The Tiger’s Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1)
Even gods can be slain….The Hokkaran empire has conquered every land within their bold reach―but failed to notice a lurking darkness festering within the people. Now, their border walls begin to crumble, and villages fall to demons swarming out of the forests.Away on the silver steppes, the remaining tribes of nomadic Qorin retreat and protect their own, having bartered a treaty with the empire, exchanging inheritance through the dynasties. It is up to two young warriors, raised together across borders since their prophesied birth, to save the world from the encroaching demons.This is the story of an infamous Qorin warrior, Barsalayaa Shefali, a spoiled divine warrior empress, O-Shizuka, and a power that can reach through time and space to save a land from a truly insidious evil.

The Tiger’s Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1) Details

TitleThe Tiger’s Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 3rd, 2017
PublisherTor Books
ISBN0765392534
ISBN-139780765392534
Number of pages512 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Glbt

The Tiger’s Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1) Review

  • Victoria Schwab
    October 29, 2016
    My official blurb: "A love letter to my favorite kind of fantasy―rich, expansive, and grounded in human truth. It is a story of star-crossed loves, of fate and power and passion, and it is simply exquisite."
  • Sana
    April 2, 2016
    Since people keep liking this occasionally, I want to confirm that this book does indeed have 'queer protagonists who are unashamed to love in the spotlight.'-----Really hope that 'two women whose love for each other is big enough to slay demons' is a mild way of putting 'a lesbian couple pairing up to slay all the demons in periodic fits of glorious rage' because Y E S.P.S. Kind of done with titles containing '[Random word]'s Daughter' in them, though.
    more
  • Roshani Chokshi
    November 7, 2016
    I was lucky enough to blurb this amazing debut. Here's what I said. I stand by it 1000%:"A layered and mesmerizing tale of love and legends, this fierce story will settle in your bones like a chill and leave your heart aching."
  • Nina (Every Word A Doorway)
    January 12, 2017
    An Asian-inspired fantasy. Magic. Demon slaying. Unlikely alliances.An f/f romance. An epic title. A beautiful cover. HAVE I LISTED ENOUGH REASONS TO SMASH THIS DEBUT ONTO YOUR TBR??? YES??? YES.
  • Amy
    August 9, 2016
    I was super lucky to get an advance bound manuscript of this book. It is truly amazing. Y'all better get ready.
  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    January 16, 2017
    Okay so the premise of this sounds amazing, there are girls kissing, and VE Schwab loved it. This book is going to be AMAZING
  • Gretchen
    March 16, 2017
    I got an e-galley of this book from a rep at Tor, because I'm a bookseller. There were no conditions that I review it at all, and no requests made that I give a positive review--this glowing recommendation is mine alone. I'm really sorry that most of you have to wait MONTHS before you get to experience this gem of a book.I can't remember the last time I loved a book as much as I loved this one. It has taken its place as my favorite queer fantasy novel. This is the sweeping story of two girls, un I got an e-galley of this book from a rep at Tor, because I'm a bookseller. There were no conditions that I review it at all, and no requests made that I give a positive review--this glowing recommendation is mine alone. I'm really sorry that most of you have to wait MONTHS before you get to experience this gem of a book.I can't remember the last time I loved a book as much as I loved this one. It has taken its place as my favorite queer fantasy novel. This is the sweeping story of two girls, united by their childhood friendship which grows into an intense romantic love, the daughters of two warrior women who loved one another despite their warring countries. The political background of the characters feels urgent and allows for a fascinating cross-cultural insight. The worldbuilding is so lush and lived-in; the characters get so much time to develop, the intricacies of their relationships and their flaws and quirks get lots of space, and that grounding in both characterization and fully-realized setting gives so much support to the intensity of their relationship and the stakes of their lives. There were several moments that really surprised me, the things these girls endure separately and together is incredible. The violence is tempered by the character work, and is never excused. The framing structure might annoy some people but I really loved it--it sets up for the sequel so admirably and gave a breath of rest before we go on to the wilder and more intense concerns that I expect we'll see in the next book. I loved the way the narrative reflected upon their lives together, the way it allowed Shefali to editorialize, to invoke humor and wry love where it was needed, while still maintaining a depth of plot and detail that shorter letters might not have made as likely. I really loved this book. I can't thank the author enough for writing it and Tor for publishing it. I can't wait to push it into everyone's hands.
    more
  • Angel
    February 9, 2017
    This book wrecked me, and everyone needs to read it. The prose is sweeping and intense and heart-pounding, and women dominate this story from cover to cover. Also the last page literally made me burst into tears, alarming my family. Can't say why because spoilers, but my goodness gracious.I'm going to write a better review tomorrow when I can talk past my feelings, but holy crap. HOLY. CRAP.
    more
  • Ada
    January 16, 2017
    I can be a bit of an idiot to be honest. I want to read some books for the most absurd reason. In this case because the cover...... had horses on it... Big ones. They look like the kind my neighbour had growing up. Farm horses, big, strong but so gentle. Way more gentle than my own little welsh-cob pony who had the annoying habit of standing on my toes.Hehe.. That's a good enough reason right? RIGHT?
    more
  • Joanie
    January 22, 2017
    okay, this will be a bit of a wait so I'm gonna leave a note so I don't forget about this with all the books I'll be distracted with because it sounds INCREDIBLE and I want to read it immediately when it comes out.
Write a review