Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1)
BeforeMira Minkoba is the Hopebearer. Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. She’s known across the Fallen Isles not just for her beauty, but for the Mira Treaty named after her, a peace agreement which united the seven islands against their enemies on the mainland.But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station.AfterThen Mira discovers an explosive secret that challenges everything she and the Treaty stand for. Betrayed by the very people she spent her life serving, Mira is sentenced to the Pit–the deadliest prison in the Fallen Isles. There, a cruel guard would do anything to discover the secret she would die to protect.No longer beholden to those who betrayed her, Mira must learn to survive on her own and unearth the dark truths about the Fallen Isles–and herself–before her very world begins to collapse.

Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) Details

TitleBefore She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 26th, 2017
PublisherKatherine Tegen Books
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Dragons

Before She Ignites (Fallen Isles Trilogy #1) Review

  • Jodi Meadows
    January 12, 2016
    Lots and lots of dragons. I'm not even kidding when I say I'm working on a dragon guide for other nerds who want to know all the things about the dragons in these books. --This is a book that I am writing.It now has a title. But I'm not going to tell you what it is . . . yet. Soon, though. Soon!--9/28: I saw a piece of the cover -- an important piece -- and I can't express how beautiful the cover is going to be. I can't wait to see the whole thing! --9/30: TITLE REVEAL ON MONDAY. --10/3: And it Lots and lots of dragons. I'm not even kidding when I say I'm working on a dragon guide for other nerds who want to know all the things about the dragons in these books. --This is a book that I am writing.It now has a title. But I'm not going to tell you what it is . . . yet. Soon, though. Soon!--9/28: I saw a piece of the cover -- an important piece -- and I can't express how beautiful the cover is going to be. I can't wait to see the whole thing! --9/30: TITLE REVEAL ON MONDAY. --10/3: And it has a title!! BEFORE SHE IGNITES!
    more
  • Jamie (The Perpetual Page-Turner)
    January 14, 2016
    ILLEGAL DRAGON TRAFFICKING. Why yes please.
  • Brittney ~ Her Bookish Things
    February 11, 2017
    Wowza..this cover. Omgosh. And the summary? I'm SO ready for this..
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    February 27, 2017
    Love love love!
  • Nina (Every Word A Doorway)
    February 11, 2017
    My reactions to the premise: Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station. I'm sorry, did somebody print MENTAL HEALTH all over this fantasy novel? Also dragons, GIVE ME THE DRAGONS. And that's how you turn around a premise from mainstream garbage to something I actually take an int My reactions to the premise: Since the day she was born, she’s been told she’s special. Important. Perfect. But Mira has never felt as perfect as everyone says. She counts compulsively. She struggles with crippling anxiety. And she’s far too interested in dragons for a girl of her station. I'm sorry, did somebody print MENTAL HEALTH all over this fantasy novel? Also dragons, GIVE ME THE DRAGONS. And that's how you turn around a premise from mainstream garbage to something I actually take an interest in. And if the heroine is a person of colour, as the cover has us believe, then all the better.
    more
  • Minni Mouse
    March 2, 2017
    Me: I've never once enjoyed a book about dragons.Shortly after: Ooh, look! A book about dragons![adds to TBR shelf]
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    May 11, 2016
    POLITICS & ILLEGAL DRAGON TRAFFICKING?! Yes to everything.
  • Cesar
    March 17, 2017
    This is something I've been meaning to talk about for the past few days, but I was a bit worried about how I should write this. After some thinking, I decided I'm going to write this. This isn't a review or thoughts on the book per say, it's about what Justina Ireland had said about the book.Now, I mean no disrespect to Justina or her work. I may disagree with her on some things, but she does help the YA community when it comes to problematic situations. Case in point, The Continent. I'm mainly This is something I've been meaning to talk about for the past few days, but I was a bit worried about how I should write this. After some thinking, I decided I'm going to write this. This isn't a review or thoughts on the book per say, it's about what Justina Ireland had said about the book.Now, I mean no disrespect to Justina or her work. I may disagree with her on some things, but she does help the YA community when it comes to problematic situations. Case in point, The Continent. I'm mainly talking about how she felt about the cover of the book as well as the publishing industry.Now, as you can see, the girl on the cover is Black. You might also notice that Jodi Meadows is white. To me, when I saw the cover, I thought: "Cool. A POC main character on the cover!" Then when I found out Mira, the main character, has anxiety, I was even more intrigued. What sealed the deal for me was that this book has dragons and illegal dragon trafficking. SIGN ME THE FUCK UP!!!I'm really looking forward to this book! It's got political intrigue, a POC main character, DRAGONS! What more could you want?... Then I read Justina's post on this on her blog and my reaction to it was: *Deep sigh* I'll leave a link to what she was talking about. http://justinaireland.com/dammit-this...Here's what she said that I kind of agree/disagree with: "But the fact that the cover appears to be the first of it’s kind and it belongs to a white author serves to reinforce the absolute whiteness of publishing. Because even when it wants to increase representation, publishers look to white authors to fill that need."Basically, what she's saying is is that white authors get a better rep when they're writing a book with a POC as the main character. And while I agree with that, a part of me doesn't. Here's why.I'm Mexican-American (if my name wasn't that obvious about my ethnicity) and I love to read. It's been my passion ever since my freshman year of high school and continues to be to this day. The more I read, the more I got to read about different characters. Sure, some are white, but I've also read books where the main character is Black, Chinese, Mexican, Japanese, etc., and I very much enjoyed them! I knew that some of the POC characters came from white authors and some who are POC write outside of their race. That didn't bother me. It might to some people, but not all. If a white author decided to write a book where the main character is Mexican, my first thought is: "Cool, someone is writing a book where I'm the same ethnicity as the main character." Not: "Ugh. A white author writing about a character who isn't the same race/ethnicity as them." I am not that type of person. I'm the former, not the latter.I understand that it's a big responsibility for white authors to learn and understand a race outside of their own. That's why there's research, talking to POC, and having sensitivity readers. I agree with that. What I DON'T do is get flustered if a white author writes outside of their own race. Look at The Book of Life, Moana, and the upcoming movie by Pixar, Coco. The Book of Life and Coco center around the Day of the Dead, a Mexican holiday, whereas Moana is about Hawaiin mythology. I know that the team creating these movies were white (some, not all), but they did their research well. Obviously, they didn't just write the plot for these movies without research. Hell, the team behind Coco went to Mexico to learn more about the culture and Day of the Dead. To me, if an author or movie team does their proper research and makes the book/movie great, I don't see a problem with it if they're white so long as they did their research and didn't do anything problematic. This brings us back to Before She Ignites and Justina. Yes, Jodi Meadows is white. Yes, the MC in the book is black. But if Jodi her research well and has sensitivity readers, I don't see a problem with it. And Justina's blog post does bring up some valid points about black authors in the publishing industry. By no means am I saying I'm an expert at this when I know nothing about what's going on in the publishing world. I have seen from different posts of how PoC, especially women, get the short end of the stick and that does bother people. I do not think I'm right. Do not take my word 100%. I don't know the struggle, so don't assume I know. Because I might be wrong about this and if I am, I will apolagize and say I messed up, not delete the comments or review.Recently, I've been seeing POC authors writing books that have been successful. The Wrath and the Dawn duology by Renée Ahdieh. The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi. And most recently, The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas. There's also another book by a PoC author called Dear Martin by Nic Stone. There have been lots of diverse books recently that are becoming popular. It shows that diversity is good and promotes learning about a different culture and groups of people.And while Justina has done some good and has valid points, I do wish she wouldn't make a big deal out of this. I've been looking at some written posts about Before She Ignites and some POC are excited to have a Black female main character dealing with a mental illness. Hell, I'm excited to read the book! I just don't understand why Justina has to talk about Before She Ignites with such animosity to the publishing industry. While there are improvements to the publishing industry, I do think they have some work to do when it comes to diversity. I want there to be an improvement, and not let it be a house of just only white authors. We need diversity. We can just meet somewhere in the middle. Like I said, I may disagree with Justina, but I don't think she's wrong. As mentioned, she has pointed out several problematic issues in some books. I applaud her for that and think she's a great person. I don't mean to say she is wrong. I'm sure she's a great, nice and wonderful person. You may agree with me or not. You may agree with Justina or not. That's fine. Obviously, everyone has different opinions and are free to talk about them. This is just my two cents on the issue and by no means did I intend to insult anyone. And if I did, kindly point it out so I can learn and apolagize.If you want, feel free to leave a comment talking about this. I only ask for respect and no insults. I'm more than happy to discuss this.Thank you.
    more
  • Giselle (Book Nerd Canada)
    February 10, 2017
    A POC as the main character in a fantasy book with dragons? I NEED THIS!!!
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    October 14, 2016
    Me seeing that there is a cover model: But at least the model is a POC so we might actually be getting some diversity here ---------We finally have a release date!---------We have a title! And with Jodi Meadows' promise of lots of dragon fun, I am fully on board for this book! Now I just need a release date...an official synopsis...a cover...and you know maybe the entire book would be nice lol
    more
  • Martina Boone
    March 6, 2017
    This is an utterly dazzling and beautiful book with a richly imagines world, fresh wonderful characters, and a story that didn't let me go from the first page to the last. And can I just say that I desperately want a dragon? Remarkable!
  • Sandra
    January 14, 2016
    A new fantasy series by Jodi Meadows is enough to make me super excited, but a line such as "a dangerous secret about illegal dragon trafficking " got me like:I NEED THIS
  • Cee (The Mistress Case)
    April 8, 2016
    You had me at "illegal dragon trafficking."
  • Penelope
    February 24, 2017
    The cover is beautiful! I really like it!
  • Inês
    June 11, 2016
    YASSSS GOD IM SO EXCITED FOR 2017
  • Valerie Cole
    January 12, 2016
    What do I think of this book? Hmmm...1) it's like OITNB but fantasy2) you'll never look at small confined spaces the same way3) you'll need a nightlight in the dark4) DRAGONS!5) bad ass lady characters
  • Alyssa
    October 3, 2016
    Wahoo! I'm excited for a new series. Break my heart once more, Jodi! Maybe I should binge-read this series... :D
  • Rachel Lightwood
    May 30, 2016
    Illegal dragon trafficking + Jodi Meadows has Rachel like:
  • Sarah Glenn Marsh
    January 28, 2016
    I was lucky enough (so lucky!) to read an early draft of this, and that draft already deserved all the stars I can give and more!You don't want to miss this unique and exciting new story from a beloved fantasy author!
  • Mackenzie (Oh, For the Love of Books!)
    January 14, 2016
    You had me at "illegal dragon trafficking".
  • Jess
    January 13, 2016
    Book: Blah blah blah blahblahblah illegal dragon trafficking blahblahblaaaah~Me: o H i AM tHeRE !!
  • Holly
    January 20, 2016
    Illegal dragon trafficking WHAAAAAT....
  • Saowbia (Eden of Books)
    February 11, 2017
    Yess! POC on the cover! And the main character has anxiety! AND DRAGONS! So excited for this!
  • Yana (the duchess)
    March 18, 2017
    It's been a while since I've wanted to read a book that has a model on the front. It's so YA 2008, you know? But a POC model? Jodi Meadows, do my eyes deceive me? This isn't Julie Kagawa's The Immortal Rules all over again, is it? No? Okay. I eagerly await this book and the female MC then. Let's hope for a badass who's never described as having skin like chocolate or coffee. Or hair that was beautiful, intricate braids that everyone envied her for . If she's just a regular girl who's strong an It's been a while since I've wanted to read a book that has a model on the front. It's so YA 2008, you know? But a POC model? Jodi Meadows, do my eyes deceive me? This isn't Julie Kagawa's The Immortal Rules all over again, is it? No? Okay. I eagerly await this book and the female MC then. Let's hope for a badass who's never described as having skin like chocolate or coffee. Or hair that was beautiful, intricate braids that everyone envied her for . If she's just a regular girl who's strong and intelligent, and also just happens to be a POC, then sign me up! Also, dragons? Hell, yes.
    more
  • Julie
    March 17, 2017
    I loved this book - the intense world building, the anxiety rep, the friendships, the minimal romance. BUT I do want to note that it's not okay that this was the first book to get a black girl in a ball gown on a cover. It should've gone to a black author and it shouldn't have taken until 2017. I'm disappointed in publishing for failing to give a black author this chance first.
    more
  • Tecla
    March 1, 2017
    Well then Jodi Meadows! We see you girl. lol
  • Kouk
    September 20, 2016
    Illegal dragon trafficking?That sounds very interesting!!
  • Hesione
    February 14, 2017
    SHE'S COLORFUL!!!!!!!!!
  • Stacey Lebel
    February 10, 2017
    THERES A COVVVVEEERRR!! And it's so stunning!
  • Algel Crestfall
    January 6, 2017
    YES TO DRAGONS. HELL YESSSSS.
Write a review