Faith, Volume 1
Valiant's most demanded hero steps out of Harbinger and into an all-new miniseries adventure!Orphaned at a young age, Faith Herbert - a psionically gifted "psiot" discovered by the Harbinger Foundation - has always aspired to greatness. But now this once ordinary teenager is taking control of her destiny and becoming the hard-hitting hero she's always known she can be - complete with a mild-mannered secret identity, unsuspecting colleagues, and a day job as a reporter that routinely throws into her harms way! Well, at least she thought it would When she's not typing up listicles about cat videos, Faith makes a secret transformation to patrol the night as the City of Angels' own leading superhero - the sky-soaring Zephyr!But flying solo is going to be tougher than she ever thought when Zephyr uncovers a deep-rooted alien conspiracy. Two-bit burglars and car thieves are one thing, but when the world needs a hero to stave off an full-blown extraterrestrial invasion, will Faith find herself in over her head or ready for her biggest challenge yet?Rising star Jody Houser (Orphan Black) and explosive artists Francis Portela (Green Lantern) and Marguerite Sauvage (DC Comics Bombshells) pilot a new chapter for the high-flying hero that People Magazine calls "a superhero we can all admire." Collecting: Faith 1-4

Faith, Volume 1 Details

TitleFaith, Volume 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 6th, 2016
PublisherValiant Entertainment, LLC
ISBN1682151212
ISBN-139781682151211
Number of pages123 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Superheroes, Graphic Novels Comics, Fiction, Fantasy

Faith, Volume 1 Review

  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    January 25, 2017
    I have never read anything with Faith in it before but it didn't take away from the story. I thought it was pretty good. Faith is trying to go it alone without her crew. She works a regular job during the day and helps people by night or in the day time if need be. She is a very sweet character. My favorite was when she saved the dogs =DI loved the graphics as well. She had some help trying to find out what was going on with these evil peeps and it all turned out okay in the end. I hope to read I have never read anything with Faith in it before but it didn't take away from the story. I thought it was pretty good. Faith is trying to go it alone without her crew. She works a regular job during the day and helps people by night or in the day time if need be. She is a very sweet character. My favorite was when she saved the dogs =DI loved the graphics as well. She had some help trying to find out what was going on with these evil peeps and it all turned out okay in the end. I hope to read more of her adventures!
    more
  • Sesana
    September 21, 2016
    It's refreshing to see a superhero comic that goes beyond just refusing to hypersexualize its female lead and stars an overweight woman whose weight is a non-issue. It's totally unrelated to her powers, to her work as a superhero, to her personal life, to anything. And beyond that, I really like Faith as a character. Unfortunately, the story is kind of meh. It does nothing for me. I'll still probably read the next volume she shows up again, because I like her, but the story here is a snooze.
    more
  • Gary
    January 12, 2017
    I enjoy reading a few of Valiant's titles, but I have to admit that as a rule the general tone - with some exceptions - is quite grim. This miniseries (which was quickly upgraded to an ongoing), focusing on the popular Renegades character Faith Herbert a.k.a. Zephyr, is an even more radical departure in that it endeavors to do what even Valiant's handful of "fun" books neglect to do - charm their readers with the kind of optimism and exuberance that made superhero comics so popular in the first I enjoy reading a few of Valiant's titles, but I have to admit that as a rule the general tone - with some exceptions - is quite grim. This miniseries (which was quickly upgraded to an ongoing), focusing on the popular Renegades character Faith Herbert a.k.a. Zephyr, is an even more radical departure in that it endeavors to do what even Valiant's handful of "fun" books neglect to do - charm their readers with the kind of optimism and exuberance that made superhero comics so popular in the first place. It's the kind of approach that Marvel got right with their recent Ms. Marvel and Silver Surfer titles (among others).Hollywood and Vine finds Faith moving to Los Angeles after the breakup of the Renegades, assuming a secret identity as a mild mannered web content provider (because no one does any actual reporting anymore) and coming across a plot by the alien Vine to avenge an earlier lost conflict with humanity by infiltrating Hollywood.The thing that makes Faith work so well, as a book and a character, is that Faith is a comic book nerd herself, and tries to faithfully employ the various tropes of the superhero genre in her own hero-ing career - only to discover that the formula doesn't always fit the circumstances. This isn't necessarily a new idea, but Faith's ability to improvise and adjust under fire is what sets her apart, as well as her innate belief in herself and her instinct to distinguish between her own preconceptions and the reality she faces. In this sense, she is kind of like the ideal Jane Austen heroine in superhero form.Bravo.(p.s. Don't worry if you're unfamiliar with Valiant continuity. What little background you need to get started with this character is provided in the first issue.)
    more
  • The Bookavid
    March 12, 2016
    Originally Published On My Review Blog The Bookavid In FAITH, somebody is hunting down future superheroes and Faith, telekinetic fat superhero at your service, is determined to find out what's going on. What intrigued me: I've seen FAITH around on tumblr and have been excited to read this for a while. Original, full of representation, and fun This is such a wonderful feel-good read. It's about time that we get a fat superhero whose story isn't about their weight, but about being just as awesome Originally Published On My Review Blog The Bookavid In FAITH, somebody is hunting down future superheroes and Faith, telekinetic fat superhero at your service, is determined to find out what's going on. What intrigued me: I've seen FAITH around on tumblr and have been excited to read this for a while. Original, full of representation, and fun This is such a wonderful feel-good read. It's about time that we get a fat superhero whose story isn't about their weight, but about being just as awesome as all other superheroes out there! FAITH does exactly that, tells the story of "psiot" superhero Faith (or her alter ego Zephyr) who works part-time in journalism and part time solves crime. What initially doesn't sound that innovative is absolutely compensated by the storyline, art work, and insanely fun protagonist.What makes FAITH stand out isn't necessarily the looks of the heroine, but more what's inside. I'd even go as far as to say that you don't even need to like superheros to enjoy FAITH. There is little fighting and solving crime in this, but lots of little pop culture references and fun design choices. And Faith herself is desperately loveable. Aside from Faith, the side characters are ethnically diverse, and just giving this overall a very realistic feel that always enriches every comic book.I thoroughly enjoyed Faith's super funny, poignant, and absolutely spot-on narration that just spices everything up immensely. I love how smartly her thoughts are integrated into the story to introduce characters and give background information, so that I hardly had problems understanding what was going on, which is so often my biggest criticism with graphic novels and comics. Alternate drawing styles and fun daydream sequences The absolute highlight of this comic collection are the fun design choices. FAITH sometimes takes a break from the undoubtedly very heavy and depressing main story line about psiots getting abducted, and it just works. From alternate day dream worlds doodled in candy pastel colors to the dark green-tinted and shadowed side plot featuring imprisoned psiots, it never gets boring.It's never cheesy or inappropriate, it's funny every time to read about Faith's daydreams involving her favorite celebrity falling in love with her.You won't find any repetitive panels in this, FAITH absolutely convinced with originality in plot, design, and message. Rating:★★★★☆ Overall: Do I Recommend? Absolutely. I will definitely recommend this and be on the look out for future issues, because I cannot wait to read more about Faith and the psiots! Zephyr is truly the original, fun, and body-positive superhero that was missing in the genre.
    more
  • Diana
    July 27, 2016
    More like 3'5 starsI just liked this comic a lot. It is full of surprises, like for instance, this retake of the woman figure in super heroes comics. I love that she is overweight, and that the other characters have lots of different physical atributes instead of sporting the same kind of body. I also enjoyed the reference to Superman: heroe and reporter hahahaThe story line is quite good, and we found a super heroe who is quite human, which is also very appreciated. It references a lot of backs More like 3'5 starsI just liked this comic a lot. It is full of surprises, like for instance, this retake of the woman figure in super heroes comics. I love that she is overweight, and that the other characters have lots of different physical atributes instead of sporting the same kind of body. I also enjoyed the reference to Superman: heroe and reporter hahahaThe story line is quite good, and we found a super heroe who is quite human, which is also very appreciated. It references a lot of backstories that aren't present on the actual comic, so I guess we will be getting more information on thispast as the series goes on. And the actual story is quite curious and leaves you wanting to know more.
    more
  • Chris
    June 11, 2016
    Faith is a fresh, funny and action packed new comic series. Jody Houser's writing is just fantastic and the artwork is bright and traditional and lovely. I was immediately drawn to the story and the humour on offer, and Faith herself is just a delightful character to follow. I really enjoyed this book and felt like it just went by in a flash, I can't wait to read on and discover more about the characters and the world they inhabit. I recommend this, for sure.
    more
  • Jen
    July 19, 2016
    I enjoyed the artwork and the storyline. The reality tv show was tongue in cheek funny. I liked that the MC was not the typical bosomy skinny mini with muscles on muscles and gravity-defying barely there costumes. My only quibble is I feel like there is much more back story that I wasn't caught up on enough to catch everything in this volume. I would like to read more of the back story and would like to read the continuation of Faith's story. 4 solid stars.
    more
  • Raina
    January 9, 2017
    I was surprised how much I liked this. And it wasn't just the hero. Usually, superhero-universe characters are too actiony or referential for me, unless they're not macro-universe-based (cf. Ms. Marvel. Vol. 1: No Normal, Rising Stars: Born in Fire). Here, I loved how much time was spent on the practicalities of life as a superhero - with a dayjob, alias, exes, relationships. Solid, readable, engaging. Yeah, kinda loved it.
    more
  • Rita
    August 13, 2016
    Fun and smart and lives up to the hype. It's a book I wish I'd written and it motivates me to work on the one I am writing. This superhero is way overdue! Thank the gods she's arrived at last!
  • Seizure Romero
    March 3, 2017
    Not a follower of Valiant, so I felt a little afloat regarding characters & back story. A little too much cutesy romantic fantasy. Still funny. What I found to be the most ridiculous, unbelievable, downright far-fetched nonsense? That full-page shot of Faith flying over the 405 freeway. Those lush green hills and big fluffy trees are pure fantasy in the desert that is Southern California. Has the artist ever been to L.A.? OUTRAGEOUS MISREPRESENTATION.
    more
  • Paul
    May 18, 2016
    I loved this a lot. I initially gave this a 4 but while writing this review, I realized how great this was, and it's going to a 5. This is probably the best female-centered graphic novel I've read so far. What I love about it is that author Jody Houser treats her characters as regular people. Faith is an overweight superhero but not once did Houser even write anything in the graphic novel to talk about that. Faith is just who she is. Faith loves SFF and geeky things but it wasn't over-the-top to I loved this a lot. I initially gave this a 4 but while writing this review, I realized how great this was, and it's going to a 5. This is probably the best female-centered graphic novel I've read so far. What I love about it is that author Jody Houser treats her characters as regular people. Faith is an overweight superhero but not once did Houser even write anything in the graphic novel to talk about that. Faith is just who she is. Faith loves SFF and geeky things but it wasn't over-the-top to the point where it was patronizing. Houser never once puts all this in the reader's face by giving Faith some ridiculous overweight scene or geek girls are real scene, it is all just who Faith is. We know right away from the art, that this is who Faith is, and it is fantastic. The cast of this comic is so diverse but it never brings attention to it, it just is. The biggest thing is that Faith is a desirable woman, that has ex-issues, but is also dating a new guy. An overweight geeky superhero girl that is dating and I am just super excited over this fact. I also loved the fact that in her head imagination, she always wears low cut shirts, but in real life, she doesn't. I think this says something interesting about the character. This graphic novel says, "this is what our world is like," and just goes along with the story. Nothing has been more of a spiritual successor to Whedon's Buffy than this. It just felt right. The story was very Whedonesque. Basically, people are kidnapping psiots(the superhumans in this world), and Faith is tracking down these bad guys. This isn't a super complex story but it works really well. Yes, there are many instances of the narrative talking about things that happened in other comic books before this volume of Faith, but the reader can figure it out rather quickly. I'm definitely going to be following this series with the new on-going series that they are putting out now. This also gives me more determination to try more Valiant comics in the future. To sum it up, I was so impressed with how the graphic novel was handled, that I had to give it a 5.
    more
  • jess
    August 7, 2016
    The first three issues of Faith are a delight. It has the backstory and world building you need and expect from any new character's universe -- where did you come from? what can you do? who did you hurt, and who has hurt you? mild-mannered secret identity. You know, the things we need to give any sh!ts about a character. But Faith is also more than just a fun new superhero comic. She's a woman, and she's fat. The book never beats you over the head with these facts, but obviously her identity inf The first three issues of Faith are a delight. It has the backstory and world building you need and expect from any new character's universe -- where did you come from? what can you do? who did you hurt, and who has hurt you? mild-mannered secret identity. You know, the things we need to give any sh!ts about a character. But Faith is also more than just a fun new superhero comic. She's a woman, and she's fat. The book never beats you over the head with these facts, but obviously her identity informs her decisions and motivations as a superhero. The stories become a vehicle to legitimize and acknowledge the lives of people who happen to also be women, who happen to also be fat. And that, my friend, is harnessing the power of comics for the good of the world. Faith is the superhero who can save us from ourselves.
    more
  • Chessa
    February 21, 2017
    I really liked the premise, but the details really got in the way for me. The plot was just kind of meh. Most of all, I found Faith's internal monologue text boxes reeeeeaaaaallllly distracting - and it really cluttered up the frames. I think this is where I will leave this series.
    more
  • Venus Maneater
    August 15, 2016
    Got to read this comic for free through NetGalley, but that won't influence this review in any way.Such a lovely cover! Faith sitting peacefully, rockin' her gear, rockin' that beautiful ombre hair, probably writing a review about the last comic she read. Pigeons like WTF is happening. Faith - Superhero Zephyr by night, and wig-wearing Buzzfeed-esque reporter by day. She's sweet, she's a nerd (there are even action figures in her bathroom!), she's plus-size, just a tiny bit insecure, but spunky Got to read this comic for free through NetGalley, but that won't influence this review in any way.Such a lovely cover! Faith sitting peacefully, rockin' her gear, rockin' that beautiful ombre hair, probably writing a review about the last comic she read. Pigeons like WTF is happening. Faith - Superhero Zephyr by night, and wig-wearing Buzzfeed-esque reporter by day. She's sweet, she's a nerd (there are even action figures in her bathroom!), she's plus-size, just a tiny bit insecure, but spunky and funny when it matters. I like her, she's refreshing. Not overly hilarious (it's not like she constantly has a come-back ready), but funny and a bit of a fumbler. The cast is diverse, but it doesn't feel forced or ham-fisted in any way, there are just many people of color and that rocks. One thing though; I love that Faith is a plus-size girl. I mean, there are a lot of big people in the world, so why shouldn't there be a thick superhero as well? But, she seems to be the only plus-sized cast member in this comic, literally everyone else is thin. Not that that's a bad thing; I'm a skinny girl as well, but I picked up this comic hoping to see more diversity, and not just in gender and color. The story certainly has potential, but the first two-thirds of this comic is lacking a bit. We're mostly following Faith around during her search for some real crime (instead of saving puppies from pooch-stealing cartels), and her search is, well, long and slow. And when the story finally really gets going, when she finally gets that serious life-risking crime fighting she'd been looking for, it's over before you know it. Cliffhanger. Ugh.TL;DRPros:- Diverse Cast- Realistic Protagonist- Funny but with moderation- Beautiful coversCons:- In this comic there is one thick girl and a whole lotta skinny people.- Story is lacking- Liked the art during Faith's "imagination" sequences more than the regular art
    more
  • Elena
    September 12, 2016
    I loved the eponymous character introduced in this series. I was very excited to discover a fat superheroine who can fly, with nary a fat joke to be seen (whoo!). This is definitely a series to appeal to Millennials, since it's very tied in to pop culture (for example, Faith's modern Clark Kent day job is at a BuzzFeed clone writing articles such as "10 More Actors Named Chris Who Should Play Superheroes on the Big Screen"), and I think it hits its mark there. However, the plot lagged a little i I loved the eponymous character introduced in this series. I was very excited to discover a fat superheroine who can fly, with nary a fat joke to be seen (whoo!). This is definitely a series to appeal to Millennials, since it's very tied in to pop culture (for example, Faith's modern Clark Kent day job is at a BuzzFeed clone writing articles such as "10 More Actors Named Chris Who Should Play Superheroes on the Big Screen"), and I think it hits its mark there. However, the plot lagged a little in comparison to the awesomeness of Faith--I thought she deserved a more compelling story and a way better villain to battle.
    more
  • Lata
    October 29, 2016
    Light, amusing, fast-paced, and fun. This comic says a lot without slapping you upside the head about it. Faith is a geek girl and superhero (who's also a Firefly fan). She doesn't look like the typical superhero. I liked that Faith looked like a real woman, and didn't stress about her looks or her weight. She's self-confident about herself, despite her somewhat angsty internal monologues. She's got a rather mundane job, and her coworkers look like real people. Again, nice details.I'll be checki Light, amusing, fast-paced, and fun. This comic says a lot without slapping you upside the head about it. Faith is a geek girl and superhero (who's also a Firefly fan). She doesn't look like the typical superhero. I liked that Faith looked like a real woman, and didn't stress about her looks or her weight. She's self-confident about herself, despite her somewhat angsty internal monologues. She's got a rather mundane job, and her coworkers look like real people. Again, nice details.I'll be checking out the next volume.
    more
  • Pam (The Girl Who Cried Books)
    September 16, 2016
    The whole time I was reading Faith, I imagined Rebel Wilson. I mean, Summer a.k.a Zephyr is cool and had the right amount of comical bits which made me think of Rebel Wilson. If this comic book series is ever going to be a TV series, they better star Rebel. That aside, I think the story is refreshing in terms of the main character. She’s unconventional in a way that Zephyr’s character defied society’s typical 36-24-36 superheroes. She’s bigger but just as awesome! It’s actually empowering. I’m l The whole time I was reading Faith, I imagined Rebel Wilson. I mean, Summer a.k.a Zephyr is cool and had the right amount of comical bits which made me think of Rebel Wilson. If this comic book series is ever going to be a TV series, they better star Rebel. That aside, I think the story is refreshing in terms of the main character. She’s unconventional in a way that Zephyr’s character defied society’s typical 36-24-36 superheroes. She’s bigger but just as awesome! It’s actually empowering. I’m looking forward to more exciting adventures with Faith!
    more
  • Jonathan
    October 22, 2016
    This tries really hard to embrace all of the quirky and lovable parts of Superman as Clark Kent the journalist and Peter Parker the photographer but comes up rather short for me. However, some parts succeed enough that I'm interested in reading the next volume.
    more
  • Shelly
    February 4, 2017
    This comic is okay. It was good enough that I read all of it in one day and plan to get the 2nd volume from the library, but I didn't love it. Story wise, I'd say it's more 3 stars (good, but not great), but I added a star for a well done portrayal of a fat woman (who also happens to be a superhero).
    more
  • Lindsay
    January 10, 2017
    Glad I read it, but not overwhelmed enough to continue. Liked that there was a fat superhero, the geeky references. Some LOL moments. But there was something about the overall plot that just didn't hook me...or that wasn't fresh enough to stand out as a superhero comic.Read Harder: Superhero comic w/ female lead
    more
  • Connie
    February 17, 2017
    Stuck between a 2.5 and 3/5 stars, so I'll just round downI dunno... I just didn't really care about anything that happened in this. Or anyone, really. Everything just fell kinda flat and I didn't feel involved in the characters lives or the whole plot and stuff. There's not really much to say other than I didn't feel much of anything reading this, and the art was OK. I think one of the only things I liked about this volume was the fact that Faith is a bigger female superhero, and nobody makes a Stuck between a 2.5 and 3/5 stars, so I'll just round downI dunno... I just didn't really care about anything that happened in this. Or anyone, really. Everything just fell kinda flat and I didn't feel involved in the characters lives or the whole plot and stuff. There's not really much to say other than I didn't feel much of anything reading this, and the art was OK. I think one of the only things I liked about this volume was the fact that Faith is a bigger female superhero, and nobody makes any nasty comments about that- I'm very self conscious about my weight, and seeing her kicking ass and not giving a shit was really nice and inspiring. But yeah. Probably not going to carry this series on, unfortunately.
    more
  • Magda
    September 7, 2016
    Interesting and refreshing - a story of a superhero that would surprise you, make you laugh and definitely keep you entertained. It has superpowers, mystery, and a classic secret identity :).Since NetGalley offered only two issues [half of the first volume] I can't tell you if the whole thing is fantastic and exceptional, or if it's simply a nice graphic novel. What I can tell you is that it surely picked my interest and I really enjoyed reading these two chapters.Faith is a superhero, she used Interesting and refreshing - a story of a superhero that would surprise you, make you laugh and definitely keep you entertained. It has superpowers, mystery, and a classic secret identity :).Since NetGalley offered only two issues [half of the first volume] I can't tell you if the whole thing is fantastic and exceptional, or if it's simply a nice graphic novel. What I can tell you is that it surely picked my interest and I really enjoyed reading these two chapters.Faith is a superhero, she used to be a part of the team, but now she decided she wants to go solo. And why not? After all crime's everywhere and even one superhero will make a difference. She moved to the City of Angels, created her "classic" undercover character and started working in her day job. Why classic? I'll give you a hint - it deals with writing.As you can see from the very first pages Faith might not look like a superhero, but she doesn't care! She's awesome just the way she is.Obviously, the novel is not about her everyday life, but rather about an unfolding mystery of disappearing people. People with superpowers that might've become heroes one day. Unluckily for them, someone doesn't like that and wants to eliminate them. Now Faith will have to find them and kick their butts.As in graphic novels, there are plenty of dialogs to read, but authors included just as much of Faith's thoughts! That is just perfect since it helps to clear the situation, shows her though process and in some cases - brings a bit of humor!So did I enjoy reading this? Yes! Do I plan to continue? At least with the first volume - yes, I want to know how it ends and I really want to know what happens after the end of the second issue! And I really liked the graphic, I'd love to add this novel to my shelves.I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cathleen
    May 18, 2016
    Combination of high expectations and even higher hopes could have set me up for disappointment, but that was not the case at all. Faith, both the character and the first collected volume, is pure delight.So many, myself included, have attributed primary anticipation to the revolutionary idea of a plus-sized superhero. That choice is absolutely part of the appeal, but it would do Faith a disservice to narrow all conversation to this. She is intelligent, caring, positive, generous, powerful, and s Combination of high expectations and even higher hopes could have set me up for disappointment, but that was not the case at all. Faith, both the character and the first collected volume, is pure delight.So many, myself included, have attributed primary anticipation to the revolutionary idea of a plus-sized superhero. That choice is absolutely part of the appeal, but it would do Faith a disservice to narrow all conversation to this. She is intelligent, caring, positive, generous, powerful, and self-aware. At the same time, her occasional struggles with feeling lost, doubting choices, and worrying if she's doing enough make her even more relatable. She is self-sufficient but knows the wisdom of assembling good people around her. Her day job is beneath her talents, but still she gives it her best. She is a fangirl who takes pleasure in pop culture and geeky loves. Faith has a quick wit and a playful spirit, and she manages to keep both afloat even when rescuing children from danger, foiling puppy-nappers, or battling a supervillain.She is inspiration and entertainment, and should be celebrated right alongside Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Bandette, and Ms Marvel. The world would be better were we all to #flylikeFaith.
    more
  • Lou
    March 5, 2016
    I'm not a huge fan of superheroes. Not because I dont like them, but because no matter their stories and background, they are all the same. It's like a kind of cliché the way superheroes must look and that got me tired.So, of course when I saw the cover of this book, I thought I was allucinating -no kidding, I really couldn't not believe my eyes!- so inmediately I read the description and it was enough. I had to read it.And what a wise decision I made!This is amazing in all the extension of the I'm not a huge fan of superheroes. Not because I dont like them, but because no matter their stories and background, they are all the same. It's like a kind of cliché the way superheroes must look and that got me tired.So, of course when I saw the cover of this book, I thought I was allucinating -no kidding, I really couldn't not believe my eyes!- so inmediately I read the description and it was enough. I had to read it.And what a wise decision I made!This is amazing in all the extension of the world. I loved Faith as Summer and Zephyr. Such a wonderful and complex character that made me admire her. She's confident and has her feet on the ground although she can fly.The story was also interesting. I can't wait to figure out what is going to happen next, so I'm going to follow this series until the very end.Even when I only have read the first 2 episodes, I'm quite sure the following story will be as great as the first two. In conclussion, I can only say that I have a new favorite superhero, and man, she rocks!I recieved a copy through Netgalley but this fact didn't influence the review.
    more
  • Maggie Gordon
    October 23, 2016
    To start, the plot of Faith isn't anything special for a superhero comic. Bad guys are being bad and our superlady has to come save the day with the help of her friends.What makes Faith truly shine, however, is Faith herself. Faith is the first superhero character I have ever seen that is overweight. And not just overweight, she's not even the tiny allowable type of overweight with an hour glass figure and perfectly trim face. She's got a lot of belly fat, she's not full of socially accepted cur To start, the plot of Faith isn't anything special for a superhero comic. Bad guys are being bad and our superlady has to come save the day with the help of her friends.What makes Faith truly shine, however, is Faith herself. Faith is the first superhero character I have ever seen that is overweight. And not just overweight, she's not even the tiny allowable type of overweight with an hour glass figure and perfectly trim face. She's got a lot of belly fat, she's not full of socially accepted curves, and even in her fantasies, she's still a big lady. And it doesn't matter. Her weight barely comes up, save for a quip from someone dating her ex. Faith is a competent superhero, has a life and interests and talents. And she's fat. It's bloody amazing. There are really no other characters like her, and I hope like hell her book continues for a long time. Sure, the plot wasn't all that interesting, but I've given Morrison and Snyder books 2 stars several times, so I will take safe in plot, ground breaking in characters any day.
    more
  • Nutty
    September 22, 2016
    I loved this comic so much. It was the first comic in decades that I bought issue by issue instead of waiting for the trade. I then bought the trade too for my shelf of awesome things. I was drawn to Faith because she was a fat superhero and that support if representation matters to me. I feel in love with Faith because she's a geek like her readers. She's always making references,a lot of then Whedon, but also star wars, trek, red dwarf, other comics, and more. Faith feels like a person I'd wan I loved this comic so much. It was the first comic in decades that I bought issue by issue instead of waiting for the trade. I then bought the trade too for my shelf of awesome things. I was drawn to Faith because she was a fat superhero and that support if representation matters to me. I feel in love with Faith because she's a geek like her readers. She's always making references,a lot of then Whedon, but also star wars, trek, red dwarf, other comics, and more. Faith feels like a person I'd want to be friends with. She really cares about the people she's saving and the people around her. Her size never gets Uber the way of being awesome, in superhero land or in romance land, because she doesn't let it. She also uses her size to disappear in her secret identity, something fat girls are all too familiar with. Thanks to the success of this run they started a regular series, and it's amazing!
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    March 29, 2016
    A plus-size geek superheroine who tried for the classic 'journalist' secret identity, but because journalism is dying ends up creating clickbait content instead...it's certainly a very now pitch. But unlike Squirrel Girl, or Ms Marvel, or Hellcat, it somehow lacks that extra pizzazz to make me really start rooting for Faith or invest in her travails. I've generally only connected with Valiant's comedy superhero comics and, while this is hardly grimngritty, nor is it outright playing for laughs. A plus-size geek superheroine who tried for the classic 'journalist' secret identity, but because journalism is dying ends up creating clickbait content instead...it's certainly a very now pitch. But unlike Squirrel Girl, or Ms Marvel, or Hellcat, it somehow lacks that extra pizzazz to make me really start rooting for Faith or invest in her travails. I've generally only connected with Valiant's comedy superhero comics and, while this is hardly grimngritty, nor is it outright playing for laughs. I can see why it's found a fond fanbase, but it's not for me. Which does at least solve the dilemma of where to shelve something for which Netgalley were only offering an ARC of the first half. Update: ended up reading the other two issues after all, when it turned up in the library. Otherwise, everything above still stands.
    more
  • Alisha Webster
    March 5, 2016
    Read this review and more at The Bohemian Housewife BlogI read through the first two issues of 'Faith'. I was a little disappointed by it because I don't have 3 & 4! Jokes aside, I absolutely enjoy this comic. It was different, and Faith/Summer/Zephyr's was very entertaining. I loved the hints of fandoms throughout the pages. I'm a huge Doctor Who fan, so I a bit excited. Her friends seem fascinating; I'm looking forward to learning more about them. Faith will have you hooked from the first Read this review and more at The Bohemian Housewife BlogI read through the first two issues of 'Faith'. I was a little disappointed by it because I don't have 3 & 4! Jokes aside, I absolutely enjoy this comic. It was different, and Faith/Summer/Zephyr's was very entertaining. I loved the hints of fandoms throughout the pages. I'm a huge Doctor Who fan, so I a bit excited. Her friends seem fascinating; I'm looking forward to learning more about them. Faith will have you hooked from the first page. My only wish is that there was more action, but I think as an introduction to the series it was great. I'm not sure I can wait until July for the next issues, but I will do my best. Faith is only my watch list! I hope she sticks around. I received this for an honest review.
    more
  • Robert Greenberger
    August 19, 2016
    Faith is an interesting breakout character for Valiant in that she reflects stereotypical female comic book readership as well as wish fulfillment for some readers. She's a fan girl par excellance and a superheroine at the same time, filled with moments of heroism and lots of self-doubt.NetGalley provided me with a partial preview of this collection and it moves at a deliberate clip. Jody Hauser really gets into Faith's mind with terrific first person narration. Francis Portella does a solid job Faith is an interesting breakout character for Valiant in that she reflects stereotypical female comic book readership as well as wish fulfillment for some readers. She's a fan girl par excellance and a superheroine at the same time, filled with moments of heroism and lots of self-doubt.NetGalley provided me with a partial preview of this collection and it moves at a deliberate clip. Jody Hauser really gets into Faith's mind with terrific first person narration. Francis Portella does a solid job with the artwork and the story clearly establishes her as a solo act.She was once part of Harbinger and is now headlining her own title, meaning there's hope for heroes of all shapes and sizes along with comics that have strong points of view and avoid cliches. This is a recommended read.
    more
  • Bridget Mckinney
    May 22, 2016
    Faith had me at its gorgeous cover art, particular for issue two, which is so beautiful and so joyful that it makes me happy just looking at it. The comic itself is delightful fluff, not devoid of depth and meaning but bright and optimistic (yet without being Pollyannaish). I’ve never been particularly interested in superheroes, and the last couple of decades’ trend towards darkness, grittiness, antiheroism, and generalized cynicism has turned me even more off of the genre. In that landscape, Fa Faith had me at its gorgeous cover art, particular for issue two, which is so beautiful and so joyful that it makes me happy just looking at it. The comic itself is delightful fluff, not devoid of depth and meaning but bright and optimistic (yet without being Pollyannaish). I’ve never been particularly interested in superheroes, and the last couple of decades’ trend towards darkness, grittiness, antiheroism, and generalized cynicism has turned me even more off of the genre. In that landscape, Faith is a breath of fresh air that makes me wonder what else I might be missing by so completely avoiding super hero comics.Read the full review at SF Bluestocking.
    more
Write a review