The Gallery of Unfinished Girls
Mercedes Moreno is an artist. At least, she thinks she could be, even though she hasn't been able to paint anything worthwhile since her award-winning piece Food Poisoning #1 last year.Her lack of inspiration might be because her abuela is lying comatose in faraway Puerto Rico after suffering a stroke. Or the fact that Mercedes is in love with her best friend, Victoria, but is too afraid to admit her true feelings.Despite Mercedes’s creative block, art starts to show up in unexpected ways. A piano appears on her front lawn one morning, and a mysterious new neighbor invites Mercedes to paint with her at the Red Mangrove Estate.At the Estate, Mercedes can create in ways she never has before. She can share her deepest secrets and feel safe. But Mercedes can't take anything out of the Estate, including her new-found clarity. As her life continues to crumble around her, the Estate offers more solace than she could hope for. But Mercedes can’t live both lives forever, and ultimately she must choose between this perfect world of art and truth and a much messier reality.

The Gallery of Unfinished Girls Details

TitleThe Gallery of Unfinished Girls
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Contemporary, Young Adult

The Gallery of Unfinished Girls Review

  • Lauren
    December 26, 2016
    Do I get to mark my own book as "read" now? I've been reading it on and off since 2013. I think it's done. I think it's yours now, world.
  • Anna Priemaza
    March 10, 2016
    I didn't mean to read this book. At least, not yet. But it sucked me in and refused to let go.When Lauren sent it to me, it was just for the purpose of glancing through it to suggest a new title. I definitely wanted to read it at a future time, but I had a dozen things to do that evening, and really could only spare under an hour to glance through, get a sense of the language, and suggest some titles.Hours later, the dozens of things I planned to do weren't done, and I was turning the final page I didn't mean to read this book. At least, not yet. But it sucked me in and refused to let go.When Lauren sent it to me, it was just for the purpose of glancing through it to suggest a new title. I definitely wanted to read it at a future time, but I had a dozen things to do that evening, and really could only spare under an hour to glance through, get a sense of the language, and suggest some titles.Hours later, the dozens of things I planned to do weren't done, and I was turning the final pages with tears in my eyes.This book is absolutely lovely. The language and imagery feels like it's being painted on your heart. But the gorgeous language isn't hollow. It's lays out this riveting story that sucks you in from the first minute, when a piano mysteriously appears on the lawn of Mercedes and Angela, whose mother has gone to look after their Abuela and left them feeling alone. And terribly lost. And the story doesn't let you go, pulling you into a magical world where art can only be perfect at night, where sisters can only find reach other by losing themselves, and where love is so simple and yet so terribly complex. And it's beautiful. You should definitely read this book. But be careful, because once you pick it up, you will not be able to put it down. And those twelve things you wanted to do will not get done. And you won't even care.
    more
  • Kristine
    March 10, 2016
    What a beautiful book.Mercedes Moreno is having a tough time. Her abuela is in the hospital, she can’t figure out what to paint for the county show, and there’s a piano in her yard. Pile on top of that the college responses she’s waiting for and the fact that her best friend Victoria—the best friend who could possibly, in a perfect world, love her back—is set on leaving Florida for New York, and everything seems like it’s on a downward spiral.Until, that is, she finds that perfect world in a mys What a beautiful book.Mercedes Moreno is having a tough time. Her abuela is in the hospital, she can’t figure out what to paint for the county show, and there’s a piano in her yard. Pile on top of that the college responses she’s waiting for and the fact that her best friend Victoria—the best friend who could possibly, in a perfect world, love her back—is set on leaving Florida for New York, and everything seems like it’s on a downward spiral.Until, that is, she finds that perfect world in a mysterious studio.The storytelling in NO MORE BLUES THE GALLERY OF UNFINISHED GIRLS (new title yay!) is like if you filled a bucket with magic, dipped in a brush, and painted every single page. It’s a story about love and empathy, of friendship and family, fine art and music and dance, of finding yourself in the spaces in between. It made my heart squeeze, it made me smile, it made me tear up, and it made me feel all the feelings. Lauren Karcz brings not only her characters but also their art to life with her lovely, lyrical, utterly evocative style. Definitely read this if you like Jandy Nelson. Read this book if you like books. Read it if you don’t.It’s awesome.
    more
  • Allison
    January 25, 2017
    4.5 stars! *-*Longer RTC after business trip.
  • Elise (The Bookish Actress)
    January 16, 2017
    I cannot be stopped in the beginning of everything. I cannot hide forever.4.5 stars. Well, holy crap. This was an intensely beautiful magical realism story, which was not at all what I expected. Karcz manages to pull together themes about growing up, moving on, and being an artist into the same book. And it works perfectly. The message of the book develops over time and the writing builds. The characters of this beautiful little book are going to stay with me for a long time. Mercedes' arc is su I cannot be stopped in the beginning of everything. I cannot hide forever.4.5 stars. Well, holy crap. This was an intensely beautiful magical realism story, which was not at all what I expected. Karcz manages to pull together themes about growing up, moving on, and being an artist into the same book. And it works perfectly. The message of the book develops over time and the writing builds. The characters of this beautiful little book are going to stay with me for a long time. Mercedes' arc is subtly built and has a stunning conclusion, but Angela, Vic, and Lillia were all layered and multifaceted. Everything about this book was great, really. There's an emphasis on friendship and family in a very mature sense. The writing style in general is just gorgeous, especially considering this was a debut author. Although I did think she could have used contractions, especially when they helped sentences flow better. I can't wait for this to be published and for everyone to love it like I did.
    more
  • Stormy
    February 3, 2017
    4.5 but rounding up because I have been waiting for a book like this for SO LONG and it was just as wonderful as I had hoped.
  • Jennifer Burrell
    December 30, 2016
    Fortunate enough to score an ARC of The Gallery of Unfinished Girls, I sat down to read a few pages, and ended up reading half of it in one sitting. The story grasps you immediately. Karcz jumps right into the meat of the plot and there's no looking back. Full of magic and creativity and (a personal favorite) family relationships, this book was one of the best I read all year!
    more
  • Natalie
    February 22, 2017
    This book was just the loveliest thing and I hope to see more contemporaries like it.Mercedes Moreno is struggling not only with her art, but with her feelings for her best friend Victoria and the possibility of her grandmother's death after a debilitating stroke. The Gallery of Unfinished Girls seamlessly weaves together themes of the struggle to create, growing up, family, and the pangs of first love in a graceful, vivid writing style and with multi-faceted dynamic characters. This book is jus This book was just the loveliest thing and I hope to see more contemporaries like it.Mercedes Moreno is struggling not only with her art, but with her feelings for her best friend Victoria and the possibility of her grandmother's death after a debilitating stroke. The Gallery of Unfinished Girls seamlessly weaves together themes of the struggle to create, growing up, family, and the pangs of first love in a graceful, vivid writing style and with multi-faceted dynamic characters. This book is just filled with well-developed, smart, complicated female characters from Mercedes herself to her musical younger sister Angela to the ambitious dancer Victoria. There's just enough of the magical realism element to make this book feel unique, but not so much that it overwhelms the very human relationships at the heart of this story. Add in bisexual representation, some really wonderful family relationships, and an ending that hits all the right notes and I already can't wait to see what Karcz writes next.Recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and contemporary YA that gets right to the heart of things.
    more
Write a review