Tash Hearts Tolstoy
After a shout-out from one of the Internet’s superstar vloggers, Natasha “Tash” Zelenka finds herself and her obscure, amateur web series, Unhappy Families, thrust into the limelight: She’s gone viral.Her show is a modern adaptation of Anna Karenina—written by Tash’s literary love Count Lev Nikolayevich “Leo” Tolstoy. Tash is a fan of the forty thousand new subscribers, their gushing tweets, and flashy Tumblr GIFs. Not so much the pressure to deliver the best web series ever.And when Unhappy Families is nominated for a Golden Tuba award, Tash’s cyber-flirtation with Thom Causer, a fellow award nominee, suddenly has the potential to become something IRL—if she can figure out how to tell said crush that she’s romantic asexual.Tash wants to enjoy her newfound fame, but will she lose her friends in her rise to the top? What would Tolstoy do?

Tash Hearts Tolstoy Details

TitleTash Hearts Tolstoy
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster
Rating
GenreContemporary, Glbt, Young Adult

Tash Hearts Tolstoy Review

  • Alexa
    February 22, 2017
    I stayed up until 2 AM finishing an ARC of this book last night and let me tell you friends, you want to put this one on your to-read lists!Overall, a very fun contemporary -- that still gracefully hits on important themes -- with an addicting voice (I particularly appreciated the internet teen Important Topic random capitalization) a believable, interesting protagonist, and a great premise. I really enjoyed all of the nerdy and classic literature references as well -- even though I happen to be I stayed up until 2 AM finishing an ARC of this book last night and let me tell you friends, you want to put this one on your to-read lists!Overall, a very fun contemporary -- that still gracefully hits on important themes -- with an addicting voice (I particularly appreciated the internet teen Important Topic random capitalization) a believable, interesting protagonist, and a great premise. I really enjoyed all of the nerdy and classic literature references as well -- even though I happen to be more of a Dostoyevsky person. (Plus the cover. The cover is honestly the greatest) Also, yay for diverse books with good representation! Tash is asexual and struggles with defining her sexuality but ultimately affirms her validity to herself and others. This is actually only the second book I have read with an explicitly asexual protagonist; expanding the overwhelmingly limited ace/arospec representation in YA is wonderful. Tash's interactions with the Buddhist religion she was raised with were also interesting to read about, though this played a less important part in the story. Absolutely one of my favorite contemporaries I've read (which, granted, is not my finest genre) so if you're looking for a contemporary read, pick this book up when it comes out in June!
    more
  • Bailey
    February 17, 2017
    Solid 4.5I loved Tash and her obsession with Tolstoy. She was hilarious. The friendships and dynamics in general were really enjoyable. Just the whole plot and cast of characters really warmed my heart. Even the secondary characters were really well fleshed out. This is also a a great diversity read tackling sexuality and immigration. I liked that there was diversity but that I didn't feel like the author was pushing an agenda. I think this book could be enjoyed by and speak to everyone and coul Solid 4.5I loved Tash and her obsession with Tolstoy. She was hilarious. The friendships and dynamics in general were really enjoyable. Just the whole plot and cast of characters really warmed my heart. Even the secondary characters were really well fleshed out. This is also a a great diversity read tackling sexuality and immigration. I liked that there was diversity but that I didn't feel like the author was pushing an agenda. I think this book could be enjoyed by and speak to everyone and could start a lot of meaningful discussions. There were a couple minor things that bugged me. Like if Tash is crushing on boys or wanting a relationship, you think she'd come up with a good way to explain that she's asexual, especially since she's a bit of a control freak and worries about people's reactions to her a sexuality throughout the whole book. I think I was supposed to be mad at a certain character for their reaction, but I was only mildly annoyed because she explained herself so darn poorly. I also didn't quite understand the reaction of her and her sister to her parents' situation but enjoyed the resolution she came too.
    more
  • Katherine Locke
    February 4, 2017
    LOOK. I'M GOING TO WRITE A GUSHING REVIEW TOMORROW BUT I NEED YOU TO UNDERSTAND THAT I AM TASH, TASH IS ME, IT JUST GETS A LITTLE CONFUSING ON SOME DETAILS BUT THIS BOOK IS A++++++ ACE REP.
  • Raeleen Lemay
    February 1, 2017
    OOF THIS SOUNDS GREAT
  • Cintimon
    January 3, 2017
    Did somebody say ROMANTIC ASEXUAL BECAUSE YES, YES, AND HELL YES GIVE ME THIS BOOK.
  • Tash
    January 2, 2017
    This is the first book I've found with my name in the title!! ... I think I might need to consider giving this book an honest chance to have it a part of my collection..
  • The Bookavid
    December 29, 2016
    did i mention how absolutely excited i am about this book? the word asexual in the blurb, im so... *clutches fist* there is still good left in this world
  • Betsy
    December 22, 2016
    Won't be out until June but reading the synopsis...This had better be good.
  • Jenna
    December 5, 2016
    This book is me. In almost every sense of the word. I'm so incredibly grateful I got to read it five months early!!! What don't I love about Tash? I think my only criticism is that the author references revealing the gender of a baby instead of sex. Otherwise, I'm pretty content. Was the love interest obvious? Sure. Was it a little cliche at times? Maybe. Do I care? To quote my dear friend Ingrid Michaelson, HELLLLL NOOOOOOAs far as ace rep, this book did AN AMAZING JOB! Now if you're aro/ace it This book is me. In almost every sense of the word. I'm so incredibly grateful I got to read it five months early!!! What don't I love about Tash? I think my only criticism is that the author references revealing the gender of a baby instead of sex. Otherwise, I'm pretty content. Was the love interest obvious? Sure. Was it a little cliche at times? Maybe. Do I care? To quote my dear friend Ingrid Michaelson, HELLLLL NOOOOOOAs far as ace rep, this book did AN AMAZING JOB! Now if you're aro/ace it may not be the same for you, but I saw myself in these pages. Also it was great bc it made me imagine what I would do in Tash's shoes. Her fiasco with Thom is literally something I think about on a daily basis. What would I do in her situation? Probably the exact same thing. I just pray I never get a response like Thom's. If you are not ace and you felt like Thom did, or even to some extent Jack and Paul, plz check yourself. We aces are not robots. Also if a guy ever told me he'd rather hug me than be with anyone else I'd probably just swoon and cry a little. I am a combo of Tash/Jack. Heteroromantic ace, repressed emptions, vlogger/YouTuber, Nashvillian. You couldn't write a book that caters more to who I am than this. I loved every second of it!! I felt so well represented and the whole thing drew me in. I fell in love with all of it. Wasn't a huge fan of the baby twist and I wish we didn't have the cancer plotline, but otherwise I enjoyed it a lot!!! Thom kinda made me wanna claw my eyes out, but we all knew it was her and Paul in the beginning anyways. KATHRYN KILLED IT
    more
  • Erin
    November 19, 2016
    Is it weird that the reason I want to read this book is based solely on that hilariously awesome cover?
  • Nita
    October 31, 2016
    Review TK, but just know that I adore this book.
  • Katie (Bookstore Blogger)
    September 10, 2016
    After reading The Lucky Few, please give me more!
  • Zemira (Kylo Ren fangirl) Warner
    August 2, 2016
    OMG! A book about an asexual character?! GIVE IT TO ME, RIGHT NOW!Finally! I'm not alone in this world! I've only read one ace YA book so far. Don't even know if there are others out there. I'm so glad these books even exist.
  • Kim B.
    March 5, 2016
    I'll probably update this review with a star rating and all that closer to the pub date, but let me put some early thoughts out here. I got to beta-read this book for reasons (briefly) elaborated upon below, and my first thought upon finishing it both times I read it were, "Where was a book like this when I was a teen?" Teen Kim would've loved this even more than 23-year-old Kim does, because it would've been vital to me back then. (Okay, I'm not gonna lie, it's still vital to me now. But it may I'll probably update this review with a star rating and all that closer to the pub date, but let me put some early thoughts out here. I got to beta-read this book for reasons (briefly) elaborated upon below, and my first thought upon finishing it both times I read it were, "Where was a book like this when I was a teen?" Teen Kim would've loved this even more than 23-year-old Kim does, because it would've been vital to me back then. (Okay, I'm not gonna lie, it's still vital to me now. But it may have been even more vital, haha.)I'm really glad we have it now, for so many reasons. Aside from the ace rep being the only time I've ever seen a character whose experiences were anything like my own in the pages in a book, there are a zillion other reasons to recommend it highly. Tash is a wonderful protagonist, and every single other character in the book made their way into my heart as well (especially Jack and Paul; oh, how I adore them). It completely nails what it's like to be a teen filmmaker, as well as some of the harsher realities about professions in the arts and the ups and downs of the creative process as a whole in the digital age. This is a smart and funny book with a huge heart and I can't wait for it to be on shelves so I can share it with everyone. Don't miss it!
    more
  • Ashley Blake
    March 4, 2016
    This book is definitely one of my most anticipated reads of 2017 and I'm so, so lucky that I got to read it early, because wow, it did not disappoint. First, the voice. Kathryn Ormsbee does voice like no other. NO OTHER, I SAY. Tash is witty, smart, flawed, messy, and just damn amazing. I loved reading about making a web series, overnight internet fame, and the dreams of a hopeful film maker. The friendships in this book are A+. I loved the dynamic between Tash and her best friend, Jack. Jack is This book is definitely one of my most anticipated reads of 2017 and I'm so, so lucky that I got to read it early, because wow, it did not disappoint. First, the voice. Kathryn Ormsbee does voice like no other. NO OTHER, I SAY. Tash is witty, smart, flawed, messy, and just damn amazing. I loved reading about making a web series, overnight internet fame, and the dreams of a hopeful film maker. The friendships in this book are A+. I loved the dynamic between Tash and her best friend, Jack. Jack is a smartass, vulnerable but snarky, and I absolutely adored her. And Paul. Oh dude, Paul. Paul melts the most frigid of hearts. So then there's the rep. When this book was announced, the deal announcement clearly stated that Tash was figuring out her asexuality and I know so many people are excited about this, hopeful of this needful rep. I'm not asexual, but I know people who are have read this book and loved it and my first impression while reading the VERY ON THE PAGE ASEXUAL REP is one of just...well, let's just say I cried happy tears. I think this book is going to be such an important addition to YA. Hell, it already is, even in its baby stages of being in the world. So excited for this to be on the shelves.
    more
Write a review