Hate to Want You (Forbidden Hearts #1)
One night. No one will know.That was the deal. Every year, Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler would share one perfect night of illicit pleasure. The forbidden hours let them forget the tragedy that haunted their pasts-and the last names that made them enemies.Until the night she didn’t show up.Now Nicholas has an empire to run. He doesn’t have time for distractions and Livvy’s sudden reappearance in town is a major distraction. She’s the one woman he shouldn’t want…so why can’t he forget how right she feels in his bed?Livvy didn’t come home for Nicholas, but fate seems determined to remind her of his presence–and their past. Although the passion between them might have once run hot and deep, not even love can overcome the scandal that divided their families.Being together might be against all the rules…but being apart is impossible.

Hate to Want You (Forbidden Hearts #1) Details

TitleHate to Want You (Forbidden Hearts #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherAvon
ISBN0062566733
ISBN-139780062566737
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Adult, Contemporary Romance, Adult Fiction, Erotica

Hate to Want You (Forbidden Hearts #1) Review

  • Sue (Hollywood News Source)
    April 13, 2017
    Hate to Want You is on my top five favorite romance of this year. It’s so good, I’ve read it quite a few times. Tropes: childhood lovers, forbidden romance with a second chance touch. It follows the story of Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler who were a power couple back in the day. They both come from an intertwined affluent family, but a tragedy tore their relationship apart. Now, they’re public enemies. I love this so much. The back and forth pull between the main characters and chemistry is le Hate to Want You is on my top five favorite romance of this year. It’s so good, I’ve read it quite a few times. Tropes: childhood lovers, forbidden romance with a second chance touch. It follows the story of Livvy Kane and Nicholas Chandler who were a power couple back in the day. They both come from an intertwined affluent family, but a tragedy tore their relationship apart. Now, they’re public enemies. I love this so much. The back and forth pull between the main characters and chemistry is legendary. I was weak for it. One of the things, I didn’t expect is that Livvy has a depression, which makes the plot heavier. Just giving a caution to readers who want to avoid something triggering for them.In the same vein of Romeo and Juliet with a modern twist. This is the book you don’t want to miss. It’s very angsty. I would recommend it in a heartbeat. Full review to come.
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    June 17, 2017
    I don't think I've ever cried so hard reading a book except with Fast Connection by Megtino and you all know that is my favorite book ever. But now Hate to Want You has positioned itself on the top of my list. You all aren't ready to experience this book. What drew me in first was the hate to love trope. And obviously because it was an Alisha book and Alisha Rai writes romances with so much finesse and love and so very well done. If you read romance books and haven't picked up Alisha Rai, you ar I don't think I've ever cried so hard reading a book except with Fast Connection by Megtino and you all know that is my favorite book ever. But now Hate to Want You has positioned itself on the top of my list. You all aren't ready to experience this book. What drew me in first was the hate to love trope. And obviously because it was an Alisha book and Alisha Rai writes romances with so much finesse and love and so very well done. If you read romance books and haven't picked up Alisha Rai, you aren't doing it right.Apart from the hate to love, we have two people who have had a previous relationship when they were young. They were considered as the prince and princess of their respective households. It does have a sort of Romeo/Juliet dynamics (the two families hate each other when once upon a time they were close friends) and I loved it. You find out from the early beginning that they both stil have feelings for each other so it only goes up from there.There is so much story still there and I want a thousand more books. I'm so glad we are getting Jackson and Sadia's next because oh boy, that is going to be such a good ride. There are layers over layers of history of the Kanes and Chandlers that we don't know yet and I am so ready to find out more.
    more
  • nick
    March 26, 2017
    This was a sexy and emotional second chance romance with great character dynamics. This is only my first Alisha Rai book but you can bet your ass I'll be reading more from her. Her writing is super crack-worthy!RTC
  • Sarah
    March 24, 2017
    Bree (one half of the writing team that makes up Kit Rocha) blurbed this on Twitter as "like if Romeo & Juliet had emotional maturity and a happy ending" so of course now I have to read it!
  • cosmogirl7481
    May 10, 2017
    Well, damn. This is the best book I've read in a long time.The summary had me hooked, and of course, the super hot cover. Did you see that cover? JFC. Gorgeous.I love forbidden romance, and I'm an angst-whore from way back. And you've all seen my avi, and know that I really love glorious cock and delicious smut. And let me tell you, Alicia Rai delivers on every single thing I love about reading romance.Truly.I'm blown away by just how much I adored this book.Livvy and Nick have a past. A long, p Well, damn. This is the best book I've read in a long time.The summary had me hooked, and of course, the super hot cover. Did you see that cover? JFC. Gorgeous.I love forbidden romance, and I'm an angst-whore from way back. And you've all seen my avi, and know that I really love glorious cock and delicious smut. And let me tell you, Alicia Rai delivers on every single thing I love about reading romance.Truly.I'm blown away by just how much I adored this book.Livvy and Nick have a past. A long, painful, complicated past. But they can't seem to let each other go. I mean, that alone was enough to bait my interest. But what hooked me was the complete and utter connection I felt between these characters. From the first chapter.And let me just say, those first two chapters had enough sexual tension and energy to light up my house. And I have a big house. J/SNick was everything I love in a romantic hero. Broody and moody and downright miserable. I know, I love miserable men. It's weird. Don't judge me. But he was also swoony AF. And he would think and say these things that left me in a puddle of feels and seriously...he is legit one of my favorite heroes ever. EVER.And Livvy was such a great heroine. Layered and real and so beautifully developed. I fell in love with her tender heart she kept hidden under her prickly edges. And there's this scene in a bar where she will literally pwn your feminist soul. I adored her.You're gonna want to read this book.Seriously. Buy it the moment it comes out.I'm adding it to my favorites and forcing everyone I know to read it. Also, it's a series. And I'm here for the next book.5 big stars!Loved!Thank you to the publisher for providing an ARC.
    more
  • Maida
    May 23, 2017
    Five stars. I've read Alisha Rai's work before and her books have always been sexy, but this series, I believe, has the most depth. She expertly laid out Nico and Livvy's second-chance love amidst their shared complicated family history. This book would always score high for me due to the multicultural characters. That it delivered in the storytelling was a big bonus. I cried, I smiled, I blushed, I felt for all the characters. As a writer of multicultural contemporary romance, I would look to t Five stars. I've read Alisha Rai's work before and her books have always been sexy, but this series, I believe, has the most depth. She expertly laid out Nico and Livvy's second-chance love amidst their shared complicated family history. This book would always score high for me due to the multicultural characters. That it delivered in the storytelling was a big bonus. I cried, I smiled, I blushed, I felt for all the characters. As a writer of multicultural contemporary romance, I would look to this work as a model of how a book of the sub-genre can be told well. P.S. I ❤️ the cover. The models are gorgeous!
    more
  • Mskychick
    June 23, 2017
    Wow, this book is amazing. Tons of angst and super hot sex. But I love the underlying themes of the redeeming love of family, of creating a family for oneself, and especially the handling of the sensitive issue of mental health. Brava, Alisha!!Got a PB ARC & an ebook ARC at RT17 in Atlanta
    more
  • Jaime Arkin
    May 29, 2017
    4.5 stars! Full review soon!
  • Funmbi
    May 12, 2017
    I started reading HATE TO WANT YOU at 7pm, and couldn’t put it down until I finished at 2am...mind you, this is a 400 page book! But goodness, this novel was so well written. The story just flowed and I found myself inhaling it, gorging myself on Alisha Rai’s words as the passionate tale unfolded. There was laughter, heartbreak, hope, and swoons. So many swoons. Tummy-fluttering, body-quaking swoons.And the cherry on this exquisite sundae? HATE TO WANT YOU features people of color in meaningful I started reading HATE TO WANT YOU at 7pm, and couldn’t put it down until I finished at 2am...mind you, this is a 400 page book! But goodness, this novel was so well written. The story just flowed and I found myself inhaling it, gorging myself on Alisha Rai’s words as the passionate tale unfolded. There was laughter, heartbreak, hope, and swoons. So many swoons. Tummy-fluttering, body-quaking swoons.And the cherry on this exquisite sundae? HATE TO WANT YOU features people of color in meaningful roles. Let me tell you, it is so refreshing to see myself and people I know represented in romance, dealing with heartache and love, having glorious sex, just as we do in real life. Oh yes, I 100% recommend this book to all romance lovers!***Read the full review at We So Nerdy!
    more
  • Marielle
    June 10, 2017
    Yep. Good one on the angst-meter, and, since I got this as a freebee, excellent value for money, LOL.However, some things were missing:The heroine had spunk, she's a tattoo-artist, but somehow she seemed to become less sure of herself as the book went on. I know, the tough girl was mostly an act, but I would have liked some of the toughness would surface for real at the end.The lack of epilogue. The ending was fine and because of their history I believe they'll have an HEA, but literally, the en Yep. Good one on the angst-meter, and, since I got this as a freebee, excellent value for money, LOL.However, some things were missing:The heroine had spunk, she's a tattoo-artist, but somehow she seemed to become less sure of herself as the book went on. I know, the tough girl was mostly an act, but I would have liked some of the toughness would surface for real at the end.The lack of epilogue. The ending was fine and because of their history I believe they'll have an HEA, but literally, the ending in this book, considering all the obstacles still left, is more of an HFN. An epilogue could have fixed the sliver of doubt.
    more
  • Zee1
    March 29, 2017
    Everyone should pre-order this. It is SO damn good.
  • Kim C.
    June 20, 2017
    It's like a modern day Romeo & Juliet -- but with a happy ending. They allowed their feuding families to get in the way 10 years ago but continued to sneak around once a year for their one night of unabandoned pleasure. When Olivia ends up back in their hometown, they reconnect and the sparks fly! I loved how determined Nick was to get Olivia back regardless of their complicated family dynamic. There's no doubt it's a bit angsty, but the payoff will leave you breathless.**ARC received in exh It's like a modern day Romeo & Juliet -- but with a happy ending. They allowed their feuding families to get in the way 10 years ago but continued to sneak around once a year for their one night of unabandoned pleasure. When Olivia ends up back in their hometown, they reconnect and the sparks fly! I loved how determined Nick was to get Olivia back regardless of their complicated family dynamic. There's no doubt it's a bit angsty, but the payoff will leave you breathless.**ARC received in exhange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Rachel
    June 11, 2017
    Wow, what a book! I enjoyed every page of this second chance romance with a detailed, multi-generational backstory. This story has it all: heart, heat, and history. Our hero and heroine can't seem to stay away from each other no matter how much they pull away. All the characters are well developed and their interplay and dialogue flows naturally. The love scenes crackle and the conflicts are tense. The shared history of Nicholas and Livvy provides both deep connection and painful memories. Their Wow, what a book! I enjoyed every page of this second chance romance with a detailed, multi-generational backstory. This story has it all: heart, heat, and history. Our hero and heroine can't seem to stay away from each other no matter how much they pull away. All the characters are well developed and their interplay and dialogue flows naturally. The love scenes crackle and the conflicts are tense. The shared history of Nicholas and Livvy provides both deep connection and painful memories. Their familial connections complicate everything.Nicholas and Livvy both have strong personalities but show it differently. Nicholas is stoic, reserved, and can sacrifice his own happiness for the greater good. Livvy is bold, persevering, and creative. They complement and challenge each other. They have both denied themselves joy, thinking it was the right thing to do for everyone.Their story is so rewarding, especially considering they need to overcome two generations of drama. Adding in their own emotional wounds, the story has so much depth. They share an intense physical attraction and the reader gets to enjoy how the author develops their emotional connection, too.Great writing, great characters, great book; highly recommended.
    more
  • Shelly
    June 24, 2017
    This is my first Alisha Rai book (IT WILL NOT BE MY LAST!) and I won an advanced copy in a goodreads giveaway!!! My copy says 'uncorrected proof' on the cover - it's the first time I've ever read a book before it was released! Double excitement!So I love romance books, but life has gotten in the way for the last few years, and I have read practically nothing. I've been dabbling here and there, trying to get back into reading, not wanting to be disappointed, and Rai is an author I've heard a lot This is my first Alisha Rai book (IT WILL NOT BE MY LAST!) and I won an advanced copy in a goodreads giveaway!!! My copy says 'uncorrected proof' on the cover - it's the first time I've ever read a book before it was released! Double excitement!So I love romance books, but life has gotten in the way for the last few years, and I have read practically nothing. I've been dabbling here and there, trying to get back into reading, not wanting to be disappointed, and Rai is an author I've heard a lot about (mostly on the Smart Podcast, Trashy Books podcast - highly recommend!). I am so thankful to the universe for sending me this book to get back into reading, because I am hooked now on this author and want to immediately read all her backlist, and can hardly wait for the next book in this series!First, the few minor things I didn't love or took me out of the story a bit - and they are so very minor. I'm not usually one to notice continuity issues, or care much for making a fuss over them, but I did notice two. There's a scene with Livvy and Nicholas in the tattoo shop (the second time) she's drawing a mermaid on his chest. First she's wearing a skirt, he's feeling up her ass, but a few moments later he's noticing how good she looks in leather pants. . . . huh? Not a big deal, but I noticed after working 12 hours and reading at midnight. The other issue may just be because I was reading after midnight, and I was easily confused. I thought at one point Livvy is recalling that she never met/knew her grandpa Sam, but then when talking to Nicholas' grandpa John, they are recalling memories of Sam. I tried to go back and see if I was mistaken, but I just wanted to keep reading on! I don't know if these are things that are usually caught before publication, but even if they are not - this is still a fantastic book. A personal quirk of mine is when a book in a series is said to be able to read as a 'standalone.' I don't know if that's been said about this book, or if it's a writing style of Rai, but there were a few too many unresolved issues I wanted to see taken care of. Of course, I am planning on reading book two, but still. . . . I wanted a bit more resolved. There's a lot of external conflict that keeps Livvy and Nicholas apart, and at the end, they decide they can face it and be together. Well, that external conflict is what kept them apart for 10+ years. . . how did that turn out??? How do they overcome the external conflicts now that the internal conflicts have been resolved? Nicholas gave his father and grandfather an ultimatum about the family business, and walked away. We don't know if they accepted, or how that turns out. He threatened to walk away from his family business if they didn't accept. What happens!!!! I know - it's probably in book two, but I would have really liked to see at least a bit of the external resolved, doesn't have to be all, but at least on the path, or a good start.Anyway - that's it! That's the only thing keeping this from 5 stars, because the rest is awesome! I love a book that can wind internal and external conflicts together, and this one does so in brilliant fashion. Seeing Livvy and Nicholas really working thru their internal conflicts amidst all the external baggage, it was soooo rewarding to get to the end and feel the issues they were dealing with independently were worked thru, and it's not lame bullshit of 'I need the other person so everything is fine.' They actually work thru their shit, like adults! Love that! I love the diversity of characters, love the honest portrayal of real humans, not 'stand-ins' that are typical of secondary characters. No one in the book felt like a caricature, or the obligatory/token so-and-so the hero/heroine knows - you know what I'm talking about, the cardboard sister, the perfect best friend, a crazy but lovable dog - the type of characters who do nothing to move the story along, but only reinforce what the author wants us to know about the hero/heroine a million times over. Every single one of the people in the book feel like they had their own life story and that it would be interesting and fun to explore. It was rich and full in a way that a lot of the fluffy romance books are not - the ones that perpetuate the stereotypical myth that romances can't be deep and fulfilling. This book - the exact opposite of all that!!! At the same time, it wasn't heavy handed, it didn't feel like a PSA about depression, it was equal parts funny and warm and fuzzy and I just loved it. I cannot wait for the next book to see Jackson and Sadia! Both of them I'm so excited to find out more about, because what was in this book only left me wanting to know more! And I hope to God that Eve's book is in the series, I'm dying to read more of her and find out what's been ticking in that brain of hers all this time she's been playing timid. I cannot recommend this book enough - it is so worth it and I'm so stinking excited I got to read it before most everybody else!!!!!
    more
  • Natalie
    May 8, 2017
    loved loved looooved. childhood friends turned lovers turned exes then to turned to seeking each other out in secret, one night each year, overthe course of ten years??! YESSS! i adored Nick and Livvy. Nick has a sweet tooth that he's constantly fighting! i can so relate so that endeared him to me right away. I related to Livvy and Nick so much. re: their chemistry and the you should not do this but your body's like girl do it LOL. That chemistry between them...off the charts...so steamy and of loved loved looooved. childhood friends turned lovers turned exes then to turned to seeking each other out in secret, one night each year, overthe course of ten years??! YESSS! i adored Nick and Livvy. Nick has a sweet tooth that he's constantly fighting! i can so relate so that endeared him to me right away. I related to Livvy and Nick so much. re: their chemistry and the you should not do this but your body's like girl do it LOL. That chemistry between them...off the charts...so steamy and of course the A+ banter gets me every time. The supporting cast of family and friends are always, for me, an important part of every story because you can learn so much about the MCs from the people they interact with. And i love how Livvy's mom and aunt and bestie Sadia were portrayed. So supportive of Livvy in their own way. Can i just say i may have screamed a bit when it was hinted at that Sadia is bi? Ok i'm pretty sure it was more than hinted at so whoo! Also the casual mention of Maile talking about her past love for a woman. I loved that! And Livvy's brother Jackson is so enigmatic. We get some bits and pieces about him, not much because yesssss him and Sadia are the MCs of book 2. i knewwwww i sensed something there! And they don't even have any page time together in this book so i'm eagerly awaiting book 2 which comes out in November! Can i just say Nick defiantly eating a cookie after he tells his father off is the funniest thing ever. Another thing that stood out for me: learning Livvy has depression. We don't learn this right away, but get this info much later down in the book and i'm so glad that Nick's love wasn't trotted out as some cure for that. Livvy even says it's something she can manage but not cure and Nick says he wouldn't try to cure her. I think that's so important. So I loved this. get it. read it.
    more
  • Megan
    May 6, 2017
    Oh my God, it was perfect!! I haven't read her entire backlist but Alisha Rai has yet to disappoint in the 7 books I've read. This book made me feel so much! And forbidden love is not my favorite trope (I always find myself thinking "ummm y'all are grown ass adults, do what(who)ever you want) but this was SO INTENSE that it made sense for them not to go up against their families at first. They had to grow as people and they are seriously great people and I just love all the supporting characters Oh my God, it was perfect!! I haven't read her entire backlist but Alisha Rai has yet to disappoint in the 7 books I've read. This book made me feel so much! And forbidden love is not my favorite trope (I always find myself thinking "ummm y'all are grown ass adults, do what(who)ever you want) but this was SO INTENSE that it made sense for them not to go up against their families at first. They had to grow as people and they are seriously great people and I just love all the supporting characters too ❤️Also, Jackson and Sadia are going to be 🔥🔥🔥! I might die waiting for that book. That's why you never read arcs people! The wait feels so much longer!!!!
    more
  • Beth P
    May 11, 2017
    A contemporary romance with SO MUCH emotional realism. The relationship of the hero and heroine, who were childhood friends and then teenaged lovers, was ruined by tragedy and family feuding ten years ago. But they never stopped loving each other. This is the absolutely beautiful, incredibly sexy, and emotionally compelling story of their growth, their second chance at love, and their acceptance of each other as the adults they now are. I loved absolutely everything about this book. ARC received A contemporary romance with SO MUCH emotional realism. The relationship of the hero and heroine, who were childhood friends and then teenaged lovers, was ruined by tragedy and family feuding ten years ago. But they never stopped loving each other. This is the absolutely beautiful, incredibly sexy, and emotionally compelling story of their growth, their second chance at love, and their acceptance of each other as the adults they now are. I loved absolutely everything about this book. ARC received at Romantic Times Booklovers Convention 2017
    more
  • Bunny
    May 11, 2017
    Confession: I started reading romance novels in the 80's in my teens. I don't know if it was due to my age (hormones!) or the over-the-top writing, but back in the day I would have the FEELS reading romances. Think Kathleen Turner at the beginning of the Romancing the Stone. Flash forward to today: I'm older and realize many romances written in the 80's have err.... PROBLEMS. Briefly, Hate to Want You gave me all of the feels of my youth (it's a "our families hate each other" trope) with none of Confession: I started reading romance novels in the 80's in my teens. I don't know if it was due to my age (hormones!) or the over-the-top writing, but back in the day I would have the FEELS reading romances. Think Kathleen Turner at the beginning of the Romancing the Stone. Flash forward to today: I'm older and realize many romances written in the 80's have err.... PROBLEMS. Briefly, Hate to Want You gave me all of the feels of my youth (it's a "our families hate each other" trope) with none of the 80's problematic issues. (And full disclosure: I received an eARC, yada yada yada.)
    more
  • Jenn
    June 22, 2017
    So much to love about this one ... long time family feud, bi-racial main character, HOT emotional and physical connection, family issues, second chance, mysterious family dynamics, likeable secondary characters who you want more of NOWPLEASE, character with acknowledged mental health issues who continues to cope and to work towards better mental health (while realizing that there is no magic formula) ... what did I leave out? Nothing, because Alisha Rai is practically perfect in every way. Buy t So much to love about this one ... long time family feud, bi-racial main character, HOT emotional and physical connection, family issues, second chance, mysterious family dynamics, likeable secondary characters who you want more of NOWPLEASE, character with acknowledged mental health issues who continues to cope and to work towards better mental health (while realizing that there is no magic formula) ... what did I leave out? Nothing, because Alisha Rai is practically perfect in every way. Buy this book. Seriously.
    more
  • Beth
    July 1, 2017
    Livvy and Nicholas meet for an illicit night of sex once a year. There are two rules - one night only, no one can know. Childhood sweethearts, they broke up after a terrible accident and a terrible deal broke their two families apart.After a decade of one nights, Livvy doesn't text Nicholas. When he finds out she has returned to their hometown, passion, temper, and family drama threaten to either finally bring them together or forever end everything.SO GOOD. Ugh. I need to process and will write Livvy and Nicholas meet for an illicit night of sex once a year. There are two rules - one night only, no one can know. Childhood sweethearts, they broke up after a terrible accident and a terrible deal broke their two families apart.After a decade of one nights, Livvy doesn't text Nicholas. When he finds out she has returned to their hometown, passion, temper, and family drama threaten to either finally bring them together or forever end everything.SO GOOD. Ugh. I need to process and will write a better review later.
    more
  • Marie Piper
    May 14, 2017
    I will forever autobuy anything Alisha Rai writes, but HATE TO WANT YOU is (IMHO) the best book she's written yet. Sexy, emotional, and full of every kind of relationship drama imaginable, this book sets up a family feud that I'm hoping will unfold over the rest of the FORBIDDEN HEARTS series. Livvy and Nick are a delicious couple, troubled but understandable and deeply likable. I loved it. I finished it in a night. (Got an ARC at RT, thank goodness!)
    more
  • Adele Buck
    May 13, 2017
    Oooooh, Alisha. Thank you so much for writing this book. A modern-day Romeo and Juliet with an HEA? Yes please. The family conflict was so real and well realized. The bad guy was...bad. The struggles the couple went through was heartbreaking and recognizable. The problems were real and not glossed over.Basically, happy book noise. I really loved it and am looking forward to the next one.
    more
  • Laura
    June 4, 2017
    Although I really liked both Nicholas and Livvy, and thought they had great chemistry, the rest of the book was uninteresting to me. I found the whole family drama to be forced and there was way too much time spent discussing it.
  • Tina
    June 20, 2017
    3.5 starsThis book had a high dose of angst, but in a way that worked. I really liked Livvy and Nicholas as characters, and their tension and chemistry was palpable. There's a lot of steaminess in this book, but sex is wrapped up in Livvy and Nico's history so it never bogged down the narrative.
    more
  • Frances
    June 21, 2017
    Friends to lovers to enemies to lovers trope. What's not to love about that? Loved everything about this book. My first Alisha Rai book, but definitely not my last
  • Teresa
    May 28, 2017
    Steamy, steamy romance with two intriguing characters....this book was a fun read that had me hooked until the very last page! Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC!
  • Mel
    June 28, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book.It was amazing and I absolutely loved it. Will do a more thorough review closer to publication date.
  • Carol
    May 8, 2017
    Crying from how amazing this book is?! Just all the feels for this book and I need the second one immediately! Ugh, Livvy and Nicholas are too precious. Full review to come!!
  • Nelle
    June 15, 2017
    Talk about emotional roller coaster!! This tore my heart out then rebuilt it! So good, I couldn't put it down and stayed up to 3 am on a work night
  • Robin
    May 12, 2017
    I'd give this book sixteen stars if I could. Definitely one for the all time favorites list.
Write a review