One Hundred Demons
In this graphic novel that's part memoir and part creativity primer, Lynda Barry serves up comics that delve into the funk and sweetness of love, family, adolescence, race, and the hood. Name that Demon!!! Freaky boyfriends! Shouting Moms! Innocence betrayed! These are some of the pickled demons you'll meet as Lynda Barry mixes the true and the un-true into something she calls "autobificitionalography." From her nattering and intolerant/loving Filipina grandmother to the ex-boyfriend from hell who had lice, Lynda Barry's demons jump out of these pages and double-dare you to speak their names. Called by Time magazine "a work of art as well as literature," One Hundred Demons has been hailed for its shimmering watercolor images and unforgettable stories about life's little monsters.

One Hundred Demons Details

TitleOne Hundred Demons
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 30th, 2005
PublisherSasquatch Books
ISBN1570614598
ISBN-139781570614590
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Autobiography, Memoir, Art, Nonfiction, Humor, Comix, Graphic Novels Comics, Biography, Adult

One Hundred Demons Review

  • lola
    March 5, 2009
    In my dreams of teenage trauma prophylaxis Kathleen Hanna hands me Pussy Whipped and this book as a 13 year old, before I lose my virginity. Avenue D is playing in the background: "Shit, you know they all just want to hit it./They're just talking shit 'cos they want it," which, although nobody will prank call my house at 3am to call me a slut for a couple years, is a revelation that rings true.I come out of adolescence unscathed.
    more
  • Malbadeen
    October 13, 2008
    how stupid am I for not reading this before?! super stupid! It was awesome.Highlights for me:-"Common Scents" was hilarious.-"Hate" was gratifying.-The line, "This ability to exist in pieces is what some adults call resilience. And I suppose in some way it is a kind of resilience that makes adults believe children forget trauma" collapsed the chest of both my childhood self as well as my parental self.-The dialog in "Lost and Found" with the arrow pointing to one woman, reading "super dramatical how stupid am I for not reading this before?! super stupid! It was awesome.Highlights for me:-"Common Scents" was hilarious.-"Hate" was gratifying.-The line, "This ability to exist in pieces is what some adults call resilience. And I suppose in some way it is a kind of resilience that makes adults believe children forget trauma" collapsed the chest of both my childhood self as well as my parental self.-The dialog in "Lost and Found" with the arrow pointing to one woman, reading "super dramatically educated. knows about 'story structure' and 'arc' and 'plot points'" and the other arrow to her, reading, "jive-ass faker who can't spell and had no idea what 'story structure' even means" was both personally relevant and entertaining.
    more
  • Ayun Halliday
    April 30, 2013
    This book is the bomb and Lynda Barry is the bombalurina. This book seems to be the crossroads, the point where she transformed from her perfectly incredible and delightful self, to the milk of human kindness filled, self-forgiving, fully honest role model and teacher that she is today. You can feel it.A lot of things I'd been hunching about were confirmed herein.The last story, about the monkey head stationery was very sweet, and made me happy for lynda.Matt Groening may be funk lord of the uni This book is the bomb and Lynda Barry is the bombalurina. This book seems to be the crossroads, the point where she transformed from her perfectly incredible and delightful self, to the milk of human kindness filled, self-forgiving, fully honest role model and teacher that she is today. You can feel it.A lot of things I'd been hunching about were confirmed herein.The last story, about the monkey head stationery was very sweet, and made me happy for lynda.Matt Groening may be funk lord of the universe, but his friend is something even more special.
    more
  • Hannah Messler
    August 13, 2015
    This is the best thing I've read in ages and I am sorely tempted to just start right back over and read the whole thing again right now. November 2016 reread:Joe got me this from Quimby's in late July last year when I flew out there to roadtrip back to New York with him which was our like sixth date or something maybe? Which tbpf I am not that charmed by stories of Going! Way! Romantically! Overboard! too early in the game, mainly because I tend to blow all my chunks early on as a sort of matter This is the best thing I've read in ages and I am sorely tempted to just start right back over and read the whole thing again right now. November 2016 reread:Joe got me this from Quimby's in late July last year when I flew out there to roadtrip back to New York with him which was our like sixth date or something maybe? Which tbpf I am not that charmed by stories of Going! Way! Romantically! Overboard! too early in the game, mainly because I tend to blow all my chunks early on as a sort of matter of course and then later I am like wait a minute what the jeff. Which I guess is a pretty common move but now I get to feel superior and adult about seeing through it but whatEVER point being this BOOK MOTHERFUCKING RULES AS HELL.Like this book is in the tiny pantheon of Perfect Graphic Memoirs, wedged in there on the miniature golden shelf with Are You My Mother? and The Story of My Tits, and I started rereading it the other night because I am about fourteen jillion different kinds of fucked up right now with all the absolutely over-the-top bummer shit I've had to figure out how to process while trying to also process all the absolutely over-the-top magnificently happy splendid jesus fucking christ all my dreams are coming true before my very eyes and I spend my time driving through the Catskills just PUNCHING MYSELF IN THE LEG and screamcrying with absolute unfettered insane grateful dumbfounded JOY, plus leaving this place and this job where I have been so happy and loved so many people and come to know myself in a way that makes it seem possible I might not have to die as scum, resigned to it as my due . . . Anyway so this book takes everything that's in me and yanks it out like it's a fuckn casserole in flames and then oh so gently lovingly anneals the crudloaded boiling wild shitefire and then blows white light across it till it shakes its rages and sorrows out and bends and gentles like long grass under a summer moon. I fucking love this book. I am so happy and it all just feels so possible. One million demons, even. And in the end a home for them all. Safe and happy warm as roast. I think possibly maybe even me.
    more
  • Leslie
    June 27, 2007
    I caught myself thinking about taking up a paintbrush and water colors while reading this so I could paint out my demons too. I really love the one about the aswang (a scary dog demon story that her grandma tells her interwoven with a bunch of mother-daughter stuff), Dancing---amazing amazing amazing---just think hula + suave uncles dancing the twist in the kitchen + dancing baby-madness in the morning + trying to befriend the coolest dancing girl in the world. "Sensitive nose" and "hate" and "m I caught myself thinking about taking up a paintbrush and water colors while reading this so I could paint out my demons too. I really love the one about the aswang (a scary dog demon story that her grandma tells her interwoven with a bunch of mother-daughter stuff), Dancing---amazing amazing amazing---just think hula + suave uncles dancing the twist in the kitchen + dancing baby-madness in the morning + trying to befriend the coolest dancing girl in the world. "Sensitive nose" and "hate" and "magic" are up there for me too. If I was still a teacher, I would make sure I had a copy or two of this one around but it's good for us boring old adults too.
    more
  • Peter Monn
    January 1, 2014
    Sooooooooooo good! Loved it. Check out my review on my Booktube channel at http://YouTube.com/peterlikesbooks
  • Lara's
    November 9, 2008
    Synopsis :NAME THAT DEMON!!! Freaky Boyfriends! Shouting Moms! Innocence betrayed! Rotten things we've done that will haunt us forever! These are some of the pickled demons Lynda Barry's storeis serve up comic-strip style, mixing the true and un-true into something she calles "autobifictionalography." Inspired by a 16th-century Zen monk's painting of a hundred demons chasing each other across a long scroll, and encouraged by a 20th-century editor, Barry's demons jump out of these pages and doub Synopsis :NAME THAT DEMON!!! Freaky Boyfriends! Shouting Moms! Innocence betrayed! Rotten things we've done that will haunt us forever! These are some of the pickled demons Lynda Barry's storeis serve up comic-strip style, mixing the true and un-true into something she calles "autobifictionalography." Inspired by a 16th-century Zen monk's painting of a hundred demons chasing each other across a long scroll, and encouraged by a 20th-century editor, Barry's demons jump out of these pages and double-dare you to speak their names. Review : Yes, it's a pretty intense graphic novel. But, not in the way that I'm used to graphic novels being intense. Part witty humor and part obvious therapy, Lynda Barry bravely addresses her multiple personal demons in one of the most passionate, self-effacing (yet proud) examples of "getting it all out in a creative manner" that I've seen in quite sometime. The great thing about this graphic novel is that while some of the story line will not connect with readers (as School Library Journal notes below) there is bound to be something--and yes, it's ahideous "demon"--that will. And boy! Does it kind of sting like a glass of ice water tossed in your eyeballs when you see it sitting there in front of you, in full-color on the page. For me personally, the torturous pain of living through the nightmare that was Junior High (and, yes, sometimes Graduate School) just kicks into full gear in this book. Hence, I loved it! The ability to laugh at oneself cannot be too over-rated. Lynda Barry graciously laughs and then has enough energy left over to invite you with a step-by-step tutorial of how she did it. So that you too can create 100 demons all your very own! You'd think 100 would be a pretty large number. I'm finding out that it really isn't. Critical Reviews :From Publishers Weekly, "simultaneously poignant and hilarious-never one at the expense of the other-and so are her loopy, sure-lined drawings, which make both the kids and the adults look as awkward and scrunched-up as they feel."From School Library Journal, "those who connect with it will come away with a deep appreciation for Barry." I appreciate Lynda Barry.
    more
  • Licha
    November 23, 2016
    Funny and poignant at times. Hard to tell which parts are real but I sensed some underlying pain in regards to the relationship between the author and her mother. I wished she had touched more this and growing up as a mixed child. She grew up with her Filipino mother but never mentions her father. The Filipino kids view her a strange due to her red hair, even being curious about whether she gets white lice versus their black lice and request that if she ever finds out she should mail them the ev Funny and poignant at times. Hard to tell which parts are real but I sensed some underlying pain in regards to the relationship between the author and her mother. I wished she had touched more this and growing up as a mixed child. She grew up with her Filipino mother but never mentions her father. The Filipino kids view her a strange due to her red hair, even being curious about whether she gets white lice versus their black lice and request that if she ever finds out she should mail them the evidence. She seems to not be a popular kid growing up but a lot of those inner demons are what seem to make her the person she is today. At least that is how it comes across since this is a "fictional memoir".Love the coloring for each chapter and although the artwork is not the prettiest to look at, it fits the story. Nice, neat and large font. I have to mention the font, since I consider it an important element when it comes to the graphic format.
    more
  • Marily
    December 24, 2016
    WOW!!!!!!! Je suis flabergastée. Drôle et triste et touchant et dur et léger et TOUTTEEEE. Graphiquement dans le même genre que Julie Doucet, mais pour ce qui est du contenu, on est vraiment ailleurs. Je ne m'attendais à rien au départ puisque je n'avais pas de coup de coeur pour ses illustrations, mais après quelques pages, j'étais prise au piège. J'ai même dû retarder mon souper de veille de Noël afin de la terminer. C'est peu dire.
    more
  • Sara
    March 26, 2017
    This one is the M word. The people next to me on the plane were crouching away from me, possibly because you don't smell so good on a long flight, but also because I went back and forth between laughing hysterically and stifling tears.
  • Karyl
    July 17, 2016
    It's amazing to me how well Lynda Barry has held onto the emotions and feelings that go along with being a child. Though she's 44 when she wrote this, she still evokes the magic of a kickball game so vividly, the desperate need for some kind of lovey (blankie or stuffed animal), and the awkwardness of the transition between child and adolescent. So much of this book rang true for me (I was weird and awkward, my lips were too big, I lisped, my last name always got me in trouble, I was heavier tha It's amazing to me how well Lynda Barry has held onto the emotions and feelings that go along with being a child. Though she's 44 when she wrote this, she still evokes the magic of a kickball game so vividly, the desperate need for some kind of lovey (blankie or stuffed animal), and the awkwardness of the transition between child and adolescent. So much of this book rang true for me (I was weird and awkward, my lips were too big, I lisped, my last name always got me in trouble, I was heavier than anyone else, my social skills were non-existent, and my home life wasn't great). Barry does use this book as atonement for some of the wrongs she committed as a teen. I think we all wish we could go back to our childhood and wish we hadn't been so cruel to this person or that, no matter how kind we are now. Kids can be so cruel, and it's not until we mature that we realize the extent of that cruelty. There are so many people I wish I could apologize to.Ultimately, this is a book that leaves one with a sense of hope, that things may turn out just fine after a rocky start in life. Sure, she had a difficult childhood and made some really very questionable choices (alcohol and acid at the age of 13, for starters), but ultimately she's become a successful writer and graphic novelist. We see snippets of her partner, and it seems like a loving relationship. She even exhibits quite a bit of sympathy for her mother, who made her childhood difficult. And her wish to make mends with some of the people she's lost touch with is very endearing. I kind of wish I could call her up and become friends with her (not that that's weird in any way....).I admit I loved her art. Her drawings are simple but it's always obvious who everyone is. And her mixed media pieces between segments are beautiful to look at and investigate further. I'm so glad she gives a little primer on how to use ink stones and ink and Asian-style brushes at the end too. I'm the farthest thing from artistic, but she makes me want to try anyhow.Highly recommend.
    more
  • Drew Lerman
    May 13, 2015
    I resisted reading this book for a long time, I think largely because of this really messy-looking introduction that made me feel like I had to go clean my room. I think I probably have read that introduction in full, in bits and pieces, over several years, so this time around I just dived in with the first story. It was great, and I recommend this approach. These anecdotes and remembrances have an off-the-cuff feel, not like they were created quickly but like they were created without a ton of I resisted reading this book for a long time, I think largely because of this really messy-looking introduction that made me feel like I had to go clean my room. I think I probably have read that introduction in full, in bits and pieces, over several years, so this time around I just dived in with the first story. It was great, and I recommend this approach. These anecdotes and remembrances have an off-the-cuff feel, not like they were created quickly but like they were created without a ton of planning, and the result is very intimate, like Lynda Barry is talking to you on a bus traveling through a weird noisy city. On the other hand, Barry does tend to elucidate a sort of thematic conclusion to most of these tales, as opposed to ending more ambiguously. But on the other, other hand, maybe that's actually pretty similar to the way people really tell stories, on buses, in bars, over breakfast, presenting you with the moral they've worked out in their minds, which it's up to you to accept.Sometimes I accepted more readily than others. They were never eye-rollers or anything, but sometimes they felt a little pat. Other times, such as in the story "Lost Worlds" I found myself actually sobbing, alone on my couch. Dear God, I thought, have I succumbed to the sentimentalism of my mother, who cries during airline commercials? Perhaps. But I'm glad Lynda Barry risked sentimentalism. I think it's in keeping with the spirit of the collection. She doesn't care if you think she's cool or a genius or a wizard, she just wants to tell you some honest stuff and amuse you, and she does.
    more
  • Brandi Johnson
    February 21, 2014
    This "autobifictionalography" comic was mentioned in a different comic I'd recently read. That author referred to it as a life-altering read. I don't know if I'll go that far, but I will say that I took screenshots of so many panels I should probably separate them into their own album on my phone. (Even though I own this book I felt so strongly with some of the panels that I must have them with me at all times.) She wrote & drew beautifully about being different and knowing from an early age This "autobifictionalography" comic was mentioned in a different comic I'd recently read. That author referred to it as a life-altering read. I don't know if I'll go that far, but I will say that I took screenshots of so many panels I should probably separate them into their own album on my phone. (Even though I own this book I felt so strongly with some of the panels that I must have them with me at all times.) She wrote & drew beautifully about being different and knowing from an early age that she was different. At the same time, she was able to write about that familiar ache that everyone experiences as they grow into themselves. Except, with it written retrospectively, it came with a hefty side of nostalgia that I found painfully significant. Her chapters on dancing and magic made me sob. It's a gorgeous, quick & satisfying read if you enjoy that sort of thing. I'm a glutton for That Feeling. I suspect most creative types are.
    more
  • Daniel
    January 16, 2016
    I have to be honest. This style of artwork isn't for me. It just does nothing for me. No feelings rise, good or bad. It just seems amateurish and flimsy. Of course, I don't know anything about actual art of this sort, so I could be just exposing my ignorance. Fair enough. The only reason I finished it is because it's part of my project of reading the greatest graphic novels of all time.So you can imagine my surprise when I found myself being slowly won over. One little anecdote from her childhoo I have to be honest. This style of artwork isn't for me. It just does nothing for me. No feelings rise, good or bad. It just seems amateurish and flimsy. Of course, I don't know anything about actual art of this sort, so I could be just exposing my ignorance. Fair enough. The only reason I finished it is because it's part of my project of reading the greatest graphic novels of all time.So you can imagine my surprise when I found myself being slowly won over. One little anecdote from her childhood at a time, Lynda Barry overwhelmed my dislike of the artwork style and forced me to like her story through sheer force of will and character. I don't know if I'd say that I will be reading all or more of her work, but I can say that I will always look back at this one fondly and as a perfect reminder that sometimes the ugliest things turn out to be the most beautiful.
    more
  • Martin
    September 14, 2011
    I first read this comic on salon.com when I was 24, which was just old enough to appreciate the tone of regret, trauma, and fragile beauty. I was crushed when the comic ended after only 17 entries. Reading it again ten years later, the writing affects me in the same way it did then. I am surprised how well I remember these stories and how I internalized them to help me make sense of the pain of growing up. The economy of Barry's storytelling is amazing. In just 18 panels she can reduce me to tea I first read this comic on salon.com when I was 24, which was just old enough to appreciate the tone of regret, trauma, and fragile beauty. I was crushed when the comic ended after only 17 entries. Reading it again ten years later, the writing affects me in the same way it did then. I am surprised how well I remember these stories and how I internalized them to help me make sense of the pain of growing up. The economy of Barry's storytelling is amazing. In just 18 panels she can reduce me to tears. She writes deeply of friendship, self-exploration and family. Her compassion for the people who tortured her is astounding. She has her detractors, but I think her drawing style is extremely expressive. I wish this comic had continued, but it would have been painful or worse, run out of steam. As it stands, the book contains 17 gems to be cherished over and over again.
    more
  • Cade
    December 10, 2010
    This is a graphic novel initiated by a drawing exercise where the artist is to draw/paint 100 demons. Barry decided to do this exercise and shares some of her demons; however, her demons turned out to be from her past & childhood and not just whimsical drawings of creatures. The book then adds flesh to the demons by giving background information and stories to them. She states that the book is a work of Autobifictionalography - Part true to her life, part not and she doesn't elaborate or poi This is a graphic novel initiated by a drawing exercise where the artist is to draw/paint 100 demons. Barry decided to do this exercise and shares some of her demons; however, her demons turned out to be from her past & childhood and not just whimsical drawings of creatures. The book then adds flesh to the demons by giving background information and stories to them. She states that the book is a work of Autobifictionalography - Part true to her life, part not and she doesn't elaborate or point out which is which.Some of the demons are: Head Lice & Worst Boyfriend; Lost Worlds; Dancing; Resilience; Magic Lanterns; Girlness; & The Election.It is apparent that Lynda was an odd kid - or more directly, a social misfit. This shows in her comic series - 'Ernie Pook' as well. Growing up I was a bit of a social misfit as well, which is why I think I like and dislike Barry's work. She really draws out and conveys 'Socially Awkward' in her work. This is telling of her talent, but also makes her work hit home. Being familiar with the 'Ernie Pook Comeek', it was hard to separate some of that out from my direct thoughts on the book. 'Ernie Pook' is interesting at times, but usually quite awkward, leaving the reader feeling uncomfortable for the main character. This makes the overall comic uncomfortable. So, that played on my mind as I read this book. These stories gave some background into Barry's life explaining some of that awkwardness and the theme of awkwardness was played here as well.In regard to Autobiography, the character's social awkwardness and rough childhood, both at home and in her neighborhood are themes that recur through out the book and her other work making them seem too passionate and real to not be true.The first half of the book really hit on and dug into deep wounds, philosophical issues, and true personal demons: social exclusion, learned abusive behavior passed from generation to generation and its impacts, and the lasting damage of sexual child abuse. All very tough subjects, and truly demons. In the latter half of the book the subjects ease off. Perhaps that is how it works. Tension & obsession has been released and she is maturing as the book proceeds, so the other demons are smaller, and easier to deal with or at least not as destructive.I found the structure of the book interesting in the juxtaposition of the beginning & end with the middle of the book. Beginning of the book: Hey, this looks like a fun exercise. I'm going to draw 100 demons!Middle of the book: My mother hated me because her mother hated her. I was raped as a child, which led to drug use and sexual promiscuity. I was robbed of my childhood and lived in a poor neighborhood without a father and am obviously scarred by this experience.End of the book: That was a fun exercise! You should try it. Here is what you need: Ink stone, brush...Overall, a surprisingly insightful book.
    more
  • Brenda
    May 2, 2010
    According to the blurb on the back cover, Barry describes her work as: "Autobifictionalography."Her introduction poses two relevant questions: "Is it autobiography if parts of it are not true?" and "Is it fiction if parts of it are?"Having read Barry's _What It Is_ not so long ago, I've been thinking of composing an article called "What It Isn't." But, I can't even figure out what to put on a rubric for the creative writing class I'll be teaching in a week. Maybe it's because the creative artist According to the blurb on the back cover, Barry describes her work as: "Autobifictionalography."Her introduction poses two relevant questions: "Is it autobiography if parts of it are not true?" and "Is it fiction if parts of it are?"Having read Barry's _What It Is_ not so long ago, I've been thinking of composing an article called "What It Isn't." But, I can't even figure out what to put on a rubric for the creative writing class I'll be teaching in a week. Maybe it's because the creative artists I admire most tend to resist strictures. I must say that I love Barry's take on academic writing:"In 'The Bell Jar,' Plath profounds her enumerated existential parthenogenesisusing subvertible intra-mural insight on the dissimulation ofher classic bummerof the 20th century."Surely this parody is better than much projective verse!Barry has composed _ONE! HUNDRED! DEMONS!_ in segments devoted to influential demons from her past ("My Worst Boyfriend," "Girlness," "The Election"). One of my own most irksome bugaboos must be "genre." So many times, other writers at conferences ask me, "So, do you write poetry or fiction" as if writing were a two party system--and the conference were a primary where the writer/voter had to choose one or the other. Maybe I should borrow Barry's term...if only I could pronounce it!I notice that other reviewers on Good Reads tend to identify teenagers as a target audience. Maybe so, since most of the book does focus on Barry's youth listening to music in a darkened room or swirl-tripping on acid, but the cultural references are surer to appeal to those who grew up with hippies as not-so-much elders (in my own experience: they made wonderful Sunday school teachers, but lousy babysitters!).
    more
  • Andrew
    June 30, 2009
    What probably worked as a serialized comic strip on Salon.com doesn't really work (for me, at least...a lot of five star reviews on this site, so I might just be weird) in book format. It took me forever to finish this because I could only bring myself to read two or three "demons" at a time. The self-consciously juvenile artwork fits the concept, but that doesn't stop it from getting distractingly ugly very, very fast. As for the stories themselves, they are occasionally quite touching and insi What probably worked as a serialized comic strip on Salon.com doesn't really work (for me, at least...a lot of five star reviews on this site, so I might just be weird) in book format. It took me forever to finish this because I could only bring myself to read two or three "demons" at a time. The self-consciously juvenile artwork fits the concept, but that doesn't stop it from getting distractingly ugly very, very fast. As for the stories themselves, they are occasionally quite touching and insightful, but overall, I found Barry's tone to be far too precious and willfully naive for my tastes. There's also an ugly self-congratulatory streak running through at least half these stories. Congrats, Ms. Barry, you rescued an abused dog from a shelter! You cared more than anybody else about a child's lost toy at an airport! You took in a foster kid for a whole summer! And you took her shopping! Barry's thoughts on class antagonism, racism, and intellectual snobbery are sometimes interesting, but again, too much of it boils down to "everybody is mean but me!" It's not all bad of course. The story where Barry and the spoiled white kid drop acid in the International District is pretty funny and pointed, and the handful of stories that leave all the self-styled quirkiness behind and tell the sad story of Barry's rough upbringing are definitely welcome. If I read this comic during its original serialized run, I probably would have enjoyed it more. Taken as a whole though, "100 Demons" is a bit much for me to swallow.
    more
  • Indra
    June 13, 2008
    I love Lynda Barry. There is no one like her. She manages to be sweet, funny and unflinchingly real at the same time without feeling heavy-handed. There aren't 100 demons in this book, but it feels like that many. I wondered if she chose that nice round number of demons because--for every demon that exists--several other potential demons could appear, and with a number like 100, in theory, there's room for everybody. I love the "How to Paint Your Demon" section. I did paint my demon once in real I love Lynda Barry. There is no one like her. She manages to be sweet, funny and unflinchingly real at the same time without feeling heavy-handed. There aren't 100 demons in this book, but it feels like that many. I wondered if she chose that nice round number of demons because--for every demon that exists--several other potential demons could appear, and with a number like 100, in theory, there's room for everybody. I love the "How to Paint Your Demon" section. I did paint my demon once in real life and found it incredibly therapeutic.Barry knows how freeing it is to create like a child would and encourages the reader to find a way to go back in time and use more of that pure imagination and heart we all had then. There's that famous Picasso quote "every child is an artist", which is true, but the rest of that quote addresses the difficulty of remaining an artist when one grows up. At least, when one reads Lynda Barry, that childhood world can be visited again. There are snotty folks who think Lynda Barry isn't a real writer. I say she is one of the most real writers we have.
    more
  • Matti Karjalainen
    June 14, 2015
    Lynda Barry kertoo sarjakuvaromaanissaan "One Hundred Demons" (Sasquatch, 2002) lapsuudestaan ja nuoruudestaan filippiiniläistaustaisessa perheessä - tai oikeammin kai pitäisi puhua häntä muistuttavan tytön lapsuudesta ja nuoruudesta. Kuten tekijä itse muistuttaa, kyseessä ei ole siis puhtaasti omaelämäkerrallinen teos.Sarjakuva on saanut nimensä vanhasta japanilaisesta taulusta, joka innoitti myös Barrya piirtämään ja kertomaan omista demoneistaan, joita ovat muun muassa viha, tanssiminen, vaal Lynda Barry kertoo sarjakuvaromaanissaan "One Hundred Demons" (Sasquatch, 2002) lapsuudestaan ja nuoruudestaan filippiiniläistaustaisessa perheessä - tai oikeammin kai pitäisi puhua häntä muistuttavan tytön lapsuudesta ja nuoruudesta. Kuten tekijä itse muistuttaa, kyseessä ei ole siis puhtaasti omaelämäkerrallinen teos.Sarjakuva on saanut nimensä vanhasta japanilaisesta taulusta, joka innoitti myös Barrya piirtämään ja kertomaan omista demoneistaan, joita ovat muun muassa viha, tanssiminen, vaalit, täit, huono poikaystävä, San Francisco ja aswang (lue itse, niin tiedät mikä se on). Sarjakuvan luvut käsittelevät kaikki näitä lapsuuden ja nuoruuden kipupisteitä ja käännekohtia, kerronnan sävyn ollessa samanaikaisesti niin pohdiskelevan melankolinen kuin itseironisen humoristinen.En ollut aluksi päästä sarjakuvaan sisälle, mutta kun se tempaisi mukaansa niin lukukokemus oli varsin positiivinen. Kolme tai neljä tähteä? Ehkä nyt kolme. Ja tulipahan taas todistettua, että on hyvä kuunnella kavereiden suosituksia ja tulla joskus pois omalta mukavuusalueeltaan. Kiitos siis vinkistä, Sarri!
    more
  • Rachel Fessenbecker
    July 8, 2010
    As a Buddhist, I really enjoyed this book. What a unique and genius take! I wish I had better words to describe it. Lynda Barry really took the graphic novel to new heights while using an Asian painting exercise in “One Hundred Demons.” Within, she covers seventeen “autobifictionalographic” stories where she observes and meditates on different “demons” that have affected her life throughout the years. Some of the demons/stories she shares are serious- like her hateful and abusive mother while ot As a Buddhist, I really enjoyed this book. What a unique and genius take! I wish I had better words to describe it. Lynda Barry really took the graphic novel to new heights while using an Asian painting exercise in “One Hundred Demons.” Within, she covers seventeen “autobifictionalographic” stories where she observes and meditates on different “demons” that have affected her life throughout the years. Some of the demons/stories she shares are serious- like her hateful and abusive mother while others are more light hearted like dancing or the funny smells that houses can get. It didn’t matter, I was completely sucked in. The pictures were wonderfully done and only added to the emotive, unique story telling. The main narration was written in a white textbox above the pictures; the rest within the picture as speech bubbles. She even takes the time in the last few pages to describe the technique she used for the book while encouraging us to draw from our own experiences to confront our demons too. Ahh, I loved it!
    more
  • Jack
    April 21, 2009
    Read for my comic book club and really enjoyed it! Barry has an artistic style that initially put me off but that I grew to really admire. I think I didn't like how she drew herself as a kid -- she's so awkward it's actually painful! Once I got into it and was able to see a bit of the author and the life behind the self-portraiture, I found the book to be filled with wonderful, melancholy insights into growing up and shot through with equal parts humor and anguish. There are a few incredibly dar Read for my comic book club and really enjoyed it! Barry has an artistic style that initially put me off but that I grew to really admire. I think I didn't like how she drew herself as a kid -- she's so awkward it's actually painful! Once I got into it and was able to see a bit of the author and the life behind the self-portraiture, I found the book to be filled with wonderful, melancholy insights into growing up and shot through with equal parts humor and anguish. There are a few incredibly dark bits, like the brief scene at the end of the chapter titled "Resilience" where she suggests that she was abducted as a child (though she claims that she can't remember the source of her childhood unhappiness). Honestly, the hint is so brief that I paid no attention to it initially, but as I returned to the image of her being approached by a stranger and the introductory collage at the beginning of the chapter, I got chills.I am ready for a full-blown Lynda Barry marathon now!
    more
  • Charlaralotte
    April 12, 2008
    My bro gave this book for my b-day. Yea, Ben!I remember loving her "Marlys" comics in the LA Weekly. I thought this book was wonderful. Lots of horrible things happen to her as a young person. She's got a great way of condensing a lot of the pain of existence into one or two panels of a comic strip. I loved her Filipino grandma singing "Segie Segie baby" instead of "Shake it up baby now". I loved the story of the end of her friendship with her best friend across the street. That's what life is l My bro gave this book for my b-day. Yea, Ben!I remember loving her "Marlys" comics in the LA Weekly. I thought this book was wonderful. Lots of horrible things happen to her as a young person. She's got a great way of condensing a lot of the pain of existence into one or two panels of a comic strip. I loved her Filipino grandma singing "Segie Segie baby" instead of "Shake it up baby now". I loved the story of the end of her friendship with her best friend across the street. That's what life is like. You feel stuck in a current & you think you're making the right decisions & then in the end you wish so much you'd done the real right thing & you miss the person sooo much.My favorite chapter was about the dog with the "behavioural problems." I cried at the end of that chapter.Also, I like how Barry says she lives in the midwest, "where normal people are foxy." That's certainly how it feels after getting out of LA.
    more
  • Ciara
    November 4, 2008
    the most interesting part of this book (it was in this book, wasn't it? i read a shit-ton of lynda barry all in a few days & maybe got confused) is her story about when she used to date ira glass (though she didn't specify him by name) & he was a total douche who used to call her "little ghetto girl" & generally treat her like she was dumb. this is a series of comics about fucked up shit that went on in lynda's life, or stuff that makes her life a little less than the awesomeness it the most interesting part of this book (it was in this book, wasn't it? i read a shit-ton of lynda barry all in a few days & maybe got confused) is her story about when she used to date ira glass (though she didn't specify him by name) & he was a total douche who used to call her "little ghetto girl" & generally treat her like she was dumb. this is a series of comics about fucked up shit that went on in lynda's life, or stuff that makes her life a little less than the awesomeness it could be. she is exorcising her hundred demons by writing about them. i really enjoyed this book a lot. it was super-inspiring & gorgeous to look at. i keep a journal (though without drawings because i'm notmuch of an artist) & i find that it's a lot easier to let go of troubling issues once i've written them down & gotten them out of their cycle in my head, which is basically the exercise this book counsels. if you only read one lynda barry book, i think it should be this one. it's my favorite.
    more
  • Punk
    August 31, 2011
    Graphic Novel. Colorful artwork with often painful subjects, these are seventeen of Lynda Barry's demons. Like most of Barry's work, these stories are about her childhood, with a couple of pieces with her as an adult. She calls this autobifictionalography, as in it's mostly true, but not always.Barry's art is bright and full of movement and includes a lot of people of color, which really makes this stand out from other graphic novels. My favorites were "The Election," "The Aswang," "Hate," and " Graphic Novel. Colorful artwork with often painful subjects, these are seventeen of Lynda Barry's demons. Like most of Barry's work, these stories are about her childhood, with a couple of pieces with her as an adult. She calls this autobifictionalography, as in it's mostly true, but not always.Barry's art is bright and full of movement and includes a lot of people of color, which really makes this stand out from other graphic novels. My favorites were "The Election," "The Aswang," "Hate," and "The Visitor," with the artwork in "Cicadas" some of the best in the book.Four stars. I really like Barry's voice, but her stories about her childhood nearly set off my embarrassment squick. She's so honest about how awkward and weird she was that I can't help but writhe in shared agony; I too was a weirdo. Still am, in fact.
    more
  • Jennifer
    November 15, 2010
    This is the first book of Lynda Barry's that I've read and I thought it was amazing. Her mix of comics and collage is beautiful to look at, but her stories were what I truly loved. She writes that she got the idea of drawing one hundred demons from a zen practice. Each "demon" is a chapter of memories from her childhood that capture so aptly the confusion and wonder of being a kid, all those unknownable things that happen outside your understanding and the sad guilts you continue to carry on as This is the first book of Lynda Barry's that I've read and I thought it was amazing. Her mix of comics and collage is beautiful to look at, but her stories were what I truly loved. She writes that she got the idea of drawing one hundred demons from a zen practice. Each "demon" is a chapter of memories from her childhood that capture so aptly the confusion and wonder of being a kid, all those unknownable things that happen outside your understanding and the sad guilts you continue to carry on as an adult that you hold. Her book is amazing and funny and wonderful. She makes me want to exorcize demons of my own.
    more
  • Molly Ferguson
    March 23, 2014
    If I read this book with more distance from the other graphic novels I've read this summer, it would surely get 5 stars. My sister would love this book (St. Julien - take note!). The illustrations for each chapter separating the demons were gorgeous, and there are some utterly perfect self-reflective moments on the author's part. It's what Barry calls "autobiofictionography," and she's a master at it. The only reason the last star slipped a bit for me is that I felt like the book was a little fo If I read this book with more distance from the other graphic novels I've read this summer, it would surely get 5 stars. My sister would love this book (St. Julien - take note!). The illustrations for each chapter separating the demons were gorgeous, and there are some utterly perfect self-reflective moments on the author's part. It's what Barry calls "autobiofictionography," and she's a master at it. The only reason the last star slipped a bit for me is that I felt like the book was a little forgettable, like every time I put it down I forgot that I had been reading it. I highly recommend it overall - you get to draw your own demon!
    more
  • Jeff
    December 7, 2016
    Lynda Barry manages to do what we all do best (talk about ourselves) better than almost anybody else does it. I also loved What It Is and this book increased my regrets about having an ignorance-based aversion to her work for most of my life.I laughed, i sighed, i (cruelly) wished she had another hundred demons to share with us all.Thank you, Ms Barry. You're not stupid. You didn't waste that paper. I hope you're proud of your work.
    more
  • Summer
    March 6, 2008
    This book is fantastic - Lynda Barry deftly explores new artistic techniques in this slightly fictionalized autobiography. Barry is adept at capturing the emotions of childhood, the joys and the fears and the general state of being. Her stripped-down caricatures of family, friends, and neighbors are spot-on, and her stylized artwork supports her narratives, and vice versa.Side note: Lynda Barry knitted caps for fellow cartoonists Allison Bechdel and Chris Ware, and if that's not adorable, I don' This book is fantastic - Lynda Barry deftly explores new artistic techniques in this slightly fictionalized autobiography. Barry is adept at capturing the emotions of childhood, the joys and the fears and the general state of being. Her stripped-down caricatures of family, friends, and neighbors are spot-on, and her stylized artwork supports her narratives, and vice versa.Side note: Lynda Barry knitted caps for fellow cartoonists Allison Bechdel and Chris Ware, and if that's not adorable, I don't know what is.
    more
  • Maureen Stanton
    February 25, 2012
    I'm always amazed when I'm moved by "cartoons." I loved this book, the images and art, the sensibility of the author, the stories, the honesty. It's a beautiful graphic memoir (or as Barry calls this book, an "autobifictionalography"). It was nice to return to the work of Lynda Barry. I loved the Marlys character in her comics years ago, but then couldn't find her work or stopped reading it. My sister gave me this book to inspire my own writing; I was skeptical, but oddly, it did just that. The I'm always amazed when I'm moved by "cartoons." I loved this book, the images and art, the sensibility of the author, the stories, the honesty. It's a beautiful graphic memoir (or as Barry calls this book, an "autobifictionalography"). It was nice to return to the work of Lynda Barry. I loved the Marlys character in her comics years ago, but then couldn't find her work or stopped reading it. My sister gave me this book to inspire my own writing; I was skeptical, but oddly, it did just that. The originality of her voice and art is inspiring.
    more
Write a review