Violet Grenade
Her name is Domino Ray. But the voice inside her head has a different name.When Madam Karina finds Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position at her girls' home in secluded West Texas. With no alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn't long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam's approval...and falling for Cain, the mysterious boy living in the basement.But the madam has horrible secrets. So do the girls in the house. So does Cain. Escaping is harder than Domino expects, though, because the madam doesn't like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn't know about the danger living inside Domino's mind.Madam Karina doesn't know about Wilson.

Violet Grenade Details

TitleViolet Grenade
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherEntangled Teen
ISBN1633756874
ISBN-139781633756878
Number of pages300 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

Violet Grenade Review

  • Ashley Nuckles
    March 16, 2017
    Well that went fast XD Thanks so much to the publisher and author and her assistant for sending this ARC to me through NetGalley! I'll post more of my thoughts once I manage to gather them and plan out my video review!
  • Candace Robinson
    December 18, 2016
    This book was freaking awesome!!! Domino has been homeless for about a year and finds herself in a situation when her best friend is arrested, and she has no money to bail him out. She happens to run into this lady named Madam Karina who offers her a position at her home. Things aren't what they seem. There is a person inside Domino's head that has been restless for quite some time. His name is Wilson, and he was one crazy fellow! Was I supposed to like Wilson? I don't know, but I did!!!! I also This book was freaking awesome!!! Domino has been homeless for about a year and finds herself in a situation when her best friend is arrested, and she has no money to bail him out. She happens to run into this lady named Madam Karina who offers her a position at her home. Things aren't what they seem. There is a person inside Domino's head that has been restless for quite some time. His name is Wilson, and he was one crazy fellow! Was I supposed to like Wilson? I don't know, but I did!!!! I also loved Cain, Poppet and Angie. There were twists and turns and this book was awesome! Go. Read. It! Full review on my blog https://literarydust.wordpress.com/20...
    more
  • Mariah Smith (Vibin With Books)
    December 23, 2016
    This was so perfect in so many ways that I CAN'T EVEN DEAL. Violet Grenade was gritty and dark, engaging and romantic. Domino was an incredibly strong and smart heroine who was that perfect middle-ground character: she knew when to keep her mouth shut, but could whip out a witty one-liner or threat in an instant. She was fearless and loyal, overcoming a horrific past, struggling to come to terms with not only herself, but her demons. There wasn't a damn moment to breathe in this book. The plot t This was so perfect in so many ways that I CAN'T EVEN DEAL. Violet Grenade was gritty and dark, engaging and romantic. Domino was an incredibly strong and smart heroine who was that perfect middle-ground character: she knew when to keep her mouth shut, but could whip out a witty one-liner or threat in an instant. She was fearless and loyal, overcoming a horrific past, struggling to come to terms with not only herself, but her demons. There wasn't a damn moment to breathe in this book. The plot took off like a gun shot and there was always SOMETHING happening. Madam Karina and her Crusty Ass Home for Burgeoning Entertainers was refreshing and creepy, both a home for these lost girls and also an absolute hell hole. The girls were vindictive and cruel, willing to push and shove and claw their way to the top. There were a few good gems (aka Poppet, the greatest human being on earth) but most of them were literal trash. While I'm not usually one to condone girls constantly hating each other and getting into fights (lord knows there is too much of that in our every day lives) I couldn't help but it enjoy it. There was something about that house that just seemed so raw, so universally good AND bad that you couldn't help but want to stay. Or maybe I was just in the mood for a book that was a little violent and bloody. EITHER WAY, I loved the viciousness. It just made the revenge that much sweeter. And speaking of revenges and viciousness... I loved Wilson with my entire body and soul. Just sayin'. (Wilson is here, Wilson is here, WILSON IS HERE.)Oh, and Cain too. And Poppet. Seriously, it's rare for me to like ALL the secondary characters in some shape or form, yet here we are. DO YOURSELF A FAVOR AND READ THIS.
    more
  • Alyssa
    April 9, 2017
    4 stars (not 3.5 stars). Probably Scott's best yet!***Review to come***
  • kariny
    January 25, 2017
    *I received a free ARC from Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review* WHAT. JUST WHAT IS THIS AWESOMENESS. For some reason i thought this book was taking place in the Victorian era and that it was a fantasy novel but it's actually a contemporary PSYCHOLOGICAL YA THRILLER.  Domino has been homeless for awhile and she lives with a friend named Dizzy. But when Dizzy gets taken in by the police and Domino doesn't have enough money to bail him out, she vows to do anythi *I received a free ARC from Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review* WHAT. JUST WHAT IS THIS AWESOMENESS. For some reason i thought this book was taking place in the Victorian era and that it was a fantasy novel but it's actually a contemporary PSYCHOLOGICAL YA THRILLER.  Domino has been homeless for awhile and she lives with a friend named Dizzy. But when Dizzy gets taken in by the police and Domino doesn't have enough money to bail him out, she vows to do anything it takes to get the money and bail her only friend out, even if it means following up on Madam Karina's offer and joining the house of entertainers. But Domino does not expect the hierarchy of girls in the house nor does she expect the gentle and scared helper, Cain, who seems to be not so different from her than she'd first expected. But to bail Dizzy out, she can't stay in the lower class of girls, she'll have to work her way up to the top while dealing with jealous, dangerous and backstabbing girls that want nothing more than to stop her from moving up the ranks. But the longer she stays in the house, the more she realizes it won't be easy to leave and that she might not want to leave. This book is a mass of darkness and awesomeness!!!! Do not expect dainty little flowers and strolls in the garden. EXCELLENT world building and plot, also what a gorgeous cover!!! It really was a thrill reading this book. And the author did an amazing job at keeping the suspense about Domino-throughout the book you're reminded that Domino has done bad things and that she's a monster but you don't know why until she eventually reveals it-and i honestly didn't see it coming. It was much darker than i'd initially expected. Each level of girls had their own personality and jobs, it was just so well imagined!!! Domino was a very unusual character. She doesn't really let anyone in because she's scared they'll leave her so she could come off as a little cold. And the thing is, she truly believes she's a monster and even though Wilson helps to keep those memories away from her she can't escape them no matter how much she tries. She was brave, stubborn and loyal but she was a pretty intense character. And she loves wigs!!!!!I found that totally unique and cool that she wore hot pink and green wigs and she didn't care what anyone thought of her. She was a dreamer, she wanted to one day buy her own place and make a life for herself. I loved the way she clung to that dream through everything that happened. Cain was a character that had been mentally manipulated a lot and it was sad because he was exuding power and yet he was reduced to this submissive helper who just allowed the girls to verbally abuse him.  I liked that he didn't judge Domino because he had his demons too and he was her secret protector in the house. he was such a gentle giant!! Madam Karina was an amazing antagonist though after everything i can't bring myself to hate her. She's as mentally scarred as the other characters but she took it to a much MUCH deeper level. But in the end it just rooted from her insecurities. I loved that she was charismatic enough to hold some kind of power over the girls and even Domino. It made them want to make her happy and she did feel a special connection to Domino. Wilson-the voice inside Domino's head. Is he real or not!? It could be someone she created to shield herself from the terrible thing's she'd done, someone to protect her from her memories and her violent past. He was incredibly violent and always waiting to pounce on Domino so he could take over her body and give in to the rage and violence. Yet despite all that and his blood thirst he only wanted to protect Domino, that was his goal. To make sure no one hurt her which just fascinated me so much because we don't actually know if he is Domino or is he actually a totally different character?  Nevertheless I LOVED HIM. LOVED HIM LOVED HIM LOVED HIM. Damn i wish i could spoil but there were these two pages in my kindle (you'll definitely know it when you see it) at the end that literally made me squeal like a maniac and shiver at the same time!!! The formatting of these two pages-DAMN it made an AMAZING effect..you'll know what i'm talking about as soon as you read it. Yeah so i love Wilson. This whole book felt like a manipulation of minds and god was it awesome!!! All the characters in this book felt like time bombs and i was just waiting for one of them to mentally collapse and unleash hell! Whew this was a long review sorry but i JUST NEEDED TO RANT. It's a standalone and definitely worth it!! I cannot wait till the hardcover comes out because i am SO buying this!!! RECOMMENDED TO EVERYONE.
    more
  • Christy LoveOfBooks
    April 13, 2017
    C'mon, as if I wouldn't read this book. First of all, the cover = ♥. Second of all, the blurb completely won me over. I will say that the original blurb made it sound more sordid and dark than the current one does. Honestly, I'm not sure if this one would've pulled me on board the way the first one did. Nonetheless, I'm so glad I did read Violet Grenade, because it's really good!I am unapologetic about being drawn to female characters who have violent tendencies, so I was prepared to love Domino C'mon, as if I wouldn't read this book. First of all, the cover = ♥. Second of all, the blurb completely won me over. I will say that the original blurb made it sound more sordid and dark than the current one does. Honestly, I'm not sure if this one would've pulled me on board the way the first one did. Nonetheless, I'm so glad I did read Violet Grenade, because it's really good!I am unapologetic about being drawn to female characters who have violent tendencies, so I was prepared to love Domino. Oh, I like her, alright. She's a runaway just trying to survive life in Chicago. When shit goes down, she finds herself accepting an offer from Madam Karina to make money at her home for girls. Sounds seedy, right? It isn't what you think. Or, is it? Maybe, just maybe, it's worse. Domino is a fighter and soon begins to claw her way to the top, but the closer she gets, it becomes clear there's a lot off about the people and the place.Violet Grenade takes us on a crazy ride that's a tad on the darker side, which I love. As the story progresses, Domino's secrets and past unravels, and ... well, it's not pretty. This brings me to Wilson. I freaking love Wilson! I'd get giddy when he would show up, because it meant things were about to go down. Oh, and is it ever fun.I love how I couldn't fully trust anyone and had to keep my guard up. However, despite all the cruelness and shadiness, there's a wonderful story of friendship and loyalty that surprised me.This book really impressed me with the standout characters, twisted plot, and touch of oddness that kept me glued to each page. It's a quick read and a total page turner! Read it!Side note to Domino: Having "a little more meat on your bones" doesn't have anything to do with being a "real woman". You're fine the way you are.
    more
  • Hollis
    February 7, 2017
    VIOLET GRENADE is aptly named as this story felt much like a bomb. It starts out small, feels almost familiar even if you've never held it before, but cannot be contained by it's packaging once the fuse is lit. And what happens after, in the wake of the explosion, is almost.. too much to process. That's this book in a nutshell.While this story is weird, filled with unusual characters and a completely unique premise, it's not beyond scope. It'll feel almost like something you've read before and y VIOLET GRENADE is aptly named as this story felt much like a bomb. It starts out small, feels almost familiar even if you've never held it before, but cannot be contained by it's packaging once the fuse is lit. And what happens after, in the wake of the explosion, is almost.. too much to process. That's this book in a nutshell.While this story is weird, filled with unusual characters and a completely unique premise, it's not beyond scope. It'll feel almost like something you've read before and yet totally turned on it's head. Scott's writing is heartbreaking and beautiful and out of this world amazing. The themes are dark and yet hopeful. The mystery compels you even as the journey to get there is fraught with conflict and uncertainties. And when everything comes to a head.. you cannot look away.For all the unreality of the setting, I'm sure in some ways it's very real. And that's how this book felt. It's a contemporary that seems almost fantasy, or maybe just fantastical, and yet so grounded and raw. I loved the characters, Cain most of all, but Domino was just.. something else. Being in her head was an experience and you won't be the only one in there with her! But that's all I'll say about that.This book is messed up and bizarre and tragic and whimsical and horrifying and yet even when you doubt you understand what's going on, even if you question pushing on, you will. Because when you hit that 50% mark you won't be able to put this down. VIOLET GRENADE will sink it's teeth into you and will not let you go. And you'll love the pain of the bite.4 "wilson is here" stars** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Taylor Knight
    March 19, 2017
    I've seen almost exclusively positive reviews for Violet Grenade so I feel like I'm the odd one out for not loving it. I'd read one of Victoria's other books, Titans, and I loved it so I was really pumped to explore her other books. I can't really put my finger on why this book wasn't for me but it just hit me the wrong way. Right away, there was something about the main character and writing that felt off to me. I can't really explain it but it felt almost... fragmented. Like a rough draft or s I've seen almost exclusively positive reviews for Violet Grenade so I feel like I'm the odd one out for not loving it. I'd read one of Victoria's other books, Titans, and I loved it so I was really pumped to explore her other books. I can't really put my finger on why this book wasn't for me but it just hit me the wrong way. Right away, there was something about the main character and writing that felt off to me. I can't really explain it but it felt almost... fragmented. Like a rough draft or something. The main character, Domino, was just weird. I couldn't connect to her at all and she felt unnatural. It was never really acknowledged that Domino seemingly had a mental illness (I thought she had schizophrenia) and her illness was more of a plot device.The plot was predictable and unengaging to me and I just couldn't get into it. Overall, this book wasn't for me. I've seen tons of great reviews for Violet Grenade so maybe I'm just being overly critical. However, if you're triggered or sensitive to schizophrenia or mental illness not being completely addressed in a book, I would recommend not reading Violet Grenade.
    more
  • Shelley
    April 23, 2017
    *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult Fiction / Romance*Rating* 3.5-4*My Thoughts*Victoria Scott, author of books such as Fire & Flood, and Salt & Stone, returns with Violet Grenade, a story that is dark, gritty, & engaging. It is a story that is stunning brilliant in the way the author interweaves her story between Domino Ray, and Wilson, a character who will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. 17-year old Domino Ray lives on the streets. She desperate *Source* Publisher*Genre* Young Adult Fiction / Romance*Rating* 3.5-4*My Thoughts*Victoria Scott, author of books such as Fire & Flood, and Salt & Stone, returns with Violet Grenade, a story that is dark, gritty, & engaging. It is a story that is stunning brilliant in the way the author interweaves her story between Domino Ray, and Wilson, a character who will have you on the edge of your seat wondering what will happen next. 17-year old Domino Ray lives on the streets. She desperately wants wants a home of her own, and a safe place where she won't have to worry about where she gets her next meal. *Full Review @ Gizmos Reviews* http://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/201...
    more
  • Alexandra
    January 8, 2017
    I received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Review can be found on *Milky Way of Books*I was truly excited for the chance to review this book! Victoria Scott has become quite one of my favorite authors since the day I read about her "bad boy" Dante Walker. Needless to say, the first blurb of the book had caught my attention long before the cover reveal."Violet Grenade" is the story of Domino a runaway girl who tries to survive in the streets of Detroit, along with Dizzy, I received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Review can be found on *Milky Way of Books*I was truly excited for the chance to review this book! Victoria Scott has become quite one of my favorite authors since the day I read about her "bad boy" Dante Walker. Needless to say, the first blurb of the book had caught my attention long before the cover reveal."Violet Grenade" is the story of Domino a runaway girl who tries to survive in the streets of Detroit, along with Dizzy, her friend. When circumstances make Domino follow the elegant and mysterious Madam Karina to a house full of "artists", Domino will soon understand that nothing is at it seems. Not to mention her secret.For a reason, this book and its dynamics reminded my quite much of the movie "Sucker Punch". You know, the one with the kick-ass girls and the awesome special effects? I think this book could become such a movie (if it was ever optioned). Victoria Scott succeeded in creating a flawed, tortured character who doesn't lose her spark and sass despite her dire circumstances. Domino is resourceful, but with low self-confidence yet she makes friends, even has a love interest.Cain? That giant of a shy boy was a nice surprise in this book! Like a Titan (pun intended!) he is strong, knows how to cook a hell of amazing eggs and bacon and he supports Domino with a quiet intensity.While this book is a stand-alone I wouldn't mind a sequel. Or a spin-off. It is completed and quite satisfactory but, just like with Salt and Stone, I really want to read more about these characters! I enjoyed it and I recommend it as Victoria Scott knows also how to present social issues, like human trafficking.
    more
  • Hristina
    February 23, 2017
    Violet Grenade is probably one of the best books that are coming out this year. It's a contemporary psychological thriller with an original idea behind it, compelling characters (most important of them all is Domino who is a kickass heroine, she was easy to connect to), an awesome story, and great writing on top of all. I had a hard time putting it down, I was too intrigued and needed to see what happened next.
    more
  • Olivia Farr
    February 2, 2017
    “Violet Grenade” is the unique story of Domino, a young runaway who lives in abandoned houses in Detroit with her friend (and crush) Dizzy. Domino spends a lot of time hiding herself from the world, covering in wigs and thick makeup- and also trying to stay away from Wilson. Domino has dissociative identity disorder, due to traumatic experiences when she was younger, and Wilson is the personality that allows her to separate herself from those memories. Domino and Dizzy are out decorating a wall “Violet Grenade” is the unique story of Domino, a young runaway who lives in abandoned houses in Detroit with her friend (and crush) Dizzy. Domino spends a lot of time hiding herself from the world, covering in wigs and thick makeup- and also trying to stay away from Wilson. Domino has dissociative identity disorder, due to traumatic experiences when she was younger, and Wilson is the personality that allows her to separate herself from those memories. Domino and Dizzy are out decorating a wall with spraypaint art when the police catch up to them and arrest Dizzy- Domino escapes. Not sure what to do without him and worrying that Dizzy’s claustrophobia will trouble him, Domino goes to the jail to try to pay his bail with all the money she has.She quickly learns that it is not enough. Soon, she receives an offer from an enchanting woman, Madam Karina, to work at her home for artistic types and make money. Not seeing another option, Domino takes the job to make money to pay for Dizzy’s bail and get him out of jail. The job takes her to West Texas, where Madam Karina rules not only the house but also the small town surrounding. Madam Karina runs her house with levels, starting at carnations and rising to violets, the highest level below the “Top Girl.” At each level, you get to keep more of your profits. At each level, the interaction with customers changes. Domino soon has a new goal- to reach the top and be able to afford a home for herself- and the people for whom she is beginning to care.The description of the home and the girls was really fascinating. Karina was also an interesting character, as she is desperate, manipulative, and commanding- she runs the house with some sense of love but mostly of possession of the girls but also demands their “love” (mainly loyalty/admiration) in return. She is also running a business and making profits off both clients and the girls. During this time, Domino is forced to confront her past, as the situations she is put in resemble some of her buried past and call for Wilson’s aid. She is threatened not only by Karina, but also the other girls and sometimes clients. She finds allies in Poppet, another carnation who is possibly one of the sweetest girls ever, and in Cain, the brooding young man with a secret past who works at the house.This book is intense and never lets you breathe- I found myself unable to stop and am still thinking about it. The main characters are extremely well developed and complex- and the last 20% of the book was an incredible finale that would not let you go! It is, at the same time, somewhat surreal (the whole house situation in particular) and very real (particularly some of the characters). As a heads up, there are situations of sexual violence in the book- as well as physical violence and torture. This is not a light read, by any means; it’s emotional and incredibly intense.Overall, I think it’s extremely well written and will be enjoyed by fans of Scott’s Fire and Flood series- it has a similar thriller feel though this one is more of a (really intense) psychological thriller. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kristin
    April 17, 2017
    Ooooh buddy! I mean, what can I say about this awesomely awesome story without giving anything way. Seriously, Victoria Scott has written one creepy, chilling, young adult novel that will leave you on the edge of your seat right up until the last page. Sadly, everything that is awesome about this story are things that you find out within the story. So I don’t want to ruin it because you will get goosebumps and hold your breath when these moments come, and I would never ruin that moment for you. Ooooh buddy! I mean, what can I say about this awesomely awesome story without giving anything way. Seriously, Victoria Scott has written one creepy, chilling, young adult novel that will leave you on the edge of your seat right up until the last page. Sadly, everything that is awesome about this story are things that you find out within the story. So I don’t want to ruin it because you will get goosebumps and hold your breath when these moments come, and I would never ruin that moment for you. What I can say is that no one is innocent and a lot of people have blood on their hands in this story. I suppose what I can also say is that the house that Madam Karina takes Domino to is a sort of a group home for homeless girls. Unfortunately, that’s where I get tight-lipped because it’s so much more than that.I loved how complicated the author made her characters. Like I said before, none of them seem to be angels. They all have a past, a past they’d like to keep hidden for one reason or another. However, with that being said, you can help but become complacent with them and start to care for them. Obviously, Domino also makes this same mistake time and time again and it leads to some rather dark scenes in the story. While you know where Domino is ultimately heading in the story, and what that will really mean for her, you still hold your breath in fear for her the moment that time comes. And the one thing I loved about Domino was that she’s not this perfect person, and she’s also not a bad-ass. She’s just this scared homeless girl who got picked up by a nice lady and taken to a huge house to live with other girls. I really liked the fact that no one in this story was perfect and yet I loved all of them. I liked Cane, the silent servant boy in the house who’s eyes show a darker, deadlier side, the silly girl that Domino befriends who lives in her own little happy bubble, Domino was imperfectly perfect as a heroine… or anti-heroine, and even Wilson and all his raging craziness. This was an amazing cast of people who were crazy, dangerous, and yet would lay down their life for the other.Seriously, I really wish my review wasn’t so vague but you have to go into this completely blind to fully appreciate its awesomeness. I won’t lie, I’ve been holding onto this book for months because the synopsis just didn’t grab my attention. I thought it was going to be another fantasy type novel about a girl named Violet who’s perfect, everyone either wants to be her or date her, she has it “oh so rough” but is secretly the apple of everyone’s eye, and they all live happily every after once the love triangle is all figured out. What I got was some dark, keep you on the edge of your seat, give you goosebumps, contemporary YA that has so many twists and turns that will leave you with your mouth gaping open at one point or another. And as for who my favorite character was, hands down Wilson. That crazy guy was insane… legally insane but when he came into the room you know that it just got real and stuff is going to go down. Okay, I’m going to stop it with this vague review of how awesome this book is and I’m just going to tell you to read it.
    more
  • Sydney West
    April 10, 2017
    This book is hard for me to review. First its hard to decide what genre to put it in. Thriller? Contemporary? Mental Illness? It felt like it was less mystery thriller and more suspenseful. And while mental illness plays a huge part of this book, I think the point was on the bullying, manipulation, and revenge. It takes place in a contemporary setting but is definitely not a sweet little romance. It's like it needs its own category. I'll start with a few things I do know. One, the plot was hecka This book is hard for me to review. First its hard to decide what genre to put it in. Thriller? Contemporary? Mental Illness? It felt like it was less mystery thriller and more suspenseful. And while mental illness plays a huge part of this book, I think the point was on the bullying, manipulation, and revenge. It takes place in a contemporary setting but is definitely not a sweet little romance. It's like it needs its own category. I'll start with a few things I do know. One, the plot was hecka interesting. Like I read 96% of this book in one day. Which is pretty hard for me to do. I couldn't stop reading it. I read through my entire Monday night at work. Whoops. The only reason I didn't read the entire book in one day was that I started it on a night I had some anxiety and needed to set it aside until the next day. But from chapter one I was pulled into this story. Partially because I liked the way Domino and Wilson treated each other and their conversations. But also because I wanted to see what happens. You pretty much know what is going to happen, in a general sense. But I could feel Domino's emotions pouring off of her even as she tried to keep the wall she had built around herself sturdy and unbreakable. Scott's writing style was easy to follow. All of Wilson's thoughts were italicized so I was never confused about who was speaking. I really liked that both Wilson and Domino were strong characters, just in different ways. They each had their voice and way about doing things. All of the characters were authentic and decently fleshed out. I would've liked to have seen more backstory for a few of the characters but that would have changed the tone of the book I'm sure. Though it's never explicitly stated, Domino and her love interest have Dissociative Identity Disorder. (Professionals no longer call it multiple personalities.) DID happens when a person experiences real trauma and they start to dissociate from the trauma by disconnecting yourself from your feelings, thoughts, memories and actions. As a child Domino's mind created Wilson to deal with the pain she was experiencing. For Cain, he learned how to turn his emotions off and not feel. It was interesting to read about for sure and gives the reader something to think about. While I do not have DID, it did seem like Scott did at least some if not a lot of research on the matter in order to perfect her characters. I was glad that Domino and Cain weren't stereotypical villains but are just a people who are doing what they have to do to take care of themselves. I also enjoyed that Domino and Cain weren't jumping into each other's arms because they wanted to fix the other one or because they thought love could heal their issues. Domino and Cain became friends through friendly conversations and saw something each other that they recognized in themselves. Like meeting a kindred spirit. Their relationship also wasn't that important to the story. Their friendship helped keep each other safe but this is not a love story. And I appreciated that.Overall I would give this a 4.5/5 stars. If you like suspenseful stories that keep you wanting more then I highly recommend this book for you.
    more
  • Bee (Heart Full of Books)
    April 14, 2017
    I found 'Violet Grenade' to be very confusing, there is a lot of stuff in here, and I'm not sure if meshing them all together was overall successful. I really love Scott's 'Fire & Flood' but this book didn't have any of the same engaging characters and fast-paced plot. In fact, I thought the relationship dynamic between Domino and Cain was very similar to that YA I was read five years ago, books written by Becca Fitzpatrick, Lauren Kate, and Katie McGarry. It's very misguided girl meets bad I found 'Violet Grenade' to be very confusing, there is a lot of stuff in here, and I'm not sure if meshing them all together was overall successful. I really love Scott's 'Fire & Flood' but this book didn't have any of the same engaging characters and fast-paced plot. In fact, I thought the relationship dynamic between Domino and Cain was very similar to that YA I was read five years ago, books written by Becca Fitzpatrick, Lauren Kate, and Katie McGarry. It's very misguided girl meets bad boy, and that's really not a mix I care to read about anymore. If you still like those authors then give this book a shot, because it's probably right up your street, but it was a no from me.
    more
  • Melissa (YA Book Shelf)
    March 11, 2017
    Seriously, Violet Grenade is brilliant. It has an underlying dark humor that had me laughing out loud throughout the book, even though that isn't always the case with those kinds of comedic elements. It is also as creepy af - both while Domino is living in and working up the ranks in Madam Karina's Home for Burgeoning Entertainers and in flashbacks and memories of her past. You'll always have a sinking suspicion of where these elements will be heading, but there are twists along the way that you Seriously, Violet Grenade is brilliant. It has an underlying dark humor that had me laughing out loud throughout the book, even though that isn't always the case with those kinds of comedic elements. It is also as creepy af - both while Domino is living in and working up the ranks in Madam Karina's Home for Burgeoning Entertainers and in flashbacks and memories of her past. You'll always have a sinking suspicion of where these elements will be heading, but there are twists along the way that you'll never see coming. Most importantly, for a book like this, are the characters of Domino Ray and Wilson. They each have distinct voices and personalities, so readers will never mis the clues about who is in control of the narrative at any point. And then of course, there's Cain. Sweet, quiet, stone giant of a boy-man that he is. There is a slow burn connection between the two of them, and it's great. And of course, who could forget Domino's friendship with Poppet - in a world where girls are competitive and vindictive to one another, where manipulation and two-faced behaviour is common place - Domino and Poppet stick together through it all, and I think young women need more books with this kind of loyalty in them. Finally, the metaphors, allusions, references, and all things metafictional. This novel is chockfull of these literary elements and references to everything from nursery rhymes, colloquial expressions, song lyrics, famous books and characters, and more. Readers might not be able to place all of them, but there appearance in so many sections elevated this book for me. Violet Grenade made be the first Victoria Scott book Id ever read, but it definitely won't be my last.
    more
  • Christy
    April 14, 2017
    Daarrkk. But so interesting. Full review to come.
  • Victoria Scott
    February 19, 2016
    The concept for this YA psychological thriller started with a spark for two different book ideas. On one side of my brain, I was playing with the vision of a girl getting attacked in an alleyway. The mugger believes her to be the perfect victim to rob, or kidnap, or kill. What he doesn’t know is she’s twice the terror he is, though looks would tell you otherwise. I’ve always liked the idea of a land mine of a human being. Someone who could explode at any moment, but absolutely no one would suspe The concept for this YA psychological thriller started with a spark for two different book ideas. On one side of my brain, I was playing with the vision of a girl getting attacked in an alleyway. The mugger believes her to be the perfect victim to rob, or kidnap, or kill. What he doesn’t know is she’s twice the terror he is, though looks would tell you otherwise. I’ve always liked the idea of a land mine of a human being. Someone who could explode at any moment, but absolutely no one would suspect it. This twisted love ultimately delivered me my main character, Domino.The other idea I was toying with was the story of a quiet, abused boxer who falls in love with a girl. She’s the only one who cares for him, and accepts him, so when someone threatens her, this quiet boy unleashes his size, strength, and bottled rage onto those who would bring her harm. This attraction to a quiet, volatile boy ultimately delivered me my secondary character, Cain.When these two ideas, or rather characters, converged, I knew I had the makings of a book I wanted to write. Those initial sparks have changed immensely, but the end result is similar. VIOLET GRENADE is the story of a runaway named Domino. She’s fairly quiet, and reserved…a “shapeless fart of a girl.” But she has a secret. A darkness she carries that even her best friend doesn’t suspect. Domino Ray has dissociative identity disorder, and a second personality she’s trying desperately to suppress. Heaven help the person who pushes her too far.And Cain? Well, let’s just say he’s got issues of his own.Who wants to take the honors of shipping Domino and Cain? Anyone? Anyone?
    more
  • Jane Q
    December 30, 2016
    A dark, captivating novel with not only a great MC, but memorable secondary characters.I loved Domino/Wilson, Poppet and Cain. The pacing is excellent and just when you think you have something figured out, the story twists again.Thanks to Entangled & NetGalley for the eARC.
    more
  • Jessica (Jessabella Reads)
    December 28, 2016
    I FREAKING LOVED EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS BOOK!!! (Full review to come!)
  • LadyTechie
    April 5, 2017
    Violet Grenade is not what I was expecting at all. I received a free copy via NetGalley and Entangled Publishing. There literally seems to not have been a time when this book lets the reader relax. Domino is seventeen and has been living on the streets since she was sixteen. She is sharing a squat house with her buddy Dizzy for the last year. They look out for each other and do most things together until one night they get separated and Dizzy ends up in lockup. Domino does not have the money or Violet Grenade is not what I was expecting at all. I received a free copy via NetGalley and Entangled Publishing. There literally seems to not have been a time when this book lets the reader relax. Domino is seventeen and has been living on the streets since she was sixteen. She is sharing a squat house with her buddy Dizzy for the last year. They look out for each other and do most things together until one night they get separated and Dizzy ends up in lockup. Domino does not have the money or even anything worth enough to pawn so that she can bail Dizzy out. When she leaves the lockup to try and find a way to bail Dizzy out she runs into Madam Karina who offers her what I think is too good to be true. But, when a person is desperate and despite having lived on the streets for a year, naïve, they will grasp on the first option offered to them. I must admit I was surprised she would get in the car with a stranger.Domino finds herself outside of a small town in Texas where it seems that everyone knows or works for Madam Karina in some way. She starts having the stars knocked out of her eyes about the opportunity she is offered after her first paycheck. Though she makes two good friends the bulk of the other girls working for Madam Karina seem to be against her and do everything they can to ensure she doesn’t succeed because Madam Karina offers the “top girl” the one thing that Domino wants her own house as Madam Karina’s successor. Despite the negative vibe, she is starting to have about the home where most of the girls appear to worship Madam Karina, Domino, along with the elusive Wilson, starts to catch on quickly and getting out of that house is not going to be anywhere near as easy as it was getting in there. Violet Grenade keeps the reader interested. We must know what will happen if she gets cornered. Even Dizzy appears to know it is not a good thing but, the reader is drawn into learning about Wilson throughout the book. Even when we get to the end you might still be left thinking, who in the heck is Wilson? By the end of the book you realize that despite what Wilson appears to be you literally find yourself hoping Wilson whoops everyone’s butt. I tend to steer away from books where it looks like adults might be victimizing children or teens. It is bad enough when it is an adult, but, children are more vulnerable than most adults. Some street kids are less vulnerable due to experience especially when they have someone like Dizzy and other neighborhood people looking out for them, which appeared to be the case with Domino. There were times I thought that Domino still had a bit of green on her, then later I though nah, she is wise, just slower to respond. We learn as the book goes on why this dichotomy exists and it just makes the book that more thrilling. The big question is “who in the heck is Wilson?”. I’m wishing kids that are bullied had someone a bit like Wilson that would help them stand up for themselves, not to the extreme that Wilson did, but, enough to stop the victimization that is so rampant in schools, heck in any situation where there is a group of people there seems to be someone that victimizes others, even in smaller ways. This book is a tip of the hat to standing up for yourself or maybe even for others when they need a boost! This review can also be seen at LadyTechie’s Book Musings https://ladytechiesbookmusings.blogsp....
    more
  • Emily
    April 16, 2017
    Wow. I am not sure what I was initially expecting from this book to be honest but man was I given a ride. This book is dark and filled with the dark pasts of the characters within it. It's a solid reminder that anyone can have some skeletons in our closets but it's all in how you act because of them. Domino was stronger than she gave herself credit for. She went through a lot in her life and she came out as best as she could, minus Wilson. I thought it was great to see her grow more confident in Wow. I am not sure what I was initially expecting from this book to be honest but man was I given a ride. This book is dark and filled with the dark pasts of the characters within it. It's a solid reminder that anyone can have some skeletons in our closets but it's all in how you act because of them. Domino was stronger than she gave herself credit for. She went through a lot in her life and she came out as best as she could, minus Wilson. I thought it was great to see her grow more confident in herself and in her strength while still learning that it's ok to rely on others. Cain was perfection. A guy who had some terrible experiences caught in the game of blaming yourself. I really liked getting to know him and his personality.I honestly didn't think I would finish this book in a couple sittings. I was intrigued at first and really wanting to learn more, but by the time I was halfway through I knew that was it. I was on the edge of my seat towards the end, so much was happening. There was betrayal, horrible acts, darkness, and death. It was something to watch characters overcome such evil.This was definitely a thriller that I can handle. Dark and disturbing in some ways, but other ways left it up to your imagination. Definitely be on the lookout for this release.
    more
  • Katelyn Egan
    April 1, 2017
    I enjoyed reading this book. It had a very unique story line & I really enjoyed it.
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    January 20, 2017
    I received this ARC from the publisher, via Netgalley, in exchange for a voluntary and honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.I’ve been a big fan of Victoria Scott ever since Dante first came onto the page! He was a fun kind of hero, who’s a bit bad and yet still lovable! Violet Grenade almost seems like it wouldn’t be my type of read, because where’s the paranormal? Where’s the fantasy? Where are the chills that thrillers so often pull from me? Well, in a way this book sort I received this ARC from the publisher, via Netgalley, in exchange for a voluntary and honest review. I was in no way compensated for this review.I’ve been a big fan of Victoria Scott ever since Dante first came onto the page! He was a fun kind of hero, who’s a bit bad and yet still lovable! Violet Grenade almost seems like it wouldn’t be my type of read, because where’s the paranormal? Where’s the fantasy? Where are the chills that thrillers so often pull from me? Well, in a way this book sort of works as a thriller in some sense, but not in the way you would usually think. All I can say is that I loved it!Violet Grenade is a very dark kind of book, let me warn you, in case that isn’t your thing. It’s dark. Very dark. But it is still YA, so it’s not all slash and guts or anything! Domino is a runaway, she’s been on the streets for a few years now having escaped a life she longs to forget. Its past that’s too dark for her even to try to remember. Even if she wanted to, she couldn’t, because she also has Wilson living in her head. Yup, you heard right! Wilson is Domino’s protector you could say. He shields her from all the bad things that happen so she doesn’t have to remember them all and he was also there when she had to live through them, but that comes about later on.When Domino’s friend is arrested, she’s determined to pay his bail, but how’s a homeless girl without a high school diploma supposed to get a job. Those required background checks and social security numbers and since Domino ran away, she doesn’t want to be found again. Then in walks Madam Karina. An older woman with flare. She sees potential in Domino and offers her a job at her house, in her establishment. She would be able to make money and help out her friend. Domino is very artistically talented and it’s what drew Madam Karina’s eye to begin with. Seeing no other option, Domino agrees.Here is where things start to get a little bit darker. Madam Karina runs a particular house. I wouldn’t call it one for prostitutes, though it’s pretty close. Here is a house filled with young women, girls like Domino, who entertain their customers in whatever way possible. With jokes, music, art, you name it. There’s a structure of hierarchy involved and Domino is bottom rung, but she soon will climb to the top. She will make the money she needs to help her friend and to help herself. What she wants most is a home of her own. But she’s soon going to learn that things aren’t always what they appear to be.This book was dark. I don’t know if I’ve ever read a book that had this level of darkness. I’m not saying that it’s a bad thing either. I really enjoyed this book! I loved Domino’s character and how she was brave even without Wilson. She knows that her alter ego has a dark side and does terrible things. She tries to fight him on taking control even when she’s suffering at the hands of others who have no care for her being. The things that these girls did to Domino, that they would do to each other, is kind of sick. But I get it, despite all that. I just can’t believe that they would actually have camaraderie with one another when it seems everyone wants to become Top Girl.I really liked the fact that despite the evil that was nearly all the girls, Domino is able to make friends with one, Poppet. Yeah, there are no ordinary names in this one, and I honestly liked that too! Poppet is sort of the simple girl, yet she’s the only one who shares a lick of kindness to Domino and is very genuine. Then there’s Cain, he works at the house too, but more as a serving boy instead of entertainer. He too has a dark past and it seems only warranted that he and Domino are drawn to one another. The romance was very subtle and hardly there, which I felt like was the right move for this particular story. Besides it makes those few small moments even more powerful.The ending to this one was absolutely freaking perfect! I loved how explosive it was! And though the very end leaves a few things left unsaid, you can pretty much imagine what might happen next in those areas. While I would’ve loved to know what truly happens, I feel fine with the way things ended here. Violet Grenade is truly one of a kind! It’s one of the most exciting reads I’ve read this year and is sure to end up on my favorites list for the year too! This is one read you won’t want to miss!Overall Rating 5/5 starsViolet Grenade releases May 16, 2017
    more
  • Bryan Miller
    April 21, 2017
    Killer book--literally. Domino was one of my favorite characters, and I liked her and Cain together. I've known people like Ms. Karina before, so maybe that's why I related to it so well, but this was a fantastic read for me. Preordering a copy for my wife.
    more
  • Carol
    March 16, 2017
    DOMINO: A runaway with blood on her hands.CAIN: A silent boy about to explode.MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and une DOMINO: A runaway with blood on her hands.CAIN: A silent boy about to explode.MADAM KARINA: A woman who demands obedience.WILSON: The one who will destroy them all.When Madam Karina discovers Domino in an alleyway, she offers her a position inside her home for entertainers in secluded West Texas. Left with few alternatives and an agenda of her own, Domino accepts. It isn’t long before she is fighting her way up the ranks to gain the madam’s approval. But after suffering weeks of bullying and unearthing the madam’s secrets, Domino decides to leave. It’ll be harder than she thinks, though, because the madam doesn’t like to lose inventory. But then, Madam Karina doesn’t know about the person living inside Domino’s mind. Madam Karina doesn’t know about Wilson. Plot written by Goodreads I received this book in exchange for my honest review by Netgalley .I was surprised by how smooth this book read it made for very good reading .I liked the idea of the story I thought it was unique and hasn't been done before by any other author I have read or any book I have heard about .While I liked the story I was just left wanting more for the characters back stories and what drove them the only real back story that was in depth enough for me was Cain . I also really liked Wilson even though I feel like it might be creepy for me to because he was a bit creepy .Wilson made up for things that Domino lacked like a fun side and sense of humor however sadistic that sense of humor was . The madam was a particular quiet type of evil that gave me the chills and gave my goosebumps but I liked her because I thought that the person she was and the way she behaved made sense .I couldn't feel connected to the situation at the madams house because most of the girls seemed genuinely happy to be there so it was hard to feel sympathy for characters that are content even if it was seemingly out of fear .Overall I did like this book because it sucked me in from the beginning and I couldn't put it down .Thanks again Netgalley for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book .
    more
  • Maranda
    December 20, 2016
    Dark Psychological Chronological of Schizophrenic Salvation! Domino a seventeen year old homeless girl seeking acceptance and love falls prey to Madam Karina. Evil seeks the troubled teen with promise of beauty that is instead a prison. Numerous colorful and troubled characters live in the pages of this work. Not sure one reading is enough for an in depth analysis but it is enough to enjoy an amazing path taken by troubled souls to achieve redemption. Thanks to Entangled Publishers via Netgalley Dark Psychological Chronological of Schizophrenic Salvation! Domino a seventeen year old homeless girl seeking acceptance and love falls prey to Madam Karina. Evil seeks the troubled teen with promise of beauty that is instead a prison. Numerous colorful and troubled characters live in the pages of this work. Not sure one reading is enough for an in depth analysis but it is enough to enjoy an amazing path taken by troubled souls to achieve redemption. Thanks to Entangled Publishers via Netgalley for early copy.
    more
  • Heather Todd
    April 23, 2017
    I received an advanced copy from NetGalley and Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review.I was very excited to get this book on my Kindle because, all over Twitter and Instagram, I saw that this was a much anticipated release from Victoria Scott. I requested it via e-mail and on NetGalley, so I was hoping I’d get some kind of response.Imagine my excitement when I got it from NetGalley! So, we meet Domino automatically in the beginning. She is a homeless teenager along with her friend Dizzy I received an advanced copy from NetGalley and Entangled Teen in exchange for an honest review.I was very excited to get this book on my Kindle because, all over Twitter and Instagram, I saw that this was a much anticipated release from Victoria Scott. I requested it via e-mail and on NetGalley, so I was hoping I’d get some kind of response.Imagine my excitement when I got it from NetGalley! So, we meet Domino automatically in the beginning. She is a homeless teenager along with her friend Dizzy. They sneak into clubs, swipe things illegally, etc. She doesn’t really know what she’d do without him, so you can imagine how she feels when Dizzy gets arrested (instead of her) for tagging on the wall in an alley.Domino knows she needs to get his bail money so they can run away again. So, when she gets an offer from Madam Karina to live in a group home for “entertainers”, Domino takes her up on the offer. She reassures herself (and Wilson, her inner...psycho, let’s say) that she is doing this for Dizzy.When Domino enters the house filled with girls of different personalities and physical appearances, she knows that she is in for something a lot different. Their are different ranks, depending on how well you perform. There’s even a man named Cain, who Domino can’t help but be intrigued with. Well, let’s start with the girls in the house. The names and physical descriptions are kind of out of this world. All but one, being Poppet, are incredibly bitchy and manipulative. I was eager for Wilson to just come out and rip the girls to shreds. I couldn’t stand them! The entertainment reminded me of Sucker Punch. If you don’t know the film, it’s about a girl who is sent to a mental hospital. In her mind, the hospital is really this brothel, but not intense like what you see in Game of Thrones where it’s naked women everywhere having sex. The girls entertain men by dancing, singing, etc. The film is set in the 50′s or 60′s, I believe. However, the action in the girl’s mind is more modern than that. This is the feel I got from this book. Everything done was modern, but the mood felt like it was meant to be set in the 50′s or 60′s. I actually liked that aspect.Domino is definitely a character you don’t want to mess with. She is a troubled girl at first with haunting secrets. Once you get to know her, she has ambitions to run away from those secrets and to not let them define her. However, that’s pretty hard for her to do. It’s hard for her to let people in, including Cain.Cain is pretty much the same as her. He has secrets, he doesn’t really talk. However, there is a pull between him and Domino and when they are together, their walls come down. It’s nice to see Domino being able to trust someone, especially when it’s someone of the opposite sex and someone as big as Cain. (The dude is described as a big man. Like...a mountain.)I liked the relationship between Poppet and Domino. Poppet was there for Domino from the beginning and agreed to stay next to her when Domino made plans to break out from the house. Most of the time, writers don’t allow girls like Domino to have a girl best friend. There is only the boy, the one outlet of comfort. But, I liked that Victoria made Poppet a strong ally that wouldn’t betray Domino.Madam Karina is a piece of work. She is very creepy and she is the kind of person that is stuck in her own mind and is very afraid of being alone. She has a thing with Mr. Hodge while he has a thing on the side. She knows, but she continues to believe that nobody will leave her even though she is afraid they will. It’s all very messy and creepy, but it’s what makes her character. Really, there is no saving her. A few things that bothered me:- Dizzy isn’t mentioned much anymore after Domino is living in the house for a week or so. I kind of wanted a bit more with him, maybe like a confrontation or closure between him and Domino. I mean, they were by each other’s sides for two years. That’s a lot to go through.- The action was very little. I’m not saying that there wasn’t a lot. It just seemed to go by pretty fast.- Closure, in general, didn’t seem to be there. I think the book my be set up for more, but I wasn’t entirely sure. There are some characters that were kind of left there in the wind and you’re not sure what happened or what will happen. I guess what I’m trying to say is I wanted a little bit more information or maybe something to tell me that there will be a second book, which I don’t think there will be.All in all though, I really enjoyed this book. Despite the little mishaps above, it was what I expected it to be. This is the second book I’ve read of Victoria Scott’s and I’m proud to give it a fabulous rating and review.
    more
  • Maggie Ignasiak
    March 1, 2017
    I received this book as an ARC from the library where I work. This is one of those awesome young adult books that are definitely more on the adult side, which I love. I also thought Domino was phenomenal because she is strong, dynamic, and not entirely likeable (though not entirely unlikeable). We need more leading characters struggling with mental illness, who have legitimate imperfections.
    more
  • ReadWriteLove28
    February 16, 2016
    I read an unedited manuscript of this book.
Write a review