When Dimple Met Rishi
A laugh-out-loud, heartfelt YA romantic comedy, told in alternating perspectives, about two Indian-American teens whose parents have arranged for them to be married. Dimple Shah has it all figured out. With graduation behind her, she’s more than ready for a break from her family, from Mamma’s inexplicable obsession with her finding the “Ideal Indian Husband.” Ugh. Dimple knows they must respect her principles on some level, though. If they truly believed she needed a husband right now, they wouldn’t have paid for her to attend a summer program for aspiring web developers…right? Rishi Patel is a hopeless romantic. So when his parents tell him that his future wife will be attending the same summer program as him—wherein he’ll have to woo her—he’s totally on board. Because as silly as it sounds to most people in his life, Rishi wants to be arranged, believes in the power of tradition, stability, and being a part of something much bigger than himself. The Shahs and Patels didn’t mean to start turning the wheels on this “suggested arrangement” so early in their children’s lives, but when they noticed them both gravitate toward the same summer program, they figured, Why not? Dimple and Rishi may think they have each other figured out. But when opposites clash, love works hard to prove itself in the most unexpected ways.

When Dimple Met Rishi Details

TitleWhen Dimple Met Rishi
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN1481478680
ISBN-139781481478687
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Young Adult, Romance

When Dimple Met Rishi Review

  • Emma Giordano
    February 25, 2017
    If you were looking for your perfect cute summer contemporary romance novel . . . look no further.This book was honestly so wonderful. It was an absolute delight to read. It is adorable. It's laugh out loud hilarious. It'll give you alllllll the feels.As this novel follows to Indian-American protagonists who's parents have essentially "suggested" a potential arranged marriage between the two, I can't speak for the representation. I will say, I've only seen rave reviews from Indian reviewers and If you were looking for your perfect cute summer contemporary romance novel . . . look no further.This book was honestly so wonderful. It was an absolute delight to read. It is adorable. It's laugh out loud hilarious. It'll give you alllllll the feels.As this novel follows to Indian-American protagonists who's parents have essentially "suggested" a potential arranged marriage between the two, I can't speak for the representation. I will say, I've only seen rave reviews from Indian reviewers and it is so clear to me that many readers could really identify with these two characters who may share their heritage. In my experience, I virtually have no knowledge of Indian culture whatsoever. As it's a hugely influential part of the story, I do feel I took away a lot! There are many phrases and words in Hindi, they speak about different types of Indian fashion, and overall display a lot of customs I previously did not know much about. I ended up googling a lot of what was included in the novel and really enjoying learning something new about Indian culture! I've left this novel with a huge desire to learn more, and to especially watch more Bollywood movies. I think this story would be enjoyable for Indian readers and non-Indian readers like. There's so much to love about the way this culture is presented.Like I said, the humor is CONSTANT. This is a seriously funny read and I promise you will find yourself laughing all throughout. I can't remember the last time I read a book that I could really sell to you based solely on comedic value, but my gosh is this book downright hysterical. It's totally worth the read just for the comedy and amusement.Dimple is such a queen. Any girl who can call out her mother's misogynistic views by page five is a girl I can get behind. She is 100% unique and sure of herself - She's a non-conformist and happy with being in her own skin. She's absolutely independent and unafraid to be herself. I really appreciated the individuality of her character and her determination to stay true to herself.Rishi is such a loveable dork. "Dork" is sincerely the only way I can describe it because he's just so goofy and full of life. He's a dedicated person, whether that's to his parents wishes or to his own heart. He really goes over the moon for the people he cares about and I think that's so admirable. I think the only thing I would have liked to see MORE of - not that the book is not absolutely fabulous - is a more developed story of the web design aspect of this book. Dimple & Rishi attend the same summer program/contest where the goal is to develop an app to present to professionals in the world of web design. Dimple repeatedly expresses her love for coding and it's obvious that she is pursuing a career she is passionate about. I just would have liked more scenes of Dimple and Rishi actively working on their app they are at the program for, in addition to all of the fun scenes that come from their summer together. I think Dimple's idea for the app itself was revolutionary and a bit more development on their coding process and how the app eventually comes out would have only aided the story.Overall, this book was fantastic. It made me happy. It made me emotional. It helped educate me. I'm really thankful I experienced this story and I really hope you all pick it up this May 30th! I'm hoping to have a longer review on my YouTube channel in the coming months, so stay tuned for that!
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    February 23, 2017
    Release date: May 30, 2017THIS BOOK IS STRAIGHT UP PRECIOUS. Dimple Shah's mother is constantly trying to get her to wear makeup, grow her hair out, and care more about her appearance, but Dimple is more interested in coding useful apps and has no interest in getting married anytime soon. Dimple's parents agree to pay for her to attend a summer coding competition because Rishi Patel will be there. The parents of both teens have agreed their kids are compatible, but Dimple's have neglected to men Release date: May 30, 2017THIS BOOK IS STRAIGHT UP PRECIOUS. Dimple Shah's mother is constantly trying to get her to wear makeup, grow her hair out, and care more about her appearance, but Dimple is more interested in coding useful apps and has no interest in getting married anytime soon. Dimple's parents agree to pay for her to attend a summer coding competition because Rishi Patel will be there. The parents of both teens have agreed their kids are compatible, but Dimple's have neglected to mention him...Rishi is more traditional (he learned Hindi before English) and focused on being a good son, so he goes to the summer program with the intent to meet his future wife. He wants to draw comics but is going to MIT to be an engineer and provide for his family like his parents planned. The first half of the book was ADORABLE and had so many hilarious scenes. Rishi was the cutest guy ever... the first thing he says to Dimple is "hello future wife, I can't wait to get started on the rest of our lives" (mostly as a joke). She has NO clue who he is, though, so she chucks her iced coffee at him and runs away. The story is told through the alternating POVs of both characters so you can see a scene unfold through Rishi's eager infatuation and Dimple's caution. Dimple makes it clear she is not about to get married anytime soon, but they end up as partners for the competition and fall in love as they start spending more time together. It's predictable but so, so cute. The second half of the story started feeling more like a blend of a bunch of other YA contemporaries (which isn't necessarily a bad thing... those plots are popular for a reason). And the end was cute!! I took a star off in the end because stories that spend so much time hating a stereotyped group of people really turn into a drag after a few hundred pages. That's not fun to read and was a bit disappointing when there were SO many more creative directions this story could have gone in besides focusing on how horrible the straight, white, privileged "Aberzombie" teens were. That is like the most cliche thing for a YA story to make into the villain. So that focus (or the shallow way in which it was carried out) killed some of the story's momentum for me.But I really did love these characters and had a lot of fun reading this! The writing was good, the diversity was awesome to see, and the characters felt like realistic teens.Thank you to the publisher & Riveted for sending me the ARC box!
    more
  • Stacee
    December 25, 2016
    I don't have words for how much I loved this book. Smart characters, fantastic dialogue, the sweetest of swoons. I know I'll be reading this one over and over. Full review to come.
  • alexandra
    February 1, 2017
    i can't believe we've been blessed with a book that is equally cute as it is culturally diverse. i couldn't stop smiling while flying through this. :''')full review to come~~
  • Gabrielle
    October 5, 2016
    10/5/16 Is 2017 the year when books are more *diverse* and we actually get a POC on the cover, because I am LIVIN'.
  • Mana
    March 20, 2017
    thank you Jesse the Reader for the arc :)WOW WOWOWOWOW, I'M EMO. Reading books with Indian protagonists really mean a lot to me,and I thrive off of reading books that represent people like me. The plot was wonderful. It paced the novel of this basically rom-com romance of how two unlikely people are put together because of unlikely circumstances. I think of of the biggest themes for me personally is identity, so seeing Dimple and Rishi struggle with who they are and the depth they perceive as ei thank you Jesse the Reader for the arc :)WOW WOWOWOWOW, I'M EMO. Reading books with Indian protagonists really mean a lot to me,and I thrive off of reading books that represent people like me. The plot was wonderful. It paced the novel of this basically rom-com romance of how two unlikely people are put together because of unlikely circumstances. I think of of the biggest themes for me personally is identity, so seeing Dimple and Rishi struggle with who they are and the depth they perceive as either the Rebel Child or the Traditional Child was so nice especially since Indians are put in a box constantly. I didn't expect to connect with Rishi with the deeper level that I did, because not only did he have a ~~non traditional~~ passion, it consumed him to the point it was his LIFE, and I relate. I connected to both seemingly different characters because I saw myself in not only being Indian but both struggling to appease their parents who vouch for tradition and for customs that might /not/ just be for them, and I struggle with that every single day so TBH, definitely cried. Don't look at me lmfao. But seriously, Sandhya is amazing, she gave us a happy and lovely story about two Indian people and it wasn't tragic nor was it just for kicks. I loved it, it was so cute.Some things to note: there was some ableist language, and there was also a slight "not like other girls" vibe. For the latter however, I do want to note that brown girls are consistently raised to believe "white is better" and in the case of that comment, it made me think of how *I* perceived myself versus white women, so I related but I also want to note: maybe better wording? (however, I will want to touch on this aspect a little more later.)If this review was no indication: Representation matters.
    more
  • Jill
    March 15, 2017
    "If no one says, 'This is me, this is what I believe in, and this is why I'm different, and this is why that's okay', then what's the point? What's the point of living in this beautiful, great melting pot where everyone can dare to be anything they want to be?" Ahhhhhhh this book was honestly THE CUTEST!! This gave me major The Sun is Also a Star vibes, so if you loved that book, this one is definitely for you! It follows two Indian-American teens who are pushed in the direction of an arranged "If no one says, 'This is me, this is what I believe in, and this is why I'm different, and this is why that's okay', then what's the point? What's the point of living in this beautiful, great melting pot where everyone can dare to be anything they want to be?" Ahhhhhhh this book was honestly THE CUTEST!! This gave me major The Sun is Also a Star vibes, so if you loved that book, this one is definitely for you! It follows two Indian-American teens who are pushed in the direction of an arranged marriage. The concept of this book sounded so diverse and intriguing I could not wait to get my hands on it. And I was not disappointed. If anything, my expectations were blown away.I'd like to first start off by saying, once again, that this book was adorable. It was hilarious, quirky, and fun. Most of my time was spent either laughing until I cried, giggling like a fool, or squealing until I woke up half my house at midnight. The humor in this book was seriously SPOT ON. RISHI CRACKED ME UPPP. From the banter between the characters, to all the ridiculous situations they were thrown in, this one seriously made me laugh.Both Dimple and Rishi were suchhhhh amazing characters. They were unique, adorable, brave, and passionate and I am so thankful I got to read their story. They really inspired me to not be afraid of what I am passionate about, and for that I am so so thankful. RISHI IS SO CUTE I CANNOT HANDLE IT. I thought the diversity and representation in this book was amazing! Now while I cannot speak directly to the accuracy of this, I was so happy to at least get a glimpse into Indian culture. I've never been exposed to it before, but to see actual Hindi sentences written out in this book was such an enlightening experience. I think the YA community NEEDS this book.The last thing I want to talk about is something that really struck me while reading this book. Yes this is a romance that mainly focuses on the main characters forming a relationship with one another. But I found that it really went deeper than this. It has themes of Feminism and Self-Discovery and so much more. I can't really get specific because of spoilers, but I guess I just really appreciated this book. It focuses alot on being true to yourself and doing what YOU are passionate about, no matter what anyone else thinks. No matter what life, family, gender, or situation you are born into, it is still 100% up to you to decide how to live your life. I think this is really special for this book in particular. Anyway, I really hope that you pick this one up and appreciate this adorable story. It really is hilarious and these characters deserve all the love they can get. Even if you are not a big contemporary fan (I certainly am not), you should still give this one a shot-- it just might surprise you (: "But there's no way to make it work without one of us sacrificing something big. And you know how it is. It's usually the woman who ends up sacrificing. And I can't do that. I won't."
    more
  • nick
    January 2, 2017
    4.5/5Sooooo shippy! I had really high hopes for this one and it delivered so much more than I expected. I can't believe this is only Sandhya Menon's debut because holy wow, can this woman write!Some quick thoughts -Dimple is a terrific heroine. She's smart, level headed and so passionate. As a daughter of South Asian immigrants, I saw so much of myself in her, especially her thoughts of not really fitting in anywhere. - RISHI PATEL IS MINE AND I WILL LEGIT FIGHT YOU FOR HIMOK but seriously, I NE 4.5/5Sooooo shippy! I had really high hopes for this one and it delivered so much more than I expected. I can't believe this is only Sandhya Menon's debut because holy wow, can this woman write!Some quick thoughts -Dimple is a terrific heroine. She's smart, level headed and so passionate. As a daughter of South Asian immigrants, I saw so much of myself in her, especially her thoughts of not really fitting in anywhere. - RISHI PATEL IS MINE AND I WILL LEGIT FIGHT YOU FOR HIMOK but seriously, I NEED more nice boys like this boy in my books. And I loooove that he was the more romantic one out of the two. The boy made me swoon so hard!- I love the incorporation of Indian culture and I totally adored the homage to the Bollywood movies.-THE SHIPThese two dorkballs were EVERYTHING. ALL THE SWOONY KISSES!! Can't stop and won't stop flailing over them!-Sex positive YA! I don't need to say more! :)OK I'm leaving some things for my full review but gahhh, you guys!!! I'm so ready for everyone to read this book because it's perfect.
    more
  • Fiderly
    February 8, 2017
    Can I just say this is absolutely one of the cutest books I've ever read and probably will ever read? This book just made me so darn happy. It's 3 am but I just had to finish the book before going to sleep... yes it's one of those books. Can we get a sequel? PLEASEEEE or heck a spinoff would be great too *nudge*
    more
  • E.K. Johnston
    February 14, 2017
    You know how sometimes you see a picture of a kitten and then you want to punch yourself in face? When Dimple Met Rishi was basically that feeling in book form. I spent the whole time reading it alternating between making pterodactyl noises, and smashing my nose against the pages. Menon has written such wonderfully nuanced and flawed characters, who have GOALS and IDEAS and PLANS, and then run into, you know, LIFE, and have to act accordingly. I will admit straight up: I read this for the "arran You know how sometimes you see a picture of a kitten and then you want to punch yourself in face? When Dimple Met Rishi was basically that feeling in book form. I spent the whole time reading it alternating between making pterodactyl noises, and smashing my nose against the pages. Menon has written such wonderfully nuanced and flawed characters, who have GOALS and IDEAS and PLANS, and then run into, you know, LIFE, and have to act accordingly. I will admit straight up: I read this for the "arranged marriage rom-com" pitch, and I regret absolutely nothing, because Menon built culture and story together so, so perfectly, and nothing felt forced or unrelateable. Rishi was so earnest, and Dimple so determined. Watching them circle each other, their parents, their dreams, and their lives was this wonderful, intricate piece of story-telling.I can't recommend this book highly enough.
    more
  • Alexa
    February 15, 2017
    4.5 stars. I seriously enjoyed the heck out of this book! It was just utterly adorable, the two main characters were wonderful (and complex) and it read just like a romantic comedy in book form. More stories like this one, please!
  • Jananee (headinherbooks)
    February 25, 2017
    Rating: 4.5/5Review to come closer to release date (*whispers* it was amazing though)
  • Danielle (Love at First Page)
    February 11, 2017
    Very underwhelming, unfortunately! It was meant to be sweet but I never found myself invested in the romance completely. And while the inevitable (view spoiler)[break up (hide spoiler)] trope was expected, how/why it happened left a particularly bad taste. Rishi, bless him, was a sweetheart, and Dimple had her moments (good and bad). I think knowing that friends loved this had my expectations too high. :/ I just couldn't connect with it like everyone else. But I'm betting I'll stay the black she Very underwhelming, unfortunately! It was meant to be sweet but I never found myself invested in the romance completely. And while the inevitable (view spoiler)[break up (hide spoiler)] trope was expected, how/why it happened left a particularly bad taste. Rishi, bless him, was a sweetheart, and Dimple had her moments (good and bad). I think knowing that friends loved this had my expectations too high. :/ I just couldn't connect with it like everyone else. But I'm betting I'll stay the black sheep and most will find this very cute.
    more
  • Emily
    February 17, 2017
    Me? Excited for a straight romance novel? Yup! This looks super cute and I'm so into supporting novels with main poc characters.
  • Brittany (Brittany's Book Rambles)
    March 25, 2017
    4.5/5 StarsRead my full review of When Dimple Met RishiBefore picking up When Dimple Met Rishi, I had heard nothing but praise. I do my best to go in with as much of a blind eye as possible when reading and reviewing books. However, other reviewers and friends who typically have similar taste in books were raving about it, so I couldn't help having extremely high expectations. Thankfully, I am so thrilled to report that everything positive that people have said about this book is true!When Dimpl 4.5/5 StarsRead my full review of When Dimple Met RishiBefore picking up When Dimple Met Rishi, I had heard nothing but praise. I do my best to go in with as much of a blind eye as possible when reading and reviewing books. However, other reviewers and friends who typically have similar taste in books were raving about it, so I couldn't help having extremely high expectations. Thankfully, I am so thrilled to report that everything positive that people have said about this book is true!When Dimple Met Rishi is one of the cutest books I have ever encountered. It's incredibly fun, quirky, and truly heartfelt. I really loved watching Dimple and Rishi fall for one another. This book actually reminded me of some of my favorite teen romantic comedies—with an Indian spin. The cultural aspects of the story were effortlessly and organically woven into the plot, and I enjoyed learning more about Indian family life, music, and traditions. Overall I was incredibly impressed with this novel, and I look forward to reading more books by Sandhya Menon in the future!
    more
  • Joséphine (Word Revel)
    March 27, 2017
    Initial thoughts: When Dimple Met Rishi is over 300 pages long and I still managed to finish it in a day! That doesn't happen all too often. It helps that I spent a fair bit in the MRT (subway) and waiting in queues today. Also, I basically ignored my phone because I was so engrossed in the book. It's thoroughly one of those "feel good" type of books that are filled with humour and make you smile. At the same time, it deconstructs misogyny, challenges racism and class discrimination, and conside Initial thoughts: When Dimple Met Rishi is over 300 pages long and I still managed to finish it in a day! That doesn't happen all too often. It helps that I spent a fair bit in the MRT (subway) and waiting in queues today. Also, I basically ignored my phone because I was so engrossed in the book. It's thoroughly one of those "feel good" type of books that are filled with humour and make you smile. At the same time, it deconstructs misogyny, challenges racism and class discrimination, and considers how cultural traditions can be reconciled with modern ideals. I loved that Dimple is driven by ambition, and that Rishi is fully dedicated to everything he set his heart on too. I think When Dimple Met Rishi should be on top of anyone's list who's looking for a great YA contemporary book, regardless of whether or not they're partial towards romance.
    more
  • Irena
    February 21, 2017
    Guys, I can't even tell you how much I want to read this book right now!Why isn't May already?Why don't I already own it??
  • Gaby
    March 6, 2017
    This book is SUPER FREAKING CUTE (with some unexpected steaminess that I guess I should have expected more because this is a post-high school, pre-college summer story). Aside from the endless amounts of cute, the strength of this book is the diversity. I don't think I would have read this book if it has been about a pair of white kids, but learning about Dimple and Rishi's culture, family, customs, etc, really made this book worth reading. Bottom Line: A super fast, super fun read that'll leave This book is SUPER FREAKING CUTE (with some unexpected steaminess that I guess I should have expected more because this is a post-high school, pre-college summer story). Aside from the endless amounts of cute, the strength of this book is the diversity. I don't think I would have read this book if it has been about a pair of white kids, but learning about Dimple and Rishi's culture, family, customs, etc, really made this book worth reading. Bottom Line: A super fast, super fun read that'll leave you with a smile on your face.
    more
  • Stefani Sloma
    March 20, 2017
    So unbelievably cute. I am actually the heart eyes emoji right now. Not only are the swoons REAL, the characters are all smart and passionate and full of life, and I'm in love with all of them. I loved how real these characters felt, how smart and nerdy they were, and how seriously adorable this book was. I will definitely be rereading this one when I need the warm fuzzies.
    more
  • Fadwa (Word Wonders)
    March 9, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from the publishers through Edelweiss in exchange of an honest review. Actual rating: 4.5 starsHAPPY. HAPPY. HAPPY. I'm all happiness and swoons and flutters right now. This book has turned my cold hard into gooey stuff, HOW IS THAT EVEN POSSIBLE? It is so funny and precious and relatable in some aspects that I just couldn't help but adore it *sobs* It's honestly sooo beautiful !Full review coming closer to the release date.
    more
  • Katie
    March 6, 2017
    HI THIS BOOK HAS PEAK LEVELS OF CUTE AND AWESOMENESS. READ IT IF YOU WANT YOUR HEART TO BE HAPPY.
  • Clementine
    October 5, 2016
    This has the potential to either be really cute or go very wrong very quickly.
  • Ruzaika Deen
    March 8, 2017
    Perfectly cute and brilliantly diverse- this book was worth all the hype and deserves allll the stars! Full review to come closer to the release date- but honestly? You need this book in your life.
  • Kelly
    February 26, 2017
    As charming and delightful as you could ever hope for. Love love love love love. I am basically a pile of heart-eyes right now.
  • Chandra Rooney
    February 19, 2017
    Why can't I give this perfect book six stars?
  • Giselle (Book Nerd Canada)
    February 10, 2017
    Yeahhh how come I don't have this ARC yet?!
  • Demi
    February 5, 2017
    Actual rating: 4.5Cuteness overload! I had high hopes going into this book and it did not disappoint! I loved the plot and the characters; Dimple and Rishi are such unique and smart individuals, their passions for technology and arts is aspiring. I also really enjoyed getting a perspective on their culture and traditions. I tried taking my time reading this book because I didn't want it to end, their love and support towards each other is seriously just amazing. Dimple and Rishi are goals, I shi Actual rating: 4.5Cuteness overload! I had high hopes going into this book and it did not disappoint! I loved the plot and the characters; Dimple and Rishi are such unique and smart individuals, their passions for technology and arts is aspiring. I also really enjoyed getting a perspective on their culture and traditions. I tried taking my time reading this book because I didn't want it to end, their love and support towards each other is seriously just amazing. Dimple and Rishi are goals, I ship them sooo much.
    more
  • Rachel Solomon
    December 14, 2016
    MY HEART! Oh, I adored this book. Fun and adorable - a perfect romantic comedy. I absolutely loved learning about how each character viewed their culture and how that shaped their lives. Some of the most thoughtful conversations I've read in YA in a while. I can't wait for Sandhya Menon's next book.
    more
  • Christina
    January 4, 2017
    actual rating of 4.5 stars! Super cute! I really enjoyed reading about these characters and watching them fall for each other. Rishi was made of swoons, so much so that he easily captured the heart of the little spitfire that was Dimple, as well as my own. There were also some really great secondary characters, and a good dose of cultural diversity that I enjoyed getting introduced to.
    more
  • Sara Grochowski
    October 30, 2016
    I am so in love with this book. From the genuine chemistry between the characters, to the authentic family relationships, and the vibrant characterization of Dimple & Rishi and their individual passions - I did not want their story to end!Cannot wait for more from Sandhya Menon!
    more
Write a review