wires and Nerve actually happen before the bonus epilogue in Stars Above. In other words, Stars Above is a spoiler to Wires and Nerve. I realized this in Chapter 7, the part where Scarlet and Wolf finally make a "cameo appearance." Overall, I'm sad that I already have an idea about how the Wires and Nerve series is gonna end.Setting aside the latter issues, I did enjoy this graphic novel. Iko was a cool and badass protagonist, and it was touching to know what she really thought about her comrades. Prejudice against androids was still present her society, so I was also moved by her desire to prove her "humanity" and worth to the people of Earth. As for Iko's relationship with Liam Kinney, I found it be strange yet intriguing. Does that also make me prejudiced against androids? You tell me. Haha.I also liked this novel because it gave more depth to Cinder's character. It was fun to witness her knack for politics, as well as her bravery in the midst of the royals who foolishly treated her with condescension. Even though Cinder wasn't the star of the show anymore, I loved that she was still given much screen time. The same goes for our beloved Cress and Thorne. They definitely gave the story a touch of sweetness. In the end, Scarlet and Wolf were the true cameos; they only appeared in the last chapter!Ultimately, Wires and Nerve isn't necessarily an essential addition (or extension) to The Lunar Chronicles. Nevertheless, if you're a hardcore fan of the series, I wouldn't dare dissuade you from reading it.P.S. I bought the Kindle edition as a compromise. I did not want to pay $22 dollars for a short, capitalist work.
    more
  • Jill
    February 7, 2017
    Dear lord I don't think I ever stopped smiling the entire time I was reading this! Ahhhhh it was so delightful! I had no idea this graphic novel would basically be a sequel to the Lunar Chronicles. I thought Stars Above was the last time I would see these characters but NOPE. They are still their lovable, hilarious, absolutely adorable selves. I think the characters were perfectly represented even though this is in a completely different format than the original series. I was fangirling SO DANG Dear lord I don't think I ever stopped smiling the entire time I was reading this! Ahhhhh it was so delightful! I had no idea this graphic novel would basically be a sequel to the Lunar Chronicles. I thought Stars Above was the last time I would see these characters but NOPE. They are still their lovable, hilarious, absolutely adorable selves. I think the characters were perfectly represented even though this is in a completely different format than the original series. I was fangirling SO DANG HARD bc everyone was so damn cuteeee. And Iko was SUCH a delight to read about. I loved being inside her head (: I will admit... it was very short and slightly underdeveloped... but I honestly just found it to be loads of fun... and it did leave me wanting to sell a limb for the next one.... seriously idk how I'm going to wait another year. The art style maybe could have been better but I don't know I still really enjoyed it. 10/10 HIGHLY recommend to fans of The Lunar Chronicles. But make sure you read this after all the other books because it does contain major spoilers. This book just surprised me in the best way possible and is for sure a new favorite ((((:
    more
  • Coreen ♥ (AsThePlotThickens)
    February 4, 2017
    A little bit different from what I expected.--- "Once upon a time, there were nine unlikely heroes" Reading the first two pages of this graphic novel brought the nostalgia back so hard I had to take a controlled breath just to keep going. I love The Lunar Chronicles so damn much, it was one of my all time favorite series. But, I AM NOT A FAN OF GRAPHIC NOVELSThere was something off with this GN, the atmosphere was different which makes it a little bit weird for me. The illustrations were perfe A little bit different from what I expected.--- "Once upon a time, there were nine unlikely heroes" Reading the first two pages of this graphic novel brought the nostalgia back so hard I had to take a controlled breath just to keep going. I love The Lunar Chronicles so damn much, it was one of my all time favorite series. But, I AM NOT A FAN OF GRAPHIC NOVELSThere was something off with this GN, the atmosphere was different which makes it a little bit weird for me. The illustrations were perfect but I just can't feel the Lunar vibe. I still liked it but not as much as I thought I would. I hope others would love this because this book deserves so much better than I was giving it credit for. ★★★☆☆
    more
  • Rebecca
    February 1, 2016
    Part of me is like, hmm but the series has ended and we're already getting Stars Above? I'm always worried my interest will be gone by the time companions are released. But it's also exciting to see my precious Cress, Iko and Thorne again. Others too of course but I love those in particular. Plus graphic novels are awesome, and I like seeing how books are adapted in this format. We shall see!
    more
  • Melissa Rose
    February 8, 2017
    This series is like the comfort food of books.I ADORE this series. When I read it I get so happy inside I can't even explain it. There are dark moments to it but I know everything will end up happily ever after. I read so many dark and edgy books that it's a relief to come back into this universe. I love that my whole Lunar Chronicles squad is back together again-I missed them so much! I like that Iko is the main character in this one-she deserves her time to shine. And there is lots of Captain This series is like the comfort food of books.I ADORE this series. When I read it I get so happy inside I can't even explain it. There are dark moments to it but I know everything will end up happily ever after. I read so many dark and edgy books that it's a relief to come back into this universe. I love that my whole Lunar Chronicles squad is back together again-I missed them so much! I like that Iko is the main character in this one-she deserves her time to shine. And there is lots of Captain Thorne-my book boyfriend crush. The illustrations were great (although I wish there were more than one color-it was only shades of blue) and the plot was excellent. I love seeing Iko kick some ass.I also love the subtle theme about androids in it and what is considered human or not. Just a perfect series I really can't say anything else about it. My only complaint is that I wish it was longer! I read it so fast that I was dying for more. 4.5/5 stars. Can't wait for part 2!!
    more
  • Erin
    June 4, 2016
    I WAITED SO LONG FOR THIS BOOK TO COME OUT AND WHEN I FINALLY GOT IT I FINISHED IT IN TWO HOURS. WHYYYY GOD WHYYYY!!!I was slightly nervous with the whole graphic novel aspect of this book. I had never read a graphic novel before so the format was new and unfamiliar to me. Also I’d seen the artwork online prior to reading Wires and Nerve and honestly I didn’t love it but going into this book the artwork grew on me and I loved it by the end!! The format was a lot easier to read than I expecte I WAITED SO LONG FOR THIS BOOK TO COME OUT AND WHEN I FINALLY GOT IT I FINISHED IT IN TWO HOURS. WHYYYY GOD WHYYYY!!!I was slightly nervous with the whole graphic novel aspect of this book. I had never read a graphic novel before so the format was new and unfamiliar to me. Also I’d seen the artwork online prior to reading Wires and Nerve and honestly I didn’t love it but going into this book the artwork grew on me and I loved it by the end!! The format was a lot easier to read than I expected and is probably why it is such a quick and easy read- even though I wish it wasn’t :(((( I love that Marissa Meyer chose to focus two graphic novels around Iko because she really is the unsung hero of The Lunar Chronicles and she is my precious badass cinnamon roll <333 “…and finally, there was the android. She was passionate being who had once been trapped in the body of a lowly servant-droid, but had since discarded that humble form, like a butterfly emerging from her cocoon. Newly outfitted with a glass escort-droid body, one that completed her wit, charisma, and excellent taste in fashion, she boldly embraced her destiny. It didn’t hurt that she also had the grade of a net drama starlet, the courage of a lioness and the – IKO, that’s enough. Oh, right. Sorry Cinder.” Iko’s adorable and quirky personality shines through this novel blinding as ever and it just solidifies my love of her even more! The novel is centred around Iko being a total badass serving as a special agent for Cinder. I love the deeper themes in this story as we really get to explore how Iko feels alienated from her friends because she is overlooked for her part in the rebellion and she is an android.And this but bloody broke me: “I know I’m not really human. But aces and stars, I wish I was.” MY HEART: I was surprised how little Cinder was in this novel if I am honest with you. Forgive me, but honestly I didn’t mind ( especially since it meant that Cress and Thorne were in it so much more!!!). Cinder is starting to introduce the new Lunar democracy as she tells her cabinet of her plans to abdicate her throne and abolish the monarchy. Iko of course is as supportive as ever. OMG I love Kinney’s sister Tressa so much!! I was so happy when she was introduced she is the perfect little friend for Iko and it was so funny to read about how they are constantly trying to get Cinder to be more like them! HOW COULD I FORGET KINNEY!!!! HE’S BACK GUYS AND I STILL LOVE HIM EVEN THOUGH HE IS A CONSTANT JERK AND IS TOTALLY MEAN TO IKO IN THIS NOVEL CAN WE APPRECIATE HOW MUCH CRESS AND THORNE FEATURE IN THIS NOVEL!!!!!!! It’s like my prayers were answered and Marissa chose to write so much about Cress and Thorne and my heart was so full and happy and I felt like I was about to burst with joy and feelings CRESS AND THORNE ARE SO FREAKING ADORABLE AND PERFECT IN THIS BOOK I CAN’T DEAL. They are so comfortable around one another and Cress’s character development is everything and I am so happy!! Thorne is such sweet blueberry muffin in this book dedicating his speech to Cress, taking care of her and making all her dreams of seeing the world come true. The escort droid shop chapter was honestly was one of my favourites in the book! I love the humour in this series so much and this scene was just brilliant!I find it so hilarious that after seven years on a satalite Cress keeps getting ill because her immune system is so crap! It is such a logical thing that would happen but I just find it so funny and kinda sad because she waited so long to explore Earth and now she can’t enjoy it because she keeps getting the flu. One good thing to come of her illnesses is the adorable moments it causes between her and Thorne that just warms me to the core and makes me fangirl so badly:I totally did not expect Carswell’s parents to be in this book! I loved this surprise appearance so much because we’ve only seen a little of his backstory in Stars Above ( if you haven’t read the novella bind up you really need to!! ). It was really nice to see Thorne prove himself as a hero and for his parents to be there to witness it. The fact that Thorne is awarded a medal of bravery and heroism brings his character arc full circle and makes me happier than I can explain. OMG THE PART WHERE THORNE GOES BACK TO THE RAMPION AND THE SOLDIERS ARE THERE AND CRESS IS HIDING!!! I WAS SO SCARED, even though I knew they would be fine!! Cress is such a badass in this chapter It is fucking amazing how far she has come since she is first introduced in the series and it is a testament to how good Meyer writes her characters and is one of the biggest reasons why I love this series so much. Oh my goodness the final fight with Iko and Alpha Steele is fucking intense. My poor Iko has her control panel cut and practically becomes paralysed. THEN FUCKING KINNEY SAVES HER BECAUSE CINDER SENT HIM TO LOOK AFTER HER BEST FRIEND OMG. I LOVE KINNEY SO MUCH AHHHHHHHe is a total dick to Iko in this part though but as Thorne says there is for sure romantic tension between them both!!! Kinney is just conflicted with his own emotions and feelings because they are for an android and obviously that would be weird enough for an Earthen but it is even weirder for a Lunar who has not lived with robots before. He made me so angry though when he was insulting Iko and comparing her to Levana- HOW CAN HE SAY THAT! But gahhh I still ship it so bad I am just waiting for him to admit the truth- that he loves Iko- and get on with it!!!AHHHH OMG OMG OMG SCARLET AND WOLF’S APPEARANCE IN THIS WAS EVERYTHING ME: I NEED WOLF TO PROPOSE IN THE NEXT BOOK BECAUSE THEN I CAN DIE A HAPPY WOMANWe only get a teeny tiny bit of Kai in this book and I need more!!! The next book better have more of him in!! I know I haven’t really talked much about the Lunar operatives but honestly I was so invested in all my babies storylines rather than the central plot and because I have read Stars Above we kind of know that everyone is going to be fine so this book just made me happy more than anything!! I NEED VOLUME TWO NOW ME WAITING FOR VOLUME TWO:
    more
  • Alana
    February 3, 2017
    It was fun to dive back into this world again. Looking forward to the next installment!
  • anna
    February 2, 2016
    That's not necessary. I'm doing what any good friend would do, out of loyalty and Lunar patriotism and--I'll buy you a new pair of shoes.Sold. notes: uh hi, i'm anna, and i am lunar chronicles trash. woop woop! i was hesitant about reading Wires and Nerve because everything in here is canon and i've been so used to everything being fanon. so yeah .. but i loved it! i missed the characters sO much, even though some of their actions were questionable. reading Wires and Nerve also gave more reason That's not necessary. I'm doing what any good friend would do, out of loyalty and Lunar patriotism and--I'll buy you a new pair of shoes.Sold. notes: uh hi, i'm anna, and i am lunar chronicles trash. woop woop! i was hesitant about reading Wires and Nerve because everything in here is canon and i've been so used to everything being fanon. so yeah .. but i loved it! i missed the characters sO much, even though some of their actions were questionable. reading Wires and Nerve also gave more reasons to love iko. very satisfying and enjoyable. more please!
    more
  • Sara Saif
    July 2, 2016
    Iko is adorable and I love the fact that she's the protagonist here. It makes sense since all the other girls have had their own books. The idea of machines acquiring human-like personalities and emotions is always intriguing and a bit disturbing to be honest due to the questions and possibilities it leads to. Iko being front and center provides an opportunity to go more into that as well as her past.Volume 1 was too short for my liking. The story has barely begun to unravel but all the pieces h Iko is adorable and I love the fact that she's the protagonist here. It makes sense since all the other girls have had their own books. The idea of machines acquiring human-like personalities and emotions is always intriguing and a bit disturbing to be honest due to the questions and possibilities it leads to. Iko being front and center provides an opportunity to go more into that as well as her past.Volume 1 was too short for my liking. The story has barely begun to unravel but all the pieces have been put into place. This takes place before Stars Above and it's a great way to fill the gaps. I enjoyed it while it lasted but it wasn't super fun, you know? I also thought the renderings were weird.P.S: Kinney's a jerk.
    more
Write a review