Little Wrecks
In this haunting and explosive debut, Meredith Miller explores the truth behind three girls on the cusp of adulthood, and all the shocking realizations that come under the guise of growing up. Perfect for fans of I’ll Give You the Sun and Girl in Pieces.Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.“Darkly atmospheric and brutally honest, Little Wrecks depicts girls becoming women in a society that devalues both.”—Mindy McGinnis, author of Female of the Species (less)

Little Wrecks Details

TitleLittle Wrecks
Author
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

Little Wrecks Review

  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    February 19, 2017
    4 stars. Really weird?? But I kind of loved it. First things first: this book has weird prose. I still can't decide whether I liked the writing style. At points, there's almost too much purple prose and the metaphors killed me a bit, but there are also points where the prose personally murdered me and left me near tears. I think the writing style is going to be very divisive between readers. The thing is, the writing style can't bother me, because everything else about this book was so pitch-per 4 stars. Really weird?? But I kind of loved it. First things first: this book has weird prose. I still can't decide whether I liked the writing style. At points, there's almost too much purple prose and the metaphors killed me a bit, but there are also points where the prose personally murdered me and left me near tears. I think the writing style is going to be very divisive between readers. The thing is, the writing style can't bother me, because everything else about this book was so pitch-perfect. Little Wrecks stands out mainly because of the character work. Isabelle is reckless and independent and desperate to get out of this town no matter what. Ruth, my personal favorite, is desperate to avoid her mother's fate. She loves her mother for being kind, but hates her for being more like a best friend and less like a mom. Ruth does some terrible things, lives through the consequences, and comes out stronger. Her character arc is very, very strong. Magda wants to save her brother and her best friends from themselves. She comes off as stern and level-headed compared to her two reckless friends, but she's also desperate to be loved. All three of these characters are developed and relatable.These characters would've almost certainly made me give this book a 4.5, were it not for the unnecessarily sad ending. Keep in mind here that I usually prefer happy endings after dark character studies, and I don't like tragedy as a story format. The ending wasn't an explicit tragedy– it's really only terrible for one character. I just feel like a lot was wasted with that ending. These characters spend 300 pages growing and changing, and yet one of them ends up meeting a tragic end anyway. It doesn't work for me.Still, this book is absolutely recommended.div17: latinx mc
    more
  • Sarah
    May 11, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “They want to steal his weed and turn his life upside down,” This was a YA story about three girls who stole some pot and then didn’t know how to sell it on.Firstly, I’m not sure what time period this book was set in, but all the cars had cassette players, and nobody had a mobile phone, so it obviously wasn’t this decade!This story had three main characters, Isabel, Magda, and Ruth, and at times I had tr (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.) “They want to steal his weed and turn his life upside down,” This was a YA story about three girls who stole some pot and then didn’t know how to sell it on.Firstly, I’m not sure what time period this book was set in, but all the cars had cassette players, and nobody had a mobile phone, so it obviously wasn’t this decade!This story had three main characters, Isabel, Magda, and Ruth, and at times I had trouble knowing who the story was following as it was written in third person. Isabel was a bit of a rebel, and liked to get revenge on people, Magda had a younger brother who she cared about and a mother who had run away, and Ruth was sick of her mother’s string of boyfriends.The storyline in this was mainly about the girls stealing some weed from a dealer and getting him in trouble with the people who supplied the weed. This was a little odd, especially as the dealer in question was supposed to be a friend of theirs, and once they’d stolen it they then didn’t know how to sell it on, so they didn’t really benefit from the theft at all. We also had storylines about Isabel stealing from a cop, someone going missing, and a sexual assault, but I found the story a little odd, and had trouble following what was going on at times.The ending to this was okay, but I did find this to be quite an odd story overall.6.25 out of 10
    more
  • Amy's Book Reviews
    June 18, 2017
    GRADE: D-1 STARLITTLE WRECKS takes place in 1979, which I guess makes this novel a period piece. I was around the same age as the three friends during 1979 and Meredith Miller does a good job accurately depicting the era.I preordered and eagerly anticipated the release of LITTLE WRECKS and I was disappointed. Miller's writing turned me off with lots of telling and little showing. Simple sentence structure can be an effective means of creating intensity, emotion and tension like in GIRL IN PIECES GRADE: D-1 STARLITTLE WRECKS takes place in 1979, which I guess makes this novel a period piece. I was around the same age as the three friends during 1979 and Meredith Miller does a good job accurately depicting the era.I preordered and eagerly anticipated the release of LITTLE WRECKS and I was disappointed. Miller's writing turned me off with lots of telling and little showing. Simple sentence structure can be an effective means of creating intensity, emotion and tension like in GIRL IN PIECES and SPEAK. To me LITTLE WRECKS read more like a high school English story and I was bored throughout the book. I felt nothing for the characters.I'm clearly in the minority with others rating higher on Goodreads so read the preview before deciding whether you want to read LITTLE WRECKS.
    more
  • ML
    May 22, 2017
    What a beautiful book!This novel is beautifully written and the characters so clearly defined and engaging. I love the character Virgil Mackie, the spirit guide! ... and the idea of fire as the cleansing element. Too, how can you not love Lefty? Of the girls, there is something in all of them that resonates with me. I am middle-aged and grew up on the north shore of Long Island. Reading this book was like revisiting my teenage years through the eyes of three girls who were each like a little par What a beautiful book!This novel is beautifully written and the characters so clearly defined and engaging. I love the character Virgil Mackie, the spirit guide! ... and the idea of fire as the cleansing element. Too, how can you not love Lefty? Of the girls, there is something in all of them that resonates with me. I am middle-aged and grew up on the north shore of Long Island. Reading this book was like revisiting my teenage years through the eyes of three girls who were each like a little part of me. Also, the imagery and poetry in the writing grounded the story firmly in place and time for me.I love how Henry is the tether that they all need to keep them grounded. Especially, Magda. But Magda!? I too love how Ruth comes to such a wonderful moment of realization and self-affirmation.I really enjoyed this book and I'm really looking forward the next one from this author.
    more
  • Stephanie Johnson
    May 7, 2017
    (I received an ARC from Harper Collins via Edelweiss.)An achingly familiar coming of age story about the friendship of three teenage girls—Isabel, Ruth, and Magda. The story gives an insight into what each character is experiencing and their reactions to the predominantly patriarchal culture in their town of Highbone. While the main storyline deals with the plot to steal the local drug dealer's marijuana to obtain money to get out of their town, the underlying reflections on what it means to be (I received an ARC from Harper Collins via Edelweiss.)An achingly familiar coming of age story about the friendship of three teenage girls—Isabel, Ruth, and Magda. The story gives an insight into what each character is experiencing and their reactions to the predominantly patriarchal culture in their town of Highbone. While the main storyline deals with the plot to steal the local drug dealer's marijuana to obtain money to get out of their town, the underlying reflections on what it means to be a girl becoming a women in society both past and present is where the power of this story truly resides. There is something gritty and tragic yet lyrical about how Isabel, Ruth, and Magda view the world around them and the experiences they go through in this book that compels you to keep turning the page. Reminiscent of Midy McGinnis' The Female of the Species through it's brutal honesty and darkly idiosyncratic story telling and writing style—this is a great book to spark conversations on gender politics, sexual identity, and physical/emotional abuse.
    more
  • Susan
    June 20, 2017
    I finished this book in two days so I obviously loved it! I was fascinated by Magda, Ruth and Isabelle and their complicated lives and friendship. This coming of age story was so relatable. When I first started the book I thought "these girls are so f-ed up!" but as the story went on I realized that I saw pieces of my teenage self in each of them. I was engaged and emotionally involved through the whole book and I didn't want it to end.I listened to the audio version and the narration was perfec I finished this book in two days so I obviously loved it! I was fascinated by Magda, Ruth and Isabelle and their complicated lives and friendship. This coming of age story was so relatable. When I first started the book I thought "these girls are so f-ed up!" but as the story went on I realized that I saw pieces of my teenage self in each of them. I was engaged and emotionally involved through the whole book and I didn't want it to end.I listened to the audio version and the narration was perfect. She had a nice, clean voice and style without any of the theatrics that audiobook narrators sometimes use. It made the story very easy to listen to for an extended period of time and I found myself listening a lot longer than I usually do in one sitting.
    more
  • Sayyeda Stark
    June 26, 2017
    Thank you, HarperCollins and Edelweiss, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. I’m not really sure how to talk about this cause this book in itself a simple plot, yet it’s so much more than that. This book has a different writing style, almost like a lyrical prose I guess? The writing style was a bit flowery, and it worked at times. But this book also has a tendency to jump scenes without having a clear scene break so I was confused at some parts.Simply put, the bo Thank you, HarperCollins and Edelweiss, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. I’m not really sure how to talk about this cause this book in itself a simple plot, yet it’s so much more than that. This book has a different writing style, almost like a lyrical prose I guess? The writing style was a bit flowery, and it worked at times. But this book also has a tendency to jump scenes without having a clear scene break so I was confused at some parts.Simply put, the book is about these three girls who go steal a huge amount of weed, and ending up not knowing what to do with it. They can’t sell it, cause everyone will find out it was them and they’ll get into a load of trouble for it. But aside from that, the book also talks about sexuality, consent, relationships, friendship, and family.Overall, it was a good book. It didn’t particularly strike anything with me, but I didn’t hate it either. Go ahead and check this book out for yourself if you want, and let me know what you think :)Check out my full review over at https://literaryhues.wordpress.com/20...
    more
  • Ophelia
    March 9, 2017
    *high-pitched keening*
  • Jo Anne
    November 23, 2016
    Thanks Meredith Miller for this great story. Authentic characters, drawn with kindness; immersive setting with loving detail; questions unflinchingly asked. Draws you in, keeps you there, and lingers long after. Just W O W!
  • Cody Roecker
    March 18, 2016
    this sounds great and I cannot wait
  • Jessica
    June 1, 2017
    75% unrealistic dialogue, 25% three girls trying to figure out what to do with a bunch of stolen weed.
Write a review