Goldeline
In the wild, free woods of the Hinterlands, where magic is as real as stories are, there lives a girl named Goldeline. Goldeline has hair as white as summer snow and gold-flecked eyes, and she travels from camp to camp with Gruff and his bandits, getting by on the things they steal from carriages that pass through the woods.But someone is after Goldeline. The Preacher—the man who wants to cleanse the Hinterlands of anyone who’s different, the man who turned the Townies against Goldeline’s momma for being a witch—thinks that Goldeline must be a witch, too.Now Goldeline will have to summon all the courage and magic she got from her momma to escape the Preacher, save her friends, and, maybe, if she’s lucky, find a place to call home.

Goldeline Details

TitleGoldeline
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 14th, 2017
PublisherHarperCollins
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Adventure, Juvenile

Goldeline Review

  • Elise (thebookishactress on wordpress)
    January 1, 1970
    So, SO good, one of the better middle grade novels I read this year, and then a very messy final chapter lowkey ruined it??“It ain’t salvation if it means I have to belong to you.”This is a story about prejudice and exclusion, all disguised as a middle grade magical realism novel. It's all metaphorical but it will be perfectly easy for children to consume. There's an interesting thread here about how religion can be a cover for hate, complete with a preacher and a discriminated-against pair of d So, SO good, one of the better middle grade novels I read this year, and then a very messy final chapter lowkey ruined it??“It ain’t salvation if it means I have to belong to you.”This is a story about prejudice and exclusion, all disguised as a middle grade magical realism novel. It's all metaphorical but it will be perfectly easy for children to consume. There's an interesting thread here about how religion can be a cover for hate, complete with a preacher and a discriminated-against pair of dads. I thought this thread was very well-executed and I respected how deep it was. Unfortunately, I do feel that the final chapter failed this book. Perhaps it was meant to mean something, but I personally found it messy and poorly explained. However, I still have to recommend this to any MG readers!!
    more
  • Trin
    January 1, 1970
    This is an odd book -- really more of a dark fairy tale for adults than a middle grade book. It strikes me as a cross between Neil Gaiman's The Ocean at the End of the Lane and the movie Night of the Hunter. The prose is eerie and bewitching, and I enjoyed it, but I have a hard time imagining the child I would recommend this book to.
    more
  • Megan Abbott
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a stunner. Darkly moving, heart-ful and harrowing, it takes your breath away.
  • Cassie James
    January 1, 1970
    Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my opinion on it. Goldeline by Jimmy Cajoleas is a pleasant surprise I wasn't expecting. This is the first book I'm reading from this author and I'm hooked. From the beginning, it's very clear it's going to be an epic amazing story. It's now definitely one of my favorite middle grade books. Goldeline is a character that captured my interest from the very beginning. She lives with som Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my opinion on it. Goldeline by Jimmy Cajoleas is a pleasant surprise I wasn't expecting. This is the first book I'm reading from this author and I'm hooked. From the beginning, it's very clear it's going to be an epic amazing story. It's now definitely one of my favorite middle grade books. Goldeline is a character that captured my interest from the very beginning. She lives with some bandits who are now like family to her in the forest. Goldeline is the one they use to set ambushes for unlucky sojourners, They've made her infamous as the ghost of the forest. With her white hair and creepy clothes, it's very easy to believe. But everything changes one day when Goldeline rescues a boy her age Tommy from an ambushed group and they bond. She sort of protects him and pretends to be his angel (He's fragile so it's not too hard to deceive him but at least she truly takes care of him).Goldelines mother was executed because of the weird magic she wielded and Goldeline inherited this same strange power. Tragedy strikes when the religious fanatic who burned Goldeline's mother (The Preacher) finds their camp in the woods and capture her for unknown sinister reasons. Fortunately for her, She escapes due to a little help from Tommy and they run off deep into the woods. On the run from the Preacher and his unsavory goons, Goldeline and Tommy run into troubles, have adventures, bond deeper etc. Jimmy Cajoleas impressed me with his style of writing, His prose is lush and rich. The words flow together seamlessly and forms a vivid tale that will easily resonates with readers. Goldeline's story is amazing, she learnt exactly who and what she is, she realised who she could be and She became what she's always meant to be. It's really good character development. The ending was beautiful, awesome, inspiring and a darn good ending to an exceptional book. Goldeline is a combination of action, adventure, danger, friendship, magic and darkness.It's definitely a MG book I can recommend but not as an entirely light read.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    January 1, 1970
    Did not meet the needs of my collection at this time. Medieval-ish fairy tale fantasy sort of book. Fine if you need that for your library.
  • Samantha
    January 1, 1970
    Goldeline has found a rag tag family with Gruff and his bandits. They live in the forest and steal food and supplies from travelers. However, life wasn’t always like that. She used to live with her mom…until a town lead by the Preacher attacked them for witchcraft. Goldeline managed to get away, but the Preacher is coming for her, and in order to save herself and her new friends, she will have to channel everything she learned from her beloved mother.GOLDELINE is an unexpected, dark, magical rea Goldeline has found a rag tag family with Gruff and his bandits. They live in the forest and steal food and supplies from travelers. However, life wasn’t always like that. She used to live with her mom…until a town lead by the Preacher attacked them for witchcraft. Goldeline managed to get away, but the Preacher is coming for her, and in order to save herself and her new friends, she will have to channel everything she learned from her beloved mother.GOLDELINE is an unexpected, dark, magical read that I couldn’t put down. Jimmy Cajoleas writes with stunning prose that wraps you up in a blanket made of old fairy tales and spells. From the first chapter, I found myself getting more comfortable in my chair and settling in for a long reading session. This is exactly the kind of magical, fantasy middle grade story that I love to find. What makes this story so wonderful, beyond the great writing, are the themes: finding your own family, learning to be a friend, connecting to your past, and discovering the everyday magic. Goldeline is an easily lovable character, and you hope for the best for her the entire journey. She has an incredible spirit that leaps off the page, and readers shouldn’t be surprised to feel more than a little sad when her story is concluded. The Preacher makes a scary, if not surprising, villain. His rhetoric is frighteningly familiar, which is perhaps what is most scary about him. He is the kind of villain you can find in real life, not just in a story. Overall, Jimmy Cajoleas has become an auto-buy author for me after reading GOLDELINE. This story is brimming with magic, excitement, and adventure. Originally posted at YABC: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfic...
    more
  • Jan farnworth
    January 1, 1970
    “I received this ARC as part of Miss Print’s ARC Adoption Program.”  This book was a bit odd and sort of a let down as i was expecting more of a magical twisted fairy tale but i felt i got more of a ghost story with a bit of a witch hunt mixed in.   Towards the end of the story the supporting character Tommy tells Goldeline "Our adventure over isn't it?"  Adventure I never thought of like that. I always just thought it was life. That line really sums up what i feel we got the story of Goldeline “I received this ARC as part of Miss Print’s ARC Adoption Program.”  This book was a bit odd and sort of a let down as i was expecting more of a magical twisted fairy tale but i felt i got more of a ghost story with a bit of a witch hunt mixed in.   Towards the end of the story the supporting character Tommy tells Goldeline "Our adventure over isn't it?"  Adventure I never thought of like that. I always just thought it was life. That line really sums up what i feel we got the story of Goldeline daughter of a witch, hunted by an evil preacher who claimed to love her mother, rescued and brought to a better life or is it.   I honestly felt like that was going to be end of the story but Goldenline is walking out on the new life in search of answers that are hiding in the dark woods with a creepy old woman.  I just not sure i really got the whole point of the story nor do i think it would be received well by those who buy for middle grade children.  I gave it a 3 star as i interested me enough to see where the story would go but left me felling more confused then when i started. 
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    Goldeline has made her life with the bandits since the Townies, led by Preacher, killed her mother. But her life is upended when a typical raid goes a bit haywire. Now Goldeline finds herself responsible for a young boy while trying to outrun Preacher and unlock the memory that seems just beyond her reach.I had seen lots of good reviews for this, so I expected quite a bit from this. I found it didn't quite live up to my expectations and trying to recall it a couple weeks later, I find it not ter Goldeline has made her life with the bandits since the Townies, led by Preacher, killed her mother. But her life is upended when a typical raid goes a bit haywire. Now Goldeline finds herself responsible for a young boy while trying to outrun Preacher and unlock the memory that seems just beyond her reach.I had seen lots of good reviews for this, so I expected quite a bit from this. I found it didn't quite live up to my expectations and trying to recall it a couple weeks later, I find it not terribly notable in my memory. I didn't find Goldeline herself terribly compelling, but the reason for Preacher's wrath was a great example of the stuff women have to deal with every day (I don't know if allegory is the word I want there, but I'm sticking with it).Thanks to the publisher for a digital advance reader's copy, provided via Edelweiss.
    more
  • Sami
    January 1, 1970
    Deep in the Hinterlands, a young girl named Goldeline lives with a band of ruffians, hiding from the twisted preacher who turned the town against her magical mama. When tragedy strikes, Goldeline is hunted through the darkest forest and will need to discover her own magic to save herself and the friends she makes along the way. Goldeline's harrowing but ultimately hopeful journey is sure to capture readers' imaginations and hearts in this Southern-inspired fantasy. NOTE: The Hansel and Gretel sc Deep in the Hinterlands, a young girl named Goldeline lives with a band of ruffians, hiding from the twisted preacher who turned the town against her magical mama. When tragedy strikes, Goldeline is hunted through the darkest forest and will need to discover her own magic to save herself and the friends she makes along the way. Goldeline's harrowing but ultimately hopeful journey is sure to capture readers' imaginations and hearts in this Southern-inspired fantasy. NOTE: The Hansel and Gretel scene in this book was terrifying and amazing and honestly deserves a full review of its own.
    more
  • Abby Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    A fast-paced fantasy adventure through an imagined Southern landscape, Goldeline is a good choice for tweens who like fairy tale retellings and fantasy of that ilk. Although I don't think this is a retelling of a particular tale, it has that feel to it. Billed as a readalike for The Thickety, it didn't have enough magic for what I would be looking for in a readalike, but it has a similar strong female protagonist who's looking out for a younger companion as they journey through lands strange and A fast-paced fantasy adventure through an imagined Southern landscape, Goldeline is a good choice for tweens who like fairy tale retellings and fantasy of that ilk. Although I don't think this is a retelling of a particular tale, it has that feel to it. Billed as a readalike for The Thickety, it didn't have enough magic for what I would be looking for in a readalike, but it has a similar strong female protagonist who's looking out for a younger companion as they journey through lands strange and creepy.
    more
  • Cherie
    January 1, 1970
    This book begins with a very magical setting: an orphaned girl acts as a ghost for a band of robbers who rob people in the woods...but what happens when the girl does more than act in her role as a distraction but kidnaps a young boy - forming an attachment, love, yet keeping the child she loves most from the life he knows and is comfortable in. But what happens when comfort is something you never know? Goldeline fights for the very right to live, receiving help from the most unlikely along the This book begins with a very magical setting: an orphaned girl acts as a ghost for a band of robbers who rob people in the woods...but what happens when the girl does more than act in her role as a distraction but kidnaps a young boy - forming an attachment, love, yet keeping the child she loves most from the life he knows and is comfortable in. But what happens when comfort is something you never know? Goldeline fights for the very right to live, receiving help from the most unlikely along the way, along with a surprising dose of the truth.
    more
  • Ann
    January 1, 1970
    Top 10 First Novels for Youth 2017 (Booklist)
Write a review