Wrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys, #2)
Jenny’s single-parent life revolves around her kids and her job, which means that hours of Animal Planet and strings of computer code are about all she has time for. Not that Jenny’s looking for adventure or romance—she’s the type of woman who believes in playing it safe.When Jenny is called upon to do some consulting for the Bourbon Street Boys—a New Orleans private security firm—she knows she should stay away. They conduct surveillance on known criminals and put themselves in harm’s way pretty much every day, so No is the obvious answer…Problem is, there’s a guy on the team with a body to die for and a dimple that just won’t quit luring Jenny in, tempting her to throw all caution to the wind.Will Jenny take the risk or will she do what she’s always done—play it safe and wait for the right time?

Wrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys, #2) Details

TitleWrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 10th, 2016
PublisherMontlake Romance
Number of pages330 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Wrong Place, Right Time (The Bourbon Street Boys, #2) Review

  • Lisa
    February 11, 2016
    4 Stars!Wrong Place, Right Time is the second book in Elle Casey’s series entitled The Bourbon Street Boys. I am a big fan of this author and her versatile writing style. While I did not love this one as much as the first book in the series, this turned out to be a fun read with a great blend of action, humour, and romance.We meet our two protagonists, Jenny and Dev, in book one in this series. While they have nothing to do with each other in the previous story we do get to know them a little. J 4 Stars!Wrong Place, Right Time is the second book in Elle Casey’s series entitled The Bourbon Street Boys. I am a big fan of this author and her versatile writing style. While I did not love this one as much as the first book in the series, this turned out to be a fun read with a great blend of action, humour, and romance.We meet our two protagonists, Jenny and Dev, in book one in this series. While they have nothing to do with each other in the previous story we do get to know them a little. Jenny is a busy, single mom of three. Her ex-husband barely pulls his weight and she feels like all the responsibility of raising their children has landed at her feet. She may be overwhelmed but Jenny has no other option but to keep plugging away at life. Jenny finally has a couple of days to herself and all she wants to do is take a bath, drink some wine and sleep. But when her sister, May, asks her to do one consulting project for the Bourbon Street Boys, Jenny has a hard time saying no to her younger sister’s annoying persistence.Jenny has no idea why she gave in to her sister’s pleas. What the Bourbon Street team is involved in is something she should stay far away from. After all, she needs to play it safe. She’s a mom! Almost immediately upon her arrival, Jenny gets wrapped up in the Bourbon Street world. She wants to run but it keeps sucking her in. The more time she spends with the team, the more they begin to change her perception of who they truly are. Of particular interest is the sexy, dimpled giant who makes her want to forget all the reasons that she needs to play it safe. The more she involves herself with the Bourbon Street Boys and with Dev himself, the harder she is finding it to keep herself from jumping on the Dev choo-choo train of lust.I found this book to be a cute and funny read. Jenny’s inner rambling did make me giggle at times but they did become tedious at times. I did love the fact that she had a backbone and proved that she had some mad computer skills when it came to being a part of the Bourbon Street Boys team. Her relationship with Dev was a very slow build. They are both parents and finding the time to pursue the ever-growing feelings developing between the two of them was a hard task. It took quite some time for anything really substantial to happen between Jenny and Dev. Although, it was entertaining to watching and the giant alpha-male fall head over heels and get all tangled up in each other.All in all, Wrong Place, Right Time was a great addition to this series. I took this book for what it is – a fun and light read that put a smile on my face. Yes, it did end rather abruptly and the ending seemed rushed in my opinion but other than that I really enjoyed this one! I can’t wait for more. ****An advance reading copy of Wrong Place, Right time by Elle Casey was generously provided to me via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    April 2, 2016
    Before all the fangirls get their pitchforks out...2 stars means it was okay. I did not like it anywhere as much as the first book in this series though. Wrong Number, Right Guy that book was hilarious. This one just wasn't.May's sister Jenny finally gets a free weekend from the kids. She wants to just drink wine and Netflix in her pj's, but May needs her help at May's 'stupid new job.' Jenny doesn't really approve of May's new job with the Bourbon Street Boys, she agrees to do the job just beca Before all the fangirls get their pitchforks out...2 stars means it was okay. I did not like it anywhere as much as the first book in this series though. Wrong Number, Right Guy that book was hilarious. This one just wasn't.May's sister Jenny finally gets a free weekend from the kids. She wants to just drink wine and Netflix in her pj's, but May needs her help at May's 'stupid new job.' Jenny doesn't really approve of May's new job with the Bourbon Street Boys, she agrees to do the job just because she is low on cash and there is a gift certificate involved. Once there though, she realizes why she doesn't approve of her sister's job as someone tries to break into the warehouse right after she gets there and she ends up in their panic room with a big old hunk of a man named Dev. Dev in the first book cracked me up. He survived May's taser and just was pretty awesome. In this book he might be described as a big old bald hottie..He just came across as sorta bland to me. I know that Dev and Jenny were both single parents and I DO know the struggle of trying to date when you have young kids. It just took freaking forever for anything to happen in this book! And at the very dang end is when they finally get their bang-bang on? Sorta fade to black, and had me so very confused as to how in the world this big man managed to get positioned in a car. My back hurts thinking about it. This one just didn't compare to the first book. I've read a few other Elle Casey books and all of them kept my attention. I barely finished this one. (It does have one of my least favorite things ever in a smexy book-damn winking at each other ALL the time. It distracts me from the story and makes me think they have some kind dang eye fungus) That being said. I do like this author and I'm hoping this one is just an off day one and I'll read what she writes next. If Kelly and Mitchell do not kill me first. I totally messaged her and we had a ball on a buddy read of the first book so I thought this would be fun. She is totally going to kill me.Mitchell has already been threatening the monkeys because of reasons.
    more
  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    January 30, 2016
    Wrong Place, Right Time is book two in The Bourbon Street Boys series by Elle Casey. This book was generously provided to me in exchange for an honest review by NetGalley, Montlake Romance, and by Elle Casey.Jenny is May’s older sister whom we met in book one. She spent her life taking care of May, protecting her. All of a sudden, with May now part of The Bourbon Street Boys agency and also in a relationship with Ozzie, she doesn’t seem to need Jenny any more. Add in an ex-husband who frequently Wrong Place, Right Time is book two in The Bourbon Street Boys series by Elle Casey. This book was generously provided to me in exchange for an honest review by NetGalley, Montlake Romance, and by Elle Casey.Jenny is May’s older sister whom we met in book one. She spent her life taking care of May, protecting her. All of a sudden, with May now part of The Bourbon Street Boys agency and also in a relationship with Ozzie, she doesn’t seem to need Jenny any more. Add in an ex-husband who frequently bounces his child support checks and finds excuses to skip his weekends with their three children, a job that requires much more than forty hours a week, and all of the responsibilities of being a single mom, and Jenny is barely holding on by a thread. This weekend Miles, Jenny’s ex, has finally shown up to take the kids for his weekend. Jenny has visions of wine and bubble baths and couch time in front of the TV, until May calls with an opportunity to do a freelance job for Bourbon Street Boys. Jenny is a computer engineer. And she is very good at her job. May convinces her that it will be a quick and easy job and a nice fat paycheck. Not able to say no to her sister, off Jenny goes to do the job. But unexpected circumstances result in Jenny being trapped in a panic room with Dev, the hottest guy she has ever seen. All seven feet of pure muscle with a bald head and dimples that make her flutter in places she forgot existed. What the heck kind of place is this, though, with panic rooms and rooms full of ninja swords? This is not the place for her. She is a single mom with kids who depend on her. Jenny and Dev’s paths continue to cross and there is definite attraction growing. Again, unexpected circumstances force Jenny back to The Bourbon Street Boys and this time, Jenny is committed to impressing them with her expertise. At the same time, it is more time to see Dev. This book was so much fun. Jenny was pretty much on her own. She felt like she was losing her sister and her ex was no help at all. Not to mention her horrible boss at her work place. I loved Dev right from the start. That man melted my heart. Add in an adorable three year old little boy with a lisp and you’ve got a winner. I also loved getting a little bit of May and Ozzie. May has definitely grown up since the first book and I loved her being there for Jenny instead of the other way around. So, if you’re looking for a fun, sweet romance with a little bit of suspense thrown in, this one is for you. I have read several of Elle Casey’s books now and I can honestly say I have never once been disappointed. If you haven’t read book one, Wrong Number, Right Guy yet, now is your chance to pick it up and get to know May and Ozzie. I loved that book. Maybe you will too!
    more
  • BookLover
    January 30, 2016
    ARC requested through Netgalley, and kindly provided by Montlake Romance in exchange for an honest review.I loved this book as much as the first on in this series, Wrong Number, Right Guy, but for different reasons. Though this book had a similar light, humorous vibe, I really loved the serious and heartwarming tones that lived just under the surface.This book began some time after the first book, with May settled into her life with Ozzie and the Bourbon Street Boys. May’s sister, Jenny, a strug ARC requested through Netgalley, and kindly provided by Montlake Romance in exchange for an honest review.I loved this book as much as the first on in this series, Wrong Number, Right Guy, but for different reasons. Though this book had a similar light, humorous vibe, I really loved the serious and heartwarming tones that lived just under the surface.This book began some time after the first book, with May settled into her life with Ozzie and the Bourbon Street Boys. May’s sister, Jenny, a struggling single mom of three, didn’t like the danger she perceived May to live in. This opinion was not helped when Jenny visited the Bourbon Street Boys for a freelance job and was thrown into danger, both literal and in the form of Dev.The shenanigans and mystery really took a backseat in this story and instead focused on Jenny and her sobering problems. I really felt for her. She had major insecurity tied to the fact that her husband abandoned her and their three children. She was always stressed about being able to provide for her children, both in a financial manner as well as emotionally. I LOVED the way Jenny stood up for herself in several situations and didn’t allow herself to be a doormat.This insecurity caused her to miss what was right in front of her… a very interested Dev. I found it amusing to see both of them struggle with insecurities while being completely oblivious to one another’s obvious interest. What really got me in the feels, though, was Dev’s unassuming support. Even if he was just listening to Jenny talk about a bad day, his comfort to her was palpable. They were perfect for one another.Fantastic follow-up in a series I really enjoy.
    more
  • Ashleyjo
    June 22, 2016
    Meet Jenny, sister to the FMC from book one and burned out single mom. Relax, Jenny. This is just another day to get through without Hulking-out on someone. You can do this. "The honey badger don't take no shit from nobody, not even the Bourbon Street Boys. " She's spastic / calm <--- Yep, apparently that can be a combo. Like one minute her thoughts are like... The next... DROWNING in nonsense It makes for funny monologue and cutsie one-offs , but I'm drowning in the sea of nonsense writi Meet Jenny, sister to the FMC from book one and burned out single mom. Relax, Jenny. This is just another day to get through without Hulking-out on someone. You can do this. "The honey badger don't take no shit from nobody, not even the Bourbon Street Boys. " She's spastic / calm <--- Yep, apparently that can be a combo. Like one minute her thoughts are like... The next... DROWNING in nonsense It makes for funny monologue and cutsie one-offs , but I'm drowning in the sea of nonsense writing. D. R. O. W. N. I. N. G ! She goes into the BSB warehouse to help her sister with coding. She's mentally waxing;) along about how hot the guy is... "I notice he doesn't have eyebrows either. Why I find that even sexier is a mystery to me. So, now I have this not-so-sexy-at-fucking-all ^ visual^ stuck in my head. Ah, anyway, so, yeah, she's waxing about how hot the hairless guy is and there a "big noise," "bang" on the warehouse door with shouting. Cue: "My panic level is high, like level ten right now. If I were a possum, I'd be stiff on my back, legs straight up in the air. Cue the hairless wonderman whisking her off to a safe panic room. • Big, badass commando dude IMMEDIATELY halls her ass to a panic room & traps them there for rescue by the police or his coworkers .. over a noise. A noise. Uhm, okay. • It takes 17 pages of inner monologue and TSTL Q&A to GET to the panic room. • It takes another 20+ I lost count pages of these two discussing the panic room - if they should be there, the keypad, fire control, communication systems etc.• Another 20+ I lost count pages on that He might have been overly eager in getting them in and that they're now stuck in panic room and Her analyzing and dissecting why a panic room would lock from the outside.~~~ So, by the time they actually start having a fucking normal convo while they're stuck in the panic room, I'm already thinking about what I'm going to change my book channel to next... Him For anyone remotely curious, the only thing I've got from him at that point was that he's bald, lacks eyebrows, is huge, and says stupid shit like: Your butt isn't that fat. A couple of months with me, and I'll have you sporting a six-pack under that blouse." Bottom Line Book one started funny and went into the shitter for me. I decided to give two a try because one was initially humorous. Book two is just TOO much of TOO little. I'll refrain from a rating because the only issue I can personally attest to is that slow, much ado style is not to my tolerance. And the character profiles are unappealing to my personal tastes. I won't repeat second-hand reviews. But after pausing to read some reviews to see if book two could possibly get any worse or better, I decide it can and does get worse and it's a DNF. Recommendation : Download a sample first!!!
    more
  • XxTainaxX
    July 1, 2016
    While this story isn't up there in heat, it's definitely super cute, funny, and sweet. I found myself laughing out loud at Jenny and Dev's antics. Jenny is May's sister. May is the heroine from book one. May met and fell in love with the leader of a security agency that seems to constantly get itself in some interesting situations. While contemplating a consulting job for the firm, Jenny gets caught in the middle of a situation that places her in a panic room with the super sexy, bald, and delic While this story isn't up there in heat, it's definitely super cute, funny, and sweet. I found myself laughing out loud at Jenny and Dev's antics. Jenny is May's sister. May is the heroine from book one. May met and fell in love with the leader of a security agency that seems to constantly get itself in some interesting situations. While contemplating a consulting job for the firm, Jenny gets caught in the middle of a situation that places her in a panic room with the super sexy, bald, and deliciously tall Dev. There is a depth to Dev that was very nice to read. Jenny is a mom of three and coming to terms with a divorce to a man that is fast becoming an irresponsible father in addition to a bad husband. When it rains, it pours... so Jenny receives a few more knocks, including professionally, before things start to look up. At first, she wants to stay away from the agency after a harrowing first experience but first impressions aren't always what they seem and the people of the agency turn out to be pretty darn awesome. The story was written well. The pacing was great with a build up to Jenny and Dev that kept me interested. I loved the role of the children in the story. It added an emotional component that showed more range and depth to the characters. I will continue to read the series with pleasure. Safety: No OW/OM/Sharing. Neither are Vs. They use condoms. No rape/abuse.ARC received in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    June 16, 2016
    Wrong Place, Right Time is the second book in the Bourbon Street Boys Series and my first book I’ve read with Elle Casey. This can be read as a standalone but you will have all characters in each book.Jenny and Dev’s story is not the typical romance story. Both are single parents, Dev a single parent to child with Cerebral Palsy and Jenny a divorcee with 3 kids. They are in their thirties and just kind of beaten down by life. They meet when May, Jenny’s sister, brings her into the Bourbon Street Wrong Place, Right Time is the second book in the Bourbon Street Boys Series and my first book I’ve read with Elle Casey. This can be read as a standalone but you will have all characters in each book.Jenny and Dev’s story is not the typical romance story. Both are single parents, Dev a single parent to child with Cerebral Palsy and Jenny a divorcee with 3 kids. They are in their thirties and just kind of beaten down by life. They meet when May, Jenny’s sister, brings her into the Bourbon Street Security fold to do some freelance work for them. Things don’t go well from day one. Despite all the trouble they go through, you can’t help but root for these two. Dev is a very big man, tall and full of muscle. You would think he would display pure alpha attitude but he is more of a teddy bear with insecurities about how big he is. Jenny, is a mom first and foremost and has trouble separating herself from being just a mom. This felt more real and what true life struggles are about. Their love story is slow building, sometimes uncomfortable yet beautiful all the same. I’m completely invested in these characters and will definitely go back to book one to read May and Ozzie’s story and wait anxiously for the third book in the series.ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Irene
    July 1, 2016
    3.5 starsI really enjoyed reading Wrong Place, Right Time.The storyline was entertaining, I found myself laughing and connecting with the h, Jenny. She was my kind of girl, a little out there, funny, sarcastic with a big heart that would go into protective big momma on anyone who disrespected her loved ones. It was fun watching Jenny and Dev's relationship develop. These two were perfect for each other. I loved from the first moment they meet Dev steps into protective mode. He wasn't shy to show 3.5 starsI really enjoyed reading Wrong Place, Right Time.The storyline was entertaining, I found myself laughing and connecting with the h, Jenny. She was my kind of girl, a little out there, funny, sarcastic with a big heart that would go into protective big momma on anyone who disrespected her loved ones. It was fun watching Jenny and Dev's relationship develop. These two were perfect for each other. I loved from the first moment they meet Dev steps into protective mode. He wasn't shy to show the real man behind the tall and intimidating person people first see. He was sensitive, beautiful, funny, strong and very honest. He had the biggest heart and would do anything for Jenny and the kids. The attraction/connection between them was strong and very believable. And the sexual chemistry was smoking! While I did enjoy Wrong Place, Right Time, I did have a couple of small things that I would have liked to have seen... The story is all told in Jenny's POV, we spent a lot of time in her head and while I loved her character it did get a little exhausting. There was a scene or two I would have loved to have heard it from Dev's POV.And lastly, now this is just me being selfish/greedy as I have no doubt these two were going to have a loving and happy life together, I wanted an epilogue. I did say I was being greedy lol Overall I had a fun time reading Wrong Place, Right Time, loved the characters and the storyline kept me turning the pages. A great addition to The Bourbon Street Boys series.Looking forward to reading Wrong Question, Right Answer next, it's Antoinette “Toni” and Lucky's book! Now this is going to be one emotional & heartfelt read. *Thank you to Montlake Romance via NetGalley for the advance copy*
    more
  • Petra
    September 30, 2016
    Book 2 about the Bourbon Street Boys security firm. Works as a standalone, though. This one is about single Mum Jenny, who is May's sister. May was the heroine in book 1. Jenny meets Dev when she takes on a freelance job at Bourbon Street. I liked Dev. Nice guy. But the romance aspect was lacking chemistry and steam. The story also lacked the completely hilarious, laugh-out-loud scenes from book 1, and there was no suspense whatsoever in this one. Definitely not as good as the first book. It was Book 2 about the Bourbon Street Boys security firm. Works as a standalone, though. This one is about single Mum Jenny, who is May's sister. May was the heroine in book 1. Jenny meets Dev when she takes on a freelance job at Bourbon Street. I liked Dev. Nice guy. But the romance aspect was lacking chemistry and steam. The story also lacked the completely hilarious, laugh-out-loud scenes from book 1, and there was no suspense whatsoever in this one. Definitely not as good as the first book. It was a light, occasionally sweet, and at times fun listen (mostly when the kids were involved) but that's about it. 2.5 stars.The audiobook narrator was really good with the different voices, especially the kids'. But her pacing was just awful. Lots of pauses and gaps within sentences that really. Shouldn't. Have been. There.
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    May 18, 2016
    Java Girl's review posted at Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews2.5 starsIt took me until 25% to be able to tolerate the heroine, Jenny. I found her to be uptight, judgmental, and humorless. I'm not a fan of adults who think they know what's best for other adults, and feel it's their right to dictate how others live their lives, I don't remember her being this unlikeable in book one of the Bourbon Street Boys series, Wrong Number, Right Guy. In fact, I was hoping for her story--I thought she deserved Java Girl's review posted at Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews2.5 starsIt took me until 25% to be able to tolerate the heroine, Jenny. I found her to be uptight, judgmental, and humorless. I'm not a fan of adults who think they know what's best for other adults, and feel it's their right to dictate how others live their lives, I don't remember her being this unlikeable in book one of the Bourbon Street Boys series, Wrong Number, Right Guy. In fact, I was hoping for her story--I thought she deserved an HEA with a great guy after her first marriage. Her sense of humor did finally make an appearance, and she seemed to relax and dial back on the judgment; I liked her much better for the remainder of the book. However, I didn't enjoy this book nearly as much as the first book. WNRG was very funny, this one wasn't. Although there were some attempts at humor, nothing made me laugh out loud, but I did crack a smile or two.I found the relationship between Jenny and Dev very uneven and unusual for a romance. For me, it didn't quite work.I liked them as a couple, and was rooting for them, but the evolution of their relationship wasn't very romantic, and the pacing was strange to me. There were several unresolved, at least in my mind, plot threads, while others were dispatched quite abruptly. I found it odd that Jenny kept referring to her three year-old son’s speech impediment as a disability, and compared it to Dev’s son’s cerebral palsy. Maybe my biggest issue with this book is that it is too ambitious--there was a lot going on--a deadbeat dad,the struggles of single parenting, workplace discrimination, bullying, online dating, body-shaming, computer hacking, corporate espionage, and much, much more. The romance got lost, and nothing really got the attention it deserved. All in all, I was disappointed, after the pleasant surprise of book one in this series.Review copy provided for an honest review.
    more
  • Trea
    June 26, 2016
    DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. I ALSO WON A KINDLE EDITION IN A GOODREADS GIVEAWAY. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!This is nearly a direct follow up to the previous story in the series, but focuses on May's sister, Jenny. There was a different dynamic than in the previous story, due to the fact that this story revolves around single parents getting toge DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. I ALSO WON A KINDLE EDITION IN A GOODREADS GIVEAWAY. RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!This is nearly a direct follow up to the previous story in the series, but focuses on May's sister, Jenny. There was a different dynamic than in the previous story, due to the fact that this story revolves around single parents getting together.As with the first book, there was a decided lack of suspense in this story. In fact, there were maybe 4 references to a suspenseful angle total! In addition to that, the romance angle wasn't all that great either! The couple goes on maybe 4 dates, and suddenly, they're talking forever love, though they don't actually admit it to each other.Unlike the first book, we don't see much interaction between Jenny and the rest of the Bourbon Street crew. This made it feel like there was a disconnect between them, and we didn't learn much new information about the remaining characters in the group. Very disappointing if there is going to be two more books in the series!All things considered, I really wouldn't recommend this book or series to others. There's not enough romance or suspense in it for me to consider it a shining example of those categories. Granted, it is a light and quick read, which is why my rating of it isn't lower than it is. I'm interested enough to finish out the series, but I'm not sure I'd read the author in the future.
    more
  • The Book Disciple (Samantha)
    June 27, 2016
    Probably the most relatable characters I have ever read. Really enjoyable! Full review will be on The Book Disciple
  • Ivy Deluca
    April 26, 2016
    -Elle Casey is funny. Full stop. Even with the issues I had with this, there are moments of humor and anytime I get to see Felix and Sahara (who were the cutest couple in this book, bar none), then I can find something to enjoy.-Unfortunately, there’s little more than that to recommend this entry in the Bourbon Boys. I thought the first book was a bit more screwball comedy than I’d like, but ultimately it worked. Here, May’s sister is like the annoying parts of May without the charm. No es bueno -Elle Casey is funny. Full stop. Even with the issues I had with this, there are moments of humor and anytime I get to see Felix and Sahara (who were the cutest couple in this book, bar none), then I can find something to enjoy.-Unfortunately, there’s little more than that to recommend this entry in the Bourbon Boys. I thought the first book was a bit more screwball comedy than I’d like, but ultimately it worked. Here, May’s sister is like the annoying parts of May without the charm. No es bueno.-Her struggle as a single mom could have been more interesting than it was, but she was just a bit too frustrating for my taste. Her obsession with her (alleged) fat, her serious judgy-ness of the Bourbon Street gang at first, was a major turnoff. Jenny’s serious cluelessness when it came to Dev’s interest in her was also a bit unbelievable, and the fact that at one point she goes on a dating website while he’s still in the house with her just rubbed me the wrong way, and she never recovered.-Dev is, much like Ozzie in the first book, only shown through Jenny’s eyes, and he’s only drawn in the shallowest of strokes. I would have loved to have gotten to know him better, but I was too busy rolling my eyes at Jenny.-There wasn’t much to the story, and it made the lack of chemistry between Dev and Jenny really stand out and the reading more of a chore than I would have liked. I wanted to like this, but it really didn’t work for me. I couldn’t recommend it. That said, I know Ms. Casey’s writing can be much better than this, so I wouldn’t rule out a return to this ‘verse. I probably wouldn’t rush out for it, though.**ARC provided by publisher via netgalley for review**For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Carmen Rae
    June 7, 2016
    After reading the first book in this series I just had to jump straight into this one thinking I was going to get a continuance of the humour I was enjoying so much along with getting more of the cool characters I had already met. Add in how much I love single parent romances and I was so there as soon as I put the first one down.But I really didn’t get what I was expecting. This book had a lot less of the humour and a lot more emotion. I even had a few instances of leaking eyes while watching After reading the first book in this series I just had to jump straight into this one thinking I was going to get a continuance of the humour I was enjoying so much along with getting more of the cool characters I had already met. Add in how much I love single parent romances and I was so there as soon as I put the first one down.But I really didn’t get what I was expecting. This book had a lot less of the humour and a lot more emotion. I even had a few instances of leaking eyes while watching Jenny struggle through issues of motherhood with no one to depend on.I only knew a little bit about Jenny from the first book but what I knew was enough for me to love her and I really wanted her to meet an amazing man who would sweep her off her feet and help her out with her little monsters. Check out the Full review here
    more
  • Raine
    April 30, 2016
    ****ARC provided by Barclay Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.****I enjoyed this book better than I did the first book. This book had more humor in it and I really enjoyed reading Jenny's thoughts. However, I felt that a majority of the book was pretty boring and except for the few funny and insightful thoughts of the MCs (mostly Jenny since it was from her POV). I didn't feel like Dev was all alpha male. He seemed a little too mild for being 7 feet and muscularly built. I ****ARC provided by Barclay Publicity via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.****I enjoyed this book better than I did the first book. This book had more humor in it and I really enjoyed reading Jenny's thoughts. However, I felt that a majority of the book was pretty boring and except for the few funny and insightful thoughts of the MCs (mostly Jenny since it was from her POV). I didn't feel like Dev was all alpha male. He seemed a little too mild for being 7 feet and muscularly built. I do like that both MCs were single parents and I liked parts of the story that involved the kids, but I felt that a lot of the book harped on the kids too much and detracted from the main story which should have been the romance between Jenny and Dev. And speaking of the romance between Jenny and Dev it really felt like something that I would've read in a teen novel with the first love/puppy love...actually no, I think that a teen/first romance book probably would've had more chemistry between the main characters than what was shown in the book. They actually didn't even have sex until about 80% into the book. I like the whole becoming friends things before lovers, but there was no sizzle even though Jenny states that she finds him attractive, etc. I didn't feel like he found her attractive, I mean he even encouraged her to find someone else to date on a dating site!All in all I did find this book was better than the first book. Hopefully the next book will be better than this second book and by the time the 4th book rolls around maybe the writing will get better and it will finally get 5 stars from me.
    more
  • Red Cheeks Reads
    May 12, 2016
    So, I love Elle Casey, some of my all time favorite books have been written by her (If you haven’t read the Shine Not Burn series or the Rebel Wheels series get on that ASAP) and while the first book in this series was not a favorite of mine I still liked it enough to continue. I enjoy a suspenseful romance with alpha males as much as the next hot blooded woman, but this newest edition just was not my cup of tea.Elle is a fabulous writer and that still shows through but for being as long as it i So, I love Elle Casey, some of my all time favorite books have been written by her (If you haven’t read the Shine Not Burn series or the Rebel Wheels series get on that ASAP) and while the first book in this series was not a favorite of mine I still liked it enough to continue. I enjoy a suspenseful romance with alpha males as much as the next hot blooded woman, but this newest edition just was not my cup of tea.Elle is a fabulous writer and that still shows through but for being as long as it is I found that it seemed to drag on for me and I got way too many details about things I was not interested in and then not nearly enough about the aspects of the story that intrigued me. On top of that I found Dev to be a little one dimensional for me. I wanted to know more about him, his background and what makes him tick but I just didn’t feel like I got to know him all that well. I actually found myself more emotionally connected to Lucky than him. That being said I didn’t dislike him I just found myself ambivalent to him.While Elle Casey remains an author I love and I am excited to try many more of her other series sadly I think this one is just not for me. I know a lot of people love this series and this book so once again this just proves that not every book is for every reader and that it is ok not to love every book an author you love outs out. While I will definitely continue to read Elle Casey books I am currently undecided if I will continue on in this series.3.5 Smooches ~miranda
    more
  • Hollie
    June 18, 2016
    I really liked the first book in this series but this one was pretty disappointing. I didn't feel any chemistry or intensity when it came to the hero and heroine. Plus it ended with a HFN closure, If you could even consider it that. I also wanted more of a followup from the couple in book 1 but that didn't happen either. This book also lacked the humor this author is known for. I'm glad it was offered as a kindleunlimited but I don't see it being likely I will continue this series. Mostly due to I really liked the first book in this series but this one was pretty disappointing. I didn't feel any chemistry or intensity when it came to the hero and heroine. Plus it ended with a HFN closure, If you could even consider it that. I also wanted more of a followup from the couple in book 1 but that didn't happen either. This book also lacked the humor this author is known for. I'm glad it was offered as a kindleunlimited but I don't see it being likely I will continue this series. Mostly due to it having no real closure. an epilogue can go a long way.
    more
  • Jo *Reading Is My Bliss*
    June 10, 2016
    This was just an okay read for me. I liked Jenny and I liked Dev but I just don’t know if they are right for each other. The only thing that they had in common was that were both single parenting.I did like the protective side of Dev when it came to Jenny though and it was nice to see her reactions to his kindness after being married to a douche bag.There was a very slow build between them and I kind of liked that it wasn’t all tied up in a nice bow at the end, there is plenty of potential for m This was just an okay read for me. I liked Jenny and I liked Dev but I just don’t know if they are right for each other. The only thing that they had in common was that were both single parenting.I did like the protective side of Dev when it came to Jenny though and it was nice to see her reactions to his kindness after being married to a douche bag.There was a very slow build between them and I kind of liked that it wasn’t all tied up in a nice bow at the end, there is plenty of potential for more of this couple.
    more
  • ♡ Jeri's Book Attic ♡
    April 27, 2016
    I just read “Wrong Place, Right Time” (The Bourbon Street Boys #2) by Elle Casey and can not express properly how surprised I was by this book.. I have to admit, when it appeared on my kindle I had to check back into Goodreads to refresh my Mind what it was about.I remembered when the Blurb turned up that I was drawn to that really silly name for a security firm and something in the wording of that Blurb was catching my eye – even though I could not quite place my finger on it. Then I saw – that I just read “Wrong Place, Right Time” (The Bourbon Street Boys #2) by Elle Casey and can not express properly how surprised I was by this book.. I have to admit, when it appeared on my kindle I had to check back into Goodreads to refresh my Mind what it was about.I remembered when the Blurb turned up that I was drawn to that really silly name for a security firm and something in the wording of that Blurb was catching my eye – even though I could not quite place my finger on it. Then I saw – that I had rad another book by this author and that it was not in my 4Stars and above list – so for a moment I was second guessing my decision with this book.And I started browsing through other book blurbs by this author noticing something interesting. It seems that this author is not afraid to try any genre that comes to mind. Actually what might sound strange made me feel better because – who knows – maybe it was just that one book that was not working for me (and no I did not go back to check what I wrote in my last review – I did not want it to influence this review in any way – I will check later)So coming back to the book itself – I started reading the book and I was so pleasantly surprised that I will really recheck all of the other books by this author. I will definitively read the first one of that series – because I need to know how May ended up with her man.I also need to see if some of the other books might fit my reading “needs” – but I will pay carful attention to the genres – now knowing that there might be some books that I do not like. Which actually is nice – because it makes reading also feel more real.And real also being a MAIN word for “wrong place – right time” … I loved the conversations that Jenny was having. No matter if they were “inner dialogues” “loud thoughts” or really her “word vomit” – she felt so real.She mad me laugh so hard at times – when she was describing herself or certain situations.It has been such a long time that I can hardly remember laughing so much at so silly yet real observations. If you would ask my opinion I would say the dialogue really came from deep in the authors heart – pure – real and honest.And than there is Dev he feels like a huge misunderstood gentle giant – he is so warm and fluffy (don’t laugh) (I know I am missing the right word – there is nothing to really describe him correctly).It's wrong to say gently giant because I suppose – from some comments in the book – that if I had read the first book I would consider him a hard and tough guy given his occupation alone.But in this book from the first second that he meets Jenny he is just adorable (kill me)– yes – he is a seven! foot tall – food killing – hard bodied – drill instructing – TEDDY BEAR … (am I drooling ? – I am used to bad boys so this is something really new to me and I kind of love it )For more Reviews subscribe my Blog : http://jeri-ryan.wix.com/jerisbookattic like my FB Page : https://www.facebook.com/JerisBookAttic
    more
  • Deanna (A Novel Glimpse)
    May 5, 2016
    I love Elle Casey's contemporary romances. It doesn't matter what genre of contemporary romance they're in, they're all hilarious. Wrong Place, Right Time was no different. It had Casey's trademark sexy humor and a little bit of suspense.When Jenny loses her job, she's stuck taking a freelance position with her sister May's company. Taking the job with The Bourbon Street Boys makes Jenny uneasy. They deal with some bad people and tend to skirt the lines of the law. Jenny's a single mom with thre I love Elle Casey's contemporary romances. It doesn't matter what genre of contemporary romance they're in, they're all hilarious. Wrong Place, Right Time was no different. It had Casey's trademark sexy humor and a little bit of suspense.When Jenny loses her job, she's stuck taking a freelance position with her sister May's company. Taking the job with The Bourbon Street Boys makes Jenny uneasy. They deal with some bad people and tend to skirt the lines of the law. Jenny's a single mom with three young children. She can't be putting herself at risk, but getting fired has forced her to do it.Jenny's new job comes with one big benefit, though. His name is Dev and he's tall, bald and handsome. Jenny can't help but be attracted to hulking Dev, but she knows there's no way he could be into a warn out, fluffy mom with three kids. Dev is interested, though. He gets how hard being a single parent is and is looking for someone to share his and his son's life with.I loved Wrong Place, Right Time. It was funny, sexy and fast-paced. Jenny, with her ex-husband related negative self-esteem, was easy to relate to. She didn't see herself as sexy anymore, just a dowdy mom. I know several moms, myself included, who would easily relate to her. Dev was amazing. Not only was he physically handsome, but he was beautiful on the inside as well. I loved the support he gave Jenny and the confidence he helped her find.What really made this book amazing, though; was the combination of Dev and Jenny's kids. They added an extra special element to the story. It was so sweet to see them all interact.If you're looking for a steamy read filled with humor and a little suspense, you should read Wrong Place, Right Time. It's the second book in The Bourbon Street Boys series, but can easily be read as a standalone novel.**I received a free, advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Sam Kozbial
    June 9, 2016
    I was pretty interested in this one, even though I did not read the first book. I liked that the heroine is a single mom in her 30s struggling with balancing her work life, home life, and social life (or lack thereof). Being a single mom, I was able to relate to Jenny's concerns and fears, and it's always nice to have that connection when reading. I loved that this was a smart and savvy woman, who was just sort of stuck. A series of unfortunate events actually helps her get unstuck with respect I was pretty interested in this one, even though I did not read the first book. I liked that the heroine is a single mom in her 30s struggling with balancing her work life, home life, and social life (or lack thereof). Being a single mom, I was able to relate to Jenny's concerns and fears, and it's always nice to have that connection when reading. I loved that this was a smart and savvy woman, who was just sort of stuck. A series of unfortunate events actually helps her get unstuck with respect to her social life, her love life, and her career. Jenny takes the opportunity, with a little nudge from her sister and Dev, to crawl out of her post-divorce cocoon and start living the life she deserves. The Bourbon Street family was also a great part of the book. Casey does a good job of giving us a little look into each of their lives, and makes me eager to get to know them better. I would have loved to have had a little more interaction between the other members of the team, to get a better feel for their chemistry, but maybe that will come in the next book. All that said, the star of this book (for me at least) was Dev. I loved everything about him, and just wanted more and more of him in the book (no offense Jenny). He was literally a gentle giant with A LOT on his plate, but still able to see the good in things. Overall: enjoyable and entertaining read. This story had a nice combination of humor, family hijinks, drama, action, but I wish there had been more of the romance. I really loved Dev and wanted more of him and Jenny together, because those were my favorite parts.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    June 27, 2016
    Very enjoyable book! The main female character Jenny is an absolute hoot! The story is told in her POV as she struggles through single motherhood after being recently divorced. She's content working at her mundane computer programming job and watching animal planet with her 3 kids. She doesn't understand her sister's new lifestyle after hooking up with her latest boyfriend and going to work for his security firm. That is until she's called in to help them with a special project and sees how nice Very enjoyable book! The main female character Jenny is an absolute hoot! The story is told in her POV as she struggles through single motherhood after being recently divorced. She's content working at her mundane computer programming job and watching animal planet with her 3 kids. She doesn't understand her sister's new lifestyle after hooking up with her latest boyfriend and going to work for his security firm. That is until she's called in to help them with a special project and sees how nice it could be to work for herself and how much easier life would be! Enjoying her time there has nothing to do with the cute dimpled guy that also works there. Nope, nothing at all! Now Jenny has a choice to make, take a chance at a little excitement in her or life or stick with the boring existence she's currently living.Definitely a book I would recommend.
    more
  • Viollar Nasaba
    May 13, 2016
    **ARC provided by publisher via net galley for review**DNF at 40%In the beginning i loved what this book was about. Two single parents finding each other and falling in love?? who wouldn't want to read a story about that. I also get that the author wanted this to be a slow burn..but did it have to be so slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow??At 40% Jen met Dev, however nothing has happened between them. We haven't even met Dev's son who am suspecting is disabled.The lack of chemistry between the two **ARC provided by publisher via net galley for review**DNF at 40%In the beginning i loved what this book was about. Two single parents finding each other and falling in love?? who wouldn't want to read a story about that. I also get that the author wanted this to be a slow burn..but did it have to be so slooooooooooooooooooooooooooooow??At 40% Jen met Dev, however nothing has happened between them. We haven't even met Dev's son who am suspecting is disabled.The lack of chemistry between the two is loud and awkward.The book has some funny moments and i enjoyed that..still wasn't enough to keep me interested.
    more
  • Jackie Kluyts - Kiwibooknerd
    May 10, 2016
    While I did enjoy this one, I did not love it as much as the previous one. I found myself skimming at parts as it just kinda dragged a bit. Then when they finally get together like right at the end of the book....BAM its over. I would have much preferred them getting together sooner and then read the rest of the book, about how they blended their families etc. And what is with the fade to black scenes?....mmm I am usually used to more steamier than that form this author....Also Jenny was a bit i While I did enjoy this one, I did not love it as much as the previous one. I found myself skimming at parts as it just kinda dragged a bit. Then when they finally get together like right at the end of the book....BAM its over. I would have much preferred them getting together sooner and then read the rest of the book, about how they blended their families etc. And what is with the fade to black scenes?....mmm I am usually used to more steamier than that form this author....Also Jenny was a bit in her head too much.....those are the parts I skimmed.....she was all over the place!!!
    more
  • Anna (Yoda Is My Spirit Animal)
    December 8, 2016
    More like 2.5 stars, but Jenny annoyed the ever loving shit out of me so much I can't bring myself to round up. I really liked Dev, but Jenny was insufferable 85% of the time & the other 15 she was a whiny, miserable mess. Also, most of the time I didn't feel like she even attempted to really parent her kids. Every other word or thought was about how annoying/bratty/mischievous they were, or how they were just a nuisance. I just found Jenny supremely unlikeable. Looking forward to #3 a lot l More like 2.5 stars, but Jenny annoyed the ever loving shit out of me so much I can't bring myself to round up. I really liked Dev, but Jenny was insufferable 85% of the time & the other 15 she was a whiny, miserable mess. Also, most of the time I didn't feel like she even attempted to really parent her kids. Every other word or thought was about how annoying/bratty/mischievous they were, or how they were just a nuisance. I just found Jenny supremely unlikeable. Looking forward to #3 a lot less now.
    more
  • Kari
    July 13, 2016
    I liked this one only slightly more than the first book. I didn't think it was as funny, but I liked Jenny and Dev more together than the couple in the first book. I felt like they too more of their time to get to know each other. But I wanted more than a HFN ending.
    more
  • Deniz
    May 25, 2016
    3.5StarsFun, well written and entertaining but I wanted more romance story somehow...Full review to come
  • Melissa
    August 2, 2016
    SweetIt's sweet and funny. I laugh a lot. The main characters were lovely and great people. I loved how they get together so well.
  • Becky
    July 26, 2016
    Great book and lots of fun. I liked the first book more, but Dev is a favourite character of mine!
  • Angie
    April 28, 2016
    The first book in this series, Wrong Number, Right Guy? One of my absolute favorite books I've read and listened to the audio several times. I was ecstatic book 2 would be about May's sister, Jenny. And she's paired up with Dev/Devin, who was so well-developed and full of personality in the first book! The Jenny I remembered from book 1 was harried and overwhelmed, but not as neurotic as she began in this book. She definitely gets her confidence by the end of the book, but it takes her time to g The first book in this series, Wrong Number, Right Guy? One of my absolute favorite books I've read and listened to the audio several times. I was ecstatic book 2 would be about May's sister, Jenny. And she's paired up with Dev/Devin, who was so well-developed and full of personality in the first book! The Jenny I remembered from book 1 was harried and overwhelmed, but not as neurotic as she began in this book. She definitely gets her confidence by the end of the book, but it takes her time to grow into it (and that's ironic because the whole book is over a 2 week period?). When Jenny is interacting with her kids... love her. When Jenny is in her own head.. I grew weary of her. She's in her head a whole lot. The beginning is slow and drawn out and there's lots of Jenny overanalyzing and complaining and judging everything. She's definitely had life crap on her, but she lacked May's spunk that made her adorkable. Jenny is also having a hard time realizing May has changed and come into her own... and may not need her as much or in the same way. That's one of the themes I liked about the book - making your own family. Each of these characters are coming from different places with their own troubles and supporting each other. I really loved seeing Jenny discovering that and that's when my annoyance with her changed. After about the 35% mark in the book, she gets directly involved in a case. It's the Blue Marine embezzling case Lucky was working on in the background in book 1. I like the idea that this case is carrying forward throughout the series to link tie them together. Jenny in her element and being a computer hacker guru is where she shines. I even got into my "don't speak to me or I'll cut you" zone with my husband at this point. The suspense/mystery part of this book was excellent and really drew me in and kept the book moving.The suspense part is only a fraction of the book. Most of it is about Jenny coping with some very crappy days and her developing relationship with Dev. Dev was a little flat for me in this one. In book 1 his interactions with May were so lively (he was tasered and knocked on his tush several times), but he seemed less dimensional here. A lot of the book is about judging others (handicaps or speech impediments, Jenny judging the Bourbon Street Boys, etc.) and Dev's appearance falls under that umbrella. He's 7 feet tall, alopecia (no hair or eyebrows) - a gentle giant. (I could have done without the many references to him sweating in the opening scene and then stretch marks from his growth spurts.) I couldn't get a sexy, alpha hero vision of him and other than his son, there wasn't a whole lot more about him we learned. I never saw him in action, training or anything. Granted this book is told solely from Jenny's point of view.And then... the book was over. It felt a little underwhelming and I wanted to see more. The positive angle is that this is a series so we'll see more of them and I hope that's the "epilogue" I need to tie Dev and Jenny together in a neat bow. All that to say, I think I overhyped myself about this book and set unrealistic expectations. It is a very good book! Elle Casey continues to develop some quirky and difficult characters. She creates a family by bringing them together. Most importantly she does it with great humor and snappy dialogue. I burst out laughing at the scene where Jenny is running for the panic room and grateful she's not wearing in corduroys or she'd probably start a fire. Who would think that in a life/death moment? The Wexler sisters. So a little more of May being amazing, a little backstory on Lucky and overall I'm looking forward to the next story.I received a copy of this book through NetGalley from Montlake Romance for an honest review.
    more
Write a review