It's Not Like It's a Secret
Sixteen-year-old Sana Kiyohara has too many secrets. Some are small, like how it bothers her when her friends don’t invite her to parties. Some are big, like that fact that her father may be having an affair. And then there’s the one that she can barely even admit to herself—the one about how she might have a crush on her best friend.When Sana and her family move to California she begins to wonder if it’s finally time for some honesty, especially after she meets Jamie Ramirez. Jamie is beautiful and smart and unlike anyone Sana’s ever known. There are just a few problems: Sana’s new friends don’t trust Jamie’s crowd; Jamie’s friends clearly don’t want her around anyway; and a sweet guy named Caleb seems to have more-than-friendly feelings for her. Meanwhile, her dad’s affair is becoming too obvious to ignore anymore.Sana always figured that the hardest thing would be to tell people that she wants to date a girl, but as she quickly learns, telling the truth is easy… what comes after it, though, is a whole lot more complicated.

It's Not Like It's a Secret Details

TitleIt's Not Like It's a Secret
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 9th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

It's Not Like It's a Secret Review

  • Elise (The Book Actress)
    February 10, 2017
    2 stars. Um. I really wanted to love this, but I just. didn't. THE GOOD + The first half is genuinely really cute! I actually loved the first half. Jamie and Sana have some great romantic buildup before they get together. There's an insta-crush, but things progress very well from there. They exchange poetry and are just generally incredibly sweet. + There's a good portrayal of racism between different nonwhite communities. Which is really rare in YA! This book did not shy away from the heavy stu 2 stars. Um. I really wanted to love this, but I just. didn't. THE GOOD + The first half is genuinely really cute! I actually loved the first half. Jamie and Sana have some great romantic buildup before they get together. There's an insta-crush, but things progress very well from there. They exchange poetry and are just generally incredibly sweet. + There's a good portrayal of racism between different nonwhite communities. Which is really rare in YA! This book did not shy away from the heavy stuff, which I really appreciated. THE BAD + Half of the moments between Jamie and Sana have a time jump. Look, I'm sorry, but I'm here for the lesbians, and if that storyline isn't pulling its weight, what am I here for? + The plotting is just a complete mess, especially in the second half. The author wanted to fit several different difficult storylines in, and they didn't tie together, and some of the issues ended up coming off badly just because they didn't get enough page time. For example, Sana's issues with anti-latina racism are really not handled very well. Not because the author didn't have the best intentions at heart, but because they don't get enough pagetime. + This is a completely personal thing, but I can't handle cheating storylines. As soon as the cheating popped up, this book immediately went from a solid 3 to a 2. I don't see why a cheating storyline was necessary in a supposedly cute and fluffy book about teens falling in love. But you know what, whatever. I hate cheating and I can't read about it and enjoy it.
    more
  • Sue (Hollywood News Source)
    October 26, 2016
    I am very excited for this book. We need more WLW books in YA especially ones that are written by authors of color.
  • Christina
    December 23, 2016
    Loved this one. Sugiura gracefully tackled so many difficult and sometimes sensitive topics, while also creating fully-fleshed, relatable characters. Sana's voice is spot on. I can't wait to have this gorgeous book on my shelf to share with my students.
    more
  • Ilana
    November 20, 2016
    Misa Sugiura is a beautiful writer, and this book is wondrous, engaging, important, and will be beloved by many.
  • Jess
    October 26, 2016
    27/10/2016THIS IS A GOOD AND PURE BOOK WE MUST PROTECT HER
  • Ms. Yingling
    March 12, 2017
    E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineI really enjoyed this one... except for the f-bombs littering the pages. Sana and her mother were delightful. Well, her mother was delightful in a disturbing way, but I liked both characters. I was less thrilled with Jamie, since she did a lot of the swearing.Seriously. Why aren't there more LBGTQ without swearing and excessive alcohol consumption? It's a little disturbing. High schools will definitely want this, but I'm going to pass. This is too bad, beca E ARC from Edelweiss Above the TreelineI really enjoyed this one... except for the f-bombs littering the pages. Sana and her mother were delightful. Well, her mother was delightful in a disturbing way, but I liked both characters. I was less thrilled with Jamie, since she did a lot of the swearing.Seriously. Why aren't there more LBGTQ without swearing and excessive alcohol consumption? It's a little disturbing. High schools will definitely want this, but I'm going to pass. This is too bad, because middle grade readers need these stories, too. NO ONE needs the swearing.
    more
  • Sonia
    February 23, 2017
    This book was different than many other YA I've read in its honest and complex portrayal of race, all within the context of a burgeoning lesbian romance. Sana is a believable and relatable protagonist, caught between trying to satisfy her strict parents and also feel like part of her peer group. I loved the tie-ins with poetry and the way Sana was able to find herself in the words of others.
    more
  • Teresa
    February 12, 2017
    ****3.5 Stars****Let's start with the reason I liked this book.1. Misa Sugiura tackles a lot of hard topics in the book and she does so very well. Race, sexual orientation, infidelity are just some of the hot button topics that appear. 2. I loved Sana; she reminded me of some of the thing I dealt with when I was 16...the wanting to be treating like a grown up while still hoping to maintain your innocence; your first crush and all the things that go along with that...in short I really connected w ****3.5 Stars****Let's start with the reason I liked this book.1. Misa Sugiura tackles a lot of hard topics in the book and she does so very well. Race, sexual orientation, infidelity are just some of the hot button topics that appear. 2. I loved Sana; she reminded me of some of the thing I dealt with when I was 16...the wanting to be treating like a grown up while still hoping to maintain your innocence; your first crush and all the things that go along with that...in short I really connected with her on various levels. Not for some of the reasons that I didn't loved this book.1. I had a really hard time coming to understand the way/reason/explanation of why Sana's dad was allowed to have a relationship with his love and her mother was just ok with it?! After hearing Sana's mom explain why they stayed together I could kind of see her reasoning behind it but I didn't like it. I was kinda confused as to why Sana's mother didn't try to find a relationship...after typing that I sound horrible and sexist..but if I am being honest it did kind of bother me. 2. Last, I had a hard time with how easy Caleb was able to move past the way Sana treated him; probably me just being nit picky but the whole way he moved forward was a bit too easy IMO. Overall, the book was fun and it kept my attention (not to mention that I loved Sana). Thanks to HarperCollins for the ARC!
    more
  • Julie
    February 27, 2017
    This book dealt with different types of people. I like that she was trying to figure out who she likes. I enjoyed Caleb. I didn't like the cheating with the parents. I didn't like that she even knew about it. But secrets all come out. There is romance and she does find love. I enjoyed her friends.
    more
  • Doris Raines
    March 27, 2016
    I. Truelly. Believe. All. Voices. Should. Be. Herd. Only. God. Can. Really. Judge.
Write a review