Once Broken Faith (October Daye, #10)
Politics have never been October “Toby” Daye’s strong suit. When she traveled to the Kingdom of Silences to prevent them from going to war with her home, the Kingdom of the Mists, she wasn’t expecting to return with a cure for elf-shot and a whole new set of political headaches. Now the events she unwittingly set in motion could change the balance of modern Faerie forever, and she has been ordered to appear before a historic convocation of monarchs, hosted by Queen Windermere in the Mists and overseen by the High King and Queen themselves. Naturally, things have barely gotten underway when the first dead body shows up. As the only changeling in attendance, Toby is already the target of suspicion and hostility. Now she needs to find a killer before they can strike again—and with the doors locked to keep the guilty from escaping, no one is safe. As danger draws ever closer to her allies and the people she loves best, Toby will have to race against time to prevent the total political destabilization of the West Coast and to get the convocation back on track…and if she fails, the cure for elf-shot may be buried forever, along with the victims she was too slow to save. Because there are worse fates than sleeping for a hundred years.

Once Broken Faith (October Daye, #10) Details

TitleOnce Broken Faith (October Daye, #10)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 6th, 2016
PublisherDAW
ISBN-139780756408107
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Fairies, Fae, Paranormal, Fiction, Magic, Romance

Once Broken Faith (October Daye, #10) Review

  • Denisa
    January 1, 1970
    Nooo, it's over!I absolutely loved this series! Why are there no more books out?! WHY?!?!I want more! I need to know more about what happens next, and I want to see the wedding and the kids and I wanna see Quentin and Raj grow up! Sorry, I'm a bit sad right now (in case you haven't noticed). It really is a great book, like all the others in this series. Fun and interesting and captivating. These books really do get better and better! All I can say is that 2017 is gonna be a really good year for Nooo, it's over!I absolutely loved this series! Why are there no more books out?! WHY?!?!I want more! I need to know more about what happens next, and I want to see the wedding and the kids and I wanna see Quentin and Raj grow up! Sorry, I'm a bit sad right now (in case you haven't noticed). It really is a great book, like all the others in this series. Fun and interesting and captivating. These books really do get better and better! All I can say is that 2017 is gonna be a really good year for books!
    more
  • Bradley
    January 1, 1970
    This is comfort food of the highest caliber. There's nothing like rivers of blood (most of it Toby's) and the deaths of kings to get make me feel like I'm home again.I mean, ostensibly, we ought to be having this *mostly* fae MC start celebrating her near-marriage with Tybalt, the King of Cats or just eating lots of pizza with her underage wards, but NOOOOOO of course things aren't that easy.Now that a cure is available for Elf-Shot, the magic that can put any Fae to sleep for a hundred years or This is comfort food of the highest caliber. There's nothing like rivers of blood (most of it Toby's) and the deaths of kings to get make me feel like I'm home again.I mean, ostensibly, we ought to be having this *mostly* fae MC start celebrating her near-marriage with Tybalt, the King of Cats or just eating lots of pizza with her underage wards, but NOOOOOO of course things aren't that easy.Now that a cure is available for Elf-Shot, the magic that can put any Fae to sleep for a hundred years or kill any halfblood with a scratch, of course there's a lot of political maneuverings on both sides, perhaps turning the use of it away from careful uses of punishment for major crimes and on to a wholesale indiscriminate use during war because the pure bloods can always get woken up again. (Ignoring the fact that everyone else would be dead. Not that most pure bloods care.)Good arguments both ways, including getting all the wrongfully Elf-Shot Fae woken up and perhaps just setting laws that limit the use of Elf-Shot or removing it from the arsenals altogether. See a mirror to our world going on here? Gun laws and the prison system? lolBut of course nothing is rational or easy when the law of the land is based on irrational decisions by High Monarchs, and the political scene is ready to unravel any minute, seeing opportunities to get away with murder, and of course, that's exactly what happens.Mystery, intrigue... and tragedy. No spoilers. I was pretty much blubbering by the time so many of Toby's.... well... she also lost a ton of blood. It's a difficult time.And what a great novel. :) Total comfort food. Popcorn fiction. :) Of course now I can't wait for the next.
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    January 1, 1970
    October Daye is a character that I love even more the more I get to know her. I would say that the biggest problem that some series face when they are as long running as this one is that to create drama the characters start to do stupid stuff in their personal lives or they become a little TSTL and get themselves into horrible situations. But not my girl Toby, she tries her hardest to stay out of said situations but ends up in them anyway. “I never do anything heroic or stupid unless I’m under s October Daye is a character that I love even more the more I get to know her. I would say that the biggest problem that some series face when they are as long running as this one is that to create drama the characters start to do stupid stuff in their personal lives or they become a little TSTL and get themselves into horrible situations. But not my girl Toby, she tries her hardest to stay out of said situations but ends up in them anyway. “I never do anything heroic or stupid unless I’m under someone else’s control,” I said. “I’d be a lot happier if everyone would just leave me alone to eat pizza and watch television, but you people seem to constantly need saving, so here I am.” And good for us that is the case. I really enjoy how this series seems to get even better the farther along we get. The Gist:In the previous story Toby with the help of a few people came up with a cure to elf shot. Now there has been a conclave called to talk about the ramifications of the cure and if they should wake some of those up that are currently under its affects. We finally get to really meet Quinton’s parents and see some of the sacrifices made on both sides for his blind fosterage. Plus anytime you put Toby in a room with a bunch of nobles you know that some great banter and shenanigans are going to happen. There is a big divide on this issue and it seems like someone is trying really hard to derail the conclave by murdering a person or two along the way. Toby is the only one that seems to have any idea how to go about trying to figure out the plot behind it all and by doing so paints a big target on her back.WHAT I LOVED:TnT (Toby and Tybalt) – I complete love these two together. The way they play with one another, the devotion they share and in this you can see how the politics of their world might interfere with their relationship at times but they will always be there for one another.The Luidaeg is the best. I love that Sea Witch and I too sometimes forget the force she is. I mean she seems pretty nice and I get to see her through Toby’s eyes so most of the time she is extremely friendly. But then something happens and I’m totally reminded of the awe inspiring power she has. She can and will hurt you. “Don’t mistake me for a friend because I sometimes choose to be friendly,” said the Luidaeg. “Don’t pretend you have some sort of control over what I do. I’m Firstborn. That means something. Even here, even now, in this washed-out mockery of Faerie, that means something. If you forget again, I’ll have to leave you with something to remember me by. So please, Arden. Because I loved your father, in my own way, in my own time, don’t make me remind you.” That is one of the story arcs I can’t wait to come to full fruition. The Luidaeg definitely has some plans for Toby in respects to the Selkies and I really can’t wait to find out what they are and what it will cost Toby in the end. Because it seems like the Sea Witch is a bit sad that eventually she is going to ask Toby for something huge.Then there is just the general humor of the book. Yes, yes it is action packed and full of some drama and tense times but then there is also just the humorous and irreverent tone of Toby’s character that makes you laugh even when you are a hairs breath away from crying. There was only one scene I wanted to cry in…but it got better.The general storyline and plot because let’s face it this is book 10 but I like it more than the first books of the series. This is definitely one series that gets stronger with time and really at this moment there is no sign of it tapering off.Overall: I always have a great time in this world and there are so many things I’m looking forward to finding out still so while I want to know ALL THE THINGS, I’ll be patient and wait for Seanan McGuire to roll them out for me in her own time.
    more
  • ✘Tabby✘
    January 1, 1970
    Received from: DAWReceived Via: NetGalley.com THE REVIEWWhy this book?I'm obsessed with this seriesWhat I thoughtOne word AWESOME!!!! This book is full mystery,action,a bit of romance,LMAO moments and a cast of kick ass characters. Toby is one of my favorite heroines she knows when to take charge and get things done; and doesn't let anything get in her way. With that said I loved her interactions with Tybalt they never fail to put a big smile on my face. I also love her interactions with Quentin Received from: DAWReceived Via: NetGalley.com THE REVIEWWhy this book?I'm obsessed with this seriesWhat I thoughtOne word AWESOME!!!! This book is full mystery,action,a bit of romance,LMAO moments and a cast of kick ass characters. Toby is one of my favorite heroines she knows when to take charge and get things done; and doesn't let anything get in her way. With that said I loved her interactions with Tybalt they never fail to put a big smile on my face. I also love her interactions with Quentin they're too cute. As for the plot of the book I found it interesting and it kept me intrigued. Why 4 stars and not 5? Because it didn't have that OMG moment like in Ashes of Honor where Tybalt confessed his love. Nonetheless it did have it's moments but i'm not going to spoil anything just read this book you won't regret it.
    more
  • Jo
    January 1, 1970
    06/09/2016 Buddy Read with the awesome Toby addicts over at BB&B. Faeries are real. Magic is real. My tendency to greet dangerous situations by plunging in headfirst and seeing how long it takes to get myself covered head to toe in blood is also real.I live an interesting life. October Daye is not good at playing political games. She’s more of a find-the-bad-guy-while-staying-alive kind of gal. But because trouble seems to follow Toby wherever she goes, she’s pulled into another political n 06/09/2016 Buddy Read with the awesome Toby addicts over at BB&B. Faeries are real. Magic is real. My tendency to greet dangerous situations by plunging in headfirst and seeing how long it takes to get myself covered head to toe in blood is also real.I live an interesting life. October Daye is not good at playing political games. She’s more of a find-the-bad-guy-while-staying-alive kind of gal. But because trouble seems to follow Toby wherever she goes, she’s pulled into another political nightmare seeing as she was the one that returned from the Kingdom of Silences with a cure for elf-shot. Because the cure could change the balance of Faerie, the High King and Queen, together with Queen Windermere in the Mists have called for a convocation of monarchs, to decide whether the cure will be used or banned. As always danger follows Toby, so when the first dead body appears, and because Toby is a knight errant and hero of the realm, it falls to her to find the killer before another person is murdered. It doesn’t help that Toby is the only changeling in attendance, and therefor the person the pureblood fae suspect and treat with hostility. Together with her allies and loved ones, Toby has to find the killer before it’s too late, and the cure for elf-shot may be lost forever, and the victims would not be saved. If I had to become a little less human to hold on to my humanity, then there was no question of what I needed to do.I just had to be strong enough to do it. Toby was just as wonderful as always. I love how she’s always fighting for those she loves, for those weaker. If someone is doing something wrong, whether it was her fight to begin with, she wades right in, the hero to the rescue :-D It really is amazing how far she has come since the first book, how much stronger she has grown. One thing I’m so amazed by is Toby’s ability to survive every horrible and painful attack which would have killed most people. As with any October Daye book there were some very nerve-wrecking moments, where I panicked that one of my favorite characters would die, luckily they always manage to pull through. (view spoiler)[My heart almost stopped working when Tybalt was injured!! (hide spoiler)] Sometimes I think the true power of what I inherited from my mother is the ability to keep running, no matter how badly it hurts. I really enjoyed the plot of this book, and it’s always so sad and infuriating to see how the pureboods treat the changelings and each other. I loved that we got to meet the kings/representatives of the other kingdoms. So many secrets has been revealed so far, like which First Born Fae Toby descends from, what Fae her mother really is and why Simon turned her into a fish. But still we have barely scraped the surface of all the secrets this world holds and what role Toby still has to play. (view spoiler)[I still can’t figure out what plan the Luidaeg has, and why she needs Toby for it. (hide spoiler)] “When you decide it’s time to make enemies, you don’t fuck around,” said the Luidaeg. “I’ve always respected that about you.” It was so wonderful spending time again with the all the fabulous characters in this world. I love that the Luidaeg, one of my favorite characters, played such a big role in this book. She was fantastic, sarcastic and scary :-D I love her! Ooh, and I loved that we got to finally see the night-haunts at work, how they eat their victims. It was very fascinating! I also loved Dianda in this book, she is so violent, it’s awesome ;-) I did miss May and Raj, who we only saw briefly in the beginning of the book, and I hope they appear more in the next book. Me, the changeling street rat, and him, the handsome Cait Sidhe monarch. Maybe it shouldn’t have worked, but it did, and it had become one of the rocks I put my trust in. The sun rose; the tide turned; Tybalt loved me. The romance between Toby and Tybalt was as awesome as always. They had such a rocky start, but their relationship has grown so strong, and I just love them together! I really can’t wait for their wedding. Once again Seanan McGuire has written an incredible addition to one of my favorite series’. With every book I fall deeper in love with these amazing characters and this brutal but beautiful world. This series just continues in strength, and I can’t wait to read the next book. Highly recommended to anyone who loves Urban fantasy, great world-building, a detailed and intriguing plot and phenomenal characters.
    more
  • Choko
    January 1, 1970
    *** 4.55 ***A buddy read with the Wednesday UF fanatics at BB&B!!! Another Wednesday, another volume from the life and times of Toby Daye. And I don't think I am giving anything away by saying, that even in the tamest version of her daily life, it would not be Toby without blood, dead bodies (to the point that the High Fae Monarchs have to worry if Toby is not some kind of a jinx on ruling Fae), a sexy feline King, an adorable and growing squire, and the coolest Sea Witch that ever was and e *** 4.55 ***A buddy read with the Wednesday UF fanatics at BB&B!!! Another Wednesday, another volume from the life and times of Toby Daye. And I don't think I am giving anything away by saying, that even in the tamest version of her daily life, it would not be Toby without blood, dead bodies (to the point that the High Fae Monarchs have to worry if Toby is not some kind of a jinx on ruling Fae), a sexy feline King, an adorable and growing squire, and the coolest Sea Witch that ever was and ever will be!!!! I missed the omen of death and her bird friend, as well as our indestructible taxi driver, but we still got a large variety of colorful characters to keep the story interesting.This is book Ten of the series and I am happy to report, it is still going strong!!! There is something very special about the cast and world surrounding Toby and we, the series fans, can't help but enjoy it and ask for more. The plot of this book had to do with whether or not the High Court should allow for the new found cure for Elf-shot to be allowed or suppressed. It seems like such an easy answer, but we find out how huge of a political impact the answer could have one way or another. It could transform the way war is lead and could bring unfortunate consequences particular to humans and changelings. The political intrigues heat up to a boiling point and Kings start dying... Enter Toby, a Knight of the Realm and an investigator extraordinair. You all know what usually happens - her getting closer to solving the case proportionally equals her danger of getting almost dead.... It is just how it is and we love her despite of her suicidal tendencies:-)We do get some more books after this one, so we know she is not dead. But is everyone around her??? You have to read it guys, totally worth it!I wish you all Happy Reading and may you always find joy in the pages of a good book!!!
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    I received this ARC copy of Once Broken Faith from Berkley Publishing Group - DAW in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 6, 2016.Merged review:If I had to use two words to describe Once Broken Faith it would be Absolutely Stupendous!This series just keeps getting better and better. The character’s evolutions throughout have been simply marvelous but add in the phenomenal world building that completely sucks the reader in and you have one of the best paranorma I received this ARC copy of Once Broken Faith from Berkley Publishing Group - DAW in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication September 6, 2016.Merged review:If I had to use two words to describe Once Broken Faith it would be Absolutely Stupendous!This series just keeps getting better and better. The character’s evolutions throughout have been simply marvelous but add in the phenomenal world building that completely sucks the reader in and you have one of the best paranormal urban fantasy out there.Now for a little bit about this book…Toby is asked/ordered to attend a convocation of all the rulers to debate whether the cure for elf-shot should be used to wake up the sleepers. High King Aethlin as well as Queen Arden will oversee this meeting of the rulers. Just when you thought Toby would find a modicum of happiness, the ploys of the fae twist it up and spit their venom in the way. It seems the fae can’t be happy with the status quo but must find a way to muck up the world for their own agendas leaving Toby and gang to save the day once again. Of course when machinations abound, Toby, with her lack of court intrigue, must figure out who is out to get them before it is too late. Toby has learned to lean on her friends but her closes ally, the King of the Cats, must hold himself separate from Toby for the good of his own people making her task even more difficult.Simply Amazing storytelling, Seanan McGurie writes a spellbinding fae adventure of love, intrigue, power and friendship that captivates as well as leaves us with a book hangover pondering the what ifs to come.I received this ARC copy from Berkley Publishing Group - DAW in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication Sept. 6, 2016.My Rating: 5 Stars FAVORITEWritten by: Seanan McGurieSeries: October Daye (Book 10)Mass Market Paperback: 432 pagesPublisher: DAW Publication Date: September 6, 2016ISBN-10: 0756408105ISBN-13: 978-0756408107Genre: Paranormal Urban FantasyItunes | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
    more
  • Kira
    January 1, 1970
    Dreams and Slumbers review:3.5 starsI’ve never been an Arden Windermere fan, so I wasn’t thrilled to find out this story was about her. She’s so damn boring and whiny. She’s over 100 years old. Suck it up. Life isn’t fair. Stop whining about it like a teenager who doesn’t want any responsibility in life. Not wanting the throne makes sense. Ruling isn’t something everyone is cut out for. Just because someone is born into it doesn’t mean they’re fit to do it, and she is definitely one of those peo Dreams and Slumbers review:3.5 starsI’ve never been an Arden Windermere fan, so I wasn’t thrilled to find out this story was about her. She’s so damn boring and whiny. She’s over 100 years old. Suck it up. Life isn’t fair. Stop whining about it like a teenager who doesn’t want any responsibility in life. Not wanting the throne makes sense. Ruling isn’t something everyone is cut out for. Just because someone is born into it doesn’t mean they’re fit to do it, and she is definitely one of those people. Nolan should have been declared the heir. Maybe it would have happened if their parents hadn’t died unexpectedly.Whatever bit of respect I had for Arden is now gone. Her brother had about 20 more years to go before he’d wake up from being elfshot. She was debating whether or not she should give him the cure. Is she for real? Screw you Arden! Does she really think he would have been happy waking up to find out he could have woken up 20 years earlier and it didn’t happen just because she was insecure? This just proves she shouldn’t be queen. Everything she’s done is all about what she wants and that means taking the easy route and not fighting for anything.Her opinions on Toby are another reason to dislike her. All the problems in her life are Toby’s fault. Sure because everything was peachy keen before Toby walked into her life. Toby is disrespectful. Maybe if Arden did something worthy of respect, she’d respect her. She should be grateful that Toby’s around or her reign as queen would be pathetic. Obviously she doesn’t get Toby at all since she thinks Toby gets everything she wants.The best part of the story was getting a little more background info on the Luidaeg. It helped to explain why she does what she does and why she can be incredibly helpful and destructive to Faerie. Learning about Cassandra’s power was cool. I wonder how that will come into play later on in the series. Once Broken Faith review:4.5 starsMany rulers on the west coast had a conclave to determine what should be done with the alchemical breakthrough Walther discovered in the last book. Of course nothing goes as planned when Toby is around. It didn’t take long for before the nobility was either being attacked or killed. The political part of the story emphasized how divided opinions are amongst the nobility about the fairness of their laws and changelings. The murder mystery definitely brought some much needed action and entertainment to the story. Not much happened to advance the overarching storyline, which as a die hard fan of this series was a disappointment. If something useful had been learned or if there had been a sex that was not glossed over, I would have given this 5 stars. I miss the times when Toby was struggling to make her way in the world. A lack of respect is something she will always face because of her heritage, but as she keeps making friends in high places it’s not quite the same. It’s still good; it’s just different. For someone who lacks diplomacy skills she has managed fairly well in the political arena. Although her abilities have piqued the interest of some, it’s just as much a liability as it is an asset. For every friend she gains, she gains 3 new enemies. Toby was just as entertaining as always and pushed the limits of what is socially acceptable. Tybalt’s role was much smaller than in the last few books. It was necessary for him to keep his distance from Toby for political reasons, but damn I missed having him around more. The Luidaeg had plenty of page time though. She’s always good for a laugh or for frightening the nobility. Toby did have the opportunity to ride her blood, but I have no clue what the significance was of the scene she glimpsed. Quentin was around a lot. After reading Full of Briars it’s hard to mesh his inner thoughts with his behavior in this. They’re not the same. I like him, but couldn’t help but wonder what type of thoughts were going through his head as events unfolded. Was he really as open minded as he appeared to be? WTH is he going to think when he learns the truth about his heritage?The pacing was slow for the first quarter of the book and progressively became more action packed after that. I’ll always love this series, but I’m dying for something big to happen. Certain scenes in this were unforgettable, particularly one towards the end with Toby and Tybalt. Toby made amends with another character, but I have mixed feelings about that. It’s not one of my favorite books in the series, but it was much better than the last one.
    more
  • Susana
    January 1, 1970
    I've finally re-read this! I can finally read this year's instalment :)Arc provided by Daw through NetgalleyToby is back! And my heart nearly got broken -_- but everything turned out okay in the end ;)Full review to come...“I never do anything heroic or stupid unless I’m under someone else’s control,” I said. “I’d be a lot happier if everyone would just leave me alone to eat pizza and watch television, but you people seem to constantly need saving, so here I am.” (October Daye)October Daye, relu I've finally re-read this! I can finally read this year's instalment :)Arc provided by Daw through NetgalleyToby is back! And my heart nearly got broken -_- but everything turned out okay in the end ;)Full review to come...“I never do anything heroic or stupid unless I’m under someone else’s control,” I said. “I’d be a lot happier if everyone would just leave me alone to eat pizza and watch television, but you people seem to constantly need saving, so here I am.” (October Daye)October Daye, reluctant Knight and Hero of the realm has been through a lot. She has gone against foes stronger than she, and lived to count the story. She has established alliances in almost all parts of Faerie. Gained friends who are as peculiar as she is... and enemies in old friends.She has dethroned evil queens. Caught runaway Princesses... and she has even been named an Ambassador. Much to her dismay :)Now, the High King of Faerie father of you know whom has requested her presence in a Fairie conclave to discuss what to do about the just found cure for elf-shot.Toby would rather not... but people just don't leave her alone!There, she finds herself among a great number of snotty Fae who don't think a changeling has any place there.With tensions rising between different parties, and Fae...people ending up dead, once again it will be up to Toby to find a murderer between giving political speeches in the conclave. -_-Honestly, guys, enough is enough!As usual with all things Toby, there's a lot of self cutting, a lot of bleeding.A lot of ruined dresses.And even a little bit of dying...whatever that may mean ;)As for romance, Tybalt once again shows us why he's our favourite cat. Ever :)Definitely a series in which the author can go with a multitude of spin-off's. At this point I would be happy with a book about Mae, Dianda, Sylvester, you name it.As for the novella, "Dreams and Slumbers" it features Queen Windermere, in the aftermath of what just happened in "Once broken Faith". Things that were supposed to be easy get complicated, and she'll have to strike a bargain with someone she'd rather not.Now to wait another year for the next one :/
    more
  • Emma
    January 1, 1970
    This series is such a treat! Toby is once again busy solving faerie crimes, this time at a faerie conclave held at Arden’s known to discuss elfshot and the ramifications of releasing its antidote. She and her crew are fabulous and I love the way all the characters change and grow through the series. Toby herself will deserve a happy wedding with Tybalt after everything she’s been through; I can only scrunch up in anticipation at all the numerous ways THAT could go wrong! I’m pretty frustrated to This series is such a treat! Toby is once again busy solving faerie crimes, this time at a faerie conclave held at Arden’s known to discuss elfshot and the ramifications of releasing its antidote. She and her crew are fabulous and I love the way all the characters change and grow through the series. Toby herself will deserve a happy wedding with Tybalt after everything she’s been through; I can only scrunch up in anticipation at all the numerous ways THAT could go wrong! I’m pretty frustrated to see if I want to read the next one I will have to buy the hardback, when the rest of the series is on my kindle. Will I be able to wait?.....
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    Yet another Toby book has come to an end, and I'm still stunned at how McGuire manages to keep the series fresh and entertaining. It's probably because her cast of characters is SO GOOD.Anyways, this was another strong entry in the series, dealing with the fallout and repercussions of Toby's trip to the north from the previous book. It left me with quite a few more questions about the overall story arc, ones I'm excited and terrified to see play out.Why do we have to wait another year for more? Yet another Toby book has come to an end, and I'm still stunned at how McGuire manages to keep the series fresh and entertaining. It's probably because her cast of characters is SO GOOD.Anyways, this was another strong entry in the series, dealing with the fallout and repercussions of Toby's trip to the north from the previous book. It left me with quite a few more questions about the overall story arc, ones I'm excited and terrified to see play out.Why do we have to wait another year for more? *sigh*
    more
  • Steven
    January 1, 1970
    It's always a lot of fun when UF writers give us short stories from the points of view of a secondary character. Arden's quest to awaken her brother Nolan from his elf-shot slumber takes an interesting turn, and we get some time with Walther and Cassandra too.Just makes me MORE excited for the next Toby book!!![I lost my review of the actual novel when a certain Goodreads Head Librarian decided to abuse her power and delete all Patreon short stories from the October Daye series and then merge no It's always a lot of fun when UF writers give us short stories from the points of view of a secondary character. Arden's quest to awaken her brother Nolan from his elf-shot slumber takes an interesting turn, and we get some time with Walther and Cassandra too.Just makes me MORE excited for the next Toby book!!![I lost my review of the actual novel when a certain Goodreads Head Librarian decided to abuse her power and delete all Patreon short stories from the October Daye series and then merge novellas that were published in a main series book into the main edition of the corresponding main series book. Thanks so much for that! Unnecessary and done out of spite for a handful of us questioning the decision to remove Patreon books.]
    more
  • Maria Dimitrova
    January 1, 1970
    A nice change in POV here. I always wondered what Arden really thinks of Toby and the whole Queen thing. But the thing I loved most about this story is that she bothers to try to understand her subjects. That she doesn't see the sea witch as a monster despite what the Luidaeg told her. And that she's willing to pay her own debts even when she could have asked someone else to deal with the boogeyman of Faerie. So I think she'll make a great queen. Better than most purebloods. Another interesting A nice change in POV here. I always wondered what Arden really thinks of Toby and the whole Queen thing. But the thing I loved most about this story is that she bothers to try to understand her subjects. That she doesn't see the sea witch as a monster despite what the Luidaeg told her. And that she's willing to pay her own debts even when she could have asked someone else to deal with the boogeyman of Faerie. So I think she'll make a great queen. Better than most purebloods. Another interesting thing was Cassandra - Karen's older sister. She was always in the fringes of Toby's world but now she took a front seat. And she seems to have a special power too. I wonder where that came from. (view spoiler)[Her words about the Luidaeg make me think that maybe Toby will have something to do with freeing her from the bindings Titania imposed on her. I'm a bit terrified of the idea of the Luidaeg loose but boy wouldn't it be fun! (hide spoiler)] I would love for her to accept the Queen's proposition. For one having more changelings in the knowe and valued for what they do instead of just treated like slave labour is always a good thing. And second that would mean we'll get to learn more about her talent. Also I would love it if she and (view spoiler)[ Walter (hide spoiler)] become a couple. A couple of funny quotes:Cassandra: I went to welcome said advisor to the ‘October Daye Occasionally Ruins My Life’ club.The word for humans as old as Walther is “dead.”Merged review:The long awaited buddy read with the folks from BB&B. Now we'll have to wait even longer for the next book :( Oh how I've missed Toby and the gang! All my favourite characters had major roles in this one. In Once Broken Faith Toby and her friends have to deal with the consequences of discovering a cure for elf-shot - the weapon used by Faerie to circumvent the one and only real Law they have - not to kill each other. As we all know violence is part of all sentient beings so just like with humans that's a law that gets broken fairly often. Maybe not as often as traffic laws but often enough. Elf-shot just makes you slumber for a 100 years. While it might seem the gentler solution it's a cruel weapon invented by a sadistic Firstborn who delights in causing harm. And even though she is one of those who currently sleep, she's among those who would like nothing more than for the cure to disappear. So the High King and Queen call a conclave of all the Kings and Queens of the Westlands so they can say their piece before they make a decision. As with all of Toby's stories the first dead body soon arrives and she's off to solve the murder. In the end it all boils down to this: people with power will do anything to keep it. And everything that even remotely threatens the status quo must be eliminated. The cure is one of those things. Toby is another. Because she forces people that make modern racism look like a joke see how wrong they are to assume that birth/race is all you are. That you can't raise above what society tells you it's your limit. Faerie is locked in a feudal medieval society. And it's what is slowly killing it. Just as it would have killed us if we hadn't moved away from it. However when you're immortal change scares you. Hell, change scares everyone. I don't like it even when it's good for me. I can't imagine how much strongly I would feel if I had a thousand years to get settled into my ways. But their world is based on mistreatment of others, on cruelty for the sake of amusement, on outright abuse of power. So things have to change. And Toby is just the right person to force it down their throats. Thankfully she'll have help doing just that. I loved this book for those deeper thoughts it provoked. I loved it for the funny moments, the great banter and the general feeling of belonging. And it's the last that makes me so attached to this world and makes picking up each new book feel like coming home. Thanks to Choko, Jo, Robin and Steven for the wonderful discussion :)
    more
  • Marta Cox
    January 1, 1970
    This author writes such a crazy world that sometimes I just need to stop and remember that none of it is real. I confess I've not read all the books and the ones that I have read were out of order but I'm a firm believer in the simple fact that a good author can make any of their stories interesting. The central character here Toby has had a checkered life to say the least. Part human, part fae and all hero of the realm she serves. As this series has progressed so too has Toby but the price she This author writes such a crazy world that sometimes I just need to stop and remember that none of it is real. I confess I've not read all the books and the ones that I have read were out of order but I'm a firm believer in the simple fact that a good author can make any of their stories interesting. The central character here Toby has had a checkered life to say the least. Part human, part fae and all hero of the realm she serves. As this series has progressed so too has Toby but the price she has paid of pain , blood and almost crippling loss leaves a bad taste in this readers mouth. Yes the author breathes vision and harsh reality into these books but sometimes I really want Toby to come out smiling!Ok this is the fae as I've always imagined them. Not cute, pretty and happy to grant wishes but cruel, ambitious, self serving and politically manipulative. Hey they might eschew outright bloodshed and instead prefer to use the loss of a hundred years immortality as punishment but this book puts the use of the elf shot firmly in the firing line. It starts with such a human touch as Toby hosts a teenage sleepover but quickly turns into the crazy , politically correct world of court as nobility meets to decide the future of so many. Yet as usual when Toby is around bad things do happen and soon there's actual death in the hallowed halls. So can Toby protect secrets and yet at the same time discover who the murderer is? She isn't a political genius but Toby does understand court etiquette and right now with so much in play the last thing anyone needs is the chaos and disorder that seems to follow Toby around!If you are a long time fan you will love this book but I feel for new readers the beginning might be a tad too slow. It is very much about the politics of the fae and took a while to really get going but when the action took over I was routing very much for Toby. I did like seeing characters from previous books show up and there's certainly growth as there's a feeling of change in the air . Yet there's still more to come for readers of that I'm sure and the short addition at the end about Queen Arden just points the way.I was gifted a copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Jen Davis
    January 1, 1970
    Seanan McGuire’s October Daye series is showing no signs of slowing down. This installment gave me all the things I love about these books. It’s engaging, with plenty of action and great pacing. The world-building is interesting, consistent, and relevant to the story. And most importantly, McGuire gives me characters I care about. She draws them with depth and history. She makes me feel like I know them. I’m invested in their losses and wins, their friendships and enemies, and every step they ta Seanan McGuire’s October Daye series is showing no signs of slowing down. This installment gave me all the things I love about these books. It’s engaging, with plenty of action and great pacing. The world-building is interesting, consistent, and relevant to the story. And most importantly, McGuire gives me characters I care about. She draws them with depth and history. She makes me feel like I know them. I’m invested in their losses and wins, their friendships and enemies, and every step they take on their path to an HEA.Once again here, Toby is dragged into the politics of the Fae. This time, the nobility is gathering to decide whether to allow the use of that elf-shot cure Walter devised in the last book. Toby was such a vital part of how the cure came about, the Queen of the Mists insists on her testimony. Of course, nothing is as simple for Toby as that. One of the nobles is killed and Toby is the one tasked with finding his killer, while her loved ones move into the line of fire.One of the best things about these books is watching how Toby’s various relationships have evolved. Not just with Tybalt, though I am a huge fan of that romance, but with all of these other major players in her world. I love seeing her with the Luidaeg. That woman is such a power; she is head and shoulders above all these pretentious pureblooded Fae who think Toby beneath them. Yet the bond between Toby and the sea witch has become one of the touchstones of these books. At the same time, we see the connections Toby has forged with Arden, Diandra, and others. We see how her relationships with them –with Quentin– with Sylvester –all of these key characters– have completely changed her life.Toby is a hero. She lives her life, committed to living up to that. But we can never forget she is a changeling. That she is considered less than those she protects… even though we know she is so much more. It’s so interesting to see the dichotomy between her value and her perceived lack of worth by the so called nobility. This, as maybe some of those folks are beginning to get an inkling that there’s more to Toby than they first gave her credit for.I really enjoyed this one. I can’t wait to find out where McGuire will take us next.Rating: B+*ARC provided by publisher
    more
  • Amy (Other Amy)
    January 1, 1970
    6/13/16: Cover :)Also, there is a novella included with Once Broken Faith from Arden's POV. Not sure yet whether this will be a print exclusive like "Never Shines the Sun" was with Chimes at Midnight. Will update when I figure it out.Update: Seanan McGuire has confirmed the Arden novella is available in all copies, not just print. Yay!
    more
  • Wanda
    January 1, 1970
    Thank goodness for Toby Daye. Yes, she’s a Fae hero who spends more time than she wants to rescuing the unwary and binding the wounds of her friends. And she even helped me—it’s true, this novel saw me through the last bit of the worst headache that I have had in many, many moons.When I’m not feeling well, I reach for urban fantasy. It, along with pain killers, coffee, and soft lights, will see me through whatever is wrong in my world. This series is a particular favourite because I am also nuts Thank goodness for Toby Daye. Yes, she’s a Fae hero who spends more time than she wants to rescuing the unwary and binding the wounds of her friends. And she even helped me—it’s true, this novel saw me through the last bit of the worst headache that I have had in many, many moons.When I’m not feeling well, I reach for urban fantasy. It, along with pain killers, coffee, and soft lights, will see me through whatever is wrong in my world. This series is a particular favourite because I am also nuts about the Fae. Love ‘em. It all started with Patricia Briggs—I first encountered the Fae in her Mercy Thompson series—but it may culminate in McGuire’s October Daye series.These books have perhaps become a bit predictable—Toby will end up covered in blood at least twice and will probably die/be on death’s door once. Two or three of her Buffy-like circle of friends will have something dire happen to them, which Toby must defy death to fix. Fae royalty will have to be told to get their heads outta their butts. But you know what? When you’ve got a migraine, predictable is good. It doesn’t take your best literary analysis skills to appreciate the book.I enjoy all the various forms of Faerie found in these pages—someday I have to find time to read some folklore and get caught up on Selkies, Pixies, Coblynaus, etc. I also must reiiterate my fondness for the sea witch, the Luidaeg. She’s fierce and loving and uncompromising and loyal. And she’s got plans for our Toby girl. I’ll be reading on in the series to learn more about that, you betcha!
    more
  • Ina
    January 1, 1970
    "Somebody remind me again why we're doing this and why I'm not drowning them both in the bathtub.""Drowning Quentin would be an act of treason against the Westlands, and you'd probably be executed. Also, you'd miss him.""Drowning Raj would be an act of treason against the Court of Dreaming Cats, you'd miss him, AND Tybalt would look all sad and noble right before he put you through the wall."Can we just appreciate how spot on humor in this book is? I love the way Toby's family is slowly growing "Somebody remind me again why we're doing this and why I'm not drowning them both in the bathtub.""Drowning Quentin would be an act of treason against the Westlands, and you'd probably be executed. Also, you'd miss him.""Drowning Raj would be an act of treason against the Court of Dreaming Cats, you'd miss him, AND Tybalt would look all sad and noble right before he put you through the wall."Can we just appreciate how spot on humor in this book is? I love the way Toby's family is slowly growing and their dynamics is just great. Re-read: February 2019 I think I enjoyed this book even more now than when I first read it. Even though I remembered most of the twists that happened in Once Broken Faith, I still loved it. Re-reading books might seem like a complete waste of time to some people, but it lets you appreciate small details you didn't notice before. Also, I STILL want answers to all the questions I mentioned in my original review. McGuire really knows how to keep her readers on the edge of their seats.One of the things I really love about October Daye is that McGuire is keeping it real. Even though it's series about Fae and supernatural things, it deals with real problems, such as addiction, sexuality, etc. Just one of many details I appreciated in this installment was when Toby mentioned that Jessica is still scared of her after what happened with Blind Michael in book #3. On one hand, it was heartbreaking. On the other hand, I love that actions in this series have real, long lasting consequences.Also, this quote is hilarious: "I'm not plotting sedition. Much.""Maybe this is me being out of touch with the modern realities of life in Faerie, but last time I checked, you couldn't be a little bit plotting sedition. It's like being a little bit pregnant. Sure, you think it'll be fine, but next thing you know, it's all diapers and daggers and who's your monarch." Original review: February 2017Do you know that terrible feeling when you're reading e-book, you're 80 % done, you are super happy that you have another 20 % to go and then it ends abruptly? And the other 20 % is short story. I like short stories, but come on! I expected another few chapters of the main story. Now I'm just sad.And what's even sadder is that this is the last currently published October Daye novel. I started reading this series a few weeks ago and I totally fell for it. And now it's over for next six months. I have a terrible book hangover to "look forward to".But let's move onto the book itself. Once Broken Faith is about politics, intrigue and relationship issues. All the things I usually hate in books, especially in Urban Fantasy. However, in this series, I welcomed it. Every October Daye book so far was about survival, mortal dangers, dying, saving and surviving. So I definitely enjoyed reading about something different.Faerie world finally has cure for elf-shot. The only problem is that not everyone wants it to be freely given away. And so starts the conclave full of monarchs from all over the country.What I really liked was that some of my all favorites came back - yes, I'm talking about you, Sylvester.However, I really wish this book would have at least one or two more chapters. I want to know what will happen to Simon and Raysel now. I want to know what the Luidaeg's deal with Selkies is (I can't believe we still don't know!). I want to know how Karen Brown got her powers. It was mentioned a few times that it's very strange that she is oneiromancer when her parents are changelings. I want to know what will happen with Eira. I sure as hell want to know more about Toby's sister August (really, that woman has a long lost sister and she doesn't give a damn!). I want to know how Sylvester's sister (and Tybalt's first love) September died. There's too many questions. However, it means that there's a lot of amazing new plots to look forward to in the future.
    more
  • Lindsay
    January 1, 1970
    After ten books of this you'd think the series would be getting tired, but Toby's world gets more interesting with every book.The cure for elfshot has shaken up the fae world and the High King has called a conclave of faerie monarchs from all over North America to be hosted in the Kingdom of the Mists, home to Queen Windermere and Sir October Daye. With a horde of fae nobility in one place, it's only a matter of time before a body shows up, and then there's a handy Hero of the Realm available to After ten books of this you'd think the series would be getting tired, but Toby's world gets more interesting with every book.The cure for elfshot has shaken up the fae world and the High King has called a conclave of faerie monarchs from all over North America to be hosted in the Kingdom of the Mists, home to Queen Windermere and Sir October Daye. With a horde of fae nobility in one place, it's only a matter of time before a body shows up, and then there's a handy Hero of the Realm available to investigate. Of course, Toby is beginning to develop a history when it comes to faerie royalty, so first suspicions land on the only changeling at the conclave.Toby's world has been getting bigger of late as she begins to interact with faerie Kingdoms outside of the Mists. This is a huge step forward with faerie Kingdoms from all over the West Coast and inland being introduced. There's lots of familiar faces, from new friends from the last book, to Diandra and Patrick from the undersea, and the wonderful Luideag and the rest of Toby's crew. To this we get lots of traditional fae nobility with the full force of the traditions and prejudices that Toby has pretty much overcome at home.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    In The Winter Long we saw Toby and her friends create a cure for elf-shot, a weapon that has been used in Faerie for thousands of years. Elf-shot kills Changelings and humans but because it only puts full blooded fae to sleep for 100 years it's always been considered a fairly harmless form of warfare and a great way to take out your enemies without breaking Oberon's law. Now that a cure is available monarchs from across the country, along with the High King and Queen, have gathered to decide how In The Winter Long we saw Toby and her friends create a cure for elf-shot, a weapon that has been used in Faerie for thousands of years. Elf-shot kills Changelings and humans but because it only puts full blooded fae to sleep for 100 years it's always been considered a fairly harmless form of warfare and a great way to take out your enemies without breaking Oberon's law. Now that a cure is available monarchs from across the country, along with the High King and Queen, have gathered to decide how and if the cure should be used. Politics is never simple and this is an outcome that a lot of people are highly invested in so the arguments are fierce. Things get even worse when someone starts committing murders to try and throw the talks off track and unless Toby can figure out who the killer is one of her friends may end up being the next target.You know a series is good when you hit book 10 (plus numerous extra short stories along the way!) and the storyline just keeps getting better and better. Honestly this has quickly become a favourite series since I started reading it earlier this year and I've thoroughly enjoyed binging on Toby's story. I love seeing how far Toby has come since the beginning of the series, she's definitely a force to be reckoned with and even though she'd much rather be left out of the spotlight she keeps getting dragged into the action against her will. She's amassed a large selection of friends and allies along the way and I love the entire group she's surrounded by, especially Tybalt, the Luidaeg, Quentin and May.One of the things I've enjoyed most about this series is the slow build relationship between Toby and Tybalt, they took a long time getting together but their relationship is solid now and there is no forced drama between them just to create tension. Sometimes politics and their responsibilities get in the way of them working together but there is never any doubt that they have each others backs and will always be around when they're needed most. The way they tease each other and play together always makes me smile and I just love every moment they spend together. We also get to see more of Quentin's background in this story which was fun, I enjoyed seeing him interact with his parents and it's nice that a few more people now know his real identity so he's not having to keep quite so many secrets. The Luidaeg always knows how to make an entrance and that's no different here, it's good to know she's on Toby's side because she reminds us once again what a terrifying enemy she would make but certain people definitely needed that reminder. It's becoming more and more clear that the Luidaeg has big plans for Toby's future and I'm really curious to see how that will play out over the next few books.This series is just going from strength to strength and I can't wait to pick up my copy of The Brightest Fell!_______________Of Dreams and Slumbers: 3.5 starsThis short story is included in Once Broken Faith and is set just after the end of the conclave. Arden is faced with a difficult decision, whether to wake up her brother early even though her life is in disarray after taking over their father's kingdom, or whether to let him sleep until the elf-shot wears off so she can concentrate on building her power base.I have to admit Arden isn't my favourite side character in this series (let's face it, she has a LOT of competition from other far more interesting characters!) but I was curious to get the chance to see a story from her point of view. I'm a bit torn about the results though, in some ways I feel sorry for everything that she has been through and I can understand how alone and scared she must be feeling, but in other ways I found it really difficult to see her contemplating leaving her brother asleep for another 20 years just because she was scared about how he'd react to everything that had happened while he was asleep. I couldn't understand how leaving him for longer would make any of that easier to explain to him and surely the sooner she wakes him up the sooner she has an ally that is 100% in her corner and who has the best idea of what she's suffered.I was happy with how the story ended and it was nice to see cameo appearances from Walter and Cassandra but Arden can be a little too whinny and self-centred for my taste.
    more
  • Jesslyn
    January 1, 1970
    I didn't want this one to end. Sadly, it did. I am just as in love with this series now, on book 10, as I was from book 1. McGuire is so, so talented.
  • Suz
    January 1, 1970
    Appears at the back of Once Broken Faith (I received an arc in which it was included)4+ stars for this timely novella that gives us an opportunity to see further into the character that is the rightful Queen of the Mists. We get to see just how much of human culture she absorbed while she was on the run from the Pretender Queen, we get a glimpse of how that may make her the perfect queen to relate to changelings, we get to see her perspective of her relationship with Toby, we get more of the Lui Appears at the back of Once Broken Faith (I received an arc in which it was included)4+ stars for this timely novella that gives us an opportunity to see further into the character that is the rightful Queen of the Mists. We get to see just how much of human culture she absorbed while she was on the run from the Pretender Queen, we get a glimpse of how that may make her the perfect queen to relate to changelings, we get to see her perspective of her relationship with Toby, we get more of the Luidaeg and more confirmation that the Luidaeg has plans for Toby, and we get to see Arden accept her crown. Made of Win.Merged review:Have you ever read a book fast because you were just dying to drink it up, and then find yourself slowing down as you get nearer the end because you didn't want it to end? Yeah, me too. I did that with this book, as well.There is so much that I love about the world of October Daye that it's always hard for me to parse what makes any particular book better or worse than its counterparts. I love being immersed in the world, and in Toby's head, so much that I just accept and take things as they come. It makes for a wonderful reading experience but a difficult way to analyse why I enjoyed the book beyond "full immersion." But I'll try.This was a ground breaking book in that we got to be completely involved in Fae politics as the nobles all came together to decide whether or not to allow the elf-shot cure to be distributed. Obviously this cure can turn the political dynamics of the Summerlands on its ears, with far reaching ramifications that hadn't even occurred to me. McGuire deftly points out these potential ramifications and enables us to see that the answer isn't as cut and dried as we might tend to think.Tybalt is here, but those of us who are hanging on his every breath and loving the shipping with Toby will have to take a breath and enjoy the bits that we are given, because although the shipping is present and as sigh-worthy as ever, the politics are still an obstical that Toby and Tybalt have not completely figured out yet.We get to visit many new characters and many old characters that we have come to love, or love to hate. We get to see what sort of rulers are the High King and High Queen. The thing that I liked most about his book, however, was watching Toby step a bit more fully into who she is and what she's willing to do for the people she calls family, and to understand herself a bit more fully. McGuire has steadily been guiding us down Toby's path to full actualization, and I have to say that I'm loving not only who Toby is turning out to be, but the way she's touching her world - in spite of all the kicking and screaming from the purebloods. Watching her face down various nobles who treat her and pretty much everyone poorly, and doing it in a way that enables her to get away with it, is a gas.I am quite worried about what the Luidaeg has in store for Toby. We have been getting vague foreshadowing for some time now that whatever it will be will be difficult. Here we get to see multiple sides of the Luidaeg, and we get to love her without losing sight of just how damned scary she is.I have no doubt that McGuire will disclose what the Luidaeg intends for Toby by making it a gut-wrenching ride that I wouldn't want to miss. She has proven all along, and Once Broken Faith is no exception, that her ability to lead us down the twists and turns of her imagination is pure mastery.
    more
  • Renay
    January 1, 1970
    This was great. I like adventures where Toby has full range of movement, and in this one the premise was that everyone was locked in a knowe after a murder and Toby is on a TIME CRUNCH to solve it, so it's not my FAVORITE. But to make up for the lack of traveling around, there was a lot of emphasis on RELATIONSHIPS which was *kiss fingers*More thoughts: http://ladybusiness.dreamwidth.org/20...
    more
  • Ivy
    January 1, 1970
    5 starsNice to have a novella featuring Arden. Glad she got her brother back. Also nice to see Annie and Walther again. Wonder if Walther and Cassandra will get together soon. Looking forward to seeing Arden again. Merged review:5 starsAlways nice to read installments from one of my favorite series. Nice to see October and the gang again. Glad they approved the cure for elf-shot. Hope Evening never gets out. Wonder when we will be seeing October's mom. Hope Toby will marry Tybalt soon. Can't wai 5 starsNice to have a novella featuring Arden. Glad she got her brother back. Also nice to see Annie and Walther again. Wonder if Walther and Cassandra will get together soon. Looking forward to seeing Arden again. Merged review:5 starsAlways nice to read installments from one of my favorite series. Nice to see October and the gang again. Glad they approved the cure for elf-shot. Hope Evening never gets out. Wonder when we will be seeing October's mom. Hope Toby will marry Tybalt soon. Can't wait to read The Brightest Fell!!!!
    more
  • Theresa
    January 1, 1970
    5 Stars... The elf shot cure is available, but the political regime of purebloods is compelled to crush it’s existence as they gather in a conclave of manipulation and secrets... When the nobility are murdered October must once again answer the call of being the hero of the realm, but at what cost?... Political intrigue takes center stage and the casualties are mounting as October races to find the assailant and save those she loves... Another heart pounding adventure that kept me on the edge of 5 Stars... The elf shot cure is available, but the political regime of purebloods is compelled to crush it’s existence as they gather in a conclave of manipulation and secrets... When the nobility are murdered October must once again answer the call of being the hero of the realm, but at what cost?... Political intrigue takes center stage and the casualties are mounting as October races to find the assailant and save those she loves... Another heart pounding adventure that kept me on the edge of my seat from start to finish.:)
    more
  • Melliane
    January 1, 1970
    Mon avis en FrançaisMy English review I think you all know that I’m a big fan of the October Daye series, so I always look with great anticipation to each new volume and here we are with the tenth volume! After long, I understood that each volume was wonderfully done, and I now have no doubt when I start a new story. Besides, I can confirm it again, One Broken Faith is an action-packed novel, full of political intrigue, conspiracy, suspense and with all the characters we love! Yes, you guessed i Mon avis en FrançaisMy English review I think you all know that I’m a big fan of the October Daye series, so I always look with great anticipation to each new volume and here we are with the tenth volume! After long, I understood that each volume was wonderfully done, and I now have no doubt when I start a new story. Besides, I can confirm it again, One Broken Faith is an action-packed novel, full of political intrigue, conspiracy, suspense and with all the characters we love! Yes, you guessed it, a new great book for me as always!During their last mission, October and Walther had the chance to discover the cure for « elf-shot » which is a weapon to lull a person for more than 100 years. Criminals are subject to it, but many others, innocent people have been affected by this weapon that changes their life forever. So here is a solution now possible, but it seems that the decision of the distribution of such a product is a matter of debate. Thus a conclave is organized in the Kingdom of our beloved Arden, bringing together all the rulers and all persons likely to give their opinion, all that chaired by the High King and Queen. But you suspect quickly, if you know the series, that if Toby is present, disasters will happen on and on and that begins with the death of one of these monarchs. A big problem, I can tell you! But when danger approaches toward people that our heroine loves, she will not hesitate to put herself in danger to try to understand what is happening and to find the culprit.We are launched into a race against time, our little heart beating louder along the chapters and by seeing all that our heroine must go through, our tears point their nose at certain times and it’s true I was eager to finish the story to understand all the events and how all was going to end. Yes, because October will have to make choices, like not trying to upset too many monarchs as she has the habit to do so but she will also have to understand what is really important to her. As I said, all the people we love are here (you can imagine that everybody wants to attend the conclave to know the final decision), and it is true that I am now as always very curious to dive into the next book! Yes, I know it’s a vicious circle that never stops but it’s so nice to dive into each new story and to discover how catastrophic the situation would be.I will not say much more not to spoil but if you have never tried the series, you need to do so and you will not be disappointed! Each volume reveals a story that is hard to let go, the characters we love and above all a plot and a world that we love to discover or rediscover!
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    Once Broken Faith4 StarsOctober Daye's problems are only beginning when she is ordered by the High King of the Westlands to attend a convocation of Monarchs that will decide whether or not to implement the cure for Elf Shot. As the only Changeling in attendance, Toby is automatically suspected when one of the delegates is murdered ,and she will have to utilize all of her resources to find the real culprit before they destabilize faerie for all time. This installment returns to Toby's roots as an Once Broken Faith4 StarsOctober Daye's problems are only beginning when she is ordered by the High King of the Westlands to attend a convocation of Monarchs that will decide whether or not to implement the cure for Elf Shot. As the only Changeling in attendance, Toby is automatically suspected when one of the delegates is murdered ,and she will have to utilize all of her resources to find the real culprit before they destabilize faerie for all time. This installment returns to Toby's roots as an investigator and while it is an interesting mystery, there is no significant character development or progression in the overall story arc. As with most of the books in McGuire's series, the world of the fae is well-detailed and captivating. The malicious prejudices and vicious machinations of the pure-bloods never cease to amaze even though they should not be all that surprising given the nature of the real world today. Toby's relationships with her various friends (who are actually more like family) are, once again, a true highlight. There are some incredibly heart-warming as well as heart-breaking moments and even one particular scene that might have meant the end of the series for me if it had gone the wrong way. Thankfully, McGuire saves the day and I will continue on with Toby's adventures. In sum, an enjoyable addition to the series overall, but there are so many compelling questions that remain unanswered and I really hope the next book will provide answers. Crossing fingers!
    more
  • Hannah (fullybookedreviews)
    January 1, 1970
    I think it’s fairly obvious to long-time readers of my blog that I’m a giant fan of Seanan McGuire. I adore the sheer scope of her crazy wonderful imagination. She’s given me one of my favourite urban fantasy series (and couples!) of all time. She’s a writing machine, with an extensive list of titles and series behind her. I appreciate the diversity that she incorporates into her books. I highly respect, and applaud, this blog post of hers, where she outlines exactly why her female characters w I think it’s fairly obvious to long-time readers of my blog that I’m a giant fan of Seanan McGuire. I adore the sheer scope of her crazy wonderful imagination. She’s given me one of my favourite urban fantasy series (and couples!) of all time. She’s a writing machine, with an extensive list of titles and series behind her. I appreciate the diversity that she incorporates into her books. I highly respect, and applaud, this blog post of hers, where she outlines exactly why her female characters won’t be raped to meet some people’s warped ideas of “realism”. (If you haven’t read that post yet, do it. Go ahead, I’ll wait.)Furthermore, once you get so far in a series, and invested in the characters and the world that you inhabit, it gets to the point where you’d be happy to read 300 pages of your faves sitting around eating breakfast, or something equally as mundane. So I fully declare myself a biased reviewer at this point. Of course, this is the world of Toby Daye: changeling, hero of the realm, affianced to a shape-changing cat, secretly squired to by the heir of the kingdom, living with her death omen… things are never destined to be quiet for too long.But the tenth book in this series starts out with one of this delightful mundane slices-of-life that we fans covet so much – Toby arranging a slumber party for her teenage squire and acquaintances, a chance for them all to be normal and forget the responsibilities of life for a few short hours. And then, of course, Things Get Real, and Toby is forced into the world of pureblood protocol and politics, a direct result of the discovery during the events of the previous book. But alas! There is murder! Mayhem! Mystery! And some unfortunate near-death experiences, as is par for the course.“What happened?” she asked.“The same thing that always happens,” I said. “We were having a perfectly nice evening until it got ruined by a corpse.”What I like about Toby’s character is that even as she’s become pretty much indestructible over the course of the series – it comes with a price – pain. Not that I’m a sadist, or anything, but it makes a refreshing change from the heroines who can instantly shake off some kind of injury that would fell the rest of us mere mortals and continue on as if nothing has happened.Without giving away too much of the plot of this instalment, fans can rest assured the series is continuing on strong. We get more insight into some of our regular favourite characters, along with the appearance of some new players. Toby and Tybalt continue to make my heart flutter without becoming boring. While this book wasn’t a game-changer, the Luidaeg certainly hints at a major role that Toby will be playing in the grand scheme of things, a role that will directly affect our favourite snarky fearsome sea witch.“When you decide it’s time to make enemies, you don’t fuck around,” said the Luidaeg. “I’ve always respected that about you.”Finally, I must mention that I adore the Shakespeare-inspired titles. Long live the Bard! If you haven’t checked out this series, and you enjoy urban fantasy, do give it a chance. There’s tons of snark, creative world building, and fallible but lovable characters.ARC received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Quotes taken from uncorrected proof and may differ from final publication.
    more
  • Dark Faerie Tales
    January 1, 1970
    Review courtesy of Dark Faerie TalesQuick & Dirty: Change in Fairy is a good thing, right?Opening Sentence: Quentin and Raj were in the living room arguing about who got to pick the first movie of the night.The Review:Toby is back in book 10, this one picks up not too long after the end of A Red-Rose Chain. Arden wants Toby to come with her and wake up Madden and Nolan, before the High King and High Queen arrive using a loophole in the wording of his edict to wait until the conclave before a Review courtesy of Dark Faerie TalesQuick & Dirty: Change in Fairy is a good thing, right?Opening Sentence: Quentin and Raj were in the living room arguing about who got to pick the first movie of the night.The Review:Toby is back in book 10, this one picks up not too long after the end of A Red-Rose Chain. Arden wants Toby to come with her and wake up Madden and Nolan, before the High King and High Queen arrive using a loophole in the wording of his edict to wait until the conclave before any more sleepers are woken up. However, they only get Madden awake before being surprised by the early arrival of the High King. As punishment, Toby has to attend the conclave with Quentin.Before the first day is over, a King is murdered and The Duchess of Undersea is elf shot. Toby must figure out if they are related or two separate incidents. Toby can’t figure out why some of the Kingdoms aren’t ready for a cure to elf shot, and why or who would work to suppress the cure. Why is someone murdering royalty? Will Toby be able to survive this murder investigation, or will she and everyone she loves fall?What can I say about this book? Too much, not enough? I will say tears were shed while reading this book, many tears. I really wondered where Seanan would go with this series after A Red-Rose Chain. At this point, Toby has been involved in two regime changes, maybe three if you count Dreamer’s Glass, and the death of a Firstborn. Clearly, Toby has a lot of untapped power and now that we are at the 10th book we are getting an idea of how powerful she really is, even for a changeling. It makes you wonder how powerful she would have been as pureblood.In the beginning, this might have been my least favorite book, but by the time I hit halfway through, I really didn’t feel that way anymore. I couldn’t put it down, and then I cried and cried and I wanted to get mad and scream. Then I was shocked and laughing, I mean all the feels. I went through like five different emotions in the space of a half hour. Seanan packed a punch in the second half of the book. I really can’t say anything bad about this series. I love it, I love October Daye, Tybalt, Quentin and so many of the other characters. I can’t believe I have to wait a whole year for the next book. Thankfully, Seanan has no plans to end this series anytime soon. I for one, am glad for that!Notable Scene:There was a sound behind me, like metal being torn, and a scent so faint that it was on the edge of existence, too thin and attenuated to identify.Tybalt blinked, giving me an inexplicably instinct, shifting my bad a few inches to the side, as if I could shield him from the source of that sound.The pain followed immediately on the motion, sharp and piercing and somehow new, a pain I had never felt before. It seemed like every time I reached the limits of my body’s experience, someone went out of their way to hurt me in a whole new way.FTC Advisory: DAW/Penguin provided me with a copy of Once Broken Faith. No goody bags, sponsorships, “material connections,” or bribes were exchanged for my review.
    more
  • Erin (PT)
    January 1, 1970
    I finished this book eight days ago while I was on the road and now, looking back to write this review, I find I don't have much to say about it. That's not to say it wasn't enjoyable. I like the series. I like the characters. Their antics are always entertaining. But after the last two books being, imo, GREAT, this one was merely good. It's a much more sedate book (murders notwithstanding). It's essentially a locked door mystery that happens in the aftermath of Toby's return from The Kingdom of I finished this book eight days ago while I was on the road and now, looking back to write this review, I find I don't have much to say about it. That's not to say it wasn't enjoyable. I like the series. I like the characters. Their antics are always entertaining. But after the last two books being, imo, GREAT, this one was merely good. It's a much more sedate book (murders notwithstanding). It's essentially a locked door mystery that happens in the aftermath of Toby's return from The Kingdom of Silences with the cure for elf-shot. Now that there IS a cure, the King and Queen of the Westlands have to figure out what to do about it: allow it to be used freely, conditionally, or not at all, and to that end, they've convened a convocation of whoever wants to come, to talk about it. There are also some murders (of course there are, this IS an event where Toby is present) but the main thrust of the story is everyone figuring out the ramifications of stuff Toby (and crew) already did. The most interesting part for me was the opening up of Toby's world to see what some of the other kingdoms are like and how those politics feed into the bigger picture. Also, the potentially terrifying and troublesome reveal that (view spoiler)[the elf-shot Evening Winterrose is invading oneiromancer Karen's mind. (hide spoiler)] Which didn't especially feed into this book, but is definitely a card McGuire could be saving for the future. One of the things I think is a flaw of the series as we know it is that from book one, we've been presented with certain realities like the poor treatment of changelings by the purebloods. But now, by book 10, we've gotten to know the North American King and Queen, McGuire has written them in a way to make them sympathetic and seem like they're good people...and yet they haven't made any moves to advocate--even within their own court--for better treatment of changelings. The book makes--a reasonable--argument that the Sollys' can't just impose their will wholesale on the entire continent, but there's nothing to indicate they're even trying to lead by example within the lands they do unquestionably control, other than sending their son secretly away so he doesn't learn bad habits at home. Mcguire has given us a fairly dystopic elvish world, but is trying to back fill characters in power as "good" and sympathetic people and it doesn't quite line up. I'm also of two minds about McGuire's unwillingness to pull the trigger on her darlings. On the one hand, I am FULLY IN FAVOR of none of the series favorites dying, because I love them and I don't want them to die. The times when my particular favorites have been in danger of dying (or, in the parlance of The Princess Bride, mostly dead) have been AWFUL. At the same time, there's a lack of consequences that becomes more and more unreal, the more books that put our heroes in mortal danger and EVERYONE emerges unscathed. I suppose if you were going to put me to the iron, I'd probably fall down on keeping everyone alive, but I can't get rid of the awareness of it. But, as someone below called the series, these are popcorn books. That's not to dismiss the value or quality of a good popcorn book, but they're FUN. They're the thing I can turn to when the rest of the world is burning down, and lose myself inside them, letting those problems wait outside until I can face them again. And let's be real, I'm already chafing for the next book.
    more
Write a review