A Season to Dance
Ballerina Ana Brassfield has her path to the stage of the Met in New York and her future with fiancé Peter Engberg all figured out—until her first love, renowned German dancer Claus Gert, shows up in Georgia to dance with her and win her back. Claus kisses her after a rehearsal, a kiss Peter witnesses from the darkened audience. Convinced a kiss between Claus and Ana is more than a one-time mistake, Peter breaks off his engagement with Ana. Rejected by Peter, and knowing Claus is dancing at the Met soon, Ana decides to repave her path to her dream. With her 2002 Thunderbird and Baryshnikov, an old dog crippled by arthritis, she moves to Germany to be with Claus. But the ghost of his late wife, Ana’s own memories of Peter, and the pressure of earning a spot in a large ballet company prove to be a high price for a shot at success.

A Season to Dance Details

TitleA Season to Dance
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherBling! Romance
ISBN1946016160
ISBN-139781946016164
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Christian

A Season to Dance Review

  • Nadine Brandes
    February 25, 2016
    This book is fantastic.Put it on your to-read list. Read it. Buy it. Share it.Be changed.
  • Katie
    November 12, 2016
    Loved Beal's A Season to Dance! Well-done, tangible look into a professional ballerina's life, performances, and exciting international travels. A fast-read showcasing God's dedication to us and the freedom of trading emptiness for God's redemption.
  • Beth Erin
    May 13, 2017
    Full review on Faithfully Bookish http://wp.me/p7ngfE-QxThe artistry of dance and nature saturates every moment of this beauty from ashes tale while heartache, betrayal, and turmoil beg for redemption, restoration, and grace.Ana has regrets. Lots of regrets. Ana has a lot going for her but her focus is continually drawn to what she doesn't (and perhaps can't) have. Her journey is long, winding, and complicated but the destination makes it a road worth taking. A Season to Dance perfectly conveys Full review on Faithfully Bookish http://wp.me/p7ngfE-QxThe artistry of dance and nature saturates every moment of this beauty from ashes tale while heartache, betrayal, and turmoil beg for redemption, restoration, and grace.Ana has regrets. Lots of regrets. Ana has a lot going for her but her focus is continually drawn to what she doesn't (and perhaps can't) have. Her journey is long, winding, and complicated but the destination makes it a road worth taking. A Season to Dance perfectly conveys the hopelessness, emptiness, and inner turmoil many have endured as a young man or woman in need of a Savior. Bravo!I requested the opportunity to read this book through the author. The opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Natalie Walters
    May 11, 2017
    Debut author, Patrica Beal, delights the senses with A Season To Dance.Opening the pages I was treated to an emotional journey as ballet dancer, Ana Brassfield, struggles to find sufficiency in a life that seems to be falling apart at every pirouette. I truly enjoyed the stunning detail Ms. Beal creates in describing the setting throughout the story, which allowed me to breathe in the fragrance of lavender and hear the babbling of the Rhine or feel the chest thumping current of an orchestra warm Debut author, Patrica Beal, delights the senses with A Season To Dance.Opening the pages I was treated to an emotional journey as ballet dancer, Ana Brassfield, struggles to find sufficiency in a life that seems to be falling apart at every pirouette. I truly enjoyed the stunning detail Ms. Beal creates in describing the setting throughout the story, which allowed me to breathe in the fragrance of lavender and hear the babbling of the Rhine or feel the chest thumping current of an orchestra warming up as dancers take their place on stage. This kind of writing makes it impossible to not become enraptured in the story. Among the exotic settings that don't require you to get a passport, Ms. Beal introduces a cast of characters that would've made Mr. Shakespeare proud. These characters are not perfect. They don't pretend to be. They are broken and searching. Ms. Beal offers a compass of hope, truth, and relevance that proves thoughtful and impactful. There are discussion questions at the end, which I think will provide readers and book clubs another level of depth to the story. ***I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Natalie
    May 9, 2017
    I met Patricia at the ACFW 2015 writer's conference and was charmed by her beautiful Brazilian accent and her ballet costume on the character dress-up night. Little did I know she was a REAL ballerina--and had written a book about a ballerina! Last week I won a giveaway of the Letters to Juliet DVD from an interview blog featuring Patricia, who graciously included a copy of A Season to Dance in the giveaway package! I'd been wanting to read this novel since I first met her and am so excited to t I met Patricia at the ACFW 2015 writer's conference and was charmed by her beautiful Brazilian accent and her ballet costume on the character dress-up night. Little did I know she was a REAL ballerina--and had written a book about a ballerina! Last week I won a giveaway of the Letters to Juliet DVD from an interview blog featuring Patricia, who graciously included a copy of A Season to Dance in the giveaway package! I'd been wanting to read this novel since I first met her and am so excited to tell you about the story in this review!The Main Characters:Ana, Peter, and Claus... Wow. These characters came to life on the page. The Blake Shelton comparison for Peter gave me an instant reference point, since my Granny and I have been watching the Voice lately. I pictured Patricia as Ana's look-a-like, and my mental image of Claus was a longer-haired Rick Cosnett, whose facial structure is coincidentally similar to Mikhail Baryshnikov. These characters have such unique personalities and back stories, and they are all inwardly broken. Their brokenness translates to their actions and they all make destructive decisions along the way. They learn from them, though. And that is one thing that makes this story so great.The Romance:This story is unlike any other I've read. It's a twist on the regular Happily Ever After. Ana loves two very different men, and she's a different person with each of them. The heartstrings are pulled when she is around them, and though I was anticipating one or the other to turn into the typical ex-boyfriend-villain, neither did. Many of the characters are lost or away from God during most of the story, so they make bad decisions concerning their relationships, but the author only portrays these actions as far as a few kisses and caresses, closing the door on more intimate events that will effect these characters for the rest of their lives. Patricia does an excellent job at portraying broken humanity in the light of God's love, where forgiveness is always waiting and the deeply-flawed have access to second-chance mercy as long as they have breath.The Pace:In the first chapter, a mystery is introduced, and the character journey to reveal that mystery follows. This is a thoughtful, emotional novel, exploring deep subjects that are suited to a quieter pace. At about the 2/3 mark, though, the events of the story grabbed me and the pace sped up significantly, ending with a finale that had me fighting tears.The Faith Element:The redemption message in this novel is one of the most powerful and clearly presented Biblically based faith-journeys I've read in a fiction book. Ana tries to find fulfillment in everything but God, then finally decides to "try out" religion, but eventually learns she can't earn her salvation or peace with God. Redemption is out of her reach as long as she's trying to climb up and attain it herself, and all the while her Savior is waiting for her to simply surrender to Him and ask for His salvation, and He'll gladly give her all she needs. In A Season to Dance, God pursues Ana's heart with a gentle and unrelenting love. It's a beautiful thing to watch unfold.The Stakes:The stakes include Peter's heart, Claus' heart, and Ana's heart, which is divided between finding her life's purpose, and following her dream of dancing at the Met in New York. Which one will win?The Overall Impression:A Season to Dance isn't my usual light-hearted historical romance and comedic fare. But the spiritual and life lessons the book portrays were ones I needed to contemplate, and I found myself surrendering several dreams to God to do with as He sees best. I love a book that will make me take a closer look at myself and my motives and encourage me to change for the better. This book did that for me.The More Factor:I would love to read more books by Patricia in the future. *I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Fiction Aficionado
    May 3, 2017
    I am undone! By the time I got to the end of this story I was a blubbering mess—in a good way. This was such a beautiful story of finding sufficiency in God, and so unique. I honestly can’t think of another story I have read like this one.To begin with—ballet! As a classical music and ballet lover (not to mention a ballet mum), I loved entering Ana’s world. It was so obvious that the author has personal experience in this world, but even so, it’s not an easy thing to translate to the page. And y I am undone! By the time I got to the end of this story I was a blubbering mess—in a good way. This was such a beautiful story of finding sufficiency in God, and so unique. I honestly can’t think of another story I have read like this one.To begin with—ballet! As a classical music and ballet lover (not to mention a ballet mum), I loved entering Ana’s world. It was so obvious that the author has personal experience in this world, but even so, it’s not an easy thing to translate to the page. And yet Patricia Beal did so beautifully. She captured the music, the movement, and the emotion of those scenes in such a simple but effective way. Even if you can’t tell a plié from a retiré, you will still feel completely immersed in the dance.But at its heart, this isn’t really a ballet story. It’s a story about a young woman who is looking to her career and her relationships for fulfilment, but constantly falling short. It’s her search to fully understand the truth of 2 Corinthians 12:9—My grace is sufficient for you—and her journey to that point where she can step back and give her dreams and desires into God’s hands.Ana experiences both angst and heartache on the journey, even as she catches elusive glimpses of the joy and peace she is trying to grasp. At times I wanted to reach out to her and say, “Please, don’t do this to yourself,” but at the same time, I was so thoroughly immersed in her character that I could understand why she made those choices, and why she thought those choices would bring the happiness and peace she was looking for. And God clearly worked through those choices, even as Ana regretted them. But even when she seems to making the right choices, circumstances beyond her control threaten to take away the peace she has finally found.And then the ending . . . oh, the ending! I’m going to cry again just thinking about it. God truly turns Ana’s mourning into dancing in ways she could never have imagined!This is a truly beautiful debut, and when you read the author’s notes at the end of the novel, you will understand why there is so much heart in its pages.Patricia Beal, I am a fan for life!I received a copy of this novel from the author. This has not influenced the content of my review.
    more
  • Kerry Johnson
    November 14, 2016
    Vivid and emotional, A Season to Dance immerses the reader in the life of ballerina Ana and the two men who love her. I felt like I was walking through the lush gardens created by landscape architect Peter in Georgia, and I could almost touch the bright yellow sunflowers alongside Ana and Claus in Germany. With a gentle eye for deep emotion, the author settles the reader into the lives of professional dancers and their hard-to-reach dreams, and into the heart of a young woman searching for somet Vivid and emotional, A Season to Dance immerses the reader in the life of ballerina Ana and the two men who love her. I felt like I was walking through the lush gardens created by landscape architect Peter in Georgia, and I could almost touch the bright yellow sunflowers alongside Ana and Claus in Germany. With a gentle eye for deep emotion, the author settles the reader into the lives of professional dancers and their hard-to-reach dreams, and into the heart of a young woman searching for something more. For Someone more. Ana's story leaves the reader breathless until the last pages. I highly recommend this story of love and forgiveness, and look forward to reading more from this author!
    more
  • Jodie Hoklas
    November 3, 2016
    I loved this book! I couldn't put it down.
  • Linda Thompson
    May 9, 2017
    Patricia Beal's writing is deft and immersive--and I'm picky! :) I really FELT Ana, and entered into her fascinating world from the first page. Settings are gorgeous, characters are engaging. Anyone who enjoys Christian romance should set aside a few cozy evenings for this one! Especially if you're after a romance novels that breaks the mold a bit. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Camilla Cruz
    April 23, 2017
    A compelling story with amazing depth and heartache. A journey to love and faith so full it left me reeling in emotions. A very down -to-earth story with real situations handled delicately but sincerely, and lending hope to a fallen world where normal everyday people survive, and fall, and get up again. A very interesting perspective into the ballet world and what really matters...I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Leslie M.
    February 23, 2017
    Ballerina Ana Brassfield has always dreamed of performing at the Met. In addition to pursuing her goal, she is also planning her wedding to Peter Engberg. However, one mistake changes everything. A broken engagement has Ana travelling to Germany with her first love, German dancer Claus Gert. He has had his eyes set on winning Ana back for some time. Ana hopes that a position with Claus’ company can help her fulfill her dreams. Has Ana finally come into her season to dance?A Season to Dance showc Ballerina Ana Brassfield has always dreamed of performing at the Met. In addition to pursuing her goal, she is also planning her wedding to Peter Engberg. However, one mistake changes everything. A broken engagement has Ana travelling to Germany with her first love, German dancer Claus Gert. He has had his eyes set on winning Ana back for some time. Ana hopes that a position with Claus’ company can help her fulfill her dreams. Has Ana finally come into her season to dance?A Season to Dance showcases the beauty of dance and transports the reader on a cultural journey, along with Ana. The heroine’s struggles are realistic in this multi-layered tale. The story provides an insider’s look at a professional ballerina’s life, with added depth from the author’s personal experience as a dancer. Beal’s debut shows that she has a bright future ahead! Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy, but I wasn’t required to write a review. Opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Mary A Smith
    December 3, 2016
    I actually read this manuscript in its early stages & loved it! This story grabs your full attention & your emotions, I cried, I smiled , prayed & I cried some more right along with Ana's journey! Patricia Beal is my daughter-in-law, I am so proud of her, she is insightful,& so talented! Well Done!!
    more
  • Stacy
    May 5, 2017
    Patricia Beal weaves a beautiful story about a young lady at a crossroads in her life. She's searching for faith, a career beyond her means as a prima ballerina and finds herself in love with two men. One from her past and one from her present. As I read I felt I was gliding along with character Ana Brassfield's on her journey. In her story she discovers just how far she can stretch herself both mentally and physically to attain her ultimate goal. It's no wonder that this beautifully crafted boo Patricia Beal weaves a beautiful story about a young lady at a crossroads in her life. She's searching for faith, a career beyond her means as a prima ballerina and finds herself in love with two men. One from her past and one from her present. As I read I felt I was gliding along with character Ana Brassfield's on her journey. In her story she discovers just how far she can stretch herself both mentally and physically to attain her ultimate goal. It's no wonder that this beautifully crafted book made me giggle, reach for the tissue and kept me reading late into the night. I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Rachel
    May 2, 2017
    I will be writing a longer review on Amazon in the next few days, and possibly editing this one.I received a complementary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.In short, "A Season To Dance" is a brilliant Christian romance that brilliantly illustrates the true love - God's love for protagonist Ana as she meanders (or rather, dances) her way to His side.Beautiful, a feast for the senses, and thought-provoking. It was a privilege to read this book.
    more
  • Crystal Caudill
    May 6, 2017
    Ana dreams of dancing on stage at the Met in New York, and with plans to marry Peter and join the Atlanta Ballet Company firmly in place, she is well on her way. Then the kiss happened. Not with Peter, but with Claus, her first love and a premier ballet dancer who left her heartbroken. The story follows the aftermath of that single incident that changed all three of their lives forever. This heart-wrenching story will have you reaching for tissues and remembering the dizzying and often sickening Ana dreams of dancing on stage at the Met in New York, and with plans to marry Peter and join the Atlanta Ballet Company firmly in place, she is well on her way. Then the kiss happened. Not with Peter, but with Claus, her first love and a premier ballet dancer who left her heartbroken. The story follows the aftermath of that single incident that changed all three of their lives forever. This heart-wrenching story will have you reaching for tissues and remembering the dizzying and often sickening dance of emotions and poor choices that lead to more heartache than one can bear. Or maybe you are one of the lucky ones and have a perfect life. If you are, then you are probably in denial or haven't reached middle school yet.None of Ana's dreams go as planned, yet God touches her life in a very real-life way. There are no great miracles or sudden turnaround and see God moments. Instead, God is Ana's spotter.While she is spinning out of control, God is slowly tugging at her, pursuing her, and guiding her. Spiritual truth falls on Ana like a gentle spring rain, refreshing, soul soaking, and easy to deflect until she is ready to accept it. This is a wonderful story that is unlike any Christian romance out there, and I would venture to even categorize it differently - women's fiction with a touch of romance. The story is really about one woman's harsh struggle to know true love and to chase her dreams in our contemporary culture. There are no clean easy answers, and happily ever after comes in fits and spurts, showing that love endures even when there are difficulties and grief. However, I wish to forewarn Christian readers, that Ana is not the sweet, innocent heroine usually found in Christian romance. Ana is real, with real flaws. While there is no graphic material, there is sex before marriage and drinking. Ana's relationship with Christ does not form until the end of the story and as Paul says, "Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!" (2 Corinthians 5:17). Most of the story takes place in Ana's old life, but every instance of sex ends with the closing of the bedroom door. It is not something that should keep you from reading the book, but I felt it was fair to warn readers who may not be accustomed to less than perfect heroines. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and recommend it to readers who love real characters and true to life complications and responses. And if you love ballet, it is chalk full of beautiful dancers and scenes to thrill your imagination. *I was given an advanced reader's copy in hopes of an honest review, which you have read above.*
    more
  • Savannah Odom
    May 17, 2017
    As I finished the book and closed the last page, I just sat and smiled for a few minutes. Wow. This book is unlike other Christian fiction books I have read. I really felt a connection to Ana and the other characters. They felt so REAL. They have personal struggles and temptations and thoughts and actions that are so humanly relatable. Many other Christian fiction books I've read generally have a "just so happens this falls into place at the perfect moment" and ends with a huge buildup up to hap As I finished the book and closed the last page, I just sat and smiled for a few minutes. Wow. This book is unlike other Christian fiction books I have read. I really felt a connection to Ana and the other characters. They felt so REAL. They have personal struggles and temptations and thoughts and actions that are so humanly relatable. Many other Christian fiction books I've read generally have a "just so happens this falls into place at the perfect moment" and ends with a huge buildup up to happily-ever-after. The author does a phenomenal job of describing the characters and the scenery around them so much so that it draws you into the book as if you were there in person watching the events unfold. So many times, I could empathize with the characters in similar feelings and situations of my own life, thinking as I read, "Man, I know how that feels!" I have been raving about this book to all my family and friends since reading. It definitely is a MUST READ!**I voluntarily received a complimentary copy of this book to read and review. All opinions expressed are my own and without influence from the author.**
    more
  • Carol
    May 21, 2017
    Patricia Beal should be proud of her debut novel. I was very impressed with her writing! She took me into a world I'm not familiar with - ballet dancing - and I enjoyed slipping into that world, if only temporarily. This is the first book I've read with a ballet dancer as the heroine, and I applaud the originality of the story. Patricia's attention to detail, as Ana moves from one setting to another, took me right into the pages. And did I mention the emotional ups and downs? Ana's journey to fi Patricia Beal should be proud of her debut novel. I was very impressed with her writing! She took me into a world I'm not familiar with - ballet dancing - and I enjoyed slipping into that world, if only temporarily. This is the first book I've read with a ballet dancer as the heroine, and I applaud the originality of the story. Patricia's attention to detail, as Ana moves from one setting to another, took me right into the pages. And did I mention the emotional ups and downs? Ana's journey to finding the right path and exploring her faith had me rooting for her all the way! I couldn't put this book down. If you're looking for a sweeping love story with a "second-chance romance" theme, in a lovely setting, and while exploring the world of ballet, this is the book for you! I hope to see more from this author in the future!*I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Nickie Monroe
    May 10, 2017
    A beautiful story that had me hooked from the beginning, so well written that it kept me craving more until the last chapter.
  • kerrycat
    March 26, 2017
    (I gave this three stars in the June installment of Romantic Times Book Reviews: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)Beal’s story is full of details that will please readers interested in the world of ballet, as well as those dealing with the devastation of Huntington’s disease. However, the first chapter reveals important details about the outcome of Ana’s story, rather than letting it unfold naturally as the story progresses.Focused on the most important performance of her life, Ana Brass (I gave this three stars in the June installment of Romantic Times Book Reviews: https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...)Beal’s story is full of details that will please readers interested in the world of ballet, as well as those dealing with the devastation of Huntington’s disease. However, the first chapter reveals important details about the outcome of Ana’s story, rather than letting it unfold naturally as the story progresses.Focused on the most important performance of her life, Ana Brassfield is blindsided when a fellow dancer sabotages her relationship with her fiancé Peter. At the same time, she wonders if she still has feelings for her dance partner, Claus, who betrayed her years ago. When her attempts to convince Peter that she isn’t cheating on him fail, Claus reveals secrets from his past that convince her to follow him, and her dance career, to Europe. God has other plans for her, however, and as she struggles daily to find her faith, she is guided on a path she couldn’t possibly have predicted.
    more
Write a review