A Void the Size of the World
A haunting novel about a girl who must face the consequences after her actions indirectly lead to her sister’s disappearance.Rhylee didn’t mean to kiss her sister’s boyfriend. At least, not the first time. But it doesn’t matter, because her sister, Abby, caught them together, ran into the dark woods behind their house…and never came home.As evidence mounts that something terrible has happened to Abby, no one wants to face the truth. Rhylee can’t bring herself to admit what she’s done: that she is the reason her sister ran away. Now Tommy, Abby’s boyfriend, is the prime suspect in her disappearance, and Rhylee’s world has been turned upside down. Slowly, Rhylee’s family is breaking—their lives center on the hope that Abby will return. Rhylee knows they need to face the truth and begin healing—but how can they, when moving on feels like a betrayal? And how do you face the guilt of wishing a person gone…when they actually disappear?

A Void the Size of the World Details

TitleA Void the Size of the World
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Mystery, Fiction

A Void the Size of the World Review

  • Stacee
    June 23, 2017
    I hadn't heard of this book until the publisher invited me to read it. I loved the premise and was excited to get to it. Sadly, I was quite disappointed. I struggled with Rhylee. She is very selfish and it was hard to root for her. She lies during the entire story. I could almost understand not wanting to tell anyone at first, but then all of these horrible things happen to Tommy and she just keeps quiet. And then when he said he needed to leave because he was worried for his safety, she's like I hadn't heard of this book until the publisher invited me to read it. I loved the premise and was excited to get to it. Sadly, I was quite disappointed. I struggled with Rhylee. She is very selfish and it was hard to root for her. She lies during the entire story. I could almost understand not wanting to tell anyone at first, but then all of these horrible things happen to Tommy and she just keeps quiet. And then when he said he needed to leave because he was worried for his safety, she's like NO YOU CANT LEAVE ME. Oh, but she's completely pushed him away and is ignoring him. For me, that was unforgivablePlot wise, it was pretty bland and got monotonous quickly. I loved the idea of Abby disappearing after a fight and I couldn't wait to find out what happened...except nothing was explained. There are hints of a maybe suicide and or a maybe accident and it's never cleared up. Plus there are several things introduced {Abby's note to Tommy, the person Rhylee chased in the dark, the ruined posters in her room} that just seemed to fade away without clarity. Overall, it had a lot of potential, but it was lacking a certain sort of tension I was expecting. Something kept me reading, but I couldn't tell you what it was.**Huge thanks to Simon Pulse for the invitation to read this title**
    more
  • Andrew
    June 7, 2017
    **I read an ARC of this through my work** *potential but not detailed spoilers ahead* 2.5 stars? I was super hooked on this book in the middle, when it was taking on a thrillery vaguely sci-fi turn, the way Shaun David Hutchinson writes. As things began to wrap up, I was a bit let down and disappointed. I also feel like a lot of things were not followed up on and should have been concluded or revealed. Little-ish things, but noticeable enough for me to want answers, such as the note Abby wrote **I read an ARC of this through my work** *potential but not detailed spoilers ahead* 2.5 stars? I was super hooked on this book in the middle, when it was taking on a thrillery vaguely sci-fi turn, the way Shaun David Hutchinson writes. As things began to wrap up, I was a bit let down and disappointed. I also feel like a lot of things were not followed up on and should have been concluded or revealed. Little-ish things, but noticeable enough for me to want answers, such as the note Abby wrote for Tommy, or an explanation for what Rhylie was witnessing with her own eyes and ears around their home. It's entirely possible that this is touched upon in the final version, please keep in mind I am reviewing based on the ARC.Regardless of the ending, I was invested with the story, particularly the middle. It's a good mystery story, but it doesn't really leave me feeling satisfied.
    more
  • Stephanie Faris
    July 21, 2017
    A Void the Size of the World introduces us to Rhylee, a girl who has always lived in the shadow of her perfect sister, Abby. The icing on the cake, though, was when Abby ended up with the guy Rhylee always wanted. A stolen moment with Rhylee convinces him to break up with her sister, who disappears the same night. The haunting mystery of what happened to her, combined with Rhylee's ongoing guilt, makes this such a suspenseful read. Most of all, though, Rachele's writing just carries you to the e A Void the Size of the World introduces us to Rhylee, a girl who has always lived in the shadow of her perfect sister, Abby. The icing on the cake, though, was when Abby ended up with the guy Rhylee always wanted. A stolen moment with Rhylee convinces him to break up with her sister, who disappears the same night. The haunting mystery of what happened to her, combined with Rhylee's ongoing guilt, makes this such a suspenseful read. Most of all, though, Rachele's writing just carries you to the end. You won't be able to put this one down!
    more
  • Nuzaifa - Word Contessa
    December 22, 2015
    Having absolutely LOVED Rachele Alpine's CANARY, I cannot wait for her upcoming YA novel! DAT SYNOPSIS THO. 2017 why you so far away?!! was one of the most under-rated novels and easily one of favorite reads of 2013. Read my full review of Rachele Alpine's CANARY here.
    more
  • Angela
    May 5, 2017
    Man, I wanted to like this so much more than I did. As a mom, this should have ripped me apart on so many levels. It didn't. As a sister and friend, this should have broken my heart. It didn't. As a human being, I should have felt compelled to read, to get to the end. Instead, I felt like skimming to hurry it along. The pacing was off and the way Rhylee's guilt was manifested seemed off and I simply didn't appreciate the storyline regarding the Circles. And so: The dreaded two star review it is.
    more
  • Veronica
    June 9, 2017
    This book simultaneously exceeded my expectations and fell short of them. I went into this book knowing that it was about Abby's disappearance, but I assumed that it would turn into a romance. And it didn't. Yes, there was romance involved, but it was never Rhylee's main focus. Her attention was on her sister and keeping h r family from completely falling apart. That was where it exceeded my expectations. On the con side, I feel as though the grief of loss was, in a sense, subdued. I was reading This book simultaneously exceeded my expectations and fell short of them. I went into this book knowing that it was about Abby's disappearance, but I assumed that it would turn into a romance. And it didn't. Yes, there was romance involved, but it was never Rhylee's main focus. Her attention was on her sister and keeping h r family from completely falling apart. That was where it exceeded my expectations. On the con side, I feel as though the grief of loss was, in a sense, subdued. I was reading through the other reviews for this book and one said, something along the lines of "as a daughter, friend, and sister, this didn't break my heart like I feel it should have." And I feel like this pretty much encompasses my feelings. Overall, it wasn't the best, but it also wasn't the worst. The only other thing I would like to add is that I feel like the ending was a let down. The book was building tension, and then all of a sudden, she just decides to leave, and we don't really find out what really happened to her sister or her family. For that reason I hope there is a sequel so that things can be cleared up.
    more
  • Hauntedbybooks
    July 7, 2017
    I enjoyed reading this book. It definitely kept me wanting to know what happened next. The characters were well written but I still had a lot of questions that didn't get answered. Rhylee was a hard character for me to feel sorry for. She just seemed really selfish and not very emotional when it came to her sister. The ending was disappointing to me. I did enjoy the mystery and what little romance there was.
    more
  • Jenny
    May 23, 2017
    I love Alpine's work. Her characters are well developed and the plots keep me guessing until the end. She is able to take tough teen issues and make them accessible to all ages. I feel their pain and joy while I have hope for their futures.
  • Becky
    June 28, 2017
    I had some mixed feelings about this story. The very well developed characters and mystery of the story kept me reading. I wanted to know what happened to Abby. Was she really gone? Did someone kill her? Was it an accident? Is she still alive and just exacting revenge on her sister? I needed to know! But then the ending happened and I learned nothing. I was mad. I didn't understand how the author could leave me hanging like that, but then I realized her genius. This story is so well written that I had some mixed feelings about this story. The very well developed characters and mystery of the story kept me reading. I wanted to know what happened to Abby. Was she really gone? Did someone kill her? Was it an accident? Is she still alive and just exacting revenge on her sister? I needed to know! But then the ending happened and I learned nothing. I was mad. I didn't understand how the author could leave me hanging like that, but then I realized her genius. This story is so well written that it feels real. The characters and situation could happen in real life and so she couldn't give me a neaty wrapped ending with all the answers, because that's not what happens in real life. Nicely done, Rachele Alpine!
    more
  • Rachele Alpine
    May 7, 2017
  • Sage Thoughts
    July 4, 2017
    Content Ratinghttp://sagethoughtsonbooks.blogspot.c...
Write a review