Girl Out of Water
Anise Sawyer plans to spend every minute of summer with her friends: surfing, chowing down on fish tacos drizzled with wasabi balsamic vinegar, and throwing bonfires that blaze until dawn. But when a serious car wreck leaves her aunt, a single mother of three, with two broken legs, it forces Anise to say goodbye for the first time to Santa Cruz, the waves, her friends, and even a kindling romance, and fly with her dad to Nebraska for the entire summer. Living in Nebraska isn’t easy. Anise spends her days caring for her three younger cousins in the childhood home of her runaway mom, a wild figure who’s been flickering in and out of her life since birth, appearing for weeks at a time and then disappearing again for months, or even years, without a word. Complicating matters is Lincoln, a one-armed, charismatic skater who pushes Anise to trade her surfboard for a skateboard. As Anise draws closer to Lincoln and takes on the full burden and joy of her cousins, she loses touch with her friends back home – leading her to one terrifying question: will she turn out just like her mom and spend her life leaving behind the ones she loves

Girl Out of Water Details

TitleGirl Out of Water
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Fire
ISBN1492646865
ISBN-139781492646860
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

Girl Out of Water Review

  • Leigh Bardugo
    September 16, 2016
    A woman should be free to speak her mind on twitter without being trolled, harassed, and subjected to the ugliest kind of racist rhetoric. I'll be pre-ordering this book.
  • S
    September 16, 2016
    Laura Silverman is an incredible woman and fantastic author. At the moment, actual *literal* nazis are targeting her and spamming her reviews with *literal* nazi propaganda. Trust me when I say this woman is a force to be reckoned with and does not deserve this deplorable treatment. I have not yet read her book, but when it comes out I am buying a copy for me and all of my friends, because she is THAT good. Please don't let the disgusting nature of the people attacking her sway you. They are tra Laura Silverman is an incredible woman and fantastic author. At the moment, actual *literal* nazis are targeting her and spamming her reviews with *literal* nazi propaganda. Trust me when I say this woman is a force to be reckoned with and does not deserve this deplorable treatment. I have not yet read her book, but when it comes out I am buying a copy for me and all of my friends, because she is THAT good. Please don't let the disgusting nature of the people attacking her sway you. They are trash, and she is absolutely wonderful.
    more
  • Ashli
    November 28, 2016
    Girl Out of Water is a story about Anise and her summer away from home. The summer before her senior year of high school Anise is being forced to spend the summer helping care for her aunt that was severely injured in a car crash. She is also there to help take care of her three younger cousins. Anise had all kinds of plans for her summer and her friends. She is having a hard time getting over the fact that she won't be there to experience all those plans and that she will be leaving California Girl Out of Water is a story about Anise and her summer away from home. The summer before her senior year of high school Anise is being forced to spend the summer helping care for her aunt that was severely injured in a car crash. She is also there to help take care of her three younger cousins. Anise had all kinds of plans for her summer and her friends. She is having a hard time getting over the fact that she won't be there to experience all those plans and that she will be leaving California (and her love of surfing) for the first time. Nebraska is a far cry from the beaches she is used to and at first she can't find any joy in being there (other than said cousins). However, during a trip to a skate park with her cousins she meets Lincoln. Lincoln is a very good skateboarder and he is missing one arm. Anise finds it hard to back down from a challenge that Lincoln lays on her. She also is learning how to navigate his disability since she does not know the right way to approach that conversation. This book is a really good coming of age story for Anise. She has to come to grips about people changing (herself included) and learning that someone else's past (the mom that left her) does not dictate how she will turn out. Anise learns how not to be forgotten and what is really important. This is a great read about summer, friends, and first loves!
    more
  • Kayla
    April 6, 2016
    **Thank you to the author for providing me with an early copy in exchange for an honest review.**I don't think I've ever read a more perfect coming of age novel. You would never expect that GIRL OUT OF WATER is Laura Silverman's debut novel because it's as well-crafted and artfully developed as a seasoned author's best work. Her witty and diverse characters, punchy dialogue, and stimulating plot are comparable to those of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything--another debut and one of my favorite **Thank you to the author for providing me with an early copy in exchange for an honest review.**I don't think I've ever read a more perfect coming of age novel. You would never expect that GIRL OUT OF WATER is Laura Silverman's debut novel because it's as well-crafted and artfully developed as a seasoned author's best work. Her witty and diverse characters, punchy dialogue, and stimulating plot are comparable to those of Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything--another debut and one of my favorite books of 2015. Anise Sawyer lives a life of sand and surf on the Santa Cruz coast. It's the last summer that all of her friends will be together before they head off to colleges or boot camp and leave Anise behind for her last year of high school. Anise's pull to the ocean is stronger than that of the moon on the tides. Nothing could stop her from spending every waking moment in the waves with her friends, especially her best friend, Eric, whose glistening abs and broad shoulders are suddenly much more attractive than she remembers. The summer is sure to heat up to be the best yet, until Anise's dad drops the devastating news: Anise's aunt was in a terrible car accident and will be recovering in the hospital for many weeks, leaving the "disastrous duo" (nine-year old twin boys) and an emotional preteen in need of supervision for the summer--the whole summer. With nothing to do in landlocked Nebraska and three restless kids to entertain, Anise finds an athletic outlet in the local skate park where her cousins, and a charming, one-armed hunk (with abs even more defined than Eric's), skate circles around her. Nothing can replace her love of Santa Cruz, but it's getting hazier in her memory as Nebraska offers familial bonds, new friendships, and more adventures than anticipated. Unlike many YA novels, GIRL OUT OF WATER offers more than just a comment on young love and relationships--it deals with real issues like loss, abandonment, adversity, and change. It's relatable and truthful, and I have no doubts that this will top the bestseller lists. I can't wait for this to publish and to see what else Silverman creates. Five glowing stars!
    more
  • Victoria Schwab
    September 16, 2016
    I haven't had the luxury of reading this book yet but neither have the nightmarish people engaging in a targeted campaign of abuse.
  • Serith
    September 16, 2016
    [UPDATE: Threat neutralized. I'll move this to my wish list and edit when a real review is set to go~!]Not moving this 5 star review till the trolls have been exterminated.
  • Lauren
    March 30, 2016
    From the opening scene to closing chapter, I could not put Girl Out of Water down! The author totally puts the reader into Anise's mind and paints a wonderful narrative through her eyes. Loved how the plot always leads you in an unexpected direction. Great debut novel from a incredibly talented author!
    more
  • Bonnie
    March 31, 2016
    Disclaimer: I am the authors mother. Even so I promised Laura I'd come at this with an objective viewpoint. About one year ago I read only the first three chapters and have been waiting with baited breath for the rest of the book. Yesterday I finally got to read Girl Out of Water start to finish! Throughout the book I looked forward to seeing what would happen next. It's one of those books that's just a good story. You will feel a host of emotions during your read. I'd recommend this book to you Disclaimer: I am the authors mother. Even so I promised Laura I'd come at this with an objective viewpoint. About one year ago I read only the first three chapters and have been waiting with baited breath for the rest of the book. Yesterday I finally got to read Girl Out of Water start to finish! Throughout the book I looked forward to seeing what would happen next. It's one of those books that's just a good story. You will feel a host of emotions during your read. I'd recommend this book to young teens as well as an adult audience. Why, because Anise (main character) is someone that anyone can relate to whether the reader is her age or the reader is taking a trip back in time. It's written in a way that Anise's struggles will resonate with many readers in her summer journey to find out why she feels the way she feels, how she relates to relationships and what truly motivates her choices, fears securities and insecurities. In my unbiased opinion, well done Laura! PS I had to mention that I absolutely fell in love with Lincoln's character as well. Wish I was his mom!
    more
  • Marie Lu
    September 16, 2016
    Full review to come. Absolutely loved. Pre-ordered too, which you can also do here with the publisher's link: http://ow.ly/ymjs304hLKC
  • Victoria Aveyard
    September 16, 2016
    Super excited for this book!!
  • BookChic Club
    September 16, 2016
    Following in Hannah's footsteps and am putting in a preliminary star rating here to counteract the bigoted folks trying to tear down this book's star rating because of the author's last name (aka no good reason). I am now making it a point to read this book when it comes out (or if I can get a review copy in my hands) and putting up a real review as soon as I'm able. I urge you all to do the same.
    more
  • Katie
    April 6, 2016
    So let me open by saying that I read all of Girl Out of Water in one go. Barring a natural disaster or unexpected company, that’s pretty much my metric for how engaging, immersive, and enjoyable I find a novel. And, guys, Girl Out of Water is SO ENJOYABLE!It started with the imagery. Laura Silverman has a way with words that’s both subtle and striking. Dialogue, description — doesn’t matter. She’s got a gift when it comes to sentence structure. But, honestly, it’s the characters that really shin So let me open by saying that I read all of Girl Out of Water in one go. Barring a natural disaster or unexpected company, that’s pretty much my metric for how engaging, immersive, and enjoyable I find a novel. And, guys, Girl Out of Water is SO ENJOYABLE!It started with the imagery. Laura Silverman has a way with words that’s both subtle and striking. Dialogue, description — doesn’t matter. She’s got a gift when it comes to sentence structure. But, honestly, it’s the characters that really shine here for me. Anise and Lincoln are absolute LIGHTS. No spoilers, but both characters drive so much of this novel (in a very good way). I wish I’d gotten to read more characters like Anise and Lincoln growing up, to be honest. The diversity here was a breath of fresh air in the YA genre. Lincoln, in particular, felt so important to me — a one-armed, black teen who is created with intersectional awareness and stands up as his own person, not just a means of propelling the main character (Anise) forward. He’s also absolutely stupidly charismatic and pretty much my absolute favorite. Anise, as well, is incredibly nuanced. She grapples with so much: family, home, belonging, her place(s). Saying that this is a story about her “growing up” or fighting with selfishness is too one-note. Her growth throughout the novel is more than that; it’s moving without being formulaic, it’s layered, and it’s real. Read this book, you guys. You won't regret it.
    more
  • Tamora Pierce
    September 16, 2016
    This book isn't out yet, but I will buy it. I will read it. Why? Because people tried to do a pile-on due to the writer's politics, not the quality of her book. They *lied* about reading it. Last I checked, people could write whatever they wished to in this country--it's in the constitution. Read your Constitution (especially that pesky Billy of Rights thing). If you don't like what you read, write something of you own. That's how it works--not through censorship.
    more
  • Rachel
    September 16, 2016
    I haven't actually read this yet but Laura Silverman needs our help. We can't let such disgusting abuse and hate go without action. It's not right and i won't stand for it.
  • Adam Silvera
    September 16, 2016
    Laura is a HUGE CHAMPION of books and I'm so damn excited she has her own book deal! GIVE. IT. TO. ME.
  • Brie
    September 16, 2016
    This book is amazing, as is the author. I support her and her book and can't wait to champion it in 2017 and beyond.
  • Ceillie Simkiss
    September 16, 2016
    Originally rated it five stars in an attempt to combat a disgusting attack on Laura's character from Twitter asshats. Now that I've read it, it definitely warrants every star. Full review to come closer to publication!
  • Jody Casella
    September 16, 2016
    What is happening to this author and her book-- a book that is not even out yet-- is appalling.
  • Karina {A Reader Under The Sea}
    September 16, 2016
    The author is an amazing human being and I can't wait to read this. Don't pay attention to the 1 star reviews that are all harassing the author who doesn't deserve it <3 <3
  • Leontii Cristea
    September 16, 2016
    I haven't read this book, but neither have those surging here from Twitter where the author is being harassed. This book isn't any of the things the racists harassing the author are claiming. It's a book written by a Jewish woman and apparently people have a problem with that. Five million stars. Buy this book when it's out.
    more
  • Liv
    September 16, 2016
    i havent read this but i'm getting tired of this author being attacked for simply sharing her opinion on twitter.
  • Melanie
    August 26, 2016
    This beautiful, engrossing story grips you from page one, plunging you into the heart and mind of the main character as she struggles with the fear of becoming her mother and the turmoil of leaving home for the first time. With loveable, endearing characters and vivid prose, Girl Out of Water is an excellent read that is hard to put down.
    more
  • Kourtni Roucoulet
    September 16, 2016
    I haven't actually read this yet since no one has and it's still in freaking copyedits, but white supremacists are attacking Laura Silverman and her book, giving it 1-star ratings so I'm trying to do SOMETHING to combat it. Goodreads, please step in and help.
    more
  • Jessie Devine
    September 16, 2016
    Can't wait to read!
  • Octavia
    September 16, 2016
    Don't let the scum of the Earth fool you.
  • Laura
    September 16, 2016
    Love the author's first name.(Proper review once the book is out)
  • Denisa
    July 4, 2016
    I read the description just now and teared up a little bit-- both from excitement and the fact that I know that this book that's going to make me feel a LOT. This book is something I NEED and WANT and just MUST HAVE as soon as possible, okay? Okay.
  • Martina Boone
    September 16, 2016
    Thank you to the trolls who have put this book on my radar. I'm proud of the YA community for coming together to ensure that individuals or small groups with an agenda cannot engage in a hate campaign to achieve the ends they're aiming for. One-starring books on Goodreads is not a response that can be allowed to stand as it effects not only one author, but the publisher and therefore the possibility of other books being published. It's an effort to silence speech in a land where that freedom is Thank you to the trolls who have put this book on my radar. I'm proud of the YA community for coming together to ensure that individuals or small groups with an agenda cannot engage in a hate campaign to achieve the ends they're aiming for. One-starring books on Goodreads is not a response that can be allowed to stand as it effects not only one author, but the publisher and therefore the possibility of other books being published. It's an effort to silence speech in a land where that freedom is one of the most treasured pillars of society. I'm posting a five star rating now, and will read as soon as the book comes out in the hope that it will encourage us all to engage in debate in more appropriate venues.
    more
  • Marie Rutkoski
    September 16, 2016
    While I haven't read this book yet, I am very excited for it!
  • The Bookavid
    February 8, 2017
    More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn GIRL OUT OF WATER, surfer girl Anise has to move from Santa Cruz to Nebraska when her aunt has an accident. What intrigued me: Always there for cute contemporaries! Bittersweet and Unique GIRL OUT OF WATER hit me out of nowhere. With lyrical prose and a voice that packs a punch, it reads like it's written from the heart. Silverman's narration is captivating, sassy, essentially teen, and just an absolute delight. I'm especially happy to see a protagoni More Reviews on my Book Blog The BookavidIn GIRL OUT OF WATER, surfer girl Anise has to move from Santa Cruz to Nebraska when her aunt has an accident. What intrigued me: Always there for cute contemporaries! Bittersweet and Unique GIRL OUT OF WATER hit me out of nowhere. With lyrical prose and a voice that packs a punch, it reads like it's written from the heart. Silverman's narration is captivating, sassy, essentially teen, and just an absolute delight. I'm especially happy to see a protagonist in YA contemporary that I'm very sure I've never seen before. When's the last time you read about a surfer girl-turned skater? So interesting to read about and the nuanced way Silverman writes about the bittersweet experience of leaving home hit very close to home for me personally. GIRL OUT OF WATER is a story about family, friendships, and growing up. It's quiet, it's funny, it's bittersweet - it's just the perfect read for spring and summer and I'm very happy that I chose to give this one a shot. However, don't expect fast-paced action when picking this one up, GIRL OUT OF WATER is quiet first and foremost, and capitalizes on its fantastic characters. If you fall in love with them, this will be even more fun for you and I can wholeheartedly recommend this if you like character-driven contemporaries. Diversity Done Right I was especially happy about the casual diversity. Anise's best friend Tess is Samoan, there are sapphic background characters, and the love interest is a black amputee. It's very rare that you'll find a book that doesn't capitalize and advertise with its diversity, but uses it as a given. Our world is diverse. People are diverse. I absolutely enjoyed reading about these characters who just happen to be marginalized and whose marginalizations don't involve huge plot complications or are used as plot devices - I have to remark that because unfortunately a lot of books do this. Not this one though. GIRL OUT OF WATER reflects our diverse world beautifully in a quiet manner that just made me squeal with joy. I wish this was the norm. More like this please.Rating:★★★★★ Overall: Do I Recommend? GIRL OUT OF WATER is quiet and fun contemporary with a sassy narrator that I'm sure teens will love. If you like Ashley Herring Blake and Jenny Han, you'll adore this. With a black amputee love interest, a Samoan BFF and sapphic side characters, the background diversity made me really happy. That's so nice to read.live on the blog on april 7th 2017
    more
Write a review