Dare Mighty Things
THE RULES ARE SIMPLE: You must be gifted. You must be younger than twenty-five. You must be willing to accept the dangers that you will face if you win.Seventeen-year-old Cassandra Gupta’s entire life has been leading up to this—the opportunity to travel to space. But to secure a spot on this classified mission, she must first compete against the best and brightest people on the planet. People who are as determined as she to win a place on a journey to the farthest reaches of the universe. Cassie is ready for the toll that the competition will take; the rigorous mental and physical tests designed to push her to the brink of her endurance. But nothing could have prepared her for the bonds she would form with the very people she hopes to beat. Or that with each passing day it would be more and more difficult to ignore the feeling that the true objective of the mission is being kept from her.As the days until the launch tick down and the stakes rise higher than ever before, only one thing is clear to Cassie: she’ll never back down . . . even if it costs her everything.

Dare Mighty Things Details

TitleDare Mighty Things
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 10th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062479865
ISBN-139780062479860
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Young Adult

Dare Mighty Things Review

  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    February 13, 2017
    Very interesting concept and plot. It got a little bit strange for me towards the end, but I won't say anything more than that. One thing I absolutely loved were the characters she befriends throughout the competition. They're all so fleshed out. And so much diversity! Our main character is asexual, and I've never read from the point of view of someone who identifies that way. Even if you don't like sci-fi I think you'll enjoy this story!
    more
  • Lala BooksandLala
    January 12, 2017
    I need this book. I need it now. I need the cover to be to die for.
  • Heather
    March 16, 2016
    This is my book! It was tons of fun to write, and I can't wait for you guys to read it.
  • Emmy Neal
    March 16, 2016
    Full disclosure, Heather is my critique partner--this review will become less vague when the book goes to print! I've read DARE MIGHTY THINGS through many drafts, and fallen in love with all of these characters. (Even the ones I hate, I love. It's crippling.) She has a great voice, strong character arcs, and awesome suspense--but my favorite part about Cassie's story is how hard she works for what she wants. Cassie is an Indian-American intern at NASA when her boss recommends her to a classified Full disclosure, Heather is my critique partner--this review will become less vague when the book goes to print! I've read DARE MIGHTY THINGS through many drafts, and fallen in love with all of these characters. (Even the ones I hate, I love. It's crippling.) She has a great voice, strong character arcs, and awesome suspense--but my favorite part about Cassie's story is how hard she works for what she wants. Cassie is an Indian-American intern at NASA when her boss recommends her to a classified space program. They've perfected pioneer space technology--with one small hitch: adult brains are too rigid to work with the spaceship's Artificial Intelligence. The best and brightest teens from around the country are competing for a single seat, and Cassie's determined to beat them all. Astronaut training is rigorous, but when the tests they undergo start to become deadly, Cassie realizes someone would rather see them dead than in space. This book is the love child of YA space opera and survivalist novels--astronaut boot camp is like army boot camp in anti-gravity. There's a great slow-burn romantic subplot that I love, because the characters are so authentically teenagers. Awkward and sweet and at times standoffish, but also with priorities beyond finding out if some guy thinks you're pretty. Cassie isn't going to let anyone get between her and the stars.Anyone who liked The Selection, Illuminae, or Cinder will find a million things to love about DARE MIGHTY THINGS. Futuristic tech and friendships, pioneer spaceships and conspiracy theories--it's everything I love in science fiction.
    more
  • Cookie
    March 16, 2016
    I saw "meets the Selection" and was like, oh god no not again, but then "instead of competing for a prince/kingdom, a brilliant Indian-American girl competes to win the last astronaut slot for an experimental mission into space" and all was right in the world again.
    more
  • Anna Priemaza
    March 16, 2016
    WHEN THIS BOOK COMES OUT YOU ALL NEED TO BUY IT IMMEDIATELY AND THEN READ READ READ UNTIL YOU ARE DONE BECAUSE AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS BOOK I COULD WRITE THIS WHOLE REVIEW IN ALL CAPS. I won't. BUT I WANT TO!!!I have been so desperate to read this book, and it did not disappoint! Astronauts! Space! Brilliant, ambitious teen girls! Competition! Diversity! Top secret missions! Friendship! Sabotage! Space! Astronauts! Space!It was everything I wanted it to be, and now I'm be WHEN THIS BOOK COMES OUT YOU ALL NEED TO BUY IT IMMEDIATELY AND THEN READ READ READ UNTIL YOU ARE DONE BECAUSE AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT THIS BOOK I COULD WRITE THIS WHOLE REVIEW IN ALL CAPS. I won't. BUT I WANT TO!!!I have been so desperate to read this book, and it did not disappoint! Astronauts! Space! Brilliant, ambitious teen girls! Competition! Diversity! Top secret missions! Friendship! Sabotage! Space! Astronauts! Space!It was everything I wanted it to be, and now I'm beyond desperate to read book 2! TIME GO FASTER, PLEASE!!!
    more
  • Lauren James
    March 25, 2017
    Asexual half-Indian protagonist, training montages fit to bursting and SPACE. What more could you want?
  • Katelyn Larson
    October 19, 2016
    Do you like space? Do you like brilliant, driven teens? Do you like twists and complex choices and hard-won friendships? Because if you do, you need to read DARE MIGHTY THINGS the moment you can get your hands on it. This book had me up late into the night, hastily flipping pages, wondering where the twists would take me, guessing at the decisions Cassie had to make. I loved every moment of it. And this cast of teens, my goodness, they are wonderful. Every single one is multi-faceted and intelli Do you like space? Do you like brilliant, driven teens? Do you like twists and complex choices and hard-won friendships? Because if you do, you need to read DARE MIGHTY THINGS the moment you can get your hands on it. This book had me up late into the night, hastily flipping pages, wondering where the twists would take me, guessing at the decisions Cassie had to make. I loved every moment of it. And this cast of teens, my goodness, they are wonderful. Every single one is multi-faceted and intelligent and striving for their own greatness. They are simultaneously allies and enemies and every moment is all the more intense thanks to those complexities. This book was different in all the right ways. The competition at the core of the story isn't about falling in love or killing your opponents. It's a competition won with cunning and determination and brains, not brawn. In short, DARE MIGHTY THINGS was a delight. Thank goodness there will be a Book 2, because I would read about Cassie forever. And then some.
    more
  • Tez
    January 21, 2017
    21st January 2017: Reason for adding to wishlist: "to win the last astronaut slot for an experimental mission into space." Astronaut! Space! Yay! :-)
Write a review