Wonder Woman (DC Icons, #1)
The highly anticipated coming-of-age story for the world’s greatest super hero: WONDER WOMAN by the # 1 New York Times bestselling author LEIGH BARDUGO.She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

Wonder Woman (DC Icons, #1) Details

TitleWonder Woman (DC Icons, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 29th, 2017
PublisherRandom House Books for Young Readers
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fantasy, Comics, Superheroes

Wonder Woman (DC Icons, #1) Review

  • Cait • A Page with a View
    March 31, 2016
    THIS IS EVERYTHING I NEVER KNEW I WANTED
  • Natalie
    October 1, 2016
    Update: The cover was just released and I can't stop staring at all the details!!! After the epicness of Crooked Kingdom, I cannot wait for what Leigh Bardugo has in store next!! This review and more can be found on my blog.
  • Maggie
    May 21, 2016
    11/11/16alright so leigh released the cover on her instagram and website and i must admit, i expected more. i'm not saying it's ugly and i'm not judging it, but i'm saying i expected more as in i thought it would be a little similar to her other covers and less of an "old comic" kind. a little synopsis was released and a better trailer for the movie was released as well which gets me a lot more excited for this book. i'm still really excited because i mean, look at diana in this upcoming 2017 mo 11/11/16alright so leigh released the cover on her instagram and website and i must admit, i expected more. i'm not saying it's ugly and i'm not judging it, but i'm saying i expected more as in i thought it would be a little similar to her other covers and less of an "old comic" kind. a little synopsis was released and a better trailer for the movie was released as well which gets me a lot more excited for this book. i'm still really excited because i mean, look at diana in this upcoming 2017 movie. SHE'S SO FUCKING PRETTYOH MY GAAAWDMADRELOOK AT HER SHE'S SO CUTEI'M HERE FOR THIShonestly, i'm glad gal was chosen to film wonder woman because she fits the role perfectly to be honest----------------THE TRAILER FOR THE MOVIE HAS ME EVEN MORE HYPED IM SO EXCITED FOR THIS.-----------------5/21/16IM SO LATE BUT OH LOOK A NEW BOOK BY LEIGH BARDUGO AND IT'S A RETELLING LOOK AT THAT! :oLeigh Bardugo decides to write a novel about Wonder Woman which is set to publish in August 2017 which as many may know, is 1 month after the movie is released.OKAY IT'S LITERALLY MY SHIPS TOGETHER IM SO HAPPY BECAUSE LIKE I'VE ALWAYS BEEN INTO DC MORE THAN MARVEL AND A FAN OF WONDER WOMAN SINCE MY PARENTS WOULD ALWAYS TALK ABOUT HER TO ME BUT LIKEMY HEART IS HAPPY BECAUSE THESE AMAZING AUTHORS ARE DECIDING TO WRITE ABOUT SUPERHEROES AND MELT OUR HEARTS AND MAYBE FOR THEM AS WELL BUT OKAY 2017 NEEDS TO COME BY FASTER OR THE BOOKS NEED TO BE PUBLISHED EARLIER I NEED THESE BOOKS NOW!! ALL OF THEM!!Wonder Woman and Catwoman have always been my favorites. Wonder Woman more simply because I was told more about her and instantly fell in love with her. I remember meeting a cosplay of her at Six Flags and gosh I was the happiest child alive! She was with Green Lantern and yeaaaahhh I miss being young. I didn't grow up watching either of them, I instead grew up watching Batman and Superman. I think, I'm sure, I'm positive Superman was the first superhero movie I watched. If not it was Hulk. It wasn't Batman that's for sure because the first Batman movie I watched was with Christian Bale, and Christian Bale started in Batman Begins. I was 6 that's all I remember. Anyways, Wonder Woman has always been a fav of mine and adding Catwoman after watching the movies and reading comics about her. I never was a fan of Batgirl for some reason. I do remember getting those two mixed up and trying to find out which one was the evil and which one was the good one. I've also never been a fan of Supergirl mainly because from the comics I read, she was known as Superman's daughter and forgive me, but I like Batman more than Superman. I know, it's wrong, considering the movie that just came out with all three of them.I wish I was young again :(Batman Begins 2005Catwoman 2004Superman Returns 2006oh and the tv show :( with all the other characters :(wow okay I'm hurt I've never been so happy about some books that are probably gonna turn everything upside down but that's okay because well, we all know books and movies are never the same.
    more
  • ⊱ Poppy ⊰
    October 2, 2016
    Okay guys here's the COVER. & i am super super DISAPPOINTED by it. Wow this time I'm in the minority, so welcome to my Un-popular review :(what you guys think about it??????? For me its like a old comic book cover and its kinda weird, i don't know why i am not liking it, I had such a high expectations with it. maybe that's why!! tbhP.S The girl on the cover is looking like Belle Hadid; Gigi hadid's sister, I think its just me!!------------------------------------------->OHMYGODohmygodohm Okay guys here's the COVER. & i am super super DISAPPOINTED by it. Wow this time I'm in the minority, so welcome to my Un-popular review :(what you guys think about it??????? For me its like a old comic book cover and its kinda weird, i don't know why i am not liking it, I had such a high expectations with it. maybe that's why!! tbhP.S The girl on the cover is looking like Belle Hadid; Gigi hadid's sister, I think its just me!!------------------------------------------->OHMYGODohmygodohmygod COVER REVEAL IN LESS THAN HOUR.*breath in, breath out, breath in, breath out*TEASER------------------------------------------->TOMORROW IS THE COVER REVEALI REPEAT: TOMORROW IS THE COVER REVEAL.I AM FREAKING THE HELL OUT. *PLEASE BE BREATH-TAKING*OMG OMG OMG!! *gasping* I.AM.SO.EXCITED.------------------------------------------->THIS IS EVERYTHING I EVER WANTED AND MORE. WONDER WOMEN BY LEIGH BARGUDO, CAN 2017 BE ANY MORE GOOD??I DON'T THINK SO.!! #WeAreAllAmazons
    more
  • Adam Silvera
    March 31, 2016
    HERE FOR THIS, BARDUGO!
  • P
    November 12, 2016
    I don't even have words for this.EPIC. ABSOLUTELY EPIC.
  • Heartbrekker
    March 31, 2016
    Yo, we can now read the first two chapters of this book on Leigh's blog!—> http://rhcbooks.com/campaign/books/17...And I know it's only a few pages, but it sounds so amazing. And gay. Definitely gay.
  • Brittney ~ Her Bookish Things
    February 16, 2017
    I am ready.My Blog ~ Instagram ~ Twitter ~ Etsy
  • Solomon Sanders
    March 27, 2017
    AUGUST NEEDS TO HURRY UPI NEED THIS SO BAD.
  • Sarah
    March 31, 2016
    4 popular YA writers each writing a Superhero novel??? HELL YES, TAKE MY MONEY!!!!!!!Publishing in 2017:Wonder Woman by Leigh BardugoBatman by Marie LuSuperman by Matt de la PenaCatwoman by Sarah J Maas
  • TJ
    February 7, 2017
    This review carries mild spoilers (and by mild, I mean TINY). I don't believe in spoiling great books, so everything here is meant to be general and vague to preserve your enjoyment.I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. In true Bardugo style, the worldbuilding here is just as well done as SIX OF CROWS or the Grisha trilogy. Even places that aren't incredibly important to the plot (like Alia's apartment or the hotel room) were so beautifully steeped in detail that I now feel like I' This review carries mild spoilers (and by mild, I mean TINY). I don't believe in spoiling great books, so everything here is meant to be general and vague to preserve your enjoyment.I absolutely loved this book from beginning to end. In true Bardugo style, the worldbuilding here is just as well done as SIX OF CROWS or the Grisha trilogy. Even places that aren't incredibly important to the plot (like Alia's apartment or the hotel room) were so beautifully steeped in detail that I now feel like I've really been there. (Seriously, there's a line describing the color of the carpet in the hotel room that's so perfect and original it hurts. Slay, Queen Leigh.)First of all, Diana's characterization is so well-done. She stays true to her Amazon ideals while also seeming relatable and human, which must have been a tricky tightrope to cross. She's absolutely badass without it feeling trite or boring, and I'm just such a fan of how Bardugo portrayed her. Now, onto my other faves -- Alia, Nim, Theo, Jason! Leigh knows how to wield a larger cast masterfully, and it's in full display here. They're all so beautifully different, and they all felt so real. There's one piece of dialogue that actually made me cry with laughter (the waterfall scene, if you must know), and I was struck not only by the humor but by how natural it felt. Of COURSE Diana's going to follow Theo's lead. Of COURSE Nim's going to keep Jason and Alia from stopping her. Of COURSE Jason's going to lose the power of speech. God, what a glorious moment. A+, Leigh. This is why I'm a fan. I LOVED the race to the mountaintop, which, ahem, Leigh... Killing the heartstrings, lady...and that's all I have to say about that! Let's see, what else... The plot was beautifully done. Not too complicated, just a straight line from beginning to end that came alive with the joy of fully-realized characters and vivid setting. I didn't see the ending coming, which was wonderful. I loved the entire goddess concept. Leigh handled it beautifully, and I love the idea of female goddesses watching over women and caring for women. This entire book just brimmed with lady power and the fierce, strong love between sisters (whether blood or not), and I think Diana would be proud to have this book bear her name.
    more
  • Saania Zee Jamal ϟ
    August 22, 2016
    Update: ...is how I feel about that cover and font. Come on, you can do an old comics-y homage better than that!__________________________ All these YA superhero books are either gonna make it or break it for me.*gulps*(((BUT I TRUST YOU LEIGH)))
  • Wendy Darling
    March 31, 2016
    TO THE INVISIBLE PLANE, DIANA.
  • Mila BlackSheep BS
    March 31, 2016
    Basically what I'm expecting from this:
  • Allison
    March 10, 2017
    Starting to think the superhero YA books just aren't my true cup of tea. I enjoyed this FAR MORE than the Black Widow books but there's still a little something missing for me. Enjoyable (and I'm sure I'll try out Marie Lu's Batman) but I'm looking forward to Bardugo's other future stuff a lot more.
    more
  • Neil (or bleed)
    April 3, 2016
    Oops. Wrong superhero. LOL.
  • thatgirlwithallthebooks (Shannon)
    March 23, 2017
    okay - so i'm not a massive fan of DC etc. (DO LIKE THEM SOMETIMES DONT GET ME WRONG JUST NOT A RAGING FANGIRL LIKE SOME). but seeing these authors writing young adult novels about them just makes me excited!! Leigh Bardugo is doing this one which I'm excited about!! Marie Lu is doing one!! And so is Sarah J Maas and many more!! It's just making me excited to see what they do with these characters <3
    more
  • Alex ☣ Deranged KittyCat ☣
    November 13, 2016
    Would you look at that...It sure looks good. I hope Bardugo does her justice.
  • мαүғℓσωεя
    November 11, 2016
    THE COVERTHE COVERTHE. COVER. IS. OUT.Excuse me while I weep over this gorgeous piece of art. LEIGH WHY YOU DO THIS TO ME??! D: *sobs till August of 2017*
  • Jess♡
    March 31, 2016
    y'all they updated it and it has a cover....... i'm actually excited but scared BECAUSE i am excited. i hate having expectations cause i'm so used to being let down.
  • Wren | WrensReads
    November 11, 2016
    THAT COVER OMG
  • jamieson
    November 11, 2016
    So the cover got released and I neither hate it nor love it. I think it's nice but idk not amazingBut ANYWAY, this book still sounds really frickin good. Admittedly I do not know MUCH about wonder woman (I know !! I suck !! I know Marvel things ok !! ) But I'm excited for this regardless. I mean, c'mon it's Leigh Bardugo (and I'm excited to see how her books outside of Grisha verse are) also is this gonna end up being lgbt because PLEASE. pls give me wlw superhero stories
    more
  • rin
    March 31, 2016
    upd WOO THE COVER!! ineedthisbookinmylifeLeigh's! Bardugo! Book! About! Diana! Prince! I! Am! So! Excited!
  • Brightness
    March 31, 2016
    What's that?? One of my all time favorite authors... ...is writing a book based on one of my all time favorite super heroes??Sequence of Feels TodayIf you need my I'll just be endlessly swinging my golden lasso in the hopes of snagging an advanced copy. (Oh who am I kidding).
    more
  • anna
    April 1, 2016
    Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Sarah J. Maas and Matt de la Peña are DOING DC YA NOVELS CAN WE JUST *screams*I can see it now: (Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Sarah J. Maas and Matt de la Peña aka THE YA AUTHOR DC GANG)
  • Sophia
    December 3, 2016
    THERE'S A COVER AND A SYNOPSIS AND AN EXPECTED PUBLICATION DATE AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH
  • Jenny
    February 22, 2017
    Leigh Bardugo is writing another book?!! And I'm seeing it now?! Woah, this sure has gotten me intrigued. The cover seems okay, but it's LEIGH BARDUGO!! I have really high expectations from this book!
  • Bil
    November 11, 2016
    The book cover for the Wonder Woman young adult novel is finally here!The illustrations are good and all but they could have at least chosen a different font for the texts.
  • Jenn *The Crimson Dark Lord Scribe, House of Slytheread*
    November 11, 2016
    How the hell did I not know that LEIGH-FREAKING-BARDUGO was working on another series!? A SUPERWOMAN SERIES!? A DC WORLD SERIES! What. In. The. Actual. Fuck!?I'm so game for this it's stupid ridiculous. I will go out of my comfort zone for this.
  • Cora ☕ Tea Party Princess
    February 22, 2017
    Thoughts on the First Two ChaptersI liked the way that right from the beginning, the lore of the story was starting to be woven. It's obvious that this is going to be one kick-ass story of girl power.I loved Diana's voice as it came across in the narrative, her repetition of mantras, her evident love for her friends and family.Now I'm even more excited for August, because I can't wait to delve properly in to this world.
    more
Write a review