Here Lies Daniel Tate
A young, street-savvy runaway looking for a place to call home realized he might have conned his way into the wrong family in this fast-paced and thrilling novel from award-winning author Cristin Terrill.When ten-year-old Daniel Tate went missing from one of California's most elite communities, he left no trace. He simply vanished.Six years later, when he resurfaces on a snowy street in Vancouver, he's no longer the same boy. His sandy hair is darker, the freckles are gone, and he's initially too traumatized to speak, but he's alive. His overjoyed family brings him home to a world of luxury and comfort he can barely remember. In time, they assure him, he'll recover his memories; all that matters now is they're together again. It's perfect. A miracle. Except for one thing.He isn't Daniel Tate.He's a petty con artist who accidentally stumbled into the scam of a lifetime, and he soon learns he's not the only one in the Tate household with something to hide. The family has as many secrets as they have millions in the bank, and one of them might be ready to kill to keep the worst one buried.

Here Lies Daniel Tate Details

TitleHere Lies Daniel Tate
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster
ISBN1481480782
ISBN-139781481480789
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Crime, Young Adult Contemporary, Fiction

Here Lies Daniel Tate Review

  • Sana
    March 10, 2016
    A NEW CRISTIN TERRILL BOOK. FUCKING FINALLY.
  • Carina Olsen
    March 7, 2017
    So thrilled to have finally gotten to read another book by Cristin. Eee. I have been waiting years for the chance to read another story by her. And oh gosh, this one was all kinds of amazing, and so worth the wait. I enjoyed this book so much. The writing is all kinds of gorgeous. And the story was so incredible. Loved it so.I'm unsure how to describe this book without giving spoilers. But I shall try my best. It really was a stunning book. I enjoyed every single moment of it. I only wish it had So thrilled to have finally gotten to read another book by Cristin. Eee. I have been waiting years for the chance to read another story by her. And oh gosh, this one was all kinds of amazing, and so worth the wait. I enjoyed this book so much. The writing is all kinds of gorgeous. And the story was so incredible. Loved it so.I'm unsure how to describe this book without giving spoilers. But I shall try my best. It really was a stunning book. I enjoyed every single moment of it. I only wish it had been even longer. I wish it hadn't ended. But yeah, I really enjoyed the plot in this one. It's exciting and heartbreaking and full of surprises. I enjoyed it tons.I'm giving this book four stars, though, but only because I had some issues with the ending, and because I wanted there to be more romance, haha, and because I felt like there could have been a bit more action in this. But that is the only parts about it that I did not like. The rest of the book I loved like crazy. Sigh. This book was just all kinds of amazing and I'm so glad that I read it. The writing is just awesome. And the characters were amazing to read about. While my favorite character was the main boy, I liked reading about the others, though I didn't love them the same way. This book is mostly about the boy. And I loved that so much. I just wish I had gotten to know more details about him. Hmph. There is so much missing. I needed more.Here Lies Daniel Tate tells the story about a boy. He is somewhere above eighteen years old. And he is homeless. Without family and friends. He finally left his home at sixteen, and he hasn't been back since. He stays alive by conning people, tricking them into thinking he's fifteen or sixteen years old and have been hurt, so that he will be able to sleep in a bed at night. While that was pretty rude of him, I did not blame him one bit. I wanted this boy to have it good, to be able to rest. I just loved reading about him.But then one day when he's trying to get a place to stay, he says he's a boy that's been missing for six years, Daniel Tate. And gosh, things go wrong for this boy from that moment. Because the police believes him. Daniel Tate's family believes him. They believe that he is their missing sibling come back from being kidnapped. And ahh, this was such an interesting plot twist. Horrible at times. Yet so so interesting and I was so curious about how it would all work out. It was beyond exciting to read about. I was so nervous.Because this unknown boy is lying. And he is lying so much that it was a bit hard sometimes to know the truth. Yet I loved it so. And I loved this boy beyond words. Only calling him that, because we do not know his real name. Aw. I wanted to know more about him so badly. I wanted to know if something in his past really happened, or if he made it up. Bothers me a bit. I must know. But either way, reading about this boy was the best thing. I loved learning more about him. I loved how he had a heart too, and how he cared.This boy have not known love. He hasn't had a family. And so when he goes to the Tate's, pretending to be their kidnapped boy, he finally finds a home. He learns to love them all. And to know how it feels to be loved back. And oh, it broke my heart a bit. Especially when the plot starts getting more twisted. When the boy starts to find out what happened to the real Daniel Tate. And that someone else knows too. And ahh. It was all just pretty nerve wracking. While not much happened, it was still so exciting and I loved it.There is so much happening in this book. The boy has to figure out what to say to the police, and to the family he's now in. He has to decide what to share about how he was kidnapped, and what happened to him. It was pretty awful. And I loved every moment of it. I loved how he started to care for them, despite lying to them. This boy is not heartless. He shouldn't have lied, yes, but I can't blame him for it either. I just wanted him to be happy. Sigh. And I really enjoyed reading about him having a good life, for a time.There are some pretty awesome characters in this book. The boy meets a girl, Ren. And I liked her a lot. Sadly, she's not really a big part of the story, aw. But she's there. And she's pretty sweet. I wish that the romance had been bigger. But I loved that it was small too. Then there is the whole Tate family. I liked the little sister, Mia. She was adorable. I loved her relationship with the boy so much. The youngest brother, Nicholas, was pretty awesome too. I adored his story. Got a bit upset with him, but I loved him. So much.Then there was the mom, Jessica. I didn't like her much at all, sadly, and that was how I was supposed to feel, I'm sure. Was curious about her, though. There was also the oldest brother, Patrick. I liked him most of the time. He seemed like a good older brother. And then the older sister, Lex. She was a bit too much at times, yet such a sweet sister as well. I'm conflicted about her. She was a bit overprotective, yet I did like that too. I loved how much the boy grew to care for her, and care for all the others too, aw. I loved it.I just really enjoyed this. Here Lies Daniel Tate is an amazing story about love and loss. About friendships and family. There is also a big mystery, which was all kinds of exciting and evil. I loved figuring it all out. Some things I saw coming a little bit, but most of it were a surprise as well; I enjoyed that a whole bunch. Thank you so much to the sweetest person for letting me read this eARC early. I must get the print one too. I cannot wait to read this book again. I loved it. It's so good. I really think you should all read this one.---This review was first posted on my blog, Carina's Books, here: http://carinabooks.blogspot.no/2017/0...
    more
  • novels past midnight
    November 23, 2016
    I got this book as an ARC from YALLFest. I will be honest, a lot of the books I pick out are because the cover caught my eye, if I don't like the cover, it can be hard for me to try to get into it. My copy of this book still had the "Cover to be Revealed" page on it. All of the other ARCs I had received had lovely designs and fonts on the cover. It wasn't exactly the book I was most excited to read. What really made me pick up this book before all of the other ones I had gotten is the fact that I got this book as an ARC from YALLFest. I will be honest, a lot of the books I pick out are because the cover caught my eye, if I don't like the cover, it can be hard for me to try to get into it. My copy of this book still had the "Cover to be Revealed" page on it. All of the other ARCs I had received had lovely designs and fonts on the cover. It wasn't exactly the book I was most excited to read. What really made me pick up this book before all of the other ones I had gotten is the fact that it's a thriller. There such a shortage of good YA crime, the only other book I have enjoyed in that category is "The Darkest Corners" by Kara Thomas. I have been in quite a large reading slump for the past year, I wanted something fast paced and unpredictable to get me back into my normal reading routine. This book did just that. I think I may have liked this book a little less if I hadn't have had the ARC. My copy had no synopsis or clue to the plot besides the word "thriller," which actually made the reading experience so much better. I had no idea what I was getting into. The story was so well written, the narration was not annoying or repetitive, as it can be in some other YA books. The author does a great job at the unreliable narrator. I found myself gasping out loud at some of the plot twists. I highly recommend you pick this up and give it a read.
    more
  • Veronika
    March 12, 2016
    After all these years a new novel by Cristin Terrill that sounds exactly like my kind of book!! MORE THAN A YEAR UNTIL THE RELEASE DATE?? *calming breath* We'll just have to wait for it patiently, we bookworms have a lot of experience with that, right?
    more
  • Mari Yeung
    June 2, 2016
    OH MY GOOOOOOOODDDDDD!!!I will read everything that this woman writes.Sadly, I really don't like that cover T.T
  • Sarah *on hiatus*
    April 14, 2016
    ALERT, ALERT: NEW BOOK BY THE ONE AND ONLY CRISTIN TERRILL. Am I dreaming? I was just about to go read her novella and then cry in a corner because she doesn't have any other books out (All our yesterdays rocked my world) and then I see this. Best surprise ever.SOON YOU WILL BE MINE.
    more
  • Brittany (The Book Addict's Guide)
    April 6, 2016
    Dude. I NEED IT.
  • Ariana
    January 26, 2017
    I need this like air!Is it summer yet? Come on June, I need you here already!
  • Lindsey
    January 5, 2017
    I received an early copy of this book, and I have to say, it was TENSE. I spent the entire book trying to out think the narrator (unsuccessfully). Pacing was amazing, the character voice was crazy-good, and the twists and surprises made this book fly by.I don't read a lot of YA thrillers, and this one set an incredibly high standard for any other thriller I read. I can't recommend this enough!
    more
  • Cintimon
    October 17, 2016
    HOLY SMOKES, I AM SO READY. I WANT THIS BOOK ARGH.
  • Rosiee
    February 19, 2017
    WOW. Read this in one sitting, which doesn't happen to me very often! It's fast paced, twisty and turny in ways you won't expect, with an unreliable narrator to tie it all together. An excellent new book from Cristin Terrill, and a must-read for any crime genre fans!
    more
  • alexis
    May 21, 2016
    I NEED THIS IN LIFE PLEASE GIVE IT TO ME. ALL OUR YESTERDAYS IS MY LIFETIME BOOK AND IT RUINS ME UP UNTIL NOW. I AM HURT AND CONTENT AND HURT AND ACCEPT AND HURT OVER AND OVER AGAIN.Reading Christin Terrill's writing is like having your brain explodes from the mindblown ideas and yourself drown in fucking ocean of feelings at the same times. So yeah, it feels like freaking Tsunami.
    more
  • Kira Simion
    November 26, 2016
    THIS SOUNDS AMAZING! Gimme!
  • Minho'NunSevdice─či
    August 12, 2016
    I want this. So. Bad.
  • Kaitlyn
    March 12, 2017
    I'm interested but it sounds exactly like the documentary The Imposter :/
Write a review