My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen
Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn’t dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family. But when Chris’s stepsister Kimberly begins dating golden boy J. J. Kennerly, heir to a political dynasty, everything changes. Because Chris and J. J. fall in love . . . with each other.With the help of a new friend, Coco Chanel Jones, Chris learns to be comfortable in his own skin, let himself fall in love and be loved, and discovers that maybe he was wrong about his step-family all along. All it takes is one fairy godmother dressed as Diana Ross to change the course of his life.My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is a Cinderella retelling for the modern reader. The novel expertly balances issues like sexuality, family and financial troubles, and self-discovery with more lighthearted moments like how one rogue shoe can launch a secret, whirlwind romance and a chance meeting with a drag queen can spark magic and light in a once dark reality.

My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen Details

TitleMy Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherSky Pony Press
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Glbt, Contemporary

My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen Review

  • Pouting Always
    May 23, 2017
    A modern retelling of Cinderella but with Cinderella actually being Christopher which is pretty cool I guess for people who want more diversity. Christopher's father commits suicide after the 2008 stock market crash, because all his money disappears, and leaves Christopher with his step family the Fontaine's. The Fontaine family has serious financial issues, which were supposed to be taken care of thanks to Chris's dad, and now his step sister Kimberly must find a way to trap the most eligible b A modern retelling of Cinderella but with Cinderella actually being Christopher which is pretty cool I guess for people who want more diversity. Christopher's father commits suicide after the 2008 stock market crash, because all his money disappears, and leaves Christopher with his step family the Fontaine's. The Fontaine family has serious financial issues, which were supposed to be taken care of thanks to Chris's dad, and now his step sister Kimberly must find a way to trap the most eligible bachelor in America, J. J. Kennerly. The trouble is that J.J. is gay and he and Chris like one another. J.J. uses Kimberly as his beard and he and Chris sneak around together but Chris isn't sure how long he can keep pretending. I actually think the book was surprisingly good, and that the author has a lot of potential as a story teller. I really liked Chris and I was rooting for him through out the story. The problem for me personally was the author's reliance on stereotypes through out the story. Maybe the whole point was that it's supposed to be humorous when he does that but it fell a little flat for me. Especially the whole thing with Coco Chanel Jones being a black drag queen and all her dialogue, both in and out of drag, came out to be a little caricatured. Again I'm sure there are people like that who exist and there's nothing wrong with it, but the way it was in the book just made me feel uncomfortable and it felt like it was being played up for humor. I just couldn't enjoy those parts of the book personally but again I do think the author's writing shows promise and that he's a good story teller. Maybe less reliance on stereotypes used as jokes, even though it would be the easy thing to do, would help. Also I still am confused about the whole party scene where the heck did Coco show up from while Chris is watching his family leave. It was a little discombobulating.
    more
  • Vivian
    April 11, 2017
    This is a fairytale remix of Cinderella, except less cardboard villainy and gay. The tale begins with our Cinderfella languishing on the Upper East Side. Chris has got his head in the game taking care of his grades and schoolwork after a tragedy leaves him alone with his stepfamily. While they're not exactly cruel, they are self-centered and take advantage of Chris for various reasons. There's a lot of cheekiness, OTT behaviors, and de rigueur teenage angst. Add in family obligations, societal a This is a fairytale remix of Cinderella, except less cardboard villainy and gay. The tale begins with our Cinderfella languishing on the Upper East Side. Chris has got his head in the game taking care of his grades and schoolwork after a tragedy leaves him alone with his stepfamily. While they're not exactly cruel, they are self-centered and take advantage of Chris for various reasons. There's a lot of cheekiness, OTT behaviors, and de rigueur teenage angst. Add in family obligations, societal appearances, and a sibling tug-o-war and you've got to expect some drama. Chris' life isn't the worst, but he's definitely had some knocks. He's the kind of guy that makes the best of a situation. Just, a guy can dream, can't he? And Coco Channel Jones won't be denied. Swept away, Chris gets to go to the ball! He never dreamed he'd fall in love. And from there the story proceeds with a lot of angst, and while I'm very sympathetic to coming out issues there was an element surrounding Kimberly that I was not entirely happy with. But I read it straight through and it was entertaining.Fluffnutter Rating: gooey sweet and nutty.~Copy provided by NetGalley~
    more
  • Hristina
    May 3, 2017
    Copy received through NetGalleyActual rating: 3.5Retellings weren't my cup of tea, but this book changed my mind.My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen is a loose Cinderella retelling with LGBTQIA+ characters, and good writing. It's an entertaining read with great characters, realistic interactions, and laugh-out-loud moments throughout the text.The reason why this isn't a perfect five-star rating is because there was some stereotyping involved into this story, as well as fat jokes which were the la Copy received through NetGalleyActual rating: 3.5Retellings weren't my cup of tea, but this book changed my mind.My Fairy Godmother Is a Drag Queen is a loose Cinderella retelling with LGBTQIA+ characters, and good writing. It's an entertaining read with great characters, realistic interactions, and laugh-out-loud moments throughout the text.The reason why this isn't a perfect five-star rating is because there was some stereotyping involved into this story, as well as fat jokes which were the last thing I expected.
    more
  • Annika
    April 14, 2017
    What an odd little piece. Oddly charming, oddly sassy and oddly emotional, to be exact. This is a modern YA GLBT romance that is very (and I mean very) loosely based on the fairy tale of Cinderella. There's a ball, a missing shoe and a fairy godmother involved, as well as a selfish (yet strangely lovable) step-family and some sort of Prince Charming.It is told from the perspective of adorable 17 year old Chris, who's been living with his step-family since his father's death a few years back. Chr What an odd little piece. Oddly charming, oddly sassy and oddly emotional, to be exact. This is a modern YA GLBT romance that is very (and I mean very) loosely based on the fairy tale of Cinderella. There's a ball, a missing shoe and a fairy godmother involved, as well as a selfish (yet strangely lovable) step-family and some sort of Prince Charming.It is told from the perspective of adorable 17 year old Chris, who's been living with his step-family since his father's death a few years back. Chris likes his low-key existence, blending in while the rest of his family enjoys the spotlight. He wasn't planning on falling in love with her gorgeous sister's new boyfriend though, who's also arguably the country's most eligible bachelor and future President, nor did he expect to meet a bunch of sassy drag queens who gradually bring him out of his shell. When his life gets turned upside down, he's faced with involuntary outings, decisions he never wanted to have to make, and a love he didn't expect to find so soon. I'm not sure how long I was lost in my unhappy thoughts before a voice said, "Child, if that frown gets any lower, you're gonna trip someone."And then I looked up to see standing before me... Diana Ross? When I first read this book's title, I just knew I had to read it. I also knew I was in for something fun, a lot of banter and quirk, but nothing could've prepared me for the giggles and laughing fits I found myself in during the first 15% of this book, mainly courtesy of Coco, Special Kaye and Aphra, the three gloriously bitchy drag queens. I really need a book that revolves fully around them. Stat. "Bitch, you are one pair of scissors away from going drag queen to transsexual, understand?" After the hilarious start though, I was surprised to find that it was actually a lot more than just fun and lunacy. It's also a story of self-acceptance, loyalty and friendship, sometimes emotional, but mostly light and humorous. Also, there was so much character growth going on, especially in Chris's family. While they started out rather shallow and obnoxious, it wasn't long until their facades started to crumble, and the more layers of their personalities were revealed, the harder it was not to fall for them and their odd idiosyncrasies. Why, oh, why was life always messing up my attempts to get some order and some metaphorical poetry into it? This was a truly delightful read.ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Danielle
    April 25, 2017
    I needed this story. My run of recent reads have ranged from lackluster to disappointing, so I needed something fun and engaging to bring me back to life, and this was perfect! This modernized Cinderella retelling has so much humor and fun, it’s such a quick read, and I really loved it. Things I Liked :-Humor. This story is laugh out loud funny. I had a great time reading it. The situations and the characters create a fun and dramatic environment that carries humor really well. The humor never f I needed this story. My run of recent reads have ranged from lackluster to disappointing, so I needed something fun and engaging to bring me back to life, and this was perfect! This modernized Cinderella retelling has so much humor and fun, it’s such a quick read, and I really loved it. Things I Liked :-Humor. This story is laugh out loud funny. I had a great time reading it. The situations and the characters create a fun and dramatic environment that carries humor really well. The humor never felt forced to at the expense of others (except the instances noted below) and really makes this book a breeze. The humor flows in the story well and isn’t stiff or awkward. -Writing. The writing was almost conversational. It was friendly and open. It made Chris instantly likable and accessible and helped me become enveloped in the story immediately. -Characters & Relationships. The characters felt authentic and that made all the relationships believable. All of the character were well developed and played their parts well without feeling boring. We get more than is expected and that helped the story feel fresh and compelling. I loved that we got to see friendships and family relationships develop as well as romantic relationships. It helped the world feel more real, because it wasn’t only about the romance.-Modern Retelling. This was a fantastic modernized retelling of Cinderella. We have genderbent characters, more diversity, a fantastic setting. The characters have been modernized incredible well, they aren’t just the stereotypes of the evil stepmom and step siblings, they are real people. They have a life of their own. They just felt like real people and it was fantastic. I liked that the story got into the plot quickly, there wasn’t a bunch of waiting around for Chris and JJ to meet. Things I Didn’t Like :-Fat shaming jokes. There were 2 fat shaming instances passed off as jokes, one at the beginning of the story and another about halfway through. I personally thought they were done in poor taste, and were not funny. I could have done without them.-Ending. The ending was actually awesome. I loved it and it made me happy. It felt earned and had the culminating and grand Cinderella feel, I just wanted more. I wanted to see more of Chris and JJ after the big reveal: their relationship, their families reactions, the public’s reaction. I would have loved to get more.This was such a great FUN book. I loved this modernized Cinderella tale and thought it was executed very well. I would definitely recommend.I received a copy of the book from the publisher via Edelweiss in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Elizabeth Mathis
    March 8, 2017
    Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn’t dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family. But when Chris’s stepsister Kimberly begins dating golden boy J. J. Kennerly, heir to a political dynasty, everything changes. Because Chris and J. J. fall in love . . . with each other.With the help of Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn’t dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family. But when Chris’s stepsister Kimberly begins dating golden boy J. J. Kennerly, heir to a political dynasty, everything changes. Because Chris and J. J. fall in love . . . with each other.With the help of a new friend, Coco Chanel Jones, Chris learns to be comfortable in his own skin, let himself fall in love and be loved, and discovers that maybe he was wrong about his step-family all along. All it takes is one fairy godmother dressed as Diana Ross to change the course of his life.My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is a Cinderella retelling for the modern reader. The novel expertly balances issues like sexuality, family and financial troubles, and self-discovery with more lighthearted moments like how one rogue shoe can launch a secret, whirlwind romance and a chance meeting with a drag queen can spark magic and light in a once dark reality.Rating: 4/5 PenguinsQuick Reasons: just a bit stereotypical; love the humor and personality of the voice; entertaining, endearing, wholly recreated characters; I was sucked in from start to finish; tons of delicious angst, drama, and fun; the snark is on point; LOVE how David Clawson made this retelling wholly his ownHuge thanks to David Clawson, Sky Pony Press, and Edelweiss for sending me a free digital ARC of this read in exchange for an honest review! This in no way altered my read of or opinions on this book. He drew out one of the cookies, handing the bag back to me, and I watched as he inspected the cookie, broke off a piece, then put it into his mouth. As he chewed, the look which had started out skeptical and critical melted into one of almost sexual pleasure."Was I right?" I asked.He put out a hand to me. "Shut up. I'm in the middle of a food-gasm.""Cookie interruptus?" By now, I'm sure ALL my loyal penguins know full well that I am all about retellings. They are the bread to my readerly sandwich, after all! I am ALSO all about snarky characters, uniquely individualized reads, and reinvented story lines (especially if it's a retelling being reinvented)! There's nothing quite like stepping into a world you're pretty sure you've seen from every angle...and being proven wrong.David Clawson did exactly this for me with this title. I'll be honest with you guys--when I stumbled upon this title on Edelweiss and saw it was up for instant download, I didn't think twice. I read the title, laughed out loud like a lunatic, and promptly hit "download." I didn't even stop to read the blurb, which means, when I picked this book up to read.... I had no idea it was a retelling. It took only a couple of pages for me to realize that's exactly what I was reading...and only a couple more after that to realize it was going to be entirely different from the story I thought I already knew. David Clawson took this fairy tale, and molded it into his own witty, snarky, entertaining beast--and I ADORED every second of it!Love is supposed to be the truest and most esteemed emotion in the world, but many of these people would only be willing to admire it on their own terms, under their own rules.This was a fast-paced, entertaining read with some well-written, complex, and wholly unique characters. Trust me, penguins--this is not the Cinderella cast you know, but that doesn't mean you won't love them to tuna fish pieces. Honestly, I feel like the relationships sewn and nurtured in this book are SO MUCH BETTER than those I've been reading in the recent months. They are realistic, they grow and change as the characters do, and they're all, in some tiny way, flawed...but they're also easy for readers to relate to. In the original Cinderella story, and the subsequent retellings I've had the pleasure of reading/watching... I was never quite sure WHY the stepmother and sisters hated Cinderella so much. There never seemed to be an actual reason. David Clawson approached this in a new and unique way, and managed to wrap it up in the process!I had a ton of fun with this book, and while it leans a bit heavily on certain stereotypes, I feel the personality and uniquely individualized characters really set this apart from other Cinderella retellings. The snark was heavy-handed, the morals (being true to yourself, feeling comfortable in your own skin) are handled with sensitivity, and I just ADORED me some Coco Chanel Jones--seriously, one of the best characters EVER! I recommend this to lovers of fairy tale retellings, diverse reads, and a strong focus on the sewing and building of familial relationships. If you're seeking YOUR Prince Charming, maybe you should wear shoes that are much too big for you...you never know whose face you'll kick one into!
    more
  • Jamie Cayley
    April 24, 2017
    I received a copy of the book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank the author, David Clawson, and the publisher, Skyhorse Publishing, for the opportunity. I wanted to like this book, I really did. I believe we need more YA books with LGBTQ+ characters and characters with non-traditional gender expressions, as there's lots of young adults who don't see themselves represented in books due to the lack of them. However, not all representation is good representati I received a copy of the book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank the author, David Clawson, and the publisher, Skyhorse Publishing, for the opportunity. I wanted to like this book, I really did. I believe we need more YA books with LGBTQ+ characters and characters with non-traditional gender expressions, as there's lots of young adults who don't see themselves represented in books due to the lack of them. However, not all representation is good representation and even if the author had good intentions when including said characters in the book it doesn't seem like the author took the time to really understand what it is like to be LGBTQ+ or someone with a non-traditional gender expression. One of the main things I found problematic with this book is how it seems to propagate the erroneous idea that gender identity and gender expression are the same thing and that gender is determined by what's in your pants, as can be seen from this comment: "Bitch, you are one pair of scissors away from going drag queen to transsexual, understand?". The book also seemed to oversexualize drag queens, including several mentions to tucking that didn't seem to be relevant to the story or be educational to the reader. There were various comments made about not understanding why someone would dress in drag, which could've been replaced by respectfully asking Duane/Coco about it once their friendship developed. The book could've used Duane/Coco as an opportunity to introduce they/their pronouns to the readers and should've used they/their pronouns before Duane's/Coco's preferred pronouns were stated. All mentions of gayness seemed to be tied to stereotypes, including internal dialogue. However, LGBTQ+ stereotypes weren't the only ones to make an appearance in the book; it was assumed that Duane/Coco was from Harlem, just due to skin colour and the following also somehow made it into the book: "[...] And I'd be married to J.J.-freakin'-Kennerly! Can I get an amen?" Of all the white girls in the world, Kimberly was among the least likely to pull that one off. "You've been spending too much time with Duane," I said.
    more
  • Jamie Coudeville
    April 26, 2017
    This book surprised me. I really liked the characters, even the stepfamily (which is rare in a cinderella remake). The characters are actually what made this book for me. The story isn't that original, but these awesome characters turned it into something special. I do feel there should've been a bit more of a resolution. It felt a bit too easy. If you're looking for a fun m/m contemporary and love retellings, this is definitely the book for you. received a copy of this book from the publisher v This book surprised me. I really liked the characters, even the stepfamily (which is rare in a cinderella remake). The characters are actually what made this book for me. The story isn't that original, but these awesome characters turned it into something special. I do feel there should've been a bit more of a resolution. It felt a bit too easy. If you're looking for a fun m/m contemporary and love retellings, this is definitely the book for you. received a copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions in this review are my own.
    more
  • BlankPages
    May 11, 2017
    4/5 stars"Worrying is what I do! About everything!"This book is partly exactly what you expect - romance, LGBT+, fluffy, etc. - and partly completely different. The book tells the story of Chris (short for Christopher) who goes to a party and meets the 'love of his life' - as it is a retelling of Cinderella, you can kind of predict how the rest of the story goes. I loved the funny remarks, the relationship between Chris and the main character (I am not sure if it is a spoiler, so I will just not 4/5 stars"Worrying is what I do! About everything!"This book is partly exactly what you expect - romance, LGBT+, fluffy, etc. - and partly completely different. The book tells the story of Chris (short for Christopher) who goes to a party and meets the 'love of his life' - as it is a retelling of Cinderella, you can kind of predict how the rest of the story goes. I loved the funny remarks, the relationship between Chris and the main character (I am not sure if it is a spoiler, so I will just not put the name right here), but there were a couple of things I did not like.1. There was a lot of reader participation, which, for me, was really annoying. Clawson's writing style resembled Rick Riordan's writing style in that way:"The first thing I did when I got home was hang up the designer suit jacket Special Kaye had brought for me, and that was when I let out my second gasp of the night. (Don't judge. I'm being honest about these things, so the least you can do is not judge. I'm already punishing myself enough as I recall all of this, believe me.)"Maybe it is just a personal annoyance, though, and you find this just whining, which I totally understand, hahaha2. The ending. Clawson? I wanted more!!!!!!! WHAT HAPPENED AFTER THIS????Conclusion:Read it if you are in for a quick and fluffy read, but still want a more serious undertone in a book. Cannot wait for the next book by Clawson (perhaps another retelling? so we get a new story AND get to know more about what happened after the ending? Please ??!?) If you want some nice quotes, click on the spoiler bar!(view spoiler)["I might have swooned. How many guys can top a quote from Shakespeare with another quote from Shakespeare? Especially hot guys?""If the Fundamentalists can ignore science, then why can't I?""Happiness can be a dangerous thing." (hide spoiler)]AND THE MOST RELATABLE ONE REGARDING BOOKS:(view spoiler)["My dad's library?""Seriously? You're going to kiss me in a room full of books and expect me to stop at one kiss?""Are books some sort of fetish for you?" he asked, with an eyebrow raised matched by the raised corner of his mouth fighting a playful smile."Is it a problem that I like my men smart?""Why would it be? I have a library card." (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Julie (*Happily Ever Chapter*)
    April 29, 2017
    Chris is a 17 year old that lost his father, and is now still living with his stepmother, stepsister, and stepbrother. After the passing of his father the family suffered financially, and Chris stepped in to do the chores and do practically everything for them. On the night of the Ball he helps each family member get ready, but he doesn't get to go himself because they couldn't spare the money to get him anything to wear. His stepmother exhausted all of her money buying Kimberly an expensive Ver Chris is a 17 year old that lost his father, and is now still living with his stepmother, stepsister, and stepbrother. After the passing of his father the family suffered financially, and Chris stepped in to do the chores and do practically everything for them. On the night of the Ball he helps each family member get ready, but he doesn't get to go himself because they couldn't spare the money to get him anything to wear. His stepmother exhausted all of her money buying Kimberly an expensive Vera Wang dress, with hopes that she'll catch the eye of J.J. Kennerly. J.J. comes from a wealthy family and she sees him as a way to get their family back to their previous status. As Chris watches them leave for the night, he meets Coco and she finds a way to get him into the ball with borrowed clothing. While at the ball Chris and J.J. meet and share a moment, until Chris sees his sister and rushes out before she sees him. J.J. wants to see Chris again so he comes up with a plan to fake date his stepsister.I immediately jumped at the idea of reviewing a fairytale retelling of Cinderella, but retold as a MM romance. Also, that title hooked me. This one had so much potential but ended up falling a bit short for me.I absolutely loved the "fairy godmother", Duane aka Coco Chanel Jones. There were quite a few laugh out loud moments when Chris first meets her. Coco/Duane added a lot of fun and humor to the story.I had a lot of issues getting into this one because I couldn't root for Chris and J.J.'s relationship at all. J.J. continues to "fake date" Kimberly while meeting up with Chris in secret, and that rubbed me the wrong way. He continued the relationship for way too long and it just felt cruel. When Chris finally can't handle being a kept secret and potentially hurting Kimberly anymore, they break things off....but J.J. doesn't break things off with Kimberly! He could pretend to be straight with any other girl in the world but decides to keep things going with Kimberly right in front of Chris' face? That made my stomach turn. Especially given the lengths he is prepared to go to pretend to be straight.We end up with a HFN type of ending that is very open-ended. We don't know what's going to happen with J.J's political career, Chris' relationship with his family, how J.J's family reacted, or even where their relationship goes from there. I would have liked a little more resolution in all of those areas.*I received an ARC of this title via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own. *
    more
  • Heather F
    April 28, 2017
    Although this book starts as a trope from the beginning (Gay Cinderfella in modern-day New York City), this book is filled with emotion and heart. Also, gay representation is SO important. I'd recommend it for the gay youth in your life. Thank you for Netgalley for providing me with an ARC for consideration.
    more
  • Devann
    April 25, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewSo really this was a Cinderella retelling in loosest definition possible. There's a ball and a more-misguided-than-evil stepfamily and a lost shoe but it's really more of a contemporary M/M romance / coming-out story than anything. It was a pretty good story [even though coming-out stories are not generally my cup of tea] but overall it felt a little bit two-dimensional. I guess it is, at heart, a fairy-tale retel I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewSo really this was a Cinderella retelling in loosest definition possible. There's a ball and a more-misguided-than-evil stepfamily and a lost shoe but it's really more of a contemporary M/M romance / coming-out story than anything. It was a pretty good story [even though coming-out stories are not generally my cup of tea] but overall it felt a little bit two-dimensional. I guess it is, at heart, a fairy-tale retelling and fairy-tale characters are generally more stereotypes than anything, but I think I would have cared about the characters a little bit more if they felt more like real people. But despite the insta-love and the [to me] a bit over the top teenage angst, it was still a pretty enjoyable and cute story. Although I wouldn't really recommend it to people who like fairy-tale retellings [what I was looking for], but more to people who like contemporary romance [something I generally try to stay well away from]. I just feel like fairy-tale retellings still need to have a little bit of actual magic in them, and this doesn't, but it was still a very unique story and I liked the casual narration style.
    more
  • B I A N C A
    March 21, 2017
    coco chanel and diana ross, i am laughing already. i need to read this!
  • Max Baker
    February 22, 2017
    Thank you Edelweiss for providing me a free review copy in exchange for an honest reviewI have been obsessively watching Edelweiss for months waiting for this book to become available to review, because goddammit I was going to read this even if it killed me. So when it finally become available I stayed up until 1 am, because that's the kind of person I am. I'm always looking for queer fairy tale retellings and there aren't enough books in the world with drag queens, so this seemed like a no bra Thank you Edelweiss for providing me a free review copy in exchange for an honest reviewI have been obsessively watching Edelweiss for months waiting for this book to become available to review, because goddammit I was going to read this even if it killed me. So when it finally become available I stayed up until 1 am, because that's the kind of person I am. I'm always looking for queer fairy tale retellings and there aren't enough books in the world with drag queens, so this seemed like a no brainer. A gay Cinderella retelling with a drag queen as the fairy godmother? If ever there was a book more perfectly tailored to my interests, this would be it.And for the most part, it was everything I could have wanted. It starts on the night of the ball, with Chris left behind as his family leaves for the party only to be confronted by the fabulous Coco Channel Jones and instructed to get off his ass, because he was going to that damn ball. There he meets J.J Kennerly and romance blooms from a chance meetingInterestingly enough, unlike most Cinderella retellings Clawson goes out of his way to paint Chris' stepfamily as...human. Not ugly villains who force him to do everything, but not necessarily saints either. His stepmother Iris has fallen on hard times, struggle to maintain her wealthy family's image while she herself struggles with her own issues. His stepbrother is jock-ish but not stupid, hell's honestly the most supportive character in the book, totally at peace with being the object of another guys affects despite the fact he can't return them. And his stepsister is vapid, but not malicious. Sure she can be self-absorbed at times, but she genuinely cares for her family and is dealing with the pressure of being the only one (that she knows of) who can return her family to their former glory. I really appreciated how Clawson didn't take the easy way out with them. As for the other characters I freakin loved 'em. Coco Channel Jones was hilarious, fun, and quite honestly the best friend any guy could ask for. She light up the page when she was on, even out of drag as Duane. The Prince Charming, J.J. adorable and I thought he and Chris worked really well together.However, I did have a few issues with the book my main one being with Chris. Remember how in the live-action version of Cinderella, everyone said Lily James' portrayal was too-perfect because she was too nice and too...passive. Well, Chris is sort of like that. He does all the chores and everything for the family and outside of a few moments, most of them internal or in a fantasy, he doesn't complain. Clawson tried to make it seem like doing all the chores was more of a personality quirk for Chris, that helping around the house made him feel useful after he came into wealth and didn't know what to do with himself, and his stepfamily kind of took advantage of it, but it seemed awkward. Like Clawson couldn't quite pin down why Chris was doing all the chores without having his stepfamily be total assholes.And Chris' narration felt just as weird. He's naive, almost passive to the point he lets fabulous stranger into his house without much thought because she exuded enough confidence, and that made him seem both younger and bogged the writing down. He's eighteen, but he didn't feel that way, it felt much younger which made it weirder when he started swearing in his narration. I think i came from the "nice" aspect of Cinderella Clawson tried to incorporate. Chris had to be nice and thus couldn't be overtly suspicious or crude outside a few instances, but it didn't work for the character. It was another thing that just wasn't quite there.And there's a cheating element. I don't mind those, but some do. But, I thought Chris' guilt and eventually decisions over it were handled very realistically. Then there's the big gay elephant in the room, the J.J can't come out because of his future plans or whatever trope that's been done to death. I'd say is just as tired here as it is in anything else with it, but the story has so many great moments and character that I didn't really mind it. J.J seemed genuinely conflicted and, even though we aren't in his head during the book, I think his conflict was very well developed as well as Chris' conclusions surrounding it.But, despite my issues, I still highly recommend this for anyone with a Cinderella or a drag queen fix.
    more
  • Dana
    April 17, 2017
    This is a totally fun to read modern Cindarellaish retelling. In this story, Chris is the Cinderella stand-in, living with his not really wicked step-mother and his step-brother and sister. When they all go to a fancy ball for the handsome and eligible bachelor, JJ Kennerly, part of a wealthy political family who his sister, Kimberly hopes to catch the attention of and marry for his money, Chris is left at home. That is, until drag queen Coco Chanel Jones shows up and takes Chris to the ball whe This is a totally fun to read modern Cindarellaish retelling. In this story, Chris is the Cinderella stand-in, living with his not really wicked step-mother and his step-brother and sister. When they all go to a fancy ball for the handsome and eligible bachelor, JJ Kennerly, part of a wealthy political family who his sister, Kimberly hopes to catch the attention of and marry for his money, Chris is left at home. That is, until drag queen Coco Chanel Jones shows up and takes Chris to the ball where he sees the handsome JJ and it is love at first sight for both of them. The story is funny and heart-warming and overall, a fun read.
    more
  • Vina Le
    April 16, 2017
    Thank you netgalley for the ARC copy. What a heartwarming and sweet book with plenty of laugh out loud moments. How wonderful to experience a Cinderella take with actual functioning human beings that are more than the two dimensional villains we're aquatinted to. It was a fluff book so don't expect much depth but it was a book with heart. The characters had their own motivations for their actions and they were actually understandable. This book was a great demonstration on familial love, even wh Thank you netgalley for the ARC copy. What a heartwarming and sweet book with plenty of laugh out loud moments. How wonderful to experience a Cinderella take with actual functioning human beings that are more than the two dimensional villains we're aquatinted to. It was a fluff book so don't expect much depth but it was a book with heart. The characters had their own motivations for their actions and they were actually understandable. This book was a great demonstration on familial love, even when there's no common blood. It was encourages the reader that it's okay to be yourself and is a positive message youth. Loved every minute of the read!
    more
  • Kim
    April 12, 2017
    This book was hilarious from the first paragraph. Chris Bellows life is full of problems. His multi-millionaire father lost it all n the stock market crash, Then committed suicide. Chris has to live with his step family who although are also poor still want the world to think they are rich so they can marry off daughter Kimberly to someone rich. Unfortunately the man that Kimberly wants is Chris secret boyfriend- this along with Chris drag queen fairy godmother Coco Chanel Jones makes this a ter This book was hilarious from the first paragraph. Chris Bellows life is full of problems. His multi-millionaire father lost it all n the stock market crash, Then committed suicide. Chris has to live with his step family who although are also poor still want the world to think they are rich so they can marry off daughter Kimberly to someone rich. Unfortunately the man that Kimberly wants is Chris secret boyfriend- this along with Chris drag queen fairy godmother Coco Chanel Jones makes this a terrific read as you can't even imagine what might come next. I received this advanced copy free from Net Gallery in return for an honest opinion.
    more
  • Renay
    April 5, 2017
    Wonderful and witty, I loved how each character was fleshed out and realistic. The feels in this book were wonderful and the struggles were spot on.
  • Amanda Bernard
    March 23, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book. It's not my typical genre or preference, but the title was catchy and I wanted to know more. This book was great! I loved it, and it had several moments where I couldn't contain my laughter (made for some interesting moments, for sure). The story is a Cinderella story for the modern time and modern people. It's got all the aspects of a good fairytale, but it's strikingly human and real and you can really get tied into the storyline.
    more
  • Cori Ilardi
    May 14, 2017
    **Actual rating 3.5 stars**What a quirky, fun, interesting little piece. “Straight girl with a crush on me, I'm sorry if you were having visions of a long romance and eventual marriage to the only guy you've ever known who would also rather watch episode after episode of Gilmore Girls reruns than football or a Transformers marathon.” My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is very (and when I say very, I mean very) loosely based off Cinderella. We follow Chris, who after the death of his father l **Actual rating 3.5 stars**What a quirky, fun, interesting little piece. “Straight girl with a crush on me, I'm sorry if you were having visions of a long romance and eventual marriage to the only guy you've ever known who would also rather watch episode after episode of Gilmore Girls reruns than football or a Transformers marathon.” My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen is very (and when I say very, I mean very) loosely based off Cinderella. We follow Chris, who after the death of his father lives an almost self-imposed Cinderella-esque lifestyle with his step-family. His stepmother and stepsister have set their eyes on almost-royalty J.J. Kennerly in hopes of restoring their name and fortune. All Chris wants is to attend the Autumnal Ball with his family, and with the little help of drag queen Coco Chanel Jones, Chris might just make it... and with the help of a rogue shoe, snag J.J. for himself. “I had just inadvertently kicked a shoe right at the face of The Most Eligible Bachelor in America, The Most Handsome Man I Had Ever Seen In My Life, and The Man Who Was Supposed To Save My Family.” This book has two really good things going for it: Chris's voice as a narrator is simply hilarious. I caught myself snickering more times than I can count. He's outlandishly dramatic, which is always good for a laugh. This is the kind of book that needs first person narration because of the personality in there. He's delightfully optimistic, a hopeless romantic, and while he may let people walk all over him most of the time, when it really matters, he does stand up for himself.The second thing is Coco Chanel Jones, aka Duane, who educates Chris on just what it means to be a drag queen. I work in theatre in Manhattan, so I have come across my fair share of drag queens. Coco may be a bit of a stereotype... but I have certainly met a drag queen just like her. Whether Chris is hanging out with Duane or Coco, we can always expect hysterical and even more dramatic-than-Chris moments. “My heart stopped. Luckily my bladder control did not.” I find a lot of people talk about instalove, and quite often I think people are exaggerating. I don't think it's that prominent, or I think their examples are a stretch. But in the case of this book, I'd definitely say there is a major case of instalove between Chris and J.J. They meet, they lock eyes, there's instant chemistry. Which doesn't actually bother me. It's the way they jumped on each other. Then we're told how they fall in love, we're told when they fall in love, we're told they fall in love... but we don't see it. So it's hard to really get behind them as a couple.The ending wraps up extremely conveniently and quickly in one of the most extreme cases of deus ex machina I've ever seen. Chris does, however, point this out (even using the term deus ex machina), and so it didn't bother me nearly as much as it could have.This is a really fun story about love, acceptance, friendship, self-reflection, pride, and a million things in between. I think if I'd felt more connected to Chris and J.J.'s relationship, I could have given this a higher rating. But even now that I'm done with the novel, I feel like I still don't know enough about J.J. He almost just seems like a perfect cardboard cutout, rather than a well-developed character. “Just as [Duane] started to walk out, he SCREAMED at the top of his lungs, jumped back, and slammed the door shut with a THUD! ... Standing on the other side was J.J. Kennerly!” I can say for sure I've never read another story quite like this. Yes, Cinderella retellings are everywhere, and this is definitely not the first LGBT+ book I've read. But I've certainly never read any book where a fabulous drag queen like Coco Chanel Jones appears.If you're looking for a different kind of contemporary read or a different kind of a Cinderella retelling, this book is definitely fun. Drag is not a huge part of the story, just as a warning if you think you're going to get tons of drag and burlesque action. But this was definitely odd and interesting. “Love is supposed to be the truest and most esteemed emotion in the world, but many of these people would only be willing to admire it on their own terms, under their own rules.” Thank you NetGalley for providing this e-ARC in exchange for my honest review.Blog | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Kirsty Hanson
    May 5, 2017
    I had this book pitched to me that it was a gay re-telling of Cinderella, but after reading and finishing the book, it didn't seem like a re-telling at all. The book stood as its own novel. Sure, there were parts of the book that had the Cinderella trope such as the missing shoe, and the step-family, but that is where the similarities end.Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished I had this book pitched to me that it was a gay re-telling of Cinderella, but after reading and finishing the book, it didn't seem like a re-telling at all. The book stood as its own novel. Sure, there were parts of the book that had the Cinderella trope such as the missing shoe, and the step-family, but that is where the similarities end.Chris Bellows is just trying to get through high school and survive being the only stepchild in the social-climbing Fontaine family, whose recently diminished fortune hasn’t dimmed their desire to mingle with Upper East Side society. Chris sometimes feels more like a maid than part of the family. But when Chris’s stepsister Kimberly begins dating golden boy J. J. Kennerly, heir to a political dynasty, everything changes. Because Chris and J. J. fall in love . . . with each other.With the help of a new friend, Coco Chanel Jones, Chris learns to be comfortable in his own skin, let himself fall in love and be loved, and discovers that maybe he was wrong about his step-family all along. All it takes is one fairy godmother dressed as Diana Ross to change the course of his life.This whole book is sassy, fun, and there were some amazing characters that had brilliant personalities. However, I am not gay, nor do I know any drag queens, so I cannot state whether the representation in this book is problematic or not. At times, I did find that the character of Coco Chanel Jones seemed a bit cliché, but again, I do not know whether this is an accurate portrayal of a drag queen.As aforementioned, the characters in this book were really well written, but the J.J seemed to annoy me so much! He just kept leading Chris on and I just felt so protective over Chris that I just wanted J.J to go away and never come back. I understand that J.J has his career to think of and his families political lifestyle, but I think that the way J.J spoke about this to Chris was just hurtful.I also loved that, even though this was a 're-telling' of Cinderella, the dynamic between Chris and his step-family wasn't the stereotypical: 'serving them and doing whatever they need.' Sure, there was some element of this in the book, but Chris explains that because he and his Dad didn't have a great life before, he does all of the cooking and cleaning, because that's just what he's used to after living with his Dad in a run down house. So yes, Chris is still the 'servant' to his step-family, but he wants to do it, and it makes him feel comfortable. "Straight person, I'm sorry if the differences in our sexual and emotional wiring makes you uncomfortable. Because that's something that seems to get forgotten in all of this talk of sexual 'preferences'. Being homosexual isn't just about sex. It's about who we have emotional romantic connections with, whose arms we actually feel at peace in, who completes the - dare I say it - fairy tale of what romantic and domestic bliss is for that individual... You know what, yes, I'm sorry I'm gay and if that creates issues for you, but I'm having to deal with it, and so must you. Because it's not changing, it's not going away, it's always been there, whether we're talking about my history or the history of the world, so we're all just going to have to deal with it."- David Clawson, My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen Now, the one thing that really got to me in this book was that (view spoiler)[*minor spoilers ahead* the family knew that Chris was gay and was waiting for him to come out. They understood that he would be scared so they thought - to make it easier - they would make a lot of derogatory and hurtful gay jokes to try and make him feel comfortable - (hide spoiler)]such as when Buck says to Chris: "first of all, I don't want you thinking about my ass". Actually thinking back, it always seems to be Buck that is making that kind of nasty comments towards Chris, and they all seem to go along similar lines.Overall, this book was very enjoyable and I did read it in a day because of how funny it was because of Coco and Duane's personalities. And I really did love the ending. It was a massive cliffhanger and I just need a second book because I NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS! Like seriously... I need to know. I do recommend this book because it is so good, funny, great characters (apart from Buck and J.J) and it just seemed so original. I've never read a young adult book like this before! If someone has read this book and knows if the representation of gay characters and drag queens is problematic, please let me know so that I can point this out in my review! Disclaimer: this book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest reviewReleased 16th May
    more
  • Online Eccentric Librarian
    March 22, 2017
    More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Admittedly, I did not enjoy reading My Fairy Godmother Is A Drag Queen as much I had expected. While the dialogue is crisp, often quite funny, it was also unrealistic and none of the characters ever really felt fleshed out and full of nuances. As well, the Cinderella aspect was missing all the magic and warmth that made the source fairy tale so endearing. If anything, I felt like someone had binge watched every episode o More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ Admittedly, I did not enjoy reading My Fairy Godmother Is A Drag Queen as much I had expected. While the dialogue is crisp, often quite funny, it was also unrealistic and none of the characters ever really felt fleshed out and full of nuances. As well, the Cinderella aspect was missing all the magic and warmth that made the source fairy tale so endearing. If anything, I felt like someone had binge watched every episode of RuPaul's drag race and then tried to force a marriage between several of the characters in there and Cinderella. In the end, it just didn't work for me.Story: Chris lives what should be a fairy tale life in Manhattan - prestigious family, gorgeous house, and he's not bad looking himself. But his family is nearly out of money, his father committed suicide after the stockmarket crash, his social climbing stepmother loves her wine more than her family, Chris is single handedly keeping the family going now that there are no servants any more, and there is a push to marry his stepsister to the high society 'big catch' J.J. Kennerly. But a chance meeting on the street with a drag queen with connections allows him to attend the big society ball - and meet Kennerly in person. Turns out, it is love at first sight for the two boys. But how will these two ever get to be together when J.J. can't come out of the closet and Chris is too anxious and unsure to go after what he wants?First and foremost, I really disliked how the Cinderella theme was handled. The entire Cinderella story is only loosely used and mostly finished by 25% into the book. There's no 'search' for the owner of the lost Ferragamo and Chris' identity is never a secret. As well, we have a case of insta'sex as J.J., despite supposedly needing to be cautious, quickly moves in on Chris, blows hot, then backs away fast as the attention is returned. It goes from insta kiss to butt pinching, to insta tearing off clothes. There's no time spent on emotional attachment, it is pure lust at sight for the boys and, while perhaps more modern, really begs the question of why bother with Cinderella in the first place?Also problematic for me were the characters. Author Clawson does try to give us more than evil stepmother with idiot children. The stepmother is a pampered princess who has to deal with a reversal in fortune. The stepsister is a social climber but not without a conscience. The other sibling, the stepbrother, is a meathead jock who says whatever comes to his brain, without preamble. He ended up being the most entertaining as a result. There are some good observations on human nature but at the same time, I didn't believe any of the characters at all. There was a serious lack of warmth and pathos of, e.g., a Becky Albertalli or Adam Silvera novel.As for the plot - there were several things that really set the wrong flavor for me. J.J. Kennerly being so obviously modeled after John F. Kennedy Jr. was imprudent and a really poor choice. Yes, he was America's ideal of a prince but I'd still rather have stayed in the fictional realm here without needing to use such an obvious reference to someone recently and tragically deceased. And drag queen Coco Chanel Jones was so perfectly an amalgamation of RuPaul Drag Race contestants that he ended up feeling 'off' - never a nuanced whole so much as a construct. Chris himself is all confused bundle of insecure hormones - more of a Marty Stu than a sweet character we want to follow.The writing is dense and something you need to follow closely in order to get the 'in jokes.' It ended up being a chore after awhile and I had to keep going back to reread after missing key points in chunky paragraphs. A stream of consciousness approach did not really allow a reader to get deep into the character of Chris.I know I've gone over the negatives quite a bit. On the plus side, the dialogue is very funny, laugh out loud "Oh snap!" at times. The author definitely knows his subject well. And this would probably make a funny movie if trimmed down quite a bit. Certainly, it wasn't a terrible read even if I really had to press myself to finish it. I think the big factor, for me, was that it wasn't magical or fun. It tried too hard to be sharp and au courant - at the expense of heart. Reviewed from an advance reader copy provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Amber Garabrandt
    May 15, 2017
    Summary:Chris Bellows is just wanting to get through high school unscathed and keep going.  His stepfamily, the Fontains, have had a reversal of fortunes but still have aspirations.   As the mother throws her daughter Kimberly at every eligible bachelor it is up to Chris to do the shopping, cooking and cleaning- because he’s the only one that has ever done it before and knows how.One night, meeting Drag Queen Coco Channel Jones changed Chris’s life forever.  Not only does he know someone that he Summary:Chris Bellows is just wanting to get through high school unscathed and keep going.  His stepfamily, the Fontains, have had a reversal of fortunes but still have aspirations.   As the mother throws her daughter Kimberly at every eligible bachelor it is up to Chris to do the shopping, cooking and cleaning- because he’s the only one that has ever done it before and knows how.One night, meeting Drag Queen Coco Channel Jones changed Chris’s life forever.  Not only does he know someone that he can be open with about being gay, but Coco sends Chris off to the ball of the season where he meets J.J.  Kennerly- the most sought after bachelor around.  A shoe catastrophe puts the two together and they have a moment.The next morning, though, it seems that J.J. is dating his step sister Kimberly.  He has feelings for Chris, but with political ambitions, he is afraid of being out.  They decide to keep it a secret, and use Kimberly as a beard.  Madness, and hilarity follow the couple… but can this ever be enough?  And, as Chris keeps asking himself, is it fair to his step sister?  True love is seriously complicated!My thoughts:I received an eARC of this book from Netgalley and Skyhorse publishing.  My thanks!I loved this book.  I found Chris, with his rollercoaster of emotions, honest and refreshing.  It was nice to see that he wasn’t a victim.  He never saw himself as the family’s slave or anything like that.  He tried to come to terms with his lot, and even found good in his family.    While Coco very nearly became cliché at times, she never got there completely.  I loved her interaction with each of the characters, and the fact that we got to see multiple facets there.  I like that they portrayed Kimberly as spoiled, yes, but also sweet at times and willing to include and accept Chris.  The brother actually took me by surprise because he was portrayed at this meathead with moments of brilliance.  He was the most openly accepting of the group, though, even if he was a jerk at times.While this is a very loose retelling of Cinderella, I liked it better for that fact.  I loved the story line and felt that the writing style was really fluid.  I had a great time getting to know the multifaceted characters.  One thing I did not like was the fact that J.J. was fine using Kimberly as a beard- even when Chris was feeling guilty.  He made a lot of choices that were hard for me to accept… and yet seemed sadly realistic.  That aside, this is a five star book for me still.  As far as the adult content goes, there is some sexual content, language and lewd humor but nothing over the top.  My niece will probably be reading it.  I give it a four. 
    more
  • Krutula
    May 10, 2017
    My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen has a ridiculously cute and optimistic protagonist, Chris as our Cinderella. Unlike the original, our Chris is not exactly forced into a life of servitude, but he is relegated to it. Now, living with his stepmother and step-siblings, who care only about staying in the limelight, he lives like a glorified butler to them. They aren't cruel to him, but they have a twisted sense of nice, and are more likely to treat him as a favored servant than a member of the fam My Fairy Godmother is a Drag Queen has a ridiculously cute and optimistic protagonist, Chris as our Cinderella. Unlike the original, our Chris is not exactly forced into a life of servitude, but he is relegated to it. Now, living with his stepmother and step-siblings, who care only about staying in the limelight, he lives like a glorified butler to them. They aren't cruel to him, but they have a twisted sense of nice, and are more likely to treat him as a favored servant than a member of the family. Which is why, with the help of a friendly drag queen named Coco Chanel, he crashes a big party where he gets to meet the love of his life, J J Kennerly. There is a whole shoe bit, too, for those invested in the fairytale retelling part of this story, but that is where the similarities end.The major theme of the story is about coming out and acceptance. Chris is not exactly out, but his sexuality is basically an open secret. He still feels fear over people knowing he is gay, thinking they won't approve of him. For that part, at least, his family is supportive of him, albeit in their weird way. But his secret boyfriend JJ isn't out, and since he is a public personality, he isn't itching to be out either. He is using Chris' stepsister as an unknowing beard, and sneaking around with Chris. Between keeping it secret from the family and from the paparazzi, they have their hands full, but Chris does want more out of their relationship.I liked Chris as a character - he is hopelessly naive, but also comes across as a doormat most times. His one saving grace is that he still stands up for what he wants out of the relationship - ultimately. J J, meanwhile, just kept rubbing me the wrong way. Dude was so self-centered, it was all about his public image and his political future - as if him being gay is going to affect his running for office some 20-3o years down the line (I am optimistic about a more tolerating future, okay?) and for that, he subjects Chris to what is akin to be like a mistress. Duane, aka Coco Chanel, is funny and entertaining, and I loved that he got his own arc about his gender fluidity and fashion designer dreams than being just a small character in the story. He was over the top at times, especially when it came to Chris's step-brother, which felt like a stereotype? I don't really know, but it felt very cliche - like, of course the drag queen is going to hit on the hot straight guy? Yeah, I wasn't that convinced.Overall, though, I would say read it if you like to read a queer Cinderella retelling. The romance wasn't that great, for me, though. Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review from Sky Pony Press, via Edelweiss and Netgalley.
    more
  • Jenny
    May 10, 2017
    **3.5 stars!So I'm really torn on this. I enjoyed the book a lot, but I just felt like something was missing. I ended the book wanting more and feeling a little let down by the ending. Not that it wasn't a good ending, but I had figured out what was going to happen (or hoped I had because my version was the happy ending and I was nervous I wasn't going to get it).Loosely based on Cinderella, Chris finds himself living with his step brother and sister and stepmom. The wonderful Coco helps him get **3.5 stars!So I'm really torn on this. I enjoyed the book a lot, but I just felt like something was missing. I ended the book wanting more and feeling a little let down by the ending. Not that it wasn't a good ending, but I had figured out what was going to happen (or hoped I had because my version was the happy ending and I was nervous I wasn't going to get it).Loosely based on Cinderella, Chris finds himself living with his step brother and sister and stepmom. The wonderful Coco helps him get into the ball of the season and this is where things start to unfold. The story is told to us by Chris and usually I don't like being TOLD a story, but the style worked for me. There were parts that made me laugh and cry and roll my eyes a little, but I still felt a part of it in a way. The secondary characters were fun and I am so shipping Coco/Duane and Buck and wouldn't mind a novella for some of the characters. Some of the subjects were heavy, but it never felt that way and it was very superficial yet subtle and I'm Ok with that. I think my biggest complaint is that I wanted more of Chris and J.J. I liked them together and wanted more. So much more. If you are looking for a fun, light read I say go for it. I did enjoy this book and it was a nice little break from some of the heavier stuff I've been reading. If you are looking for some grand love story to fulfill a void or give you in depth characterizations, this is not for you.**copy received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly
    May 7, 2017
    ARC version received through netgalley.This is, I think, a decent retelling of the Cinderella tale for the young adult reader. Gone are the magic and the mean step-family, although that ridiculous bit with the shoe somehow remains. And up steps Chris Bellows and his somewhat egocentric step-family. And the all-American Most Eligible Bachelor, J.J. Kennerly. But the story is really made by Duane/Coco, who as the near-eponymous fairy godmother. The story itself, aside from the sexuality of the mai ARC version received through netgalley.This is, I think, a decent retelling of the Cinderella tale for the young adult reader. Gone are the magic and the mean step-family, although that ridiculous bit with the shoe somehow remains. And up steps Chris Bellows and his somewhat egocentric step-family. And the all-American Most Eligible Bachelor, J.J. Kennerly. But the story is really made by Duane/Coco, who as the near-eponymous fairy godmother. The story itself, aside from the sexuality of the main lovebirds, is pretty standard fare, but Coco/Duane being a part of the story and really impressing themselves onto the entire cast certainly added to the story. They were definitely the most interesting and least flat character in the book. That's not to say that they weren't stereotypical - there's only so much you can do in ~320 pages - but they were still awesome. In short: the writing was good, and the story line was realistic whilst still having a touch of the fairy tale drama to it. At least in this story the 'prince' got to know his mystery guest before things went any where, which is way more realistic in my opinion. The characters did develop throughout (for the most part, any way, I'm looking at you, Iris) and the ending was predictable, and both happy-ever-after but also a little bit annoying. Like 'that's it? No epilogue or anything? I think it could do with an epilogue. Just to finish things off.
    more
  • Ashley
    May 24, 2017
    DNF at 34% While I found this funny at times it was also very uncomfortable. Upon meeting Coco, Chris immediately becomes weirdly obsessed about what's under Coco's dress, and then the next day when Chris meets Coco out of drag he describes Duane (Coco's real name) as looking "thuggish" (Duane is black). And then we reach the point where I couldn't put this book down fast enough. Chris' stepsister Kimberly decides it's okay to slip her mother some Xanax without her consent. Chris is fine with th DNF at 34% While I found this funny at times it was also very uncomfortable. Upon meeting Coco, Chris immediately becomes weirdly obsessed about what's under Coco's dress, and then the next day when Chris meets Coco out of drag he describes Duane (Coco's real name) as looking "thuggish" (Duane is black). And then we reach the point where I couldn't put this book down fast enough. Chris' stepsister Kimberly decides it's okay to slip her mother some Xanax without her consent. Chris is fine with this and thinks he would do the same thing. While I understand that Chris's stepmom can be a lot it's never okay to give somebody medication without their consent! Especially since the stepmom is mostly likely an alcoholic and Xanax and alcohol should not be mixed.Besides all that this book is about love at first sight. My demiromantic self can barely handle insta-love when two characters have had at least a few conversations with each other. I personally am not going to enjoy a book where a relationship is based off just looking into each other eyes. I'm not saying love at first sight doesn't happen, just that it doesn't work for me.Edit: I also found some notes I had written in my phone.The Positive: Chris talks about how being gay isn't all about sex.The Negative: One of the characters makes a joke wishing they were bulimic.
    more
  • Alexina
    May 9, 2017
    I received this book as an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.Summary: In a VERY loose modern retelling of Cinderella, Chris Bellows is sitting outside attempting to attend a Kennerly charity ball when he is approached by Coco, a drag queen, who whisks him away to the ball. While at the ball, Chris accidentally smacks golden-boy J.J. Kennerly with his shoe and, thus, begins the secret romance between J.J. and Chris.First of all, I LOVED Chris' voice in this story because it reminded me a lo I received this book as an ARC from NetGalley for an honest review.Summary: In a VERY loose modern retelling of Cinderella, Chris Bellows is sitting outside attempting to attend a Kennerly charity ball when he is approached by Coco, a drag queen, who whisks him away to the ball. While at the ball, Chris accidentally smacks golden-boy J.J. Kennerly with his shoe and, thus, begins the secret romance between J.J. and Chris.First of all, I LOVED Chris' voice in this story because it reminded me a lot of myself as a kid--struggling with typical teen issues, siblings, and a single mother household. Second of all, this book made me laugh on several instances (which made me look ridiculous when I was reading my Kindle in public, haha)! I can always appreciate books that make me laugh. And, finally, I enjoyed the character development, especially when analyzing Chris' family members. They aren't EXACTLY what one would expect.To be honest, I wouldn't exactly categorize this story as a "modern Cinderella story." So, if you are someone who LOVES modern retellings, I don't think you'll quite get that satisfaction from this story.
    more
  • Heidi Gonzalez
    May 4, 2017
    This modern version of the Cinderella story centers around Chris, whose family was down on their luck for a long time, his mother died when he was young and he helped out as his father tried to change their circumstances. He meets a woman they marry and she has two children. The rest I'm sure you can guess but either way the addition of Coco Chanel makes this story worth reading. There is nothing like a snarky drag queen to uplift a story and have you chuckling to yourself. The dashing prince do This modern version of the Cinderella story centers around Chris, whose family was down on their luck for a long time, his mother died when he was young and he helped out as his father tried to change their circumstances. He meets a woman they marry and she has two children. The rest I'm sure you can guess but either way the addition of Coco Chanel makes this story worth reading. There is nothing like a snarky drag queen to uplift a story and have you chuckling to yourself. The dashing prince doesn't find his princesses but rather his prince this time helping bring this story into a modern retelling and makes it accessible to so many lgbt teens who are looking for their dashing prince or princess. Well written and funny this book holds your attention and is another great retelling of a classic story.
    more
  • Romie
    May 10, 2017
    This book is a big no, that's why I feel comfortable dnf-ing only 10% in.Want to know why ? When you talk about a Black Drag Queen, don't say :#1 “smooth chocolate skin”#2 “Him? Her? I still wasn't sure”#3 “It's always a nice surprise being described as cute, but since I still couldn't figure out which sex was calling me this, I shifted uncomfortably on the cement step.”#4 “I figured this wasn't the time to ask why, exactly, she felt the need to put in all of that effort to look like the sex oth This book is a big no, that's why I feel comfortable dnf-ing only 10% in.Want to know why ? When you talk about a Black Drag Queen, don't say :#1 “smooth chocolate skin”#2 “Him? Her? I still wasn't sure”#3 “It's always a nice surprise being described as cute, but since I still couldn't figure out which sex was calling me this, I shifted uncomfortably on the cement step.”#4 “I figured this wasn't the time to ask why, exactly, she felt the need to put in all of that effort to look like the sex other than the one she had been born.”Hell to the no. I'm not interested in seeing if it gets better, I'm done, these first 10% shouldn't even exist.Thank you Netgalley for providing me an e-arc in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review