Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, #23)
In the heart of Trenton, N.J., a killer is out to make sure someone gets his just desserts.Larry Virgil skipped out on his latest court date after he was arrested for hijacking an eighteen-wheeler full of premium bourbon. Fortunately for bounty hunter Stephanie Plum, Larry is just stupid enough to attempt almost the exact same crime again. Only this time he flees the scene, leaving behind a freezer truck loaded with Bogart ice cream and a dead body—frozen solid and covered in chocolate and chopped pecans.As fate would have it, Stephanie’s mentor and occasional employer, Ranger, needs her to go undercover at the Bogart factory to find out who’s putting their employees on ice and sabotaging the business. It’s going to be hard for Stephanie to keep her hands off all that ice cream, and even harder for her to keep her hands off Ranger. It’s also going to be hard to explain to Trenton’s hottest cop, Joe Morelli, why she is spending late nights with Ranger, late nights with Lula and Randy Briggs—who are naked and afraid—and late nights keeping tabs on Grandma Mazur and her new fella. Stephanie Plum has a lot on her plate, but for a girl who claims to have “virtually no marketable skills,” these are the kinds of sweet assignments she does best.

Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, #23) Details

TitleTurbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, #23)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 15th, 2016
PublisherBantam
ISBN0345543009
ISBN-139780345543004
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Humor, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Audiobook

Turbo Twenty-Three (Stephanie Plum, #23) Review

  • Ashley
    May 20, 2016
    Because, apparently I hate myself. Let us all join in on the Stephanie Plum prayer (that hasn't worked over the last five* years): Please, dear God, let this be the last book. Let her choose; or not. Just let it be over.*possibly (probably) longer.Edited to add 11/16/2016 (after reading):My prayers went unanswered. In fact, any growth we've seen over the last few books (which was minimal) was completely undone. The men are just caricatures of the guys we liked so much. The feeling of frustration Because, apparently I hate myself. Let us all join in on the Stephanie Plum prayer (that hasn't worked over the last five* years): Please, dear God, let this be the last book. Let her choose; or not. Just let it be over.*possibly (probably) longer.Edited to add 11/16/2016 (after reading):My prayers went unanswered. In fact, any growth we've seen over the last few books (which was minimal) was completely undone. The men are just caricatures of the guys we liked so much. The feeling of frustration when Stephanie is still in her life-threatening situation that happens at the end of every single book and there are fewer than ten pages left in the whole book is such a bitter one. Because you realize there will be no resolution. Possibly ever. And you also know that you will continue to be fooled into reading one of these books every year because surely it has to end at some point, right? RIGHT?!?
    more
  • Sandra
    May 15, 2016
    Team Ranger or Team Morelli?This is like watching a train wreck. You want the series to stop, but still you can't look away (or add it to your wishlist for that matter). Probably repetitive like the previous one, though.
  • Anita
    November 15, 2016
    For the record, I am Team Ranger. I have no expectations that: 1) Stephanie will age; 2) Stephanie will choose Joe or Ranger and live happily ever after; 3) Stephanie will mature in any way. I do expect that this book will have a mystery to solve and that Stephanie will be right in the middle of it. That is more than enough for me.This book fulfilled my expectations and I enjoyed it very much. I love these books for what they are and not what everyone expects them to be. You cozy fans may be off For the record, I am Team Ranger. I have no expectations that: 1) Stephanie will age; 2) Stephanie will choose Joe or Ranger and live happily ever after; 3) Stephanie will mature in any way. I do expect that this book will have a mystery to solve and that Stephanie will be right in the middle of it. That is more than enough for me.This book fulfilled my expectations and I enjoyed it very much. I love these books for what they are and not what everyone expects them to be. You cozy fans may be offended as there is a lot of foul language and several sexual situations, but nothing explicit. Stephanie doesn't age; Stephanie doesn't choose Joe or Ranger; Stephanie does show slight signs of a tiny bit of mature growth, but nothing to be concerned about. She does wreck another car and begins and ends with Joe. But, the middle.....Stephanie finds herself with a frozen dead body covered with chocolate and nuts which tumbles out of the back of an 18 wheeler. Ranger is overhauling the security for the ice cream factory and needs Stephanie's eye for detail to help find out who is trying to sabotage the plant. Working closely with Ranger has Stephanie in a quandary, the same one she has been in for the last 22 books: Joe or Ranger? Joe is steady and, more or less, settled. Ranger is every dark fantasy, but not at all permanent commitment material. She and Joe are engaged to be engaged, but Ranger still lights a fire for her.
    more
  • Allie
    March 14, 2016
    I saw it coming.After reviewing her last two two books I knew another one was more than likely going to be published.Sigh.At least in her last book there was a SMIDGEN of a hope for some character development. I just hope Turbo Twenty-Three continues in this vein and does not leave the main character in an endless loop that has plagued the previous six or seven books.Make a decision. Do something different.Janet Evanovich, please, throw us long time readers a bone here!!!I will be getting my cop I saw it coming.After reviewing her last two two books I knew another one was more than likely going to be published.Sigh.At least in her last book there was a SMIDGEN of a hope for some character development. I just hope Turbo Twenty-Three continues in this vein and does not leave the main character in an endless loop that has plagued the previous six or seven books.Make a decision. Do something different.Janet Evanovich, please, throw us long time readers a bone here!!!I will be getting my copy from the library as I cannot make myself buy any of them after the first 15. They have just been too similar.-------------------------------------After reading:Exactly as I feared. The love triangle still bothers me, even when you add in a trip to Disney world. Her "revelation" also annoyed me. I just want this series to end on a high note. Something big and awesome and unexpected. Maybe by book 25?? Or it will just go on and on and on with no character growth and similar plot lines.
    more
  • Adrienne
    September 29, 2016
    TURBO TWENTY-THREE-------------------------------If none of the characters are going to grow, at the very least, Stephanie should find Rex, the hamster, dead.[image error]As the Methuselah of hamsters, his time has probably come.
  • Diane S ☔
    December 2, 2016
    Reading Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series is a little like going to McDonald's. Quick, serves a purpose and consistency, you know exactly what you are going to get. Grandma Mazur and her very funny antics, Lulu wearing clothes she has to squeeze in to, trying to help Stephanie but usually making things worse, fires, wrecked cars, and either Morelli or Ranger coming to the rescue. The cases may change but not much else does. Choosing between Morelli and Ranger been the big hook with these, well t Reading Evanovich's Stephanie Plum series is a little like going to McDonald's. Quick, serves a purpose and consistency, you know exactly what you are going to get. Grandma Mazur and her very funny antics, Lulu wearing clothes she has to squeeze in to, trying to help Stephanie but usually making things worse, fires, wrecked cars, and either Morelli or Ranger coming to the rescue. The cases may change but not much else does. Choosing between Morelli and Ranger been the big hook with these, well that and the humor of course. Not much changes, but I think I have. For many years these have served their purpose admirably, during times of stress, less concentration or just for a shot of ridiculousness. But now alas, I fear we must part, I have actually reached my limit, become impatient with the sameness, the lack of growth and have lost interest in the question of whom she picks, or rather no longer care. Still it was a good ride, fun while it lasted. My three rating reflects the fact that I knew exactly what I was getting,, it is not the books fault that I no longer find it filling.
    more
  • Norma
    March 8, 2017
    3.5 stars! Always a fun, easy and comical read!
  • Jilly
    March 9, 2017
    It was fine.Nothing has changed. It's like the Simpsons where the kids never grow up and everything goes right back to the start each week. Sure, you might smile a couple of times through it, but it isn't going to stick with you, give you strong feels, or make you think. poor kid probably has a raging case of Carpal Tunnel Syndrome by now.There aren't even sex scenes, and that would be fine if you could actually feel chemistry and romance between Stephanie and her two boyfriends. I mean, Ranger It was fine.Nothing has changed. It's like the Simpsons where the kids never grow up and everything goes right back to the start each week. Sure, you might smile a couple of times through it, but it isn't going to stick with you, give you strong feels, or make you think. poor kid probably has a raging case of Carpal Tunnel Syndrome by now.There aren't even sex scenes, and that would be fine if you could actually feel chemistry and romance between Stephanie and her two boyfriends. I mean, Ranger sends out sparks, but Stephanie seems to just go along with having sex with two men. I don't get it. Maybe it's her diet of continual junk food. Maybe she has constant indigestion or something and that's why she doesn't seem to care about the sex. She's trying not to burp the whole time or something.Stephanie must be very hipster then. She'll be able to wear these if she keeps eating like she doesSpeaking of which, doesn't it bother anyone else that she is in a committed relationship with Morelli, but is still kissing Ranger constantly and having sex with him occasionally? If Morelli was having sex with someone else on the side, we would all hate him for being a cheater. But, Stephanie is totally screwing him over and it's like it's no big deal.poor kitty!So, there are a few chuckles, but this series is not progressing in any way. If you've read one of these books, you will find nothing new here.Oh, and Rex is still alive. This is the oldest hamster in history. And yet, she doesn't even get him a decent house. He lives in a soup can. I'm thinking that this magical hamster deserves better after living longer than even a sea turtle lives. He's obviously immortal. It's time to provide him with a nicer lifestyle.Oh, okay then. Never mind.
    more
  • Monnie
    November 25, 2016
    TGIF (or, Thank God I've Finished). My rating of 3 stars is rounded up to the generous side from a "real" 2.5, but only because a few lines made me chuckle. Alas, the rest of this one came across as just plain silly.And I'm truly bummed. I haven't missed reading very many in this series featuring bounty hunter Stephanie Plum. And while I admit the last two or three weren't as stellar as the others - how old must Stephanie get before she grows up and stops making goo-goo eyes at possible husband TGIF (or, Thank God I've Finished). My rating of 3 stars is rounded up to the generous side from a "real" 2.5, but only because a few lines made me chuckle. Alas, the rest of this one came across as just plain silly.And I'm truly bummed. I haven't missed reading very many in this series featuring bounty hunter Stephanie Plum. And while I admit the last two or three weren't as stellar as the others - how old must Stephanie get before she grows up and stops making goo-goo eyes at possible husband and cop Joe Morelli and the hunky, mysterious Ranger, for instance - the story itself and the fairly frequent yuk-yuks were sufficient to keep them enjoyable.Not so here. When it comes to her love life, Stephanie's stuck at 30-something going on 14 (still annoying even though I long since resigned myself to the fact that this will never change). Her offbeat agency colleague and former streetworker, Lulu, has lowered her jokes gutter level, and other attempts at humor never get much beyond something that would make a fourth-grader giggle. Passing gas? Pooping in the street? People who don't look good fully dressed going naked in public? Spare me. Even the antics of Stephanie's Grandma Mazur, who's usually a shoe-in for a few belly laughs, fell flat this time.The plot itself doesn't fare a whole lot better. Stephanie is called in to capture Larry Virgil, who missed a court date. Then he hijacks an ice cream treat-maker's freezer truck and is stopped, after which he takes off. When the truck doors are opened, out falls a dead guy, who is frozen and (wait for it!) covered with chocolate and chopped nuts. Conveniently, Ranger has been hired by the truck company's owner; it seems someone is sabotaging the business. So, he brings Stephanie in to help. Meanwhile, Lulu and her height-challenged friend Randy are trying to break into nude reality TV (who knew?) and Grandma - when she's not crashing funeral wakes - is getting down and dirty with a new boyfriend. Ah, will the action never stop?Finally, it did - but from where I sat behind my Kindle, not quite soon enough. I can't believe I'm saying this because it's like saying goodbye to an old friend, but I think I've had my fill of this series. Over and out.
    more
  • Dawn
    April 15, 2016
    Another hilarious installment the the Stephanie Plum series. Keep them coming
  • Donna
    December 2, 2016
    I have enjoyed this series. This book is the 23rd book in the Stephanie Plum series and I've read them all....in order. But unfortunately, this is my least favorite and the sad thing is, is that I was so looking forward to reading this one. I'm disappointed. Stephanie, as an MC, is lost and she is losing even more ground. There was no progression in this one for anyone. The dialogue was also trite. It felt like it was only adding to word count. I'm losing interest and I I don't know if I need to I have enjoyed this series. This book is the 23rd book in the Stephanie Plum series and I've read them all....in order. But unfortunately, this is my least favorite and the sad thing is, is that I was so looking forward to reading this one. I'm disappointed. Stephanie, as an MC, is lost and she is losing even more ground. There was no progression in this one for anyone. The dialogue was also trite. It felt like it was only adding to word count. I'm losing interest and I I don't know if I need to slap myself for continuing to hang on and hoping for the best, or to slap the author for letting this go stale.
    more
  • Sleepless in...wherever (no good without caramel macchiato)
    February 9, 2017
    Now, why would you do that for? Making an ice cream bar out of a corpse is just icky and wrong and ugh!!! I still ate ice cream today so I don't know what that says about me.I was dreading reading this book, 'cause it's the last one until the next one. You know what I mean. When the series have 20+ books and you think you still have a bulk of them left, and then that last one creeps in and you're like "Damn, is this it? I'm in the waiting game, again?" Yeah, I'm rambling, moving on.There are peo Now, why would you do that for? Making an ice cream bar out of a corpse is just icky and wrong and ugh!!! I still ate ice cream today so I don't know what that says about me.I was dreading reading this book, 'cause it's the last one until the next one. You know what I mean. When the series have 20+ books and you think you still have a bulk of them left, and then that last one creeps in and you're like "Damn, is this it? I'm in the waiting game, again?" Yeah, I'm rambling, moving on.There are people in this world who for some reason are afraid of clowns. I'm not one of them. I neither like or dislike clowns, I just think the whole idea of them is weird. Also, I think people who work as clowns are not happy people. Think about it, if you had to spend your whole day with a painted smile on your face and act all happy and bubbly, you'd want to shoot someone pretty soon. Right? "Fake it til you make it" don't work on clowns. It's sad really. So I wasn't surprised to find a killer clown in a book about ice cream related murders. What I was surprised to find here is an actual method to quit smoking. And from Lula!"Were you a smoker?""Hell, yeah. I was a big smoker, but I'm not stupid. I got this beautiful chocolate skin and I'm not going all crone with it because of smoking.""How did you quit?""I traded in my cigarettes for a vibrator. I got a dandy little battery job that I carry in my purse, and when I feel the urge to light up I just stick this thing against my lady parts and buzz myself into relaxation and happiness. Personally I don't get the whole e-cigarette thing. I mean, if you're going mechanical wouldn't you rather put those batteries to work on your pleasure bean?"I wonder what's her solution for men would intale, hmm...Leave it to Lula to say something crazy and weird, and still by the end of it it somehow makes sense.Over and out
    more
  • Vicki Willis
    November 27, 2016
    I read these knowing just what they are and I think that's why I love them so much. They are just great entertainment for me and a fast read. I like that I know how it is going to go with Stephanie getting in the middle of a mystery, losing a handcuffed FTA, wrecking a car, something getting blown up, G-ma going to a viewing, Lula being outrageous,a little Rex and Bob and no decision being made between Morelli and Ranger (definitely Ranger for me). I had lots of laughs in this one and there were I read these knowing just what they are and I think that's why I love them so much. They are just great entertainment for me and a fast read. I like that I know how it is going to go with Stephanie getting in the middle of a mystery, losing a handcuffed FTA, wrecking a car, something getting blown up, G-ma going to a viewing, Lula being outrageous,a little Rex and Bob and no decision being made between Morelli and Ranger (definitely Ranger for me). I had lots of laughs in this one and there were some references to pop culture. The mystery took place in an ice cream factory and was ok, but it didn't matter because it provided the opportunity for more Ranger and that can never be a bad thing. Is it a literary masterpiece? No, but it isn't supposed to be. It is what it is and to me that is a fun and hilarious read. A 5 star recommendation to any fan of the series.
    more
  • Jess
    November 16, 2016
    Does skimming count as reading? With this series, that's a big, fat yes. I haven't read a book in this series since maybe #17, so when I saw it come up on my library rental list, I thought what the hell, I'll get it and flip through, see if anything's changed. NOPE. Seriously, save your money. I skimmed through it in about 10 minutes and came away so ragey, I'm done, DONE with Stephanie. Nevermind the crazy plot she finds herself in the middle of (same ol', same ol' there), whatever. But Stephan Does skimming count as reading? With this series, that's a big, fat yes. I haven't read a book in this series since maybe #17, so when I saw it come up on my library rental list, I thought what the hell, I'll get it and flip through, see if anything's changed. NOPE. Seriously, save your money. I skimmed through it in about 10 minutes and came away so ragey, I'm done, DONE with Stephanie. Nevermind the crazy plot she finds herself in the middle of (same ol', same ol' there), whatever. But Stephanie is with Joe and has sex with Ranger. What. The. Fuck. She's with Joe, but wants a night of fun and has sex with another guy. Now yes yes, this horrid triangle has been going on and on for years now. Trust me, I get it. It's the main reason I quit the series about 7 books ago. But how can anyone root for and get behind a heroine who does that? The character of Stephanie went from a fun loving, hilarious, sweet woman (books 1-5, maybe) and has been turned into a ridiculous, laughing stock. I'm done. Not even a free library rental will ever sway me to open up another book in this series again.So, yeah. I guess I had some pent up anger to get out about this series haha! I just hate seeing a series go from one that I really enjoyed to one that needed to end about 10 years ago.
    more
  • Thomas
    January 23, 2017
    This was a light, fun read. Stephanie Plum, bail bond enforcement agent, is still going back and forth between the two men in her life, Ranger and Morelli, which is getting a little old. She is still doing undercover work for Ranger while apprehending fugitives. Her assistant, Lula, is a former 'ho, who prefers spandex mini skirts and low cut blouses.Some quotesStephanie: "At first glance it might appear that I'm lacking in moral character by by bouncing men like this, but it's only two men." "T This was a light, fun read. Stephanie Plum, bail bond enforcement agent, is still going back and forth between the two men in her life, Ranger and Morelli, which is getting a little old. She is still doing undercover work for Ranger while apprehending fugitives. Her assistant, Lula, is a former 'ho, who prefers spandex mini skirts and low cut blouses.Some quotesStephanie: "At first glance it might appear that I'm lacking in moral character by by bouncing men like this, but it's only two men." "These guys are both twelve on a scale of one to ten. And I might only be an eight on a good day."Lula on smoking: "I traded in my cigarettes for a vibrator."There are laugh out loud lines in this book. I read it in one day.This was a library book.I rate it 3.5 out 5 stars(rounded up to 4)
    more
  • Yvonne Baldwin
    November 16, 2016
    Hilarious and Fun!What a great book. Stephanie Plum is back at it. I really liked this one, absolutely hilarious. Briggs is back to help Lula become famous by shooting a movie based on Naked and Afraid. OMG! Ranger and Stephanie are working together closely to figure out the problems at an ice cream factory. Stephanie has to go undercover and work there. Think Willy Wonka on drugs but instead of chocolate it's ice cream and Killer Clowns. Ranger to the rescue! Love him.As for the love triangle b Hilarious and Fun!What a great book. Stephanie Plum is back at it. I really liked this one, absolutely hilarious. Briggs is back to help Lula become famous by shooting a movie based on Naked and Afraid. OMG! Ranger and Stephanie are working together closely to figure out the problems at an ice cream factory. Stephanie has to go undercover and work there. Think Willy Wonka on drugs but instead of chocolate it's ice cream and Killer Clowns. Ranger to the rescue! Love him.As for the love triangle between Stephanie, Ranger, and Morelli well that is still going on. While in Florida working on the case with Ranger Stephanie has an epiphany. A very good one! Now if Ranger could have one,that would be great. Stephanie needs to embrace her inner Tinkerbell and set the men straight. Morelli is the friend with benefits. Someone you love and hangout with. Ranger is the one Stephanie is in love with, the one she wishes for. Maybe Tank or Hal can help him have his own epiphany.I gave this five stars because it definitely is if I could give it more I would. Terrific book
    more
  • Barbara
    January 24, 2017
    In this addition to the Stephanie Plum series a frozen corpse covered with chocolate and nuts may be the falllout from a 'war' between ice cream companies. Ranger's security firm has been hired to protect the Bogart ice cream factory.....and to expose a possible saboteur. Needing an undercover operative, Ranger hires Stephanie to pose as an ice cream factory worker. So, in additon to her usual job as a bounty hunter, Stephanie lends Ranger a hand. All this leads to some fun scenes where a conve In this addition to the Stephanie Plum series a frozen corpse covered with chocolate and nuts may be the falllout from a 'war' between ice cream companies. Ranger's security firm has been hired to protect the Bogart ice cream factory.....and to expose a possible saboteur. Needing an undercover operative, Ranger hires Stephanie to pose as an ice cream factory worker. So, in additon to her usual job as a bounty hunter, Stephanie lends Ranger a hand. All this leads to some fun scenes where a conveyor belt spews ice cream everywhere ("there's no big red button!"); Stephanie dresses as a clown to sell Bogart bars; and she gets covered with cooking oil redolent of bacon and fried chicken. You know what to expect with this series, and the story contains the usual comic and romantic elements: Stephanie and her sidekick Lula - a flamboyant former 'ho' who carries a big gun - create havoc in New Jersey; vehicles crash and blow up; Grandma Mazur snags an elderly motorcycle-riding boyfriend.....and hops aboard in her pink pantsuit and white sneakers; Stephanie's mom compulsively irons and has a few nips; Stephanie gets cozy with both Morelli and Ranger; and so on. In addition, in an attempt to land a reality TV gig, Lula and Briggs (a whiny little person) make videos called 'naked and afraid' and 'naked bungee jumping.' (Now that's something you'd never be able to unsee! LOL)It turns out the ice cream business is pretty dangerous, and more people turn up dead or missing. In fact, before the perp is snagged Stephanie almost becomes a popsicle herself!The book is entertaining - and I got a few smiles - but it's not as laugh out loud funny as previous entries in the series. I'd like to see Stephanie, Lula, and Grandma Mazur go a little more 'over the top' in future books. If you need a break from serious fare the Stephanie Plum books are fine 'go-to' choices.You can follow my reviews at http://reviewsbybarbsaffer.blogspot.com/
    more
  • Marsha Bezzina
    November 20, 2016
    I don't want Stephanie to die. That's not a review of this book…okay, perhaps slightly. Here's the thing, don't start with this one. Seriously. Start here, at the beginning.Fall in love with Stephanie. Adopt Grandma Mazur. Exercise for free as Lula transforms your abs (hey, they're in there somewhere). And, of course, choose sides: Cupcake or Babe.I took a quick peek at what others thought of this one. I wish I hadn't. People are mean.• Just end it already!• Choose!• I stopped reading at __.This I don't want Stephanie to die. That's not a review of this book…okay, perhaps slightly. Here's the thing, don't start with this one. Seriously. Start here, at the beginning.Fall in love with Stephanie. Adopt Grandma Mazur. Exercise for free as Lula transforms your abs (hey, they're in there somewhere). And, of course, choose sides: Cupcake or Babe.I took a quick peek at what others thought of this one. I wish I hadn't. People are mean.• Just end it already!• Choose!• I stopped reading at __.This isn't real life. It's fiction. I want Stephanie. I need Lula and Ranger and okay, even Morelli (Team Babe!). Ahem. My point is, why must she choose? And why is a variation on the same so disturbing? It's like a favorite song, one you can dive into again and again.And now the hard part. Stephanie was missing pieces of herself. I chuckled—chuckled—twice during this one. No gut-busting, I-may-never-stand-upright-again, laughter. And, semi-spoiler, (view spoiler)[she Babes while still being a Muffin (hide spoiler)].I want the animal shenanigans. I want the indecision. I want the explosions and the screw-ups and the complete and utter ridiculousness. In other words, I want Stephanie Plum.Maybe this was her doppelgänger and she's off with Diesel somewhere (Christmas Cookie shows up in book 8.5). Maybe she was dreaming of Stephanie 2.0. I don't want Stephanie to die. I missed her. I want her back. So if Diesel is listening, do your thing (or I'll make Carl give you the finger).Sexy reading,Marsha(Note: I won a copy through a Goodreads giveaway after I read and reviewed this book.)
    more
  • Wendy
    January 19, 2017
    Another great addition to the Stephanie Plum series!
  • Brittany (The Book Addict's Guide)
    November 23, 2016
    Initial Impressions 11/23/16: Well I'm a bit disappointed after all the progress we made in the last book to end up here with Stephanie's relationship status. As much as I love the Ranger attraction, it's wearing on me. (But I do still love him)I feel like there's not much to say about Stephanie Plum books that hasn't already been said before. Always fun, always great to spend more time with these characters, always like coming home. Another book where I enjoy that it wasn't TOO silly. It was co Initial Impressions 11/23/16: Well I'm a bit disappointed after all the progress we made in the last book to end up here with Stephanie's relationship status. As much as I love the Ranger attraction, it's wearing on me. (But I do still love him)I feel like there's not much to say about Stephanie Plum books that hasn't already been said before. Always fun, always great to spend more time with these characters, always like coming home. Another book where I enjoy that it wasn't TOO silly. It was comical enough but not over the top. I always like that I don't really guess the mysteries! I guess I probably could if I really tried but I love listening to these audiobooks because they're so easy so I'm often listening as I do other things and just kind of enjoy instead of analyze. Full review as orginally posted HERE on The Book Addict's Guide 1/27/17: TURBO TWENTY-THREE was another quick, easy, and fun Stephanie Plum novel! I really appreciate that Janet Evanovich has taken these books a little bit back into the realm of the plausible instead of monkeys-acting-like-humans. Of course, they’re still a little wacky because that is the way of Plum but at least it’s on a believable side again!This book was a lot of fun, actually. I enjoyed the warring ice cream factory concept and it was funny watching Stephanie try to infiltrate each one, learn the feuds behind the two, and the many different ways to get in trouble in an ice cream factory.We sort of went backwards again with the love triangle and SIGH. I was so excited to see progress in one direction and now it’s back in the middle. It could be worse because there have been worse love triangles in cozy mysteries that still also haven’t resolved and at least I like Ranger and Morelli both… But it’s been twenty-three books! I’m ready for some resolution on the love triangle thing. I’m getting a bit tired of talking about it but such is life and being a reader of this series!I do like that I’m really rarely guess the answer to the mysteries! I guess I probably could guess a few if I tried but I love listening to these books on audio because they’re so short and fun and easy to listen to while doing other things. I love zoning out and flowing with these books and it’s great to have a lighter audio!
    more
  • Megan
    November 15, 2016
    I can describe this book in a few sentences.This funny book is the same as the last 5 books. Stephanie runs in some trouble. Someone tries to kill her. She has some domestic-ish nights with Morelli. She goes to Disney with Ranger and sleeps with him and then goes right back to Morelli. She solves the case with the help of Morelli, Ranger and Lulu. The end. NOTHING has progressed. NOTHING has changed. She is technically dating Morelli but she sleeps with Rangers. So she's kind of a horrible perso I can describe this book in a few sentences.This funny book is the same as the last 5 books. Stephanie runs in some trouble. Someone tries to kill her. She has some domestic-ish nights with Morelli. She goes to Disney with Ranger and sleeps with him and then goes right back to Morelli. She solves the case with the help of Morelli, Ranger and Lulu. The end. NOTHING has progressed. NOTHING has changed. She is technically dating Morelli but she sleeps with Rangers. So she's kind of a horrible person. Honestly if her and Lulu weren't so funny together I would stop reading this series. But if you focus on everything besides her relationship than the book is awesomely funny. It's kind of on the same lines as the Charlie Davidson series with Charlie and Cookie. Except Lulu is crazier and kind of more awesome. But I won't lie and say that the relationship part of the story doesn't piss me off because it does. It's been 23 freakin books. Have her make up her mind about the men in her life. Or just have her be a single crazy bounty hunter. The book would be so much better if I wasn't getting so upset about her relationship status. BUT thats kind of my own pet peeves with book. I will of course go on with the series. Any book that can make me laugh out loud is worth reading even if I get frustrated with certain parts.
    more
  • Carol - Reading Writing and Riesling
    January 4, 2017
    A fun, lighthearted read.My View:As I read the Stephanie Plum sagas I am transported into a world of mad cap adventures, over the top situations, zany characters that I know and love and a heroine that is ditzy but always manages to come out on top. Part of the enjoyment facto when reading this series is you know to what to expect – a light, fun, entertaining, unpretentious read that is guaranteed to have laugh out loud moments, a fast paced plot, a few misadventures, a continuing love triangle A fun, lighthearted read.My View:As I read the Stephanie Plum sagas I am transported into a world of mad cap adventures, over the top situations, zany characters that I know and love and a heroine that is ditzy but always manages to come out on top. Part of the enjoyment facto when reading this series is you know to what to expect – a light, fun, entertaining, unpretentious read that is guaranteed to have laugh out loud moments, a fast paced plot, a few misadventures, a continuing love triangle situation and a bit of crime thrown in. And that is what Janet Evanovich does best – she transports the reader to another place – where laughter and action go hand in hand, where the good guys always win. This is pure escapism. Enjoy.
    more
  • Skip
    December 13, 2016
    Pretty weak effort. Usual Stephanie Plum messes. Lula driving/crashing a semi was pretty funny. Why Ranger thinks Stephanie can help him solve security problems for his Rangeman business is one of the great mysteries of the universe, but he is always there to save her. This books is ostensibly about two warring local ice cream makers, one of which seems to be really down on his luck. Meanwhile Stephanie tries with varying degrees of success to bring in various people who her boss Vinnie has bond Pretty weak effort. Usual Stephanie Plum messes. Lula driving/crashing a semi was pretty funny. Why Ranger thinks Stephanie can help him solve security problems for his Rangeman business is one of the great mysteries of the universe, but he is always there to save her. This books is ostensibly about two warring local ice cream makers, one of which seems to be really down on his luck. Meanwhile Stephanie tries with varying degrees of success to bring in various people who her boss Vinnie has bonded. Oh, and Lula's reality television ideas are modestly amusing.
    more
  • Deb (Readerbuzz) Nance
    December 4, 2016
    I don't read series. Yet somehow I've read all twenty-three of these Stephanie Plum mysteries. How to explain that? It's the characters. I'm crazy about Grandma Mazur and Lulu and Ranger and Stephanie's parents and all the bad guys Stephanie encounters in the course of her work as a bounty hunter. As long as Janet Evanovich keeps writing 'em I'll keep reading 'em.
    more
  • Kay Hudson
    November 28, 2016
    I still love this series. Stephanie and Lula still make me laugh out loud. If Lula's description of going into a public men's room (her idea for a new reality series, after Naked Bungee Jumping didn't work out) doesn't make you laugh, you should probably be reading something else.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    November 16, 2016
    Review to follow. 3.5 Stars
  • Dawnie
    December 23, 2016
    Let's keep this short:Positive things:- it's a typical plum novel so you know what to expect going in! No plot change what I ever!- Stephanie finally update from leggings to jeans! Not sure if that happen in this book or in the last one, but horray for finally noticing that after over twenty books legggins should not be worn as pants!- Rex is still alive!- ranger picks Stephanie up (it's the small things people!)Negative things:- it's a typical plum novel so you know what's to expect! Sadly this Let's keep this short:Positive things:- it's a typical plum novel so you know what to expect going in! No plot change what I ever!- Stephanie finally update from leggings to jeans! Not sure if that happen in this book or in the last one, but horray for finally noticing that after over twenty books legggins should not be worn as pants!- Rex is still alive!- ranger picks Stephanie up (it's the small things people!)Negative things:- it's a typical plum novel so you know what's to expect! Sadly this one didn't get better and it was a very typical plum book, no new idea, just a very typical murder gets solved and Stephanie gets hurt doing the solving.... we all know the drill. Some earlier books had viarity, some new phrases and quotes and added a bit of fun into the mix. Sadly now all the newer books lost that in my option and no longer try anything new but stick very stricktly to the tried and old from previous books.- Stephanie still can't make up her mind about which guy Shen likes better (which at this point just pick Luna and be happy with her! Wouldn't that be a nice chance of pace?)- Stephanie's mother is still riding her about babies that let she be honest Stephanien should never ever have!- the murder was boring and predictable and can we please get something else in the next plum book (since we all know it's coming)? All in all it's a little sad to see this series get so boring and utterly repreative! But sadly it's happening and I get disappointed everytime I read a new one with the hopes of getting at least a slight difference in the plot but we'll see I guess.
    more
  • Shawna
    January 26, 2016
    My goodness! This one has both Ranger and Morelli yikes! Im dying right now...the next book won't be released until November 2017 it was not settled and to be fair now I feel it's even more unsettled. My head was spinning. But if you pay attention I think Grandma Mazur is for telling us all what is going to happen. She said in this book she just doesn't want to be stuck with one man. Maybe this is like a family trait and Stephanie will never choose.
    more
  • Megan (escapeintoabooksite)
    January 26, 2017
    These are nowhere near as fun to read as when I first started the series, but I can't stop myself from reading each new Plum novel as it comes out. I love Lula and Ranger and Grandma. All the characters really. The usual expected things happen to Stephanie and Lula but there are always some new fun things too. I will keep reading these because I can't help myself haha.
    more
  • Sabrina
    November 16, 2016
    Another winnerTeam Ranger !!! 2 minutes into the book and I'm laughing my head off . I love Stephanie and Lula . I do like the way Stephanie is growing into a semi competent bond enforcement agent . I did miss Big Blue though . As always a wonderful read.
    more
Write a review