Chosen One (Forever Evermore, #6)
The next book in the best-selling Forever Evermore series as Caro goes where no spirit elemental has gone before...When Philip Masterson sends Caro back in time, he doesn’t expect to set off a series of events that will see her return stronger and more powerful than ever before. But her time spent with the Prodigies, Kings, and Elders in the nineties has long-reaching consequences that no one could have foreseen, consequences that increase tensions between the Mystical leadership when peace is needed.Then Caro discovers something that changes the entire trajectory of her life, and finds herself torn: between the man she loves and the man who could mean everything, and the life that she’s chosen and the life that she was born to lead.

Chosen One (Forever Evermore, #6) Details

TitleChosen One (Forever Evermore, #6)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseDec 4th, 2017
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Magic, Romance, Vampires, Shapeshifters, New Adult, Werewolves

Chosen One (Forever Evermore, #6) Review

  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    Chosen One is the sixth installment in Scarlett Dawn's new-adult fantasy series titled: Forever Evermore. This one fell in the middle for me. There were things I loved and things that annoyed the hell out of me. Ain't life full of contradictions.Loved: -Caro winds up 40 years in the past (not a spoiler) and I so enjoyed seeing some of the other characters in their younger years. Realizing that many of the characters had already met Caro in the past gave me a reason to go back to the fourth and f Chosen One is the sixth installment in Scarlett Dawn's new-adult fantasy series titled: Forever Evermore. This one fell in the middle for me. There were things I loved and things that annoyed the hell out of me. Ain't life full of contradictions.Loved: -Caro winds up 40 years in the past (not a spoiler) and I so enjoyed seeing some of the other characters in their younger years. Realizing that many of the characters had already met Caro in the past gave me a reason to go back to the fourth and fifth installments and re-read sections when they all met "for the first time" in the present day. That was a lot of fun and I loved that their present-day reactions to Caro took on new meaning now knowing all the details. -I thoroughly enjoyed getting to know some of the elders a bit more. The character count is rapidly rising and I am surprisingly able to remember who everyone is. That's a huge compliment to the author. Annoyed: -In my perspective, plot direction is severely lacking in this novel. I mentioned this in my review for the fifth installment too hoping with every ounce of my being that this sixth book would make sense of it all. In my opinion, there just wasn't enough story to fill an entire novel and there were huge chunks of what felt like filler to me. Entertaining filler, yes, but after a while I felt that I was just reading scenes that weren't taking the story anywhere...and with a multi-installment fantasy series, you have to keep it moving forward. -My consistent complaint with Caro's saga has been no resolution as to identifying the romantic interest. Well, he is identified in this one just to be put back in question with Dawn's trademark cliffhanger. Speaking of romantic interest, Caro and her main romantic interest in this installment have a hate-filled relationship. Admittedly, it was cute as first, but it got old real quick. Like eyeroll old. -There are significant formatting issues and distracting scene shifts that needed a chapter separation or at least some kind of segue but this may be confined to the ARC edition I received so I won't go into further detail as hopefully this will be resolved in the final ebook. If Scarlett Dawn's "saga" pattern continues then the next book should feature a new heroine and new prodigies but I don't see how this is possible as Caro's story does not yet feel complete. This concerns me a great deal as a loyal follower of this series and knowing first hand the storytelling talent Ms. Dawn possesses. Regardless, I will continue to read from this amazing author. She has brought me so many laughs, tears, and quality entertainment in general. If you have never experienced this author's work, there's no better time to start!The Forever Evermore series includes the following installments as of November 2017. The ratings are my personal opinion only.Saga 1:#1-King Hall ★★★★★#2-King Cave ★★★★★#3-King Tomb ★★★★☆Saga 2:#4-Chosen Thief ★★★★★#5-Chosen Fool ★★★☆☆#6-Chosen One ★★★☆☆ Thank you to the following for permitting me access to an advance reader's copy (ARC) of Chosen One. This generosity did not impact my honesty when rating/reviewing.Source: NetGalleyAuthor: Scarlett DawnPublisher: Escape PublishingPub Date: December 4, 2017
    more
  • Jen
    January 1, 1970
    I DONT JUST WANT THIS BOOK NOW...I NEED IT...can i borrow a little hybrid mage power to time travel to get it and read it? I promise I wont share or spoil the books!!
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    #ChosenOne #NetGalleyAs you can see, I am a huge fan of this series. It’s a go-to read for me when I just need a really incredible series to dig deep and stay there for a while…Forever Evermore hits that for me. Needless to say, I was a little excited when I was granted an ARC. I stayed up most of the night engrossed in the newest edition, CHOSEN ONE. Yes, it is just that good!The story starts back up right where it left off with Caro noticing the eye color of her not so anonymous bed partner…an #ChosenOne #NetGalleyAs you can see, I am a huge fan of this series. It’s a go-to read for me when I just need a really incredible series to dig deep and stay there for a while…Forever Evermore hits that for me. Needless to say, I was a little excited when I was granted an ARC. I stayed up most of the night engrossed in the newest edition, CHOSEN ONE. Yes, it is just that good!The story starts back up right where it left off with Caro noticing the eye color of her not so anonymous bed partner…and oh, boy does it roll from there. CHOSEN ONE was everything I dreamed of and more but nothing like I expected! Take all your theories and pack them in the circular filing cabinet, because Dawn is going to blow you away. You'd think after re-reading this series more times than I counted, I would have figured out a thing or two...but nooooo, and still thrilled with the results.I can say this without giving away too much: a few characters that I loved showed their darker sides; I want more Tristan; what an ending; when the heck is #7 hitting the shelves! Okay, even with a lot of information granted to us about the elusive Spirit Elementals in this book, there is still A LOT we need to know. Book #7 can't come fast enough!Once again, Dawn made these characters jump off the pages and knocked us around a bit with some amazing emotional turmoil. There are lots of humor, happy, and witty antics that are perfectly accented with the heartbreaking and then it is highlighted with an entire realm of all the fuzzy emotions in between.I completely LOVED IT! Totally worth a sleepless night binge reading!Posted pre-read 10/30/17YES! YES! YES! I got IT!I'm currently UNAVAILABLE, I'm Reading Chosen One RIGHT NOW!!! Then I'll be re-reading the entire series AGAIN! OMG, It's like Christmas and my birthday and Halloween all wrapped up in an ARC.I received this ARC copy of Chosen One from Escape Publishing. This is my honest and voluntary review. Chosen One is set for publication Dec. 4, 2017.My Rating: 5 starsWritten by: Scarlett DawnPublisher: Escape Publishing - Harlequin Enterprises, Australia Pty Ltd Publication Date: December 4, 2017Sold by: HarperCollins PublishersASIN: B074N2FYM4Genre: Fantasy | Romantic SuspenseAmazon: https://www.amazon.com/Chosen-Forever...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/chos...Reviewed for: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • kiki
    January 1, 1970
    That release date is too far away.
  • Tink Magoo is bad at reviews
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsPfft, I'm actually tired after reading books 4,5 and 6 all in one go. When put all together there is a lot going on. And just when I thought things were slightly settled in the love department here, they open back up again on the last page of this one and now I don't have a clue what way it's going to go. I know where I want to go and that's the same as in the last book (view spoiler)[ Merrick all the fucking way! And JUST Merrick. (hide spoiler)].This is a hard one to rate because I lo 3.5 starsPfft, I'm actually tired after reading books 4,5 and 6 all in one go. When put all together there is a lot going on. And just when I thought things were slightly settled in the love department here, they open back up again on the last page of this one and now I don't have a clue what way it's going to go. I know where I want to go and that's the same as in the last book (view spoiler)[ Merrick all the fucking way! And JUST Merrick. (hide spoiler)].This is a hard one to rate because I love this author's writing. They are so easy to read but the plot is practically non-existent (outside the romance) past the 50% mark. A new maybe baddie was introduced in this book but nothing happened there and there was no progress at all on the baddies from the past two books. And while I could keep reading about the group's mishaps, something needs to happen.There are supposed to be 2 further books in Caro's story and I can only hope that the romance angle settles down (without a bloody triangle) and some action starts taking place with a firm plot being the focus.And that ending ... I like Sin and Caro's friendship but (view spoiler)[ I don't want them going past that. I've always felt like she wanted him more than he wanted her and now that she's partly comited to Merrick it feels like he wants to mess with that. Or does that ending mean he wants in too?! I've had just about enough of the questions around those too. I hope he meets his mate and leaves them alone. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    It’s all about Caro, her past, her present and what a difference forty years can make. Can you imagine being sent back in time, having those memories as if they just happened yesterday and then being thrust back to the future (or present), your emotions still raw, and your memories still fresh while everyone else has moved on?Get ready to witness love, hate, passions on fire, revelations, compromises, and secrets revealed. This time out, Scarlett Dawn gives us character interaction, character re It’s all about Caro, her past, her present and what a difference forty years can make. Can you imagine being sent back in time, having those memories as if they just happened yesterday and then being thrust back to the future (or present), your emotions still raw, and your memories still fresh while everyone else has moved on?Get ready to witness love, hate, passions on fire, revelations, compromises, and secrets revealed. This time out, Scarlett Dawn gives us character interaction, character reaction and, oh, the conflict as Caro steps up the plate and shows her chops, gains allies, crosses lines and has some people practically eating right out of her hands.Yeah, yeah, we were left hanging by a thread previously, but Scarlett Dawn more than made up for it with her inside scoop on some deep, deep Spirit Elemental secrets. Elders and Kings will vie to stand by Caro’s side for a chance to follow her into her world. Learn WHAT the CHOSEN ONE is and pay close attention, because like Caro, there is more to this than meets the eye! Let’s see, attitude, charm, snark, humor, confusion, and heat all tangled up in Scarlett Dawn’s special blend of awesome that shows up on each and every page, each and every character and each and every interaction that can sometimes be over-the-top! Through it all, emerging like a star, is Caro, bigger, bolder, wiser and ready to be all that she was meant to be…and yes, there are new questions to ponder until next time! It felt good to slow down the action and turn up the info, especially on some eyebrow-raising events!I received an ARC edition from NetGalley and Escape Publishing!Series: Forever Evermore - Book 6Publisher: Escape Publishing - Harlequin Enterprises, Australia Pty Ltd (December 1, 2017)Publication Date: December 4, 2017Genre: Fantasy RomancePage Count: 200 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I'm actually so excited to read this book! I don't think I can read the other books for a 3rd time because its just making me want this one even more! Eagerly awaiting!!UpdateOmgg that cover!! that blurb!! uhg can it be Dec 4th yet!?!? So I've for sure re read this series like 10 times now. Can't wait!Final Update and ReviewI will start with, I love the Forever Evermore Series! I actually cant even count how many times I have reread the whole series now. It's my go to re read when I'm in a readi I'm actually so excited to read this book! I don't think I can read the other books for a 3rd time because its just making me want this one even more! Eagerly awaiting!!UpdateOmgg that cover!! that blurb!! uhg can it be Dec 4th yet!?!? So I've for sure re read this series like 10 times now. Can't wait!Final Update and ReviewI will start with, I love the Forever Evermore Series! I actually cant even count how many times I have reread the whole series now. It's my go to re read when I'm in a reading rut or just missing the characters and I can say I enjoy it every time.I was so excited to get an advanced copy of this book, I wasn't able to review it until now, not sure if I just needed space because I was sad it was over or just had to think about what to write.The book starts off right where we left in the last one on that awesome cliff hanger, unfortunately I was kinda bummed how her time in the past went I was expecting a bit more intrigue I guess, I wont get into it but to me it fell a bit flat, but I am still enjoying the book. I did like learning more about the Spirits but again some parts fell flat for me I didn't like how some characters were left out, it kind of felt like something was missing from the last few books that made it so great. I think also because I started to read Scarlett Dawns new series Origin, which I also enjoy but I find soo short so you don't get as into the world. Chosen One kind of reminds me of that at some points, it felt less like I got to go to this world I think if that makes sense. Yet I still love it because I love this series so much, just found myself disappointed a bit. Also was confused about a fight between two characters it just felt a bit forced at least on 1 side didn't get why they would be mad while the other side seems like they had the right to be. don't want to say anymore on that.I am also unsure how I feel about Caro's love life I wont get into it because I don't want to give any hints away but uhg ok maybe that's a review for the next book. Overall I did enjoy this series I love reading it and I'm glad to have gotten a few more steps along in reading it. I will for sure be doing a re read soon might have missed things the first time around. I always find a seen more new tidbits or make connections or read it a different way I get new info and Scarlet does that so well. next time around I will probably do a full re read again, just don't want another book hangover just yet!
    more
  • travreads
    January 1, 1970
    Given how long we have waited for this book it definitely was not worth the wait. The plot and story line were so basic and rushed I don't understand why there was such a long wait between books. And the ending was so abrupt I have to wonder who thought it was a good idea ending it there What I likedSin, Sin, Sin not only did his antics make me laugh he was the best part of the book for me. What I did not like1. I intensely dislike huge age differences between partners because I find them unreal Given how long we have waited for this book it definitely was not worth the wait. The plot and story line were so basic and rushed I don't understand why there was such a long wait between books. And the ending was so abrupt I have to wonder who thought it was a good idea ending it there What I likedSin, Sin, Sin not only did his antics make me laugh he was the best part of the book for me. What I did not like1. I intensely dislike huge age differences between partners because I find them unrealistic and that they create a power imbalance. When Cain first hooked up with Caro he was in his 40's never mind that for most of this book he was in his 80's while she was in her early 20's. No matter how many life experiences Caro has had she will always be at a disadvantage in that relationship because of the huge age difference between them. It reminds me of the Old professor at college (Elder) hitting on the new freshman in his class (Prodigy). Ewww and yuck2. Love Triangles - This one wasn't even realistic because the author didn't even make an attempt to address it she just left it there and made so many impossible stuff happen. No man would ever ever put up with half the stuff Sin did especially in the last few pages. 3. Lack of growth with Caro - By the end of King Tomb not only could you see huge growth in Lily but in all the Prodigies. I don't see it with Caro in fact she is regressing instead of progressing as this series continues.4. Prodigies where pretty much missing in this story. I wish more focus could have been put on her developing some sort of relationship with the people she is meant to rule with instead of so much focus of her being with the Kings and Elders. I mean she had no conversation at all with most of themThe King series > The Chosen series Lily > Caro If I had to rate the books1. King Cave2. King Hall3. King Tomb4. Chosen Fool5. Chosen Thief 6. Chosen One
    more
  • Amy
    January 1, 1970
    Sad to find myself disappointed It has felt as though I have been waiting for ages for this book. Im so disappointed. The storyline was too much, so much going on background, but little information given. This made it hard to follow the story. It dragged on. Too much hotel room scenes towards the end, not much occurring. Most of this book is spent in a bedroom. Even i, as the reader was getting cabin fever. Skipped lots of action, it felt like instead of describing the events, it was easier to h Sad to find myself disappointed It has felt as though I have been waiting for ages for this book. Im so disappointed. The storyline was too much, so much going on background, but little information given. This made it hard to follow the story. It dragged on. Too much hotel room scenes towards the end, not much occurring. Most of this book is spent in a bedroom. Even i, as the reader was getting cabin fever. Skipped lots of action, it felt like instead of describing the events, it was easier to have her unconscious. Focussed to much on the spirit world, and the chosen concept doesn't make sense. It's like the ruling/prodigy concept is thrown out the window. I found the story of the chosen and what it details lacking, the secrets revealed were not very interesting.Also the love interest.... please explain how one can EVER forget that betrayal as easy as she did. Not even an apology, and him claiming to hate her, love to hate her nonsense. That frustrated me, could not invest in them. He is not even sorry and constantly says he hates what she is. Hope the next book is like the previous ones, and has an actual story line to follow! Not iust endless talking but going nowhere.
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 starsIt pains me to rate this as 3.5 stars. I love Ms Scarlett Dawn and I love the Forever Evermore Series even more. I loved Caro in this book. I loved Sin and I loved the others. Unfornately, this book felt more like a prequel or an in between book. It was long and satisfied by Caro need until next year....but I felt like not much happened. I just feel like Ms Dawn was setting the stage for the next book. In this book, it was hard to pin down the plot or the climax of this book. The book e 3.5 starsIt pains me to rate this as 3.5 stars. I love Ms Scarlett Dawn and I love the Forever Evermore Series even more. I loved Caro in this book. I loved Sin and I loved the others. Unfornately, this book felt more like a prequel or an in between book. It was long and satisfied by Caro need until next year....but I felt like not much happened. I just feel like Ms Dawn was setting the stage for the next book. In this book, it was hard to pin down the plot or the climax of this book. The book ended and I was shocked. I thought something was wrong with my copy. Though, I loved how we learned more about Caro and her powers. We learned more about the spirit world which was great, but maybe I'm the only one, but I was slightly disappointed in this book.This book was given to me in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rebekah Hamilton
    January 1, 1970
    i need this book right the hell now.
  • Whitney (Shooting Stars Reviews)
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed by [email protected] Stars ReviewsCaro is sent back in time, and ends up getting close with someone she never thought she would. The problem is that person may not be exactly who she thinks, and then when she goes back to her time things get all kinds of crazy for her. This book was okay, it wasn't great, but not bad either. I was annoyed with how it ended, and I really hope that there is a conclusion with Caro (like another book for her and not someone else) and who will be the man she Reviewed by [email protected] Stars ReviewsCaro is sent back in time, and ends up getting close with someone she never thought she would. The problem is that person may not be exactly who she thinks, and then when she goes back to her time things get all kinds of crazy for her. This book was okay, it wasn't great, but not bad either. I was annoyed with how it ended, and I really hope that there is a conclusion with Caro (like another book for her and not someone else) and who will be the man she ends up with. Also, I felt like this one just sort of ended without a whole lot to it. It was annoying, but I do hope there is more to explain this. And I liked Caro, but I was a little bit annoyed with some of the man drama she had, that got old quickly, but I did like who she was with for the most part. And I really wish that stupid law would be dealt with already. Other than that, I did like the story and I look forward to more.
    more
  • Crystal
    January 1, 1970
    Title: Chosen OneAuthor: Scarlett Dawn**RECEIVED ARC FOR HONEST REVIEW **#NETGALLEYFirst let me say I have loved this series since the word go. Patiently waiting for each book to be released. When Caro became the primary heroine I adored her just as much as Queen Ruckler and Queen Cooper. I patiently wait for each book, each slice of Caro's story is published. That being said, I have to ask, you ended the book right there? Right when it finally heats up? The story is finally moving and... all st Title: Chosen OneAuthor: Scarlett Dawn**RECEIVED ARC FOR HONEST REVIEW **#NETGALLEYFirst let me say I have loved this series since the word go. Patiently waiting for each book to be released. When Caro became the primary heroine I adored her just as much as Queen Ruckler and Queen Cooper. I patiently wait for each book, each slice of Caro's story is published. That being said, I have to ask, you ended the book right there? Right when it finally heats up? The story is finally moving and... all stop. How annoying.Okay, let's talk technical turkey. The editing is horrible. It is so bad it takes away from the story. For the longest time I thought I would read sentences and I was skipping ahead and that was why it appeared the sentences were not finished. As I continued to read I realised sentences were not finished. Or they had one word too many. The formatting normally isn't a big deal but when a paragraph breaks and spaces down like two or three lines for no reason, that is odd. Especially when it does this throughout the whole book.Now, to the story. I had to go back and do a quick re-read of previous books because I had forgotten so many details about Caro. One thing Scarlett Dawn is great at is giving details and usually you don't feel bogged down. Dawn generally is able to weave a story and create a world full of life and color without slowing the book down. This is great in terms of character development because we get to watch the characters grow and transform into the beings they are meant to be for good or bad. In Chosen One we continue to follow Caro who is in the past. Previously we found that she had been mind raped by the fake One. In this book we follow her through time and through life altering choices. Being a Spirit Elemental (FYI by this point y'all need to be familiar with the series) we find Caro has a choice where other Mystical beings do not. Not to give spoilers but it primarily centers on her love life.As I have said, I love the series and this authors work. Not this book so much. It was slow. It spent more time just talking than anything. Hardly any action and really no plot at all. I hate giving spoilers but I am going to anyway. Caro ends up at the Spirit Temple with three men vying for her attention. Can you guess? If you have been reading the books, as you should have, first guess doesn't count. Anyway, this whole book is blah blah blah, sex, a little action but not necessarily plot related, blah blah blah... rinse and repeat. Then the end, hello. Some serious alpha posturing and not by The One. Still no real serious plot but it was interesting. Oh, and Caro is getting annoying. Someone smack her. She whines too much and doesn't own up to her mistakes. She wants her cake and eat it too. she acts as if she gives a little she deserves the world. She has a martyr complex.So, not my favorite book in this series but I will continue to follow the series and this author. I really do usually love her work. She writes strong female leads who need strong men by their side.
    more
  • Celeste
    January 1, 1970
    For all the fans of this series, I must warn you that this book doesn't not tie up at the end as a nice little trilogy like the first 3 books did. So if that's what you're expecting prepare to be disappointed. Also if you expect Caro to become more likeable, yeah that doesn't happen either. If you're expecting an actual plot, forget about it. There is no point to this story. At least I don't seem to see one. Zero character growth, no new relationships forged, no big baddie stopped. In fact alot For all the fans of this series, I must warn you that this book doesn't not tie up at the end as a nice little trilogy like the first 3 books did. So if that's what you're expecting prepare to be disappointed. Also if you expect Caro to become more likeable, yeah that doesn't happen either. If you're expecting an actual plot, forget about it. There is no point to this story. At least I don't seem to see one. Zero character growth, no new relationships forged, no big baddie stopped. In fact alot of the characters seem to have done a complete 180 from how they behaved in the King books. Merrick for example, knew about all the different faction relationships among his peers and didn't seem hostile to them. So for him to be an abusive, betraying, using dick to Caro came from left field. Sin and Caro have always seemed to have one of those twin relationships until he decides otherwise at the last possible minute. Like what the actual fuck was that. Leric's whole fascination with Lissa reeks of deus ex machina more than a believable story line. But what really pissed me off was the abusive, unhealthy relationship between Caro and Merrick. Merrick who never seemed to come off like a racist, manipulative shithole in the first 3 books. Not only does he fuck Caro over, but while it just happened to her for him its been 40 years. 40 year to build a bridge and get the fuck over it but apparently his brain and maturity have been stuck at 15. He never apologizes to Caro, because he was ''just doing his job'' even if his present day self knows how she was betrayed by the Walker Leric. I mean seriously. And what does Caro do? She says she understands and proceeds to sleep with him. Ugh!If the author didn't manage to write excellent sex scenes and manage to put her characters in sometimes compelling situations, I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have gotten this far in the series. Not going to continue.
    more
  • Katrin Obermeier
    January 1, 1970
    #chosenone #netgalleyThe Forever Evermore Series is one of my all time favorites. When I don't know what to read I come back to this series among only a few others constantly. So I was squealing when I got Chosen One one month early to read.The book starts right where we were left in the last one. From the first page you are taken on a rollercoaster ride, which is quite typical for Scarlett Dawn and I loved it!(Finally) you learn a lot about Spirits, where they come from and what their purpose i #chosenone #netgalleyThe Forever Evermore Series is one of my all time favorites. When I don't know what to read I come back to this series among only a few others constantly. So I was squealing when I got Chosen One one month early to read.The book starts right where we were left in the last one. From the first page you are taken on a rollercoaster ride, which is quite typical for Scarlett Dawn and I loved it!(Finally) you learn a lot about Spirits, where they come from and what their purpose is in this world we all love. Unfortunately I have to detract one star because for me some of the other characters where left unmentioned. They weren't necessarily for this story in particular, but I would have loved to know what Aria and Landon are up to. Or how the four prodigies can function together, now that Caro is using her magic. I also didn't quite understand the hate from one person, but don't want to tell anymore. All in all I loved the book and hate that I have once again a book hangover and have to wait. :DWhat I really love about this series is, that you read the books a second and third time and you always notice something new and try to make connections and anticipate where the story will go. That is, for me, one of the biggest strength of the series and of Scarlett Dawn #DawnStalker
    more
  • Mel
    January 1, 1970
    Scarlett Dawn did it again with her AMAZING STORIES THAT HAVE CLIFFHANGERS THAT ARE THE BEST/WORST EVER! I’ve been reading these books since the beginning and was impatiently waiting to get my hands on this! Chosen One did NOT disappoint! It starts off right where Chosen Fool left off, back in time, and gets better with each page!! I don’t want to spoil anything, but Caro’s story CANNOT BE DONE! Right?! If you’ve been a fan, this next installment will definitely have you impatiently waiting for Scarlett Dawn did it again with her AMAZING STORIES THAT HAVE CLIFFHANGERS THAT ARE THE BEST/WORST EVER! I’ve been reading these books since the beginning and was impatiently waiting to get my hands on this! Chosen One did NOT disappoint! It starts off right where Chosen Fool left off, back in time, and gets better with each page!! I don’t want to spoil anything, but Caro’s story CANNOT BE DONE! Right?! If you’ve been a fan, this next installment will definitely have you impatiently waiting for the next book....
    more
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    January 1, 1970
    ARC received via Netgalley for an honest reviewI have been waiting with bated breath for this final installment in Caro's story (you will need to have read Chosen Thief and Chosen Fool for this installment to make any sense).Chosen One continues right where Fool ended, and it is one bumpy ride from that time on!I liked Caro back in the past, chumming it up with the Prodigies (soon to be kings) and Elders from earlier books in the series. Oh my goodness was it great to see them. And their present ARC received via Netgalley for an honest reviewI have been waiting with bated breath for this final installment in Caro's story (you will need to have read Chosen Thief and Chosen Fool for this installment to make any sense).Chosen One continues right where Fool ended, and it is one bumpy ride from that time on!I liked Caro back in the past, chumming it up with the Prodigies (soon to be kings) and Elders from earlier books in the series. Oh my goodness was it great to see them. And their present day reactions to first meeting her make a lot of sense now.Caro has been kind of in limbo in this series with who will be her love interest. You'll like it when you find out who they are - or are they really the one for her?I won't lie though, I did have some issues with this story. I found it floundering about 3/4 of the way through, and felt it needed a push to get it back going again. I did end up skimming/skipping a lot from there one, as it felt like it was just spinning its wheels and going nowhere. I felt myself disconnecting from the story and just wanting to get to the end - this could just be me though.Don't get me wrong, the story is good, I just felt that maybe it wasn't really the end, the closure of Caro's story like it could have been, if you get my drift.Whilst this installment did fall a little flat to me compared to the previous books in this series, I know that there is so much more for Ms Dawn to give us.Can't wait to see what she brings us next.
    more
  • Autumn Miller ~ autumnbookreads
    January 1, 1970
    SPOILERS THROUGHOUT: I loved this book. It was fast paced and constantly had my attention. It gave me all of the feels and I was constantly going into fan-girl mode while reading it. I didn't want to put it down! Let me start out by saying that I went into this book thinking it was the final installment for Caro's character. I had no idea that this wasn't the last book for her so everything I thought was going to happen didn't. I probably should have looked up if this was the last one after t SPOILERS THROUGHOUT: I loved this book. It was fast paced and constantly had my attention. It gave me all of the feels and I was constantly going into fan-girl mode while reading it. I didn't want to put it down! Let me start out by saying that I went into this book thinking it was the final installment for Caro's character. I had no idea that this wasn't the last book for her so everything I thought was going to happen didn't. I probably should have looked up if this was the last one after the first few chapters but I didn't which is totally my fault.I liked Caro. I love her character arc from the first book to now. I love her snark and her overall attitude. She is badass when she needs to be but she still has that softer side. I like that she can take care of herself and can fight her own battles. I was really proud of her in this book because her life went through a lot of ups and downs but she still pulled through and continued to persevere. She didn't let personal betrayals get in the way of the overall goal which was really hard for her so I admire her greatly for that.I still don't know what to make of Caro's relationship drama. Every time I think she has picked someone to stay with, Scarlett Dawn flips everything and that person has no chance anymore. People I never really gave a shot are now in the running for Caro's heart. At this point, I am kind of pulling for Cain even though their relationship is rocky at best. I enjoy the dynamic between Cain and Caro. I don't usually enjoy love/hate relationships but they are unique and I actually enjoy it. About halfway through the book, I thought that Cain was definitely going to be end game but after that final scene, I really don't know. Every time I think that Sin and Caro are just friends, he goes and pulls something like he did in the final scene. Honorable Mention: I really liked Caro's friendships with Elder Fergus, Elder Venclaire, Elder Nelson, and Elder Kincaid in the nineties. I loved how Caro finally found people she could bond with besides Sin. I thought it was hilarious how protective they all were of her and I liked getting to see all of them when they were the Prodigies. I only wish we would have gotten to see more of them before Caro had to go back to 2035.Overall, I loved this installment in the series and I am dying to read the next book. This book ended with so many questions unanswered and I just need to know what happens next. I have no doubt that Scarlett Dawn will write a phenomenal ending for Caro's story and I can't wait!
    more
  • Nikki Galloway
    January 1, 1970
    I was lucky enough to get an ARC of Chosen One. Amazing! Absolutely amazing! With the major cliff hanger from the last book, I had high expectations for this book. Of course, Scarlett Dawn did not disappoint! Just like the rest of the series, it drew me in from the beginning, and held me until the very end. I find that Caro grows up so much in this book. She isnt the same person she was in the previous books! She is such a fun and exciting character. We also learned more about the elusive Spirit I was lucky enough to get an ARC of Chosen One. Amazing! Absolutely amazing! With the major cliff hanger from the last book, I had high expectations for this book. Of course, Scarlett Dawn did not disappoint! Just like the rest of the series, it drew me in from the beginning, and held me until the very end. I find that Caro grows up so much in this book. She isnt the same person she was in the previous books! She is such a fun and exciting character. We also learned more about the elusive Spirits in this book, which is a plus. And Elder Merrick....can you say HOTT!! I am so glad I got to see more of the complex man that he is! Im looking forward to more of Caro and Cain's relationship! Overall, I was very satisfied with it. A 5 star read all the way!I received this ARC copy of Chosen One from Escape Publishing via Netgalley. This is my honest and voluntary review. Chosen One is set for publication on December 4, 2017.
    more
  • Rebekah Hamilton
    January 1, 1970
    Holy crap on a cracker! I received a free copy of Chosen one for my honest review, so in full disclosure I went hunting for it online as soon as I found out I could do that. I’ve been waiting over a year for this next instalment of the forever evermore books. I was not disappointed. I loved it! Honest to god I loved it. Questions that had been banging about inside my head since reading Chosen theif and Chosen fool we’re answered. I have others now but that’s beside the point. SD did not let me d Holy crap on a cracker! I received a free copy of Chosen one for my honest review, so in full disclosure I went hunting for it online as soon as I found out I could do that. I’ve been waiting over a year for this next instalment of the forever evermore books. I was not disappointed. I loved it! Honest to god I loved it. Questions that had been banging about inside my head since reading Chosen theif and Chosen fool we’re answered. I have others now but that’s beside the point. SD did not let me down with this book and she won’t let you down either. It was everything you’ve come to expect in the FE series. Humor, sarcasm, power, hot sex and action not to mention the great story line. Oh that ending was a killer and I’m thinking about praying on my knees and begging the writing gods to please let that situation become a ‘thing’ *fans self* really though, buy the book. but it for yourself, your sister, your mother, partner and friends. Buy it for those who love to read.
    more
  • Living a little by Anna
    January 1, 1970
    Honestly, I love Scarlett Dawn. Her writing is great. When you start this book, you get instantly sucked in. Putting your book aside will be complicated.Regarding the substance, we start the story where the last book ended. Caro, Element prodigy, is stuck in 1990. She is still strong, funny and sexy. In this book, we discover the man she is going to love and each of the characters gradually find their place in her life. Honestly I loved the 3/4 of the book because:1 / There is action2 / The roma Honestly, I love Scarlett Dawn. Her writing is great. When you start this book, you get instantly sucked in. Putting your book aside will be complicated.Regarding the substance, we start the story where the last book ended. Caro, Element prodigy, is stuck in 1990. She is still strong, funny and sexy. In this book, we discover the man she is going to love and each of the characters gradually find their place in her life. Honestly I loved the 3/4 of the book because:1 / There is action2 / The romance is great (and sexy)3 / We discover the world of spiritsHowever, I have mixed feelings after finishing this book. By the end of the book, the journey into the spirit world is a little to long and uneventful for my taste. But this is not my only problem with the ending of this book: in the last 5 pages Scarlett Dawn creates a doubt in the reader's mind about romance. I can not tell you more without spoiling. But because of these last 5 pages, I didn't feel the "after I read a really good book glow"(Scarlett Dawn will take at least a year to release the next book .. snif).This book is a great fantasy book (a combination of a mystical world, action and romance), so you I would recommend this book. However be careful because the end is brutal and it will take a year to have the next book. If you don't know the Forever Evermore series, I highly recommend it.  It is better to read it in order.
    more
  • Viktória Tóth
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.Chosen one is FINALLY here! I’m so happy, when I saw that I got approved for the ARC I started to jump up and down in the sofa, you can imagine how my sister looked at me after that. But really, I was looking forward to this one since I finished the previous which was 2 days after that one came out. That cliffhanger was killing me but not anymore.Chosen one starts right at the moment Chosen fool ended, with a big realization that who I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.Chosen one is FINALLY here! I’m so happy, when I saw that I got approved for the ARC I started to jump up and down in the sofa, you can imagine how my sister looked at me after that. But really, I was looking forward to this one since I finished the previous which was 2 days after that one came out. That cliffhanger was killing me but not anymore.Chosen one starts right at the moment Chosen fool ended, with a big realization that who is the individual she slept with. And boy does this cause trouble and complications for little Caro. Safe to say that that the story just gets even more complex after this.The plot predictable starts with a huge BAM! but what you need to know that Chosen one is completely different from the previous two books. As the storyline goes there are plenty of action still but the main focus still on Caro romantic life or here or there the lack of it. What I really loved in this that emotional wise it up to par with King hall, which so far none of the other books in the series could produce. First it gives you hope, then everything break apart and our heart go through an emotional mince. It hurts so good that for me simply that would have been enough to love the book. Thankfully she even ends up with the character I rooted for, maybe with not the best circumstances but in the end things go well for them.Caro started to show her tender and vulnerable side even in Chosen fool but in this one this side of her truly shines. Sure her snarky, sarcastic and badass self also shows up when needed but it’s mostly the lonely girl who no matter what she does somehow ends up with the short end of the stick. A lot of her insecurities also come out. I liked this side of her to and what I liked even more was the graceful way she handled her hardship, of course after a short crazy binge.As for the secondary characters, there were quite a few of them. Manly the Elders and Kings but honestly after the long time between the books it was a bit hard for me to follow who is who. But anyway I think that it’s strange how little their presence actually felt overall when they are there the whole way. Maybe because there are too much of them at once. Also the current kings and queens and even the prodigies are not as important, they kinda pushed into the background and I missed them a bit. With the current prodigies there isn’t the kind of dynamism that I loved in King hall, but since Caro story has a different focus maybe its better this way.Not to mention finally we get a full insight into the secrets and lives of the elusive spirit elementals. So far in the previous books we only got little snippets here and there but Chosen one gives a full disclosure and it really great to finally get to know what Caro role is in reality, what hare her powers.I freaking loved this book there are so many in your face surprises and 180° turns that it gives a phenomenal flow to the plot. You definitely won’t be bored even for a minute. The only thing that I didn’t quite understood the meaning, the significance behind the final chapter. Or at least I hope I misunderstood it because I don’t want it to go down that particular path.
    more
  • Emilie Paige
    January 1, 1970
    In Scarlett Dawn's latest foray into the world of Forever Evermore is Chosen One (Forever Evermore Book Six), she has once again provided us with a fast paced story, full of twists and turns, and her signature cliffhanger.Building upon the emotional devastation Walker Leric / Jacob Angel and Philip Masterson wreaked in the previous volume, Chosen One explores the concepts of trust and forgiveness with strangers and mentors, loved ones and lovers.Split into three acts, the story picks up right wh In Scarlett Dawn's latest foray into the world of Forever Evermore is Chosen One (Forever Evermore Book Six), she has once again provided us with a fast paced story, full of twists and turns, and her signature cliffhanger.Building upon the emotional devastation Walker Leric / Jacob Angel and Philip Masterson wreaked in the previous volume, Chosen One explores the concepts of trust and forgiveness with strangers and mentors, loved ones and lovers.Split into three acts, the story picks up right where Chosen Fool left off in 1994 with an extremely surprised Prodigy Caroline “Caro” Sadie Farrow Jules face to face with Elder Merrick the morning after. The scary badass of King Cave and King Tomb returns with a vengeance, so different form the silent and somewhat mysterious Elder portrayed in Chosen Fool.Fans will be pleased that once Caro returns 2035 her best friend Sin is ever present, their "will-they / won't-they" yet again addressed. It is apparent Ms. Dawn has a plan for this relationship but unfortunately it may be a long term one. The complexity of the second chapter of Forever Evermore is not constrained to a trilogy, with at least one more novel on the way.The One, Leric, hovers on the sidelines with his sexy tiger growls, still all-knowing, but a more rounded character outside of his interactions with Caro. That said, this is Caro’s first person account and, so, like earlier books in the series, the reader is limited to her perspective. Unfortunately, in developing Caro's relationships with the Kings and Elders we see less of her fellow Prodigies, something that hopefully will be addressed in next volume. In the meantime, it is interesting to finally meet the Peace Kings, who were mentioned but never met in the first trilogy, and to see carefree Caro interact with the 1994 Prodigies and the same 2035 Elders, specifically Fergus who played such an important role in Lily Ruckler's recovery after her miscarriage in King Cave and sparkles yet again in his burgeoning friendship with Caro.Ms. Dawn continues to impress with her ability to spin a substantial and engaging story, integrated fully into a world of her making. Within twenty-four hours I read Chosen One twice fully; the final chapter over ten times. It is a given that there is much said and seen that will become clear only in later books, volumes for which I have high expectations.
    more
  • Megan
    January 1, 1970
    Scarlett Dawn did it again! This book, Chosen One, is a continuation of the Forever Evermore series. The author is incredibly imaginative and all of her books have been excellent reads. The plot is highly thought out over several books and many questions from previous books are answered in this one. The main character is Caro. She's an extremely complex person that you can't help but fall in love with and her journey isn't finished by the way the book ended. I wouldn't say there's a cliffhanger, Scarlett Dawn did it again! This book, Chosen One, is a continuation of the Forever Evermore series. The author is incredibly imaginative and all of her books have been excellent reads. The plot is highly thought out over several books and many questions from previous books are answered in this one. The main character is Caro. She's an extremely complex person that you can't help but fall in love with and her journey isn't finished by the way the book ended. I wouldn't say there's a cliffhanger, but it does end with more unanswered questions for several of the characters. Caro is a spirit elemental, just one faction of many different types of the Mystical race, who is surrounded by Royals and Elders, all whom are trying to protect their family, friends, loved ones, and race as a whole. This book was amazing, suspenseful, heartbreaking, and an absolute must read! I can't wait for the next one!
    more
  • Kayla
    January 1, 1970
    If you like Paranormal Romance with a fast pace, a well built world, wonderfully fleshed out characters and a good dose of steamy sex scenes then I promise Chosen One will not disappoint! The third installment of Caro's story in the Forever Evermore series starts right where the last book left off, and takes you on a trip that you probably won't expect. As always in a Scarlett Dawn book there are times when you laugh, a few tears to be shed, and for me at least, a point where you want to give he If you like Paranormal Romance with a fast pace, a well built world, wonderfully fleshed out characters and a good dose of steamy sex scenes then I promise Chosen One will not disappoint! The third installment of Caro's story in the Forever Evermore series starts right where the last book left off, and takes you on a trip that you probably won't expect. As always in a Scarlett Dawn book there are times when you laugh, a few tears to be shed, and for me at least, a point where you want to give her a good shake and yell "Why?!"All in all I would say I thoroughly enjoyed this book. My only negative critique would be that I would have liked a few more questions answered, but it could easily be that those will all be solved in the next book so I'm not holding that against my review. (This book contains lots of naughty sex scenes and a cliffhanger ending)
    more
  • Lillian
    January 1, 1970
    I received an eARC of this book via Netgalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of this review.Chosen One by Scarlett Dawn is the 6th installment in her massive series Forever Evermore and the third for her heroine Caro. This book was lukewarm for me. There were parts I loved, parts I disliked, and parts that were just “meh.” I wanted to love this book because I really like Caro, but there were some issues that I just couldn’t overcome.The Likes:➣ Caro! I really enjoy t I received an eARC of this book via Netgalley. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of this review.Chosen One by Scarlett Dawn is the 6th installment in her massive series Forever Evermore and the third for her heroine Caro. This book was lukewarm for me. There were parts I loved, parts I disliked, and parts that were just “meh.” I wanted to love this book because I really like Caro, but there were some issues that I just couldn’t overcome.The Likes:➣ Caro! I really enjoy this character. She is one of those that just faces the world and what it brings her head on and doesn’t care what others might think about her. She’s feisty, courageous, and loyal. Seriously I root for her all the way through the book.➣ Time travel: if you read the last book then you know that we were left with a major cliffhanger and Caro forty years in the past. Personally I loved this development. I haven’t read the first trilogy in this series so I don’t really know the elders that are fleshed out in this book, but I loved seeing more of them, getting to know them better, AND then going back and rereading parts of Caro’s books when they were “first” introduced. So much makes sense now!➣ Merrick….I won’t say anymore than that because of spoilers….but y’all *swoon*➣ Cast of characters keeps growing and I’m not confused! I love this. Whenever there are a ton of characters, I usually need a glossary to refer back to in order to keep them all straight. However Scarlett Dawn has done a fantastic job of making each character unique enough that I don’t need it.The Dislikes:➣ The pacing: at times, the pacing for this book was fast, like I couldn’t set it down or turn the pages fast enough for my own liking…that fast. But then about the midway point the pacing went from blazing to ice cold. I’m not sure what happened, but it was like all of a sudden it was almost – dare I say it – boring *cringes* I’m not sure what to think about it. Then probably the last 50 pages the pace picked back up.➣ The love interest or interests? I’m not sure. I didn’t really follow well what was going on. It felt like the author was possibly setting up a reverse harem type situation for our Caro and I’m not so sure that follows with her character. Maybe it’s just me, but Caro doesn’t seem like the type to be into more than one and she sure doesn’t like to share so….I’m just confused. The main love interest was a hate-to-love type thing and while it worked in the beginning of the book, it got real old REAL quick.➣ Plot? Ummmm….y’all I can’t even tell you what this book is about because I don’t know myself. While I love Caro, her story so far has lacked direction. I’m not really sure what’s going on, what she is trying to accomplish, or why she is doing what she is doing. I’m lost. I noticed this in the last book and had hoped that this one would begin tying some threads together. So far no such luck.Overall Chosen One was just an okay read for me. I’m interested enough in Caro to continue reading the series but I’m also disappointed that I’m still so lost in her story. I wanted….no NEEDED her story to begin making sense by now. Despite this I will continue to read and follow the author as I do love her storytelling ability. I have confidence that in Caro’s last book (which I believe the next one is) all these loose ends and directionless plot will make sense because Dawn is that good! If you enjoy the series, you don’t want to miss this next installment! If you haven’t read the series, than I highly suggest you begin with the first book and set some time aside to binge.
    more
  • Stephanie Phillips (Stephanie's Book Reports)
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review. OMG. This book. It’s captivating. Amazing. Perfect continuation of Caro’s story. I absolutely adore her! She’s a character you don’t want to cross. I think it’s funny some of these men think they can cross her. She might be young in comparison to others but she’s dang smart. Gah. I read this book in less than 6 hours total. It’s long but freakin amazing. I just can’t tell you that enough. Love love love this series and Scarl I received a copy of this book from the publisher for an honest review. OMG. This book. It’s captivating. Amazing. Perfect continuation of Caro’s story. I absolutely adore her! She’s a character you don’t want to cross. I think it’s funny some of these men think they can cross her. She might be young in comparison to others but she’s dang smart. Gah. I read this book in less than 6 hours total. It’s long but freakin amazing. I just can’t tell you that enough. Love love love this series and Scarlett Dawn has created this paranormal world so well. If you’ve not started the Forever Evermore series yet. You should get started. Now when does the next one come out?!?
    more
  • Lisa
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! The world-building was so rich and interesting, the story kept me hooked from page one, - - Received copy through NetGalley - -L
  • Viktória Tóth
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.Chosen one is FINALLY here! I’m so happy, when I saw that I got approved for the ARC I started to jump up and down in the sofa, you can imagine how my sister looked at me after that. But really, I was looking forward to this one since I finished the previous which was 2 days after that one came out. That cliffhanger was killing me but not anymore.Chosen one starts right at the moment Chosen fool ended, with a big realizatio 4.5 stars I received a copy of this book in exchange of an honest review.Chosen one is FINALLY here! I’m so happy, when I saw that I got approved for the ARC I started to jump up and down in the sofa, you can imagine how my sister looked at me after that. But really, I was looking forward to this one since I finished the previous which was 2 days after that one came out. That cliffhanger was killing me but not anymore.Chosen one starts right at the moment Chosen fool ended, with a big realization that who is the individual she slept with. And boy does this cause trouble and complications for little Caro. Safe to say that that the story just gets even more complex after this. The plot predictable starts with a huge BAM! but what you need to know that Chosen one is completely different from the previous two books. As the storyline goes there are plenty of action still but the main focus still on Caro romantic life or here or there the lack of it. What I really loved in this that emotional wise it up to par with King hall, which so far none of the other books in the series could produce. First it gives you hope, then everything break apart and our heart go through an emotional mince. It hurts so good that for me simply that would have been enough to love the book. Thankfully she even ends up with the character I rooted for, maybe with not the best circumstances but in the end things go well for them. Caro started to show her tender and vulnerable side already in Chosen fool but in this one this side of her truly shines. Sure her snarky, sarcastic and badass self also shows up when needed but it’s mostly the lonely girl who no matter what she does somehow ends up with the short end of the stick. A lot of her insecurities also come out. I liked this side of her to and what I liked even more was the graceful way she handled her hardship, of course after a short crazy binge.As for the secondary characters, there were quite a few of them. Manly the Elders and Kings but honestly after the long time between the books it was a bit hard for me to follow who is who. But anyway I think that it’s strange how little their presence actually felt overall when they are there the whole way. Maybe because there are too much of them at once. Also the current kings and queens and even the prodigies are not as important, they kinda pushed into the background and I missed them a bit. With the current prodigies there isn’t the kind of dynamism that I loved in King hall, but since Caro story has a different focus maybe its better this way.Not to mention finally we get a full insight into the secrets and lives of the elusive spirit elementals. So far in the previous books we only got little snippets here and there but Chosen one gives a full disclosure and it really great to finally get to know what Caro role is in reality, what hare her powers. I freaking loved this book there are so many in your face surprises and 180° turns that it gives a phenomenal flow to the plot. You definitely won’t be bored even for a minute. The only thing that I didn’t quite understood the meaning, the significance behind the final chapter. Or at least I hope I misunderstood it because I don’t want it to go down that particular path.
    more
  • Susanne Cherry
    January 1, 1970
    Might just be my new favorite in this series I really love this series so much. Scarlett had me on the edge of my seat throughout this whole book. This book gives you everything the previous books in this series gave us and more.New Characters, Steamy Romance, ridiculously funny moments.
    more
Write a review