27 Hours (The Nightside Saga, #1)
Rumor Mora fears two things: hellhounds too strong for him to kill, and failure. Jude Welton has two dreams: for humans to stop killing monsters, and for his strange abilities to vanish.But in no reality should a boy raised to love monsters fall for a boy raised to kill them.Nyx Llorca keeps two secrets: the moon speaks to her, and she’s in love with Dahlia, her best friend. Braeden Tennant wants two things: to get out from his mother's shadow, and to unlearn Epsilon's darkest secret.They’ll both have to commit treason to find the truth.During one twenty-seven-hour night, if they can’t stop the war between the colonies and the monsters from becoming a war of extinction, the things they wish for will never come true, and the things they fear will be all that’s left.27 Hours is a sweeping, thrilling story featuring a stellar cast of queer teenagers battling to save their homes and possibly every human on Sahara as the clock ticks down to zero.

27 Hours (The Nightside Saga, #1) Details

Title27 Hours (The Nightside Saga, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 3rd, 2017
PublisherEntangled: Teen
ISBN1633758214
ISBN-139781633758216
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Science Fiction, Young Adult

27 Hours (The Nightside Saga, #1) Review

  • The Bookavid
    January 21, 2017
    glorious, lifechanging, so queer.reviewing around april I think!
  • Katherine Locke
    January 12, 2016
    I was lucky enough to read this early and you guys, it is everything you dreamed of
  • Ashley Blake
    January 12, 2016
    I was extremely lucky to get to read an early version of this book and it blew me away. Wright's writing is absolutely stunning. Her world-building is vibrant and sensual. The setting of a moon in space colonized by humans and originally inhabited by chimera is so alive it feels like a character in and of itself. There are several points of view, which Wright masterfully executes. Each character in this book is multi-dimensional and complicated. I was truly interested in each one, invested and a I was extremely lucky to get to read an early version of this book and it blew me away. Wright's writing is absolutely stunning. Her world-building is vibrant and sensual. The setting of a moon in space colonized by humans and originally inhabited by chimera is so alive it feels like a character in and of itself. There are several points of view, which Wright masterfully executes. Each character in this book is multi-dimensional and complicated. I was truly interested in each one, invested and attached to the point that I thought about them all for days after finishing the book. On top of all this this awesome, Wright weaves a tale about human nature, relationships, and identity that is so relevant, so timely, and so fiercely rendered, that I will recommend this book to every single human upon its release.
    more
  • Candice
    January 15, 2016
    I read this book and it set my synesthesia running wild for the first time in MONTHS. This book does many things, but specifically it gets the POC rep right. It gets the queer rep down on the page so that it's real and in your face and unapologetic. It weaves a world right in front of your eyelids, and it'll leave you seeing spots afterward. And lastly, it will give you babies to love on, characters that you can take a walk with long after you reach The End.
    more
  • Eric Smith
    September 5, 2016
    Every time this book pops up somewhere I'm reminded how desperately I want it in my life right now.
  • Paul Krueger
    January 12, 2016
    GodDAMN, this one was fun. Wright couldn't have picked a better way to introduce herself to the world, because this book is sure to make it sit up and pay attention.
  • Cale Dietrich
    January 20, 2017
    I’ve seen a lot of hype for this book, and I am very happy to report that it’s totally justified. This book is AWESOME. It’s the big diverse epic sci-fi of your dreams. I was seriously blown away by the scope and scale of this – there are almost LOTR style battles, with the humans fighting against a variety of alien creatures. On that note, I loved that these creatures were all unique and original. They were all so inventive and well described, so they were very easy to visualise. This was reall I’ve seen a lot of hype for this book, and I am very happy to report that it’s totally justified. This book is AWESOME. It’s the big diverse epic sci-fi of your dreams. I was seriously blown away by the scope and scale of this – there are almost LOTR style battles, with the humans fighting against a variety of alien creatures. On that note, I loved that these creatures were all unique and original. They were all so inventive and well described, so they were very easy to visualise. This was really well done, and really made the world in this book feel unlike anything I've read before. There is also a lot of depth to this conflict – I don’t want to spoil it, but I will say that there is a lot more going on than the good guys versus the bad guys. This lead to some really great discussions, as each of the characters are challenged in different ways. I love it when books do this, and 27 Hours pulls it off spectacularly. This book is also incredibly romantic – I will go down with two of the ships, and I suspect many others will. There was a point where there are two kissing scenes in a row and it was just the BEST. I had a total blast reading this diverse, spectacular sci fi, and I can’t wait for book 2.
    more
  • Sarah Hollowell
    January 12, 2016
    I was lucky enough to read this early, and omg okay. OKAY. As soon as this is pre-order-able, do it. As soon as you can buy it, do it. It's a scifi space adventure with natural, beautifully written diversity. I've never seen so much queerness in one YA book and y'all it's a wonderful thing. PLUS the story is exciting, the characters are amazing, everything is just great. I'm just SO EXCITED for this to come out and for everyone to get to read it.
    more
  • Laurie
    October 14, 2016
    27 HOURS by Tristina Wright has everything I could ever want in a YA scifi novel – a visually stunning foreign planet, human space colonies, a fascinating indigenous alien race (LOVE that horns figure into the alien hierarchy), SPACE DRAGONS (with 6 legs!), and action that starts right up and does not let up (Tristina throws her readers right onto her scifi roller coaster and you better hang on). Oh, yeah – and I should probably mention the HOT romance (and the tender romance – I LOVE multiple r 27 HOURS by Tristina Wright has everything I could ever want in a YA scifi novel – a visually stunning foreign planet, human space colonies, a fascinating indigenous alien race (LOVE that horns figure into the alien hierarchy), SPACE DRAGONS (with 6 legs!), and action that starts right up and does not let up (Tristina throws her readers right onto her scifi roller coaster and you better hang on). Oh, yeah – and I should probably mention the HOT romance (and the tender romance – I LOVE multiple romantic storylines in books). And let’s not forget THE BEST TIMELINE-PROLOGUE I’ve ever read, and the really cool futuristic weaponry (and exciting mode of transport, and breathtaking scenery – there is a whole lot of eye candy in this book - of the setting, alien and human variety). AND…in addition to all this fantasticness, there’s something deeper going on thematically – something beautifully subversive and relevant for our times (as is the case in much of the best scifi). The future of scifi has arrived, friends - and Tristina Wright is blazing the path ahead, speeding past in her spaceship and leaving us all in her spectacular, rainbow-technicolor, intergalactic dust. I know that I will be doing my best to catch up. Sending out much griffin love to this author for her fantastic YA novel (if you hadn’t guessed, I most highly recommend it). P.S. Want the graphic novel AND the movie RIGHT NOW. (And the TEAM GEORGE t-shirt).
    more
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    December 25, 2016
    I knew as soon as I found out about this book that it was going to be so amazing. But I never knew that I will get so invested and in love with 27 Hours. Like truly. I loved everything about this book ~ the world building and the characters and especially the relationships. The writing got to me and it's just beautiful. PS. You will want to adopt every single character in this book. Be prepare.
    more
  • Mark O'Brien
    January 18, 2016
    ...never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference.This book is the queer epic sci-fi of your dreams and you will love it SO MUCH. I've read it in about three stages and each time I've cried over its contents twice or thrice. Pay attention to 27 HOURS--it's going to be huge.
    more
  • Erica Cameron
    January 18, 2016
    No matter how many times I read this book (and trust me that the number is high), I never love it any less. Tristina is brilliant and I can't wait for everyone to fall in love with these wonderfully real characters.
  • Keiko
    December 16, 2016
    Okay so technically I already read this and it was QUEER TEENS IN SPACE and it was amazing?? And now it's going to be a book that everyone gets to read??? I'm amazed at how books become books and I can't wait til everyone gets to read this book.
  • Andrew
    December 3, 2016
    Please give it to me-I'm staring at this cover-omg-It's just so.. so beautiful, I need it, now-
  • Nita
    January 12, 2016
    I was lucky enough to read this in early stages and it is such a magnificent and important book.
  • Leah
    March 9, 2017
    As one of Tristina Wright's beta readers, I've had the honor and privilege of seeing this story in multiple stages. It has come a long way since the first version I read, and there have been some fundamental plot changes along with little tweaks here and there. But in every form its taken, this story has been incredible.27 HOURS is a story of loss and love, family (both by blood and those you make for yourself) and friendship, and finding yourself in the midst of chaos. But above all, this novel As one of Tristina Wright's beta readers, I've had the honor and privilege of seeing this story in multiple stages. It has come a long way since the first version I read, and there have been some fundamental plot changes along with little tweaks here and there. But in every form its taken, this story has been incredible.27 HOURS is a story of loss and love, family (both by blood and those you make for yourself) and friendship, and finding yourself in the midst of chaos. But above all, this novel is one that explores the morality of humanity. In a world where the color of your skin, your sexuality, your gender, and so much more are of no consequence to anyone, Wright explores the give and take of humanity. She unflinchingly details the selfishness and greed, as well as the love and kindness, and everything in between.27 HOURS is not a book that you want to miss.
    more
  • Maria
    January 24, 2016
    I had the honor of reading 27 Hours, and I fell madly in love with these very real, very caring, very badass characters -- and this thrilling future setting.
  • Allonsythornraxx
    January 7, 2017
    This may have just become my most anticipated novel of 2017.Very excited about this cover!
  • Charlotte Hamilton
    February 24, 2017
    #diversitybingo2017 - deaf/hard of hearing mc
  • salmahsbookshelf
    January 18, 2017
    Being cautious since I see my culture here (Azrou/Sahara). Hopefully I won't be let down.
  • Maria
    January 12, 2016
    I FREAKING NEEED THIS
  • Natalie
    March 22, 2017
    whoops i should've added this since last year ahhhhh cuz i was blessed to read an early copy of it and then another revised copy as well but the release is soooooon (October) so here i am to flail about iiiiiit.It's so good ya'll. The world Tris has created is unique and so vivid and the characters are well fleshed out and helloooo none of the mains are straight WHOO!!! and some are POC as well so double whoo!!! I was on the edge of my seat while reading this cuz damn so much is going on and you whoops i should've added this since last year ahhhhh cuz i was blessed to read an early copy of it and then another revised copy as well but the release is soooooon (October) so here i am to flail about iiiiiit.It's so good ya'll. The world Tris has created is unique and so vivid and the characters are well fleshed out and helloooo none of the mains are straight WHOO!!! and some are POC as well so double whoo!!! I was on the edge of my seat while reading this cuz damn so much is going on and you're just so riveted! An with every turn of the page you just want to know WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN NEXT. And everytime you think you know? nope you don't. you reallly don't This is a story of budding relationships, already established relationships, loss (single tear falls down cheek NO SPOILERS!) conflicts, both internal and external. And the characters, yes i had to come back to them. I'm not even sure i can pick a fave because i love them all so much. And ya'll there is a freaking dragon. a DRAGON, among the other non-human creatures you'll see ;) Highly recommend!
    more
  • Camryn Garrett
    March 9, 2017
    I read this as a sensitivity read of sorts, but I love it and I'm going to buy it.
  • Aslee
    March 8, 2017
    as a lesbian librarian i think i should have an ARC on principal, but i guess i will have to suffer along with everyone else [/jokes] seriously, though, five months? might as well be five years. and the cover is so niiiiiiiiiice.
Write a review