Perfect Ten
Who is Sam Raines's Perfect Ten?    It’s been two years since Sam broke up with the only other eligible gay guy in his high school, so to say he’s been going through a romantic drought is the understatement of the decade. But when Meg, his ex-Catholic-turned-Wiccan best friend, suggests performing a love spell, Sam is just desperate enough to try. He crafts a list of ten traits he wants in a boyfriend and burns it in a cemetery at midnight on Friday the 13th.   Enter three seemingly perfect guys, all in pursuit of Sam. There’s Gus, the suave French exchange student; Jamie, the sweet and shy artist; and Travis, the guitar-playing tattooed enigma. Even Sam’s ex-boyfriend Landon might want another chance.   But does a Perfect Ten even exist? Find out in this delectable coming-of-age romcom with just a touch of magic.

Perfect Ten Details

TitlePerfect Ten
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherViking Books for Young Readers
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Queer, M M Romance, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult Contemporary

Perfect Ten Review

  • emma
    May 6, 2017
    1.25/5I received an ARC of this book through Penguin First to Read. Thanks!Okay, so. This book isn’t my thing. When I applied for the copy, I thought it was just a contemporary - look at the cute cover! But alas, there’s a good chunk of magical realism in there. And you all know my relationship with magical realism. (It’s that I hate it.)https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...But, like, that's not the reason I'm rating it so low. I'm not pathological. It's my own fault for doing the bare minimu 1.25/5I received an ARC of this book through Penguin First to Read. Thanks!Okay, so. This book isn’t my thing. When I applied for the copy, I thought it was just a contemporary - look at the cute cover! But alas, there’s a good chunk of magical realism in there. And you all know my relationship with magical realism. (It’s that I hate it.)https://emmareadstoomuch.wordpress.co...But, like, that's not the reason I'm rating it so low. I'm not pathological. It's my own fault for doing the bare minimum of research before requesting an ARC. I'm just saying this book and I were already off to a ROUGH start.And it's also that this book was lowkey unbearableeeee. It felt so cheesy and unrealistic and the main character was so pretentious I wanted to hit him over the head with a paper bag full of used-bookstore classics. But we'll get to all that.THE GOOD STUFFUh…can “stuff” be singular? I have one thing. It’s a big good thing, though!The main character of this is gay. Which is so great. In many ways - in all ways, really - this was pretty typical/cheesy/cliché, but with the addition of LGBT rep. That kinda makes sense? More sense than if it was the same old tropes and the same old heterosexuals. Anyway, I suppose what I'm trying (and failing) to say is that it's at least more important to tell more diverse versions of the same stories than to tell them over and over and over again with straighties.But the downside? This was still really, really boring. Like, tempted-to-put-this-book-down (well, my phone down technically) and-do-homework levels of boring,. I say like I don’t spend the vast vast vast majority of my time doing schoolwork. Anyway. We’ll get to all that. (Except not the part about where I spend all my time studying. I need you guys to keep thinking I’m achieving, like, 1950s-guy-in-a-leather-jacket-with-a-nicotine-addiction levels of cool all the time. Which, hey, I totally am! And nailing good grades on top of it. You’re allowed to worship me as a hero. I’m fine with that.)THESE CHARACTERS SUCKOur central character is Sam. Sam is unlucky in love. Sam has 2 friends: one is Meg, who has that normal thing of deciding your parents are oppressing you so you shirk the religion that you feel they’re pressing on you but is actually just one of the tenets of their lives but anyway you don’t care about them so you become a witch. What? That’s not normal at all? It's literally insane and makes no sense and why would someone ever build a book upon a foundation that wild? Touché.Sam’s only other friend is his only ex-boyfriend, Landon. (You'd think these three must live in the dinkiest tiny town of all time, until never-before-seen-hot-guys start popping up out of nowhere - and Sam doesn't even make out with all of them! But we'll get there.) Sammyboy and Landon dated when they were teeny little things and their relationship was like, too intense or something so Sam ended it and broke Landon’s poor widdle heart. Also, by “intense” I mean toxic, repressive, unhealthy, and maybe even emotionally abusive. All accomplished by a couple middle schoolers! Nice. They’re like jealousy prodigies, my guy.But let’s talk about why they suck individually, k?Meg we basically covered. Her only traits are that she is in a bad relationship with a terrible (?) guy, which is something I am supposed to care about but absolutely do not, and that she is a LITERAL WITCH. SHE PRACTICES WITCHCRAFT. LIKE, WHAT? More on that later.Landon is really controlling and gross. Even though Sam broke up with him years before for being horrible, Landon’s still all jealous whenever Sam so much as makes eye contact with another dude. So messy and toxic!!! End that friendship, idiot!!!!And then the crown jewel of terribleness: Sam. Sam treats people like GARBAGE. But I’ll rant on that later, because that’s the entire plot of this book. He’s also so pretentious with his music taste and his dumb coffees and the way he talks. AND SO COCKY. He’s constantly talking about his writing, describing his stuff as “the most incredible stories” at one point. But lemme tell you, Sam tries to write quote-unquote song lyrics at one point, and it is NOT A FUN RIDE. (Those quasi-song lyrics later become Sammy's NYU application, and everyone raves over it. It took me so long to even THINK that people could ever possibly compliment that weird-ass collection of sentences that I didn't realize that was what they were throwing praise at until the end of the book.)We also get a bunch of love interests but they are all so boring. One, Gus, is French, and anytime he says ANYTHING the author tries to write it in this weird cliché French accent. Like, “I vill be taking zee bus.” I hated it. There’s also Jamie, who’s an obsessive doormat who spends his time painting birds, worshiping at Sam’s feet, and TAKING GUYS TO HIS DAD’S GRAVE ON A FIRST DATE. Plus Travis, who is gross and mean and like twenty something. In his free time, he harasses high schoolers, buys them alcohol, never cleans his apartment, and is constantly described by the movement of his tongue ring. (Even grosser than it sounds.) (I don’t want to talk about it.)This book was 350 pages of cringing.PLOTThe entire story of the book is founded upon this absolutely ridiculous thing, which is that Sam’s seventeen-year-old pal is a Wiccan who can “communicate” with ~The Goddess~ and do spells. I CAN’T WITH THAT. This is why I goddamn hate magical realism so frequently. That’s an unreal starting point for any book. Literally unreal. Get it? Anyway, if you can’t do it like The Night Circus, DON’T DO IT AT ALL. (Is that fair? No. But I recognize that, and I’m SAYING IT ANYWAY.)Okay. So the general plot to this story, which I think I have at this point started saying 1000 times but never gotten there. Here we go. Sam has “dated” “the” “only” “eligible” “gay” “boy” in his small-town school, so he f*cking has his friend cast a spell to get him a hot boyfriend using a list of traits the ideal guy has to have - the “Perfect Ten.” Bleh. (Even though the thing I put in an excess of quotes is so patently untrue that Sam is nonstop meeting young, hot gay guys for the rest of the book.)Anyway. Shocker - it’s not as simple as casting a creepy/suspicious/dumb spell! Poor little Sam actually gets THREE hot-ass guys, plus the leftover residue from an emotionally abusive relationship that should never have been allowed to become an equally controlling friendship “sexual” “tension” with Landon! Ughhhh. This book just follows Sam as he messes with the feelings of a bunch of different people, while judging those who don’t fully commit to him - i.e., those who are acting like he is. And we, as the audience, are just supposed to be pretty much okay with this. Here’s what Landon says to Sam, and what we’re supposed to believe: “Maybe [you were being an asshole]. Or maybe two really hot guys both wanted you and you had trouble deciding between them. [...] Which isn’t an asshole move. Maybe a horny teenage boy move, but not an asshole move.”Here’s the thing. The Venn diagram of “horny teenage boy move” and “asshole move” is a circle. Sam’s almost 18, as he reminds us and the older guy who is sexually harassing him. There’s no excuse for the way he treats people in this book. He ditches his friends, he rubs his suddenly-discovered hotness in their lonely rural faces, and when he discovers a cute lil guy, a wee babe who’s genuinely into him, he hooks up with another guy a bunch of times while leading him on. What the f*ck? Just because you’re a teenager doesn’t mean you have an excuse to treat the people around you like sh*t. Or be a cheater! No matter your age, you should know the two rules of America: 1) don't cheat on people and 2) snitches get stitches. These are the principles that founded this great nation.Another thing that sucks: When the tiny bean of a baby finds out his God, Sam, has been cheating on him, Landon says that it’s the tiny bean’s fault for not forgiving Sam. Even not for “fighting for” him. WHAT?! Always break up with the people who cheat on you! Sam doesn’t disagree - in fact, he blames the bean - Jamie - for the whole thing. HE SAYS IF JAMIE REALLY WAS HIS “PERFECT TEN,” THEN SAM WOULDN’T HAVE WANTED TO CHEAT. Blaming a fifteen-year-old for not being perfect?! Those, my friend, are the sentiments of an INSANE PERSON.Also, worst offense of all: That’s a boring ass plotline. Who caaaaares. It was so repetitive. Just makeouts and dates and the same settings and interactions for 350 pages. I could’ve written the most in-depth synopsis of this book in a handful of paragraphs.THESE PEOPLE ARE BAD FRIENDSI have, seriously, never read anything like the friendships in this book. They are so profoundly strange. Do people live like this? I pray they don’t. I can’t imagine.I’ve already mentioned a million jillion times how unhealthy it is that Landon and Sam are still friends. Landon, like, freezes up with sudden-onset depression whenever Sam mentions a guy, and tries to prevent him from interacting with any potential suitor, out of his own poor self image, or whatever. But when an older guy at a bar who they don’t know very well tries to take Sam home to his apartment ALONE after buying him drinks all night - knowing Sam is underage - MEG AND LANDON LET HIM GO. They spend the entire goddamn book policing his decisions (not what a friend should do), but when the essential stranger who has been sexually harassing him and plying him with illegal alcohol wants to take him home, they’re all like yeah, go for it.Sam is almost as bad of a friend to Meg. Dumb as it is - and it’s un-freaking-bearably dumb - Meg is the one who got all this success in romance for him. And not only does he rub it in her face, he constantly harasses her about her relationship not being up to his standards and calls her a b*tch when she calls him out on his hypocrisy. He really, truly sucks.They all just spend all this stupid time meddling in each other’s lives and trying to make decisions for each other, but they don’t do anything when it counts. Maybe because they only have TWO FRIENDS. Ugh. No one has relationships like this, right? Please tell me they don’t.DOES EVERY BOOK HAVE SLUT SHAMING NOW?!So. The main character of this book hooks up with three guys in the span of a couple weeks, and flirts with a few more. I’d be fine with that if he wasn’t cheating on someone for a bunch of those occurrences. But I’ve talked about.Here’s the thing. After all that, this book slut shames. And not even to that asshole! (Again, not the sluttiness that makes him an asshole.)When dumb Meg’s dumb boyfriend cheats on her, here’s Sam’s reaction: “‘Gillian Carlisle?’ I ask, incredulous. I knew Michael had no taste, but this is just ridiculous. ‘But she’s so slutty.’”I WANT TO SCREAM FROM THE ROOFTOPS. Just because she hooks up with people doesn’t mean she’s less than! And the hypocrisy of Sam saying that with such vitriol when he’s so much worse than she could be - messing with people’s feelings - is so profoundly f*cked. I’m so, so mad at this book. The whole thing was a test of my strength, but the last hundred pages made me want to die. AND NOW, IF YOU’LL ALLOW ME TO COMPLAIN ABOUT STUFF THAT DOESN’T MATTERHere’s what needs to stop: Authors calling characters funny when they aren’t. At. All. The most useless dialogue in this book is followed up by responses like “I laughed so hard at that I got tears in my eyes.” It’s upsetting. Where are my funny characters at? Maybe I’ll send out a recommendation request.Also, Sam applies for college and gets in, like, a few days later. I hate that. That’s so intensely not how it works.Bottom line: Like The Upside of Unrequited, this is getting a little extra for good representation, but I HATED READING THIS MORE THAN I HATE STUDYING. (To be fair, I don’t really hate studying.)
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    April 10, 2017
    Release date: June 6, 20171.5 stars. Aaaah I REALLY wanted to like this, but absolutely couldn't stand the characters. They felt so... fake? Just absolutely unrealistic and unlikable. If you like John Green novels you might have a better time with this than I did (except at least his characters have some depth). They all irritated me to no extent and seemed like spoiled, privileged suburban kids - especially the Wiccan friend. And a lot of the story was focused on drinking & sex in a way tha Release date: June 6, 20171.5 stars. Aaaah I REALLY wanted to like this, but absolutely couldn't stand the characters. They felt so... fake? Just absolutely unrealistic and unlikable. If you like John Green novels you might have a better time with this than I did (except at least his characters have some depth). They all irritated me to no extent and seemed like spoiled, privileged suburban kids - especially the Wiccan friend. And a lot of the story was focused on drinking & sex in a way that seemed like a hollow cliche of what an adult thinks teens want to read. And the main character was super shallow. I genuinely WANTED to love this story because the idea was so perfect. And there were some cute moments! But I really didn't care for these characters, the writing, OR the story in the end.Thank you to the publisher for ending me an ARC.
    more
  • Stacee
    December 26, 2016
    With that cover and synopsis, I was expecting fun and fluffy. What I got was drama, shady behavior, and possibly cheating {depending on how you look at things.}What I loved:•The friendship between Sam, Landon, and Meg. They're all so loyal to each other. I loved the code words they used and the perfect support system. People should be so lucky to have friends that will tell you you're being an ass while hugging you. •How open and comfortable Sam was in his sexuality. He's been out for a while an With that cover and synopsis, I was expecting fun and fluffy. What I got was drama, shady behavior, and possibly cheating {depending on how you look at things.}What I loved:•The friendship between Sam, Landon, and Meg. They're all so loyal to each other. I loved the code words they used and the perfect support system. People should be so lucky to have friends that will tell you you're being an ass while hugging you. •How open and comfortable Sam was in his sexuality. He's been out for a while and it was refreshing to read a teen in that part of his life. What I didn't like:•How focused Sam was on the looks of the boy he was looking for. Yes, attraction is important, but damn. Worry about the person having some brains too. •The maybe cheating. Sam hooks up with a few boys and isn't really honest about the fact that he's seeing them all. I don't care about the open relationship as much as I do the lying and hiding things. •I struggled to care about a lot of what was going on. There was some background drama and it felt forced instead of helping the story along. Overall, there was something that kept me reading, but I couldn't tell you what it was. Perhaps I'm still in a sight hangover from my previous book. Regardless, I am interested in future books from this author. **Huge thanks to Viking Books for Young Readers and Edelweiss for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Joshua Gabriel (Forever Bookish Josh)
    May 5, 2017
    Thank you, Penguin Random House, for giving me an eARC! After reading The Love Interest, I decided to expand my horizons by reading more queer books. Hence, this book is now the third gay novel in my May TBR. <3 Kudos to more diversity in YA! :D
  • Dahlia
    November 26, 2016
    Lordy that was cute as hell. And what I really liked about it, which is surprising for me considering I kinda hate cheating/love triangle/etc. situations, is how well I think the author handled the whole concept of not being ready as a teen to settle down. It didn't feel like any of that stuff was done for dramatic effect or to make the plot move; it felt like a real depiction of a queer teen finally having options to explore. And I liked that it wasn't utterly predictable, either; that's all I' Lordy that was cute as hell. And what I really liked about it, which is surprising for me considering I kinda hate cheating/love triangle/etc. situations, is how well I think the author handled the whole concept of not being ready as a teen to settle down. It didn't feel like any of that stuff was done for dramatic effect or to make the plot move; it felt like a real depiction of a queer teen finally having options to explore. And I liked that it wasn't utterly predictable, either; that's all I'll say about that for spoiler reasons. But I hope other people appreciate that too. My only negative on this book was that it feels like a serious reinforcement of every complaint about thin, attractive, white cis gay men as the top of the LGBTQIAP hierarchy. No one else is ever presented without mockery, with the exception of one guy who likes men and (predominantly) women but never uses a label. There are so many passing characters in this book that it legitimately felt weird that *every* queer person acknowledged as being worthy of the MC's time fell into that description. Obviously I still adored and recommend this book, but I'm really excited for future stuff by the author and hope this won't be a running theme.
    more
  • Jen
    May 23, 2017
    A cute story about a guy trying to find love. He gets his best friend to do a love spell for him, in which he makes a Top Ten list of what he wants in a guy. Bam! His wish gets granted and then some. Is he in lust with a cute French foreign exchange student? That hot musician? The shy artist? Or is he still in love with his ex?? Okay, so I was voting against the French foreign exchange student. I love accents of all kinds, but the book had this poor guy speaking like "zis all ze time. " Nails on A cute story about a guy trying to find love. He gets his best friend to do a love spell for him, in which he makes a Top Ten list of what he wants in a guy. Bam! His wish gets granted and then some. Is he in lust with a cute French foreign exchange student? That hot musician? The shy artist? Or is he still in love with his ex?? Okay, so I was voting against the French foreign exchange student. I love accents of all kinds, but the book had this poor guy speaking like "zis all ze time. " Nails on chalkboard! I had my fave out of the guys and (yay!) my pick won out.This book is all romance drama, so don't go in expecting something deep. It's a fun summer read, though!Please follow me on Instagram!Read more of my reviews on YA Romantics or follow me on BloglovinThe FTC would like you to know that the publisher provided me a free advance copy of this book, that free books can be enjoyable or not, and other readers may disagree with my opinion.
    more
  • Billie
    April 23, 2017
    The world needs more books like this—a teen romance about a boy looking for a boyfriend that is not a coming-out story or a bullying story or a story where Sam's gayness is any big deal at all, but just a swoony summer read for anyone who's made wrong turns along the road to love.
    more
  • Kira
    May 19, 2017
    A Penguin First to Read ARC e-book in exchange for an honest review.Cover love! The cover got my attention and the synopsis made me think it would be a cute quick read.I liked the witty banter that the narrator had with the reader, and there were a few scenes that seemed genuine and caught my attention. Overall though, the characters were just whiny dramatic kids. The initial romance was too quick to start and too quick to fizzle out. Maybe I just don’t remember what it was like to be a teenager A Penguin First to Read ARC e-book in exchange for an honest review.Cover love! The cover got my attention and the synopsis made me think it would be a cute quick read.I liked the witty banter that the narrator had with the reader, and there were a few scenes that seemed genuine and caught my attention. Overall though, the characters were just whiny dramatic kids. The initial romance was too quick to start and too quick to fizzle out. Maybe I just don’t remember what it was like to be a teenager that’s love struck or maybe that type of behavior just is not real and totally an over dramatic stereotype, but you do get caught up in it even if you want to punch some of the characters.I really wanted to love it but it was just a strong like. It was a quick easy read and entertaining. Maybe it would have been better if the characters were college aged and the author could add more maturity into the character development and less vapid behavior.
    more
  • Kurestin
    April 18, 2017
    So cute and so fun! The story never judges Sam for wanting to be young and explore his options but he still has a very satisfying journey to figuring out what he wants and how to be ready for it. And of course, all his options are so lovable! It's a rom-com, so don't expect hyperrealism here, but if you want a feel good search for Mr. Right then this is right on target.
    more
  • Heather
    May 31, 2017
    Rating: DNFI dislike DNFing books, but this one felt just so bad to me that I couldn't finish it.It was really hard to get into this book because the main character was such a whiny jerk that I couldn't stand. Since the story was told from his perspective, in the first person, it made the experience all the worse.Sam, the main character, was more than a little pretentious, especially with regards to his relationship with Meg and Landon. This became evident really early on in the book when Sam an Rating: DNFI dislike DNFing books, but this one felt just so bad to me that I couldn't finish it.It was really hard to get into this book because the main character was such a whiny jerk that I couldn't stand. Since the story was told from his perspective, in the first person, it made the experience all the worse.Sam, the main character, was more than a little pretentious, especially with regards to his relationship with Meg and Landon. This became evident really early on in the book when Sam and Meg were talking about their relationships (Meg/Michael, Sam/Landon). Though Michael wasn't a good person to be with and Landon had bad qualities from Meg's perspective, Sam had his nose in the air about himself and Landon, saying that they were much different than Meg and Michael, that even though there were similarities they didn't apply to Landon.Also, we know he doesn't like Michael because of his relationship with Meg, but saying he needs to dress decently and that won't make him a schmuck? That pretty much pushes him firmly onto the pretensions a-hole side of the line. And every time he disparaged something in town, like the selection of coffee shops, I wanted to slap him. He was also shallow, despite protesting that he wasn't. While I respect that you can not be into someone, saying you're not shallow and then going over all the qualities of someone being physically unattractive, sounds pretty shallow to me. He doesn't know this person and is insinuating their intelligence based on their appearance, which is bull. There was another time in the Donkey, his "favorite" coffee shop, where he judged a boy that helped him with Latin homework and graded this boy and his boyfriend, instantly judging their relationship based on physical features. THAT'S shallow, Sam.Let's not even get started on all the times he made fun of Meg and her religion. While I questioned her methods and her grasp on Wicca, he made fun of it constantly, calling it voodoo and mocking it with Landon. If she's trying to help him and not hurting anyone, why did he have to be such a disrespectful ass?The plot had potential, which is the only thing about this book that made me sad that I couldn't enjoy it. I don't mind the magical realism genre, when it's written well. It was inevitable that I'd stumble upon a bad example, though, so I suppose finding it and getting past it is a good move.
    more
  • Cambear
    May 21, 2017
    Zippy little romance about a guy's search for the perfect guy.This is a fluffy read and some fun moments, but I didn't like the main character's contradictions, particularly as they relate towards his best female friend. He shames her into not smoking, but gets high all the time. He shames her into not losing her virginity though he did it 2 years ago. She's there to help him, but it's not reciprocated. Also, he complains how his first boyfriend was jealous and he's basically two-timing all the Zippy little romance about a guy's search for the perfect guy.This is a fluffy read and some fun moments, but I didn't like the main character's contradictions, particularly as they relate towards his best female friend. He shames her into not smoking, but gets high all the time. He shames her into not losing her virginity though he did it 2 years ago. She's there to help him, but it's not reciprocated. Also, he complains how his first boyfriend was jealous and he's basically two-timing all the guys he's seeing. Yes, he can be charming (and so are parts of the book), but I also can't forget that he's unaware and selfish. It's great that the book can be sex-positive and tell a LGBT love story, I just wish I could really root for him.Thanks to Penguin Teen for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Maha Haggouch
    May 28, 2017
    a digital ARC was provided to me by the publisher through netgalley.DNF.i honestly don't know what the heck did i just read. all these characters felt flat and too spoiled and stereotypical. plus i already know where the story is going (i mean, it's a love...SQUARE?). this book is just too much drama and i couldn't stand it.
    more
  • Teresa
    April 22, 2017
    I found this book to be fun, cute, easy and quick...a perfect palette cleanser if you will. Don't even get me started on Jamie....what a cutie!!!Thanks to Random House for the ARC!
  • Is
    February 24, 2017
    Warning: I’m going to get very ranty, and ragey, and spoilery!(view spoiler)[Remember the Teen Witch movie? Where Louise finds out she’s a witch and uses her power for popularity, and to get her all time crush to fall in love with her?That’s kind of what this book reminds me off, or at least I kind of had this inkling that it was going to be like that. That at the end the Main Character would have this moment of “it’s not love when it’s done through magic,” because is it love when you’ve casted Warning: I’m going to get very ranty, and ragey, and spoilery!(view spoiler)[Remember the Teen Witch movie? Where Louise finds out she’s a witch and uses her power for popularity, and to get her all time crush to fall in love with her?That’s kind of what this book reminds me off, or at least I kind of had this inkling that it was going to be like that. That at the end the Main Character would have this moment of “it’s not love when it’s done through magic,” because is it love when you’ve casted a spell, or is the spell causing the love?Perfect Ten is a little bit different than that. In a lot of ways. And not in the best ways.Let me go through the basics. Our main character, Sam, is lonely and in want of a relationship. His last and only relationship with his ex, now best friend—Landon—ended badly, but now he’s ready to get back on the horse and fall in love. Except, there really aren’t any gay guys at his school, or that he knows of, so his best friend, Meg, convinced him to do a love spell. One that will bring him the Perfect guy. The Perfect Ten. In comes 3 guys:1.Gus, the frenchie.2.Jamie, the cute and shy artist who paints the most beautiful birds.3.Travis, the up and coming musician.4. ? Landon, the ex….the one things ended on a very bad note….Guys, this is going to be super and fully spoilery. (THIS IS MY WAY OF ASKING ARE YOU SURE YOU WANT TO KNOW/GET SPOILED?)For about 14 % things were good. I was intrigued with why Sam and Landon broke up. What horrible thing happen that Landon didn’t talk to him for months, and then they got back to being best friends. Then enters Gus. The first thing I’ll be pointing out is that I don’t get why she had to write Gus’ french accent like that other than point out his accent? I don’t know how I feel about that. Things are going good with Gus and Sam, if a little fast for my taste. And then…“No. Come on, I feel bad even talking about this. I can’t do that to Gus.”Jamie has just made his first appearance, and Meg is trying to get Sam to ask for his numbers. I loved that Sam said no, like why would he try to get a guy’s number when he has Gus….?“What are you trying to say?” I growl at Meg, angry that she’s making me even give this a second thought.”“Nothing. It’s just a little fishy, though, isn’t it? He hasn’t mentioned, like a boyfriend or something back home?”Then everything leads to this decisive moment:“So I’m just the American guy you’re leading on and keeping around for company so that after a few months you can go back to… Jean-Luc or Pierre (…)”you get the point."I hate that I thought he was perfect and he thought of me as something to pass the time.”“I don’t want to just have fun with you, Why don’t you get that?” I snatch my hand away from his. “I don’t want to be with a liar, and I don’t want to be with someone who’s in love with someone else.”“Perfect wouldn’t have lied to you,” Meg corrects me.“Or hurt you,” Landon adds.The reason I’m providing so many quotes/passages from the Gus and Sam breakup is because I find Sam and really the whole book so hypocritical. At this point, I’d like to mention that Meg has a two-year relationship with Micheal, a guy Sam hates because for the two years he has been constantly cheating on Meg. At times he breaks up with her to go and date other girls, and mostly he cheats on her whilst in a relationship, but Meg never breaks up with him. (All the information/quotes are important, and will serve my point later on).After the Gus and Sam break up, Sam decided to turn his attention on Jamie. Remember the Jamie phone number thing? Well, Sam does end up giving Jamie his number after the whole Meg pointing out the fishy thing, but Sam doesn’t use it. Well quickly after the break up, he starts talking to Jamie. After hanging out sometime, he decides to ask him out on a date.But. The author has to introduce Travis sometime, right? And so right after determining that he’ll go on a date with Jamie, Sam meets Travis. And he’s one thirsty guy, because soon after he forgets about Jamie. Or actually, he doesn’t he just doesn’t care.Movie reference #2. In the movie Because I Said So the mom sets her daughter up with this guy. Except the daughter meets the guy her mom choose and the guy who happened to see all the dates being interviewed. She starts dating them both, and I’m talking like going out to the point were things are getting serious with both. And so when all it’s revealed the guy goes what the actual fuck.See the thing with the Bachelor/Bachelorette that I hate is that when you start dating someone you don’t expect them to be dating 20+ people. You don’t expect them to be kissing and having sex with other people. Because that’s a pretty shitty thing to do to someone. People aren’t playthings, they aren’t clothes to try on and see which one fits best. But that’s the thing that Perfect Ten is rife with.“…clenches with guilt about Travis. But that wasn’t my fault, I reason. Travis kissed me without provocation. Hell, he practically jumped me. There was nothing I could do.”I mean it’s so easy to shove someone away or like not return the kiss back, or be like, “what the fuck? back off,” but that’s if you actually don’t want the kiss? But Sam has a justification for everything. And okay, Jamie and Sam haven’t been on a date. Yet.Yet. He spends the night at Travis, after kissing him for like the 4th, or was it 5th time, but you know not Sam’s fault. And the next day, get this. The next day he goes on a date and it’s like nothing has happened. And then he starts seriously like dating Jamie, not officially, but talk every night, spend all the time together. Then he meets Travis again, where they kiss yet again. Then Travis invites him to this club and we get this little gem:“And I know I’ll never tell Jamie about it, just as I’ll never tell him Travis kissed me good-bye.”Actually this kiss twice that night (anyone keeping count?), and here he’s talking about dancing with Landon and feeling all kind of sinful about it. And so Travis leaves, and since he does (and here he basically would have gone for Travis if Travis wanted a relationship with him, and what not. leaving Jamie behind. Important later on.) he asks Jamie to be his boyfriend.If this shitshow of a book wasn’t rife and clogged up with cheating, and cheating apologists, the Jamie and Sam interactions would have made this book an actual cute YA contemporary story.Actual favorite moments coming up:“And what about loyalty?” I ask.“What about it?” she fires back.Her peachy cheeks change into a angry red, but I go on. “He asked you out and then what? A week later he cheated on you with Ellie Graves—““We weren’t really going out yet.”“A technicality,” I sayDoes this sound familiar? Like say Sam with Travis? hmmmm. Ps. this is Meg and Micheal fiasco.“Then explain to me, oh wise one, why Micheal is such a bad guy for texting someone else, when you’ve been doing the same thing to Jamie?”I was ready to through my popcorn, because damnnnn Meg go for the gut! The thing is according to Jamie cheating is bad when it’s done to him, when it’s done to other people, but now when he does it to other people.Oh, and Jamie heard it all.“That’s really a convenient loophole, isn’t it?”“It’s not a loophole, it’s fact. I never said—““No, you never said, you’re right,” Jamie Spits. “You just took me to a place I’ve wanted to see for years and bought me a silver cross and let me kiss you like some foolish idol who has no idea that you’re hooking up with some musician.”“Jamie, I wasn’t lying to you. That whole date all I could think about was how perfect you were, how great we were together. I didn’t think about Travis at all, and I’d seen him the night before. Doesn’t that tell you something?”I mean this whole scene is gold, because freaking Jamie is the epitome of ‘you’re only sorry you got caught,” because whilst on this date he did think of Travis, and he had just had his tongue down Travis throat the night before, and he still did it when they were official.“And then I basically did to Jamie what Gus did to me . What’s wrong with me?“Nothing’s wrong with you, Sam.”“I lied to Jamie.”Landon nods. “Yeah. But he should have given you another chance.”FUCK THAT SHIT.And holy of all fucks, I got angrier. I actually thought, well maybe this wasn’t supposed to be a cute YA contemporary ( I usually hate YA LGBTQ+ because they tend to have sucky endings), maybe this was about cheating and, I don’t know, learning from it, I guess? Except Sam never recognized/owns up to cheating, instead he treats it like it’s just lying. And then comes his friends talking about ‘a perfect ten would give you a chance,” and “ I know Jamie was mad, but he should have given you another chance. I was in total agreement with Landon about that.” LIKE FUCK THAT SHIT. BYEEE.“Yeah, maybe he could have had a bigger dose of number seven, but I could have had a bigger dose of number five myself.” (#5 is loyalty.)Listen. Listen, understanding is not about forgiving you for cheating. It’s not about forgiving you because it was a musician, even one that might one day, possibly, be up and coming. There’s not a fine line when you begin dating someone that reads, “oh and cheating is acceptable if a, b, and c.” (hide spoiler)]ALL QUOTES TAKEN FROM UNCORRECTED PROOF AND MIGHT BE SUBJECT TO CHANGEFor more of my reviews visit me at The Written Voice of Is/a>
    more
  • Claire
    January 13, 2017
    DNF: This novel had so much potential but after 200 pages I felt like the story wasn't giving me anything worth reading, especially with the love square/triangle?! Haha no thanks, I like squares and triangles but only when they are written in a cutesy and entertaining way with the angst.
    more
  • Maxine
    May 18, 2017
    *Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with an uncorrected proof in exchange for an honest review*After being single for two years, seventeen year old Sam is lonely and well, desperate. Desperate enough to perform a love spell with the help of his Wiccan best friend Meg to try and bring Sam's perfect guy into his life. Despite being incredibly skeptical of Meg's religion, Sam can't help but later admit that something must've worked as not only does one guy show up, but three- *Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for providing me with an uncorrected proof in exchange for an honest review*After being single for two years, seventeen year old Sam is lonely and well, desperate. Desperate enough to perform a love spell with the help of his Wiccan best friend Meg to try and bring Sam's perfect guy into his life. Despite being incredibly skeptical of Meg's religion, Sam can't help but later admit that something must've worked as not only does one guy show up, but three- Gus, the French foreign exchange student; Travis, the college dropout and lead guitarist of the band Liquid, and Jamie, the sophomore art prodigy. And then there's Landon, Sam's ex and also best friend along with Meg, and the long buried feelings from their relationship two years earlier are starting to resurface as well.This was entirely a guilty pleasure sort of read. For a contemporary (even with a hint of magical realism), it wasn't incredibly practical and the characters weren't explored as much as they could have been. Also, a book's setting is pretty important to me and it took me until almost page 200 to learn where the story was set. It's a quick and enjoyable enough read but if you're looking for something with more depth, this book isn't for you. Then again, I read an uncorrected proof and so a lot of things could have been changed that I don't know about so it's worth looking into. Perfect Ten did explore some important topics but just not to the amount that I was hoping for. The best things about this book were the friendship between Sam, Landon and Meg, as it felt real and was very relatable, and also that there was never anything to do with coming out or dealing with LGBT+ discrimination. There aren't enough books that explore the life of an LGBT+ teenager who knows who they are and surrounds themselves entirely with accepting people. I know that's not always the norm in real life but it's just really nice to read a book with an LGBT+ character who is comfortable with themselves. Perfect Ten (in its uncorrected version, at least), is lighthearted and explores high school friendships and relationships pretty well. It's a good book to read when you're in need of something with a lot of fluff and a dash of heartache. The full review of this book and others can be found at https://theroguestoryteller.wordpress...
    more
  • Michelle Carl
    May 28, 2017
    It's been two long, lonely years since Sam Raines broke up with his boyfriend Landon, the only other single gay guy at school. The loneliness is the only excuse Sam has for agreeing to his former-Catholic-turned-Wiccan friend Meg's crazy scheme to magic Sam up a new boyfriend using a list of traits his "perfect ten" should have. When a steady stream of guys who seemingly fit the list start appearing in Sam's life, he starts to wonder if it really is because of the list and if any of these guys a It's been two long, lonely years since Sam Raines broke up with his boyfriend Landon, the only other single gay guy at school. The loneliness is the only excuse Sam has for agreeing to his former-Catholic-turned-Wiccan friend Meg's crazy scheme to magic Sam up a new boyfriend using a list of traits his "perfect ten" should have. When a steady stream of guys who seemingly fit the list start appearing in Sam's life, he starts to wonder if it really is because of the list and if any of these guys are truly right for him. After seeing lots of negative reviews on Goodreads, I was a little hesitant about this one, but I ended up enjoying it! Most of the negative comments were about the characters being immature and a situation that was potentially cheating, but neither one really deterred me from liking the story. Sure, the characters were a tad bit immature, and Meg in particular wasn't very likable, but I kind of liked that about them. They felt like real teenagers, not idealized teenagers so often seen in YA novels. And while there was a situation that could be seen as cheating, it wasn't glorified or just brushed under the rug. There were consequences and the characters learned from their mistakes. All in all, Perfect Ten was a fun, cute read and I really appreciated that it was a novel with a gay teen protagonist and the author didn't feel like she needed to have Sam struggle with his sexuality or be bullied to have the necessary drama for the plot, it could just be about Sam finding love.A copy of this book was provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lauren
    May 23, 2017
    First off, it's hilarious how all over the place the reviews for this book are! It's definitely not going to be for everyone. But then, that's how most contemporary YA romances are. I, for one, thought this was pretty much the most addicting, spiraling-out-of-control love story ever! Poor Sam just wanted to find Mr. Right and the universe sends him 3! A shy, talented artist, a sexy rock star, and a charismatic foreign exchange student. They all have their flaws but are all so damn charming, no w First off, it's hilarious how all over the place the reviews for this book are! It's definitely not going to be for everyone. But then, that's how most contemporary YA romances are. I, for one, thought this was pretty much the most addicting, spiraling-out-of-control love story ever! Poor Sam just wanted to find Mr. Right and the universe sends him 3! A shy, talented artist, a sexy rock star, and a charismatic foreign exchange student. They all have their flaws but are all so damn charming, no wonder he has issues choosing who his heart belongs with. About some of those reviews: no, this is not in any way magical realism. The whole story starts with a silly ritual to bring Sam his perfect match. But that's about as "magical" as it gets. I felt it really encapsulates how tumultuous love and raging teenage hormones can be. I remember those days. I get it. And I thought this novel was cute and still authentic in a deeper sense and that resonated with me. Plus, it was well written and the characters shone. So many lessons on young love! Ah, the good ole days :) So hate it, I get it, but I enjoyed every page.
    more
  • Nicole Dumas
    May 14, 2017
    I received an e-ARC of this book from Penguin's First to Read. A light, fluffy contemporary book is exactly what I need in between all of the fantasy books I read. This was a 3.5 star read for me. The only reason it did not rate higher was because I really, really disliked the character, Meg. She seemed so immature, even for a high school student. I also didn't like that she was basically pushing her beliefs on her friends. I am very open-minded when it comes to religion and beliefs, but I don't I received an e-ARC of this book from Penguin's First to Read. A light, fluffy contemporary book is exactly what I need in between all of the fantasy books I read. This was a 3.5 star read for me. The only reason it did not rate higher was because I really, really disliked the character, Meg. She seemed so immature, even for a high school student. I also didn't like that she was basically pushing her beliefs on her friends. I am very open-minded when it comes to religion and beliefs, but I don't think it is ever right to push your own beliefs onto other people. It really irks me when I see or hear of people doing that. Anyway, I loved the MC, Sam. I really enjoyed seeing him date these completely different characters! I was totally rooting for the bad boy, but let's be real, we all know how that would have ended up. :) I like the way the story ended, though. I was happy with the results of Sam's search for love and also self-love. Overall, it was the cute, fluffy read I needed!
    more
  • Sara Codair
    May 10, 2017
    I got an electronic ARC of “Perfect 10” through First to Read. The cover caught my eye and the promise of a hint of magic. Initially, the voice didn’t pull me in. Something about seemed flat, though I can’t quite pin point what it was. I’m not sure where, exactly, but somewhere along the line, that changed. I had to finish the book before I went to sleep. The romantic and sexual tension, the teenage drama, and the strong friendships made this book magical more so than the hint of actual magic. T I got an electronic ARC of “Perfect 10” through First to Read. The cover caught my eye and the promise of a hint of magic. Initially, the voice didn’t pull me in. Something about seemed flat, though I can’t quite pin point what it was. I’m not sure where, exactly, but somewhere along the line, that changed. I had to finish the book before I went to sleep. The romantic and sexual tension, the teenage drama, and the strong friendships made this book magical more so than the hint of actual magic. This may not have been the most thought provoking as the last book I read, but it certainly made me feel something, more so than the books that make me think.That feeling, and my inability to put it down, make worth five stars.
    more
  • Tiffany Robinson
    May 4, 2017
    I was super excited about this book when I first heard about it and I could not wait to read it. I also really love the cover, I think it is really cute. With that being said the story left a lot to be desired. All the characters were annoying and seemed very shallow. Then the romance part of it was dull too. All the guys that Sam was with I felt like I ever really got to know any of them and I could care less who he ended up with at the end. I was very disappointed in this book.
    more
  • Alicia
    May 29, 2017
    Everything about the characters and plot was uninspiring and downright annoying. And it's a bloated 350-pages of that with it's only redeeming quality at an attempt to diversify the voices in YA lit (but I don't want these kind of voices on our shelves) with practicing Wiccans and GLBTQ characters.Just no. Once I lost it (pretty quickly) I read the last chapter and was glad I didn't waste my time.
    more
  • Kevin
    May 16, 2017
    I received and ARC of this book from my employer, a library in Illinois. I found this book to be painful to read with some of the most vapid characters I've encountered in YA fiction. I can't imagine recommending this book to anyone. Zero stars for story, one star for the amazing cover.
    more
  • Jen
    April 22, 2017
    If you had your choice of ten qualities that comprised your significant other, what would you pick? In L. Philips's Perfect Ten, Sam makes a list of the ten qualities he'd like in a boyfriend, but do they live up to his expectations in reality?To read this, and other book reviews, visit my website: http://makinggoodstories.wordpress.com/.Sam has had a romantic dry spell for the two years after breaking up with his then-boyfriend and now-friend Landon. His other friend Meg, convinced her Wiccan k If you had your choice of ten qualities that comprised your significant other, what would you pick? In L. Philips's Perfect Ten, Sam makes a list of the ten qualities he'd like in a boyfriend, but do they live up to his expectations in reality?To read this, and other book reviews, visit my website: http://makinggoodstories.wordpress.com/.Sam has had a romantic dry spell for the two years after breaking up with his then-boyfriend and now-friend Landon. His other friend Meg, convinced her Wiccan knowledge can help bring ideal guys to Sam, asks him to come up with a list of ten desired qualities for a spell. Once the spell has been cast, it not only rains, but pours. It seems as if there are loads of guys, previously undiscovered, to potentially fit the Perfect Ten, which leaves Sam juggling his attraction to and feelings for them as he sorts out who best fits his list and who he wants to be with.The premise of this story was quite intriguing, but it was difficult to believe that the characters were supposed to be real because they seemed so exaggerated in their qualities to the point of merely being constructed characters and not actual people, not to mention that some of the actions they were taking were rather unrealistic. There was a moment in the narrative that I was worried would be how the story ended as it was horribly clichéd, but fortunately it didn't stick to that particular route and deviated to a mildly different, more rewarding one. But in putting these aspects aside, this is a fairly entertaining, yet standard, story of not realizing what you have and actually want until you've lost it, with added teenage drama and some enjoyable witty banter for additional flair.
    more
  • Ccsienna
    May 3, 2017
    Loved it. Good story, I couldn't put it down. Tried to predict the ending didn't come close.
Write a review