The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
An unforgettable tale of two friends on their Grand Tour of 18th-century Europe who stumble upon a magical artifact that leads them from Paris to Venice in a dangerous manhunt, fighting pirates, highwaymen, and their feelings for each other along the way.Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.But as Monty embarks on his grand tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.Witty, romantic, and intriguing at every turn, The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue is a sumptuous romp that explores the undeniably fine lines between friendship and love.

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Details

TitleThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
ISBN0062382802
ISBN-139780062382801
Number of pages528 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical Fiction, Young Adult, Glbt, Historical, Fantasy

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Review

  • Wendy Darling
    February 23, 2016
    4.5 stars Boys fighting pirates and their feelings for each other in 18th century Paris and Venice! *swoon*We hosted the official cover reveal this morning, accompanied by an early ARC giveaway and the MOST ADORABLE video by the author talking about why she wrote the book. She touches on wanting to address frustrating historical tropes and the lack of queer representation, as well as how "strong" femininity is defined. Oh, and there are pirates and villains and a swoonworthy romance, too!http:// 4.5 stars Boys fighting pirates and their feelings for each other in 18th century Paris and Venice! *swoon*We hosted the official cover reveal this morning, accompanied by an early ARC giveaway and the MOST ADORABLE video by the author talking about why she wrote the book. She touches on wanting to address frustrating historical tropes and the lack of queer representation, as well as how "strong" femininity is defined. Oh, and there are pirates and villains and a swoonworthy romance, too!http://www.themidnightgarden.net/2016...PLEASE read the amazing excerpt on that post if you're considering the book. The witty dialogue and intimacy of the first chapter made me fall in love with it, and I'm fairly certain it'll whip you into a frenzy of longing as well. As Mackenzi says, this is the big gay 18th century road trip novel you didn't know you wanted!Also, I loved the book enough to write a blurb for the ARC. :) Here's a sneak peek: https://www.instagram.com/p/BK7MhzCAHER/
    more
  • Cait (Paper Fury)
    December 14, 2016
    I haven't even the words to summarise how much I ABSOLUTELY FREAKING ADORE THIS BOOK. I can't even stop gushing about it!! Everything was beyond perfect and I. am. in. love. It was sassy and hilarious and fast moving (like how did I read 500+ pages in a day?!) and so adorable I cannot even. I just cannot. Honestly as soon as this is out I'm BUYING IT AND THEN HUGGING IT and then putting it on my Favourite Books Of Ever Shelf.Unfortunately it doesn't come out till June. Erm, so sorry about me gus I haven't even the words to summarise how much I ABSOLUTELY FREAKING ADORE THIS BOOK. I can't even stop gushing about it!! Everything was beyond perfect and I. am. in. love. It was sassy and hilarious and fast moving (like how did I read 500+ pages in a day?!) and so adorable I cannot even. I just cannot. Honestly as soon as this is out I'm BUYING IT AND THEN HUGGING IT and then putting it on my Favourite Books Of Ever Shelf.Unfortunately it doesn't come out till June. Erm, so sorry about me gushing so early!! I'm just going to do a smol review now and come back and re-read and shout at you more on release day!!But just know: it is 5000% PERFECTION and one of the best books of life. You're going to need it. YOU ARE.WHY I LOVE IT SO MUCH:• it's seriously downright hilarious, sassy, and adorable• Monty has the most engaging and winning voice ever• he's also a complete ass and an absolute privileged bastard at times, but you know what??? his friends CALL HIM OUT on it, and he (after throwing an offended tantrum) listens and learns• speaking of which: diversity• diversity sO MUCH. Including a bisexual narrator, featuring m/m romance, disability, ethnicity diversity, anxiety, and PTSD.• And it's all SO well represented and SO well covered and NOTHING is just brushed over flippantly.• my heart BROKE in so many places• like literally smashed into small tiny pieces and I haven't felt so in love or so protective of characters for a LONG TIME• (ok that's a total lie...I haven't since last week when I read A Conjuring of Light but hush now)• it reminded me of The Lies of Locke Lamora which is one of my favourite books!!• it features a tour of the Continent, with stop overs in places like Paris, Spain, and Greece!• it's historical fiction and yet still had the most engaging tone and didn't feel dry or anything (which I often find HF to be)• it has a smidge of magic• there's a violin• there are PIRATES• Felicity (whom seems to be canon asexual) is a bookworm, absolutely intelligent, will stab you with a spork if you cross her, and is 500% done with your shennanigans before you start• The trio of Monty, Percy, and Felicity is MY OFFICIAL FAVOURITE.• The unrequited romance of Monty/Percy is SO CUTE but yet SO ANGSTY I wanted to slap their heads together but I also ship them so bad it's ridiculous.• I love this book so so much.• IT IS ABSOLUTELY CRUSHING ME WITH FEELS AND ADORATION!!!!• BEST NOVEL OF LIFE.
    more
  • Mackenzi
    April 21, 2016
    IDK sounds kinda dumb.
  • Kai
    December 15, 2016
    "The world could have been a blank canvas and I still would have been exactly this livid with happiness, just to be with him."The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a wild and vivid tale of treachery, love and friendship set against the backdrop of Europe in the 18 hundreds.Plot:Henry Montague loves alcohol, romantic adventures and long, sleepless nights out. His father, however, despises exactly that, and everything Henry stands for. He sends him on one last trip, a so called Grand Tour ar "The world could have been a blank canvas and I still would have been exactly this livid with happiness, just to be with him."The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is a wild and vivid tale of treachery, love and friendship set against the backdrop of Europe in the 18 hundreds.Plot:Henry Montague loves alcohol, romantic adventures and long, sleepless nights out. His father, however, despises exactly that, and everything Henry stands for. He sends him on one last trip, a so called Grand Tour around Europe, where he is to visit famous cities and attend philosophical lectures, just to strip off his youthful and irresponsible behaviour and take over his father's estate afterwards.Henry however, has something completely different in mind. He is going to enjoy this trip to the fullest, drink some more wine, roam the streets with his childhood friend Percy, and fool around with the prettiest of the prettiest.Before the journey can start however, all of his plans come to an end: a Guardian will be there to watch over them and make sure Henry behaves, otherwise he shall not return to England at all, and be stripped of all the priviliges his father's money and position gave him.With a huge crush on Percy, his seemingly narrow-minded sister Felicity and the more than obnoxious guardian, he sulkingly sets out on an adventure, he couldn't have imagined in his wildest dreams.Characters:Henry/Monty is the cliché jock: handsome, rich, cheeky and arrogant. So exactly the guy we all love to fall for. However, over the course of this wild adventure some character developement is to be expected, though it wasn't executed as well as I would have wished for. In the end, I wasn't convinced that Henry actually learned from his mistakes and really outgrew his foolishness and arrogance. Just because the author said he did, doesn't mean this character development actually happened.Percy, his best friend ever since they were little kids, is a very intruiging character. He outweighs Henry's ignorance and he's the reasonable and decent voice of the pair. He may support and love his best friend, but he has his own battles to fight, and seems unsure if Henry is willing and able to fight them with him.Felicity, is the true gem and Queen of this book. I completely and utterly rooted for her, and it was she who convinced me that this book was more than just a simple YA love story. Her strength, confidence and intelligence saved Henry and Percy several times. She's basically their own Hermione Granger.Writing:Let me be honest: I expected a little more. The novel's summary makes it appear, that we will get to see all these amazing cities, experience their 18th century flair and culture. If that is what you are here for, you should find another book. The author's focus is on the plot and the characters, rather then the history of Paris, Venice and such. It's not that this part is completely left out, it just moves into the background and is of less importance than you might expect.The story itself is rather predictable and would have been easily solved, if the main characters just sat down for once and talked in earnest.I also wished for a different ending. (view spoiler)[It was to open and uncertain for my taste. The conflicts that the characters had to deal with, regarding their future as a same sex couple or as a female doctor/pirate did not convince me as a reader. Furthermore, I wanted Henry to face his father, share his opinion, and take a stand, rather then send a single letter, that included a threat to deface his father in front of the society. For me, this was too easy and not satisfying enough. (hide spoiler)].The author still manages to spin an amazing and entertaining tale, due to her humour and and feminist conviction.Feminism, Diversity, and LGBTQ+ topics:Here come the reasons why this book is worth its four stars!You might think it's impossible or difficult to put together a diverse and colourful cast in a young adult novel set in the 18 hundreds, where the rich and and powerful were exclusively white and male. But Mackenzie Lee proves the opposite. Here we have a biracial, gay (or bi- or pansexual, I'm not entirely sure) upperclassman and an independent, forward-thinking teenage girl that puts every man in this book to shame with her intelligence and fierceness. I loved how Felictiy showed bravery and brains, where Henry lacked both. I loved how she educated Percy and and Henry and showed them, that, just because she's a woman, doesn't mean she holds her tongue and looks pretty all day long. No, a woman is so much more than an accessoire that gives status to a man.In a nutshell: an entertaining adventure for everyone who loves slow burning gay romance, but also evidence, that equality has no boundaries, neither in literature, nor in life.---------------------------Did I hear "Paris", "Rome" and "Venice"?Did someone mention Gentlemen and grand tour of Europe?Did someone say something about a hedonistic hurrah and flirt?Did someone say...gay?Find more of my books on Instagram>
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    February 9, 2017
    Release date: June 27, 2017This is definitely going to be popular and I recommend it if you like historical fiction and/or YA!The actual story itself is average, but the characters make it so great. Monty is a philandering aristocrat who was kicked out of Eton, so his father sends him on a Grand Tour of Europe with his sister and best friend Percy. Monty steals a box from a Duke in Versailles and they get wrapped up in all sorts of plots and adventures as they're chased around Europe (and there Release date: June 27, 2017This is definitely going to be popular and I recommend it if you like historical fiction and/or YA!The actual story itself is average, but the characters make it so great. Monty is a philandering aristocrat who was kicked out of Eton, so his father sends him on a Grand Tour of Europe with his sister and best friend Percy. Monty steals a box from a Duke in Versailles and they get wrapped up in all sorts of plots and adventures as they're chased around Europe (and there are PIRATES). Monty was a really difficult character for me to like, which is part of the reason why I took a star off. He was funny and endearing at first, but then his idiotic behavior kept hurting those around him and he didn't learn. I wasn't entirely convinced he had changed at the end, either. Most of the story could have been avoided if he had just USED HIS WORDS.I was totally reading for the side characters, though. Felicity (Monty's sister) is pretty badass and saves everyone so many times. She's spent years sneakily reading medical textbooks and even lectures Monty on women's rights. And then Percy is mixed race, (view spoiler)[gay, (hide spoiler)] and epileptic, so he faces a lot of battles in society. His guardians are planning on locking him up in an asylum when he returns from the trip. Monty is bisexual and realizes he's in love with Percy, so that's one of the better parts of the story. But the ending wasn't as solid as I would've liked... I just wanted more resolution in some areas. There's a lot about how Monty's father beats him for being a sodomite, so maybe something more conclusive there would've helped. I really thought this was part of a series based on how flimsy the end was. But the rest of the story was really fun! 3.5 stars overall. Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC!
    more
  • Keertana
    January 8, 2017
    Rating: 4.5 StarsGuys, pre-order this one. It's absolutely wonderful and you're going to want to re-read it, trust me. I went into this novel knowing nothing about it, except for the fact that it featured a queer romance and some extensive European travel. Wellllll, this book has so much more depth and charm than just that. I don't want readers to know too much about this before diving in, because the journey of discovering this is just so special, but I will leave you with a few hints before my Rating: 4.5 StarsGuys, pre-order this one. It's absolutely wonderful and you're going to want to re-read it, trust me. I went into this novel knowing nothing about it, except for the fact that it featured a queer romance and some extensive European travel. Wellllll, this book has so much more depth and charm than just that. I don't want readers to know too much about this before diving in, because the journey of discovering this is just so special, but I will leave you with a few hints before my full review is published (much later in the year due to the June release date on this!).Our story start off with some of this glamour...And features some of this...But, a whole lot more of this...There's a bit of this (though not as much as the marketing would have you believe)...And some exciting scenes set here...But mostly this...And a WHOLE lot of this......plus some kick-ass intelligent women, a diverse cast, laugh-out-loud dialogue, various beautiful European cities, and many moving discussions about privilege, homosexuality, and just growing up. And if that isn't enough to convince you, don't forget there's always this...;)Full Review to Come!
    more
  • Claire Legrand
    February 24, 2016
    Y'all, this book is so good. SO, SO, SO GOOD. Fun and funny, fast-paced, gorgeously written--seriously, I would have highlighted pretty much the whole damn book if I could have. It's a road-trip adventure through 1700s Europe, it's about boys in love, it has fantastic queer, biracial, and disabled rep, and it's so full of life and magic and joy that I can hardly talk about it with any sort of coherence. I love it, and you will too.
    more
  • Sam
    December 28, 2016
    Pure fun and utterly fulfilling. That's my overall feeling having finished The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue, a grounded yet fantastical swashbuckler of a novel. (4.5 stars for me, rounded up to 5). Whip smart, hilariously funny, and with winning and fully imagined main characters, it's a mashup of a a classic adventure story (complete with pirates and highwaymen and sinking crumbling islands and a mysterious scientific advancement that involves a race against time and a dastardly villain Pure fun and utterly fulfilling. That's my overall feeling having finished The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue, a grounded yet fantastical swashbuckler of a novel. (4.5 stars for me, rounded up to 5). Whip smart, hilariously funny, and with winning and fully imagined main characters, it's a mashup of a a classic adventure story (complete with pirates and highwaymen and sinking crumbling islands and a mysterious scientific advancement that involves a race against time and a dastardly villain); a romance as our protagonist and first person perspective Henry "Monty" Montague wrestles with his own (endearing but worst) rakish impulses and tries to get a handle on his passionate and dedicated love for his best friend, Percy, a coming of age tale as Monty, Percy, and Monty's sister Felicity are all exploring it what it means to be adults and relationships to their families and if an independent life can exist for them; and a Grand Tour tale gone awry, based in reality but slightly twisted trapping of 18th century life. Juggling these concepts is no mean feat, but Mackenzi Lee pulls it off and then some. The writing is fast paced, pushing and propelling the reader forward, enjoying the adventurous highs and emotional lows of the action and characterization. And the characters themselves - especially Monty, Percy, and Felicity - are so completely charming (and complete characters) that you can't help but fall in love with the lot of them, root for them, and have your heart shrink and swell with their defeats and poor decisions and epiphanies and triumphs.I won't get into plot spoilers or quote anything (might revise with quotes once it pubs), but will talk about the characters more because honestly half the fun for me was being completely caught off guard by Monty's voice and observations and I'd hope I could preserve that feeling of surprise and delight for future readers. (I downloaded this not knowing anything about it really, just being caught by the cover and reading on a whim). Monty is endlessly endearing, with the appearance of a devil may care rogue who relies on charm and looks to skate by, but has a depth of feeling and emotion and pain and fear he's covering up, and it's hard not to fall completely in love with him as a character as he tries to rectify his typically good, well-meaning intentions with bouts of bad behavior and poor choices, that often put the people he loves into dangerous situations. It's Monty who transfixes us first, but Percy and Felicity are of equal importance and are embraced as easily: Percy for his quiet way but loving devotion, more aware and accepting of who Monty is before Monty can comprehend himself, and his own dignity and strength in the face of fear and an uncertain life ahead of him; Felicity for her boldness and fierce intelligence and refusal to be constrained and tied to a limited life for an 18th century woman of the landed aristocracy.The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue is also unique in that it features characters and plots that do work in a historical context but ask and answer provocative questions that are still very timely and topical today about race, gender, sex, disability. And for all its sadness and real world darkness, there is so much uplifting about this read, as what come to be our beloved main characters struggle and fight to achieve a place in this world that is meaningful for them, and come to terms with themselves and their own feelings, needs, and ambitions in a world that in many ways tries at best to limit them, at worst to stamp them out entirely. Some elements of 18th century life are not entirely historically accurate (as Lee herself alludes to in her author's note), but as this is not straight up historical fiction and is just based in that world, anachronisms don't feel egregious or as important as the larger ideas Lee draws about how queer and disabled and chronically ill and minority and female people were and are treated, but in her characters' dialogue, actions, and ideas, we see them fully engage with themselves, each other, and their world, complete people well-represented and ultimately empowered. This is one of the more diverse main and supporting casts with complex ideas and truly human treatment I've encountered in awhile, and because Lee has breathed life into Monty and Percy and Felicity so fully, it comes off effortlessly, and in many ways I was so wrapped up in the characters and the plot to pay attention to Lee's craft, a mark of a great read for sure. I don't tend to read tons of YA (and this one definitely straddles the line between YA and adult fiction in a lot of ways, and I would see it skewing older in YA for sure), but between this and Caraval I've had two really great reads in the genre, both very different in category. Both titles make me want to continue to expand my reading in YA, now that I've seen some of the best authors with the most inventive, creative ideas on offer. And Mackenzi Lee, and The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue, definitely are leading the charge in terms of fresh, fun concept meets fully imagined and compelling characters meets well executed writing and craft of a story. Gosh this was good! I'd recommend this rowdily to all and sundry, but especially for YA or historical fantasy type readers who are looking for something brand new and bold to devour. And I really hope we see more of Monty, Percy, and Felicity in a sequel, but if not, it'll be one of my favorite YA stand alone reads.-received an ARC via edelweiss, thanks to Katherine Tegen Books and HarperCollins.
    more
  • Ryan
    December 4, 2016
    This book comes out in 197 days. One hundred and ninety-seven days.
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    November 7, 2016
    Such a fun read! It was fast-paced and hilarious. And Monty was such a flawed but realistic character. Following the group's adventures was a blast. And the romance? SWOON!
  • Silvia
    November 15, 2016
    Apparently this comes out in German in March so like...I feel like this moment in my life is what I've studied German so hard for, you know?__I just read the first chapter of this (you can find it here) and I guess I must really hate myself because now I do not know how to function without being able to read the rest. THIS IS WHY I DON'T READ EXCERPTS. Monty is so damn cute and I love how realistic this first scene was. Like, you can call me weird if you wish, but I really like it when people in Apparently this comes out in German in March so like...I feel like this moment in my life is what I've studied German so hard for, you know?__I just read the first chapter of this (you can find it here) and I guess I must really hate myself because now I do not know how to function without being able to read the rest. THIS IS WHY I DON'T READ EXCERPTS. Monty is so damn cute and I love how realistic this first scene was. Like, you can call me weird if you wish, but I really like it when people in books do normal things like waking up and having to pee, because that's what we all do. I really wasn't expecting the first scene to be such a cute and intimate scene with Percy, and I like that Monty is already in touch with his feelings for him.Please be June already.__________________My body needs this book NOW
    more
  • Tara Sim
    February 24, 2016
    I was insanely lucky and got to read an early draft of this book. Let me tell you: it's a wild ride. I was laughing from page 1 to the end, but also making sad faces because FEELINGS. You'll instantly fall in love with these characters (Percy is mine, sorry not sorry) and the crazy shenanigans they get into. Oh, and did I mention there's a pirate ship and magic? Yeah, you need this book in your life.
    more
  • Empress of Books
    January 26, 2017
    Well, hello there, gorgeous cover.Also, who else was reminded of P!ATD? They legit have an album called Vices & Virtues, and I am legit double-fangirling rn.
  • Maraia
    March 1, 2017
    There are so many wonderful things about this book!- delightful banter - an awesome (asexual?) girl who loves reading and is super smart and snarky- so much diversity! It covers LGBTQA relationships, being biracial in a racist society, mental health, disability, abuse, and PTSD- pirates, bandits, and an epic adventure - even though the book is light and humorous, it actually addresses very serious issues, without using them as plot devices or glossing right over them - great character growth I h There are so many wonderful things about this book!- delightful banter - an awesome (asexual?) girl who loves reading and is super smart and snarky- so much diversity! It covers LGBTQA relationships, being biracial in a racist society, mental health, disability, abuse, and PTSD- pirates, bandits, and an epic adventure - even though the book is light and humorous, it actually addresses very serious issues, without using them as plot devices or glossing right over them - great character growth I highly recommend reading this as soon as it comes out. You won't be disappointed!"I don't think I have to be well to be happy."
    more
  • Pragya
    December 4, 2016
    FUCK OFF @ Edelweiss (didn't anybody tell you denying a request isn't a very nice thing to do?)THE EXCERPT IS HEAVEN ON EARTH EXCEPT IF IT WEREN'T ETERNAL BUT EXTREMELY SHORT
  • Nikki
    January 8, 2017
    This is one of those books where, if you read the synopsis and like the sound of it -- and your head is painting this amazing picture based on that blurb, but you're like "no way is the book gonna be as good as I'm imagining" -- you're going to love this book because YES IT IS JUST AS GOOD AS YOU'RE IMAGINING, IF NOT BETTER.At least it was for me. Adorable romance, super fun plot, absolutely delightful characters... I loved literally every second of this. Including (especially?) the moments that This is one of those books where, if you read the synopsis and like the sound of it -- and your head is painting this amazing picture based on that blurb, but you're like "no way is the book gonna be as good as I'm imagining" -- you're going to love this book because YES IT IS JUST AS GOOD AS YOU'RE IMAGINING, IF NOT BETTER.At least it was for me. Adorable romance, super fun plot, absolutely delightful characters... I loved literally every second of this. Including (especially?) the moments that had me on the floor, clutching my heart from FEELINGS.Please just preorder this, like rightnow. You deserve it.
    more
  • Bee {Quite the Novel Idea}
    December 27, 2016
    Quite The Novel Idea ~ Words from the CloudsOkay so I don't really know WHAT I expected when I picked this book up on Edelweiss on a whim, but it certainly wasn't this. I did not expect to fall in love with a YA Historical Fiction book. Because that is NOT my genre and I rarely have success with it. But here I am, having just finished this book with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face and so completely and utterly in love with this story and these character that it's almost ridiculous. Here I Quite The Novel Idea ~ Words from the CloudsOkay so I don't really know WHAT I expected when I picked this book up on Edelweiss on a whim, but it certainly wasn't this. I did not expect to fall in love with a YA Historical Fiction book. Because that is NOT my genre and I rarely have success with it. But here I am, having just finished this book with the biggest, stupidest grin on my face and so completely and utterly in love with this story and these character that it's almost ridiculous. Here I am, giving 5 stars to a historical fiction book. Whut even happened?Where do I even start? Maybe my one negative? And it's really a nitpick and doesn't really have anything to do with the book itself... And that's the cover. It's really not pretty and doesn't do the book justice at all. But of course that's subjective and you might love it so. I just don't. I think it deserves a prettier cover for sure. But that's really the only negative I have to say about this book. I mean... I could go really deep and REALLY nitpick the hell out of this but I don't want to because I love it and I just want to be positive about it. I'm not that girl that nitpicks just so she can say something bad about a book. I don't want that. So I'm not gonna.Now I get to gush for the rest of this review. YAY! I'm gonna start with the writing because it's so beautiful and it's never boring. I mean, Historical Fiction can get very boring to me with the old-timey stuff but this one never did. I was hooked from start to finish even though I'm not the biggest fan of Historical Fiction at all. So big props to Mackenzi for this. Also, the dialogue was surprisingly natural and so funny and sassy and I loved it. Which was helped by the excellent characters but I'll get into those later. I also loved the story overall. The pacing was on point and the world-building too and I loved how we jumped from England to France to Spain to Italy and then a bit of Greece too. DIVERSITY IN SETTING! Also pirates! And a kind of mystery! So much win here. It was exciting and always moving and never boring. And I loved every second of it. Also male POV for the win!NOW I get to dive into the characters and after that the romance because HOLY WOW both were on point. But I must calm myself and go over the most important ones that are worthy of a mention in this review. Before I go deeper into the main three, I just wanna shout that I hated Monty's dad, wanted more of Dante and Lockwood and fiercely loved the pirate captain Scipio. That is all. Now on to the heroes of the book okay? Okay.♦ First off is FELICITY. She's Monty's sister and my god she is awesome. I love her so much. She stitches up her own arm, she's been putting smutty book jackets over medicine books and thus secretly studying medicine for years. She's strong, independent, badass, smart, caring, loyal, sweet... I just love her to bits and it's so good to see such an awesome female character like her in this genre.♦ PERCY is Monty's best friend. He's a POC, which brought a lot of extra depth to the book when it comes to racial relationships in that time and it made me angry and sad how he was treated sometimes because he's just so precious. He's so loyal to Monty and he's funny and adorable and he just needs lots and lots of hugs. I loved how he had a mind of his own and didn't just go along with Monty. He stood by his beliefs and stood his ground when he needed to. And plays violin and smacks bad guys in the face with the case. Badass. I'm telling you.♦ MONTY is the star of the show of course. He's such a lovable dweeb sometimes. He makes mistakes and he's flawed for sure but you can't help but love him. I felt for him right from the start with his intense love for his best friend and his asshole dad. I just wanted to wrap him in blankets and hug him forever. He's kind of spoilt and a bit impulsive and very much a flirt but he's also smart and sweet and caring and adorable and hilarious. He's so precious and I adore him. I wanted all the happy things for him.I'm not gonna lie, the main reason why I picked this book up is the romance. Because LGBT romances are kind of my thing. And this romance was PERFECT. Absolutely perfect. It was established perfectly from the start and then bloomed beautifully throughout the book with JUST the right amount of swoon and drama effortlessly woven into the rest of the plot. And HOLY GOD this author knows how to write a kiss. And she doesn't shy away from anything even though it's YA and I LOVE her for it. MORE OF THIS PLEASE? Thank you. So yes. Perfect romance is perfect.Now if you hadn't noticed already, I quite liked this book. I dare say I love it. So maybe you should check it out. Because there's romance and friendship and sibling relationships and adventure and Europe and pirates and mystery and what are you even still doing here? Go read this. NOW!
    more
  • Dahlia
    February 23, 2016
    ETA 9/28/16: By "slightly longer review" I meant I'd add my blurb when it was revealed, which it was, so, ta da! “An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I’d happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA.” And I cannot tell you how strongly I mean that - this is seriously one of the most fun books I've ever read, and it's such a fantastic cast. People are seriously gonna fall in love with this book.***Seriously S ETA 9/28/16: By "slightly longer review" I meant I'd add my blurb when it was revealed, which it was, so, ta da! “An outrageously fun, witty, fascinating, and romantic adventure, starring a memorable trio I’d happily travel with for ages. Lee is a definite force in diverse historical YA.” And I cannot tell you how strongly I mean that - this is seriously one of the most fun books I've ever read, and it's such a fantastic cast. People are seriously gonna fall in love with this book.***Seriously SO delightful in so many ways. Slightly longer review TK.
    more
  • Nick Pageant
    January 1, 2017
    This sounds flat-out rollicking. Cannot wait! My interest is piqued by the fact that the cover model reminds me of a certain dandy highwayman.
  • Katerina Kondrenko
    February 24, 2016
    Historical fantasy with gay-MCs, pirates, France, Italy and stuff? Sign me in! You can read the excerpt here. That's hot) And funny. And GIVE IT TO ME.
  • Cookie
    March 6, 2016
    (ayy the guy on the cover is kinda cute hello)---OKAY, MAYBE I AM EMO TRASH BUThonestly, EVERY TIME i see this book's title, i am reminded of Panic! at the Disco's Vices & Virtues which, of COURSE, makes sense.but still.
  • Allison
    December 22, 2016
    OK SO THIS BOOK IS WICKEDLY CHARMING AND A BLAST OF FRESH AIR AND JUST SO SWOONY AND GOOD. And that's my professional review. A longer review later, but like....those are the essentials. GOD, I love Monty's voice and you'll fall in love with Percy THROUGH him. And it's just so *smushes fingers to computer screen*
    more
  • Shelly
    December 28, 2016
    This was one of my most anticipated releases for 2017, so naturally I couldn't wait to read it! As you can tell, it was definitely worth the early read. I'll have a full review up closer to the release date but yes, you need to pre-order this one!
  • Nicklein Mae
    March 15, 2017
    COUNT ME THE FUCK IN
  • Brittany Cavallaro
    April 11, 2016
    I was saving this review until a bit closer to pub date, but now that it has this amazing cover, it feels like it is TIME.I absolutely loved everything about TGGTVAV. It's an incredibly smart book about privilege and sex and gender roles and illness, wrapped up in the voice of brilliantly rakish and vulnerable Monty, a bisexual bed-hopping 18th century boy who means well but has a lot of trouble with the whole Making Good Decisions thing. I was so here for Percy and Monty's relationship, which i I was saving this review until a bit closer to pub date, but now that it has this amazing cover, it feels like it is TIME.I absolutely loved everything about TGGTVAV. It's an incredibly smart book about privilege and sex and gender roles and illness, wrapped up in the voice of brilliantly rakish and vulnerable Monty, a bisexual bed-hopping 18th century boy who means well but has a lot of trouble with the whole Making Good Decisions thing. I was so here for Percy and Monty's relationship, which is slow-burning and funny and lovely and heartbreaking, but what I find myself thinking about almost a month later is how much I loved Felicity, Monty's little sister, and her determination to be herself at all costs. This book takes on a lot of complicated ideas, but it does it with a deft hand, and I read it through on an absolute tear. I can't recommend it enough.
    more
  • Vee S
    February 13, 2017
    WHEN WILL I EVER READ A BOOK AS ENJOYABLE AS THIS AGAIN
  • Melissa
    February 23, 2016
    ALL THE FREAKING STARS HOLY CRAP! SO SO SO GOOD!I am SUPER EXCITED for this book I can't contain it!MACKENZI...
  • Alissa
    January 7, 2017
    I just found out about this book and read an excerpt and I NEED THIS IMMEDIATELY!! And now I discover that the German translation comes out before the English original???!?!?! I'm so so SO tempted to read it in German you have no idea oh my god... FML!!!
    more
  • Vernie
    February 10, 2017
    Historical fiction? LGBT? Fantasy? Pirates? Road trip through Europe? Sign me the fuck up.
  • Mic
    February 23, 2016
    WHO KNEW A BOOK COULD BE SO LOVELY AND PERFECT AND CHARMING?Abso-bloody-lutely fantastic! Lee is a talent to be reckoned with--lovely writing, swoony romance, complex characters, and a lush setting that feels pulled out of history! She is in a class of her own when it comes to diverse historical fantasy. I will read anything she writes.
    more
Write a review