Dragonwatch (Fablehaven Adventure #1)
In the long-awaited sequel to Fablehaven, the dragons who have been kept at the dragon sanctuaries no longer consider them safe havens, but prisons and they want their freedom. The dragons are no longer our allies....In the hidden dragon sanctuary of Wyrmroost, Celebrant the Just, King of the Dragons, plots his revenge. He has long seen the sanctuaries as prisons, and he wants nothing more than to overthrow his captors and return the world to the Age of Dragons, when he and his kind ruled and reigned without borders. The time has come to break free and reclaim his power.No one person is capable of stopping Celebrant and his dragon horde. It will take the ancient order of Dragonwatch to gather again if there is any chance of saving the world from destruction. In ancient times, Dragonwatch was a group of wizards, enchantresses, dragon slayers, and others who originally confined the majority of dragons into sanctuaries. But nearly all of the original Dragonwatch members are gone, and so the wizard Agad reaches out to Grandpa Sorenson for help.As Kendra and Seth confront this new danger, they must draw upon all their skills, talents, and knowledge as only they have the ability to function together as a powerful dragon tamer. Together they must battle against forces with superior supernatural powers and breathtaking magical abilities.How will the epic dragon showdown end? Will dragons overthrow humans and change the world as we know it?

Dragonwatch (Fablehaven Adventure #1) Details

TitleDragonwatch (Fablehaven Adventure #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 14th, 2017
PublisherShadow Mountain
ISBN1629722561
ISBN-139781629722566
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Dragons, Fantasy, Fiction, Middle Grade, Teen, Young Adult

Dragonwatch (Fablehaven Adventure #1) Review

  • Josephine
    March 2, 2017
    Mr. Mull is one talented writer. Again, how is Fablehaven not yet adapted for the big screen??Full review to come.
  • Laurel
    February 26, 2017
    If you are a fan of Fablehaven, this new installment will not disappoint! It was classic Fablehaven. Totally satisfying. I highly recommend it.
  • Ms. Yingling
    February 25, 2017
    ARC from Publisher; also available on EdelweissAfter saving the world in the Fablehaven series (has it really been seven years since the last one came out?), Kendra and Seth are back. This time, they find out that unless they are able to take over control of Wyrmroost, the dragons will escape and take over the world, since Celebrant, the dragon who is a caretaker, wants more freedom for both himself and his charges. With the forces of Fablehaven behind them, Kendra and Seth are able to impress C ARC from Publisher; also available on EdelweissAfter saving the world in the Fablehaven series (has it really been seven years since the last one came out?), Kendra and Seth are back. This time, they find out that unless they are able to take over control of Wyrmroost, the dragons will escape and take over the world, since Celebrant, the dragon who is a caretaker, wants more freedom for both himself and his charges. With the forces of Fablehaven behind them, Kendra and Seth are able to impress Celebrant enough that they are made keepers. The road isn't smooth-- they have to find a scepter that goes along with the caretaker's medallion. It's a good way to get to know the various inhabitants of their new kingdom, but time is running out. Celebrant is bound and determined to get rid of them, and only Seth's inspired last ditch attempt keeps everyone alive to continue to work on the emerging dragon problem. Strengths: Mull writes great fantasy books that are complicated enough for kids who adore fantasy but logical enough that I can generally remember the plots. His books are filled with amusing characters, but it never feels like there are too many of them, or that they are all the same. I adore Kendra while disliking Seth and worrying that he will ruin everything-- I wonder if boy readers are annoyed with Kendra and applaud Seth's habit of ignoring rules to good results! Even though fantasy is not my thing, I can definitely appreciate the craft that is evident in Mull's work. Weaknesses: It's been 11 years since the first book came out. We really, really need a reissued hard cover set to replace the worn out volumes. Great series, but with this new book, demand will be high for the first series, and I'm circulating little piles of tape, glue and paper at this point!What I really think: Definitely purchasing. Mull is the modern day equivalent of Susan Cooper or Anne McCaffrey. Classic stuff the readers are very passionate about.
    more
  • Robin King
    February 23, 2017
    Mystical creatures, an adventure to save them, the relationship between a brother and sister, and what it takes to be a hero. A perfect read for middle-graders and teens.
  • Tabby
    February 15, 2017
    Received from: Shadow Mountain PublishingReceived Via: NetGalley.com THE REVIEWWhy this book?I loved the Fablehaven seriesWhat I thoughtLike I said I loved the Fablehaven series, so when I saw this was a Fablehaven adventure I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Luckily it showed up on NetGalley, you should have seen how fast I requested this baby. I gotta say this book didn't disappoint, it had all the elements I loved about Fablehaven plus dragons! I also loved how Seth finally got the spotli Received from: Shadow Mountain PublishingReceived Via: NetGalley.com THE REVIEWWhy this book?I loved the Fablehaven seriesWhat I thoughtLike I said I loved the Fablehaven series, so when I saw this was a Fablehaven adventure I couldn't wait to get my hands on it. Luckily it showed up on NetGalley, you should have seen how fast I requested this baby. I gotta say this book didn't disappoint, it had all the elements I loved about Fablehaven plus dragons! I also loved how Seth finally got the spotlight,it was about damn time. Though I did miss some of the characters from the Fablehaven series like Warren and Vanessa I did like the new characters too. I also really liked the plot it kept me wanting more and I just hope there is more Fablehaven adventures to come.
    more
  • Cheri
    February 13, 2017
    Thanks Shadow Mountain and NetGalley.I loved the Fablehaven series, even though it was written for children, many adults have been captivated by the fantasy world created by Brandon Mull. Dragonwatch was no different for me, I was hooked from page one. Seth and Kendra are back, along with a new character that quickly became my favorite, Calvin, the tiny hero. A great start to another series!!
    more
  • Susannah Grace
    February 1, 2017
    I HAVE BEEN WAITING SEVEN FREAKING YEARS FOR THIS YOU BET UR BUTT IM PREORDERING THIS AND AM GOING TO REREAD THE ORIGINAL SERIES IN PREPARATION The tears will be real, make no mistake.
  • Becca
    January 31, 2017
    Thank you Brandon Mull! Thank you for bringing back this wonderful world and these wonderful characters. I have missed them.Welcome back to the wonderful world of Fablehaven. Where we get to go on another adventure with Kendra and Seth Sorenson.We get to be introduced to a tiny hero and fierce dragons, along with all the other amazing creatures and characters Mull brings to life. If you have a teenager who is wanting to read a wonderful series, have them start with Fablehaven, which will lead th Thank you Brandon Mull! Thank you for bringing back this wonderful world and these wonderful characters. I have missed them.Welcome back to the wonderful world of Fablehaven. Where we get to go on another adventure with Kendra and Seth Sorenson.We get to be introduced to a tiny hero and fierce dragons, along with all the other amazing creatures and characters Mull brings to life. If you have a teenager who is wanting to read a wonderful series, have them start with Fablehaven, which will lead them to Drangonwatch. Mull's world is absolutely beautiful. Kendra and Seth become caretakers of Wyrmroost, and are immediately sent into the line of fire as they try to save Wyrmroost and the rest of the world from the dreadful dragons.While on this journey we get to see a different side of Kendra and Seth as they take on the role of caretaker. Great adventure still, but now they are in charge. It's exciting. It's fun...It gets intense for them. I am in love with all the creatures we get to meet in this book. Like I said early, tiny creatures with big hearts, large creatures, and lots of in between. It's so exciting to be brought back to this wonderful world. I cannot express how much I loved this book.I know that this is geared towards younger readers, but I think I love this world just about as much as any other great book I have read. Mull's writing grabs you by the arms, and pulls you in full speed. The creatures capture your hearts, whether with joy or anger, but you cannot deny the power they have over you while reading. I enjoyed every moment in this world, with these characters and creatures. Grab a copy! I promise you won't be disappointed.Source: I was given this book as part of a blog tour in return for an honest review. I was not compensated in any way for this review. These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book.
    more
  • Deborah Embury
    January 19, 2017
    I truly cannot ever imagine a "Fablehaven" novel that fails to delight and entertain me to the fullest extent possible. When I was 12, I read the first "Fablehaven" story and to say I was obsessed would be an understatement. This is a series that solidified my already firm love of fantasy into a love that has inspired me to write my own fantasy worlds and stories. This is a creative, one of a kind, and utterly delightful series written by Brandon Mull, who's imagination never ceases to amaze me. I truly cannot ever imagine a "Fablehaven" novel that fails to delight and entertain me to the fullest extent possible. When I was 12, I read the first "Fablehaven" story and to say I was obsessed would be an understatement. This is a series that solidified my already firm love of fantasy into a love that has inspired me to write my own fantasy worlds and stories. This is a creative, one of a kind, and utterly delightful series written by Brandon Mull, who's imagination never ceases to amaze me. Okay, I'm gushing a lot, but this series means so much to me! The fact that I get to revisit this world over a decade later is awesome. And I think Mull has done a epic job of reacquainting readers with Kendra and Seth Sorenson. The story meshed wonderfully with where the main series ended, and yet manages to create a brand new arc that makes perfect sense. I am SUPER eager to see more of Kendra's and Seth's abilities as they grow more into their roles- roles from both the last books and what is given to them in this novel. Solid 5/5! I'm going to go reread the books (again) while I await the next story...
    more
  • Jessica
    January 18, 2017
    Dragonwatch is the next installment in the wonderful world of Fablehaven. The book picks up with Seth and Kendra a few months after the events at the end of Keys. It is a wonderful feeling to plunge back into a world you thought you were done with and find the people and places just as enjoyable. The book begins with Seth and Kendra thinking that their adventuring is done, only to find out that there are consequences to some of the decisions they, and others, made to keep the world safe from the Dragonwatch is the next installment in the wonderful world of Fablehaven. The book picks up with Seth and Kendra a few months after the events at the end of Keys. It is a wonderful feeling to plunge back into a world you thought you were done with and find the people and places just as enjoyable. The book begins with Seth and Kendra thinking that their adventuring is done, only to find out that there are consequences to some of the decisions they, and others, made to keep the world safe from the demons. These consequences either seemed inconsequential in the face of the battle or were unforeseen but now they need to be dealt with. While Seth and Kendra have grown up some over the series their basic personalities continue to lead them. Kendra is still careful but willing to enter a dangerous situation with courage and strength. Seth is still eager and willing to take on any challenge by thinking outside the box, but is more thoughtful about the possible consequences to others. The writing and world are still strong and solid. While another series was not necessary, Fablehaven was wonderful as it was, Dragonwatch looks to be a great adventure that I am looking forward to continuing.
    more
  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    January 12, 2017
    When fans heard there would be another book set in the Fablehaven world, I think they might have gone crazy with excitement. Tears might have been shed and throats might have gone hoarse from screaming in glee.What can I say about a beloved series?Another fabulous, wonderful addition, no extra, to the series that fans not only weren't expecting but are over the moon thrilled with. Well done Mister Mull in once again resurrecting a series that many have not forgotten and will live on in their hea When fans heard there would be another book set in the Fablehaven world, I think they might have gone crazy with excitement. Tears might have been shed and throats might have gone hoarse from screaming in glee.What can I say about a beloved series?Another fabulous, wonderful addition, no extra, to the series that fans not only weren't expecting but are over the moon thrilled with. Well done Mister Mull in once again resurrecting a series that many have not forgotten and will live on in their hearts and minds. *ARC copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Shauna
    January 4, 2017
    What a FUN BOOK! I love one of the opening scenes where Seth has fun with one of his "non-seeing" cousins-- to the cousins chagrin :) Then Seth and Kendra are off to become caretakers themselves--What great adventures and possible doom await ahead! Can Seth and Kendra keep the world safe from dragons? Or will the dragons be unleashed to bring unspeakable destruction?
    more
  • Serenity
    January 2, 2017
    I was excited to see this new Fablehaven book. I reread the original series before reading this so my memory would be fresh. I know this is supposed to be a new series, but really it's more of a continuation of the original (IMHO). I enjoyed revisiting this universe. I'll be honest, I'm a bit skeeved out by the Kendra/Bracken thing, but otherwise a fun book. New and interesting characters, great comic relief, and lots of dragons. The ending came a bit abruptly, but otherwise a fun read well wort I was excited to see this new Fablehaven book. I reread the original series before reading this so my memory would be fresh. I know this is supposed to be a new series, but really it's more of a continuation of the original (IMHO). I enjoyed revisiting this universe. I'll be honest, I'm a bit skeeved out by the Kendra/Bracken thing, but otherwise a fun book. New and interesting characters, great comic relief, and lots of dragons. The ending came a bit abruptly, but otherwise a fun read well worth the time. I read this on my Kindle, so I had locations, not page numbers, but it seemed a bit short.*I received an eARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley*
    more
  • Pam
    December 30, 2016
    Fantastic start to another Fablehaven series! LOVED it and it was true to the original series!
  • Sarah Yee
    December 25, 2016
    Like many fans of the Fablehaven series, I was thrilled when I heard that Brandon Mull would be writing another! I have been eagerly anticipating its release - and, after reading it, I can say that the book itself met all of my expectations. A truly talented author, whose adept "world building" will leave readers captivated and whose characters are solid and consistent enough to quickly seem like old friends. I strongly recommend the entire Fablehaven series, including "Dragonwatch", to any fan Like many fans of the Fablehaven series, I was thrilled when I heard that Brandon Mull would be writing another! I have been eagerly anticipating its release - and, after reading it, I can say that the book itself met all of my expectations. A truly talented author, whose adept "world building" will leave readers captivated and whose characters are solid and consistent enough to quickly seem like old friends. I strongly recommend the entire Fablehaven series, including "Dragonwatch", to any fan of Middle Grade fantasy! As always with these books, I am anxious to see what will happen next!
    more
  • Nanci Booher
    October 14, 2016
    Thank you to Edelweiss and Shadow Mountain for advanced access to this title. Fablehaven is hands down one of my all time favorite series and I always use it when talking to kids about reading something new. That being said, I had no idea that a new series was starting.Dragonwatch happens after book 5 of Fablehaven and in this new series the Dragons are no longer content and threaten to destroy the world. A new caretaker must be appointed to Wymroost, however there is no one to appoint so Grandp Thank you to Edelweiss and Shadow Mountain for advanced access to this title. Fablehaven is hands down one of my all time favorite series and I always use it when talking to kids about reading something new. That being said, I had no idea that a new series was starting.Dragonwatch happens after book 5 of Fablehaven and in this new series the Dragons are no longer content and threaten to destroy the world. A new caretaker must be appointed to Wymroost, however there is no one to appoint so Grandpa Sorenson is approached and must then ask Kendra and Seth if they wish to become caretakers even though they are still so young. With new found abilities (Seth is a shadow charmer and Kendra has been granted fairykind status) can they save the sanctuary from destruction and ensure that the King of the Dragons, Celebrant, doesn't kill them??? I've been searching to see how many books will be in this series and have yet to find anything but rest assured Fablehaven and Brandon Mull lovers, there is still so much to be done!
    more
  • Tabitha Reyes
    September 30, 2016
    I have never, never ever been more excited for a book to come out...!!!! I CANNOT WAIT FOR THIS BOOK. Fablehaven is my childhood, and I read it whenever I need a major pick me up and exit from reality. Its such a safe haven for me. Do not ruin Kendra, Seth, ect. They are too precious.
    more
  • Rachel Lightwood
    September 28, 2016
    Is this actually happening? Please tell me that this is real...
  • livvy.jane33
    September 21, 2016
    We have a cover! I repeat: WE HAVE A COVER!!!To be totally honest, I'm not sure how I feel about this cover...It's certainly very cool, but....IDK I will have to think about it. Still super excited for this
  • Lena
    September 12, 2016
    9/12/16 HALLELUJAH! A COVER HATH BEEN MADE!
  • Peter Schuenke
    August 31, 2016
    I cannot wait! Fablehaven is my all time favorite series.
  • Jasmine KT
    August 27, 2016
    Omg i can't believe this. I didn't know about this book. I've just found out. This is really happening. I loved this series when I was younger and I was so sad that it only had five books. But now... I'm super excited. I'm dying to read this book. Where are you 2017?? I can't believe I didn't know about it.
    more
  • Eri (Airy Reads)
    February 2, 2016
    SIGN ME UP FOR THIS (I'm so beyond excited for this)
  • Cody Roecker
    January 2, 2016
    this got pushed back to 2017 and I am crying now.
  • Fiona
    December 23, 2015
    Let me tell you a little story.It was the summer that I was 14 and I was going to Zambia with my parents for three weeks. It's the sort of a once in a lifetime opportunity that most people would die for. My mother was going to help train teachers and my father and I were going to tag along. It was the most incredible trip and definitely life-changing in ways that I cannot describe. However, at the end of it all, after staying in camps and being accepted into other people's homes, my parents deci Let me tell you a little story.It was the summer that I was 14 and I was going to Zambia with my parents for three weeks. It's the sort of a once in a lifetime opportunity that most people would die for. My mother was going to help train teachers and my father and I were going to tag along. It was the most incredible trip and definitely life-changing in ways that I cannot describe. However, at the end of it all, after staying in camps and being accepted into other people's homes, my parents decided to take two days to stay at a luxury resort near Victoria Falls. Before leaving Europe, I knew that this was going to be the most boring part of the trip for me, I hate being idle and just lazing around. So I put out an appeal to all my friends to give me good books that I could download onto my kindle and take with me. One of my American friends replied and gave me her childhood series, Fablehaven.So I started reading it the afternoon we arrived, I'd finished the first book by dinner and I was halfway through the second book before I realised it was two in the morning and maybe it was in my best interest to sleep.The next two days, I lived inside this vivid fantasy world that Brandon Mull had created. I read during meal, I read while my parents took advantage of the pool, I read way past when I was supposed to be asleep.I just did the maths, I read about 2420 pages in just 48 hours (24 if you subtract eating/forced socialising/sleeping time). Assuming there's an average of 250 words per page I read 605 000 words in 24 hours. I'm usually a fast reader but even for me that's a phenomenal amount. I didn't even end up giving all the books five stars (probably because I felt like my favourite character of all time, Seth Sorenson, was treated unfairly) and I have never been able to recreate such a marathon with any other series since. So I keep asking myself, what is it about Fablehaven?I don't know, but I do know that since those 48 hours, I've been utterly and unfailingly in love with these books. Am I excited for Dragonwatch? Absolutely. Do I hope that it can match the pure addictiveness and magic of the original series? I really, really do, but I'm not going to raise my hopes too high because the last thing I want to be is disappointed by this book.All that I know is that I'm not doing anything important March 14th, I'm just going to sit down and read this book from cover to cover.
    more
  • Julia
    November 8, 2015
    ERMAHGERD!
  • Eze
    October 13, 2015
    ACABO DE DESCUBRIR LA EXISTENCIA DE ESTE LIBRO. LO QUIERO YA. AME FABLEHAVEN CON MI ALMA. QUIERO, QUIERO.
  • Tirzah
    September 10, 2015
    The COVER is here...this made my night week!!!Update: As you can see from my above exclamation, I was eagerly awaiting this book. There was much bliss when I at long last held a copy in my hands.I need to start out by assuring the skeptical fans that their fears be no more. Brandon Mull does not disappoint. You can tell he cares for his characters and the magical world he has developed. At the end of the book, he writes a kind note to the readers and shares that he took some thought before start The COVER is here...this made my night week!!!Update: As you can see from my above exclamation, I was eagerly awaiting this book. There was much bliss when I at long last held a copy in my hands.I need to start out by assuring the skeptical fans that their fears be no more. Brandon Mull does not disappoint. You can tell he cares for his characters and the magical world he has developed. At the end of the book, he writes a kind note to the readers and shares that he took some thought before starting Dragonwatch. You can tell, because Dragonwatch picks up smoothly from where Keys to the Demon Prison left off and from the first chapter, readers are swept once again into the magical charm and danger of Fablehaven. I felt like I was re-connecting with old friends after a long spell of separation. Seth is back in full force with his cheeky remarks and reckless bravery. Kendra’s kindness and quiet bravery are present. Many other characters make a return (though I was a bit distraught that a few did not appear; hopefully in the next book!) and we are introduced to some new characters. The plot flows well, never really slowing down as Kendra and Seth must once again face ghastly situations in order to save the ones they hold dear.And Brandon Dorman is back with illustrations! I was tempted to flip through to take a peek at all the pictures, but oddly enough I restrained and kept them all a surprise.In short, Dragonwatch is a worthy sequel. I expect the upcoming books will be just as fun. I also hope the resurrection of Fablehaven will bring a new generation of readers. I highly recommend to readers of fantasy and adventure, specifically the middle school and high school ages.
    more
  • Tammi Moran
    August 6, 2015
    DYING TO READ THESE
  • Taylor
    July 31, 2015
    Please please please don't ruin the fablehaven series. Don't milk the series for all its worth.
Write a review