The King's Traitor (Kingfountain, #3)
Against all odds, Owen Kiskaddon grew from frightened boy to confident youth to trusted officer in the court of Kingfountain—and watched its regent, Severn Argentine, grow ever more ruthless and power-mad. Robbed of his beloved protector, his noble mentor, and his true love, Owen has anticipated the day when the king he fears and reviles, yet loyally serves, will be toppled. Now, as Severn plots a campaign of conquest, the time has come to take action…and Owen’s destiny demands that he lead the strike.Ordered to incite war with a neighboring kingdom, Owen discovers its beautiful, reclusive ruler, whose powerful magic might even exceed his own. Together they mount a daring plot to overthrow the corrupt monarch, crown the rightful heir, and defeat the prophesied curse threatening Kingfountain with wintry death. But Severn’s evil is as bottomless as the fabled Deep Fathoms. To keep his ill-gotten throne, he’ll gladly spill the blood of enemies and innocents alike.

The King's Traitor (Kingfountain, #3) Details

TitleThe King's Traitor (Kingfountain, #3)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseSep 6th, 2016
Publisher47North
ISBN1503937720
ISBN-139781503937727
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fiction, Magic

The King's Traitor (Kingfountain, #3) Review

  • Dannii Elle
    September 13, 2016
    I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Jeff Wheeler, and the publisher, 47North, for this opportunity.This is the third and final installment in the Kingfountain fantasy series and, in my opinion, is by far the greatest! This is a series that has continued to go from strength to strength as it has progressed and I am so sad that my journey with it has come to a close!All three books have been told from the perspective of Owen Kiskaddon, who has I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Jeff Wheeler, and the publisher, 47North, for this opportunity.This is the third and final installment in the Kingfountain fantasy series and, in my opinion, is by far the greatest! This is a series that has continued to go from strength to strength as it has progressed and I am so sad that my journey with it has come to a close!All three books have been told from the perspective of Owen Kiskaddon, who has transformed from the frightened seven-year-old of the first installment and the feared and cunning warrior of the second, to both having been replaced by the contemplative, honoured and hardened individual of the third. Owen is now twenty-four and wise to the politics of the crown. His involvement with these are more direct than ever before, and we see both political and personal demons haunt his moves and motives throughout this.Other beloved characters made a reappearance, alongside many new faces that were just as quick to claim my heart. Wheeler truly knows how to create a cast of real and emotive characters.I love the historical and mythological influences that shone throughout this series, especially in this book. The references to Sir Arthur and The Lady of the Lake made this a thrilling read and had me attempting to second-guess the characters' motives and outcomes. Unsuccessfully every time, of course.The reoccurance of historical themes and political actions is something that has permeated all three books. It is also something that can be likened to our own world's history, which heightened the reality of the characters' predicaments, if not their fantastical setting.This did not conclude neatly, but authentically. However, all the characters that have been on this series' journey got the ending I believed they so aptly deserved. This felt honest and real as there was no neat packaging away of the plot, but a conclusion that allowed for the series to close, but the reality of it to remain.
    more
  • Aristea
    December 17, 2016
    This was a great ending to a King Arthur (and Little Mermaid) retelling.I genuinely think this is a series that might appeal more to women than men, it is a greatly told story of trust and mistrust, of justice and fairness. I was just so enchanted by the series and I just loved the magic system - which I do not think it is based on anything I have read so far. The book just left me with happy, a fantasy story with a very positive approach. There is death but I believe it can be coped with. The w This was a great ending to a King Arthur (and Little Mermaid) retelling.I genuinely think this is a series that might appeal more to women than men, it is a greatly told story of trust and mistrust, of justice and fairness. I was just so enchanted by the series and I just loved the magic system - which I do not think it is based on anything I have read so far. The book just left me with happy, a fantasy story with a very positive approach. There is death but I believe it can be coped with. The writing style is also something I have greatly appreciated. I would almost say that this is a series that can be approached at any age, a delightful story that will leave you smiling!
    more
  • Laure
    December 18, 2016
    An enjoyable read but far too predictable. It had the premise for a great story but fell flat for me: the fact that it was fairly predictable to guess what was going to happen did the book a big disservice. There was so much potential in there for greater characterisation. A bit humdrum in the end.
    more
  • Rysa Walker
    August 22, 2016
    I was lucky enough to get an advance copy of this from NetGalley. The King's Traitor is a fabulous ending for the Kingfountain series. I listened to the first two books on Audible -- Jeff Wheeler and Kate Rudd are an unbeatable combo--but was so eager to find out how the series wrapped up that I couldn't wait for the audio this time. Very strong recommend!!!
    more
  • Heather
    September 14, 2016
    Probably 4 - 4.5 stars but extra star for characters making good choices so I don't have to throw my Kindle across the room AND because in the author's notes he mentions Richard Armitage as a casting choice should the series ever be filmed. ;)
  • Lori
    December 30, 2016
    Thoroughly enjoyable light fantasy series.
  • Brett
    September 11, 2016
    First, I applaud the author for writing a fantasy story that deals with meaty human moral dilemmas without resorting to explicit scenes and language. There is a lot to be said (and thought about) in this series about loyalty and ethics.I thoroughly enjoyed the first two in the series, which married War of the Roses history with an interesting magic tradition steeped in history. Throw in some interesting self-centered characters and pragmatic betrayals, and it was a winning formula. Some of the w First, I applaud the author for writing a fantasy story that deals with meaty human moral dilemmas without resorting to explicit scenes and language. There is a lot to be said (and thought about) in this series about loyalty and ethics.I thoroughly enjoyed the first two in the series, which married War of the Roses history with an interesting magic tradition steeped in history. Throw in some interesting self-centered characters and pragmatic betrayals, and it was a winning formula. Some of the writing was uneven, but the plot was never predictable and the characters enjoyable.The third in the series was more of the same, but the final third of the novel let me down. In what seems to be an apparent effort to really make the conclusion epic, too much happens. Several of these surprising events of the book came out of nowhere and it were not convincing.I ended up disappointed mostly because of how involved I was. It is not a bad book, it's a good book with a bad ending. I'd hoped for better. I do recommend that you read it because I think there are unique (or at least uncommon) elements in here that are worth having. I also think the errors are correctable Mr. Wheeler continues to evolve as an author.Here are a few of my objections. These contain some spoilers, so don't click this unless you have read it.(view spoiler)[For those that have read it, here are a few beefs. First, the Wizr board was sort of interesting as a way to show what is happening. Given the idea that history was repeating itself, it sort of made sense, though I'm not sure what it added to the story. It didn't make sense that its curse didn't operate if it was moved to another location, but... ok. If that was true, why did Ownen move it back to where the curse would take effect? It wasn't clear. Then, Severn starts using the Wizr board to affect reality, rather than having the board reflect reality. This didn't fit or make sense. If the board had had that power, then why was it not used as such before? Owen's relationship with Sinia is not carried off well primarily because her abilities are unclear, and her views on the future poorly explained. I was left confused often.Why is everyone determined to write letters that clearly identify them as traitors -- and then sign their names to them?? From the moment Severn finds out Owen has not been fully loyal the book unravels rapidly, weakening some good concluding ideas (Owen being faithful to Sinia despite its difficulty, etc.)I was left unconvinced by Severn's handling at the end. The author went to quite a bit of effort to show (quite convincingly) that the previously misunderstood monarch had become what people thought he was, cruel, and selfish -- willing to risk all his people. But at the end he changes? (hide spoiler)]A cardinal rule about fantasy: if you use, magic, be consistent. If you suddenly start to use previously-unhinted-at capabilities as a crutch for your plot, it feels fake. Yes, I know fantasy is fake. But it needs to remain true to how it has been set up--not used as a Deus Ex Machina when you need to resolve a plot point. I thought the first two books did a pretty good job of avoiding this pitfall.Characters also need to be the same way. If they have a change of heart, that change needs to come via experiences that have changed them. It shouldn't feel random.
    more
  • Sean
    October 6, 2016
    Received from Netgalley for honest review,thanks to author.This is 3rd in series of books about Owen Kiskaddon and his life from young boy in too far and growing into a fine Nobleman.Brilliant story,which was well written throughout the series and was a joy to read.Basically a coming of age saga,but really good,well thought out an thoroughly enjoyable.Great series ,I recommend you give it a go.
    more
  • Denae Christine
    September 14, 2016
    Reader thoughts: I love it when a series ends well! And Kingfountain certainly ended well. I'll say what I can without giving too much away. Ahem.The overall plot. This ended well because it wasn't just armies fighting and the bigger army wins. No. It was magic (can we move the chess pieces?) and strategy (is the king lying to his messengers?) and sneaking (who's hiding in the snow bank?) and allies (will the commoners follow a tyrant?) and prophecy (why is it still snowing?) and performance (wh Reader thoughts: I love it when a series ends well! And Kingfountain certainly ended well. I'll say what I can without giving too much away. Ahem.The overall plot. This ended well because it wasn't just armies fighting and the bigger army wins. No. It was magic (can we move the chess pieces?) and strategy (is the king lying to his messengers?) and sneaking (who's hiding in the snow bank?) and allies (will the commoners follow a tyrant?) and prophecy (why is it still snowing?) and performance (when will he draw the sword from the fountain?). This was their plan to defeat the bad guy and win the entire kingdom to their side.Owen and the king. These two were never friends, but there was an understanding between them, despite the rift. The rift grew worse (especially with how Severn sold Evie in book 2). Lies and treason poisoned their relationship. I love that Owen tried so hard to not kill the king. The two did not sit and hack at each other until one died of blood loss. They fought with their strengths, with words and allies and magic. The end (who went where) fit perfectly.The poisoner. She loved Owen, or thought she did. What was he supposed to say to convince her he didn't see her the same way? He handled this with grace and maturity. I am satisfied with where the story took her, and I liked to see the ways she learned from Owen. He's not the only one who gets to be a hero.Owen and Evie. He wouldn't let go of her, but she had moved on. She wanted to be friends, but he couldn't let himself for fear it would lead to stealing her from her husband. I love that he was self-aware enough to draw boundaries with Evie. The end was beautiful, too, with his dilemma and Senia not being who she claimed.Owen and power. This might seem like a strange category. What does Owen want with power? Of course he's not going to try and hold onto it. Right? Well, I doubted him. Wheeler wrote the book well enough that I, as a reader, suspected Owen of trying to take/keep/steal the crown and throne. I was worried, and that shows that it was a well-done concern/conflict.I was surprised at several points, especially with how poorly some of the good guys' plans went. I was not sure whom to trust, and I simultaneously wanted Owen to trust everyone and be extra paranoid. This was a good balance for a reader, since it never let me get bored.I loved the conflicts and resolutions on all sides. This book had abundant problems in many varieties. We had prophecies, magic weather, lies, betrayal, poison, magic swords, broken hearts, magic travel, invisibility, eavesdropping, and just trying to keep an entire kingdom safe from its own king.Some people died, which was sad, but it all fit just right. I love what happened with Drew's mother, although I should be horrified.Writer thoughts: How in the world did JW manage to tell this complex of a story from basically only one pov? I noticed at least two strategies.1, the more basic one is the chapter intros. Those come from journals or notes from other characters, giving readers a glimpse of the rest of the world and letting JW foreshadow and drive up tension.2, the harder bit to pull off is making Owen a centerpiece to the plot. He was the hub (sandwiched between the king and the heir). Because of this, all the information came to Owen just when readers needed it. Owen knew what the king was doing, what the duchess was planning, when Evie was coming, and where the heir was hiding. Owen made most of the plans himself and, as head espion, he knew of most plans he did not make. I was impressed that this never felt contrived or forced.
    more
  • Nadine
    January 2, 2017
    4.5/5Great conclusion to a new favourite series of mine! Back then, I picked up "The Queen's Poisoner" on a whim due to its beautiful cover and fell in love with the writing style and the characters.In this third book of the series, we follow the now 24-year-old Owen Kiskaddon who has become an important Lord at court. He is now master of the Espion and enjoys the king's trust. However, he wants to overthrow the king due to his tempers and untolerable decisions. At the beginning of this book, Ow 4.5/5Great conclusion to a new favourite series of mine! Back then, I picked up "The Queen's Poisoner" on a whim due to its beautiful cover and fell in love with the writing style and the characters.In this third book of the series, we follow the now 24-year-old Owen Kiskaddon who has become an important Lord at court. He is now master of the Espion and enjoys the king's trust. However, he wants to overthrow the king due to his tempers and untolerable decisions. At the beginning of this book, Owen is still caught up in his feelings for his first love Evie, who is now happily married to a king from a neighbouring kingdom. He then gets the order from the king to propose to a Duchess whose lands the king wants to conquer and even though he makes a really bad first impression, she seems to fall for him. Owen learns that she is a powerful wizard and can help him fight the king to enthrone the rightful king. I really enjoyed the dynamic between Owen and the duchess Sinia and loved that they are eventually together, despite the emerging possibility for Owen to find happiness with his first love, Evie. Another enjoyable addition to this book were Genevieve, Evie's daughter, and Drew, the prophesied rightful king. They reminded me so much of Owen and Evie in the first book, which was absolutely adorable. Overall, I really liked the conclusion to this series and I am really happy that we get another book that takes place in this world!
    more
  • Rick Fisher
    November 22, 2016
    Perfect conclusion to an extraordinarily well written series. I applaud Mr. Wheeler for the three stellar novels making up the Kingfountain trilogy. And, for creating so many memorable characters.
  • Stacey Fain
    March 2, 2017
    4.5 stars. Thoroughly enjoyable fantasy world with a fast pace and enough intrigue to keep me hooked (although the foreshadowing was a bit heavy handed at times for my tastes). I enjoyed the magic of the realm as well as the occasionally surprising character development. This trilogy was a fun read.
    more
  • Dionne
    January 10, 2017
    I wish I could summon proper words for this series but I really can't. I have never been more invested in a main character, honestly. And I usually don't care much for politics in books but holy crap this was written so well and intriguing and fjfhtkss EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS SERIES IS SO GOOD AND I JUST NEED THE NEXT THREE BOOKS NOW.Also yes Richard Armitage as Severn please
    more
  • Catherine Conley
    February 1, 2017
    I was hooked on this series from the first book (The Queen's Poisoner) and read all three in quick succession. Like its predecessors, this one did not disappoint. This one has an even stronger Arthurian influence, and Jeff Wheeler's treatment of the legend is smooth and engaging which makes the story both familiar and new at the same time. The only disappointment is that the next one does not come out til June.
    more
  • Tina
    March 27, 2017
    If you like magic, lords, ladies and kings on the battlefield- you'll enjoy this story. This is clean, no bad language or scenes and very well written. The story has treacherous deeds, love lost, and binding loyal friendships.
  • The Captain
    December 9, 2016
    Ahoy me mateys! Grab your grog! Though the first mate and I have very different reading tastes, occasionally we do overlap in our reading choices. When I found out he had read this series, I commandeered his reviews! So you get one from me and a bonus additional review from me crew. Please note that I write like I talk and the first mate writes like he thinks. Hope ye enjoy!From The Captain:This novel is the third in Kingfountain series. A third stunning cover. Seriously, the cover designs are j Ahoy me mateys! Grab your grog! Though the first mate and I have very different reading tastes, occasionally we do overlap in our reading choices. When I found out he had read this series, I commandeered his reviews! So you get one from me and a bonus additional review from me crew. Please note that I write like I talk and the first mate writes like he thinks. Hope ye enjoy!From The Captain:This novel is the third in Kingfountain series. A third stunning cover. Seriously, the cover designs are just wonderful. Unfortunately for me, this book was the weakest of the lot. To be fair, the reading was still highly enjoyable and fast paced but did not float me boat as much as the other two did.Basically, this novel had what to me were gaping plot holes. Our bad king does not get what he deserves. For all of the strong women in the series, one of the female characters in this book has an ending that is a travesty to all women ever in her situation. The ending had a rather bad deus ex machina feeling where the individual character choices up to that point were almost inconsequential. Mostly the feeling was just “huh?”Now this could be due to the fact that I found out this trilogy in fact continues through the next generation of children. So perhaps it is just the future set up for the remainder of the series. But as this was, for me Owen’s trilogy, the ending was lackluster and a little annoying.Basically finished this series with the ending of Owen’s story and will not continue any further. But I do not regret reading these novels and they were quick and fast-paced one day reads. Despite the plot failings, I do actually like a lot of the author’s writing style and would be interested to read the first book of his Muirwood series. I will have to see if any of me fellow bloggers have opinions of that one. So I consider this 3 Bells installment a success!x The CaptainFrom The First Mate:It was with a certain amount of trepidation that I started reading “The King’s Traitor” in that Wheeler had made it perfectly clear where he intended to take the story and also that he lacked the plotting abilities to take the story there in a realistic manner. The question, therefore, would there be enough entertaining non-central elements to keep my interest as we made the all-but-certain-to-be-bumpy path to the conclusion? Alas, no.For the third time we have Owen run into an age-appropriate woman who falls madly in love with him, regardless of his objections. For the third time, Owen’s opponents fall into his plans as though reality itself were warping to meet his needs. Our Richard III analogue devolves from character to caricature; at one point, the method by which he chooses to dispatch someone has more in common with a plan by Dr. Evil of the Austin Powers films than with any actual attempt at killing someone. Baddies from the past pop up, but they are dealt with so quickly and so far removed from the central conflict as to offer up practically no menace.My central complaint of the first book was that Wheeler had a specific plot that he wanted to take the story in and he was going to tell that particular story whether it logically fit or not. Unfortunately the second and third novels showed that he did not see such a choice to be problematic. Indeed, the resolution of the conflicts in the third novel occurs almost entirely without logic. The fate of our Richard III analogue is utterly baffling. And the final scene lead this poor unfortunate soul to groan, “he’s gonna ruin that legend too?”“The King’s Traitor” is the only novel of this series that I can say that I actually disliked. I had quibbles with plot elements of “The Queen’s Poisoner,” but loved many of the characters and overall very much enjoyed reading it. “The Thief’s Daughter” was a weaker book but still had much to recommend about it. This one? Well, I’m not sorry I read it, but Wheeler and I shall part ways here.This review was originally posted at https://thecaptainsquartersblog.wordp...
    more
  • Katherine Hayes
    October 5, 2016
    Interesting conceptThe book flowed nicely. I think young teens would enjoy the adventures and the fantasy of it. Slightly predictable ending.
  • Marie
    September 30, 2016
    Oh wow!!I have been entranced by this trilogy..and I paced myself..which I rarely do, because I wanted to savor it.. Which was very difficult because it is so good!!! This series is a must read! You can always trust Jeff Wheeler for a great and riveting story and you never have to worry about what your teenager looking over your shoulder will see.....the only thing you need to worry about is that the aforementioned teenager..or other family member will steal the book away before you are through Oh wow!!I have been entranced by this trilogy..and I paced myself..which I rarely do, because I wanted to savor it.. Which was very difficult because it is so good!!! This series is a must read! You can always trust Jeff Wheeler for a great and riveting story and you never have to worry about what your teenager looking over your shoulder will see.....the only thing you need to worry about is that the aforementioned teenager..or other family member will steal the book away before you are through reading it!
    more
  • julia ☆ [owls reads]
    August 17, 2016
    4.5 stars!* I grow weary of secrets. The King’s Traitor was a lot darker than the two previous books. And it also became my favorite of the series.The King’s Traitor picked up seven years after The Thief's Daughter ended, making Owen now 24 years old. He was a lot different than the teenager we left behind in the previous installment. Here, he was weary and dissatisfied, and that gave the tone to the story. This book felt a lot less like YA and a lot more like Fantasy.The narrative was heavy a 4.5 stars!* I grow weary of secrets. The King’s Traitor was a lot darker than the two previous books. And it also became my favorite of the series.The King’s Traitor picked up seven years after The Thief's Daughter ended, making Owen now 24 years old. He was a lot different than the teenager we left behind in the previous installment. Here, he was weary and dissatisfied, and that gave the tone to the story. This book felt a lot less like YA and a lot more like Fantasy.The narrative was heavy at times, both because of all the secrets and schemes taking place, but also because Owen himself felt like he was carrying the world on his shoulders. The writing was still great, making me feel alongside all of these characters, and keeping me turning page after page. It was a wild ride for sure, trying to keep up with all of the ups and down and revelations, but it was also just as fun.I loved that we got to learn more about Fountain magic and got more world-building, and found out more about the Wizr set. That was one of my favorite thing in this series, and having the author expand on that was wonderful. Especially when that came with the introduction of some pretty amazing characters to boot, that helped move the story along. The King’s Traitor also had a little more touch of romance than the previous books. It was not what I was expecting at all, and while I was surprised, I actually like the way it was developed. It was a very bittersweet kind of slow build, but the resolution made up for all the sad parts in between.And the ending was almost everything I wanted it to be. I was happy with most of the outcomes of everything that happened, but others seemed very much like loose ends to me (Severn, and the entire last passage of the book). I don’t know if the author plans on dipping his toes into this universe again, but it seems like there are still things he could work with in this story.Aside from that minor thing, this was a lovely read! I was caught by surprised, reduced almost to tears, and smiled while reading this. Fantasy fans should definitely give this series a chance, for its layered characters, great plot, and unique magical aspects.*Review of The Queen's Poisoner • Review of The Thief's Daughter.Series: #3 in the Kingfountain series.POV: Told from Owen’s POV.Content Warnings: (view spoiler)[None. (hide spoiler)]Cliffhanger: Yes.HEA: (view spoiler)[I’d say yes. (hide spoiler)]*ARC provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Austine (NovelKnight)
    October 24, 2016
    The story finally fits the writing and characters! Forgive me for getting a bit excited as the last two books in this series really did  nothing for me. I'm not sure what happened between those and The King's Traitor but I'm thankful for whatever it is because this book actually redeemed the series for me (to a degree).Yet again, the series jumps ahead several more years. Now that I've experienced this twice, first with The Thief's Daughter and now this book, I have to say that I'm really not a The story finally fits the writing and characters! Forgive me for getting a bit excited as the last two books in this series really did  nothing for me. I'm not sure what happened between those and The King's Traitor but I'm thankful for whatever it is because this book actually redeemed the series for me (to a degree).Yet again, the series jumps ahead several more years. Now that I've experienced this twice, first with The Thief's Daughter and now this book, I have to say that I'm really not a fan of it. Definitely prefer keeping within a year of a time lapse between books, just as a personal preference. In any case, we're bumped forward and Owen's spent the time in between books 2 and 3 hitting his dark and angsty teen years that apparently he skipped as an actual teen.I liked that he finally showed some serious character development as I didn't see it nearly as much between the first two books. It only took three books but Owen finally grew on me. Unfortunately I still didn't care enough about the other characters to be invested in their futures.As an end to a series, I expected The King's Traitor to pull out all the stops. This series is known to move quick and have a lot going on (usually too much, to be honest). This time around, I didn't feel overwhelmed with the subplots and the world. We're finally past the point of all the extensive world-building, which is still present but not the same looming presence as it was in the previous two installments.In fact, I was ready to put down that NONE of that "I'm going to throw ALL the stories at you" mentality appeared...until I got to the end. Sadly what could've been a strong series ending, epic as fantasy tends to be, turned into a jumbled mess of too much too fast. There were plotlines added in that I had no clue existed or saw no importance in.In terms of the series as a whole, I felt this was an appropriate ending for the books. The questions I was asking throughout received answers and, as a reader, I felt satisfied with this conclusion. Owen thankfully didn't take on a Chosen One role and avoided that cliche. He struggled, and I think that struggling made me like him as a character (finally).I would definitely say this was the best book of the series and if they had all been like this one I might have been more eager to read them out of interest instead of a commitment to the books from a completionist perspective. I'm not sure if I'll read anything else by this author as  The Queen's Poisoner and  The Thief's Daughter weigh against The King's Traitor fairly strongly but I do think that if you can get through the first two books, then you will enjoy the series as a whole by reading this third and final installment. A good ending to a grand-scale fantasy series.
    more
  • Paresh Jha
    August 1, 2016
    ** Full Disclosure: I received an advanced digital copy from NetGalley for an advanced honest review **The final books of trilogies I love always terrify me. I'm afraid to finally finish my time in the world and I'm also afraid the story will not live up to my expectations.Expectations are a funny thing in that way. "The King's Traitor" was not at all what I expected but I suppose Mr. Wheeler has made a habit of subverting my expectations since the heartbreaking conclusion of "The Thief's Daught ** Full Disclosure: I received an advanced digital copy from NetGalley for an advanced honest review **The final books of trilogies I love always terrify me. I'm afraid to finally finish my time in the world and I'm also afraid the story will not live up to my expectations.Expectations are a funny thing in that way. "The King's Traitor" was not at all what I expected but I suppose Mr. Wheeler has made a habit of subverting my expectations since the heartbreaking conclusion of "The Thief's Daughter."Let me be clear, "The King's Traitor" is exhilarating, tense, joyful, gut-wrenching, beautiful, unexpected, and maddening all at the same time. It is everything I look for in a story and then some. Mr. Wheeler has created characters that are multi-dimensional and interesting without overwhelming the reader. Owen, now a 24-year-old world weary soldier, continues to be a stand-out protagonist. As a reader you find yourself feeling everything he's feeling (trust me I don't think I've ever been as physically anxious while reading book as I have during this one).Each book of the trilogy has been tonally different and I truly appreciate that. It never feels like more of the same and I think it comes from Mr. Wheeler's brilliant decision to jump years ahead in each book so that we are witnessing different life-defining chapters in each character's development. One theme is clear across all of Mr. Wheeler's work. People do change. The decisions they make have consequences and those consequences are explored so beautifully in this book. Needless to say...I'm a huge fan. So I encourage anyone and everyone to get onboard with this trilogy as soon as possible. You won't be disappointed.
    more
  • LOURDES (ChaptersWeLove)
    February 9, 2017
    My HEART IS BROKEN!
  • Gina Basham
    September 25, 2016
    Loved the endingI am so pleased with the ending and can say I came down on the side the author chose. I would have been disappointed had it not ended the way it did. I could clearly see the War of the Roses in the first book then watched it morph into the Arthurian legend. The legend was used and guided so much of the real history of that era that it provides a great stage for fantasy mixed with history. I will enjoy reading more and can highly recommend. Gbash
    more
  • Michel
    November 4, 2016
    So satisfying!! And it's not the end?!!!! Some things did not go the way I expected. I felt some disappointments, frustrations and pettiness. Yes...pettiness! (Those who've pined for love will agree). But in the end it wrapped up beautifully. What good writing where a reader heavily invested in a certain fairy tale ending still enjoys the unexpected!Full Review on Wide-Eyed Book Reviews
    more
  • Debbie Anderson
    September 17, 2016
    Another wonderful storyMr. Wheeler has a wonderful style of writing. His writing style is easy to read and follow the story. I've read this series and all the books are wonderfully written. Thank you, can't wait for more.
  • Krista
    November 8, 2016
    EnticingThis series continues to make my heart squirm. The tale and thought process into making this book as magical as it was baffles me. I would recommend to anyone who likes medieval fantasy.
  • Dee/ bookworm
    August 11, 2016
    Jeff Wheeler is an exceptional story teller. There is always something unique and beautiful about is writing and this in no exception.
  • T.
    November 6, 2016
    Awesome series! I didn't want this to end! Such great story telling! I'm looking forward to the next book in this series'
  • Alasse
    December 6, 2016
    Would have given this book four stars before I read in the author's notes that he would like Richard Armitage to play Severn. so, you know. Bonus.
  • Donna M Lafreniere
    September 17, 2016
    Great seriesKeeps you focused on good and evil and of course loveGood read and hope there will be more with thus realm
Write a review